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 MASTER MECHANICAL CONTRACTOR

 Unlimited heating, cooling and process work

 Can be self employed

1)  Applicant shall have worked as a Contractor or has been associated in both trades for 20
years or more, 10 years as a Rhode Island Pipefitter Master I and 10 years as a Rhode Island
Refrigeration Master I, and prove expertise and knowledge by a notarized resume.

2)  Provide evidence to the Chief Administrator that an up to date knowledge of the trades is
maintained, by periodic schooling of a general nature and trade seminars or installations
demanding applicant’s expertise.

3)  Furnish evidence of installed, completed or operating installations, if requested.

4) Has assimilated working knowledge of a Rhode Island Journeyperson and Rhode Island
Master licenses, and has passed the appropriate examinations for the Rhode Island Pipefitter
Master I and Rhode Island Refrigeration Master I license.

5)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”

6)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
Withholding procedures and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In
addition, they shall have a working knowledge of state and federal OSHA laws and the
B.O.C.A.  State Building Code, particularly the Mechanical Sections of the currently approved
edition.

7)  Final awarding of this license is also based upon the past performance of applicant as a
heating and refrigeration contractor.

8)  Advancement to this license is by approval of Chief Administrator after evaluation of
applicant’s resume by the board.
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                                 CONTRACTOR MASTER : LIMITED LICENSE

                                                 (PER R.I.G.L. 28-27-6.3)

         Work is allowed solely as permitted by R.I.G.L. 28-27-6 (b). The license allows limited work only by a Limited
License Contractor Master on behalf of one (1) and only one (1) entity for which he or she is continuously engaged in
supervision of installation, maintenance, and repair work and for which he or she is an officer (if such entity is a
corporation), a partner (if such entity is a partnership), or a similarly authorized principal (if such entity is neither a
corporation nor a partnership).  The license may be used, solely on behalf of the entity, as follows:  (1) CAN engage in
business (through duly licensed      individuals), advertise, bid for work, and take out permits; but (2) CANNOT individually
engage in installation, maintenance, or repair work.

                                      A license holder CAN be self-employed.

1. General Criteria for Applicants for Limited License Contractor Master:

A.  Education and Experience:

1.  Applicants must have a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering (or an equivalent
degree as determined by the ) and must have at least 4 years of relevant experience in the discipline applied for
(pipefitting, sprinkler fitter, sheet metal and/or refrigeration) of a nature and quality, which is acceptable to the .

           AND/OR

2.  Applicants must have a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration (or an equivalent
degree as determined by the board) and must have at least 4 years of relevant experience in the discipline
applied for (pipefitting, sprinkler fitter, sheet metal and/or refrigeration) of a nature and quality which is acceptable
to the.

2.  Application and Supporting Materials

 A.  Applicants must submit 2 affidavits, of a nature and quality acceptable to the, from duly authorized officers of
their employment, evidencing continued competence and relevant experience in the discipline applied for
(pipefitting, sprinklers, sheet metal and/or refrigeration).

B.  Applicants must submit 2 character references of a nature and quality acceptable to the.

C.  Applicants must supply the Employer Identification Number (EIN) of the entity to be licensed.

D.  Applicants must supply a copy of the current Workers Compensation insurance policy of the entity to be
licensed.

E.  Applicants must supply a copy of the current general liability insurance policy of the entity to be licensed.

3.  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island Department of Labor &
Training issued, license class and number, under which business is conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum
size of 3"

4.  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker's Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal Withholding procedures
and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In addition, they shall have a working knowledge of state
and federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A.  State Building Code, particularly the Mechanical Sections of the currently
approved edition.

5.   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor’s license number to any
advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files with any consumer for his or her professional
services and to any applicable permit required for the performance of those services.
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 PIPEFITTER CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS “1”

                                                          Unlimited License

                                                      Can be self-employed

 l)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Pipefitters Journeyperson l license for one (l) year or held a
Pipefitters Master II with the State of Rhode Island for one (l) year.

2)  An out of state Master Class I Pipefitters license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Pipefitter Master Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a State does not have a Pipefitter Master I license available, a notarized
resume showing six  (6) years experience, one of which is as a contractor, shall accompany the
application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Shall have knowledge of a Rhode Island Master Class II license and both Journeyperson Licenses
Class I and Class II.

