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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES

FISH AND WILDLIFE
&
LAW ENFORCEMENT

RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources
of Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY
These regulations are adopted pursuant to Title 20, Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, and
42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35-18(b)(5), Administrative Procedures
Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended.

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations in
accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures Act of the Rhode Island
General Laws of 1956, as amended.

APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies.

DEFINITIONS
See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3.

SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and
regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of
Part IV shall be superseded. However, any enforcement action taken by, or
application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules
and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time
the enforcement action was taken, or application filed.
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART IV - SHELLFISH

4.1 Licenses --
4.1.1 Commercial Licenses — see “Commercial and Recreational Saltwater
Fishing Licensing Regulations”

4.1.2 Residents Recreational Harvest -- Residents are not required to obtain a
license for the harvest of shellfish provided they do not exceed the
non-commercial (resident's) daily catch limit and provided that such
shellfish shall not be offered for sale. RIMF REGULATION [Penalty - Part
6.6 (RIGL 20-6-9)]
ref (RIGL 20-6-1)

4.1.3 Non-resident Recreational Licenses:

(a) Season - Every non-resident over the age of twelve (12) years may obtain a
non-resident, non-commercial annual shellfish license for a fee of two hundred
dollars ($200).

(b) 14-day - A non-resident may obtain one non-commercial limited license per
calendar year covering fourteen (14) days including the date of issue, for eleven
dollars ($11).

(c) Non-resident landowner - A non-resident landowner, as defined in RIGL § 20-1-
3(a)(3), who owns residential real estate in Rhode Island assessed for taxation at a
valuation of not less than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) may, with proof of
residential property ownership in the form of a current tax bill from a town or city
hall showing that the non-resident landowner is current in his or her property tax
obligation, obtain an annual, non-commercial, non-resident shellfish license for a
fee of twenty-five dollars ($25).

(RIGLS 20-2-22)

4.1.4 Shellfish Dredging License - Fees: A resident of this State shall pay an annual
fee of two hundred dollars ($200) for a license to take quahaugs, mussels, and
surf clams by dredges hauled by power boat.

(RIGL 820-2.1-5 (2) (ii)(A)

4.1.5 No person may possess or take shellfish from the waters of the State of

Rhode Island for resale or trade unless:

(a) such person is a legal resident of Rhode Island, and

(b) such person completes and submits an application for a commercial
shellfish license as the Director may require, and

(c) such person while taking or possessing shellfish from Rhode Island
waters has on his person a valid, legally obtained, shellfish license
issued by the Department of Environmental Management.

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations -
Part IV - Shellfish

Page 4 of 27



[RIMF REGULATIONS]

4.1.6 A commercially licensed person in a fishery shall only sell, barter, or trade
shellfish taken from Rhode Island waters to a licensed shellfish dealer or
multipurpose dealer. [RIMF REGULATION]

4.1.7 A commercially licensed person in a fishery shall not sell, deliver, or
otherwise transfer shellfish taken from Rhode Island waters to a licensed
shellfish or multipurpose dealer without first presenting said dealer, a
valid shellfish license issued by the Department of Environmental
Management. [RIMF REGULATION]

4.2 Night Shellfishing Prohibited -- Penalty for Taking Shellfish at Night. -- Notwithstand-
ing the provisions of any general or public law to the contrary, any person who takes
any oysters, clams, quahaugs, scallops, or mussels from any of the waters of this state
during the hours between sundown and sunrise shall, upon conviction, be punished by
a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment not exceeding
three (3) years or by both; and any boat, dredges, rakes, or other equipment used in
this violation shall be forfeited to the State. (RIGL 20-6-23)

4.3 Statewide Catch Limits -- (Daily Take)
Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea Clams, Bay Scallops, Mussels, and Oysters
Except in Management Areas

4.3.1 Resident Limit - No License Required. -- Unless otherwise specified in
Department Regulations, any resident of this State may without a license, take in any
one (1) day during the open season, if applicable, not more than one half (1/2) bushel
each of quahaugs, soft-shell clams, sea clams, oysters, and mussels, and not more
than one (1) bushel of scallops; provided that those quahaugs, soft-shell clams, sea
clams, oysters, mussels, or scallops shall not be sold or offered for sale.

(RIGL 20-6-1) [Penalty - Part 4.7; (RIGL 20-6-9)]

4.3.2 Commercial Limit - License Required. -- Unless otherwise specified by
Department Regulations, a holder of a commercial shellfishing license may take
and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to twelve (12) bushels of [bay] quahaugs,
twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three (3) bushels of oysters. RIGL
20-6-10(a). Commercially licensed persons may take and/or possess up to 200
bushels of surf clams, or 26 cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs, in any one
day (midnight to midnight) (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3, Part 4.4;
RIGL 20-1-16)]

4.3.3 Non-resident Limit - Licensed Individuals Only. -- A holder of a non-resident
shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not more than one (1) peck each of
oysters, quahaugs, soft-shell clams, surf clams, or mussels. Any person taking more
than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon conviction, one hundred
dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the prescribed quantity or
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be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both. [RIGL 20-6-10(b)]

4.4 Allowance of Shellfish Taking Under License. --

(&) Unless otherwise specified by Department Regulations, a holder of a commercial
shellfishing license may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to twelve (12)
bushels of quahaugs, twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three (3) bushels of
oysters. Commercially licensed persons may take up to 200 bushels of surf
clams in one day. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3, Part 4.4; RIGL (20-1-
16)]

(b) A holder of a non-resident shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not
more than one (1) peck each of oysters, quahaugs, soft-shell clams, or mussels. Any
person taking more than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon con-
viction one hundred dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the
prescribed quantity or be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both.

