
 
 
 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
John O. Pastore Center 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, #68-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 
 

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION 
 
 
Chapter 5-3.1 of the General Laws, as amended, requires an annual license/permit by all persons practicing 
public accounting in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
 
An INDIVIDUAL application for a permit to practice public accounting for the period of July 1, 2008 to June 30, 
2009, 2010 or 2011 (depending on your last name, i.e., A-E - $125.00; F-M -$250.00 or N-Z - $375.00) is 
below.  Make certain that all data required is noted on the application, including CPE hours on the back and 
that the original form is returned to the office of the Rhode Island Board of Accountancy, together with the 
appropriate application fee, payable to General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island.   
 
 
The application must be completed in its entirety, which includes cumulative CPE.  Spreadsheets will not 
be accepted.  All CPE must be coded as listed on the application itself or the application will be 
returned as incomplete.  A minimum of 120 credits is mandatory.  CPE is based on calendar year, while 
licensing period is fiscal year. 
 
 
Code 1*   (self-study) cannot exceed 80 hours (over the three-year renewal period).  Certificates of  
                completion of self-study courses reported must be submitted along with the application. 
 
Code 2*  (formal teaching as instructor or speaker (yourself) and publication of professional books or articles 
                written) cannot exceed 20 hours per year (or 60 hours over the three-year renewal period).   
                Repeated presentations of the same subject matter will not be recognized for CPE credit. 
 
Code 3   (Practice Development and Management Skills, or non-accounting courses) cannot exceed 8 hours  
                per year (or 24 hours over the prior three-year renewal period).  
 
Code 4 *  (other CPE) this would include any CPE not indicated in codes 1-3.  
 
A&A      (coded as 1-4)  (minimum requirement for Accounting and Auditing is 8 hours per year (or 24 over  
              the prior three- year period).  It is mandatory that A&A courses included in codes 1-4 must also be  
              listed as A&A.  Taxation courses are not considered accounting and auditing.  Please refer to  
              regulations at www.dbr.state.ri.us, under Board of Accountancy, Regulations Concerning Professional  
             Conduct for clarification of mandatory CPE. 
 
Ethics   A minimum of six (6) hours of the one hundred twenty (120) hours required hereunder shall be  
   devoted to professional ethics. 
 
*   All subject matter is conditional on limitations in Practice Development and Management Skills 
 
                
 
 



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

John O. Pastore Center 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, #68-1 

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 
 

APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL 
OUT-OF-STATE  PERMIT TO PRACTICE 

PUBLIC ACCOUNTING  
 

1.   Full name (print)          Email        

      Residence Address          Phone     

      Employer Name          Phone     

      Employer Address               

      Preference for mailings  (check one)  residence (   )  business  (   )   *SS number:      
 
2.   List all other states in which you hold or have made application for a permit/license to practice public accounting 
                                   
 
3.   Have you ever had a professional or vocational license suspended or revoked by the State of Rhode Island or any other  

state or  foreign country?     Yes (   )        No  (   )       (If yes, please detail on separate sheet.) 
 
4.   Are you engaged in the practice of public accounting in the State of Rhode Island?        Yes (   ) No (   ) 

      If so, please answer the following:  

      a.  Name of practice unit                                    

  b.  The practice unit is composed of (check one)  (   ) Certified Public Accountants   (   ) Public Accountants 
 

      Note – Every practice unit must file a separate Practice Unit Application with the Board. 
 

I hereby certify that this practice unit does  does not   perform accounting or auditing 
engagements including, but not limited to, attest services, audits, reviews, compilations, forecasts, projections or 
other special reports.  

 
I hereby certify that I am the holder of an unrevoked and unsuspended Certificate/Authority No.   , issued 
to  me by the Board of Accountancy of the State of      on     (date 
of issuance). I have never been convicted by any court of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.  I further 
certify under penalty of perjury to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and representations made in this 
application, including completion of the CPE courses set forth on the reverse side of this application.   

 
 

Signature        Date       
 
  Enclose a check or money order for the appropriate fee (please refer to information above) payable to GENERAL 

TREASURER, STATE OF RHODE ISLAND.   Copies of certificates of completion for self-study courses 
reported on the reverse side of this form must be submitted with this license application.  Course description must 
be submitted along with title.    Lack of information will result in tabling of approval by the Board.  CPE is 
based on calendar year, licensing is fiscal year.  A minimum of 120 CPE credits is required. 

   
       PLEASE NOTE: YOU WILL NEED TO CONTACT THE STATE BOARD IN WHICH YOU HOLD A VALID 

LICENSE AND HAVE VERIFICATION SENT TO THE RHODE ISLAND BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY TO 
CERTIFY THAT YOUR LICENSE IS CURRENT AND IN GOOD STANDING. 

