
0400                 RHODE ISLAND STATE SUPPLEMENT TO SSI 

0400.05             SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME PROGRAM 
REV:01/2002 
  
The Supplemental Security Income Program, Title XVI of the Social Security Act, 
established by P.L. 92-603, as amended, provides, on a national basis, a minimum 
income level for persons 65 or over, or blind, or disabled persons who do not have 
sufficient income and resources to maintain themselves at the federal minimum income 
level.  The SSI Program, administered by the federal government through the Social 
Security Administration and financed from the General Fund of U.S. Treasury, became 
effective 1-1-74 and replaced Titles I, X, XIV, XVI of the Social Security Act which 
had provided assistance to aged, blind, and disabled persons under state 
administration. 
  
Federal law required the states to provide a mandatory supplement to those persons 
who, in December 1973 under the old programs, were receiving a payment greater than 
the new federal minimum level.  Rhode Island, however, established a level of payment 
greater than the federal minimum payment and made it available to all eligible 
persons.  In October 1990 Rhode Island also established a standard for eligible 
residents living in a licensed residential care facility. 
  
The states were given the option of state or federal administration of the state 
supplement payments.  Rhode Island elected federal administration.  In this way, the 
SSI recipient receives one check from the Federal Government for the federal and/or 
state payment. 
  
Rhode Island also provides to SSI recipients medical care, including group care 
through the Medical Assistance Program (Title XIX Program), and social services 
through a Social Services Block Grant.  Payment can also be made for moving expenses, 
for needs resulting from an emergency of a catastrophic nature, for residence in a 
licensed sheltered care facility, and for burial when the criteria for these services 
have been met.  The criteria are set forth in Section 0404.  Homemaking Services are 
available to qualified individuals under the Social Services Program (see Section 
0530). 
  
Essential spouses of eligible SSI recipients who were included in an AABD payment in 
December, 1973 were grandfathered into the SSI program.  Essential spouses will be 
included in the SSI payment of the eligible SSI person as long as his/her eligibility 
continues. 
  

0400.10             SSI OFFICES 
REV:10/1989 
  
Information relative to eligibility requirements for the SSI Program can be obtained 
by contacting the appropriate Social Security Administration office listed below: 
  
55   Broad Street        Pawtucket                        724-9610 
380  Westminster Mall    Providence                       528-4501 
     Eugene O'Neil Dr.   New London, Ct.              203-443-8454 
130  Bellevue Ave.       Newport                          849-3487 
90   Quaker Lane         West Warwick                     822-1456 
127  Social St.          Woonsocket                       767-2100 



  
The Rhode Island Level of payment for SSI is set forth in Section 0402. 
  

0402                 SSI STANDARDS OF ASSISTANCE 

0402.05             LEVEL OF PAYMENT 
REV:01/2006 
  
                 Total Payment     Federal   State 
                    Level          Share     Supplement 
  
Individual          $ 660.35       $ 603.00  $ 57.35 
  
  
Individual in       $ 471.94      $ 402.00  $ 69.94  
Another's Home 
  
Eligible Couple     $ 1,012.50      $ 904.00  $108.50 
  
Eligible Couple     $ 731.18      $ 602.68  $128.50  
in Another's Home 
  
Institutionalized   $  50.00       $  30.00  $ 20.00  
Individual Eligible  
for Federal/State Supplement 
  
Individual in       $1,178 *    $ 603.00  $575.00  
Residential Care  
and Assisted Living Facility ** 
  
  
  
*    Effective October 1, 1998, individuals living in state 
     licensed residential care/assisted living facilities who 
     receive SSI are allowed to retain a minimum personal needs 
     allowance of fifty-five dollars ($55) per month from their 
     SSI monthly benefit prior to payment of the residential 
     care/assisted living facility monthly fee. 
  
  
**   Effective December 1, 1998, an individual must be screened, 
     assessed, and certified by DHS or its agent to be residing 
     in a residential care/assisted living facility to be within 
     this category.  All individuals who receive this category 
     payment level in October 1998 or November 1998 will be 
     forever exempt from the screening, assessment, and 
     certification process. 
 