(RIGL 20-6-10)

4.5 Method of Harvest -- No person shall take any oysters, bay quahaugs, or
soft-shell clams from the waters of this State by dredge(s), rakes, or other appara-
tus operated by mechanical power or hauled by power boats unless authorized
pursuant to Section 10.3.1.

RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL (20-1-16)]

4.6 Soft-shell Clams -- Method of Taking. -- No person, either as principal, agent, or em-
ployee, shall dig or take by any method other than by forks, rakes, hoes, tongs, or any
other device operated by hand, from any of the waters of this State, any soft-shell clam.
Any violation of the provisions of this Section shall be punishable by a fine of not less
than ten dollars ($10) nor more than fifty dollars ($50). (RIGL 20-6-15)

4.7 Penalty for Exceeding Allowance Without License. -- Every person who shall take in
any one (1) day more than one half (1/2) bushel each of oysters, bay quahaugs,
soft-shell clams, surf clams, or mussels from the free and common fisheries of this
state, without a license, shall be fined, upon conviction, not exceeding fifty dollars ($50)
and costs for each one half (1/2) bushel or fraction thereof above the stated limits or be
imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days, or both. (RIGL 20-6-9)

4.8 Shellfish Management Areas - Catch Limits for Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams,
Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters. — Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Area,
Potter Pond, Pt. Judith Pond, Ninigret (Charlestown) Pond, Quonochontaug Pond,
Winnapaug (Brightman) Pond, Potowomut, Greenwich Bay, Conimicut Point, Mill
Gut, Kickemuit River, Bissel Cove, High Banks, Sakonnet River, and Jenny’s
Creek have been declared special Shellfish Management Areas. Each of the
above referenced areas shall continue to enjoy the designation as a Shellfish
Management Area unless modified by the Director.
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No person may possess more than the maximum shellfish management area
daily catch limit while in a management area. The following daily catch limits
have been established for the Management Areas listed above. Note: Conimicut
Point Shellfish Management Area has different possession limits, see specific
regulations in section 4.11.1.

Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters*
Maximum Daily Take by:

BOAT HARVEST:
R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person

3 bu each/day/license holder
maximum of 6 bushels
each/boat/day; and maximum of
two licensed shellfishers per boat

Commercial (in season)

Licensed Non-Resident (no
sale)
* Qyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.

% peck each/day/license holder

(Note: The harvest and possession of oysters in
Quonochontaug Pond is prohibited from September 15, 2010 to
September 15, 2013. See section 4.12.3. The harvest and
possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is prohibited
from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section
4.12.6)

SHORE DIGGING:
This maximum daily catch limit for shoredigging of soft shell clams, bay
guahaugs, mussels, and oysters [in season] is:

R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person

3 bu each/day/license holder
[Exception: In the Greenwich Bay
Management Area, the limit is 3
bu/day/license holder whenever
sub-area 1 is open to boat harvest,
but 1 peck/day/license holder
whenever sub-area 1 is not open to
boat harvest]

Commercial (in season)

Licensed Non-Resident (no

% peck each/day/license holder
sale)

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations -
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* Qyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.

(Note: The harvest of possession oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2013. See section
4.12.3. The harvest and possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section
4.12.6)

Daily catch limits apply to all Management Areas unless otherwise specified.
The use of diving apparatus is prohibited while shoredigging.
(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.3; (RIGL (20-1-16)]

4.8.1 Tagging/Labeling Reguirements — All shellfish taken by licensed
commercial fishers of shellfish from Shellfish Management Areas must be in a
container which is tagged and labeled with the fisher’'s name, license number,
date, and management area from which shellfish was removed prior to any of
the following:

- leaving the waters of the management area which has been approved for
the harvest of shellfish by the Rhode Island Department of Environmental
Management.

- shellfish are removed from the boat; or

- shellfish are offered for sale.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.9 Temporary Shellfish Limit -- The Department may establish a reduced shell-
fish limit in any Marine Life Management Area for a period not to exceed sixty (60)
days. The following reduced limit shall apply in any area so designated:

Quahaugs, Soft-shell Clams, Sea Clams, and Oysters
Reduced Maximum Daily Take for Marine Life Management Areas

R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person
Commercial 1 bu each/day/license holder
Licensed Non-Resident (no % peck each/day/license
sale) holder

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7 (RIGL 20-6-9 or 20-6-10)]

4.10 Greenwich Bay Shellfish Management Area

4.10.1 The conditionally approved waters of Greenwich Bay are established as a
Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as west of a line between the
flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy Point on the
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Potowomut Shore.

4.10.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.10.3 SHORE DIGGING: will be permitted between sunrise and sunset daily.

BOAT HARVEST:

4.10.4 Greenwich Bay Sub-Areas 1 and 2

The areas shall be subject to an annual December harvest schedule established
by the Director, pursuant to recommendations developed by the Division of Fish
and Wildlife and the Marine Fisheries Council. Said recommendations shall be
submitted to the Director at least sixty (60) days prior to the first scheduled
opening. The December schedule may include up to forty-eight (48) hours of
permitted shellfishing, spread over any number of days during the month,
excepting December 25.

