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1.0 PURPOSE, SCOPE AND AUTHORITY 
 
1.1 Purpose:  The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to prescribe the  

conditions under which the Rhode Island Department of Transportation, Division of 
Motor Vehicles will accept registration applications from petroleum products 
delivery vehicles. 

 
1.2 Scope:  All owners of vehicles used to transport petroleum products for purposes  

of resale are governed by these Rules and Regulations. 
 
1.3 Authority:  The following Rules and Regulations are promulgated to administer   

Chapter 47-8 of the Rhode Island General Laws, and supercede all previous Rules 
and Regulations adopted heretofore. 
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2.0 POLICY 
 
2.1 In order to protect the safety and welfare of the general public, it is the official 

policy of the Rhode Island Department of Transportation to regulate the registration 
of all vehicles involved in the transportation of petroleum products for purposes of 
resale, and to limit the acceptance of registration applications for such vehicles. 
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3.0 Definitions:  except as otherwise indicated, the following definitions shall apply. 
 
3.1 Applicant:  any individual, firm, corporation or partnership or agency, public or  

private, that has filed an application for registration of a petroleum delivery vehicle. 
 
3.2 Certification:  proof of liability insurance on Rhode Island Form GU 1338A or  

Rhode Island Form DMV-1. 
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4.0 REGISTRATION OF PETROLEUM TRANSPORTATION VEHICLES 
          
4.1 Every person making application for registration of a vehicle carrying petroleum  
   products must supply to the Division of Motor Vehicles certification, on Rhode  

Island Form GU-1338A or Rhode Island Form DMV-1, of a liability insurance  
policy in the amount of two million dollars ($2,000,000).  Provided, however, that a 
petroleum delivery vehicle owner may provide certification that he is self-insured in 
the amount of two million dollars ($2,000,000) on said form. 

 
 Said insurance policy shall be comprehensive in nature and include coverage for  
  underground or above-ground environmental contamination due to leakage or  

discharge of petroleum product. 
 
4.2 Every person making application for a vehicle registration or renewal of all  

vehicle registration of any vehicle used in the transportation of petroleum  
products must comply with Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers Safety  
Regulations for the transportation of hazardous materials (Code of Federal 
Regulations, Title 49, Section 397.21) entitled “Markings of Vehicles Operated by 
Private Carriers,” prior to registration of said vehicle. 

 
Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers Safety Regulations provides as 
follows: 
 

(a) General.  A motor vehicle being operated by a private carrier of  
property must be marked as specified in paragraphs (b) and (c) of this 
section if that vehicle— 
 

(1) Is transporting hazardous materials of a kind or quantity that 
require the vehicle to be marked or placarded in accordance with 
Section 177.823 of this title; and 

 
(2) Is operating under its own power, either alone or in  
      combination. 
  
 (b) Nature of marking.  The marking must display the  

      following information: 
 
(1) The name or trade name of the private carrier operating  

the vehicle. 
   

(2) The city or community and State abbreviation, in     
       which the carrier maintains its principal office or in  
       which the vehicle is customarily based. 
 
(3) If the name of a person other than the operating carrier  

appears on the vehicle, the words “operated by”  
immediately preceding the information required by  
paragraphs (b) (1) and (2) if this section. 
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(4) Other identifying information may be displayed on the  
vehicle if it is not inconsistent with the information 
required by this paragraph. 

 
(c)  Size, shape, location, and color of marking.  The   

           marking must— 
 

(1) Appear on both sides of the vehicle. 
 

(2) Be in letters that contrast sharply in color with the    
      background. 
 
(3) Be readily legible during daylight hours from a 

distance of 50 feet while the vehicle is stationary; 
and 

 
(4) Be kept and maintained in a manner that retains the 

legibility required by paragraph © (3) of this section.  
The marking may consist of a removable device if 
that device meets the identification and legibility 
requirements of this section. 

 
Section 177.823, to which reference is made in Section 397.21, provides as follows: 
 
 (a)  A carrier may not move a transport vehicle containing a hazardous  
                  material unless the vehicle is marked and placarded in accordance with   
                  Part 172 of this subchapter, or unless, in an emergency— 
 

(1) The vehicle is escorted by a representative of a state or local 
government; 

 
(2) The carrier has permission from the Department; or— 

 
(3) Movement of the transport vehicle is necessary to protect life or 

property. 
 
4.3 The Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles shall deny and refuse the application of 

any person subject to these rules and regulations who has not supplied the Division 
of Motor Vehicles with certification of liability insurance on the forms prescribed 
herein, or who has not complied with Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers 
Safety Regulations. 
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5.0 REVOCATION OF PETROLEUM TRANSPORTATION VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS 
  
 
5.1 The Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles shall revoke the vehicle registration on any 

vehicle subject to these rules and regulations if the liability insurance coverage 
required by Rhode Island General Laws Section 47-8-7 and these rules and 
regulations is cancelled, suspended or terminated. 

 
5.2 Failure to comply with the identification markings required for petroleum 

transportation vehicles shall be cause for immediate cancellation of such vehicle’s 
registration and license plates by the Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles. 

 
5.3 Any revocation of registration and/or license plates shall be carried out in 

accordance with the procedures for revocation of registration and/or license plates 
of other vehicles 
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6.0  REISSUANCE OF REGISTRATION REVOKED UNDER THESE RULES AND 

REGULATIONS 
 
6.1 The reissuance of any registrations and license plates following revocation for  

failure to comply with these rules and regulations shall be subject to a fee of fifty 
dollars ($50.00) per vehicle. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

-7- 
 
 



 
 

 
7.0 SEVERABILITY 
 
7.1 If any provision of these rules and regulations or the application thereof to any  

person or circumstances shall be held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect the 
provisions or application of the rules and regulations which can be given effect, and 
to this end the provisions of these rules and regulations are declared to be severable. 
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8.0         EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

  These rules and regulations shall become effective twenty (20) days after filing    
  with the Office of  Secretary of State. 
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I hereby certify the above to be a true copy. 
 
 
 
 
    _____________________________ 
    Joseph Pezza 
    Director 
 
 
Date: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State:  April 1, 1985 
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