0402.10             MEDICAL FACILITIES 
REV:07/1999 
  
  



The standard for Personal Needs in Rhode Island is $50 for persons in medical 
facilities. 
  
Effective March 1, 1991, the Social Security Administration (SSA) will administer 
both the Federal and State SSI supplement. 
  

0404                 STANDARDS FOR SUPPLEMENTATION TO SSI 

0404.05             SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENTS 
REV:10/1990 
  
Persons in Rhode Island who are eligible for either Federal and State SSI payment, or 
only the State share of the SSI payment, are automatically eligible for Medical 
Assistance, Social Services, and for assistance to meet the following needs according 
to specified criteria: 
  
     -    Moving; 
     -    Homemaker Service; 
     -    Burial; 
     -    Emergency Assistance in the Event of a Catastrophe; 
     -    State Supplemental Payment to Estranged Spouses Receiving 
          SSI as a Couple; 
     -    Assistance in the Event of Unreceived, Lost, Stolen or 
          Destroyed SSI Checks and Lost or Stolen Cash. 
  
Supplemental payments may be made to recipients of SSI for in-state moving, homemaker 
service, and burial expenses.  A payment for an emergency of a catastrophic nature 
may be made when agency requirements are satisfied.  If an SSI recipient is without 
food or food stamps as a result of an unreceived, lost, stolen, or destroyed SSI 
check or for lost or stolen cash, assistance to obtain food only may be given.  
Agency personnel have responsibility in the authorization process to assure that 
recipients are properly assisted as determined by the provisions of the policy. 
(Social Services has the responsibility in meeting Emergency Shelter under specified 
conditions.  See Social Service Program Manual, Section 0514.) 
  
In addition, to meet the needs for persons who do not qualify in an SSI recipient's 
payment as an eligible essential spouse, Rhode Island will provide General Public 
Assistance if the spouse is unemployable and otherwise eligible. 

0404.10             MOVING 
REV:03/1990 
  
Payment for in-state moving, within cost guidelines, is provided for recipients of 
SSI when the move is determined to be socially desirable, the move cannot be provided 
by the city or town or other community resources, and the recipient requests vendor 
payment for the move.  The agency makes no provision to meet the cost of out-of-state 
moves. 
  
The social caseworker in Economic and Social (E&SS) Services has the responsibility 
for making a recommendation to E&SS eligibility staff as to the social desirability 
of the recipient's move based on criteria outlined in Section 0512 on Housing 
Services.  The E&SS eligibility staff has responsibility for verifying the cost of 
the move and for authorizing the moving payment to the vendor. 
  



0404.10.05          Moving Request Procedures 
REV:03/1990 
  
When a request for moving is received, the eligibility technician completes, in 
triplicate, Part I of form DHS-48A, Request for Moving Payment to Vendor.  The 
original and one copy are transmitted to the E&SS social caseworker for a 
determination of the social desirability of the move and completion of Parts II and 
III of the form.  The social caseworker must, in consultation with the casework 
supervisor, assess the desirability of the move in accordance with the agency 
criteria, inform the latter's responsibility in the moving process if the move is 
approved. 
  
(See section 0512).  The social caseworker must obtain the client's decision on 
whether to have the payment sent directly to the vendor and return the original and 
one copy of the DHS-48A, with the moving recommendation indicated, to the eligibility 
technician.  The second copy is retained for the social services record. 
  
Upon receipt of the DHS-48A and if the move is recommended, the eligibility 
technician advises the recipient to have the moving company contact the eligibility 
technician for authorization.  The amount of payment authorized for moving is based 
on the established prevailing rate.  The  agency can authorize payment to licensed 
movers only.  A list of licensed movers is available in each district office.  An 
exception to this may be made when the recipient chooses to rent a vehicle to move 
himself. 
  
When the moving bill is received, the eligibility technician reviews the bill with 
the recipient to verify the number of hours. 
  
