STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Safe and Healthy Lives in Safe and Healthy Communities

TO: Members of the Community Interested In:
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Birth Centers (R23-17-BC)
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Centers (R23-17-FASC)
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Freestanding Emergency Care Facilities (R23-17-FECF)
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Home Nursing Care Providers and Home Care Providers
(R23-17-HNC/HC/PRO)
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Hospice Care (R23-17-HPC)
Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Hospitals (R23-17-HOSP)
Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Kidney Treatment Centers (R23-17-DIAL)

Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Nursing Facilities (R23-17-NF)

Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Organized Ambulatory Care Facilities (R23-17-OACF)
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Rehabilitation Hospital Centers (R23-17-REHAB)

FROM: Raymond Rusin, Chief
Office of Facilities Regulation

DATE: December 10, 2004

The Department of Health is proposing to amend the aforementioned regulations to increase the fees related to
initial licensure (IL) and changes in owner, operator, or lessee (CEC) of a health care facility filed in
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 23-17 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended. The purpose
of this change is to increase revenues consistent with the objectives of the state Fiscal Fitness program to have
fees more accurately reflect resources expended by the state. These regulations are available for viewing and
downloading on the Department's website: www.health.ri.gov/hsr/regulations/index.php and the Secretary
of State’s website: www.rules.state.ri.us/rules/.

Application fees will increase to two tenths of one percent (0.2%) {up from one tenth of one percent (0.1%)}
of the projected annual facility net operating revenue contained in the application. The minimum fee shall be
fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500) {up from its present $500} and the maximum fee shall not exceed twenty
thousand dollars ($20,000) {presently $10,000}.

Because of your interest, knowledge, and expertise in these matters, the Department would appreciate your
review of the proposed fee changes in preparation for an informal community review meeting scheduled for:
THURSDAY, JANUARY 13, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the BECK CONFERENCE ROOM of the Cannon Building
(located on the lower level behind the snack bar).

If you have any questions about the proposed regulations, please contact Mr. Michael Dexter, Assistant
Administrator for Community and Planning Services, at 401-222-2788 or via e-mail: MikeD@doh.state.ri.us.
If you are unable to attend this meeting, you may direct your written comments to me before the meeting.

Please feel free to circulate additional copies of this letter, as needed. Upon request, for persons with
disabilities, copies of these proposed regulations are also available in Braille, large print, audio cassette, and
electronic file (computer disk). Contact the Division of Health Services Regulation (401-222-1039 or RI
Relay dial 711) if you need such assistance.

Your participation is appreciated. Thank you.
CANNON BUILDING, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, Rhode Island 02908-5097
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