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 RHODE ISLAND STATE PLAN 
 
 
 BLOCK GRANT FOR  
 TEMPORARY ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES (TANF) 
 42 U.S.C. SEC. 402 
 
 
 
1. OUTLINE OF FAMILY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 
 
(A) General Provisions. 
 
 
(i) Conduct a program, designed to serve all political subdivisions in the State (not necessarily 
in a uniform manner), that provides assistance to needy families with (or expecting) children 
and provides parents with the job preparation, work, and support services to enable them to 
leave the program and become self-sufficient. 
 
The Rhode Island Department of Human Services (DHS) is the state agency responsible for 
administration of the federal Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant. 
DHS is also responsible for administration and implementation of the Rhode Island Family 
Independence Act (FIA) of 1996. Together, these federal and state programs provide essential 
services to low-income families throughout the state to assist them in meeting their basic family 
needs and provides parents with a range of work supports to help them prepare for and enter 
employment, as appropriate. 
 
 
This State Plan has therefore integrated both the goals and objectives of the Family 
Independence Program (FIP) with the four major purposes of TANF, which are to: 
 

• Provide assistance to needy families so that a child may be cared for in his or her own 
home or in the home of a relative 

• End dependence of needy families by promoting job preparation, work, and marriage 
• Prevent and reduce out of wedlock pregnancies, and 
• Encourage the formation and maintenance of two-parent families 

 
 
 
 
Family Independence Program Goal: 
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The overall goal of Rhode Island's Family Independence Program (FIP) is to support children 
and families and to assist parents toward employment.  The following are the key provisions and 
expectations of the Family Independence Program: 
 
Eligibility for FIP 
 
An eligible family must meet age, relationship, citizenship/alienage, residency, and cooperation 
requirements, as well as remain within the income and resource limits of the program.  As long 
as two (2) parent families meet income and resource limits of the program and are otherwise 
eligible, they qualify for cash assistance, child care, and health care coverage. 
 
Eligibility is limited to families whose available resources (reduced by any obligations or debts 
with respect to such resources) total less than one thousand dollars ($1,000). The State has 
chosen to not count one (1) vehicle for each adult household member, but not to exceed two (2) 
vehicles per household. Eligibility is denied or terminated if the value of non-exempt resources 
exceeds the one thousand dollars limit. 
 
To determine eligibility for cash assistance, the total of a family’s countable earned income 
(after disregards) and unearned income is compared with the appropriate assistance payment 
standard for the unit.  The payment standard is equal to the sum of the following:  
 

� For the first person:  three hundred twenty-seven dollars ($327) {two hundred 
seventy-seven dollars ($277) for a family residing in subsidized housing)}  

� For the second person:  one hundred twenty-two dollars ($122)  
� For the third person:  one hundred five dollars ($105) AND 
� For each additional person:  eighty dollars ($80) for each additional person.   

 
 
Cooperation with the child support enforcement agency is required as a condition of eligibility 
for cash assistance.  
 
To continue to be counted as a family member, a child is allowed temporary absences from the 
home for no more than ninety (90) days per episode, with a second ninety (90) day renewal 
authorized only through supervisory approval.  The program requires minor parents to live with 
a parent, relative, or in a supervised setting and remain in school, unless otherwise authorized by 
the Department for specific good cause reasons and the minor resides in an approved supervised 
supportive living arrangement (See (A)(v) below).  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Time Limits 
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Rhode Island starts the TANF sixty (60) month time limit beginning with the initial month a 
family is accepted onto the cash assistance.  There is a separate time clock for the purpose of 
counting the FIP five (5) year time limit.  In accord with FIA, The Family Independence 
Program (FIP) limits cash assistance for adults to five (5) years1 beginning with the date of the 
completion of the individual's Employment Plan, with the exception of those who are 1) exempt 
from work requirements as outlined below, 2) waived under the Domestic Violence Waiver 
process, 3) working thirty (30) or more hours per week in a single parent family during a month, 
or an average of thirty-five (35) hours per week for a parent in a two parent family during a 
month, or 4) granted temporary extension(s) of the time limit due to hardship if they meet certain 
criteria.  
 
For TANF program purposes, the following categories will be included in the federally funded 
twenty percent (20%) hardship exceptions2. 

 
1) Those exempt from the work requirements for any month in which they are: 

 
a. Over age 59; 
b. Incapacitated; 
c. Caring for an incapacitated spouse or child; or 
d. Temporarily ill. 

 
2) Waived under the Domestic Violence Waiver process. 

 
3) Granted temporary extension (s) of the time limit due to hardship if they meet 

certain criteria as follows: 
 

For FIP recipients: 
• A parent with an approved Employment Plan who is working less than 

thirty (30) hours per week because of a documented physical or mental 
incapacity; or 

• A parent with an approved Employment Plan who both attends an 
approved education activity AND has an approved employment activity 
working more than twenty (20) hours but less than thirty (30) hours per 
week; or 

• A parent with an approved Employment Plan who lacks ESL or literacy 
skills AND is unable to get a job AND is successfully attending a course 
full-time to obtain those skills, may be allowed to finish the course in 
order to get a job; or 

 
1R. I. recognizes that the time limit requirements in FIA and PRWORA are not 

consistent. 

2As stated above in Maintenance of Effort (MOE) Funded Services, those parents who 
are working an average of thirty (30) or more hours per week during a month in a single parent 
family, or thirty-five (35) hours per week during a month for those in a two parent family, are 
assigned to a segregated state program. 
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• A parent with an approved Employment Plan who is unable to participate 
in her or his plan because of homelessness; or 

• A parent with an approved Employment Plan who is temporarily unable to 
participate in her or his plan because of lack of child care. 

