
RHODE ISLAND DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE

INTER-OFFICE MEMO

							October 15, 2007

TO:		Beverly Najarian, Director

DEPT:		Administration

FROM:	Walter Craddock, Esq. Chairman

DEPT:		Division of Motor Vehicles

SUBJECT:	HEARING BOARD RESULTS

Please be advised of the following matters which were heard before

the Board on Thursday, October 11, 2007.  Also be advised the

following people were present during the hearing:  Joseph I.

Monteiro, Chief, Enforcement/ Regulations and Legal Counsel Marcy

Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services and the hearing Board

members: Walter Craddock, Esq., James Botvin, and Dennis

Gerstmeyer 

Absent:

Lt. David Palmer of The Rhode Island State Police.

Thomas Ricci



MEETING OF OCTOBER 11, 2007 AT 9:00 AM

  DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES – 100 MAIN ST. PAWTUCKET, RI

02860

1.	WENDY MORINVILLE V.  SILVER LAKE AUTO SALES ( Patricia

Troino, Pres.)

	COMPLAINT / SHOW CAUSE HEARING.  CASE #KR-07-171

1ST RESCHEDULED HEARING.

DECISION:  Based on the fact that the dealer, Silver Lake Auto Sales

failed to inspect the vehicle before releasing it to the consumer, it has

been determined that the dealership shall buy back the vehicle for the

amount of $1,648.95 which is the price paid of  $2,100.00 minus

$451.05 allowance for mileage.  It has also been determined that the

consumer shall have the loaner vehicle, a 1998 Volkswagen in their

possession, towed to the dealership at her expense.  The consumer

shall return the original radio in good condition that was installed in

the 2000 Chrysler Concord and Silver Lake Auto Sales will return the

radio in good condition that is currently installed in the vehicle to the

Dealers License and Regulations office to be exchanged.

The Board has also determined that Silver Lake Auto Sales was in

violation of the following R.I. Rules and Regulations and is required

to pay the amount indicated of $100.00 to the Dealers’ License and



Regulations Office in 10 days from the receipt of the formal decision.

Fine:  $100.00: Rhode Island Rules & Regulations Sec VI (S): All used

vehicles which are sold must be inspected and have a new certificate

of inspection affixed to windshield at the time of sales.
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2.	RAFAEL PEREZ V. FRED’S AUTOHAUS, INC. ( Fred Rios, Pres.)

COMPLAINT / SHOW  CAUSE HEARING.  CASE# KR-07-235

DECISION:   The board has determined that the dealer, Fred’s

Autohaus, Inc. is in violation of RIGL §31-5-11(10), for having

indulged in unconscionable practices relating to business as a motor

vehicle dealer.  Therefore the board has determined that the dealer,

Fred’s Autohaus, Inc. shall buy back the vehicle from the Consumer

for the amount of $12,836.70, which is the purchase price of

$15,000.00 minus $2,163.30 mileage allowance.  The dealer is also

responsible for retrieving the vehicle from storage and paying all fees

levied by Sal’s One Stop Automotive, which total  $1848.00 as of

September and any additional fees accrued since that date because

he failed to send in payment to Eagle Warranty for the 4 year

extended warranty.



The Board has also determined that Fred’s Autohaus, Inc. was in

violation of the following RI Rules and Regulations and RI General

Laws and is required to pay the amounts indicated below, which

totals $600.00, within 10 days of the formal decision.

Fine: $100.00: Rules and Regulations Section VI (L):  Dealer allowed

person not an employee of the dealership to sell a vehicle to the

consumer.

Fine:  $250.00: RIGL § 31-5-12: Dealer shall not allow an independent

salesperson to operate from his dealership.

Fine: $250.00:  RIGL § 31-5-11(5):  Dealer failed to perform a written

agreement with the consumer.

The Board has indefinitely suspended Fred’s Autohaus, Inc. license

to do business for their violation of  RIGL §31-5-11(10) & (11) for

having indulged in unconscionable practices relating to business as

a motor vehicles dealer and is in violation of laws relating to the sale

and distributions of motor vehicles.  The dealer must return all dealer

plates in his possession and his license to the Dealers’ License and

Regulations Office within 10 days of receiving the official decision. 

The dealership must reappear before the Dealers License and

Regulations Board to offer proof that Emil Johnson is no longer

associated with the dealership or with proof that he has been



registered as a full time employee.   

    3.	INSKIP SMART ( Roger Penske, Jr. Chairman / Kimberly O’Brien,

Esq.)

REQUEST TO OPEN A DEALERSHIP ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF

INSKIP AUTOCENTER, LOCATED AT 1557 BALD HILL ROAD,

WARWICK, RI  02886

FOR DISCUSSION ONLY

Marcy Coleman, Esq., legal counsel for the Department of Motor

Vehicles shall issue a letter to the effect that per the  RI Rules and

Regulations Sec VI (B), “the minimum floor space in all instances

shall be interpreted as a ground level space and in no instances shall

basements or second floors or upper or lower levels be considered in

meeting the required minimum floor space.

	___________________________________

	Walter Craddock, Esq. Chairman

Cc:	Charles Dolan, Administrator, DMV

	John DiTomasso, Assistant Administrator, DMV

	Joseph I. Monteiro, Chief Enforcement/Regulations, DMV

	Marcy Coleman, Esq., Division of Legal Services, DOA

	File


