
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATION

INTER-OFFICE MEMO

					September 6, 2013

TO: 		Rosemary Booth Gallogly

DEPT:		Department of Revenue

FROM:	Walter Craddock, Esq. Chairman

DEPT:		Division of Motor Vehicles

SUBJECT:	HEARING BOARD RESULTS

Please be advised of the following matters which were heard before

the Board on Tuesday, 

September 3, 2013.  Board members: Walter Craddock, Esq., James

Botvin and William Jeffery. Also present, Marcy Coleman, Esq.,

Division of Legal Services.

Lt. David Doucet of the Rhode Island State Police has recused himself

from the decision process of the dealer hearing board while on

special assignment the Department of Motor Vehicles Enforcement

Division until further notice.



Absent:  Marc Levasser

MEETING OF SEPTEMBER 3RD   2013 AT 12:30 PM  

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES –3RD. FLOOR, CONFERENCE

ROOM, 

600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI  02920

1.	REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE OF THE MINUTES OF:   JULY 16TH  

2013                       	BOARD HEARING

	The Board has reviewed and approved the minutes of July 16, 2013.

2.	SALVATORE MESSINA  vs.   PRICE AUTO SALES ( Peter Wilson,

Pres.)

	SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # KR-130-172

	Decision:  Decision:  The Board has accepted the dealerships offer to

purchase the 

vehicle back from the consumer for $3940.00 and to pay him the

additional $139.00 to cover the cost of repairs that he had done  for a

total due of  $4049.00 to be submitted in the form of a  cashier check

made out to the consumer to the RI Dealers License and Regulations

Office. 

The Board has ordered the suspension of the dealerships license,

number 219, to do business for 30 days for violation of RI General



Laws § 31-5-11 (10), unconscionable business practices as a dealer. 

The dealership must return all dealer plates, 136B and 136C and hard

copy of the business license to the RI Dealers License and

Regulations Office for the duration of the suspension.  Plate 136A has

been lost or stolen and a replacement will not be made at this time. 

The Board has determined that Price Auto Sales is in violation of the

following Rhode Island Rules and Regulations and is required to pay

the amounts listed below which total $850.00, to the Rhode Island

Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving

the formal decision.
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Fine: $650.00 ($50.00 X 13 violations): Violation of RI Rules and

Regulations Section VI (L): Allowing non-employees to conduct

business for the dealership at the auction.

Fine: $100.00: Violation of  RI Rules and Regulations Section VI

Section (R):  Failed to inspect vehicles prior to selling them.

Fine:  $100.00: Violation of Rules and Regulations Section VI (L):

Allowing non-employees to conduct business for the dealership to



sell vehicles.

The Board has ordered the dealership to submit a business plan to

the RI Dealers License and Regulations Office and to submit copies

of all bills of sales in sequential order for the period of  January

1,2013 to August 31,2013 within thirty days of this hearing.

3.	DEALER’S LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE  vs.  PUTNAM AUTO

SALES ( John 	Taylor, Partner/ William Warren, Esq.)

	SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # KR-130-189

Decision:  The Board has approved immediate revocation of the

dealership license #407 for violation of RI General Laws § 31-5-11

(3),(10) and (11).  The dealer must return the dealership license and

dealer plates 515A,B,C,D, F, G, H and plate 945C to the RI Dealers

License and Regulations Office within days after receipt of the formal

decision.

4.	JDJ AUTO SALES ( Paul Picerne, Owner / John Kupa, Esq) 

	CASE # KR-130-239

	2013 RENEWAL CONSIDERATION

	

	Postponed at the request Gordon Fox, Esq. attorney for the

dealership.



	______________________________

	Walter Craddock, Esq.  Chairman

	

	Cc: Marcy Coleman, Esq.