5)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

6)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”

7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
withholding procedures and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage). In addition,
they shall have working knowledge of State and Federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A. State Building
Code, particularly the mechanical section of the currently approved edition.

8)  This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.
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 PIPEFITTER CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS II

                             Limited license

                                  Can be self-employed

1)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Pipefitter Journeyperson Class II license for three (3) years.

2)  An out of state Master Class II Pipefitting license will allow the applicant to be tested for the Master Class II
Pipefitter\Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the application.  In the event a State does not
have a Pipefitter Master Class II license available a notarized resume showing six  (6) years experience, three (3) of
which is as a contractor, shall accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Shall have a working knowledge of boilers, gas, oil, controls, thermostats and some control wiring and different types
of radiation.

5)  Shall have a knowledge of blueprint reading and pipe layout.

6)  Commercial heating installations are limited to 500,000 BTU’s. Residential heating installations are limited up to
500,000 BTU’s.  Proper permits shall be taken with the Rhode Island Department of Labor, Boiler Division on commercial
heating installations of 200,000 BTU’s and residential installations of 400,000 BTU’s and above. A Pipefitter Master Class
II license may take out these permits up to 500,000 BTU’S and a Pipefitter Master Class I license is needed for 500,000
BTU’S and above.

            Section IV, heating boilers, of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code shall be followed.

                A) Steam boilers for operations at pressure not exceeding l5 psi.

                B) Hot water heating and hot water supply boilers for operations at pressures not exceeding l60 psi and/or
temperatures not to exceed 250 degrees F.

7)  Limited to heating installations only.  Process piping is not allowed with the Class II license.

8)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island Department of Labor &
Training issued, license class and number, under which business is conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum
size of 3”

9)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, TDI, State and Federal Withholding procedures
and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage). In addition, they shall have a working knowledge of State
and Federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A. State Building Code, particularly the International Mechanical Code of the
currently approved edition.

10)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's license number to any
advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files with any consumer for his or her professional
services and to any applicable permit required for the performance of those services.
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                                   PIPEFITTER JOURNEYPERSON CLASS I

                                                    Unlimited license

                                              Cannot be self-employed

l)  Minimum of l0000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of 144 hours of trade related
schooling per year, shall be a properly registered apprentice in a State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program and a copy of the certificate of completion shall accompany the application.
Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of
Labor may be deducted from the apprentice program.

2)  An out of state Pipefitter Journeyperson Class I license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Pipefitter Journeyperson Class I Rhode Island license. A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a State does not have a Pipefitter Journeyperson Class I available, a
notarized resume showing five (5) years experience, as a Journeyperson Pipefitter, shall accompany
the application.

3)  Shall have knowledge of the Rhode Island Pipefitter Journeyperson Class II.

4)  Shall have knowledge of a gas and oil fired boilers, controls and thermostats, control wiring and
different types of radiation.

5)  Shall have knowledge of blueprint reading and pipe layout also  experience in cutting and welding.

6)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

7)  Shall have knowledge of OSHA and State Building Codes (Mechanical Section).

                                  PIPEFITTER JOURNEYPERSON CLASS II

                                     Limited license/Cannot be self-employed

 l)  Minimum of 4000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of 288 hours of trade related
schooling, shall be a properly registered apprentice in a State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program.  The apprentice shall successfully complete the program and a copy of the
certificate of completion shall accompany the application. Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited
institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Labor may be deducted from the apprentice
program.

2)  An out of state Pipefitter Journeyperson Class II license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Pipefitter Journeyperson Class II Rhode Island license.   A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a State does not have a Pipefitter Journeyperson Class II available, a
notarized resume showing five (5) years experience as a Journeyperson Pipefitter shall accompany
the application.

3)  Shall have a working knowledge of boilers, gas, oil, controls, thermostats and some control wiring
and different types of radiation, also a knowledge of blueprint reading and pipe layout.
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4)  Commercial heating installations are limited up to 500,000 BTU’s.  Residential heating installations
are limited up to 500,000 BTU’s.

            Section IV, Heating Boilers, of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code shall be followed.

                A)  Steam boilers for operations at pressure not exceeding l5 psi.

                B)  Hot water heating and hot water supply boilers for operations at pressures not
exceeding l60 psi and/or temperatures not to exceed 250 degrees F.

