RULE 2009 - METHODOLOGY FOR DETERMINING THE PRESUMPTIVE
VALUE OF MOTOR VEHICLES SUBJECT TO THE EXCISE TAX OF
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The following are rules for the methodology for determining the presumptive value of
motor vehicles subject to the excise tax of December 31, 2009 adopted pursuant to
Section 44-34-11(c)(1) of the General Laws of the State of Rhode Island.

Section 1 Authority

1.01 Section 44-34-11(c)(1) of the General Laws of Rhode Island directs the
Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission to adopt by rule a methodology
for determining the presumptive value of motor vehicles subject to the
excise tax.

Section 2 Purpose

1.01 The purpose of the methodology is to determine the value of motor
vehicles using information concerning the make, model, type and year of
manufacture to be used in the determination of the excise taxes of

1.02 December 31, 2009 assessed by each of the cities and towns in Rhode
Island.



Section 3

1.01

1.02

1.03

1.04

1.05

1.06

Requlatory Provisions - Methodology

All motor vehicles, motorcycles and commercial trucks identified as the
2009 model year shall be valued based upon 100% of the manufacturer’s
suggested retail price as reflected in official motor vehicle guides such as
that of the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) for New
England.

All motor vehicles and commercial trucks identified as 2009 model year
up to and including the 1993 model year shall be valued based upon 100%
of their average retail value as reported by the National Automobile
Dealers Association (NADA) Official Used Car Guide.

All Motor vehicles identified as 1992 model year up to and including the
1986 model year shall be valued based upon 100% of their average retail
value as reported by the National Automobile Dealers Association
(NADA) Official Older Used Car Guide and the National Automobile
Dealers Association (NADA) Classic, Collectible and Special Interest Car
Appraisal Guide to be published in January 2010. In the event of a conflict
between the two above, the former shall prevail.

All motor vehicles identified as the 1985 model year and older, whether or
not the vehicle is an antique motor car as defined in Section 31-1-3(f) of
the General Laws of Rhode Island shall be deemed to possess an average
retail value of $500.00.

All motor vehicles more than twenty five (25) years old on June 16, 1994
whether or not the same is an antique motor car as defined in Section 31-
1-3(f) of the General Laws of Rhode Island shall be deemed to have an

average retail value of $500.00 or its actual retail value whichever is less.

All motor vehicles identified as the 2009 model year up to and including
the 1986 model year that are classified as exotics, classic and or
collectible shall be valued based upon 100% of their average retail value
reported by the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA)
Classic, Collectible and Special Interest Car Appraisal Guide to be
published in January 2010.

All motor vehicles identified as the 2009 model year up to and including
the 1986 model year that are classified as recreation vehicles shall be
valued based upon 100% of their average retail value as reported by the
National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) Recreation Vehicle
Appraisal guide to be published in January 2010.



1.07

1.08

Section 4

1.01

Section 5

All motorcycles identified as 2009 model year up to and including the
1986 model year shall be valued based upon their average retail value as
reported by ht National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA)
Motorcycle / Snowmobile / ATV / Personal Watercraft Appraisal Guide to
be published in January of 2010.

Those communities whose fiscal years are other than July 1 to June 30,
may for the purpose of complying with section 44-34.1-1 of the Rhode
Island General Laws, Excise Tax Phase Out, use the methodology adopted
by the Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission Rule 2008.

Severability

If any section, term, or provision of this Regulation should be adjudged
invalid for any reason, that judgment should not effect, impair, or
invalidate any remaining sections, terms or provisions, which shall remain
in full force and effect.

CERTIFICATION

I certify that this document was adopted as a Rule of Procedure by the
Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission on October 29, 2009 in
Accordance with Section 42-35-3 and 44-34-11 of the General Laws of
the State of Rhode Island.

Linda Cwiek, Chairperson
Rhode Island Vehicle Value Commission
Effective Date

This Regulation shall be effective twenty (20) days from the date of filing
with the Secretary of State.
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