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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS  

Department of Business Regulation 
DIVISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING AND 

RACING AND ATHLETICS 

 

 
John O. Pastore Center  

 1511 Pontiac Avenue Bldg. 69-1  
 Cranston, RI 02920  
 Tele:  (401) 462-9506                                                   Fax:  (401) 462-9645  
 TDD: 711                                                                      www.dbr.ri.gov  

 
Dear Applicant, 
 
Enclosed is an application to apply for a bedding and upholstery license in the State of Rhode Island.  You may 
also find this instruction sheet along with the application on our web site: 
 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/commlicensing/upholster.php 
 
Please complete the application, submit the proper fees, and return them to the above address. 
 
The Bedding and Upholstery license has a three- (3) year license period running from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 
2012.  If you are applying for a license in the middle of the licensing period, PLEASE NOTE THAT THE 
FEES ARE PRO-RATED YEARLY. 
 
                                                                              
                  Type of License   July 1, 2009- July 1, 2010-    July 1, 2011- 
                                                                                      June 30, 2012      June 30, 2012          June 30, 2012 
MANUFACTURER/SUPPLY DEALER   $630.00    $420.00      $210.00 
RENOVATOR/REPAIR/SECOND HAND    $180.00     $120.00      $  60.00 
STERILIZER        $168.00    $126.00      $  84.00 
 
If you need a copy of the state statute governing bedding and upholstered furniture, please submit a check in the 
amount of two dollars ($2.00).  Or you can find them on the web @ 
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE23/23-26/INDEX>HTM.  
 
All checks should be made payable to the State of Rhode Island General Treasurer, in U.S. Dollars and drawn 
on an U.S. Bank.  No foreign checks or currency accepted.    NO CASH! 
 
Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact this office at the above number.   
 
Sincerely, 
 
Kim Precious 
Implementation Aide 
                                                                                                                                                                                 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  Revised 1/11 
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    APPLICATION FOR A BEDDING AND UPHOLSTERY LICENSE 

                                     (As required by Chapter 26, Title 23, of the Rhode Island General Law 1956, as amended) 
NAME OF BUSINESS  
APPLYING FOR LICENSE:  ____________________________________________________________   F.E.I.N.# _____________ 
 
 BUSINESS 
 ADDRESS: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
                      __________________________________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS FOR PLANT 
IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE:   ________________________________________________________ 
  

            _________________________________________________________ 
 
BUSINESS TELEPHONE NUMBER:________________________              FAX NUMBER: _____________________ 
 
EMAIL ADDRESS: ______________________________________ 
 
TYPE OF OWNERSHIP:      � CORPORATE �  INDIVIDUAL  � PARTNERSHIP  � ASSOCIATION  
 
PRINCIPAL OFFICIAL IN CHARGE:  _________________________________________________________                                                   
=============================================================================== 
HEREBY APPLY FOR A LICENSE AS A:    (Check all that apply)                                                           TRIENNIAL LICENSE FEE 
 
�   Manufacturer of Bedding and/or Upholstered Furniture …..…………………………………………  $630.00             
�   Supply Dealer-Filling Materials only ………………………………………………………………...  $630.00 
� Renovator/Repairer of Bedding and/or Upholstered Furniture …..………………………………….  $180.00 
� Second Hand Upholstered Furniture or Second Hand Bedding Dealer ……………………………..  $180.00 
� Sterilizer  ……………………………………………………………………………………………..  $168.00 
 
SUCH LICENSE IS TO BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  ________________________________ 
 
PRINCIPAL MATERIALS USED OR HANDLED__________________________________________________________________ 
 
�   I HAVE A UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER   ______________________________ STATE ISSUED BY  _________________ 
 
�   I DON’T HAVE A UNIFORM REGISTRY NUMBER AND HEREBY REQUEST ONE FROM THE STATE OF RI. 
 
�   I OPERATE A STERILIZATION PLANT IN ________________________, AND HAVE A PERMIT NUMBER ____________,  
 
WHICH EXPIRES ON _____________________, AND IS LOCATED AT ______________________________________________. 
 
I agree to forward in duplicate a specimen of the tag to be attached to articles of bedding, upholstered furniture or filling materials the 
approval of which must be obtained before any article can be manufactured, sold, or offered for sale in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
                              X______________________________________________                             ________________                                             
                                                                         SIGNED                                                                             DATED                   Revised 1/11 
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 Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 
  
 
 
All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called “licensee”) to 
conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all 

taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below. 
 
In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social Security Number 
and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will be transmitted to the Division of 
Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  This declaration must be made prior to the issuance 
of a license. 
 
Please return this affidavit along with your license application to: Rhode Island Department of Business 
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. 

 

Licensee Declaration 
 
� I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed. 

� I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 

� I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state. 

� I am in federal bankruptcy.   (Case #_____________________________) 

� I am in state receivership.     (Case #_____________________________) 

� I have been discharged from Bankruptcy.  (Case #__________________) 
________________________________________________________________________ 
Type of Professional License for which you are applying 
 
___________________________________ _____________________________________ 
Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 
 
___________________________________ ______________________________________ 
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 
 
Date_______________________________ 
 

 