5)  Shall have knowledge of OSHA, State Building Codes and currently approved edition of the
International Mechanical Code.

6)  Limited to heating installations only.  Process piping is not allowed with the Class II license.

7)  A company shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per three (3) licensed persons for on-the-
job training. Any properly registered apprentice shall at all times, work under the direct supervision of
a Master Pipefitter I or II or a Journeyperson I or II.

8)  A Pipefitter Journeyperson II may apply for a Pipefitter Journeyperson I license by entering the
Pipefitter I apprenticeship program. Serve an additional 6,000 hours of on-the-job training plus 432
hours of related training and shall work under a Pipefitter Master I or a Journeyperson I.

                              REFRIGERATION CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS I

                                                             Unlimited license

                                                        Can be self-employed

 l)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Refrigeration Journeyperson I license for one (l) year or held a
Refrigeration Master II license with the State of  Rhode Island for one (l) year. 2) An out of State
Master Class I Refrigeration license will allow the applicant to be tested for the Refrigeration Master
Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the application.  In the event
a State does not have a Refrigeration Master Class I license available, a notarized resume showing
six  (6) years experience, one of which is as a contractor, shall accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Shall have knowledge of the Rhode Island Refrigeration Master Class II and both Journeyperson
licenses Class I and Class II.

5)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

6)    All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”
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7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
Withholding procedures and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In addition
they shall have a working knowledge of State and Federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A. State
Building Code (the mechanical section of the currently approved addition).

 8)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.

                             REFRIGERATION CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS II

                                                             Limited license

                                                       Can be self employed

l)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II license for three (3) years.

2)  An out of State Master Class II Refrigeration license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Master Class II Refrigeration Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a State does not have a Refrigeration Master Class II license available, a
notarized resume showing six  (6) years experience, three (3) of which is as a contractor, shall
accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Limited to installations up to 20 ton comfort cooling systems and installations up to 3 ton product
cooling or up to l Horsepower freezing.

5)  Shall have a working knowledge of controls and wiring also a knowledge of layout and blueprint
reading and a knowledge of Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II.

6)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”

7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
withholding procedures and the State and Federal Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage). In addition,
they shall have a working knowledge of the State and Federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A. State
Building Code, particularly the International Mechanical Code of the currently approved edition.

8)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.
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                                  REFRIGERATION JOURNEYPERSON CLASS I

                                                         Unlimited license

                                                     Cannot be self-employed

 l)  Minimum of 10000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of l44 hours of trade related
schooling per year, shall be a properly registered apprentice in a Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program.  The apprentice shall successfully complete the program and a copy of the
certificate of completion shall accompany the application.  Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited
institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Labor may be deducted from the apprentice
program.

 2)  An out of State Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I license will allow the applicant to be tested
for the Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be
attached to the application.  In the event a State does not have a Refrigeration Journeyperson Class I
available, a notarized resume showing five (5) years experience, as a Refrigeration Journeyperson
shall accompany the application.

 3)  Shall have knowledge of a Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II.

 4)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

 5)  Shall have proficiency in line sizing, soldering, evacuation, charging and testing of systems
utilizing any size liquid or suction line.

 6)  Shall be able to diagnose electrical and mechanical problems, and be able to read blueprints and
do wiring related to systems and controls.  Shall be familiar with pipe hangers and supports.

7)  Shall have knowledge of OSHA, and State Building Codes (Mechanical system).

                                 REFRIGERATION JOURNEYPERSON CLASS II

                                                          Limited license

                                                  Cannot be self-employed

 l)  Minimum of 4000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of 288 hours of trade related
schooling. Shall be a properly registered apprentice in a State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program.  The apprentice shall successfully complete the program and a copy of the
certificate of completion shall accompany the application. Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited
institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Labor may be deducted from the apprentice
program.
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2)  An out of State Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II license will allow the applicant to be tested
for the Refrigeration Journeyperson Class II Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be
attached to the application.  In the event a State does not have a Refrigeration Journeyperson Class
II license available, a notarized resume showing five (5) years experience, as a Refrigeration
Journeyperson must accompany the application.

 3)  Limited to installations up to 20 ton comfort cooling systems and installations up to 3 ton product
cooling or l Horsepower freezing.