Please log on to www.dbr.state.ri.us  for CPE regulations. 
* For explanation of SS# requirement, go to www.rilin.state.ri.us/statutes/title5/5-76/INDEX.HTM 

For Board Use Only 
Date Rec’d     
Check No.     
Amount         
P or B       LF    



All CPE MUST BE LISTED ON THIS APPLICATION WITH CODING AND TOTALS 
Cumulative CPE Reporting 

It is the responsibility of each licensee to maintain CPE records as referenced in the regulations 
Year Code 1 Code 2 Code 3 Code 4 Total A & A *Ethics 

2006        

2007        

2008        

Totals        

        
PLEASE PRINT AND SIGN NAME:       /          

 
All CPE MUST BE LISTED ON THIS APPLICATION WITH CODING AND TOTALS 

THE BOARD WILL NOT ACCEPT ATTACHED SPREADSHEETS 
Program Attendance Record   - Copies of this page may be added if necessary  

School, firm or organization 
conducting program 

Title of program and description of content 
If necessary use separate sheet to give description 

CPE 
Code 

Dates 
Attended 

Total 
Hours 

A & A 
Hours 

Ethics 

       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

                       TOTALS:        /           

CPE Codes: 1.  Formal self-study/correspondence courses - limit of 80 hours over 3 years – copies of certificates for self-study courses reported must be  
       submitted with this license application  - Interactive credits only are accepted 
  2.  Formal teaching (yourself) as instructor or speaker and publication of professional books or articles - limit of 60 hours over 3 years 
  3.  Courses devoted to practice development and management skills – limit of 24 hours over 3 years   
  4.  Other CPE 
  A & A:  Accounting and Auditing - minimum of 24 hours over 3 years  (not a separate code-must be extracted from codes 1-4) 
  * Ethics – Commencing with the 3-year period beginning January 1, 2005 and ending December 31, 2007, not less than 6 credits must be in Ethics 





 
 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
John O. Pastore Center 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, #68-1 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE OR CPA EXAM GRADES 
 

Instructions for Applicant:  Complete the section below indicating your full name and address of the State Board, which 
issued your original certificate.  Please mail this form to the State Board under which jurisdiction you sat for the 
Uniform CPA Examination. This state board will return this information directly to the State of Rhode Island.   
 
 
 
NAME:                
    (Type or print your full name, no initials) 
 
 
TO STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY OF:           
       (State Board, which issued your original certificate) 
 
  STATE BOARD ADDRESS:          
 
               
 

 
Instructions for Accountancy Board Staff: Please complete this request for verification and return it directly to the Rhode 
Island Board of Accountancy at the above address. 
 
The individual noted above holds an original certificate as a certified public accountant (circle) Yes   No 
 
Certificate Number         Date issued      
 
He/she is   is not    currently licensed to practice.  Expiration date      
 
 
The individual noted above passed the Uniform CPA Examination: (Please circle applicable number) 
 
1. Prepared and graded by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants   
2. Prepared and graded by this Board 
3. Prepared by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and graded by this Board 
4. Other:             
 
 

EXAM DATE EXAM ID NUMBER AUD BEC FAR REG 
      
      
      
      
      
      
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

2. 
 
 
Has this individual successfully completed the AICPA Ethics Self-Study Examination with a grade of 90% or better? 
 
    Yes    No 
 
Has this individual’s Certificate or License ever been suspended or revoked?   
 
    Yes    No 
 
If yes, please indicate the reason:           
 
              
 
              

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
             
     State Board 
 
 

 Completed by:          
     Name 
 
 
             
     Position 
 
             
     Date 
 
 
 
 
 
 BOARD SEAL 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

RHODE ISLAND BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
233 RICHMOND STREET 

PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND  02903 
 

APPOINTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE 
AS AGENT OF 

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT 
 
 

Pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 3, of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956 as amended and supportive 
 
rules and regulations I,        , of the city of      , 
 
State of      , do hereby appoint the Secretary of State for the State of Rhode 
 
Island as my agent for the receipt of service of process or pleadings in the State of Rhode Island, upon which Secretary 
 
of State process or pleadings against me may be served.  I do hereby consent that suits and actions may be commenced 
 
against me in the proper court of any county in the State of Rhode Island in which the plaintiff may reside by the service 
 
of any process or pleading authorized by the laws of the State of Rhode Island on the Secretary of State, and I do hereby 
 
stipulate and agree that any such service of process or pleadings on the Secretary of State shall be taken and held in all  
 
courts to be as valid and binding upon me as if due service had been made upon me personally within the State of Rhode  
 
Island. 
 
The foregoing appointment, consent, stipulation and agreement shall be deemed to be and is irrevocable. 
 
 
WITNESS my hand and seal this     day of      ,   . 
 
       
               
 
STATE OF      } 
      } SS: 
COUNTY OF      } 



 
 
 
On this     day of     ,   , personally appeared before me, a notary public 
 
in and for said County and State,       , 
 
to me known to be the person described in and who executed the foregoing instrument and acknowledged that 
 
       executed such instrument as      
 
free act and deed.  
                
          (Notary Public) 
My commission expires:     
 



 

Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification   

 
 

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other 
authority  (herein after called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state 
of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the 
state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted 
below.   
 
In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their 
Social Security Number, and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These 
numbers will be transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the 
issuance of a license.  This declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license. 
 Please return this affidavit along with your license application to practice to: RI Board of Accountancy, 233 Richmond St., 
Providence, RI 02903 
 
 
 
 Licensee Declaration 
□ I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required 

state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed.   

□ I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes 
that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.  

□ I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state. 

□ I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case # ___________________________) 

□ I am in state receivership.  (Case # ___________________________) 

□ I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. 
(Case # ___________________________) 

 
 
Type of Professional Licensee for which you are applying  
 
___________________________       ____________________________ 
Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 
 
 
_____________________________________ ______________________________________ 
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 
 
__________________________________           
Date 


