
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATION

INTER-OFFICE MEMO

				May 25, 2012

TO: 		Rosemary Booth Gallogly

DEPT:		Department of Revenue

FROM:	Walter Craddock, Esq. Chairman

DEPT:		Division of Motor Vehicles

SUBJECT:	HEARING BOARD RESULTS

Please be advised of the following matters which were heard before

the Board on Thursday, 

May 24 2012.  Board members: Walter Craddock, Esq., Dennis

Gerstmeyer, James Botvin and William Jeffery. Also present, Marcy

Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services.

Lt. David Doucet of the Rhode Island State Police has recused himself

from the dealer hearing board while on special assignment the

Department of Motor Vehicles Enforcement Division until further

notice.

		

		         MEETING OF MAY 24, 2012 AT 9:00 AM AT THE



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES –3RD. FLOOR, CONFERENCE

ROOM, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI  02920

1.	REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE OF THE MINUTES OF:  MAY 10, 2012

	BOARD HEARING

	Minutes have been reviewed and accepted by the board.

2.	ELECTRA AUTO SALES & SERVICE (Anthony E. Corsi, Pres. / k.

Joseph 	Shekarchi, Esq.)

	TRANSFER APPLICATION – CASE # KR-12-178

	FROM:  26 PUTNAM AVENUE, JOHNSTON, RI 02919

	TO:  42 PUTNAM AVENUE, JOHNSTON, RI 02919

Decision:  The Board has approved this transfer request subject to

the building being reconfigured to allow for an additional 100 square

feet to be accessible to meet the building requirement of 2400 sq ft

after which a site inspection will be executed by the Dealers License

and Regulations Office.  

3.	AUTO DRIVE ONE OF RHODE ISLAND d/b/a AUTO DRIVE ONE

AUTO 	SALES ( Joseph Dibiasio III, Pres.)

	FIRST APPLICATION – CASE # KR-12-169

	TO DEAL IN USED MOTOR VEHICLES ONLY

	AT:  2312 PAWTUCKET AVENUE, EAST PROVIDENCE, RI 02914



Decision:  The Board has approved this application subject to a site

inspection and a review of the lease agreement by the Dealers

License and Regulations Office.  Three dealer plates have been

awarded.
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4.	DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE    VS.    DORMAN’S

AUTO 	CENTER, INC ( Antonio Albuquerque, Pres. / Mark P. Welch,

Esq.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # KR-12-033

Decision:  The Board has dismissed this case subject to a written

warning being issued of which a copy to remain in the dealerships file

for one year.

5.	DEOLINDA M GONCALVES    VS.    JORGE’S AUTO SALES ( Jorge

Dias, Pres. / 	John Reilly, Esq.) COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE

HEARING – CASE # KR-12-082

Decision:  The Board has determined that the dealership must buy

the vehicle back, because of failure to supply a title in violation of

RIGL§ 31-5-11(3),(10) and (11), for the amount of $2,199.00 within 10



days of receiving the formal decision and there will not be

reimbursement for repairs made to the vehicle by the complainant

because a warranty was not in effect.

The Board has determined that Jorge’s Auto Sales is in violation of

the following Rhode Island Rules and Regulations and is required to

pay the amounts listed below which total $400.00, to the Rhode Island

Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving

the formal decision.

Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VI (Q):

For displaying vehicle they do not own.

Fine: $100.00: Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (E): 

Improper information on bill of sale.

Fine:  $200.00: (2 violations x $100.00 per violation): Violation of RI

Rules and Regulations Section VI (L): Non-employees representing

the dealership.

	

The Board has ordered the dealership to complete a formal business

plan to be submitted to the Dealers License and Regulations Office

for approval.

6.	DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE    VS.    JORGE’S

AUTO SALES 



	( Jorge Dias, Pres. / John Reilly, Esq.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # KR-12-125

Decision:  The Board has determined that Jorge’s Auto Sales is in

violation of the following Rhode Island Rules and Regulations and is

required to pay the amounts listed below which total $200.00, to the

Rhode Island Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10 days

of receiving the formal decision.

Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (H):

Misuse of dealer plates.

Fine: $100.00: Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VI (L):

Non-employees representing the dealership.

The Board has determined that the dealership will be allowed to

retrieve his dealer plate, 529B, previously confiscated by the Dealers

License and Regulations Office.
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7.	EDWIN J DITTMAR    VS.   R & R AUTO & CYCLE (Ronald Russo,

Owner)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING- CASE # DS-12-043



Decision:  The Board has determined that the dealership must buy

the vehicle back for the amount of $1800.00.  

The Board has determined that R & R Auto & Cycle is in violation of

the following Rhode Island Rules and Regulations and is required to

pay the amounts listed below which total $400.00, to the Rhode Island

Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving

the formal decision.

Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VI (Q):

For displaying vehicle they do not own.

Fine: $100.00: Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (E):

No bill of sale issued for the sale.

Fine:  $100.00: Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VI (L):

Non-employees representing the dealership.

Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VI (R):

Failure to inspect vehicle prior to the sale.

	

Mr. Russo has been requested to appear at the next scheduled

hearing to explain his failure to appear before the Board for this

hearing.



8.	CHRISTOPHER L. LEBEAU    VS.     CALDER STREET AUTO SALES

( William 	Grady, Pres.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # DS-12-108

Decision:  The Board has dismissed this case without prejudice

because the complainant did not stay for the hearing and left without

comment.

The Board ordered the dealership to prepare a business plan and

submit to the Dealers License and Regulations Office within the next

10 days for review and approval.   

The dealership must also provide the Board with a status update on a

previous case, DS12-124.

	____________________________

	Walter R Craddock, Jr. Esq. Chairman

Cc:	John DiTomasso, Assistant Administrator, DMV

	Marcy Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services

	File