The bill must also be checked for accuracy.  If payment is approved, the eligibility 
technician processes an AP-57B authorizing a payment either to the vendor or to the 
client.  The decision is confirmed in writing to the recipient as well as to the 
moving company. 
  
When a client is moving out of a region, the AP-57B must be processed, whenever 
possible, prior to transferring a record to another office. 
  

0404.10.10          Disapproval of Moving Costs 
REV:03/1990 
  
E&SS eligibility staff may deny moving payments for any of the following reasons: 
  
        -  Moving costs above the prevailing rate.  A letter must 
           be sent to the moving company advising them that the 
           amount above the rate is not approved.  (The amount 
           within the rate is approved.) 
  
        -  More than one move a year unless approved by the 
           Regional Manager. 
  
        -  Moving to a destination out of state. 
  
        -  Blank moving bill signed by the recipient. 
  
        -  Unauthorized moving. 



  
        -  Unauthorized packing costs and/or fumigation costs. 
  

0404.10.15          Moving of Donated Essential Furniture 
REV:10/1981 
  
When a request is received for moving essential items of furniture that have been 
donated to the recipient, the request is referred to the social caseworker for 
evaluation. 
  
If the essential item(s) of furniture is/are lacking, or if the present equipment 
needs replacing, the social caseworker's recommendation is referred to the Regional 
Manager for a decision. 
  
Approval is based on the condition of the item(s) and the cost of the moving. 
  
When the recipient has no furniture, the cost of moving the donated furniture is 
considered when the move will result in lower living costs such as a move to public 
housing or when it is determined socially desirable for the individual(s) to move 
from inadequate housing to improved housing and the cost of the new housing is not 
excessive in relation to the family's income. 
  
In lieu of the use of licensed movers, payment for moving donated items may be made 
to a recognized non-profit social service agency having a vehicle utilized for this 
purpose.  The maximum allowable cost for the use of the vehicle is $10 for one item; 
$20 for two items; or a total of $25 for any three items or more from the same 
location. 
  

0404.15             HOMEMAKER SERVICES 
REV:03/1990 
  
Homemaker Service is a social service provided through the E&SS social caseworker to 
recipients of SSI.  Refer to the Social Services Program, Section 0530, for the 
criteria, determination of eligibility, cost and procedures for the authorization of 
Homemaker Service. 
  

0404.20             BURIAL EXPENSES 
REV:03/1990 
  
The cost of burial can be met through General Public Assistance funds for any person 
who dies leaving no or insufficient resources to meet the expense.  See GPA Section 
0620 of this Manual for the cost standards and conditions under which funeral and 
burial expenses can be met. 
  

0404.25             EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE 
REV:09/1985 
  
Funds for shelter, clothing, food, essential household equipment, and furnishings, if 
necessary, are provided in the event of a catastrophe only if all of the following 
conditions are met: 



  
        -  An emergency is defined as the occurrence of a 
           catastrophe caused by fire, flood, lightning, or severe 
           wind.  Compensable fire damage is further restricted to 
           that caused by flame, smoke, and subsequent secondary 
           water damage where there is damage to the dwelling. 
           Furthermore, the incident must be reported immediately 
           to the fire department.  Other specific exclusions 
           under any circumstances are destruction for which a 
           landlord can be held responsible, willful destruction 
           or willful neglect by the recipient or a member of 
           his/her family, damage covered by insurance policies, 
           and isolated mechanical or electrical failures where 
           there is no secondary damage. 
  
        -  Coverage is limited to possessions of the recipient or 
           those of another member of the assistance unit. 
  
        -  For active cases, the catastrophe or disaster must have 
           occurred at the address recorded in the case record. 
           Or, if it occurred at a different address, the 
           recipient must demonstrate that s/he had moved and was 
           living there prior to notifying the agency.  Acceptable 
           evidence of residence may include, for example, a 
           moving bill, rent receipt, or statement from a utility 
           company attesting to the recipient's responsibility for 
           service on the date and at the address in question. 
           When the catastrophe occurred at an address other than 
           the address of record, the facts of the situation along 
           with verification of residence are presented to the 
           Regional Manager for a decision on whether this 
           condition for emergency assistance has been met. 
  
