
  

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
                DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 
                                 INSURANCE DIVISION 
              Application for a R.I. Certificate of Authority 
For a Foreign Life and Health or Property and Casualty Company 

______________________________________________________________________ 
Rhode Island (R.I.) has adopted the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ 
Uniform Certificate of Authority Application (the “NAIC UCAA”) for foreign Life and 
Health (L&H), Title and Property and Casualty (P&C) insurance companies. Other types 
of foreign companies (HMOs, Fraternal Societies, Captives, RRGs, 
Surplus Line companies, Reciprocal Exchanges, and Authorized or Accredited 
Reinsurers) as well as any domestic insurance companies should contact the Chief 
Insurance Examiner, Jack Broccoli for specific instructions when applying. 
Foreign company applications are accepted, reviewed, and processed pursuant to R.I. 
Insurance Regulation 30 (“Reg. 30”). Applications are reviewed in chronological order, 
based on their date of receipt.  In addition to a non-refundable $1,200 fee due at 
time of application, we will request payment of a non-refundable $1,800 review fee when 
we are ready to begin the review of an applicant company. 
Foreign L&H Title or P&C insurance companies contemplating applying for a R.I. 
Certificate of Authority should familiarize themselves with the following items: 
 

Beginning on June 1, 2008, we will no longer accept applications in hard 
copy, please submit the application along with all pertinent attachments 
and related documents in .PDF format arranged and separated in 
accordance with the application table of contents: 1 thru 14 on CD or DVD.  
Please note that as items 1, 6, 11 and 12 require multiple filings, those 
items must be broken out and labeled separately, not submitted as one 
whole file.  The only hard copy items should be the company’s required 
cover letter and check for the $1,200 New Application Fee.  Filings not 
properly arranged will be returned to the company for correction.  This will 
be required for both electronic and non-electronic UCAA Expansion 
Filings. 
 
R.I. Reg. 30: 
The R.I. Insurance Division’s Reg. 30, is available from our web site on-line at: 
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf  
Reg. 30 sets forth the standards for any foreign L&H Title or P&C insurance company 
seeking to be licensed to transact business in R.I. Reg. 30 also indicates the conditions 
for consideration for licensure, filing requirements, and some of the procedures that we 
will follow in our review of a company’s application. 
 
NAIC UCAA Expansion Application: 
Pursuant to Reg. 30, as amended effective December 19, 2001, applications for a R.I. 
Certificate of Authority must follow the standards established by the NAIC UCAA. A 
foreign L&H Title or P&C insurance company must use the Expansion Application which 
is available on-line at: http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa_expansion.htm . 
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R.I. State-Specific Information: 
The following R.I.-specific items have been excerpted from both Reg. 30 and the NAIC 
UCAA Expansion Application; these R.I.-specific items are in addition to the general 
items that apply to an application to any state: 
 
