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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

D  E  P  A  R  T  M   E  N  T     O  F     H  E  A  L  T  H 
 

Safe and Healthy Lives in Safe and Healthy Communities 
 
 

Proposed Health Care Facility Regulations (Fee Increases) 
Community Review Meeting Minutes 

Thursday, January 13, 2005 
 
 
Subject:  Proposed regulations (as cited below) promulgated pursuant to the authority conferred in 

Chapters 23-17 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended: 
 

Rules and Regulations for Licensing Birth Centers (R23-17-BC) 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Centers (R23-17-FASC) 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Freestanding Emergency Care Facilities (R23-17-FECF) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Home Nursing Care Providers & Home Care Providers  (R23-17- NC/HC/PRO) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Hospice Care (R23-17-HPC) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Hospitals (R23-17-HOSP) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Kidney Treatment Centers (R23-17-DIAL) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing of Nursing Facilities (R23-17-NF) 
Rules and Regulations for the Licensing of Organized Ambulatory Care Facilities (R23-17-OACF) 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Rehabilitation Hospital Centers (R23-17-REHAB) 
 
Persons in Attendance:  Sign-in sheet available upon request (see contact information below). 
 
Meeting was convened at 10:05 a.m. by Donald C. Williams, Associate Director of Health Services 
Regulation, who provided introductions and introductory comments concerning the regulations.  
Participants were invited to sign the sign-in sheet in order to receive notification of future 
proceedings related to these regulations. 
 
The Department of Health is proposing to amend the aforementioned regulations to increase the fees 
related to initial licensure (IL) and changes in owner, operator, or lessee (CEC) of a health care 
facility filed in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 23-17 of the Rhode Island General Laws, 
as amended.  The purpose of this change is to increase revenues consistent with the objectives of the 
state Fiscal Fitness program to have fees more accurately reflect resources expended by the state.   
Application fees will increase to two tenths of one percent (0.2%) {up from one tenth of one percent 
(0.1%)} of the projected annual facility net operating revenue contained in the application. The 
minimum fee shall be fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500) {up from its present $500} and the maximum 
fee shall not exceed twenty thousand dollars  ($20,000) {presently $10,000}. 
 
The only person in attendance, Ms. Paula Parker, from the Rhode Island Partnership for Home Care, 
requested clarification of current home care fees.  This was the only discussion. 
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Mr. Williams noted that a public hearing will be scheduled for sometime at the end of February 2005.  
The meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m. 
 
Respectfully submitted, 
Elizabeth Shelov 
Health Policy Analyst 
Health Services Regulation 
January 18, 2005 

 


