
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATION

INTER-OFFICE MEMO

						December 14, 2015

TO: 		David Sullivan, Director

DEPT:		Department of Revenue

FROM:	James Botvin, Chairman

DEPT:		Division of Motor Vehicles

SUBJECT:	MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS’ LICENSE & HEARING

BOARD 

            RESULTS-DECEMBER 2, 2015

Please be advised of the following matters which were heard before

the Board on Wednesday, December 2, 2015.  Board members

present:  James Botvin, Marc Levasseur, William Jeffrey and Joseph

Solomon, Esq. Also present was Bradford Booth, Esq., Deputy Chief

of Legal Services, Division of Motor Vehicles and Michael Taylor.

Absent: Lt. David Doucet of the Rhode Island State Police. 	

				

MEETING OF DECEMBER 2, 2015  AT 12:30 PM  AT THE

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES –3RD. FLOOR, CONFERENCE



ROOM, 

600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI  02920

1.	REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE OF THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING

OF:	

	NOVEMBER 18, 2015 BOARD HEARING.

	The Board reviewed and approved the minutes of November 18,

2015.	

	

2.	WESTMINSTER MOTORS, LTD ( Mery Y. Lopez, President)

	ANNEX APPLICATION / PLATE ALLOCATION  - CASE # KR-150-399

	TO BE LOCATED AT 665 PLAINFIELD STREET, PROVIDENCE, RI 

02909

	MAIN LOCATED AT 550 VALLEY STREET, PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

	POSTPONED BY DEALER

Page 1 of 4



Page 2 of 4

HEARING BOARD RESULTS 		 12-02-15

3.	CANDIDA LAITAO AND DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS

OFFICE  VS APPLE VALLEY AUTO SALES & SERVICE, LLC (Mario

Rey, Pres.)

	CASE # AM-150-249 CONTINUATION 

Decision:  The Board dismissed this matter because the Consumer

had the vehicle scrapped.  The Board advised Dealer to attempt to get

a refund from the insurance company for the title bond that it

obtained at the direction of the Board.  

4.	SCOTTIE’S AUTO SALES, INC ( Oliver McDougall President/Joseph

Brennan, Esq.)

	CASE # KR-150-076  CONTINUATION

	REQUESTING HIS 3 PLATES AND LICENSE BE RETURNED TO

RE-OPEN 

Decision:  The Board, by a 3-1 vote (Yes: Botvin, Levasseur and

Jeffrey; No: Solomon), ordered that Dealer will maintain its Dealer

license but will not receive any of its relinquished dealer plates held

by the RI Dealers License and Regulation Office.  When a buyer is



found for the business the proposed buyer may make application for

the dealer plates.

5.	BRENDA SANTIAGO AND DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS

OFFICE  VS.  GARCIA AUTO SALES, INC (Jose Perez, Pres /Peter

Petrarca, Esq.)

	CASE # AM-150-106

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING

	Decision:  The Board unanimously determined that Dealer is in

violation of the following Rules and Regulations and RI General Laws

and is required to pay the amounts listed below, totaling $2400.00, to

the Rhode Island Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10

days of receipt of the Board’s formal decision. 

Fine: $1200.00 ($200.00 x 6 violations) for violating Rules and

Regulations § VI (L):  Six persons on auction list that are not

employees.

Fine: $200.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VI (L): Non-

employee sold vehicle.
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	Fine: $1000.00 purusant to RIGL § 31-5-11 (10) for having indulged in

unconscionable business practices.

	

	The Board also unanimously ordered the immediate revocation of

Dealer’s license to do business.  Dealer must return license no. 484

for its main location, license no. 85 for its annex location, its 7 dealer

plates, no. 709 A-G, and all unused taxation forms to the RI Dealers

License and Regulations Office within 10 days of receipt of the

Board’s formal decision.

6.	JANEIKA BUTLER AND DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS

OFFICE VS. GARCIA AUTO SALES (Jose Perez, Pres. / Peter Petrarca,

Esq.)

	CASE # AM-140-366

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING

	Hearing continuation-matter heard by Botvin, Levasseur and Jeffrey. 

Solomon did not hear matter.

	Decision:  The Board unanimously determined that Dealer is in



violation of the following Rules and Regulations and RI General Laws

and is required to pay the amounts listed below, totaling $5700.00, to

the Rhode Island Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10

days of receipt of the Board’s formal decision. 

	Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VI (R): Failed to

inspect vehicle before offering for sale.

Fine: $200.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VI (L):

Non-employee sold vehicle.

	

	Fine: $500.00 for violating RIGL § 31-3.1-13: Failed to transfer title to

buyer and/or the annex.

	

	Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VII (E): Amounts

on bill of sale did not match deposit receipt.

	 	

	Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VII (E): Bill of sale

not issued for sale of vehicle from owner to Dealer. 

	

	Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VI (L): Dealer

failed to use a company check to purchase vehicle for resale.
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Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § VII (E):  The

vehicle was purchased by Dealer’s main location but sold with a bill

of sale from Dealer’s annex location. 

	

Fine: $500.00 for violating Rules and Regulations § IX (A):  Vehicle

was advertised for sale on Craig’s List by the owner.

	

Fine: $2000.00 ($200.00 x 10 violations) for violating Rules and

Regulations § VI (L):  Ten persons on auction list that are not

employees.

	The Board also unanimously ordered the immediate revocation of

Dealer’s license to do business.  Dealer must return license no. 484

for its main location, license no. 85 for its annex location, its 7 dealer

plates, no. 709 A-G, and all unused taxation forms to the RI Dealers

License and Regulations Office within 10 days of receipt of the

Board’s formal decision.

7.	FOR DISCUSSION ONLY *

	APPELLATE PROCESS



	___________________________

	James Botvin, Chairman

Cc: Bradford Booth, Esq., Deputy Chief of Legal Services, Division of

Motor Vehicles


