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GENERAL INFORMATION

Enclosures

The following materials and information should be enclosed within this application packet:

Application Process Overview.
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Instructions for Completing APPIICALION............ooi i e 5
Application Materials
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APPLICAtioN ChECKIIST......... e e e e e e e e eees 10
Mandatory Addendum to License Application (Verification of SSN/FEIN Form).................... 11

Licensure Requirements

* Application Fee of $170.00 (add $70.00 for Controlled Substances Registration for a total of $240.00)
Check or money order only (NOTE: All application fees are non-refundable).

» Valid, unexpired license, permit or registration issued by the state in which located.

Compliance with the regulations of this state when dispensing legend drug/devices to residents of this
state.

Completed “Mandatory Addendum to License Application” - Verification of SSN/FEIN (page 11).

Resident Agent

A nonresident pharmacy shall designate a resident agent in this state for service of process. If not so
designated, it shall be deemed an appointment by such nonresident pharmacy of the Secretary of State to be
its true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served all legal process in any action or proceeding against
such pharmacy growing out of or arising from such delivery. A copy of any such service of process shall be
mailed to the nonresident pharmacy by the complaining party by certified mail, return receipt requested,
postage prepaid, at the address of such nonresident pharmacy as deignated on the pharmacy’s application for

licensure in this state. If any such pharmacy is not licensed in this state, service on the Secretary of State in
this state only shall be sufficient service.

Upon receipt of a complaint against the nonresident pharmacy, the Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy (BOARD)
shall forward the complaint to the state/provincial boards where the nonresident pharmacy is licensed.

Rules and Requlations

The rules and regulations pertaining to pharmacies and pharmacists can be obtained by visiting the Rhode
Island Department of Health/Board of Pharmacy web site at:

http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/pharmacy.php
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APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

The licensure process in the State of Rhode Island is conducted by the Rhode Island Department of Health
(HEALTH), Office of Health Professionals Regulation, and the BOARD.

Application Process

This application is to be used for licensing a pharmacy located outside the State of Rhode Island that ships,
mails or delivers prescription drugs and/or devices to a patient in this state, or to apply for a new license due to
a change in ownership or location. Prescription drugs or devices cannot be shipped, mailed, or delivered to a
patient in this state without being licensed by the BOARD. The nonresident pharmacy must maintain, at all

times, a valid unexpired license, permit or registration to operate the pharmacy in compliance with the laws of
the state in which it is located.

A pharmacy license will be issued to a person, owner, corporation, or other legal entity, hereinafter called the
“Licensee”. The license shall entitle the owner to operate such pharmacy at the location specified on the
license and shall not be transferred. When there is a change in ownership, operation and/or location, the
license immediately becomes void and shall be mailed by the licensee to the BOARD. It is the duty of the
owner to immediately notify the BOARD of any proposed change of location or ownership, and to file the

required application prior to the change. Renovating or remodeling an existing pharmacy is not considered a
change of location.

“Change of ownership” means:

a. Inthe case of a pharmacy, manufacturer or wholesaler which is a partnership which results in a new
partner acquiring a controlling interest in the partnership;

b. Inthe case of a pharmacy, manufacturer or wholesaler which is a sole proprietorship, the transfer of
the title and property to another person;

c. Inthe case of a pharmacy, manufacturer or wholesaler which is a corporation:

i. Asale, lease exchange, or other disposition of all, or substantially all of the property and assets of the
corporation; or

ii. A merger of the corporation into another corporation; or

iii. The consolidation of two or more corporations, resulting in the creation of a new corporation; or

iv. In the case of a pharmacy, manufacturer or wholesaler which is a business corporation, any transfer of
corporate stock which results in a new person acquiring a controlling interest in the corporation; or

v. Inthe case of a pharmacy, manufacturer or wholesaler which is a nonbusiness corporation, any change
in membership which results in a new person acquiring a controlling vote in the corporation.

All items listed on the “checklist” (page 10) must be submitted for an application to be considered complete. All
applications are considered valid for six months from the day they are received at HEALTH. If you do not

complete the application process and obtain a license within those six months, a new application and fee must
be submitted.