 
For former recipients who have reached their FIP lifetime time limit and who 
reapply: 

 
• The parent is a victim of domestic violence who qualifies for a waiver of 

the work requirements; or 
• The parent is unable to work due to a disability; or 
• The parent is unable to work due to homelessness. 

 
4) Family Independence Program (FIP) recipients who have received TANF funding 

for sixty (60) months, but have not utilized sixty (60) months of FIP cash 
assistance from the date of the completion of their Employment Plan. 

 
(ii) Require a parent or caretaker3 receiving assistance under the program to engage in work 
(as defined by the State) once the state determines the parent or caretaker is ready to engage 
in work, or once the parent or caretaker has received assistance under the program for 24 
months (whether or not consecutive), whichever is earlier.  
 
Work Requirement 
 
Within forty-five (45) days of qualifying for cash assistance, new applicants who are not exempt 
from this requirement will begin working and/or participating in a work readiness program.  The 
Department will develop an individual employment plan as described above.  For single parent 
families, after the first twenty-four (24) months of the employment plan, recipients will be 
required to work at least twenty (20) hours per week if the youngest child in the household is 
under 6 years of age, and 30 hours per week if the youngest child in the household is six years of 
age or older, in either paid or unpaid employment, in order to continue to receive the appropriate 
amount of benefits, unless deferred due to participation in a qualified educational program. 
 
Family Needs and Employment Assessment and the Development of  
Family Independence Program Employment Plan 
 
A full family needs assessment is conducted for all FIP parents, as well as an education and 
employment assessment.  Based on these findings, FIP offers appropriate pre-employment 
services including literacy, adult basic education, General Equivalency Diploma (GED), English 
as a Second Language (ESL), and vocational post-secondary educational opportunities during 
the first twenty-four (24) months of FIP.  Additionally, rapid job entry/work readiness, 

 
3We recognize that the work requirements under the Family Independence Act exempting 

caretakers and the PRWORA work requirements for caretakers are not consistent.  State funding 
will be used to provide benefits to categories of beneficiaries not eligible for TANF federal 
funds. 
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placement and retention services are offered to FIP parents to assist them to reach self-
sufficiency for themselves and their children.  
 
There are two (2) parts to the initial Family Independence Program (FIP) assessment process. 
 
 1. A comprehensive Family Needs Assessment is completed for all FIP 

applicants/recipients.  Once the family's needs are identified, appropriate linkages 
to resources are made within DHS and/or with other human service agencies 
throughout the state. 

 
 2. An Education, Training and Employment Assessment must also be conducted 

with each FIP parent. 
 
Based upon the information captured through the assessment, a FIP Employment Plan is 
prepared and completed between the FIP social caseworker and the individual which reflects a 
specific employment goal(s) and approvable work activity (ies).  This may include self-initiated 
plans in those cases where the individual has already formulated an approvable employment 
plan.  The Plan must outline specific steps s/he will take in order to carry out the Plan.  
 
For two (2) parent families, an employment and education history is recorded for each parent as 
above; a Family Independence Program Plan, which is comprised of a Family Services and 
Support Plan and a FIP Employment Plan, is then developed and completed with a referral to Job 
Search in the Rapid Job Entry (RJEP) program.  Individuals who are already working thirty-five 
(35) hours per week are excused from this requirement.   
 
The FIP date, which begins the Five (5) Year Time Limit, is the date the employment plan is 
completed.  In a two (2) parent family in which one (1) parent is participating at least thirty-five 
(35) hours per week in FIP Plan work activities, the other, second, parent must also have an 
assessment completed and may elect to have an employment plan completed as well.  For a 
second parent with a Plan, the FIP date is the date the Employment Plan is completed.  However, 
when the second parent chooses not to have an Employment Plan, there is still a FIP start date 
entered.  This date is the date her/his assessment is completed.  
 
The FIP Employment Plan contains the employment goal of the applicant/recipient and takes 
into consideration: 

(1) individual's abilities and skills, education, work experience, health and safety 
factors, family responsibilities, and geographical area in which the individual 
resides;  

  (2) local employment opportunities; and  
  (3) child care and supportive services needs of the applicant/recipient which s/he may 

require in order to participate in employment opportunities and/or work readiness 
programs.  The Plan shall include a strategy for job preparation, job search, and 
job retention consistent, to the extent practical, with the individual's employment 
goal.   
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Work Activities Defined4

 
During the first twenty-four (24) months of the employment plan, recipients shall fulfill the work 
requirements with participation in one or more of the following: 
 

• Paid employment, (including on-the-job training); 
 

• Community work experience; 
 

• A training or work readiness program approved by the department and conducted 
at a job site if the program involves supervised participation in work at the site; 

 
• During the first six (6) months of eligibility (or for a longer period if the 

department determines it necessary to prepare the parent to obtain stable full-time 
employment), successful participation in an approved work readiness program; 

 
• During the first three (3) months of eligibility (or for a longer period if the 

department determines it necessary to prepare the parent to obtain stable full-time 
employment), participation in an approved rapid job placement program; 

 
• A supervised individual job search; 

 
• For a parent under the age of twenty (20) without a high school diploma or the 

equivalent, successful participation on a full-time basis in a program to secure 
such diploma or the equivalent;  

 
• For a parent age twenty (20) or older, without basic literacy or English literacy 

skills, successful participation on a full time basis in a program to secure such 
skills; and 

 
• For a parent age twenty (20) or older, under the age of twenty (20) with a high 

school degree or the equivalent, or under the age of twenty (20) for whom 
attendance at a high school is determined to be inappropriate, successful 
participation in a vocational education, skills or job training program, including 
without limitation, a program of postsecondary education the department has 
determined is likely to result in regular full-time employment at wages sufficient 
to eliminate eligibility for cash assistance. 

