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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES

FISH AND WILDLIFE
&
LAW ENFORCEMENT

RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to supplement and simplify and/or
clarify existing regulations in order to more efficiently manage the marine resources
of Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY
These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42.17.1, 42-17.6,
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10 and in accordance with
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended.

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL
20-3-2 through 20-3-6).

APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies.

DEFINITIONS
See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3.

SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and
regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of
Part IV shall be superseded. However, any enforcement action taken by, or
application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules
and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time
the enforcement action was taken, or application filed.
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART IV - SHELLFISH

4.1 Licenses -- Residents are not required to obtain a license provided they do
not exceed the non-commercial (resident's) daily catch limit and provided that
such shellfish shall not be offered for sale. RIMF REGULATION [Penalty - Part 6.6
(RIGL 20-6-9)]

ref (RIGL 20-6-1)

4.1.1 Commercial Licenses - Fees:

(a) A resident older than nineteen (19) years but younger than sixty-five (65) years
shall pay two hundred dollars ($200) for a commercial license to take shellfish.

(b) A resident twenty-three (23) years or younger shall pay fifty dollars ($50) for a
student commercial license to take shellfish under provision of proof of full-time
student status.
(c) Commercial shellfish licenses shall expire on June 30 of each year.
[it is the policy of the Department of Environmental Management to allow a
resident sixty-five (65) years of age and older to be eligible for a commercial
license to take shellfish at no cost]

(RIGL 20-2-20)

4.1.2 Non-resident License - Fee:

(a) Season - Every non-resident over the age of twelve (12) years may obtain a
non-resident, non-commercial annual shellfish license for a fee of two hundred dollars
($200).

(b) 14-day - A non-resident may obtain one non-commercial limited license per
calendar year covering fourteen (14) days including the date of issue, for eleven
dollars ($11).

(c) Landing - A non-resident must obtain a shellfish landing license, for a fee of two
hundred ($200), to land shellfish (surf clams, blue mussels, ocean quahaugs, sea
scallops) harvested outside Rhode Island waters.

(d) Non-resident landowner - A non-resident landowner, as defined in § 20-1-3(a)(3),
who owns residential real estate in Rhode Island assessed for taxation at a valuation
of not less than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) may, with proof of residential
property ownership in the form of a current tax bill from a town or city hall showing that
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the non-resident landowner is current in his or her property tax obligation, obtain an
annual, non-commercial, non-resident shellfish license for a fee of twenty-five dollars
($25).

(RIGL 20-2-22)

4.1.3 Shellfish Dredging License - Fees: A resident of this State shall pay an annual
fee of two hundred dollars ($200) for a license to take quahaugs, mussels, and surf
clams by dredges hauled by power boat. (RIGL 20-2-21)

4.1.4 Scallop License - Fee:

4.1.4-1 Residents are not required to obtain a license, provided they do not
exceed the non-commercial daily catch limit, and provided that such scallops
shall not be offered for sale. RIMF REGULATION [Penalty Part 6.6 (RIGL 20-6-
9, 20-6-13)] ref (RIGL 20-6-1)

4.1.4-2 Commercial scallop license - Commercial: two hundred dollars ($200). The
license is only issued to a resident of this state and shall be valid only for the season
for which it is issued. (RIGL 20-2-25)

4.1.5 Multipurpose License - Fee

(a) Each resident of this state is eligible to obtain a multipurpose commercial
marine license to participate in all commercial marine fisheries licensed subject to
this chapter upon payment of an annual fee of three hundred dollars ($300). (RIGL
20-2-18.1)

(b) Multi-purpose Rhode Island Dealers licenses. This license allows persons to
deal all marine products in the state of Rhode Island, three hundred dollars ($300).