        -  To be considered, the incident must be reported 
           immediately by the recipient to the Family and Adult 
           Services staff of the district office. 
  
        -  Community resources must first be explored and 
           utilized, whenever possible. 
  
        -  Whenever reasonable, a partially destroyed item of 
           household goods or furnishings must be repaired rather 
           than replaced.  If replacement is required, the 
           purchase of used items must be considered before funds 
           for new items can be authorized. 
  
        -  Any repairs to the basic structure of a recipient-owned 
           dwelling, such as roof, stairs, septic systems, 
           plumbing, wiring, siding, etc., are specifically not 
           covered regardless of the reason for the repair. 
  
        -  Thefts of clothing, food, and household furnishings and 
           equipment are specifically not covered. 
  
        -  If repeated emergencies occur for one case, or the 
           circumstances are questionable, payment may be denied. 
  



0404.25.05          Authorization Responsibility/Documentation 
REV:09/1985 
  
The recipient must report the catastrophe immediately.  A social caseworker must 
visit the site as soon as possible to begin to help the recipient and to authorize 
shelter, food, and clothing as defined in Section 0404.25.10. 
  
Assistance Payments must be notified of the situation by Family and Adult Services.  
The eligibility technician must visit the site within a working day of the 
recipient's notification of the catastrophe to document the facts related to Section 
0404.25, if additional food and clothing or essential household items, as defined in 
Section 0404.25.10 are to be authorized.  The social caseworker works with Assistance 
Payments staff. 
  
A written report must be prepared by the eligibility technician for review by the 
Regional Manager or Chief Supervisor as the final approving authority for payment of 
the items in 0404.25.10. 
  
The report must contain the firsthand information required to support and verify each 
condition or requirement listed in Section 0404.25. 
  
A police or fire department official and any appropriate collateral source is 
contacted and a written report requested.  If a written report cannot be obtained, an 
oral report will suffice, provided that the official's name, title, telephone number, 
and all the relevant facts are recorded by the eligibility technician in a 
memorandum.  Unless there is a delay in obtaining a police or fire report, the 
eligibility technician must submit his/her report within three working days of the 
recipient's notification. 
  
The eligibility technician's report must also contain a statement signed by the 
recipient attesting to the circumstances of the catastrophe and the extent of the 
damage.  Also required is a detailed list of damaged or destroyed major items of 
household equipment and furnishings by room, including an indication as to whether 
each item is to be obtained from a non-agency community resource, repaired, replaced 
with a used item, or replaced with a new item.  If repair or replacement is 
indicated, only items contained in "Household Furniture and Furnishings Emergency 
Replacement List," a copy of which is in the possession of each Regional Manager, can 
be replaced at agency expense.  Also included should be a brief narrative describing 
the immediate action taken (such as use of emergency shelter, the extent of any 
personal injury, whether hospitalization was required, etc.) and any other data 
needed to further evaluate the situation and to better assist the recipient. 
  
The Regional Manager or Chief Supervisor reviews the report and discusses it, if 
necessary, with the eligibility technician and determines the final amount of the 
payment. 

0404.25.10          Items Provided in Event of Catastrophe 
REV:10/1987 
  
Social Services has the responsibility of making an immediate determination of the 
need for emergency shelter, initial food and initial clothing, and may authorize the 
following, as required: 
  
        -  Emergency shelter, on a temporary basis, will be 
           provided only where the damage to cooking or heating or 



           plumbing facilities is severe enough to prevent their 
           use in a minimally acceptable manner or the existing 
           damaged structure either cannot provide adequate 
           protection from the elements or is not safe to occupy. 
           Approval for use of emergency shelter must be made on a 
           daily basis by the social worker assigned to help the 
           recipient relocate to permanent shelter. 
  