Please allow a minimum of four weeks for the entire licensure process to be completed. If the applicant has
had criminal or disciplinary history in Rhode Island or another state, it may take an additional two or three
months for all pertinent documentation to be received, and a decision to be made regarding the issuance of a
license. This is an estimate of the amount of time that is required to become licensed. The entire process may
take more or less time than estimated.
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APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

(continued)

Licenses will be issued within five working days following the Board’s approval of the completed application.
Wall permits are mailed approximately two weeks from the date of issuance, and are mailed to the address
furnished in the application. It is the applicant’s responsibility to notify the BOARD, in writing, if there are
changes during the interim, or at any time after the license is issued. It is the responsibility of the licensee to
notify the BOARD in writing when there is a change in the pharmacist-in-charge.

A nonresident pharmacy must comply with the regulations of this state when dispensing legend drugs or
devices to residents of this state.

HEALTH will not, for any reason, accelerate processing of one applicant at the expense of other applicants.
Once completed, the application will be reviewed, and the applicant will be contacted by the BOARD if further
information is required. Be advised, the applicant may be required to appear for an interview.

NOTE:

Licensure application materials are public records as mandated by Rhode Island law and may be made
available to the public, unless otherwise prohibited by State or Federal Law.

The license will expire on September 30th (regardless of the date issued), and a form will be mailed to renew
the pharmacy license for the period October 1st through September 30th. It is the licensee’s responsibility to
maintain an active license. If a renewal is not received, the licensee is to contact the BOARD to followup on
the status of the renewal:

http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/pharmacy.php

Information on the status of the renewals can be obtained at HEALTH'S web site:
http://www.health.ri.gov/hsr/professions/license.php
Please continue to review the remaining portions of this application packet for instructions and other materials

necessary to complete the Board application. If you have any questions about this application process, or
would like to check on the status of your BOARD application, please contact the BOARD at (401) 222-2837.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE BOARD APPLICATION

Read the following instructions and those throughout the application packet carefully before completing the
Board application. Only complete applications with the appropriate fee will be accepted. Failure to
submit all required information and appropriate documentation may result in processing delays. All of the
information provided is subject to change.

General Instructions
1. Make a copy of the application and forms before you begin in case you make a mistake.

2. Type the information or print in blue or black ball-point pen. Board staff will not make assumptions about
illegible information. Be sure to print the licensee’s name in the box provided on the cover page.

3. Provide a response to each section or question; otherwise mark “N/A” for Not Applicable.
4. ltis suggested that a copy of the completed application be made before submitting it to the Board.

5. Itis the applicant’s responsibility to check on the status of the application.

Completing your Board Application

1. Complete the Board Application pages (6-9). Respond to all components of the application as instructed.
If you attach separate pages in continuation of the Board application, such pages MUST clearly indicate
the section for which such information is being reported.

2. Make a check or money order (in U.S. Funds only) for the application fee of $170.00 (or $240.00 with CSR
application) payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island and staple it to the upper left-hand
corner of the cover page of the application.

3. Attach a copy of the license issued by the state in which located.
Complete all application materials as instructed and arrange them in order as they appear in the application

checklist (see page 10). Do not submit applications without all applicable information, documentation and fee.
Mail these components of the application to:

Rhode Island Department of Health
Board of Pharmacy, Room 205
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, Rl 02908-5097
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State of Rhode Island

Board of Pharmacy
Application for Pharmacy - Non-resident License

Refer to the Application Instructions when completing these forms. Type or block print only. Do not use felt-tip pens.

1. Facility Name:

Facility Name

2. Pharmacist-
in-Charge

Provide the name of
the pharmacist who is
responsible for the
day-to-day operations
of the pharmacy.
NOTE: A change in
the Pharmacist-in-
Charge requires
written notification to

Pharmacist License Number

First Name

Middle Name

Surname, (Last Name)