If weather or water quality conditions during the month of December prevent the
area from opening on two or more scheduled days, the Division of Fish and
Wildlife may modify the December schedule to allow for additional hours or days
of permitted shellfishing, provided:

1. the proposed modification(s) is/are submitted in writing to the Division
of Fish and Wildlife by a member of the Marine Fisheries Council,
appointed by the Marine Fisheries Council, who shall represent the
interests of the commercial shellfishing industry, including harvesters
and dealers, regarding the proposed modification(s);

2. thetotal number of hours of permitted shellfishing for the month does
not exceed forty-eight (48) hours; and

3. there-scheduled hours or days are announced publicly by the Division
of Fish and Wildlife with at least seventy-two (72) hours of advance
notice.

(a.) GB Sub-Area 1 — Described as the waters east of a line between the Rhode
Island Department of Environmental Management range marker located at the end
of Neptune Street in Chepiwanoxet to the Rhode Island Department of
Environmental Management range maker located on Cedar Tree Point, Warwick,
and north of a line between the far northeastern section of Chepiwanoxet Point
and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods.

(b) GB Sub-Area 2 — Described as the waters west of a line between Sally Rock
Point and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods; and
south of a line between the far northeastern section of Chepiwanoxet Point and
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the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods

Winter Shellfish Harvest Schedule for Western Greenwich Bay (both GB Sub-Area
1 and GB Sub-Area 2):

For December 2012 — In accordance with D.E.M. Office of Water Resources,
“Shellfish Grounds, Closures and Approved Areas” document dated May 2012,
GB Sub Area 1 and GB Sub Area 2 are closed to shellfishing beginning sunrise
on December 1 through sunrise of January 1.

From January 1, 2013 through April 30, 2013 — shellfishing from a boat will be
permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on:
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.

(c) Default harvest schedules for GB Sub-Areas 1 & 2 — If no action is taken to
establish specific harvest schedules and/or closures for the December through
April harvest season, and harvest seasons subsequent thereto, the sub-areas
shall revert to the following default harvest schedule:

Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 10:00
A.M. on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

(d.) GB Area 3 — Described as the waters east of a line between Sally Rock Point
and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods, and west
of aline between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy
Point on the Potowomut Shore.

GB Sub-Area 3 is open to shellfishing from a boat between sunrise and sunset
daily on an annual basis.

4.11 Sakonnet River Shellfish Management Area - The following special regula-
tions apply in the Management Area: In the Sakonnet River Shellfish Management
Area, the daily take for licensed dredge boats will be limited to 200 bushels of
surf clams. A by-catch of bay quahaugs will be permitted. It shall be calculated
at the rate of one bushel of bay quahaugs for each ten (10) bushels of surf clams
in possession of the harvester. Total by-catch of bay quahaugs shall not exceed
twelve (12) bushels per vessel. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL
20-3-3)]

4.11.1 Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area

4.11.1-1 Certain waters adjacent to Conimicut Point are established as a Shell-
fish Management Area. This area is defined as south of aline running from the
pole (Latitude: 41° 43’ 2.93” North, Longitude: 71° 21’ 27.68” West) on Conimicut
Point to the center of the Old Tower at Nayatt Point; and north of a line from the
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western most extension of Samuel Gorton Avenue, Warwick and the southern
most extension of Bay Road, Barrington.

4.11.1-2 Shellfish harvesting in Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area will
be allowed only when declared open by the D.E.M. Office of Water Resources
based upon water quality considerations.

4.11.1-3 In the Conimicut Point Shellfish Management Area, the daily
commercial possession limit shall be three (3) bushels of soft-shell clams per
day per license holder and a maximum of six (6) bushels per day per vessel with
a maximum of two commercially licensed shellfishers per boat. The daily
recreational possession limit for Rl residents shall be one (1) peck of soft-shell
clams per day, and the possession limit for licensed recreational non-residents
shall be one-half (1/2) peck of soft-shell clams per day.

4.11.1-4 The daily catch limits for shellfish species, other than soft-shell clams,
shall be the statewide limits as provided by these regulations, not those
applicable to management areas.

4.12 Shellfish Management Areas Closed to Shellfishing (also see: Areas Closed
Due to Pollution).

4.12.1 Mill Gut

4.12.1-1 Mill Gut in Bristol is closed in its entirety until further notice, with the
exception that between sunrise the second Wednesday in December and
sunset, April 30 annually the area will be open for the harvesting of quahaugs,
soft-shell clams, mussels, and oysters in accordance with the catch limits set
forth in section 4.8.

4.12.2 Winnapaud (Brightman) Pond

4.12.2-1 The following area in Winnapaug Pond will be closed to all
shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: the area
north of a line running easterly from a special DEM marker at Big Rock Point
(N 41 degrees 19 minutes 49.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 57.0
seconds), to the special DEM marker at the southern end of Larkin's Island (N
41 degrees 19 minutes 55.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 5.0 seconds),.
The area will be bordered on the east by a line running northwesterly the
Larkin's Island special marker to a special DEM marker adjacent to the end of
Bayside Avenue (N 41 degrees 19 minutes 58.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47
minutes 9.0 seconds). The northern boundary is the shoreline between the
Bayside Ave special DEM marker and the Big Rock Point special DEM marker.

4.12.3 Quonochontaug Pond

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations -
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4.12.3-1 The harvest and possession of oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is
prohibited from September 15, 2013 to September 15, 2016 (for three years).