(RIGL 20-2-28.1)

4.1.6 Shellfish Buyer's License - Fee -- The annual fee for a shellfish buyer's license
is two hundred dollars ($200). (RIGL 20-2-23)

(Commercial shellfish licenses shall expire on June 30 of each year)

4.1.7 No person may possess or take shellfish from the waters of the State of
Rhode Island for resale or trade unless:
(a) such person is a legal resident of Rhode Island, and
(b) such person completes and submits an application for a commercial
shellfish license as the Director may require, and
(c) such person while taking or possessing shellfish from Rhdoe Island
waters has on his person a valid, legally obtained, shellfish license
issued by the Department of Environmental Management.
RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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[RIMF REGULATIONS]

4.1.8 The shellfish license shall contain the following information:
(a) first name, middle initial, and last name of licensed shellfisherman,
(b) date of birth of licensed shellfisherman,
(c) signature of licensed shellfisherman, and
(d) state-assigned identification number.
[RIMF REGULATION]

4.1.9 A licensed shellfisherman shall only sell, barter, or trade shellfish taken
from Rhode Island waters to a licensed shellfish dealer or multipurpose dealer.
[RIMF REGULATION ]

4.1.10 A licensed shellfisherman shall not sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer
shellfish taken from Rhode Island waters to a licensed shellfish or multipurpose
dealer without first presenting said dealer, a valid shellfish license issued by the
Department of Environmental Management. [ RIMF REGULATION ]

4.2 Night Shellfishing Prohibited -- Penalty for Taking Shellfish at Night. -- Notwithstand-
ing the provisions of any general or public law to the contrary, any person who takes
any oysters, clams, quahaugs, scallops, or mussels from any of the waters of this state
during the hours between sundown and sunrise shall, upon conviction, be punished by
a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment not exceeding
three (3) years or by both; and any boat, dredges, rakes, or other equipment used in
this violation shall be forfeited to the State. (RIGL 20-6-23)

4.3 Statewide Catch Limits -- (Daily Take)
Quahaugs, Soft-shelled Clams, Sea Clams, Bay Scallops, Mussels, and Oysters
Except in Management Areas

4.3.1 Resident Limit - No License Required. -- Unless otherwise specified in regula-
tions adopted by the Marine Fisheries Council, any resident of this State may without
a license, take in any one (1) day during the open season, if applicable, not more than
one half (1/2) bushel each of quahaugs, soft-shelled clams, sea clams, oysters, and
mussels, and not more than one (1) bushel of scallops; provided that those quahaugs,
soft-shelled clams, sea clams, oysters, mussels, or scallops shall not be sold or
offered for sale.

(RIGL 20-6-1) [Penalty - Part 4.7; (RIGL 20-6-9)]

4.3.2 Commercial Limit - License Required. -- Unless otherwise specified by regula-
tion of the Marine Fisheries Council, a holder of a commercial shellfishing license may
take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up to twelve (12) bushels of [bay] quahaugs,
twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three (3) bushels of oysters. RIGL
20-6-10(a). Commercially licensed persons may take and/or possess up to 200
bushels of surf clams, or 26 cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs, in any one

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
Part IV — Shellfish
Page 6 of 25



day (midnight to midnight) (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3, Part 4.4;
RIGL (20-3-3)]

4.3.3 Non-resident Limit - Licensed Individuals Only. -- A holder of a non-resident
shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not more than one (1) peck each of
oysters, quahaugs, soft-shelled clams, surf clams, or mussels. Any person taking
more than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon conviction, one
hundred dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the prescribed
guantity or be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both. [RIGL 20-6-10(b)]

4.4 Allowance of Shellfish Taking Under License. --

(&) Unless otherwise specified by regulation of the Marine Fisheries Council, a holder
of a commercial shellfishing license may take and/or possess, in any one (1) day, up
to twelve (12) bushels of quahaugs, twelve (12) bushels of soft-shell clams, and three
(3) bushels of oysters. Commercially licensed persons may take up to 200
bushels of surf clams in one day. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3, Part
4.4; RIGL (20-3-3)]

(b) A holder of a non-resident shellfishing license may take in any one (1) day not
more than one (1) peck each of oysters, quahaugs, soft-shell clams, or mussels. Any
person taking more than these allowances in any one (1) day shall be fined upon con-
viction one hundred dollars ($100) for each bushel or part of a bushel exceeding the
prescribed quantity or be imprisoned for not exceeding thirty days, or both.