 
 
 
 

• Up to 10 (ten) hours of a parent’s required DCYF Service Plan 

 
4We recognize that Rhode Island’s State Plan allows a broader range of activities than 

can be counted under PRWORA. 
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activities can be counted toward meeting either the 20 (twenty)  hour requirement 
 for parents with a child under age 6 (six), or 30 (thirty) hour requirement for 
parents if the youngest child is age 6 (six) or older.   

            NOTE:  This policy provision will sunset on December 31, 2007. 
 

• Up to 10 (ten) hours of a parent’s required DCYF Service Plan 
activities can be counted toward meeting the 35 (thirty-five) hour requirement.    
NOTE:  This policy provision will sunset on December 31, 2007. 

 
 

Beginning with the twenty-fifth (25th) month of the Employment Plan (unless they are 
deferred as outlined below), recipients participate in one or more of the following work 
activities: 

 
 1.  Paid employment (including on-the-job training);  

2. Community work experience program; or  
3. Department-approved training program conducted at a job site which 

includes supervised participation in work at the site. 
 
Deferments from the twenty-fifth (25th) month of the Employment Plan 
 

The following parents shall be deferred from the work requirements above (beginning 
with the twenty-fifth (25th) month of the Employment Plan): 

 
• A parent under the age of twenty (20) without a high school diploma or its 

equivalent who is in school or an educational program full time to obtain the 
secondary credential; 

 
• A single parent twenty (20) years of age or older who is without basic literacy or 

English skills and is successfully participating in a full time education program to 
obtain these skills; this deferment is for the first twenty-four (24) months of the 
Employment Plan or longer if employment cannot be obtained without 
improvement in these skills; 

 
• A parent age twenty (20) or older participating in a vocational education, skills or 

job training, including postsecondary education, provided that the program was 
begun prior to the twenty fifth month of the Employment Plan and will not be 
deemed a work activity beyond the thirty-sixth month of the Employment Plan 

 
 
  
Under FIA, significant reforms to the former cash assistance program were implemented.  The 
result was the establishment of the Family Independence Program (FIP) which is described 
herein.   
A major aspect of FIP includes a significant and ongoing role for public involvement in the 
implementation of the program.  Since its original implementation on May 1, 1997, a broad 
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range of advocates, community-based organizations, parent advisors, and service providers have 
joined together to form the Welfare Reform Implementation Task Force (WRITF).  This task 
force of approximately forty-five (45) active members initially met weekly for the first year of 
the Program and now continues to meet at least monthly with DHS staff to actively assist in both 
policy and program development.  The WRITF has assisted in each facet of program design and 
assured that the needs of families remained central to the way services were designed and 
delivered.  
 
Considering the magnitude of change required to implement the  welfare reform legislation, joint 
efforts between  the Department and the Welfare Reform Implementation Task Force have been  
carried out through special committee and/or a work group structure where internal and external 
expertise have been brought to bear on the FIP program's policies and service delivery, which 
has thus far included the following areas:  
 

� Family Assessment and Employment Planning Committee; 
� Teen Parent Committee; 
� Domestic Violence Committee; 
� Education and Training Committee; 
� Learning Disabilities Sub-Committee; 
� Housing Committee; 
� Staff Development and Training Committee; 
� Substance Abuse/Mental Health Committee; 
� Communication and Problem-solving workgroup; 
� Sanction Analysis workgroup; and 
� FIP Evaluation Committee. 

 
A Child Care Committee had originally been initiated, but was later merged with the Child Care 
Public Policy Coalition.  In 2001, the Child Care Assistance Advisory Committee to the Child 
Care Assistance Program was newly formed and serves as the formal advisory group to the 
Department on all child care programs, issues, and services offered through DHS. 
 
Through this combination of community input, and in accord with the mandates of FIA, Rhode 
Island FIP provides a comprehensive family support program which takes into consideration and 
addresses the entire scope of family needs to ensure that each family is appropriately served and 
supported. 
 
In preparation for submission of this TANF State Plan Renewal for the State of Rhode Island, a 
copy of the Public Notice which was published in the Providence Journal on November  30, 
2005 was distributed to all members of the Welfare Reform Implementation Task Force at its 
December 2, 2005 meeting announcing the fact that there would be a Public Hearing held 
December 8, 2005, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. in order for public comment to be received about the 
changes to R.I.’s TANF  State Plan.  In addition to distributing a copy of the public notice, 
members were provided with an oral explanation of the changes to the Plan and it was explained 
that since this Plan was last renewed in December 2002, R. I. has had a number of Plan 
Amendments submitted during 2003 and 2004, and all interim amendments had been the subject 
of previous public hearings in each of those program years prior to submission to Administration 
for Children and Families (ACF).   It was made clear that along with the proposed changes to the 
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TANF State Plan, those sections previously submitted and approved, are also incorporated into 
this renewal document. 
  
Members were encouraged to review the draft plan which was sent  through e-mail to each 
member of the Task Force in advance of the December 8, 2005 hearing,  and to provide 
comments to the Department in writing or orally at the Public Hearing or through submission to 
DHS within 45 days.   
 
The Department will continue to work closely with the community to ensure continuous 
improvement in our progress toward helping families out of poverty. This Plan considered any 
public comments received to date, and as in the past, any recommendations received after 
submission of this Plan will be considered and, as appropriate, future amendments to the TANF 
State Plan will be submitted if warranted. 
 