        -  Initial food and transportation for each recipient in 
           the amount of $5.00 per person per day, if meals are 
           home-prepared, or $15.00 per person per day, if 
           restaurants are used, are provided from the date of the 
           catastrophe through the fifth working day (or to the 
           date of the next recurring SSI check, if earlier). 
  
        -  Initial clothing, if an individual recipient's clothing 
           has been destroyed, can be authorized only to meet 
           immediate clothing need.  (Maximum combined initial and 
           additional clothing allowance is $123.  See below.) 
  
Assistance Payments has the responsibility to verify and document the need for 
essential household items, additional food, additional clothing, and storage of 
household goods. 
  
        -  Essential Household Items 
  
           If repair is unreasonable and second-hand items are not 
           available, household items contained in "Household 
           Furniture and Furnishings, Emergency Replacement List," 
           a copy of which is in the possession of each Regional 
           Manager, are provided.  Items not on the list, such as 
           a television, are not replaced. 
  
        -  Additional Food 
  
           Funds for additional food and transportation for each 
           recipient are provided at the rate of $5.00 per person 
           per day, if meals are home-prepared, or $15.00 per 
           person per day, if restaurants are used, from the sixth 
           working day to the date of the next income or SSI 
           check, if damage to the food supply occurred. 
  
        -  Additional Clothing 
           The maximum amount that can be authorized for clothing 
           for a recipient is $123.  Assistance Payments can 
           authorize up to this amount, less any amount previously 
           authorized by Social Services, if an individual 
           recipient's clothing was destroyed. 
  
        -  Stored Household Goods 
  
           Storage expenditures can be authorized when it is 
           necessary to store household goods to prevent further 
           damage. 
  



0404.30             MEDICAL CARE 
REV:10/1987 
  
The SSI recipient is certified for Medical Assistance automatically concurrent with 
the determination of eligibility for SSI and/or the State Supplement.  Refer to the 
Medical Assistance Program (Section 0300) for further information regarding medical 
care. 
  

0404.35             LOST OR STOLEN SSI CHECKS OR CASH 
REV:10/1987 
  
This section outlines policy regarding lost, stolen, destroyed, or not received SSI 
checks and lost or stolen cash. 
  
Checks 
  
When an SSI recipient requests assistance because his/her SSI check is lost, stolen, 
destroyed, or not received for other reasons, the recipient must be referred to the 
SSA office to report the fact. 
  
The SSA office determines whether: 
  
        -  the payee is in a current payment status or was at the 
           time of the alleged non-receipt; and 
  
        -  the check was issued to him/her. 
  
If both these criteria are met, the Treasury Department reissues and mails the check 
within the following time frames: 
  
        -  A lost or destroyed check for the current month is 
           reissued within fifteen (15) days of the date the check 
           was reported lost or destroyed. 
  
        -  If the check was not received for unexplained reasons, 
           SSA requires the recipient to report back after the 
           third mailing day from the date the check was due.  If 
           it is still not received, a substitute check is issued 
           within fifteen (15) days from the time the client 
           notified SSA. 
  
        -  If the current month's check is reported stolen, it may 
           take up to twenty-one (21) days for an investigation to 
           be completed before a replacement check can be issued. 
  
        -  If a client receives a mutilated or smudged check, s/he 
           should return it to an SSA district office.  If there 
           is enough information remaining to identify the check 
           (i.e., check number and amount), it can be replaced by 
           the Treasury Department within 48 hours.  However, if 
           it is not identifiable, it is processed in the same 
           manner as a destroyed check and may take up to eighteen 
           (18) days to be reissued. 
  



When the recipient has not been placed on the payroll because of a computer error, 
replacement of a check takes considerably longer. 
  
Contact with the SSA office should be made as often as necessary to determine whether 
the SSI check is to be issued.  This helps in planning for the needs of the 
recipient. 
  
The above policy of the SSA office on replacement of SSI checks does not apply to 
advance payment checks; one-time payment checks; lost, stolen or destroyed checks 
that have been endorsed; or cash that is lost, stolen or destroyed. 
  