(RIGL 20-6-10)

4.5 Method of Harvest. -- No person shall take any oysters, bay quahaugs, or
soft-shelled clams from the waters of this State by dredge(s), rakes, or other ap-
paratus operated by mechanical power or hauled by power boats unless
authorized pursuant to Section 10.3.1.

RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.6 Soft-shelled Clams -- Method of Taking. -- No person, either as principal, agent, or
employee, shall dig or take by any method other than by forks, rakes, hoes, tongs, or
any other device operated by hand, from any of the waters of this State, any soft-shelled
clam. Any violation of the provisions of this Section shall be punishable by a fine of not
less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than fifty dollars ($50). (RIGL 20-6-15)

4.7 Penalty for Exceeding Allowance Without License. -- Every person who shall take in
any one (1) day more than one half (1/2) bushel each of oysters, bay quahaugs,
soft-shelled clams, surf clams, or mussels from the free and common fisheries of this
state, without a license, shall be fined, upon conviction, not exceeding fifty dollars ($50)
and costs for each one half (1/2) bushel or fraction thereof above the stated limits or be
imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days, or both. (RIGL 20-6-9)
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4.8 Shellfish Management Areas - Catch Limits for Quahaugs, Soft-shelled Clams,
Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters. — Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Area,
Potter Pond, Pt. Judith Pond, Ninigret (Charlestown) Pond, Quonochontaug Pond,
Winnapaug (Brightman) Pond, Potowomut, Greenwich Bay, Mill Gut, Kickemuit
River, Bissel Cove, High Banks, Sakonnet River, and Jenny’s Creek have been
declared special Shellfish Management Areas. Each of the above referenced
areas shall continue to enjoy the designation as a Shellfish Management

Area unless modified by the Director.

No person may possess more than the maximum shellfish management area
daily catch limit while in a management area. The following daily catch limits
have been established for the Management Areas listed above:

Ouahaugs, Soft-shelled Clams, Sea Clams, Mussels, and Oysters®
Maximum Daily Take by

BOAT HARVEST
R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person

3 bu each/day/license holder

maximum of 6 bushels each/boat/day; and
maximum of two licensed shellfishers per
boat

Commercial (in season)

Licensed Non-Resident (no sale) | ¥2 peck each/day/license holder

* Qyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.

(Note: The harvest and possession of oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2013. See section
4.12.3. The harvest and possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section
4.12.6)

SHORE DIGGING
This maximum daily catch limit for shoredigging of soft shell clams, bay
guahaugs, mussels, and oysters [in season] is:

R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person

Commercial (in season) 3 bu each/day/license holder

Licensed Non-Resident (no sale) | ¥2 peck each/day/license holder

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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* Qyster season is open from September 15 to May 15 annually.

(Note: The harvest of possession oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2013. See section
4.12.3. The harvest and possession of oysters in Bissel Cove/Fox Island is
prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2015. See section
4.12.6)

Daily catch limits apply to all Management Areas unless otherwise specified.
The use of diving apparatus is prohibited while shoredigging.

(RIME REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-30)]

4.8.1 Tagging/Labeling Requirements — All shellfish taken by licensed
commercial fishers of shellfish from Shellfish Management Areas must be in a
container which is tagged and labeled with the fisher’'s name, license number,
date, and management area from which shellfish was removed prior to any of
the following:

- leaving the waters of the management area which has been approved for
the harvest of shellfish by the Rhode Island Department of Environmental
Management.