These recommendations will be shared with the R. I. General Assembly as part of the 
Department's eighth Annual Report on the status of the Family Independence Program. 
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Maintenance of Effort (MOE) Funded Services 
 
In accordance with the Final TANF rule, the R. I. Department of Human Services expends a 
portion of its MOE funds on cash assistance for all FIP-eligible families, and in addition, has 
elected to implement Separate State Programs for two (2) parent families (see below in Section 
(A)(iii), certain legal non-citizens arriving before August 22, 1996 (see Section (B)(ii)), and 
other individuals prohibited from receiving TANF funds5.  Moreover, Separate State Programs 
have been established for minor teen heads of households who are payees (see (A)(I) under 
Eligibility), and caretaker relatives who are FIP recipients.  In addition, the State has elected to 
implement a Segregated State Program for beneficiaries working thirty (30) or more hours per 
week per month; these individual’s time limit 'clocks' are stopped as long they meet certain 
conditions related to employment ((A)(I) below under Time Limits.)  
 
Other MOE-funded services for low income needy families include, but are not limited to: 
emergency assistance, child care assistance in accordance with Part 263.3 of the Final TANF 
Regulations, child support pass-through payments, education activities, non-medical treatment 
services for alcohol and drug recovery services, administrative costs for technology, work 
supplementation, training and education certification program, supportive services, the 
emergency housing assistance program, and non-assistance payments, as hereinafter defined.  
Child care assistance is provided to otherwise eligible families whose income meets the criteria 
outlined in Section 3.3, Eligibility Criteria for Child Care of Rhode Island's Child Care and 
Development Fund (CCDF) State Plan. 
 
A system for tracking and managing funding streams, beneficiary education, training, and work 
activities, as well as data reporting has been established to meet requirements outlined in Part 
265 of the Final TANF Regulations. 
 
Non-Assistance  
 
The Rhode Island State Plan also provides for the following types of non-assistance 
payments and/or services: 
 
1) FIP Alternative Cash Assistance Program 
 
Rhode Island's FIP alternative cash assistance program became effective October 2004.  This 
program provides qualifying applicants with up to three (3) times the amount the family would 
receive each month under the Family Independence Program (FIP).  Applicants are screened to 
determine if accepting a one-time lump sum payment can address the issue that compelled them 
to apply for assistance.  Applicants must be determined to be otherwise eligible for FIP, meet the 
alternative cash program criteria, and have short-term needs that, if provided, will prevent the 
need for ongoing cash assistance. 
                                                           

5State funding will be used to provide benefits to categories of beneficiaries not eligible 
for TANF federal funds. 
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To meet the FIP alternative cash program (ACA) requirements, the agency must determine that a 
lump sum payment would enable an adult to either accept and begin employment based upon a 
verifiable job offer, or to maintain current employment, provided that the adult member of the 
family has not voluntarily terminated employment within sixty (60) days prior to the date of 
application, and that the family has not received FIP cash assistance during the twelve (12) 
month period prior to the date of application.  Moreover, the family must waive any cash 
assistance to which it would otherwise be entitled during the six (6) month period beginning with 
the date of application for payment of the lump sum.  There is a lifetime limit of one (1) ACA 
payment per family. 
 
After eligibility is determined, applicants have three (3) days to cancel their waiver and accept 
regular FIP cash assistance.  
 
2) State Earned Income Tax Credit 
 
The Rhode Island State Earned Income Tax Credit (SEITC) has both a non-refundable as well as 
a refundable tax credit which is based upon a percentage of the federal earned income tax credit. 
  Rhode Island will treat as non-assistance, only the refundable portion of the SEITC payments to 
low income working families who have at least one dependent child in their family 
 
3)      Disaster Relief 
 
The State of Rhode Island provides short-term non-recurring benefits to victims who have been 
affected by Hurricane Katrina and/or Hurricane Rita and other officially declared disasters from 
time to time. 

 
 
(iii) Ensure that parents and caretakers receiving assistance under the program engage in 
work activities in accordance with section 4076. 
 

The Family Independence Program requires the following: 
 

Work Participation Requirements 
 

Single parent recipients must participate, for a minimum of twenty (20) hours per week 
for parents whose youngest child in the home is under the age of six (6), and for a 
minimum of thirty (30) hours per week for parents whose youngest child in the home is 
six (6) years of age or older, in one or more work activities (as listed above in (ii) Work 
Activities Defined), as appropriate, in order to help the parent obtain stable full-time paid 
employment. 

 
 

6We recognize that this portion of the Family Independence Act requirement is not 
consistent with PRWORA. 
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In the case of a family consisting of two (2) parents, except for those which contain a 
disabled parent, beginning seven (7) days following completion of the FIP Employment 
Plan(s), or as soon as practicable thereafter, one (1) parent shall be engaged in work 
activities for at least thirty-five (35) hours per week during the month, not fewer than 
thirty (30) hours per week of which are attributable to one or more of the following 
activities: 

 
• Unsubsidized employment; 

 
• Subsidized private sector employment; 

 
• Subsidized public sector employment; 

 
• Work experience if sufficient private sector employment is not available; 

 
• On-the-job training; 

 
• Job search and job readiness assistance; 

 
• Community service program; 

 
• Vocational educational training (not to exceed twelve (12) months) for any 

individual; or 
 

• The provision of child care services to an individual who is participating in a 
community service program. 

 
In a two-parent family in which one (1) parent is participating at least thirty-five (35) 
hours per week in the work activities specified above, the other, second, parent must also 
participate in and have an assessment completed.  The second parent may elect to have an 
Employment Plan completed.  That second parent's "FIP clock" or the tally of receipt of 
cash assistance toward the FIP time limit is deemed to have begun when the Employment 
Plan is completed.  If the second parent has chosen not to have an Employment Plan, the 
time clock starts the date the assessment is completed. 

 
Moreover, in a two-parent family in which one parent is engaged for at least thirty-five 
(35) hours per week in the work activities listed above, if the family requests child care, 
and an adult is not disabled or caring for a severely disabled child, and the second parent 
elects to complete an Employment Plan, s/he must participate in work activities during 
the month for at least twenty (20) hours per week in one or more of the following 
activities: 

 
• Unsubsidized employment; 
• Subsidized private sector employment; 
• Subsidized public sector employment; 
• Work experience if sufficient private sector employment is not available; 
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• On-the-job training; or 
• Community service program. 