4.12.3-2 The following areas in Quonochontaug Pond will be closed to all
shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only:

(&) The western closure area is defined as south of a line running easterly
from the special DEM marker at the end of Quahaug Point (N 41 degrees 20
minutes 0.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 39.5 seconds), to a second
special DEM marker at the northern end of Nope’s Island (N 41 degrees 20
minutes 5.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 1.0 second). The area will be
bordered on the west by a line running south from Quahaug Point to a
special DEM marker located on the barrier beach shoreline (N 41 degrees 19
minutes 51.5 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 40.0 seconds). The
southern boundary will be the shoreline between the barrier beach special
DEM marker and Nope’s Island special DEM marker.

(b) The eastern closure area is defined as east of aline running southerly
from the special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 21 minutes 1.1
seconds W 71 degrees 42 minutes 33.4 seconds, to a second special DEM
marker located at N 41 degrees 20 minutes 41.0 seconds W 71 degrees 42
minutes 44.1 seconds; and bound by the eastern pond shoreline between the
special DEM markers.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.12.4 Ninigret Pond

4.12.4-1 The following area within Ninigret Pond in Charlestown will be closed
to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: all
waters within an area formed by the following points: from (“A” N 41 degrees
20 minutes 41.7 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 24.3 seconds, the northeast
corner of the Ninigret Conservation Area parking lot) following the shoreline to
(“B” N 41 degrees 20 minutes 49.6 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 4.6
seconds, a DEM sign approximately 500 meters eastward of “A”); from “B”
northward to (“C” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 31.0 seconds W 71 degrees 41
minutes 22.2 seconds, the Lavin’s Landing Marina launching ramp); from “C”
following the shoreline to (“D” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 10.1 seconds W 71
degrees 41 minutes 40.9 seconds, a DEM sign on the westernmost end of
Reeds Point); from “D” southward to “A”.

4.12.5 Potter Pond

4.12.5-1 The following area within Potter Pond in South Kingstown will be
closed to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only:
An area within Sycamore Cove defined as north of a line running easterly from
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a special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 23 minutes 2.0 seconds, W 71

degrees 32 minutes 13.0 seconds; to a second special DEM marker located at
N 41 degrees 23 minutes 1.0 second, W 71 degrees 31 minutes 59.5 seconds;
and bound by the northern pond shoreline between the special DEM markers.

4.12.6 Bissel Cove/Fox Island Oyster Harvest Moratorium —

4.12.6-1 The harvest and possession of oysters in the Bissel Cove/Fox Island
Shellfish Management Areais prohibited from September 15, 2010 to
September 15, 2015 (for five years).

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7; (RIGL 20-6-9 or 20-6-10)]
4.13 repealed 12/2001

4.14 Transfer of Shellfish from Uncertified Waters. --The Director of Environmental Man-
agement is authorized and directed, after requiring all necessary safeguards, to transfer
shellfish from uncertified waters of the State to approved areas. The Director may make
rules and regulations governing the reharvest of those shellfish to the best economical
benefit of the state after all necessary safeguards to insure their cleanliness. (RIGL
20-6-26) [Penalty - Part 4.17; RIGL 20-6-29]

4.15 Dredging, Raking, and Tonging in Transplant Beds. -- Those areas to which the
shellfish are transferred shall be marked out, and dredging, raking, or tonging on them
shall be prohibited except under the special direction of the Director. (RIGL 20-6-27)
[Penalty - Part 4.17; 20-6-29]

4.16 Cost of Transfer of Shellfish -- For the transfer of shellfish pursuant to § 20-6-26,
the Director is authorized to hire dredge boats or hand rakers and to set the rate of
payment. Any transferred shellfish may be sold by the Director, and the proceeds of
that sale shall be retained under the control of the Director for the purpose of assisting
in the cost of the transfer of shellfish from uncertified waters to approved areas from
time to time as the transfer becomes necessary or expedient. (RIGL 20-6-28) [Penalty -
Part 4.17; (20-6-29)]

4.17 Penalty for Improper Taking of Transferred Shellfish -- Any person violating rules
or regulations promulgated by the Director of Environmental Management as provided
for in Sections 20-6-26 to 20-6-28, shall, upon conviction, be subject to a fine not ex-
ceeding five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days or
both. (RIGL 20-6-29)

4.18 Shellfish Grounds - Polluted Area. -- For a discussion of the statutes and penalty
provisions governing shellfishing in polluted areas, refer to Chapter 20-8-1, as
amended, of the Rhode Island General Laws.

4.19 [Repealed 11/20/02]
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4.20 Surf Clams and Ocean Quahaugs.

4.20.1 Gear Restrictions The following gear restrictions shall apply to vessels
fishing in the territorial waters of Rhode Island for surf clams:

4.20.1-1 It is unlawful for any vessel to operate with any hydraulic dredge with
a blade, knife, or manifold which is greater than 48 inches in maximum width.
4.20.1-2 It is unlawful for any vessel to operate more than one dredge while
harvesting surf clams.

4.20.2 Trip Limits The following limits shall apply to vessels fishing in the terri-
torial waters of Rhode Island:

4.20.2-1 It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than
200 bushels of surf clams per vessel.

4.20.2-2 Except as allowed in Part 6.8.3, it is unlawful for any vessel to catch,
harvest, possess, have on board, land, or off load, any surf clams which are
less than 5 inches in the longest shell diameter.