- shellfish are removed from the boat; or

- shellfish are offered for sale.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.9 Temporary Shellfish Limit -- The Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council may
establish areduced shellfish limit in any Marine Life Management Area for a
period not to exceed sixty (60) days. The following reduced limit shall apply in
any area so designated:

Quahaugs, Soft-shelled Clams, Sea Clams, and Oysters
Reduced Maximum Daily Take for Marine Life Management Areas

R.l. Resident (no sale) 1 peck each/day/person
Commercial 1 bu each/day/license holder
Licensed Non-Resident (no sale) % peck each/day/license holder

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7 (RIGL 20-6-9 or 20-6-10)]

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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4.10 Greenwich Bay Shellfish Management Area

4.10.1 The conditionally approved waters of Greenwich Bay are established as
a Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as west of a line between the
flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy Point on the
Potowomut Shore.

4.10.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.10.3 RECREATIONAL SHORE DIGGING: will be permitted between sunrise
and sunset daily.

COMMERCIAL HARVEST:

4.10.4 Greenwich Bay Sub-Areas 1 and 2

The areas shall be subject to an annual December harvest schedule established
by the Director, pursuant to recommendations developed by the Division of Fish
and Wildlife and the Marine Fisheries Council. Said recommendations shall be
submitted to the Director at least sixty (60) days prior to the first scheduled
opening. The December schedule may include up to forty-eight (48) hours of
permitted shellfishing, spread over any number of days during the month,
excepting December 25.

If weather or water quality conditions during the month of December prevent the
area from opening on two or more scheduled days, the Division of Fish and
Wildlife may modify the December schedule to allow for additional hours or days
of permitted shellfishing, provided:

1. the proposed modification(s) is/are submitted in writing to the Division
of Fish and Wildlife by a member of the Marine Fisheries Council,
appointed by the Marine Fisheries Council, who shall represent the
interests of the commercial shellfishing industry, including harvesters
and dealers, regarding the proposed modification(s);

2. thetotal number of hours of permitted shellfishing for the month does
not exceed forty-eight (48) hours; and

3. there-scheduled hours or days are announced publicly by the Division
of Fish and Wildlife with at least seventy-two (72) hours of advance
notice.

(a.) GB Sub-Area 1 — Described as the waters east of a line between the Rhode
Island Department of Environmental Management range marker located at the end
of Neptune Street in Chepiwanoxet to the Rhode Island Department of

RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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Environmental Management range maker located on Cedar Tree Point, Warwick,
and north of aline between the far northeastern section of Chepiwanoxet Point
and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods.

For December 2010, commercial shellfishing will be permitted in GB Sub-
Area 1 only between 8:00 A.M. and 10:00 A.M. on:

Wednesday, December 15; Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20; Tuesday, December 21; Wednesday, December 22
Monday, December 27; Tuesday, December 28; Wednesday, December 29

For the period of January 3, 2011 to March 30, 2011, commercial
shellfishing will be permitted in GB Sub-Area 1 only on the following days and
time periods:

January 2011 — Mondays and Wednesdays, 2 hours per day, (8:00 A.M. to
10:00 A.M.)

February 2011 — Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, 3 hours per day, (8:00
A.M. to 11:00 A.M.)

March 2011 — Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, 3 hours per day, (8:00
A.M.to 11:00 A.M.)

Closed to harvest from April 1, 2011 until the second Wednesday of
December 2011.

(b) GB Sub-Area 2 — Described as the waters west of a line between Sally Rock
Point and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods; and
south of a line between the far northeastern section of Chepiwanoxet Point and
the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods

For the period of December 2010 until the second Wednesday of December 2011,
GB Sub-Area 2 is closed to harvest.