 
So long as child care assistance is not requested and one parent meets the thirty-five (35) 
hour work requirement, the second parent may participate in any education/training 
activity.  However, if child care assistance is requested, the second parent must 
participate a minimum of twenty (20) hours per week as specified above.  

 
DHS will continue the separate state program established effective October, 1998 for 
those two (2) parent families who do not meet and therefore are not countable according 
to the federal work participation rate requirements.  These families will remain subject to 
all the applicable programmatic provisions of the Family Independence Act, as amended, 
including stringent work requirements consistent with TANF rules, but will not be 
funded in whole or in part with federal TANF dollars. 

 
Non-Compliance with Work Requirements 
 
During the first twenty-four (24) months of noncompliance with work requirements, the 
amount of cash assistance to which an otherwise eligible family is entitled shall be 
reduced by the portion of the family's benefit attributable to any parent who, without 
good cause, has failed to enter into an individual employment plan or has failed to 
comply with his or her individual employment plan; provided that the reduction shall be 
applied during the first eighteen (18) months, whether or not consecutive, of such failure 
or non-compliance by the parent. 

 
For a family size of two (2), the benefit reduction due to noncompliance with the 
employment plan shall be computed utilizing a family size of three (3), in which the 
parent's portion equals one hundred five dollars ($105). 

 
After eighteen (18) months of noncompliance, the Department shall terminate cash 
assistance to a family if any parent in the family has failed, without good cause, to enter 
into an individual employment plan, or to comply with his or her individual employment 
plan and has been penalized for eighteen (18) months, whether or not consecutive. 

 
The penalty becomes effective on the next payroll date after the adverse action period.  
The participant is notified of the penalty by an INRHODES-generated notice.  
 
If the family's benefit has been reduced for less than eighteen (18) months, whether or not 
consecutive, due to the parent's failure to enter into an individual employment plan or 
failure to comply with the terms of his or her individual employment plan, benefits shall 
be restored to the full amount beginning with the initial payment made on the first of the 
month following the month in which the parent (1) enters into an individual employment 
plan and demonstrates compliance with the terms thereof, or (2) demonstrates 
compliance with the terms of his or her existing individual employment plan, as such 
plan may be amended by agreement of the parent and the Department. 
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If the family's benefit has been terminated due to the failure by one or more parents to 
enter into an individual employment plan or failure to comply with the terms of his or her 
individual employment plan and has been penalized for  eighteen (18) months, the family 
may re-apply for benefits and benefits shall be restored to the family in the full amount 
the family is otherwise entitled to under this chapter beginning on the first of the month 
following the month in which all parents in the family who are subject to the employment 
plan requirements (1) enter into an individual employment plan and demonstrate 
compliance with the terms thereof, or (2) demonstrate compliance with the terms of his or 
her existing individual employment plan, as such plan may be amended by agreement of 
the parent and the Department.  I.e., the parent must sign a new FIP Employment Plan, 
demonstrate compliance with the Plan for at least two (2) weeks, and continue to 
participate, for the penalty to be considered cured and the case accepted beginning with 
the first of the month following the month that she or he began to comply. 
 
Exemptions from Work Requirements 

 
The following single parents shall be exempted from the work requirements: 

 
A parent may qualify for a waiver from the work requirements due to domestic violence. 
 In addition, the work requirements shall not apply to a single parent if (and for so long 
as) the Department finds that he or she is: 

 
• Unable to comply with the Employment Plan because of an illness which, on the 

basis of medical evidence, is serious enough to temporarily prevent work; 
 

• Unable to comply with the Employment Plan because of a physical or mental 
impairment which, on the basis of medical evidence, either by itself or in 
conjunction with age, prevents work; 

 
• Unable to comply with the Employment Plan because s/he is providing full-time 

in-home care 1) to a minor child, who, due to illness or incapacity, requires full-
time in-home care, or 2) to a mentally or physically incapacitated family member 
(e.g., a child's grandparent, aunt, uncle, or other relative) who lives in the home, 
who, due to illness or incapacity, requires such full-time in-home care; 

 
• Caring for a child below the age of one (1) year, provided however, that a minor 

parent without a high school diploma or the equivalent and who is not married, 
shall not be exempt from the education participation for more than twelve (12) 
weeks from the birth of the child; 

 
• Sixty (60) years of age or older; 

 
• A pregnant woman in her third trimester; or 

 
• Otherwise authorized by the Department for good cause. 
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The two-parent family work requirements shall not apply: 
 

• To a parent who is ill and the agency representative determines on the basis of 
medical evidence that the illness is serious enough to temporarily prevent entry 
into employment or engaging in the employment/training activities or to provide 
care for her/his children; or 

 
• To a parent who is incapacitated by a physical or mental impairment which the 

agency representative has determined on the basis of medical evidence either by 
itself or in conjunction with age, prevents the individual from engaging in 
employment or training or providing care for his or her children; or 

 
• To a parent who is providing full-time in-home care 1) to a minor child or to the 

other parent in the home, who, due to illness or incapacity, requires full-time in-
home care, or 2) to a mentally or physically incapacitated family member (e.g., a 
child's grandparent, aunt, uncle, or other relative) who lives in the home, who, due 
to illness or incapacity, requires such full-time in-home care; or 

 
• If otherwise authorized by the Department for good cause. 

 
(iv) Take reasonable steps as the State deems necessary to restrict the use and disclosure of 
information about individuals and families receiving assistance under the program 
attributable to funds provided by the Federal Government. 
 
