
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT           :                                        
            2013 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING        :          DOCKET NO. 4369 
             2013 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS    :          DOCKET NO. 4368 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1 and 39-3-11 of the Rhode Island General 

Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct a hearing on 

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities 

Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard., Warwick, Rhode Island.   

In these dockets, the Commission will examine the propriety of two filings submitted by the 

Pascoag Utility District.  In Docket No. 4369, Pascoag Utility District (“Pascoag”) seeks approval to 

reconcile its tariff adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transition Service 

Charge and Transmission Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2013.  Specifically, 

Pascoag seeks to implement the following rate changes:  1) to decrease the Standard Offer Service 

Rate from $0.05657 per kWh to $0.03748 per kWh, 2) to increase the Transition Charge from 

$0.01117 per kWh to $0.01243 per kWh, and 3) to increase the Transmission Charge from $0.02393 

per kWh to $0.02494 per kWh.  The combined net impact of the proposed rate changes on a typical 

residential customer’s bill using 500 kWh per month would result in a decrease $8.42 or 12.3% from 

$68.32 to $59.90.  The Commission can approve different rates that may be higher or lower than 

those proposed by Pascoag.  The Commission will also undertake a review Pascoag’s 2013 supply 

procurement portfolio pursuant to R.I.G.L. §39-1-27.8. 

In Docket 4368, Pascoag seeks approval of proposed 2013 Demand Side Management 

Program (“DSM”) with an overall budget of $115,080 to implement energy efficiency programs and 



renewable energy resources targeted at different classes of residential, commercial and industrial 

customers.  The budget includes a legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per kWh for application 

in the billing months of January through December 2013 to fund the DSM programs.  The DSM 

charge represents a monthly charge of $1.00 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per 

month.     

The filings may be examined at the Commission’s office and at the office of the Pascoag 

Utility District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filings can also be accessed 

under the Commission’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4369 and Docket No. 4368.  

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting 

interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-

2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
December 9, 2012 


