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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
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&
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RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources
of Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY
These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42.17.1, 42-17.6,
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10 and in accordance with
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended.

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL
20-3-2 through 20-3-6).

APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies.

DEFINITIONS
See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3.

SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and
regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part
XIII shall be superseded.
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART XIIl - GILL NET REGULATIONS

13.1 Gill Net Licenses

(a) Each resident of the State is eligible to obtain a license to utilize gill nets upon
payment of an annual fee of two hundred dollars ($200) subject to rules and regula-
tions established by the Marine Fisheries Council.

(b) Each resident who holds a multi-purpose commercial marine license as provided
in § 20-2-28.1, or a commercial vessel or vessel operator's license as provided in 8
20-2-27(c) is also eligible to apply for a commercial gill net permit in accordance with
the provisions of this section. The annual recording fee for commercial gill netting is
twenty dollars ($20) and shall be paid in addition to the fees payable under 88
20-2-27(c) and 20-2-28.1.

(RIGL 20-2-26.1)

13.2 Commercial Gill Net Fishery - License or Permit Required. -- It shall be unlawful for
any person to set, haul, and/or maintain a commercial gill net in the public waters of the
State without first obtaining a license or permit as provided in § 20-2-26.1. Any person
violating the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine not
exceeding five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisonment of not more than one (1) year or
by both such. (RIGL 20-4-13)

13.3 General State Marking, Setting, and Tending Requirements. -- The following
general state marking, setting, and tending requirements shall apply to all gill
nets set, hauled, and/or maintained within Rhode Island waters.

13.3.1 Marking Reguirement: Both the near shore and offshore ends of all gill
nets must be marked with an orange or fluorescent orange bullet shaped buoy
with a size of 9 x 16 inches and clearly marked with the letters "GN" with a
minimum letter height of three (3) inches. No person shall set, haul, or
maintain a gill net in Rhode Island waters, unless such net shall be marked, to-
gether with the buoys which are attached thereto, with the name and license
number of said person.

13.3.2 Tending Requirement: Each gill net must be hauled once each day (24-
hour period - 12:00 midnight to 12:00 midnight).

13.3.3 Distance from Fish Trap: It shall be illegal to set, haul, or maintain a
gill net within three thousand (3,000) feet of a fish trap licensed by the R.I.
Department of Environmental Management.

13.3.4 Floating/Bottom Tending Gill Nets: No floating gill net may be set
within Rhode Island waters unless constantly tended. A net will be deemed
constantly tended if the person setting the net is within one hundred (100)
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feet of the net at all times. If any portion of the gill net is exposed at the
surface, the net will be judged a floating gill net. With the exception of
constantly tended nets, only bottom tending gill nets shall be set in Rhode
Island waters. For purposes of this regulation, a bottom tending gill net
shall be defined as any gill net, anchored or otherwise, which is fished on
or near the bottom or which is fished in the lower one third (1/3) of the
water column.

13.3.5 Mesh Size: No bottom tending gill net shall have a mesh size smaller
than five (5) inches stretched mesh, except as provided in part 10.7 and
13.4.3-313.5. (RIMFC REGULATION) (RIGL 20-4-12) [Penalty - Part 3.3;
(RIGL 20-3-3)]

13.4 Additional Area Specific Requlations -- Any gill net set, hauled, and/or main-
tained in the following areas must adhere to all of the State marking and tending
requirements. In addition to the general requirements (Part 13.3), each gill net
set, hauled, and/or maintained in the following areas must also meet the following
more restrictive specifications:

13.4.1 Narragansett Bay, Mount Hope Bay, and the Sakonnet River: This
area shall include all waters of Narragansett Bay, Mount Hope Bay, and
Sakonnet River, north of the Colregs line. It shall be illegal to set, haul,

and/or maintain a gill net within this area which does not adhere to the

following specifications:

13.4.1-1 Length: A single net or series of connected nets may not
exceed a maximum total length of three hundred (300) feet.

13.4.1-2 Setting Pattern/Spacing Reqguirement: Each gill net must be
set in a straight line. No gill net may be set within fifty (50) yards of
shore at mean low water or within two thousand (2000) feet of
another gill net.

13.4.2 Waters within One Half Nautical Mile of the Rhode Island Coast: The
following additional requirements shall apply to all gill nets set within one
half (*2) mile of the Rhode Island coast (mean high tide line) and south of
the area defined in Part 13.4-1.

13.4.2-1 Length: A single net or series of connected nets may not
exceed a maximum total length of six hundred (600) feet.

13.4.2-2 Setting Pattern/Spacing Reguirement: Each gill net must be
set in a straight line and perpendicular to the shore. No gill net may
be set within two thousand (2000) feet of another gill net.
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13.4.3 Waters between One Half Nautical Mile and Three Nautical Miles from
the Rhode Island Coast (Mean high tide line): The following additional
requirements shall apply to all gill nets set within this area.

13.4.3-1 Setting Pattern/Spacing Reguirement: Each gill net must be
set in a straight line (from one end buoy to the other). No gill net
may be set within two thousand (2000) feet of another gill net during
the period from April 1 to October 1.

13.4.3-2 Marking:

(a) Gill nets greater than six hundred (600) feet and less than
or equal to twelve hundred (1,200) feet must be marked with
two (2) orange or fluorescent orange floats with a size of 9 x 16
inches on the westernmost end as measured on a compass
circle from magnetic south through west to, and including,
north and one orange or fluorescent orange floats with a size
of 9 x 16 inches on the easternmost end side as measured on a
compass circle from magnetic north through east to, and
including, south. In the case of nets set in a due north south
line, the two orange or fluorescent orange floats with a size of
9 x 16 inches should be placed on the southernmost end. All
orange or fluorescent orange floats with a size of 9 x 16 inches
must be marked in accordance with the general marking
requirements (Part 13.3).