In accordance with the General Laws of Rhode Island 40-6-12 all records pertaining to the 
administration of public assistance are declared to constitute confidential matter.  It is unlawful 
for any person to make use of, or cause to be used, any information contained in these records 
for purposes not directly connected with program administration, except with the consent of the 
individual concerned.  Any person violating any provisions of this state law, or the lawful rules 
and regulations made there under will be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and fined not less 
than two hundred dollars ($200) or will be imprisoned for not more that six (6) months or both.  
 
(v) Establish goals and take action to prevent and reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock 
pregnancies, with special emphasis on teenage pregnancies and establish numerical goals for 
reducing the illegitimacy ratio of the State (as defined in section 403(a)(2)(B) for calendar 
years 1996 through 2005. 
 
Rhode Island's Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan  
 
In accordance with the requirements of State PL 97, Chapter 176, DHS has had an active role in 
a formal partnership called the Rhode Island Teen Pregnancy Prevention Partnership with the 
Department of Health, Department of Education, and the Department for Children, Youth and 
Families in order to address the complex issues of teen-age pregnancy and to develop Rhode 
Island’s Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan.  The Plan, which was 
completed in June, 1999 and revised in 2004 as an interim summary report is based on research 
findings, results of community forums, and professional expertise in teenage pregnancy 
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prevention.  The Plan was originally circulated amongst members of the newly formed R. I. Teen 
Pregnancy Prevention Coalition as well as throughout participating human service agencies, 
Governor's Office, the General Assembly, and the RI Children's Cabinet.  
 
The updated Prevention Plan continues with its original nine (9) recommendations along with 
progress achieved to date and updated strategies to successfully implement the 
recommendations.  Data reflects that the state exceeded it initial numerical goals* and as a result, 
has revised the numeric goals for calendar years 2004 and 2005 based on actual versus projected 
data between 1999 and 2003.  The results of efforts to reduce statewide the pregnancy rate per 
one thousand (1,000) girls, 15-17 years old  are as follows: 
  

Baseline Data CY92-96 47.5 
    
Initial Projections CY - 99 45     33.2% - Actual 
Initial Projections CY - 00 44   33.0% - Actual 
Initial Projections CY - 01 43   33.4% - Actual 
Initial Projections CY - 02 40   30.4% - Actual 
Initial Projections CY - 03 39   33.5% - Actual 
Initial Projections CY - 04 38   31.4% - Projected 
Initial Projections CY - 05 37   30.4% - Projected 
 
 

Data is based on RI Maternal Child Health (MCH) data, using  2000 census population data 
which reflected that Rhode Island had reduced the pregnancy rate substantially compared to 
1990.   
Actual data for CY 04 and CY 05 are not yet available, however the expectation is that the 
numeric goals for these three years will be met or exceeded . 
 
In addition, the Plan includes the results of various community forums, federal and state funding 
sources, programs that educate at-risk teens, programs that provide pregnancy prevention 
education, a review of the literature, state level initiatives and financial resources for teacher 
training.  A review of Prevention Plan implementation is currently under way. 
 
Youth Responsibility and the Adolescent Self-Sufficiency Collaborative 
 
The Department has contracted with five (5) community-based organizations to provide two (2) 
intervention programs: Youth Responsibility (YR), for teens (age 13-18) at-risk of becoming 
unwed parents having an early pregnancy, and the Adolescent Self-Sufficiency Collaborative 
(ASSC), for pregnant and parenting teens under the age of twenty (20).  Most of the community-
based organizations have developed a Career Academy for youth sixteen to twenty (16-20) years 
old with academic instruction leading to a high school diploma or its equivalent, pregnancy 
prevention education, skills development, service learning, and career exploration/work 
experience.  The Youth Responsibility and ASSC programs provide case management services 
and education to reduce teen pregnancy, improve teen character development and increase life 
skills, especially, academic and parenting skills.  Using strategies scientifically proven effective 
to reduce initial and repeat pregnancy, the YR and ASSC work with teens, individually or in 
groups, in schools, in community sites, and/or in the teens’ own homes.  The ASSC assist 
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pregnant and parenting teens to enroll in and/or maintain attendance in school; tracks, monitors, 
and reports to DHS each pregnant and parenting teens’ school attendance; works to resolve 
issues of non-compliance with DHS requirements, such as attending school.   
 
Minor parents are required to live at home with their parents, with a relative, or a legal guardian 
in order to be eligible for FIP cash assistance.  Unless otherwise authorized, the cash assistance 
is issued to the parent, relative, or the legal guardian on behalf of the minor parent.  When there 
is good cause for a minor parent to live outside the allowable living arrangements above, and 
there is no suitable relative or legal guardian, the minor parent must live in an adult-supervised 
supportive living arrangement which ensures regular adult supervision and which requires the 
minor parent to participate in secondary education and an Adolescent Self-Sufficiency 
Collaborative program.  The ASSC evaluates minor teen parents’ current living arrangements, 
and provides assistance in finding an adult-supervised supportive living arrangement when the 
minor cannot live at home, including state-developed New Opportunity Homes, as appropriate. 
 
New Opportunity Homes 
  
New Opportunity Homes (NOH) are a key component of DHS’ teen parent programs.  The New 
Opportunity Homes are supervised living arrangements which offer an alternative option for 
pregnant and parenting minor FIP applicants/recipients who are unable to remain at home with 
their own parents or guardians.  The five (5) New Opportunity Homes provide minor teens with 
a positive environment that is safe and nurturing.  A multi-disciplinary team reviews prospective 
residents to determine the appropriateness of a NOH, using screening criteria and assessments to 
assure that minor teen’s needs can be met by a NOH.  Moreover, each resident is assigned an 
Adolescent Self Sufficiency Collaborative (ASSC) case manager.  Together, the NOH and ASSC 
offer each resident educational supports and opportunities to develop social and life skills, 
including parenting skills, necessary to become positive parents and self-sufficient, productive 
adults. 
 