(c) Default harvest schedules for GB Sub-Areas 1 & 2 — If no action is taken to
establish specific harvest schedules and/or closures for the December 2011 —
April 2012 harvest season, or harvest seasons subsequent thereto, the sub-areas
shall revert to the following default harvest schedule:

Commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 10:00
A.M. on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

(d.) GB Area 3 — Described as the waters east of a line between Sally Rock Point
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and the westernmost flagpole on Promenade Street, Old Buttonwoods, and west
of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club and the end of Sandy
Point on the Potowomut Shore.

GB Sub-Area 3 is open to commercial shellfishing between sunrise and sunset
daily on an annual basis.

4.11 Sakonnet River Shellfish Management Area The following special regula-
tions apply in the Management Area: In the Sakonnet River Shellfish Management
Area, the daily take for licensed dredge boats will be limited to 200 bushels of
surf clams. A by-catch of bay quahaugs will be permitted. It shall be calculated
at the rate of one bushel of bay quahaugs for each ten (10) bushels of surf clams
in possession of the harvester. Total by-catch of bay quahaugs shall not exceed
twelve (12) bushels per vessel. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL
20-3-3)]

4.12 Shellfish Management Areas Closed to Shellfishing (also see: Areas Closed
Due to Pollution).

4.12.1 Mill Gut

4.12.1-1 Mill Gut in Bristol is closed in its entirety until further notice, with the
exception that between sunrise the second Wednesday in December and
sunset, April 30 annually the area will be open for the harvesting of quahaugs,
soft-shelled clams, mussels, and oysters in accordance with the catch limits
set forth in section 4.8.

4.12.2 Winnapaug (Brightman) Pond

4.12.2-1 The following area in Winnapaug Pond will be closed to all
shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: the area
north of a line running easterly from a special DEM marker at Big Rock Point
(N 41 degrees 19 minutes 49.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 57.0
seconds), to the special DEM marker at the southern end of Larkin's Island (N
41 degrees 19 minutes 55.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47 minutes 5.0 seconds),.
The area will be bordered on the east by a line running northwesterly the
Larkin's Island special marker to a special DEM marker adjacent to the end of
Bayside Avenue (N 41 degrees 19 minutes 58.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 47
minutes 9.0 seconds). The northern boundary is the shoreline between the
Bayside Ave special DEM marker and the Big Rock Point special DEM marker.

4.12.3 Quonochontaug Pond

4.12.3-1 The harvest and possession of oysters in Quonochontaug Pond is
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prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September 15, 2013 (for three years).

4.12.3-2 The following areas in Quonochontaug Pond will be closed to all
shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only:

(a) The western closure area is defined as south of a line running easterly
from the special DEM marker at the end of Quahaug Point (N 41 degrees 20
minutes 0.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 39.5 seconds), to a second
special DEM marker at the northern end of Nope’s Island (N 41 degrees 20
minutes 5.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 1.0 second). The area will be
bordered on the west by a line running south from Quahaug Point to a
special DEM marker located on the barrier beach shoreline (N 41 degrees 19
minutes 51.5 seconds, W 71 degrees 44 minutes 40.0 seconds). The
southern boundary will be the shoreline between the barrier beach special
DEM marker and Nope’s Island special DEM marker.

(b) The eastern closure area is defined as east of a line running southerly
from the special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 21 minutes 1.1
seconds W 71 degrees 42 minutes 33.4 seconds, to a second special DEM
marker located at N 41 degrees 20 minutes 41.0 seconds W 71 degrees 42
minutes 44.1 seconds; and bound by the eastern pond shoreline between
the special DEM markers.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.12.4 Ninigret Pond

4.12.4-1 The following area within Ninigret Pond in Charlestown will be closed to
all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: all waters
within an area formed by the following points: from (“A” N 41 degrees 20
minutes 41.7 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 24.3 seconds, the northeast
corner of the Ninigret Conservation Area parking lot) following the shoreline to
(“B” N 41 degrees 20 minutes 49.6 seconds W 71 degrees 41 minutes 4.6
seconds, a DEM sign approximately 500 meters eastward of “A”); from “B”
northward to (“C” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 31.0 seconds W 71 degrees 41
minutes 22.2 seconds, the Lavin’s Landing Marina launching ramp); from “C”
following the shoreline to (“D” N 41 degrees 21 minutes 10.1 seconds W 71
degrees 41 minutes 40.9 seconds, a DEM signh on the westernmost end of Reeds
Point); from “D” southward to “A”.