4)  Shall have electrical knowledge of a single and three phase power wiring and control systems.
Shall have ability to evacuate fractional Horsepower systems, charge and test small closed systems,
also to balance and adjust.  Shall be thoroughly familiar with use of gases, refrigerants, fluxes solder
and torches.

 5)  Shall have knowledge of OSHA, State Building Codes and currently approved edition of the
International Mechanical Code.

6)  A company shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per three (3) licensed persons for on-the-
job training. Any properly registered apprentice shall, at all times, work under the direct supervision of
a Refrigeration Master I or II or a Refrigeration Journeyperson I or II.

7)  A Refrigeration Journeyperson II may apply for a Refrigeration Journeyperson I license by
reentering the Refrigeration Journeyperson I apprenticeship program, serve an additional 6,000 hours
of on-the-job training plus an additional 432 hours of related training and shall work under a
Refrigeration Master I or a Refrigeration Journeyperson I.

                            SPRINKLERFITTER CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS I

                                                           Unlimited license

                                                       Can be self-employed

 l)  Shall have a Rhode Island Sprinklerfitter Journeyperson Class I license for one (l) year.

2)  An out of state Sprinklerfitter Contractor Master Class I license will allow the applicant to be tested
for the Sprinklerfitter Contractor Master Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be
attached to the application. In the event a State does not have a Sprinklerfitter Contractor Master
Class I license available a notarized resume showing six  (6) years experience, one of which is as a
contractor, must accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”
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5)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

6)  Shall have complete knowledge of the sprinklerfitting trade and be proficient in pipe layout, hanger
location, blueprint reading and cutting and threading pipe.

7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
Withholding procedures and the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In addition,
they shall have a working knowledge of State and Federal OSHA laws and the B.O.C.A. State
Building Code, particularly the Mechanical section of the currently approved edition.

8)  Any properly licensed Rhode Island pipefitter or plumber installing one (1) sprinkler head over a
domestic boiler shall be exempted from holding a sprinklerfitters license.  The connection off the
domestic water supply may be done by properly licensed Rhode Island Pipefitters and Plumbers.

 9)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.

                             SPRINKLERFITTER JOURNEYPERSON CLASS I

                                                         Unlimited license

                                                 Cannot be self-employed

l)  Minimum of 10000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of l44 hours of trade related
schooling per year, shall be a properly registered apprentice in a State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program.  The apprentice must successfully complete the program and a copy of the
certificate of completion must accompany the application. Two (2) years of schooling in an accredited
institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of Labor may be deducted from the apprentice
program.

2)  An out of State Sprinklerfitter Journeyperson Class I license will allow the applicant to be tested for
the Sprinklerfitter Journeyperson Class I Rhode Island license.   A copy of the license shall be
attached to the application.  In the event a State does not have a Sprinklerfitter Journeyperson Class I
license available a notarized resume showing five (5) years experience as a Sprinklerfitter
Journeyperson Class I shall accompany the application.

3)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

4)  Shall have complete knowledge of the Sprinklerfitting trade.

5)  Shall be proficient in pipe layout, hanger  location and cutting and threading of pipe.

6)  Shall have knowledge of OSHA and State Building Codes (Mechanical section).

7)  Any properly licensed Rhode Island pipefitter or plumber installing one (1) sprinkler head over a
domestic boiler shall be exempted from holding a sprinklerfitters license. The connection off the
domestic water supply may be done by properly licensed Rhode Island pipefitters and plumbers.
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                              SHEET METAL CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS “I”

                                                         Unlimited License

                                                      Can be self-employed

1)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Sheet Metal Journeyperson I license for one (1) year.

2)  An out of state Master Class I Sheet Metal license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Sheet Metal Master Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a state does not have a Sheet Metal Contractor Master Class I license
available, a notarized resume showing six (6) years experience, one (1) of which is as a contractor,
shall accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Shall have knowledge of a Rhode Island Master Class II license and both Journeyperson Licenses
Class I and Class II.

5)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

6)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”

7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
withholding procedures, R.I. General Law 28-27, Apprenticeship legislation, rules and regulations and
the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In addition, they shall have working
knowledge of SMACNA Industry Standards, State and Federal OSHA laws, and the BOCA State
Building Code, particularly the mechanical section of the currently approved edition.

8)  A contractor shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per every five (5) licensed persons for
on-the-job training.  Any properly registered apprentice shall, at all times work under the direct
supervision of a Sheet Metal Worker Journeyperson Class I or a Sheet Metal Contractor Master
Class I.

