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RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources
of Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY
These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 42.17.1,
42-17.6, and 42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative
Procedures, of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended.

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL
20-3-2 through 20-3-6).

APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and
policies.

DEFINITIONS
See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3.

SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and
regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part
XVI shall be superseded.
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART XVI - MENHADEN REGULATIONS

16.1 Prohibition on the Harvesting of Menhaden for Reduction Processing — The
taking of menhaden for reduction (fish meal) purposes is prohibited in Rhode
Island waters. A vessel will be considered in the reduction (fish meal) business if
any portion of the vessel’s catch is sold for reduction. (RIMF REGULATIONS)
[Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

16.2 Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management Area — Narragansett Bay, in its
entirety, is designated a Menhaden Management Area. The area shall include the
east and west passages of Narragansett Bay, Mt. Hope Bay, and the Sakonnet
River, and be bordered on the south by a line from Bonnet Point to Beavertail
Point to Castle Hill Light. The southern boundary further extends from Land's
End to Sachuest Point and then to Sakonnet Light. The following regulations
govern all commercial menhaden operations conducted in the Narragansett Bay
Menhaden Management Area.

16.2.1 Gear Restrictions --The use of purse seines shall be permitted only in
accordance with the following terms and conditions:

(A) All nets shall be less than 100 fathoms (600 feet) in length and less than
15 fathoms (90 feet) in depth.

(B) All nets shall be marked with fluorescent-colored float buoys,
distinguishable from the other float buoys on the net, at intervals of 50 feet.

(C) Annually, prior to use, all nets shall be inspected and certified as being
in conformance with the provisions of this section by the DEM Division of
Law Enforcement. Once inspected and certified, a net may be used
throughout the duration of the calendar year in which it was inspected,
provided that it is not altered with regard to any of the provisions of this
section. Any net that is altered with regard to any of the provisions of this
section must be re-inspected and recertified prior to use.

16.2.2 Vessel Restrictions — When engaged in the commercial menhaden
fishery, vessels may not have a useable fish storage capacity greater than
120,000 pounds. Prior to the commencement of fishing, for any vessel not
previously certified through this process, each vessel must be inspected by
a certified marine surveyor and assessed with regard to its fish storage
capacity. A document reflecting the assessment must be kept aboard the
vessel at all times. Any vessel with a fish storage capacity greater than
120,000 pounds may only engage in the fishery if the excess capacity is
rendered unusable in accordance with the specifications set forth in the
assessment.
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16.2.3 - Possession Limits

(A) When the commercial menhaden fishery opens, per section 16.2.5 of this
part, the possession limit shall be 120,000 pounds per vessel per calendar
day, per section 16.2.5. The possession limits may be modified by the DEM
Division of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) on the basis of the estimated weekly
standing stock of menhaden in the management area derived, in accordance
with section 16.2.5, via approved scientific monitoring methods.

(B) No commercial menhaden fisher shall possess menhaden or otherwise
engage in the taking of menhaden anytime on Saturday, Sunday, on any
official state holiday, or prior to sunrise or following sunset.

16.2.4 Reporting Requirements -- In order to permit the Department of
Environmental Management to monitor the fishery, any fisher intending to
engage in the commercial menhaden fishery shall notify the DEM Division of
Law Enforcement (DLE) at (401) 222-3070 prior to taking or coming into
possession of menhaden in the management area. At the time that a fisher
advises the DLE of his/her intent to harvest menhaden, the DLE shall notify
said fisher of any modification which may have been established in the
possession limit for menhaden. Each commercial menhaden fisher shall
also contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife at (401) 423-1943 at the end of
each trip to report the amount of menhaden in possession by the fisher in
pounds and area fished.

16.2.5 Opening/Closure of Fishery Based on Biomass Estimates —

(A) Biomass “Floor”. On an annual basis beginning every spring, the DFW,
utilizing approved scientific monitoring methods, shall conduct regular
estimates of the weekly standing stock of menhaden present in the
management area. On the basis of those estimates, the DFW shall issue a
notice when the estimated weekly standing stock reaches a threshold of
1,500,000 pounds, and the DFW shall open the commercial fishery, at an
initial possession limit of 120,000 pounds per vessel per calendar day, when
the estimated weekly standing stock reaches 2,000,000 pounds. If, at any
time, the stock estimate drops below 1,500,000 pounds, the DFW shall close
the commercial fishery until further notice.