4.12.5 Potter Pond

4.12.5-1 The following area within Potter Pond in South Kingstown will be closed
to all shellfishing except for the harvest of bay scallops by dip net only: An area
within Sycamore Cove defined as north of a line running easterly from a special
RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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DEM marker located at N 41 degrees 23 minutes 2.0 seconds, W 71 degrees 32
minutes 13.0 seconds; to a second special DEM marker located at N 41 degrees
23 minutes 1.0 second, W 71 degrees 31 minutes 59.5 seconds; and bound by
the northern pond shoreline between the special DEM markers.

4.12.6 Bissel Cove/Fox Island Oyster Harvest Moratorium —

4.12.6-1 The harvest and possession of oysters in the Bissel Cove/Fox Island
Shellfish Management Areais prohibited from September 15, 2010 to September
15, 2015 (for five years).

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 4.4 or 4.7; (RIGL 20-6-9 or 20-6-10)]
4.13 (Rescinded 8/2010)

4.14 Transfer of Shellfish from Uncertified Waters. -- The Director of Environmental
Management is authorized and directed, after requiring all necessary safeguards, to
transfer shellfish from uncertified waters of the State to approved areas. The Director
may make rules and regulations governing the reharvest of those shellfish to the best
economical benefit of the state after all necessary safeguards to insure their cleanli-
ness. (RIGL 20-6-26) [Penalty - Part 4.17; RIGL 20-6-29]

4.15 Dredging, Raking, and Tonging in Transplant Beds. -- Those areas to which the
shellfish are transferred shall be marked out, and dredging, raking, or tonging on them
shall be prohibited except under the special direction of the Director. (RIGL 20-6-27)
[Penalty - Part 4.17; 20-6-29]

4.16 Cost of Transfer of Shellfish -- For the transfer of shellfish pursuant to § 20-6-26,
the Director is authorized to hire dredge boats or hand rakers and to set the rate of
payment. Any transferred shellfish may be sold by the Director, and the proceeds of
that sale shall be retained under the control of the Director for the purpose of assisting
in the cost of the transfer of shellfish from uncertified waters to approved areas from
time to time as the transfer becomes necessary or expedient. (RIGL 20-6-28) [Penalty -
Part 4.17; (20-6-29)]

4.17 Penalty for Improper Taking of Transferred Shellfish -- Any person violating rules
or regulations promulgated by the Director of Environmental Management as provided
for in Sections 20-6-26 to 20-6-28, shall, upon conviction, be subject to a fine not ex-
ceeding five hundred dollars ($500) or imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days or
both. (RIGL 20-6-29)

4.18 Shellfish Grounds - Polluted Area. -- For a discussion of the statutes and penalty
provisions governing shellfishing in polluted areas, refer to Chapter 20-8-1, as
amended, of the Rhode Island General Laws.
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4.19 [Repealed 11/20/02]

4.20 Surf Clams and Ocean Quahaugs.

4.20.1 Gear Restrictions The following gear restrictions shall apply to vessels
fishing in the territorial waters of Rhode Island for surf clams:

4.20.1-1 It is unlawful for any vessel to operate with any hydraulic dredge with
a blade, knife, or manifold which is greater than 48 inches in maximum width.
4.20.1-2 It is unlawful for any vessel to operate more than one dredge while
harvesting surf clams.

4.20.2 Trip Limits The following limits shall apply to vessels fishing in the terri-
torial waters of Rhode Island:

4.20.2-1 It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than
200 bushels of surf clams per vessel.