4.20.2-3 Vessels properly licensed to do so may land surf clams and ocean
guahaugs legally taken outside the territorial waters of Rhode Island in excess
of the trip limit established by Part 4.20.2-1, provided that no vessel engaged
in fishing for surf clams or ocean quahaugs within territorial waters may
possess or have on board more than the prescribed limit.

4.20.2-4 It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than
26 cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

MINIMUM SIZES FOR SHELLFISH

4.21 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shell Clams, Mussels --

No person shall take or have in his custody or possession quahaugs of less than
oneinch (1") shell thickness (hinge width). For purposes of this regulation, hinge
width is defined as the distance between the convex apex of the right shell and
convex apex of the left shell. ref (20-6-11) (RIMF REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part
3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

(a) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1") shell
thickness (hinge width). In addition, no person shall take and/or possess soft-shell
clams, taken from the free and common soft-shell clam fisheries, of a diameter less than
two inches (2”) taking the maximum shell diameter, or any oysters, taken from the free
and common oyster fisheries, measuring less than three inches (3") measured parallel
to the long axis of the oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are established by the
director, in consultation with the marine fisheries council. Any person who takes and/or
possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size, as delineated above, upon
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conviction, shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than fifty dollars
($50.00) for each and every fifteen (15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any person who
takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size commingled and/or
otherwise stored or contained with shellfish of not less than the minimum size, where
the percentage of the less than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten percent
(10%) of the total piece count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained
package, shipment, or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture of the
entire commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or
container, in accordance with the provisions of 88 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1.

Oysters - Minimum Size -- Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis of
the oyster. ref (20-6-11) (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

Sea Clams (Surf Clams) Minimum Size -- Five (5) inches measured parallel to the
long axis of the clam. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops -- Every person taking any seed
scallops, and who fails to restore them as soon as possible to their natural beds in the
water from which taken, shall be fined not less than twenty dollars ($20) nor more than
one hundred dollars ($100), or be imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days, or both, for
each offense. For the purpose of this Chapter, a "seed scallop” means a scallop with a
bright, thin, slightly curved shell with no foreign adherent, the shell having no well-
defined raised annual growth line, and the scallop being less than one (1) year old.
(RIGL 20-6-17)

4.22 Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Area

4.22.1 The waters of Bristol Harbor described below are designated as a
Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as that area of Bristol Harbor
southerly of aline between Johnson's Dock (so-called) on the west side of
Bristol Harbor and the northwest corner of the Coast Guard Dock, on the east
side of Bristol Harbor, and north of a line between Rockwell's Dock (so-called)
on the west side of Bristol Harbor, and the northwest corner of the Coast Guard
Dock. The area is bordered on the west by the three (3) foot contour line along
the shore between Rockwell's Dock and Johnson's Dock and on the east by the
existing pollution line.

4.22.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.22.2 Boat Harvest

(@) Eor December 2012 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only
between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: December 12,
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14, 17, 19, 21, 24, 26, 28, and 31.

(b) Eor January 2013 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: Mondays, Wednesdays,
and Fridays.

(c) Erom February 1 through April 30, 2013 - shellfishing from a boat will be
permitted only from sunrise to 12:00 P.M. Noon on: Mondays through
Fridays.

(d) The areais closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the
annually established December schedule.

(e) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default
harvest schedule:

Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and
12:00 Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the
second Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

4.23 Opening Shellfish on Water -- No person shall possess the meats of more than six
(6) shellfish while shellfishing on the waters of the State or throw the shells of open scal-
lops onto the scallop beds. (RIGL 20-6-21) [Penalty - Part 6.6; (RIGL 20-6-13)]

4.24 Bissel Cove - Fox Island Transplant Area

4.24.1 Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters of Narragansett Bay, North
Kingstown, including the entirety of Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters south
of aline between pole #275 at the corner of Waldron and Seaview Avenues and
the southwestern most point of Fox Island (south of the cable area); west of a
line from the southwestern most point of Fox Island to the northern most point
of Rome Point is established as a Shellfish Management Area.

4.24.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.24.2 Shore Digging -- Shore digging will be permitted daily between sunrise
and sunset.

4.24.3 Boat Harvest
(a) For December 2012 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
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8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: December 12, 14, 17, 19,
21, 24, 26, 28, and 31.

(b) Eor January 2013 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: Mondays, Wednesdays,
and Fridays.

(c) Erom February 1 through April 30, 2013 - shellfishing from a boat will be
permitted only from sunrise to 12:00 P.M. Noon on: Mondays through
Fridays.

(d) The areais closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the
annually established December schedule.

(e) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default
harvest schedule:

Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00
Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

4.25 Repealed 12/01

4.26 Kickemuit River Shellfish Management Area Requlations

4.26.1 The areais defined as follows: The marine waters of the Kickemuit are
those north of aline connecting nun buoy 6 and can buoy 1 at Bristol Narrows.

4.26.2 Upon certification of water quality by the D.E.M. Office of Water
Resources, shellfishing will be permitted throughout the area between sunrise
to sunset daily. When the waters are certified for shellfishing by the D.E.M. -
Office of Water Resources shore digging will be permitted when the area is
open (in season).

4.26.3 Repealed 12/01
4.26.4 Repealed 2/18/01

4.26.5 Water quality certification will determine whether or not shellfishing is
allowed in these areas. Regulations established by the D.E.M. Office of Water
Resources shall supersede these regulations.

(RIMF REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.27 Potowomut Shellfish Management Area
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4.27.1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.27.2 SHORE DIGGING: is permitted within this entire area between sunrise
and sunset daily year around.

