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RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES 
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

 
PURPOSE 

The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or 
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources 
of Rhode Island. 

 
AUTHORITY 

These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 42.17.1, 
42-17.6, and 42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative 
Procedures, of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS 

Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL 
20-3-2 through 20-3-6). 

 
APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed 
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and 
policies. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3. 
 
SEVERABILITY 

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any 
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the 
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby. 

 
SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and 

regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part 
XVI shall be superseded. 
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations 
PART XVI - MENHADEN REGULATIONS 

 
16.1 Prohibition on the Harvesting of Menhaden for Reduction Processing – The 
taking of menhaden for reduction (fish meal) purposes is prohibited in Rhode 
Island waters.  A vessel will be considered in the reduction (fish meal) business if 
any portion of the vessel’s catch is sold for reduction.  (RIMF REGULATIONS) 
[Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
16.2 Narragansett Bay Menhaden Management Area – Narragansett Bay, in its 
entirety, is designated a Menhaden Management Area.  The area shall include the 
east and west passages of Narragansett Bay, Mt. Hope Bay, and the Sakonnet 
River, and be bordered on the south by a line from Bonnet Point to Beavertail 
Point to Castle Hill Light.  The southern boundary further extends from Land's 
End to Sachuest Point and then to Sakonnet Light.  The following regulations 
govern all commercial menhaden operations conducted in the Narragansett Bay 
Menhaden Management Area.  
 

16.2.1 Gear Restrictions --The use of purse seines shall be permitted only in 
accordance with the following terms and conditions: 

 
 (A) All nets shall be less than 100 fathoms (600 feet) in length and less than 

15 fathoms (90 feet) in depth. 
 
 (B) All nets shall be marked with fluorescent-colored float buoys, 

distinguishable from the other float buoys on the net, at intervals of 50 feet. 
 
 (C) Annually, prior to use, all nets shall be inspected and certified as being 

in conformance with the provisions of this section by the DEM Division of 
Law Enforcement.    Once inspected and certified, a net may be used 
throughout the duration of the calendar year in which it was inspected, 
provided that it is not altered with regard to any of the provisions of this 
section.  Any net that is altered with regard to any of the provisions of this 
section must be re-inspected and recertified prior to use. 

 
16.2.2 Vessel Restrictions – When engaged in the commercial menhaden 

fishery, vessels may not have a useable fish storage capacity greater than 
120,000 pounds. Prior to the commencement of fishing, for any vessel not 
previously certified through this process, each vessel must be inspected by 
a certified marine surveyor and assessed with regard to its fish storage 
capacity.  A document reflecting the assessment must be kept aboard the 
vessel at all times.  Any vessel with a fish storage capacity greater than 
120,000 pounds may only engage in the fishery if the excess capacity is 
rendered unusable in accordance with the specifications set forth in the 
assessment. 
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16.2.3 - Possession Limits   
 
 (A) When the commercial menhaden fishery opens, per section 16.2.5 of this 

part, the possession limit shall be 120,000 pounds per vessel per calendar 
day, per section 16.2.5. The possession limits may be modified by the DEM 
Division of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) on the basis of the estimated weekly 
standing stock of menhaden in the management area derived, in accordance 
with section 16.2.5, via approved scientific monitoring methods. 

 
 (B) No commercial menhaden fisher shall possess menhaden or otherwise 

engage in the taking of menhaden anytime on Saturday, Sunday, on any 
official state holiday, or prior to sunrise or following sunset.  

 
16.2.4 Reporting Requirements -- In order to permit the Department of 

Environmental Management to monitor the fishery, any fisher intending to 
engage in the commercial menhaden fishery shall notify the DEM Division of 
Law Enforcement (DLE) at (401) 222-3070 prior to taking or coming into 
possession of menhaden in the management area. At the time that a fisher 
advises the DLE of his/her intent to harvest menhaden, the DLE shall notify 
said fisher of any modification which may have been established in the 
possession limit for menhaden. Each commercial menhaden fisher shall 
also contact the Division of Fish and Wildlife at (401) 423-1943 at the end of 
each trip to report the amount of menhaden in possession by the fisher in 
pounds and area fished. 

 
16.2.5 Opening/Closure of Fishery Based on Biomass Estimates –  
 
 (A) Biomass “Floor”. On an annual basis beginning every spring, the DFW, 

utilizing approved scientific monitoring methods, shall conduct regular 
estimates of the weekly standing stock of menhaden present in the 
management area.  On the basis of those estimates, the DFW shall issue a 
notice when the estimated weekly standing stock reaches a threshold of 
1,500,000 pounds, and the DFW shall open the commercial fishery, at an 
initial possession limit of 120,000 pounds per vessel per calendar day, when 
the estimated weekly standing stock reaches 2,000,000 pounds. If, at any 
time, the stock estimate drops below 1,500,000 pounds, the DFW shall close 
the commercial fishery until further notice. 

 
 (B) Biomass “Ceiling”. When 50% of the estimated weekly standing stock of 

menhaden stock present in the management area, above the minimum 
threshold amount of 1,500,000 pounds, is harvested, the DFW shall close the 
menhaden fishery until further notice. 
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16.2.6 Permanent Closures -- The following areas are permanently closed to 
purse seining for menhaden: 

 
Providence River 
 - All waters north of a straight line running from Rocky Point to Conimicut 

Light to Nayatt Point. 
 
 Greenwich Bay 
 - All waters in Greenwich Bay west of a line from the flag pole on Warwick 

Point to Sandy Point. 
   
16.2.7 [Repealed 4/2011] 
 
16.2.8 Harvest of Menhaden in Permanently Closed Areas – No person 
harvesting menhaden by any fishing method shall possess more than 200 
menhaden per vessel per calendar day in any closed area of the menhaden 
management area as set forth above. 
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, 
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 11th 
day of May, 2012 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise indicated 
below, in accordance with the provisions of Title 20, Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, and 
42-17.7, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the 
Rhode Island General Laws of1956, as amended. 

 
 
 
 

_____________________________________________                                                                 
 Janet L. Coit, Director 
 Department of Environmental Management 
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