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The following are rules for the methodology for determining the presumptive value of 
motor vehicles subject to the excise tax of December 31, 2010 adopted pursuant to 
Section 44-34-11(c)(1) of the General Laws of the State of Rhode Island. 
 
 
Section 1 Authority 
 

1.01 Section 44-34-11(c)(1) of the General Laws of Rhode Island directs the 
Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission to adopt by rule a methodology 
for determining the presumptive value of motor vehicles subject to the 
excise tax. 

 
 
Section 2 Purpose 

 
 

1.01 The purpose of the methodology is to determine the value of motor 
vehicles using information concerning the make, model, type and year of 
manufacture to be used in the determination of the excise taxes of  
December 31, 2010 assessed by each of the cities and towns in Rhode 
Island. 

 
 
 



 

Section 3 Regulatory Provisions - Methodology 
 

1.01 All motor vehicles identified as the 2011 model year shall be valued based 
upon 100% of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price as reflected in 
official motor vehicle guides such as that of the National Automobile 
Dealers Association (NADA) for New England. 

 
1.02 All motor vehicles identified as 2010 model year up to and including the 

1994 model year shall be valued based upon 100% of their clean retail 
value as reported by the National Automobile Dealers Association 
(NADA) Official Used Car Guide. 

 
1.03 All Motor vehicles identified as 1993 model year up to and including the 

1987 model year shall be valued based upon 100% of their clean or 
average retail value as reported by the National Automobile Dealers 
Association (NADA) Official Older Used Car Guide and the National 
Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Classic, Collectible, Exotic and 
Muscle Car Appraisal Guide to be published in January 2011. In the event 
of a conflict between the two above, the former shall prevail. 

 
1.04 All motor vehicles identified as the 1986 model year and older, whether or 

not the vehicle is an antique motor car as defined in Section 31-1-3(a) of 
the General Laws of Rhode Island shall be deemed to possess an average 
retail value of $500.00. 

 
All motor vehicles more than twenty five (25) years old on June 16, 1995   
whether or not the same is an antique motor car as defined in Section 31-
1-3(a) of the General Laws of Rhode Island shall be deemed to have an 
average retail value of $500.00 or its actual retail value whichever is less. 
 

 
1.05 All motor vehicles identified as the 2010 model year up to and including 

the 1987 model year that are classified as exotics, classic and or collectible 
shall be valued based upon 100% of their average retail value reported by 
the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Classic, 
Collectible, Exotic and Muscle Car Appraisal Guide to be published in 
January 2011. 

 
1.06 All motor vehicles identified as the 2010 model year up to and including 

the 1987 model year that are classified as recreation vehicles shall be 
valued based upon 100% of their use retail value as reported by the 
National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Recreation Vehicle 
Appraisal guide to be published in January 2011.  

 
 
 

 
 
 



 

1.07 All motorcycles identified as 2010 model year up to and including the 
1987 model year shall be valued based upon their average retail value as 
reported by ht National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) 
Motorcycle / Snowmobile / ATV / Personal Watercraft Appraisal Guide to 
be published in January of 2011. 

 
1.08 Those communities whose fiscal years are other than July 1 to June 30, 

may for the purpose of complying with section 44-34.1-1 of the Rhode 
Island General Laws, Excise Tax Phase Out, use the methodology adopted 
by the Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission Rule 2009. 

 
 
 

Section 4 Severability 
 

1.01 If any section, term, or provision of this Regulation should be adjudged 
invalid for any reason, that judgment should not effect, impair, or 
invalidate any remaining sections, terms or provisions, which shall remain 
in full force and effect. 
                                                              

 
CERTIFICATION 

   
  I certify that this document was adopted as a Rule of Procedure by the  
  Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission on October 28, 2010 in  
                        Accordance with Section 42-35-3 and 44-34-11 of the General Laws of  
                        the State of Rhode Island. 
 
 

_____________________________ 
Linda Cwiek, Chairperson 

Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission 
 

 
Section 5         Effective Date 
 
  This Regulation shall be effective twenty (20) days from the date of filing    
  with the Secretary of State. 
 
 

ADOPTED: 
 
  FILED: 
 
  EFFECTIVE: 
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