(vi) Conduct a program, designed to reach State and local law enforcement officials, the 
education system, and relevant counseling services, that provides education and training on 
the problem of statutory rape so that teenage pregnancy prevention programs may be 
expanded in scope to include men 
 
Statutory Rape 
 
Rhode Island’s Comprehensive Statewide Teen Pregnancy Prevention Plan recommends that 
“Rhode Island should clarify, communicate, enforce and strengthen existing statutory rape and 
child molestation laws.”  A collaborative effort exists with each ASSC and the DHS funded 
Domestic Violence Prevention program which provides education and training on the problems 
of statutory rape and child molestation to state and local law enforcement officials, educators, 
and adolescent counselors, all of whom are required to notify the R.I. Department of Children, 
Youth and Families when sexual abuse of a child is suspected.  
 
 
 
(B) SPECIAL PROVISIONS   
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(i) The document shall indicate whether the State intends to treat families moving into the 
State from another State differently than other families under the program, and if so, how the 
State intends to treat such families under the program. 
 
We do not intend to treat families moving into the state differently.  
 
(ii) The document shall indicate whether the State intends to provide assistance under the 
program to individuals who are not citizens of the United States, and if so, shall include an 
overview of such assistance.     
 
Legal non-citizens must meet income and resource criteria including their sponsor’s income and 
resources.  Such individuals will be eligible for cash assistance at same levels and under the 
same rules as citizens7.  In order to be eligible, the non-citizen must be: 
 

• Lawfully admitted for permanent residence before August 22, 1996; or 
 

• Otherwise legally entitled to reside in the United States before August 22, 1996 
whose status is determined that of "qualified alien" as outlined below; or 

 
• An alien who on or after August 22, 1996 is determined to be a "qualified alien" 

as outlined below. 
 

An alien who does not meet the citizenship or alienage criteria outlined above who was 
lawfully residing in the United States before August 22, 1996 and who is a resident of 
Rhode Island prior to July 1, 1997, shall be eligible for cash assistance under the Family 
Independence Program, as long as the individual is otherwise eligible. 

 
The term "qualified alien" means an alien who, at the time the alien applies for or 
receives cash assistance, is: 

 
• An alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration 

and Nationality Act; 
 

• An alien who is granted asylum under section 208 of such Act; 
 

• A refugee who is admitted to the United States under section 207 of such Act, 
 

• An alien who is paroled into the United States under section 212(d)(5) of such 
Act for a period of at least one (1) year; 

 
 

7We recognize that the requirements pertaining to aliens in FIA and PRWORA are not 
identical.  State funding will be used to provide benefits to the categories of non-citizens listed 
above who are not eligible for TANF federal funds. 
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• An alien whose deportation is being withheld under section 243(h) of such Act 
(as in effect immediately before the effective date of section 307 of division C of 
Public Law 104-208) or section 241(b)(3) of such Act (as amended by section 
305(a) of division C of Public Law 104-208); 

 
• An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to section 203(a)(7) of such 

Act as in effect prior to April 1, 1980; 
 

• An alien who is a Cuban or Haitian entrant as defined in section 501(e) of the 
Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980; 

 
• An alien who is admitted to the United States as an Amerasian immigrant 

pursuant to section 584 of the Foreign Operations, Export Financing, and Related 
Programs Appropriations Act, 1988 (as contained in section 101(e) of Public Law 
100-202 and amended by the 9th proviso under migration and refugee assistance 
in title II of the Foreign Operations, Export Financing, and Related Programs 
Appropriations Act, 1989, Public Law 100-461, as amended); or 

 
• A battered spouse, battered child or parent, or child of a battered person with a 

petition pending under 204(a)(1)(A) or (B) or 244(a)(3) of the INA. 
 

• An alien who is admitted to the United States for legal permanent residence under 
the Immigration and Nationality Act; and has worked forty (40) qualifying 
quarters of coverage as defined under title II of the Social Security Act or can be 
credited with such qualifying quarters, and in the case of any such qualifying 
quarter creditable for any period beginning after December 31, 1996, did not 
receive any Federal means-tested public benefit during any such period. 

 
• An alien who is lawfully residing in Rhode Island and is a veteran with a 

discharge characterized as an honorable discharge and not on account of alienage; 
 

• An alien who is lawfully residing in Rhode Island and is on active duty (other 
than active duty for training) in the Armed Forces of the United States; or 

 
• An alien who is lawfully residing in Rhode Island and is the spouse or unmarried 

dependent child of an individual described in Number 2. or 3. above. 
 
(iii) The document shall set forth objective criteria for the delivery of benefits and the 
determination of eligibility and for fair and equitable treatment, including an explanation of 
how the State will provide opportunities for recipients who have been adversely affected to be 
heard in a State administrative or appeal process. 
 
Rhode Island provides an objective process for the delivery of benefits and the determination of 
eligibility, for fair and equitable treatment, and for complaints and an appeals process for those 
recipients that have been adversely affected.  Specific details pertaining to the policy and 
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procedures are contained in Rhode Island DHS Manual Sections Civil Rights Compliance and 
Complaints and Hearings. 
 
Furthermore, a parent or caretaker who requests assistance for a child shall meet with an agency 
representative as soon as possible and no later than five (5) days from the date of request for 
assistance.  The application for assistance shall be accepted or denied by the Department no later 
than thirty (30) days following the date of application.   
 
A family found by the Department to meet the eligibility criteria shall be entitled to receive cash 
assistance from the date of submitting a signed application.  The family members shall be 
eligible for cash assistance for so long as they continue to meet the eligibility criteria and parents 
shall be eligible so long as they meet the terms and conditions of the work requirements.  
 