4.20.2-2 Except as allowed in Part 6.8.3, it is unlawful for any vessel to catch,
harvest, possess, have on board, land, or off load, any surf clams which are
less than 5 inches in the longest shell diameter.

4.20.2-3 Vessels properly licensed to do so may land surf clams and ocean
guahaugs legally taken outside the territorial waters of Rhode Island in excess
of the trip limit established by Part 4.20.2-1, provided that no vessel engaged
in fishing for surf clams or ocean quahaugs within territorial waters may
possess or have on board more than the prescribed limit.

4.20.2-4 It is unlawful for any dredge vessel to take and/or possess more than
26 cages (832 bushels) of ocean quahaugs.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

MINIMUM SIZES FOR SHELLFISH

4.21 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shelled Clams, Mussels --

No person shall take or have in his custody or possession quahaugs of less than
oneinch (1") shell thickness (hinge width). For purposes of this regulation, hinge
width is defined as the distance between the convex apex of the right shell and
convex apex of the left shell. ref (20-6-11) (RIMF REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part
3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

(a) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1) shell
thickness (hinge width). In addition, no person shall take and/or possess soft shell
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clams, taken from the free and common soft shell clam fisheries, of a diameter less than
two inches (2”) taking the maximum shell diameter, or any oysters, taken from the free
and common oyster fisheries, measuring less than three inches (3") measured parallel
to the long axis of the oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are established by the
director, in consultation with the marine fisheries council. Any person who takes and/or
possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size, as delineated above, upon
conviction, shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than fifty dollars
($50.00) for each and every fifteen (15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any person who
takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size commingled and/or
otherwise stored or contained with shellfish of not less than the minimum size, where
the percentage of the less than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten percent
(10%) of the total piece count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained
package, shipment, or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture of the
entire commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or
container, in accordance with the provisions of 88 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1.

Oysters - Minimum Size -- Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis of
the oyster. ref (20-6-11) (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

Sea Clams (Surf Clams) Minimum Size -- Five (5) inches measured parallel to the
long axis of the clam. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops -- Every person taking any seed
scallops, and who fails to restore them as soon as possible to their natural beds in the
water from which taken, shall be fined not less than twenty dollars ($20) nor more than
one hundred dollars ($100), or be imprisoned not exceeding thirty (30) days, or both, for
each offense. For the purpose of this Chapter, a "seed scallop” means a scallop with a
bright, thin, slightly curved shell with no foreign adherent, the shell having no well-
defined raised annual growth line, and the scallop being less than one (1) year old.
(RIGL 20-6-17)

4.22 Bristol Harbor Shellfish Transplant Area

4.22.1 The waters of Bristol Harbor described below are designated as a
Shellfish Management Area. This area is defined as that area of Bristol Harbor
southerly of aline between Johnson's Dock (so-called) on the west side of
Bristol Harbor and the northwest corner of the Coast Guard Dock, on the east
side of Bristol Harbor, and north of aline between Rockwell's Dock (so-called)
on the west side of Bristol Harbor, and the northwest corner of the Coast Guard
Dock. The area is bordered on the west by the three (3) foot contour line along
the shore between Rockwell's Dock and Johnson's Dock and on the east by the
existing pollution line.

4.22.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
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D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.22.1-2 Recreational Shore Digging -- Recreational shore digging will be
permitted daily between sunrise and sunset.

4.22.2 Commercial Harvest

(a) For December 2010, commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 NOON on:

Wednesday, December 15; Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20; Tuesday, December 21; Wednesday, December 22
Monday, December 27; Tuesday, December 28; Wednesday, December 29

(b) For the period of January 3, 2011 to April 30, 2011, commercial shellfishing
will only be permitted on the following days and time periods:

January 2011 — Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 8:00 A.M. to 12:00
Noon.

February — April 2011 — Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and
Fridays from sunrise to 12:00 Noon.

(c) The area is closed to all commercial shellfishing from May through November,
annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the annually
established December schedule.