• Filing Fee: 
Rhode Island General Law (R.I.G.L.) Chapter 27-2.1 mandates a non-refundable 
application fee of $1,200 for new foreign company applications. That check should 
be made payable to the R.I. General Treasurer and should be submitted with the 
application. 
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Once your company’s application has been accepted and is ready to be reviewed, 
you will be notified of that fact and will be asked to submit an additional, nonrefundable 
review fee of $1,800. That check should also be made payable to the R.I. 
General Treasurer. 
NOTE: Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-2-17(a), these fees are subject to retaliation if the 
company’s state of domicile would charge a R.I. insurance company a higher fee. 
• Minimum Capital and Surplus Requirements: 
R.I.G.L. §27-2-5 stipulates that a foreign stock L&H or P&C company have at least 
$1,000,000 of paid-in capital stock and $2,000,000 of surplus; and that a foreign 
mutual L&H or P&C company must have at least $3,000,000 of total surplus. 
• Statutory Deposit Requirements: 
R.I.G.L. §27-2-6 stipulates that a foreign L&H or P&C company maintain a deposit 
with a minimum market value of $100,000 in its state of domicile for the benefit of all 
policyholders. A certified copy of the company’s domestic deposit must be submitted 
with the company’s application. 
R.I.G.L. §27-2-6.1 authorizes the insurance commissioner, at his or her discretion, to 
require an additional special deposit for the benefit of all R.I. policyholders as a 
condition to licensing. 
Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-2-17(a), such deposits are subject to retaliation if the 
company’s state of domicile would require a like R.I. company to have a larger 
deposit. In the event that a retaliatory deposit or a special deposit is required, we 
would advise you of the amount required and provide routing details at that time. 
• Name Approval: 
R.I. does not reserve names. Generally, R.I. will rely on the domestic state 
insurance department/division’s acceptance of a company’s name. However, we will 
not approve an application from a company who’s name is the same as or similar to 
a company already licensed in R.I., nor will we approve an application from a 
company who’s name, in our estimation, would tend to create confusion in the minds 
of policyholders. 
• Business Plan: 
The detailed Business Plan must include direct written premium and loss projections 
for a P&C company, or direct paid premium projections for L&H and Title companies, for 
R.I. business for each of the next three years. That Business Plan must be certified by 
the company’s Corporate Secretary. 
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• Reports of Examination: 
The company must submit a copy of the most recent Financial Examination and 
Market Conduct Examination Reports, currently certified by its domestic insurance 
department/division as the most recent Examination Report of either type. We prefer 
that the published date of the Financial Examination Report be no more than three 
years prior to the date of the application, but if the domestic department/division has 
not completed a Financial Examination within the last three years, consideration will 
be given to an older Financial Examination Report. 
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• Statutory Memberships: 
R.I.G.L. §27-34-6 requires that all P&C insurers shall be and remain members of the 
R.I. Insurers’ Insolvency Fund. Contact: Tel. #: 800-852-2003. 
R.I.G.L. §27-34.3-6(a) requires that all L&H insurers shall be and remain members of 
the R.I. Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association. Contact: William Dixon; 
Tel. #: 401-273-2921. 
R.I.G.L. §31-33-8 and R.I. Insurance Regulation 98 (Reg. 98) require that all 
automobile insurers must participate in the R.I. Automobile Insurance Plan (the "R.I. 
Assigned Risk Plan"). A company applying for a R.I. Certificate of Authority that will 
include those lines of business must submit a statement on company letterhead, 
signed by the appropriate company official and certifying that the company will 
become a member of the R.I. Automobile Insurance Plan upon approval and 
issuance of its R.I. Certificate of Authority. Contact: Anthony Madalone, Mgr.; Tel. 
#: 401-528-1320. 
R.I.G.L. §27-33-2 and R.I. Insurance Reg. 15 require that all insurers licensed to 
write those classes of insurance listed in §27-8-1 and §27-8-3 on a direct basis, must 
participate in the basic property insurance program established in R.I., the R.I. Joint 
Reinsurance Association (the "R.I. FAIR Plan"). A company applying for a R.I. 
Certificate of Authority that will include those lines of business must submit a 
statement on company letterhead, signed by the appropriate company official and 
certifying that the company will become a member of the R.I. Joint Reinsurance 
Association upon approval and issuance of its R.I. Certificate of Authority. Contact: 
John K. Golembeski, President; Tel. #: 800-851-8978. 
R.I.G.L. §42-14.1-1 and R.I. Insurance Reg. 21 require that all insurers licensed to 
write "personal injury liability insurance" on a direct basis must be members of the 
Medical Malpractice Joint Underwriting Association of R.I. (MMJUA-RI). Contact: 
James M. Vaccarino; Tel. #: 401-752-8600. 
• Public Records: 
The following required items will be public documents when received: 
The most recent Annual and Quarterly Statements; 
The most recent Actuarial Opinion and Management Discussion and Analysis; 
The most recent CPA Audited Financial Report; 
The most recent Financial Examination and Market Conduct Examination Report; 
The completed Application Form itself; 
Current Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws; and 
The appointment for service of process.
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The following required item will NOT be a public document, but must still be filed: 
The most recent Holding Company Filing (“Form B”). PLEASE NOTE, however, 
that if the applicant company’s state of domicile insurance holding company 
disclosure requirements and standards are substantially similar to the 
requirements of R.I.G.L. §27-35-1 et seq., the applicant shall submit only an 
affidavit attesting to that “substantial similarity” and shall not submit a full Form 
B filing. If such an affidavit cannot be provided, the Form B filing should be 
submitted with a cover letter explaining the absence of “substantial similarity”. 
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• NAIC Biographical Affidavits or Business Character Reports: 
The NAIC Biographical Affidavit, is accepted. R.I. does not require the filing of the third-
party verifications or fingerprint cards. 
• On-Line R.I. General Laws and Insurance Regulations: 
General Laws at: http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Statutes.html ; 
Insurance Regulations at: 
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf 
• Power of Attorney: 
No foreign insurance company may transact business in R.I., until it has appointed the 
Insurance Commissioner as attorney to receive service of process.  Please use UCAA 
Uniform Consent to Service of Process From 12. 
• Variable Life and/or Variable Annuity: 
If the proposed lines of business for a L&H company include variable life and/or 
variable annuity authority, the applicant company must also submit (a.) a written 
opinion as to whether the applicant company’s state of domicile regulation provides a 
degree of protection to policyholders and the public which is substantially equal to 
that provided by R.I.G.L. Chapter 27-32; and (b.) documentation showing that the 
company has established a separate account(s). 
• Form B: 
Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-35-3(a), if the applicant company’s state of domicile 
insurance holding company disclosure requirements and standards are substantially 
similar to the requirements of R.I.G.L. §27-35, submit only an affidavit attesting to 
that "substantial similarity"; do not submit a full Form B filing. If such an affidavit 
cannot be provided, the Form B filing should be submitted with a cover letter 
explaining the absence of "substantial similarity". (See UCAA Expansion 
Application Form No. 1E, Question 7). 
• Retaliatory Statement: 
A Retaliatory Statement, completed by the company’s domestic Insurance 
Department/Division, will only be required when the domiciliary state does not have the 
proper information available to us through the UCAA Retaliatory Information Page. The 
company should obtain a blank R.I. Retaliatory Statement from the R.I. Insurance 
Division’s web site at: 
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/insurance/foreign/RetaliatoryStatement.PDF . 
(See Expansion Application Form No. 1E, Question 12c).
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• Contacts: 
If, during the course of the application and review process any of the items above are 
updated, the company is expected to keep its application current with copies of the 
new or updated item. All of the above items, including the $1,200 application fee, 
should be sent as a single package to the attention of Matt DiMaio, Principal Licensing 
Insurance Examiner, at the R.I. Insurance Division, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2, 
Cranston, RI 02920. 
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Prior to approval of the company’s application, if you have any questions with regard 
to the application process, feel free to contact: 
Matt DiMaio, Principal Licensing Insurance Examiner 
Telephone: (401) 462-9612 or 
E-mail: mdimaio@dbr.state.ri.us ; 
Jack Broccoli, Chief Insurance Examiner 
Telephone: (401) 462-9606 or 
E-mail: JCKBR@dbr.state.ri.us
Or either of those  
By Fax: (401) 462-9559 
Subsequent to approval of the application, and issuance of its R.I. Certificate of 
Authority, communications for foreign companies should be directed to Matt DiMaio. 
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