[ JLLy -t rrJerrry

Please Check ONE

the BOARD.
Suffix (i.e., Jr., Sr., 11, 11T Area Code Phone Number Extension Unlisted?
SFaclityMailing || [ [ | | [ [ [ [ [T T[T TTTTITTTIITITTITTT]
Informatlon: First Line Address
preasepovgerne || | [ | [ [ [ [T PP TP P TIPT TP
mailing information for Second Line Address
all communication
regaring s fcense. 1t | | NN EEE.
is your responsibility t0 | Thirg Line Address
notify the board of all
aagwessonanges. ([ [ [ [ [T T TTTTTTT] ]I I-LIT1]
This information il State Zip Code
witnotappear || | [ [ [ [T T T TTTTTTT]]| HEEEREEEEE
on the HEALTH Country, INOT U.S. Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.
b e HEEpEEEC NN RN
Mailing Address Phone Extension Mailing Address Fax
Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.qg. applicant@isp.com)
4. Facility INEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Location First Line Address
information: | | | [ [ [ [ [ [ [ /[ [P /TP PPl PP T[]
Second Line Address
It is your responsibility
wonotty e poaraoran || | | | | [ [ [ L[ [T PP T[] |
address changes. Third Line Address
mhisnformaion ([ [ [ [ [ T[T [T T TTTTTT ] L) [TTTTJTTT]
will appear on the | ciy State Zip Code
e webste [ [ LI PP LT T T TTTTTITT]
Country Postal Code, IfNOT U.S.
Facility Phone Extension Facility Fax
Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com)
5. Type of [] Corporation [] Limited Liability Company [ ] Partner
Ownership

[ ] Sole Proprietorship [ ] Limited Partnership [ ] Partnership

[ ] Governmental Entity [ ] Other (Describe):| | | | | | | | | | | | |
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Applicant: Print your complete business name >

6. Ownership
Information:

Provide the name
address and
telephone number(s)
of the facility/
business owner in

the spaces provided.

Name of Owner

D.B.A. (Doing Business As)

First Line Address

Second Line Address

od

Third Line Address
[(TTTTTTTIT I Iy L |
City State/Province  Zip Code
LI PP PP P PP PPy T T T I T T T ]
Country, IFNOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S.
(TT) I -y L e -ty
Facility Phone Extension Facility Fax

|

Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com) |
Please Refer to the “Mandatory Addendum to License

| | | | |— | | | Application” on the last page of this application

U.S. Social Security Number (SSN)

NOTE: If you are the sole proprietor of a facility or business, then you must supply
| | | —_ | | | | | | | | your Social Security Number (SSN). If you are an individual representing a facility

or a business that is seeking licensure, then you must supply the Federal Employer
Identification Number (FEIN) for the facility or the business.

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

7. Agent of
Record:

Please provide the
Name and Address
of the Resident
Agent of Record in
this state.

If none, please
check the box
labeled “None”.

Agent of Record

First Line Address

Second Line Address

Third Line Address

[(TTTTIT I Iy ey e iy
City State/Province  Zip Code
IR EEEEEEEEEEEEn
Country, I NOT U.S. Postal Code, If NOT U.S.

(TTJ -y e -er il
Facility Phone Extension Facility Fax

Email Address (Format for email address is Username@domain e.g. applicant@isp.com)

|:| NONE NOTE: The Rhode Island Secretary of State shall be deemed
to be the true and lawful attorney for the nonresident pharmacy
if a Resident Agent is not designated on the application.

8. Pharmacy
License and
NCPDP #'s

Please provide your
Out-Of-State
Pharmacy License
number and your
NCPDP Number.

Out-of-State Pharmacy License Number

[ 1]

State

NCPDP Number (no dashes)

National Council for Prescription Drug Programs Number (NCPDP)
[formerly know an National Assoication of Board of Pharmacy Number (NABP#)]
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Applicant: Print your complete business name >

9. Rhode Island
Controlled
Substances
Registration
(CSR)*

Complete this area
to apply for a
registration to
dispense and
possess controlled
substances in the
State of Rhode
Island (additional
fee required).

NOTE: The CSR is
renewed at the
same time as the

pharmacy license.

Do you wish to apply for aRhode Island Controlled Substances Registration?

[ JYes [ ]No

If “Yes”, the additional fee must be included in the attached payment

Drug Schedules - Check all applicable

[ ] Schedule | [ ] Schedulelll [ ] Schedule IV | ] Schedule V

Attach Protocol

[ ] Schedule I

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA Registration)

LI TP T ] [_] Pending**

DEA Number

*A CSR is not required if there are no controlled substances stored or dispensed on the premises.

**A copy of the DEA Registration must be provided to the BOARD within 60 Days of issuance.

Carefully
read this
section.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Licensed pharmacies cannot dispense or possess controlled substances in the State of
Rhode Island without a valid professional license, Rhode Island Controlled Substances
Registration (CSR), and a federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration.
“Controlled Substances” for purposes of this application, means a prescription drug in
Schedules Il through V, pursuant to the Rhode Island Uniform Controlled Substances Act,
and 21 CFR 1300 of the Federal Code of Regulations. Schedule | drugs are used by
researchers, and require the submission of a protocol.