9)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.
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                              SHEET METAL CONTRACTOR MASTER CLASS “II”

                                                           Unlimited License

                                               Can be self-employed

1)  Shall have held a Rhode Island Sheet Metal Journeyperson II license for three (3) years.

2)  An out of state Master Class I Sheet Metal license will allow the applicant to be tested for the
Sheet Metal Master Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached to the
application.  In the event a state does not have a Sheet Metal Contractor Master Class I license
available, a notarized resume showing six (6) years experience, three (3) of which is as a contractor,
shall accompany the application.

3)  Shall have a regular place of business.

4)  Shall have knowledge of a Rhode Island Master Class II license and both Journeyperson Licenses
Class I and Class II.

5)  Limited to installation of sheet metal on a residential occupancy as defined by the RI Building code
current edition.

6)  All vehicles and places of business shall be identified by the displaying of Rhode Island
Department of Labor & Training issued, license class and number, under which business is
conducted. Lettering must be a done at a minimum size of 3”

7)  Contractors shall have an understanding of Worker’s  Compensation, T.D.I., State and Federal
withholding procedures, R.I. General Law 28-27, Apprenticeship legislation, rules and regulations and
the Federal and State Davis-Bacon Act (Prevailing Wage).  In addition, they shall have working
knowledge of SMACNA Industry Standards, State and Federal OSHA laws, and the BOCA State
Building Code, particularly the mechanical section of the currently approved edition.

8)  A contractor shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per every one (1) licensed person for
on-the-job training.  Any properly registered apprentice shall, at all times work under the direct
supervision of a Sheet Metal Worker Journeyperson Class I or II, or a Sheet Metal Contractor Master
Class I or II.

 9)   This person shall carry on his or her person at all times and shall affix his or her contractor's
license number to any advertisement and/or contract he or she executes and/or bid he or she files
with any consumer for his or her professional services and to any applicable permit required for the
performance of those services.
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                          SHEET METAL WORKERS JOURNEYPERSON CLASS I

                                                Cannot be self-employed

1)  Minimum of 8,000 hours of on the job training with a minimum of 144 hours of trade schooling per
year, shall have been a properly registered apprentice in the State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program and a copy of the certificate of completion shall accompany the application.

2)  An out of state Sheet Metal Journeyperson Class I license will allow the applicant to be tested for
the Sheet Metal Journeyperson Class I Rhode Island license.  A copy of the license shall be attached
to the application.  In the event a state does not have a Sheet Metal Workers Journeyperson Class I
license available, a notarized resume showing five (5) years of commercial and industrial experience
as a Journeyperson Sheet Metal Worker shall accompany the application.

3)  Applicant shall have knowledge of the Rhode Island Sheet Metal Workers Journeyperson Class II
License.

4)  Unlimited as to restriction on work.

5)  Applicant shall have knowledge of all phases of sheet metal work including, fabrication, blueprint
reading, HVAC layout and installation, testing and balancing and welding.   

6)  Applicant shall have knowledge of all SMACNA Publications, OSHA Standards For The
Construction Industry, Welding Principles and Applications and State Building Codes (mechanical
section).

7)  A company shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per five (5) licensed persons for on-the-
job training, or a fraction thereof.  Any properly registered apprentice shall, at all times work under the
direct supervision of a Sheet Metal Workers Master I, or a Sheet Metal Workers Class I.

                            SHEET METAL WORKERS JOURNEYPERSON CLASS II

                                                       Cannot be self-employed

1)  Minimum of 4,000 hours of on-the-job training with a minimum of 288 hours of trade related
schooling, shall have been a properly registered apprentice in the State of Rhode Island approved
apprenticeship program and a copy of the certificate of completion shall accompany the application.

2)  An out of state Sheet Metal Worker Journeyperson Class II license will allow the applicant to be
tested for the Sheet Metal Workers Journeyperson Class II Rhode Island license.  A copy of the
license shall be attached to the application.  In the event a state does not have a Sheet Metal
Workers Class II license available, a notarized resume showing two (2) years experience, as a
Journeyperson Sheet Metal Worker shall accompany the application.