Lost or Stolen Cash 
  
When a recipient of SSI reports that s/he has lost cash or has had cash stolen, s/he 
must report the loss or theft to the police department before assistance can be 
given.  S/He must also sign an affidavit (AP-55A) attesting to the fact. 
  

0404.35.05          Authorization of Food Assistance 
REV:09/1988 
  
Before any food assistance can be given to the SSI recipient, the agency staff member 
must verify that the following criteria have been met: 
  
        -  the recipient has reported to the SSA office that 
           his/her SSI check was lost, stolen or destroyed and is 
           participating in any requirements determined to be 
           necessary for replacing the check; and 
  
        -  the recipient has signed the Affidavit, AP-55A, 
           attesting to the above. 
  
If the above conditions have been met, and if the recipient is without food or food 
stamps, assistance to obtain food only may be given. 
  
The allowance is based on the standards below for the appropriate number of days that 
food is required for each person in the SSI plan.  However: 
  
        -  at no time will the food allowance exceed the actual 
           amount of the SSI check; 
  
        -  nor will the number of days for which food will be 
           provided extend beyond the receipt of SSI, SSA, or any 
           other source of income. 
  
Payment may only be made through the AP-57B authorization process. 
  
In each situation the authorization should be identified to indicate that payment is 
for an SSI recipient who reported a lost or stolen check or cash. 
  
           DAILY STANDARDS FOR FOOD FOR SSI RECIPIENTS 
     __________________________________________________ 
       Group Size      1        2       3        4 
  
       ADULT         $2.33    $2.14   $1.94    $1.75 
     __________________________________________________ 



  

0404.40             ASSISTANCE TO ESTRANGED SSI SPOUSES 
REV:12/1990 
  
Persons eligible for and receiving SSI benefits less than the appropriate GPA 
Standard of Need (see Section 0618), due to Federal SSI regulations which treat 
estranged spouses as a couple for SSI purposes until the month after the month they 
begin living apart are eligible for cash assistance, if they meet the financial 
criteria outlined in Sections 0610 and 0612. 
  
When there is an initial SSI application or an SSI reinstatement following a period 
of ineligibility, and the couple is not living together on the date of the 
application or date of request for reinstatement, the SSI regulations treat each 
member of the couple as an individual as of the date of the application or request 
regardless of how recently the separation occurred.  Such individuals are not 
eligible for cash assistance from DHS. 
  

0404.40.05          The Application Procedure 
REV:01/1991 
  
The application process starts when a person or his/her representative contacts the 
agency to request assistance, and ends with either the decision by the agency to 
approve or to deny a payment, or the decision by the person to withdraw his/her 
request for assistance. 
  
A request for assistance may be received in the district office in person, by phone 
or by mail.  The adult service worker gives, or mails, to the applicant, the 
application packet which includes: 
  
        -  Application for Assistance (MA-1) 
  
        -  Information for Applicants (MA-1A) 
  
The adult service worker plans for an intake appointment with the applicant.  If an 
emergency intake is needed immediately, the adult service worker plans for the intake 
according to the district office system for handling emergencies.  The applicant is 
asked to prepare the MA-1 prior to the interview.  The adult service worker must 
witness the signature at the interview.  The applicant is advised of the 
documentation of information required in the determination of eligibility.  The 
applicant is also made aware that, in completing the MA-1, s/he may be helped by a 
relative or friend, or the adult service worker. 
  

0404.40.10          Determining Program Eligibility 
REV:01/1993 
  
When an SSI estranged spouse applies for assistance at a district office, the adult 
service worker: 
  
-    Determines that the couple has separated in the same month or 
     before the month the application for assistance is received; 
  
-    Refers the applicant to the SSA office to notify the SSA of 



     the change in the couple's living arrangements and to ensure 
     the increase in the SSI payment begins the month after the 
     separation; 
  
-    Reviews the MA-1, Application for Assistance, to determine 
     whether or not the applicant's resources are within the limits 
     outlined in Section 0610; specifically, ownership of only one 
     automobile with an equity value not in excess of fifteen 
     hundred ($1,500) dollars, and liquid assets not in excess of 
     four hundred ($400) dollars; and, 
  
-    Determines if the applicant's income (Section 0612) is less 
     than the appropriate GPA Standard of Need as outlined in 
     Section 0618. 
  