4.27.3 BOAT HARVEST:
The Potowomut Shellfish Management Area is divided into the following three
areas pertaining to boat harvesting:

Area A is defined as the area west of a line between the seaward end of Sandy
Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of a line between the seaward end

of Pojac Point to buoy "G1" (Round Rock). Area A is closed to shellfishing from a

boat except as follows:

(a) Eor_December 2012 - shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only
between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: December 12,
14,17, 19, 21, 24, 26, 28, and 31.

(b) Eor January 2013 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
8:00 AM. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: Mondays,
Wednesdays, and Fridays.

(c) Erom February 1 through April 30, 2013 - shellfishing from a boat will be
permitted only from sunrise to 12:00 P.M. Noon on: Mondays through
Fridays.

(d) The areais closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with
the annually established December schedule.

(e) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default
harvest schedule:

Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 AM and

12:00 Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, beginning on the
second Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of

April.

Area B is defined as the triangular area east of a line between the seaward end of
Sandy Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and west of a line between the flagpole
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at the Warwick Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and south of aline
between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club to the seaward end of Sandy
Point. Area B is closed to shellfishing from a boat until further notice.

Area C is defined as the area east of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick
Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of aline from buoy "G1"
(Round Rock) to the Warwick Lighthouse. Area C is open to shellfishing from a
boat daily between sunrise and sunset year-round.

4.28 "High Banks" Shellfish Management Area

4.28.1 The waters of High Banks are established as a Shellfish Management
Area. This area is defined as the waters of the upper west passage south of a
line between the seaward end of Pojac Point to the Round Rock buoy "G1" and
north of aline from the seaward end of the fence between the former Davisville
Navy property and Pettee Street in the Mount View section of North Kingstown
to "N6" buoy located mid-bay west of Prudence Island. The area is bounded on
the east by a line projecting from the easternmost end of Pier 2 at Davisville to
the Round Rock buoy "G1" and is bounded to the west by the shore.

4.28.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.28.3 SHORE DIGGING: is permitted between sunrise and sunset daily.

4.28.4 BOAT HARVESTING:

(a) For December 2012 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: December 12, 14, 17, 19,
21, 24, 26, 28, and 31.

(b) For_January 2013 — shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 P.M. Noon (4 hours per day) on: Mondays, Wednesdays,
and Fridays.

(c) Erom February 1 through April 30, 2013 - shellfishing from a boat will be
permitted only from sunrise to 12:00 P.M. Noon on: Mondays through Fridays.

(d) The areais closed to all shellfishing from a boat from May through November,
annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the annually
established December schedule.

(e) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December through April harvest season, and harvest
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seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default
harvest schedule:

Shellfishing from a boat will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00
Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

4.29 Jenny’s Creek Shellfish Management Area: The entire areais closed to all
shellfishing until further notice. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.03
(RIGL 20-3-3)].

4.30 Handling of Shellfish

4.30.1 - Commercial shellfish harvesters and shellfish aquaculturists shall
conduct all activities and operations involving or relating to the possession
and handling of shell stock so as to prevent contamination, deterioration and
decomposition of such shell stock.

4.30.2- Containers used for storing shell stock must be clean

4.30.3- Boat decks and storage bins used in the harvest or transport of shell
stock shall be kept clean with potable water or water from the growing area in
approved classification or the open status of conditional areas.

4.30.4- Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall assure that said vessel is properly constructed,
operated and maintained to prevent contamination, deterioration and
decomposition of shell stock.

4.30.5- Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall prevent bilge water from coming into contact with
shell stock.

4.30.6- Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a boat to harvest and transport
shell stock shall provide such vessel with effective drainage to avoid contact
between bilge water and shell stock.

4.30.7- Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall locate bilge pumps so that discharge shall not
contaminate shell stock.

4.30.8- Shell stock shall be washed reasonably free of bottom sediments as
soon after harvesting as possible. The harvester shall be primarily
responsible for washing shell stock. If shell stock washing is not feasible at
the time of harvest, the dealer shall assume this responsibility. Water used for
washing shall be from a potable water source, or growing area in the approved
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classification or open status of the conditionally approved classification.

4.30.9- The discharge of human sewage from a vessel used in the harvesting
of shell stock, or from vessels that buy shell stock, within waters of the state
is prohibited. (ref. RIGL § 46-12-39).

(RIMF REGULATION)

4.31 -- Tagging of Shellfish

4.31.1 - Commercial shellfishermen must place any and all shellfish taken by
them (except those shellfish returned to the waters of the harvest area) into
containers, and must tag each and every container with a “harvester tag”
conforming to the requirements of section 4.31.2 below, prior to the following:

4.31.1-1 - the fisherman leaves the approved waters of the harvest area
(identified on the RI Shellfish Harvest Area Tagging Map (see Part XVII —
Maps), shellfish management area or the aquaculture site identified by the
CRMC Assent number in which the shellfish were taken;

4.31.1-2 the shellfish are removed from the boat; or

4.31.1-3 offered for sale.