3)  Limited to installation of sheet metal on a residential occupancy as defined by the RI Building
Code current edition.
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4)  Applicant shall have knowledge of blueprint reading, sheet metal layout and installation.

5)  Applicant shall have knowledge of all SMACNA publications, OSHA Standards For The
Construction Industry and State Building Codes (mechanical section).

6)  A company shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per one (1) licensed person for on-the-
job training.  Any properly registered apprentice shall, at all times, work under the direct supervision
of a Sheet Metal Workers Master I or II, or Sheet Metal Workers Journeyperson I or II.

7)  A Sheet Metal Worker Journeyperson II may apply for a Sheet Metal Workers Journeyperson I
license by reentering the Sheet Metal Apprenticeship Program, serve an additional 4,000 hours of on-
the-job training, plus an additional 288 hours of trade related schooling and shall work under the
direct supervision of a Sheet Metal Worker Master I, or a Journeyperson I.

                                            LIMITED LICENSES CLASS II

1)  FIRE SUPPRESSION JOURNEYPERSON II LTD:

 Limited to the dry or wet chemical fire suppression systems. Must hold a certificate for fire
suppression from the State Fire Marshal’s office before testing of systems.

2)  WELDING JOURNEYPERSON II LTD:

 Limited to the welding of pipe, hangers and supports for the pipe systems.  Shall show proof of
passing a recognized welding class, such as ASME Test or equivalent.  Must work under a Pipefitter
Master I or Pipefitter Master 2.

3)  GAS STATION JOURNEYPERSON II LTD:

               Limited to installation of gas stations; including underground piping and tank installation,
piping to the pumps, vents, spill and fill lines.
               Qualifications:

a. Must have on file with the licensing division a notarized letter from the employer
indicating the person’s date of hire. A registration card will be issued from the division.

b. Upon completion of two (2) years of on the job training a notarized letter of
completion shall accompany the application for licensure.
 c. Limited registered apprentice shall be required to work a minimum of four
thousand (4,000) hours over a period of time of not less than two (2) years with a ratio of one (1)
registered apprentice per one (1) licensed journeyman.

4)  OIL BURNER SERVICE JOURNEYPERSON II LTD - PJF:

               Limited to service work, installation of oil burners, oil lines, oil storage tanks, related piping,
and warm air heating equipment. Must work for a Pipefitter Master I or Pipefitter Master 2.
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Installations must be performed with a Pipefitter Master I, Pipefitter Master 2, Pipefitter
Journeyperson I or Pipefitter Journeyperson 2. The license shall limit the holder of the PJF/Oil Ltd.
license to do work on electric wiring or equipment located between the burner thermal switch and the
oil burner and equipment.  Applicants for a PJF/Oil Ltd. license must show proof of completion of a
trade sponsored program or a trade related program offered by a recognized college.   All programs
must be approved by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training.  The minimum formal
training period for the PJF/Oil Ltd. license shall be one hundred and sixty (160) hours of combined
classroom and laboratory technical training, approved by the Department of Labor and Training.
PJF/Oil Ltd. licensees must be employed by a licensed Pipefitter Master I or a Pipefitter Master 2 and
a licensed Electrical Oil Burner Contractor (Class E) to perform residential service work.

 Residential is considered to be 1 to 3 units, A Class A, Electrical Contractor’s License, is needed
for all commercial work and a Class B, Electrical Journeyperson’s License, is needed to service
commercial work. A Class F, Electrical Oil Burner Journeyperson’s License, employed by either an
Electrical Contractor, Class A, or an Electrical Oil Burner Contractor, Class E, shall be permitted to
service oil burners.

The PJF/Oil Ltd. License is limited to service and installation work on oil burners not to exceed
500,000 BTU’s residential, and 500,000 BTU’s commercial.

5)  PJF / PROPANE LTD:

  Limited to the installation of propane tanks, regulators, including residential gas stoves, gas
logs, gas grills, and space heaters and installation and service of appliances and warm air heating
equipment which are fueled by propane.  Must work for a Pipefitter Master I or Pipefitter Master 2.
Installations must be performed with a Pipefitter Master I, Pipefitter Master 2, Pipefitter
Journeyperson I, or Pipefitter Journeyperson 2.

               This would authorize the holder of the PJF/Propane license to work on and repair electrical
wiring and equipment  located between the burner thermal switch and the gas burner and equipment.
The license shall limit the holder of the PJF/Propane license to do  work on electric wiring or
equipment located  between the burner safety switch and the gas burner and equipment.

