
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATION

INTER-OFFICE MEMO

							August 30, 2011

TO: 		Rosemary Booth Gallogly

DEPT:		Department of Administration

FROM:	Walter Craddock, Esq. Chairman

DEPT:		Division of Motor Vehicles

SUBJECT:	HEARING BOARD RESULTS

Please be advised of the following matters which were heard before

the Board on Thursday, 

August 25, 2011.  Board members: Walter Craddock, Esq., Dennis

Gerstmeyer, James Botvin, Thomas Celona and Sgt. David Doucet of

the Rhode Island State Police.

Also be advised the following people were present during the

hearing: Marcy Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services.

Absent: Michael Vispo 

		         MEETING OF AUGUST 25, 2011 AT 9:00 AM AT THE



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES –3RD. FLOOR, CONFERENCE

ROOM, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI  02920

1.	REVIEW AND ACCEPTANCE OF THE MINUTES OF THE : JULY 28,

2011

	BOARD HEARING.

	Minutes have been reviewed and accepted by the board.

2.	J & T AUTO SALES ( Toros Jojarjian, Owner)

	TRANSFER APPLICATION – CASE # KR-11-228

	FROM:  22 C & D ROSELAND AVENUE, WARWICK, RI  02888

	TO:  561 PROVIDENCE STREET, WARWICK, RI 02886

Decision:  The Board has approved the transfer application. The

Board has also determined based on the last three years of sales that

the dealership is no longer qualified for 5 dealer plates per RI Rules

and Regulations Section VII (H).  The dealership must turn in two

dealerships plates , 683 D and 683 E to the Dealers License and

Regulations Office when they complete the move to the new location.

3.	KAYLA JARON V 44 AUTO MALL SALES, INC, ( David Lofredo,

Pres.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE-DS-11-127

	



	Postponed at the request of the dealership.
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4.	SANTO N LOMBARDI V FLOOD FORD OF EAST GREENWICH

(Michael Flood, Pres.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING  - CASE # KR-11-056

Decision:  The Board has tabled this matter to allow time for both

sides to evaluate their cases and provide a brief to the board as to

why this board should hear this case. 

5.	WAYNE PARE V BALISE  VOLKSWAGEN ( James E. Balise, Jr.

Pres.) 

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # DS-11-132



	Postponed at the request of the dealership.

6.	PHYLISS HICKS V INDEPENDENT AUTO SALES ( Thomas Dunn,

Pres.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # DS-11-141

	Sgt. David Doucet recused himself from this hearing.

Decision:  The Board has found that the complainant  was aware the

vehicle was salvaged when she purchased it.  The Board has

determined the complainant has no recourse in this matter.	

7.	DOMINGA LINCOLN V CENTRAL AUTO SALES ( Gary Badessa,

Partner)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING – CASE # KR-11-196

Decision:  The  Board has ordered the dealership to by back the

vehicle for the amount of $1,539.00.   The Board has also determined

it is the responsibility of the dealership to pick up the vehicle at the

storage facility.   

Decision:  The Board has determined that Central Auto Sales is in

violation of the following Rhode Island Rules and Regulations and is

required to pay the amounts listed below which total $700.00, to the

Rhode Island Dealers License and Regulations Office within 10 days



of receiving the formal decision.

	Fine: $300.00: (3 violations x $100.00 per violation): Violation of RI

Rules and 

Regulations SectionVI (L): Allowing non-employees to act as an agent

for the dealership. 

	

Fine: $100.00: Violation of RI Rules and Regulations VI (N): Amount

charged was in excess of the authorized fee.

Fine:  $100.00: Violation of RI General Law §31-38-1 (b): No vehicle

will be sold by a used car dealer without a new inspection sticker.

Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (E): 

Lack of information on the bill of sale relating to safety inspection

requirements.
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Fine: $100.00:  Violation of RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (E): 

The bills of sale are not number as required.

The Board has determined based on the on the last three years of

sales that the dealership is no longer qualified for 3 dealer plates per

RI Rules and Regulations Section VII (H).  The dealership must turn in

two dealerships plates , 511B and 511C to the Dealers License and

Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving the formal decision.

The Board has suspended the dealerships license,296, for 14 days for

being in violation of  Rhode Island General Law 31-5-11 (10) for

having indulged in unconscionable  practices relating to business as

a motor vehicle dealer. The dealership must turn in all dealer plates

and the dealership license to do business to the Dealers License and

Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving the formal decision.

_________________________________

            Walter Craddock, Esq.  Chairman

Cc:	John DiTomasso, Assistant Administrator, DMV

		Michael Vispo, Manager DMV

		Marcy Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services, DOA

		File


