STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
D1vISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING

and Racing and Athletics Telephone (401) 462-9506
John O Pastore Center 69-1 FAX (401) 462-9645

1511 Pontiac Ave TTY: 711

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 www.dbr.state.ri.us

APPLICATION FOR AUCTIONEER'S LICENSE INSTRUCTIONS

TRIENNIAL LICENSE *LICENSE FEES ARE PRO-RATED PER YEAR CALL FOR CURRENT FEES*
e CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: “RHODE ISLAND GENERAL TREASURER”
e ALL LICENSEES NEED TWO (2) COLOR PHOTOGRAPHS (1X1) FULL FACE FOR 1.D. CARDS

TAX AFFADAVIT

RESIDENT AUCTIONEER APPLICANTS

1. $10.00 Application Fee

2. $15.00 Examination Fee (unless actively licensed in good standing at time of 1995 deregulation or have
completed six months licensed apprenticeship and have conducted at least ten auctions within the state of
Rhode Island or graduated from a course of study of at least eighty hours from any approved school of
Auctioneering and served three month licensed apprenticeship and conducted at least five auctions in the state
of Rhode Island)

3. License Fee is PRO-RATED per year: $600 the first year, $400 the second year, $200 the third year.*

4. $10,000.00 Surety Bond

5. Criminal History Record “CHR” from the Department of Attorney General

NON-RESIDENT AUCTIONEER APPLICANTS

. $10.00 Application Fee

Reciprocal Applicants must provide copy of current valid auctioneer’s license issued by state of domicile.
. Non-Reciprocal Applicants must submit $15.00 examination fee

. License Fee is PRO-RATED per year: $900 the first year, $600 the second year, $300 the last year*®

. $10,000.00 Surety Bond

Submit a National Criminal History Record “CHR.” Apply at the Bureau of Criminal Identification of the
State Police for a nationwide criminal records check.

7. Uniform Consent to Service of Process

APPRENTICE AUCTIONEER APPLICANTS (Resident's Only)
1. $10.00 Application Fee
2. License Fee is PRO-RATED per year: $60 the first year, $40 the second year, $20 the last year.*

3. $2,000.00 Surety Bond
4. Criminal History Record “CHR” from the Department of Attorney General

—>You are hereby notified that you must comply with all relevant Rhode Island laws and
requirements regarding Duty Fees at the General Treasurer’s office (401)222-2287 and
Sales Tax at the Taxation Department (401)222-2950. Such laws include the requirement
of securing an annual retail sales permit pursuant to RI General Law 44-19-1.<

The Licensing Law Title 5 Chapter 5-58 & the Rules and Regulations pertaining to Auctioneers are available at the
Department of Business Regulation for $2.00 per copy or on line at www.dbr.ri.gov
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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
DI1VISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING

and Racing and Athletics Telephone (401) 462-9506
John O Pastore Center 69-1 FAX (401) 462-9645

1511 Pontiac Ave TTY: 711

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 www.dbr.state.ri.us

APPLICATION FOR AUCTIONEER LICENSE
CATEGORY OF APPLICANT :
I am applying for an apprentice auctioneer permit. (Rhode Island Residents Only)
I am applying as a resident auctioneer. Ineed to take the exam.

I am applying as a resident auctioneer. Attached is proof of completed apprentice auctions,
and/or education requirements.

I am applying for a reciprocal non-resident auctioneer license. I presently have a
license in my state of domicile, which is a lawful jurisdiction reciprocal with Rhode Island.

I am applying for a non-resident auctioneer license. My state of domicile is not reciprocal with Rhode Island.
I need to take the exam.

1. 2.
Name (Last) (First) (Middle) Social Security Number
3.

Residence (Street) (City/Town) (State) (Zip)
4. 5. 6.

Home Telephone Number Date of Birth Place of Birth
7. Height: 8. Weight: 9. Color of Eyes: 10. Color of Hair:
11.
Name and Address of Employer
12. 13.
Business Telephone Number Date of Employment

14. List other Auctioneer licenses or apprentice auctioneer licenses or permits held:
State Date of Issue Date of Expiration
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15. Complete the following questions by checking the appropriate box. Explain any "yes" answers in detail on separate
sheet (s) of paper and attach statement to this application.

Yes No Have you ever been denied any auctioneer license or apprentice auctioneer license
or permit in this or in any other state or jurisdiction?

Yes No Have you ever had an auctioneer license or apprentice auctioneer license or permit
suspended or revoked, or have you ever been disciplined by the licensing
authority in this or any other state or jurisdiction?

Yes No Have you ever had any other business or professional license of any kind denied,
suspended, or revoked in this or any other state or jurisdiction?

Yes No Have you ever (1) been convicted of or plead nolo contendere to anything other
than a minor traffic violation or (2) been convicted or plead nolo contendere to
any crime of moral turpitude, or (3) been convicted or plead nolo contendere to
misrepresenting goods sold at auction, or (4) been convicted or plead nolo
contendere to appropriating or unlawfully converting monies of others?

Yes No Are there any unpaid judgments of debt now outstanding against you?