Applicants for a PJF/Propane license must show proof of completion of a trade sponsored program or
a trade related program offered by a recognized college.  All programs must be approved by the
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training. The minimum formal training period for the
PJF/Propane license shall be two hundred and twenty (220) hours of combined classroom and
laboratory technical training, approved by the Department of Labor and Training.  PJF/Propane
licensees must be employed by a licensed Pipefitter Master 2 (PM2) and a licensed Electrical
Oilburner Contractor (Class E) to perform residential service work.  Residential is considered
to be 1 to 3 units.

A Class A, Electrical Contractor’s License, is needed for all commercial work and a Class B, Electrical
Journeyperson’s License, is needed to service commercial work.  A Class F, Electrical Oilburner
Journeyperson’s License, employed by either an Electrical Contractor, Class A, or an Electrical
Oilburner Contractor, Class E, shall be permitted to service residential gas burners.

The PJF/Propane License is limited to service work on propane burners not to exceed 500,000 BTU’s
residential, and 500,000 BTU’s commercial.
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 6)  OIL BURNER JOURNEYPERSON II LTD:

 Limited to service work, oil burner installation and oil lines installation, including storage tanks with
 fill lines and vent lines.  Must work under a Pipefitter Master I or Pipefitter Master 2 License.

7)  PJF/NATURAL GAS LTD:

 Limited to service work on natural gas burners and service of appliances and warm air heating
equipment which are fueled by natural gas.  Must work for a Pipefitter Master I or Pipefitter Master 2.
Installations must be performed with a Pipefitter Master I, Pipefitter Master 2, Pipefitter
Journeyperson I, or Pipefitter Journeyperson 2. This would authorize the holder of the PJF/Natural
Gas Ltd. license to do work on and repair electrical wiring and equipment located between the burner
thermal switch and the gas burner and equipment.

The license shall limit the holder of the PJF/Natural Gas Ltd. license to do work on electric wiring or
equipment located between the burner safety switch and the gas burner and equipment.

 Applicants for a PJF/Natural Gas Ltd. license must show proof of completion of a trade sponsored
program or a trade related program offered by a recognized college.  All programs must be approved
by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training.  The minimum formal training period for the
PJF/Natural Gas Ltd. license shall be two hundred and twenty (220) hours of combined classroom
and laboratory technical training, approved by the Department of Labor and Training.   PJF/Natural
Gas Ltd. licensee must be employed by a licensed Pipefitter Master 2 (PM2) and a licensed Electrical
Oilburner Contractor (Class E) to  perform residential service work.   Residential is considered to be 1
to 3 units.

  A Class A, Electrical Contractor’s License is needed for all commercial work and a Class B,
Electrical Journeyperson’s License, is needed to service commercial work.   A Class F, Electrical
Oilburner Journeyperson’s License, employed by either an Electrical Contractor, Class A, or an
Electrical Oilburner Contractor, Class E, shall be permitted to service residential gas burners.

The PJF/Natural Gas License is limited to service work and installation on natural gas burners - not to
 exceed 500,000 BTU’s residential, and 500,000 BTU’s commercial.
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These rules and regulations constitute the entire rules and regulations under Title 28, Chapter
27, of the Rhode Island General Laws.  All prior rules and regulations are hereby rescinded.

 Adopted by the Board of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians, Fire Protection Sprinkler Fitters,
Sheet Metal Contractors and Journeypersons and Oil Heat Contractors as formal and official Rules
and Regulations pursuant to R.I.G.L. 28-27-1.2 and 42-35-3.

 Approved, as required by R.I.G.L. 28-27-1.2

                                     Dr. Lee H. Arnold
                                     Director of Labor and Training
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                             DEFINITION OF AN APPRENTICE

  “Apprentice” means a person employed with a sponsor receiving skilled training under a written
agreement which provides specific terms of apprenticeship and employment including, but not limited
to wage progression; specific hours of job training processes; hours and courses of school instruction
which satisfactory completion thereof provides recognition as a qualified professional, technical, craft
or trade worker.

  l)  Shall be at least l8 years old.

 2)  Shall be working at the business of pipefitting, refrigeration, air conditioning, sprinklerfitting or
sheet metal.