4.31.2 - The harvester tag shall be durable, waterproof, and sanctioned by the
R.l. Department of Health. The tag shall contain the following indelible, legible
information in the order specified below:

4.31.2-1 harvester’s identification number as assigned by R..D.E.M,;

4.31.2-2 date of harvest;

4.31.2-3 the harvest location as identified on the R.I. Shellfish Harvest
Area Tagging Map (see Part XVII — Maps), shellfish management
area or aquaculture site identified by the CRMC Assent number;

4.31.2-4 type (species) of shellfish; and

4.31.2-5 approximate quantity of shellfish

4.31.3 - Each tag shall also carry the following statement in bold capitalized
type “THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS
EMPTY OR IS RETAGGED AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS”

4.31.4 Commercial shellfishermen shall not place shell stock harvested from
more than one growing area into the same container. When the harvester is
also a dealer, the harvester has the option to tag the shell stock with a
harvester tag or a dealer’s tag meeting the requirements of the R.l. Department
of Health regulations.

4.31.5 Bulk tagging of shell stock will be permitted only with prior approval of
the R.I.D.E.M. Director under the following criteria:
4.31.5-1 when shell stock are harvested from one harvest area on a
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single day, multiple containers may be utilized on a wrapped
pallet, in a tote, in a net brailer, or other container and the unit
tagged with a single tag; and
4.31.5-2 a statement that all shell stock containers in this lot have the
same harvest data and area of harvest; and
4.31.5-3 number of containers in the unit.
(RIMF REGULATION)

4.32 -- Temperature control of shellfish

4.32.1 - Shellfish harvesters shall not allow shell stock to deteriorate or
decompose from exposure to excessive temperature and shall
deliver shell stock to a licensed dealer before such deterioration or
decomposition occurs.

4.32.2 - The maximum allowable time between the harvest of shell stock and
delivery to a dealer shall be twenty hours. Possession of shell stock
in excess of 20 hours is prohibited.

4.32.3 - Ocean quahaugs (Arctica islandica) and surf clams (Spisula
soliddisma) are exempt from the aforementioned temperature control
requirements.

(RIMF REGULATION)

4.33- Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of License

4.33.1 - In addition of other penalties provided by law or other rule or
regulation, any licensed shellfisherman who violates the provision of R.I.G.L.
§ 20-6-24, or these rules, or an order issued by the Director shall be subject
to suspension, revocation or denial of his license in accordance with R.I.G.L.
8§ 20-2-13 and 42-17.1-2(s).

4.33.2 — Penalties

4.33.2-1 First violation, up to six (6) months suspension of license.
4.33.2-2 Second violation, revocation of license.

4.33.3 - The Department of Environmental Management may deny renewal of

shellfisherman license for violation of the provisions of R.1.G.L. § 20-6-24,

these rules or any order issued by the Director during a prior license period.
(RIMF REGULATION)

4.34 - Severability -- If any section or provision of these rules and regulations is
held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining sections of
provisions of these rules and regulations shall not be affected thereby.
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(RIMF REGULATION)

4.35 Conch (Channeled Whelk — Busycotypus canaliculatus and Knobbed Whelk
— Busycon carica) — General provisions applicable to commercial and
recreational taking of conch.

(a) Taking by RI state residents only — The taking of conch from waters under
the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island for either commercial or
recreational purposes shall be restricted to legal residents of the State of
Rhode Island.

(RIMFC REGULATION)

(b) Mutilation and/or Possession of Conch Meat; cooked or uncooked — Prior
to landing of any conchs taken for either commercial or recreational
purposes, No person shall mutilate any cooked or uncooked conch by
breaking and removing the meat from the shell or have in his or her
possession any part or parts of any uncooked conch so mutilated. In any
and all prosecutions under this Section, the possession of any part or parts
of any cooked or uncooked conch so mutilated shall be prima facie evidence
sufficient to convict. All conchs are to be landed whole in the shell. [Penalty -
Part 3.3; RIGLS§ 20-1-16]

(c) Commercial and Recreational Season — The season for conch will be
open from January 1st through December 31st. (RIGLS 20-3-2)

(d) Hauling or Setting Conch Pots/Traps at Night — No person shall set, raise,
or unduly disturb any conch pot or trap within the territorial waters of this
State between the hours of one (1) hour after sundown and one (1) hour
before sunrise.

(e) Legal Minimum Size of Conch —

(1) No person fishing commercially or recreationally shall take, possess,
sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any conch with a shell
measuring less than 2-3/4 inches (69.85 mm) in diameter or a shell
length less than 4-3/4 inches (120.65 mm). (RIMF REGULATION)
[Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGLS§ 20-1-16]

(2) Any person who takes and/or possesses conch of less than the
minimum size, as delineated above, upon conviction, shall be fined not
less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00) for
every fifteen (15) conch that are less than the minimum size and found
to be in his/her possession. Additionally, if any person who is found in
possession of conch of less than the minimum size that are
commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained with conch that are
of at least minimum size, and the percentage of the less than
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minimum size conch is ten percent (10%) or more of the total piece
count of the conch commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained
in a package, shipment, or container, the entire commingled and/or
otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or container, shall
be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture in accordance with the
provisions of RIGL § 20-1-8((a)(5), 20-1-8(a)(6).