(b) Gillnets greater than 1,200 feet must be marked with an
orange or fluorescent orange float with a size of 9 x 16 inches
and a radar reflective highflyer at each end. One of the radar
reflective highflyer is to be marked with a flag on the
westernmost side as measured on a compass circle from
magnetic south through west to, and including, north. The
easternmost side as measured on a compass circle from
magnetic north through east to, and including, south is to be
marked with a radar reflective highflyer that must remain
flagless. In the case of nets set in a due north south line, the
flag on the radar reflective highflyer should be placed on the
southernmost end. Orange or fluorescent orange floats with a
size of 9 x 16 inches must be marked in accordance with the
general marking requirements (Part 13.3).

13.5 Gill Netting for Bait -- It is illegal to set, haul, and/or maintain a gill net for bait
so as to obstruct the free passage of fish in Rhode Island coastal waters,
streams, rivers, or bays. Itis illegal to set, haul, and/or maintain a bait gill net in
the Pawcatuck River north of a line from Pawcatuck Rock to Thompson Point. A
Size No. 1 bait gill net may be set, hauled, or maintained in the marine environ-
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ment in any river, stream, or bay in Rhode Island with the exception of the
Pawcatuck River north of aline from Pawcatuck Rock to Thompson Point.
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

Size No. 1 -- The total length of a bait gill net may not exceed one hundred (100)
feet nor may the mesh size be greater than three and three quarters inches (3
3/4") (stretched). Anyone setting a Size No. 1 gill net for bait must be within one
hundred (100) feet of the net at all times. The net must be clearly labeled with the
name of the person setting or tending the net. Itis illegal to possess any salmon
or striped bass while gill netting for bait in a prohibited area (refer to prohibited
gill net geographic areas). (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL
20-3-3)]

13.6 Gill Net Regulations -- Prohibited Fishing Areas by Geographic Location --

With the exception of gill netting for bait, it is illegal to set, haul, and/or maintain a

gill net in any channel, pond, and/or river as follows:
Quicksand Pond and channel, Tunipus Pond and channel, Briggs Marsh
and channel, Round Pond and channel, Narrow River and channel, Point
Judith Pond and channel, East Pond and channel, Potter Pond and
channel, within the Harbor of Refuge, and within one hundred (100 yards of
the Harbor of Refuge Breakwater, Card Pond and channel, Green Hill Pond
and channel, Trustom Pond and channel, Charlestown Pond and channel,
Quonochontaug Pond and channel, Brightman Pond and channel, Little
Narragansett Bay, and within one and one half (1-1/2) miles south (true) and
west (true) of Napatree Point, and the Pawcatuck River and channel. Itis
also illegal to set, haul, or maintain a gill net along the shoreline within one
half (¥2) mile in both directions of the seaward entrance to any of the
coastal salt ponds, channels or rivers listed above when open to the sea.
With the exception of the Harbor of Refuge Breakwater, the one half (*2)
mile closure zone shall extend 300 yards seaward.

Block Island Gill Net Regulations

No person shall set, attempt to set, haul, or maintain a gill net within one
half (*2) mile of Block Island between April 15 and November 15 of each cal-
endar year. No person shall set, attempt to set, haul, or maintain a gill net
between November 1 and December 31 in the waters seaward of Old
Harbor, Block Island, from the Block Island shoreline to the one hundred
(100) foot depth contour. The area is bounded by a northerly line running
one hundred (100) degrees (true) from Clay Head Point to the black and
white whistle out to a depth of one hundred (100) feet. The southern
boundary of the closure zone runs from the shoreline on a course of one
hundred (100) degrees (true) to the C-3 buoy out to the one hundred (100)
foot depth contour. The eastern boundary is a line which corresponds to
the one hundred (100) foot depth contour. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty
- Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]
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13.7 Narragansett Bay Gill Net Prohibition for Striped Bass -- In Narragansett Bay
and tributaries (this area shall include the East and West Passages north of a line
from Monahan's Dock (State Pier #5) to Beavertail Pt. to Castle Hill Light and be
bounded on the East by the Mt. Hope Bridge), no person shall take, while gill
netting, or possess, while hauling a gill net, any striped bass. (RIMFC REGULA-
TION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

13.8 Striped bass 50-yard closure zone for gill nets -- It shall be illegal to set,
haul, or maintain a gill net within 50 yards of the Rhode Island coastline (mean
high tide line) in the following areas and during the following seasons:

13.8.1 Areas: From Monahan's Dock breakwater (State Pier #5) to the
southernmost tip of Matunuck Pt. (Carpenter's Bar); in Narragansett Bay,
Mt. Hope Bay, and Sakonnet River (as described in part 13.4-1), and from
the southern tip of Sachuest Point to the juncture of Second Beach and
Sachuest Point, and from the southwest corner of Price's Neck to Castle
Hill Light House.

13.8.2 Season Closure: All gill netting is prohibited within 50 yards of the
Rhode Island coastline (mean high water line) during the period October 15
- December 31 annually. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL
20-3-3)]
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations,
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 8" day
of November, 2013 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise
indicated, in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2
through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10, 42-35, 42-17.1, 42-17.6 of the General Laws of
Rhode Island of 1956, as amended.

Janet L. Coit, Director
Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: 07/16/2013
Public Hearing: 08/15/2013
Filing date: 11/08/2013
Effective date: 11/28/2013
ERLID #: 7384
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