Any applicant or recipient aggrieved because of a decision by the department, including but not 
limited to, a decision regarding eligibility for benefits, the amount of benefits, terms of an 
Employment Plan or a delay in making a decision with respect to an application for assistance 
shall be entitled to an appeal.  The department shall provide an applicant with written notice of a 
decision to deny benefits and shall provide recipients written notice at least ten (10) days in 
advance of a decision to terminate or reduce benefits to the family.  Notices shall be in easy to 
understand language and shall explain the reason for the department's decision and cite the 
relevant section of the department's regulations.  The family may appeal the decision by filing a 
written request with the department within thirty (30) days of the date the notice was mailed.  If 
the recipient files the request within ten (10) days of the date the notice was mailed, the recipient 
may receive benefits without reduction pending the outcome of the appeal.  Hearings with 
respect to public assistance shall be conducted by the department. 
 
(iv) Not later than 1 year after the date of enactment of this Act, unless the chief executive 
officer of the State opts out of this provision by notifying the Secretary, a State shall, 
consistent with the exception provided in section 407(e)(2), require a parent or caretaker 
receiving assistance under the program who, after receiving such assistance for 2 months is 
not exempt from work requirements and is not engaged in work, as determined under section 
407(c), to participate in community service employment, with minimum hours per week and 
tasks to be determined by the State. 
 
The State of Rhode Island through its chief executive officer opts out of the requirement that a 
parent or caretaker receiving assistance under the program who, after receiving such assistance 
for two (2) months is not exempt from work requirements and is not engaged in work, as 
determined under section 407(c), to participate in community service employment. 
 
The following statements certify that the State of Rhode Island is operating those programs and 
requirements mandated by PRWORA. 
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 PART II 
 
1. STATE PLAN CERTIFICATIONS: 
 

The State of Rhode Island will operate a program to provide Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families (TANF) so that children may be cared for in their own homes or in the 
homes of relatives; to end dependency of needy parents on government benefits by 
promoting job preparation, work, and marriage; to prevent and reduce the incidence of 
out-of-wedlock pregnancies and establish annual numerical goals for preventing and 
reducing the incidence of these pregnancies; and encourage the formation and 
maintenance of two parent families. 

 
This program is known as the Family Independence Program. 

 
The Chief Executive Officer of the State of Rhode Island is Governor Donald L. Carcieri  

 
2. CERTIFICATION THAT THE STATE WILL OPERATE A CHILD SUPPORT 

ENFORCEMENT PROGRAM     
 

The State is currently operating during this and subsequent fiscal years a child support 
enforcement program described in the State plan under Title IV-D of the Social Security 
Act. 

 
3. CERTIFICATION THAT THE STATE WILL OPERATE A FOSTER CHILD 

AND ADOPTION ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
 

The State is currently operating, and will continue to operate during this and subsequent 
fiscal years, a foster care and adoption assistance program under the State plan approved 
under part E.  The State will take such actions as are necessary to ensure that children 
receiving assistance under such part are eligible for medical assistance under the State 
plan under Title XIX. 

 
4. CERTIFICATION OF THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROGRAM 
 

The Department of Human Services will administer and supervise Temporary Assistance 
for Needy Families with minor children under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act, in 
all political subdivisions of the State. 

 
The State of Rhode Island assures that local governments and private sector 
organizations: 

 
(a) Have been and will continue to be consulted regarding the plan and design of 

welfare services in the State so that are provided in a manner appropriate to local 
populations.  

 
(b) Will have had at least forty-five (45) days to submit comments on the plan and the 

design of such services.  
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4. CERTIFICATION THAT THE STATE WILL PROVIDE INDIANS WITH 

EQUITABLE ACCESS TO ASSISTANCE 
 

Governor Donald L. Carcieri, the chief executive officer of the State of Rhode Island 
certifies that, during the fiscal year, the State will provide each member of an Indian 
tribe, who is domiciled in the State and is not eligible for assistance under a tribal family 
assistance plan approved under section 412, with equitable access to assistance under the 
State program funded under this part attributable to funds provided by the Federal 
Government. 

 
5. CERTIFICATION OF STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES TO ENSURE 

AGAINST PROGRAM FRAUD AND ABUSE 
 

The State has established and is enforcing standards and procedures to ensure against 
program fraud and abuse, including standards and procedures concerning nepotism, 
conflicts of interest among individuals responsible for the administration and supervision 
of the State program, kickbacks, and the use of political patronage in accordance with 
RIGL 36-14-5. 

 
6. OPTIONAL CERTIFICATION OF STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES TO 

ENSURE THAT THE STATE WILL SCREEN FOR AND IDENTIFY DOMESTIC 
VIOLENCE 

 
 The State of Rhode Island has adopted the Domestic Violence option. 
 

A. The State has established and enforced standards and procedures to: 
 

1. Screen and identify individuals receiving assistance under this part with a 
history of domestic violence while maintaining the confidentiality of such 
individuals; 

 
2. Refer such individuals to counseling and supportive services; and 

 
3. Waive, pursuant to a determination of good cause, other program 

requirements such as time limits (for so long as necessary) for individuals 
receiving assistance, residency requirements, and child support 
cooperation requirements in cases where compliance with such 
requirements would make it more difficult for individuals receiving 
assistance under this part to escape domestic violence or unfairly penalize 
such individuals who are at risk of further domestic violence. 

 
 
 
 

B. Domestic violence defined:   
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For purposes of this paragraph, the term ”domestic violence” has the same 
meaning as the term ”battered or subjected to extreme cruelty”, as defined in 
PRWORA section 408(a)(7)(C)(iii). 

 
(b) Public Availability of State Plan Summary 
 
Rhode Island will make available to the public a summary of any plan submitted by the State 
under this section. 
 
 

CERTIFIED BY THE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND:
 
 
 
 
                                                                                                                               
        Date       Donald L. Carcieri 
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