16. FOR APPRENTICE AUCTIONEER APPLICANTS:

The auctioneer with whom the applicant will be affiliated or associated with must personally sign the following
statement:

This is to certify that the apprentice auctioneer applicant named in this application will, when issued a
permit by the Director of Business Regulation, be associated with, employed, or engaged by me in the capacity of an
apprentice auctioneer, that I will exercise proper supervision over and assume responsibility for his/her acts as an
apprentice auctioneer while associated with me in accordance with applicable provisions of any rules and regulations
promulgated by the Director, and I certify that to the best of my knowledge he/she is a person of honesty, truthfulness,
and integrity, and that I will personally appear before the Director and/or his/her designated representative(s) in
conjunction with this application if requested to do so. I further certify that I have read the completed application before
signing below.

Name and address of Supervising Auctioneer:

License Number:

Signature of Supervising Auctioneer
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17. FOR ALL APPLICANTS:
All applicants must have this section endorsed by two (2) reputable citizens of the community in which you
reside or have resided.

We, the undersigned citizens, residing at the present time in the community in which the
applicant resides or has resided, and who are not related to nor associated with the applicant in business, do
hereby certify that he/she is well known to us individually, is of good moral character, and bears a good
reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and integrity.

Print Name of Endorser Print Name of Endorser
Signature of Endorser Signature of Endorser
Address Address

Telephone Number Telephone Number

The undersigned hereby applies for an auctioneer's license/apprentice auctioneer's permit pursuant to the
provisions of Title 5, Chapter 58, of the General Laws of Rhode Island and any rules and regulations in support
of the law promulgated by the Director. The undersigned makes oath that he/she has read and understands
his/her obligations under the law and swears to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and
representations made in the application, including all supplementary statements hereto attached.

X

Signature of Applicant Date

Subscribed and sworn to me this day of ,

X My Commission Expires
Signature of Notary Public
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APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS REGULATION
AS AGENT OF AUCTIONEER
TO ACCEPT SERVICE OF PROCESS OR PLEADING

Pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 5-58, of the General Laws of Rhode Island,

1956 as amended and supportive rules and regulation, I, , do hereby

appoint the Director of Business Regulation as my agent for the receipt of service of process or pleadings in the State of
Rhode Island, upon which Director process or pleadings against me may be served. [ do hereby consent that suits and
actions may be commenced against me in the proper court of any country in the State of Rhode Island in which the
plaintiff may reside by the service of any process or pleading authorized by the laws of the State of Rhode Island on the
Director of Business Regulation, and I do hereby stipulate and agree that any such service of process or pleadings on the
Director shall be taken and held in all courts to be as valid and binding upon me as if due service had been made upon me
personally within the State of Rhode Island.

The foregoing appointment, consent, stipulation, and agreement shall be deemed to be and is irrevocable.

WITNESS my hand and seal this day of , 20
X
STATE OF ( )
COUNTY OF ( ) SS:
On this , day of , 20

personally appeared before me, a notary public in and for

said Country and State, , to me know to be the person

described in an who executed the foregoing instrument and acknowledged that he/she executed such instrument as

his/her free act and deed. X

My Commission Expires: Signature of Notary Public
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BOND OF AUCTIONEERS
TO THE DIRECTOR, DEPARTMENT OF BUSNINESS REGULATION
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTIONS

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, THAT WE , as

principal and , as surety, are held and firmly bond unto the Director of The

Department of Business Regulation, State of Rhode Island in the aggregate sum of Dollars

(% ), to the payment whereof we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators and assigns,

jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.
WHEREAS, a license has been granted to the principal by the oblige to engage in business as an auctioneer in this State.

NOW, THEREFORE THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION is such that if the said principal shall comply with all
of the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 5-58 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, An Act Relating to the Licensing of
Auctioneers, shall faithfully observe and honestly comply with such statutes, rules and regulations, and any amendments
thereto, as require the execution of this bond, and shall agree to execute the duties of his office according to law, to pay
over all monies received by him for goods sold at auction, to the owners thereof, and to pay over all duties to the State
and to the Town which shall accrue on goods sold by him, then this obligation to be void: otherwise to remain in full
force and effect.

It is expressly understood that this bond may be cancelled by the Surety at the expiration of thirty (30) days from the date
upon which the Surety shall have filed with the principal and oblige written notice to cancel. This provision, however,
shall not operate to relieve, release, or discharge the surety from any liability already accrued or which shall accrue
before the expiration of the thirty (30) day period.

Signed, sealed and dated this , day of , 20
X X
Witness to Principal (Signature) Principal (Signature)
X By
Witness to Surety (Signature) Attorney-in fact (Signature)
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***NOTICE TO NON-RESIDENT RECIPROCAL APPLICANTS***

IF YOU HAVE AN AUCTIONEER LICENSE IN YOUR STATE OF
DOMICILE AND WE HAVE RECIPROCITY WITH THAT STATE YOU DO
NOT NEED TO TAKE OUR EXAMINATION BUT NEED TO COMPLY
WITH ALL OTHER LICENSING REQUIRMENTS.

THE FOLLOWING STATES ARE RECIPROCAL WITH
RHODE ISLAND:

FLORIDA, INDIANA, KENTUCKY
LOUISIANA, PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA

TENNESSEE, TEXAS, VIRGINIA
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Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called
“licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns
and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below.

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social Security Number
and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate. These numbers will be transmitted to the Division of
Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license. This declaration must be made prior to the issuance
of a license.

Please return this affidavit along with your license application to: Rhode Island Department of Business
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920.

Licensee Declaration

O [ hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes
owed.
I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax
Administrator.
I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.

I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case #

I am in state receivership. (Case #

I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case #

Type of Professional License for which you are applying

Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate)

Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401)

Date
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