Note that only the income and resources that are attributable to the applicant are 
used in the determination of eligibility. 

0404.40.10.05       Examples of Program Eligibility 
REV:01/1994 
  
Since most assistance to estranged spouses will be prorated for a portion of a month, 
beginning on the day the application is date stamped in a district office, a daily 
GPA Standard is calculated. 
  
This is the GPA Standard divided by thirty. 
  
EXAMPLE 1 
  
     Mr. & Mrs. H are each disabled and are receiving the SSI 
     couple standard of $789.50 per month.  Each receives a check 
     for one-half of the couple standard or $394.75 per month. 
  
     Mrs. H. leaves the home on January 12th.  Mr. H. applies for 
     the State Supplemental Payment on January 15th due to his 
     receiving only his share of the SSI couple standard. 
  
     Although it is verified that his resources are within the GPA 
     standards, his SSI payment of $394.75 is in excess of the GPA 
     Standard of Need and, therefore, eligibility for assistance 
     does not exist. 
  
EXAMPLE 2 
  
     Mr. and Mrs. C. are both over 65 years of age.  Mr. C. 
     receives a partial disability pension from the Veterans 
     Administration which reduces the SSI couple payment to $199.50 
     per month. 
  
     Mr. C. leaves the home on March 8th, leaving Mrs. C. with her 
     share of the SSI payment which amounts to $99.75 for the 
     remainder of the month.  She applies for assistance on March 
     9th.  She has no resources and her income is within the 
     prorated amount of the correct GPA Standard of Need. 
     Therefore, eligibility for assistance exists. 
  



     Computation 
  
     GPA Standard                            $ 327.00 
     Mrs. C's SSI payment                    -  99.75 
                                            __________ 
                              Deficit        $ 227.25 
  
  
     Counting the day the application is filed, March 9th through 
     March 31st, there are 22 days of potential eligibility. 
  
     The deficit of $227.25 divided by 30 days multiplied by 22 
     equals a prorated payment for the month of $166.65. 

0404.40.15          Procedure for Authorizing Assistance 
REV:12/1990 
  
A completed MA-1 Application is required to determine if eligibility exists. 
  
When eligibility is determined to exist, the monthly assistance payment is computed 
by deducting the SSI payment, plus any other countable income from the appropriate 
GPA Standard of Need converted to a monthly amount. The balance is then compared to 
the prorated share of the GPA Standard. 
  
The prorated share is calculated by multiplying the correct daily GPA Standard by the 
number of days for which the individual is eligible, beginning the day the 
application is date stamped. 
  
If eligibility for the program exists, an AP-57B is completed by the adult service 
worker, in accordance with the instructions outlined in Section 1220.  It is 
especially important to correctly complete Item #15, Payment to Recipient.  In this 
item: 
  
        -  Print and underline the phrase, "State Payment Only"; 
  
        -  Print the term, "SSI Spouse"; and 
  
        -  Enter the total amount of the assistance payment. 
  
If, in the month of eligibility, the recipient claims that his/her assistance payment 
check is not received: 
  
        -  An AP-59 must be completed to stop payment on the 
           check. 
  
        -  To issue a replacement check, an AP-57B is completed 
           according to the procedure outlined above. 

0404.40.20          Provision of Social Services 
REV:12/1990 
  
The changes in both marital and financial status may have a detrimental effect on the 
recipient.  The adult service worker should be sensitive to these issues and be 
available to provide supportive and/or referral services as necessary. 
  



0404.40.25          Termination of Assistance 
REV:12/1990 
  
Starting in the month after the month of the separation, each estranged spouse is 
treated as an individual claimant by the SSA for SSI payment purposes. 
  
Termination of program eligibility will, therefore, occur at the end of the month of 
separation. 
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