Without a Rhode Island CSR, and federal DEA Registration, pharmacies may dispense or
possess non-controlled prescription medications under its pharmacy license. No CSR will
be granted to a pharmacy applicant whose application is “pending” in this state.

All applicants must make application to the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration for a
federal registration. Federal regulations require that applicants comply with individual state
requirements before they are issued a DEA Registration.

Registration Unit
US Drug Enforcement Administration
JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street
Boston MA 02203-0131
(617) 557-2200

Issuance of a Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration is contingent upon
registration from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. If denied a “DEA Registration”,
the Rhode Island Controlled Substances Registration becomes “VOID”.

**A copy of the DEA Registration must be provided to
the BOARD within 60 days of its issuance.
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Applicant: Print your complete business name >

10. Affidavit of

Applicant
) ) I, , being first duly sworn, depose and say that | am the
Complete this section - - - - .
and sign in the person referred to in the foregoing application and supporting documents.
presence of a notary
public. | hereby authorize all hospital(s), institution(s) or organizations(s), my references, personal physicians,

Make sure that you employers (pa;t and present) and all governmental agencies and instrumgntality’g (Ioca!, state, .
and the notary public | federal or foreign) to release to the Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy any information which is material

have completed all to my application for licensure.

components

accurately and . . . . .

completely. | have read carefully the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely,

without reservations of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all
statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should | furnish any false information in this
application, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of
my license to practice pharmacy in the State of Rhode Island.

| understand that my records are protected under the Federal and State Regulations governing Mental
Health Patient Records and cannot be disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided
in the regulations. | understand that my records are protected under the Federal and State Regulations
governing Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records, 42 CFR Part 2, and cannot be
disclosed without my written consent unless otherwise provided in the regulations.

I understand that this is a continuing application and that | have an affirmative duty to inform the Rhode
Island Board of Pharmacy of any change in the answers to these questions after this application and
this affidavit is signed.

Signature of Applicant Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY)

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this day of

, 20 , by ,

who is personally known to me or has produced

as documentation and did / did not take an oath.

Name of Notary (Print, Type or Stamp) Signature of Notary

Notary Seal

Notary No/Commission No. Commission Expiration Date (MM/DD/YY)
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Please review the following checklist to ensure that all the components of the application process have been satisfied. Some
items may not apply.

Board Application

[]

OO oo

[]

[]

| have read and understand the “Instructions for Completing the Application”.
| have completed the Rhode Island Board application as instructed (pages 6-9).
| have attached the cover page of the application.
I have completed Section 10, “ Affidavit of Applicant”, and had the form notarized by a notary public.
I have a check or money order (preferred), made payable (in U.S. funds only) to the “RI General Treasurer” in the
amount of $170.00 ($240.00 with CSR) and attached it to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the
application.
| have arranged my Board Application materials in the following order:
1. Fee (attached as instructed).

2. Board Application (includes cover page and pages 6-9).

3. Supporting documentation as required. [Note: Pages containing additional information in continuation of the
Board application MUST indicate the section for which the information is being reported.]

4. Completed “Mandatory Addendum to License Application” Form (Page 11).
| have mailed the above application materials directly to the Rhode Island Department of Health, Board of
Pharmacy.

| have contacted the Drug Enforcement Administration concerning a federal DEA Controlled Substances
Registration (CSR), if applicable.
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Rhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Providence RI, 02908-5097

8 MANDATORY ADDENDUM TO LICENSE APPLICATION
Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other
authority (herein after called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in
the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay
all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law
(RIGL 5-76) except as noted below.

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to
provide their Social Security Number, or Federal Tax Identification Number (for
businesses) as appropriate. These numbers will be transmitted to the Division
of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.

Licensee Declaration

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that 1 have filed all required
state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed.

I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes
that is satisfactory to the tax administrator.

I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.

N B R B e B e

I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case # )
I am in state receivership. (Case # )
I have been discharged from bankruptcy. (Case # )

Type of Professional/Business License for which you are applying.

Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN for Business)
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401)
Date Name of Business (If Applicable)

This form must be completed, signed and attached to your license application for processing.
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