(B) Biomass “Ceiling”. When 50% of the estimated weekly standing stock of
menhaden stock present in the management area, above the minimum
threshold amount of 1,500,000 pounds, is harvested, the DFW shall close the
menhaden fishery until further notice.
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16.2.6 Permanent Closures -- The following areas are permanently closed to
purse seining for menhaden:

Providence River
- All waters north of a straight line running from Rocky Point to Conimicut
Light to Nayatt Point.

Greenwich Bay
- All waters in Greenwich Bay west of a line from the flag pole on Warwick
Point to Sandy Point.

16.2.7 [Repealed 4/2011]

16.2.8 Harvest of Menhaden in Permanently Closed Areas — No person
harvesting menhaden by any fishing method shall possess more than 200
menhaden per vessel per calendar day in any closed area of the menhaden
management area as set forth above.

16.3 Landing of Menhaden in Rl Under State Quota Program — A total annual
statewide quota for menhaden is hereby established. It shall be the most recent
allocation as established for the State by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission (ASMFC). The quota shall pertain solely to landings of menhaden in
RI. The quota shall not pertain to the possession of menhaden in Rl waters prior
to landing. The quota may only be harvested and landed by fishermen licensed
and vessels duly authorized in accordance with the provisions of Title 20 of the
General Laws and in accordance with all rules and regulations promulgated by
the Department of Environmental Management. The State’s menhaden quota will
be managed as follows:

16.3.1 -- The landing limit for menhaden in RI will be unlimited until the quota has
been reached, as determined by the Division. Once the quota has been reached:
(i) the landing limit will be zero for vessels associated with directed fisheries for
menhaden, including but not limited to purse seine operations, and (ii) the
landing limit will be 6,000 pounds per vessel per day for all vessels not
associated with directed fisheries for menhaden.

16.3.2 — All commercial menhaden operations conducted in the Narragansett Bay
Menhaden Management Area, prior to and after the State’s quota has been
reached, are subject to the provisions of section 16.2.
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16.4 — Episodic Event Set Aside Program —

(A) After the State’s quota has been reached, if Rl is approved to participate in the
Episodic Event Set Aside Program for Menhaden, as established by the ASMFC,
the landing limit for menhaden will be 120,000 pounds per vessel per day for
vessels associated with directed fisheries for menhaden, until the Set Aside has
been exhausted, as determined by the ASMFC and/or the Division, at which time
the program will end and the directed fishery will close. Vessels who target and
land menhaden in Rl under this program must harvest only from Rl waters and, if
operating in the Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management Area, must adhere to
all of the provisions governing the Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management
Area, as set forth in section 16.2.

(B) Reporting Requirements -- Any commercial fisher intending to target
menhaden under the Episodic Event Set Aside Program for Menhaden must
notify the DEM Division of Law Enforcement (DLE) at (401) 222-3070 prior to
taking or coming into possession of menhaden. At the time that a fisher advises
the DLE of his/her intent to harvest menhaden, the DLE shall notify said fisher of
any modification to the possession limit for menhaden that is applicable to
operations conducted in the Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management Area.
Each said fisher shall also contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife at (401) 423-
1940 at the end of each daily trip or within four hours thereof to report the amount
of menhaden landed by the fisher in pounds. These menhaden-specific reporting
requirements are in addition to all other existing commercial fishing reporting
requirements as set forth in the RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations.

(C) Vessels not associated with directed fisheries for menhaden may continue to
harvest and land in Rl up to 6,000 pounds per vessel per day as bycatch. Such
vessels are not subject to the provisions of sub-sections 16.3.2(A) and (B), but
are subject to the provisions of section 16.2 with regard to operations conducted
in the Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management Area, and are subject to all
existing commercial fishing reporting requirements as set forth in the RI Marine
Fisheries Statutes and Regulations.

16.5 — No fisher may transfer or attempt to transfer menhaden to another fisher.
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations,
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 20"
day of June, 2013 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise
indicated below, in accordance with the provisions of Title 20, Chapters 42-17.1, 42-
17.6, and 42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative
Procedures, of the Rhode Island General Laws 0f1956, as amended.

Janet L. Coit, Director
Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: N/A

Public Hearing: N/A

Filing date: 06/20/2013
Effective date: 06/20/2013
ERLID# 7355

Emergency Regulations

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
Part XVI -- Menhaden Regulations

Page 8 of 8