(3) Any person who is found to possess conch in violation of Subsections
4.35(a), or 4.35(b), or 4.35.1-1, or 4.35.1-2, or 4.35.1-3 by a court of
competent jurisdiction shall be punishable pursuant to the provisions
of RIGL§ 20-1-16. [Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL§ 20-1-16]

(4) In addition to provisions of Subsection 4.35(e)(3), any person who is
found to possess conch in violation of Subsection 4.35(a), or 4.35(b),
or 4.35(d), or 4.35.1-1, or 4.35.1-2, or 4.35.1-3 by the Administrative
Adjudication Division consistent with the requirements of RIGL
Chapter 42-17.7 may have his/her license to harvest issued by the
Department suspended or revoked consistent with governing, duly
promulgated regulations. RIGL§ 20-3-6 [Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL§ 20-1-
16 and 20-3-6]

4.35.1 Commercial Taking of Conch (Channeled Whelk — Busycotypus
canaliculatus and Knobbed Whelk — Busycon carica)

4.35.1-1 License Reguired for Commercial Taking of Conch -- No person
either as principal, agent, or servant shall at any time catch or take any
conch from any of the waters under the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode
Island, or place, set, keep, maintain, supervise, lift, raise, or draw in or from
any of those waters or cause to be placed, set, kept, maintained,
supervised, lifted, raised, or drawn in or from any of those waters any pot
or other contrivance, designed or adapted for the catching or taking of
conch unless licensed to do so. [Penalty - Part 1.16; (RIGL 20-1-16)]

4.35.1-2 Commercial Possession Limit — A holder of any commercial fishing
license issued by the State of Rhode Island authorized for the taking of
conch may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to 35 bushels of
conch per vessel per calendar day. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty — Part
3.3, RIGL§ 20-3-3]

4.35.1-3 Commercial Conch Pot limit — No more than 300 conch pots or
traps per licensee can be in the water at any one time. It shall be unlawful
for any person licensed under this chapter to place, set, keep, maintain,
supervise, lift, raise, or draw in from any of the waters in the jurisdiction of
this state any pot or other fixed gear contrivance designed or adapted for
the catching or taking of conch which exceeds the commercial conch pot
limit.
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4.35.2 Reporting Requirements -- Dealers must comply with the reporting
requirements as set forth in Section 19.14 Dealer Electronic Reporting
Requirements, of the Rl Marine Fisheries (RIMF) Regulations. (RIMF
REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.3, Part 19.14.5 (RIGL§20-1-16)]

4.35.3 Sales to out of State Dealers — Out of State Dealers operating within the
State of Rhode Island are required to obtain a Rl Seafood Dealer License
and must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth in Section
19.14 Dealer Electronic Reporting Requirements, of the Rl Marine Fisheries
(RIMF) Regulations. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL§20-3-3,
RIGL§20-1-16)]

4.35.4 Recreational Taking of Conch (Channeled Whelk — Busycotypus
canaliculatus and Knobbed Whelk —Busycon carica)

4.35.4-1 Recreational Possession Limit — Unless otherwise specified in this
section or by the Rl Marine Fisheries (RIMF) Regulations, the possession
limit for the recreational conch fishery shall be 1/2 bushel per person per
calendar day, or if a vessel with more than one (1) individual onboard is
used, a maximum of 1 bushel per vessel per calendar day.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.3, RIGL §20-1-16]

4.35.4-2 Recreational Conch Pot Limit — A recreational fisher may place,
set, keep, maintain, supervise, lift, raise, or draw in from any of the waters
under the jurisdiction of the State of Rhode Island, or cause to be placed,
set, kept, maintained, supervised, lifted, raised, or drawn in or from any of
those waters not more than five (5) conch pots or traps at any one time. A
non-commercial conch fisher shall not offer for sale or sell conchs.
[Penalty - Part 1.16; RIGL §20-1-16]

4.35.5 Unauthorized Raising of Traps, Pots, and Devices -- No person except the
Director, enforcement officers, and authorized technical personnel of the De-
partment may unduly disturb, lift, raise, molest, or remove any animal from a
pot, trap, or other such device of a person possessing a valid license to take
conch, without the written permission of that person. (RIGL§ 20-4-8) [Penalty
20-1-16 - Part 1.16]

4.35.6 Unauthorized Possession and/or Transfer of Pots and Traps --
(a) No person except the Director, Division of Law Enforcement officers,
and authorized technical personnel of the Department may place, set,
keep, maintain, sell, transfer, or have in his or her possession any pot, trap,
car, or any other device used in taking or holding conchs, nor take,
remove, or carry away from the beach or shore any pot, trap, car, or other
device or line (warp) or buoy without the written permission of the owner.

(b) Every person convicted of violating this section shall be fined not more
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than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each offense, or be imprisoned not
exceeding one year, or both, and each pot, trap, car, or other device used
in violation of this section shall constitute a separate offense. In addition, if
that person is licensed, his or her license shall be revoked for one (1) year.
(RIGL 820-1-6)

4.35.7 Raising Pots at Night -- No person shall raise or unduly disturb any conch
pot or trap within the territorial waters of this state between the hours of one (1)
hour after sundown and one (1) hour before sunrise. Every person violating this
section shall, upon conviction, be fined not less than one thousand dollars
($1,000) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000), or be imprisoned not
exceeding one (1) year, or both. However, in situations of emergency or upon ap-
plication being made, the owner of the conch pots or traps may be authorized to
remove the pots or traps by the Director or the Director's designee during the
prohibited hours. All boats, pots or traps, or other equipment used in violation of
this section shall be seized and forfeited to the state. (RIGL§ 20-1-8 and § 20-1-
8.1)
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations,
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 12"
day of November, 2013 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise
indicated below, in accordance with the provisions of Title 20, Chapters 42.17.1,
42-17.6, and 42-17, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative
Procedures Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended.

Janet L. Coit, Director
Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: 07/16/2013
Public Hearing:  08/15/2013

Filing Date: 11/12/2013
Effective date: 12/02/2013

ERLID# 7379
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