 3)  Shall be sponsored (employed) by a licensed Master Contractor.

 4)  Shall be under the direct supervision of a licensed Master or Journeyperson.

 5)  Minimum of 4,000 hours (2 year program) to 10,000 hours (5 year program) of on the job training
with a minimum of l44 hours of trade related schooling per year.  The apprentice shall be registered in
a Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training approved apprenticeship program.

6)  Two (2) years of school in an accredited institution recognized by the Rhode Island Department of
Labor and Training may be deducted from the apprenticeship program.

                    PIPEFITTING – REFRIGERATION – SPRINKLERFITTER - SHEET METAL
                                           APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS

 Apprentice Pipefitter           Ap-P

 A person who is engaged in learning the trade of pipefitting by working with and assisting a qualified
journeyperson on heating systems, process piping and steam systems. This person shall be
indentured to a Master Pipefitter who shall have an approved registered program with the State of
Rhode Island and shall conform to RIGL 28-27.

 Apprentice Refrigeration        Ap-R

 A person who is engaged in learning the trade of refrigeration by working with and assisting a
qualified journeyperson on the installation and service of refrigeration and air conditioning
 systems. This person shall be indentured to a Master Refrigeration Technician who shall have an
approved registered program with the State of Rhode Island and shall conform to RIGL 28-27.

 Apprentice Combination          Ap-C

 A person who is engaged in the trade of pipefitting and refrigeration by working with and assisting a
qualified journeyperson on heating systems, process piping, steam systems, and all types of
refrigeration and air conditioning systems.  This person shall also work on large systems such as
absorption and centrifugal units to qualify for this classification.
 This person shall be indentured to a Master Pipefitter and Refrigeration Master or a Master
Mechanical Contractor.  They shall have an approved registered program with the State of Rhode
 Island and shall conform to RIGL 28-27.
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 Apprentice Sprinklerfitter      Ap-S

 A person who is engaged in learning the trade of sprinklerfitting working with and assisting a qualified
journeyperson on sprinkler systems. This person shall be indentured to a Master Sprinklerfitter who
 shall have an approved registered program with the State of Rhode Island and shall conform to RIGL
28-27.

Apprentice Sheet Metal       Ap-SM

 A person who is engaged in learning the trade of sheet metal installations working with and assisting
a qualified journeyperson on sheet metal installations. This person shall be indentured to a Master
Sheet Metal Contractor who shall have an approved registered program with the State of Rhode
Island and shall conform to RIGL 28-27.

  DEFINITIONS:

 l)  Installation:  shall be defined to mean the handling, moving or locating of any device equipment or
material referring to the heating, cooling, process piping, sheet metal or sprinklerfitter industry.  This
does not mean to refer to the final resting place for hook up, but refers to any stage of the handling of
said above equipment or material to where the final location may be for the piping of the equipment.

 2)  Process:  shall be defined to mean any piping used in a system which results in a series of
actions or operations directed  toward a particular result in the manufacturing of a product or
generating of energy.

 3)  Application:  applications shall be properly completed and returned in a timely manner.
Applications shall be reviewed and approved by the Board of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians
and Fire Protection Sprinklerfitters, Sheet Metal Workers, and Oil Heat Contractors/ Division of
Professional Regulation.

 4) Direct Supervision: direct supervision shall mean that the Class II licensed individuals shall be
working with a Master Class I or Class II, or licensed individual with a Journeyperson Class I or Class
II.

 5) 28-27-l7 “Renewal of Licenses”:  All fines and penalties shall be paid in full prior to the issuing of
any licenses pursuant to RIGL 28-27.

 6) If a license has lapsed for a period of less than two (2) years, said license may be reinstated upon
payment of all license fees, which are due to the Division of Professional Regulation.  If licenses are
not renewed before the two (2) years have lapsed, the applicant will be subjected to re-examination.
However, in the case of military service personnel, who are licensees, their validity will continue for
the duration, not to exceed four (4) years.

 7)  Class II Restrictions on Ratios:  A company shall be permitted to train one (1) apprentice per
three (3) properly licensed persons for on-the-job training. Exception, sheet metal class ll has a one
(1) apprentice per one (1) properly licensed person for on the job training. Properly licensed
individuals may be a combination of Rhode Island Licensed Masters or Journeypersons.