(d) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December 2011 — April 2012 harvest season, or harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default harvest
schedule:

Commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00
Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

4.23 Opening Shellfish on Water -- No person shall possess the meats of more than six
(6) shellfish while shellfishing on the waters of the State or throw the shells of open scal-
lops onto the scallop beds. (RIGL 20-6-21) [Penalty - Part 6.6; (RIGL 20-6-13)]

4.24 Bissel Cove - Fox Island Transplant Area

4.24.1 Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters of Narragansett Bay, North
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Kingstown, including the entirety of Bissel Cove and the adjacent waters south
of aline between pole #275 at the corner of Waldron and Seaview Avenues and
the southwestern most point of Fox Island (south of the cable area); west of a
line from the southwestern most point of Fox Island to the northern most point
of Rome Point is established as a Shellfish Management Area.

4.24.1-1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the
D.E.M. Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations.
Regulations by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations
below.

4.24.2 Recreational Shore Digging -- Recreational shore digging will be
permitted daily between sunrise and sunset.

4.24.3 Commercial Harvest

(a) For December 2010, commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 Noon on:

Wednesday, December 15; Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20; Tuesday, December 21; Wednesday, December 22
Monday, December 27; Tuesday, December 28; Wednesday, December 29

(b) For the period of January 3, 2011 to April 30, 2011, commercial shellfishing
will be permitted only on the following days and time periods:

January 2011 — Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 8:00 A.M. to 12:00
Noon.

February - April 2011 — Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and
Fridays from sunrise to 12:00 Noon.

(c) The area is closed to all commercial shellfishing from May through
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the
annually established December schedule.

(d) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December 2011 — April 2012 harvest season, or harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default
harvest schedule:

Commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00
Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.
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4.24 Repealed 12/01

4.25 Kickemuit River Shellfish Management Area Requlations

4.26.1 The area is defined as follows: The marine waters of the Kickemuit are
those north of a line connecting nun buoy 6 and can buoy 1 at Bristol Narrows.

4.26.2 Upon certification of water quality by the D.E.M. Office of Water
Resources, shellfishing will be permitted throughout the area between sunrise
to sunset daily. When the waters are certified for shellfishing by the D.E.M. -
Office of Water Resources shore digging will be permitted when the area is
open (in season).

4.26.3 Repealed 12/01
4.26.4 Repealed 2/18/01

4.26.5 Water quality certification will determine whether or not shellfishing is
allowed in these areas. Regulations established by the D.E.M. Office of Water
Resources shall supersede these regulations.

(RIMF REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

4.27 Potowomut Shellfish Management Area

4.27.1 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the D.E.M.
Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations. Regulations
by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below.

4.27.2 RECREATIONAL SHORE DIGGING: is permitted within this entire area
between sunrise and sunset daily year around.

4.27.3 COMMERCIAL HARVEST:
The Potowomut Shellfish Management Area is divided into the following three
areas pertaining to boat harvesting:

Area A is defined as the area west of a line between the seaward end of Sandy
Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of aline between the seaward end
of Pojac Point to buoy "G1" (Round Rock). Area A is closed to commercial
shellfishing except as follows:

Beginning on the second Wednesday of December, commercial shellfishing will
be permitted only between 8:00 AM and Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays and
Fridays until April 30, annually.

Provided, however, that for December 2010, commercial shellfishing will be
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permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00 Noon on:

Wednesday, December 15; Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20; Tuesday, December 21; Wednesday, December 22
Monday, December 27; Tuesday, December 28; Wednesday, December 29

And further provided that the area will be closed every December 25, and
January 1.

Area B is defined as the triangular area east of a line between the seaward end of
Sandy Point and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and west of a line between the flagpole
at the Warwick Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and south of aline
between the flagpole at the Warwick Country Club to the seaward end of Sandy
Point. Area B is closed to both recreational and commercial shellfishing until
further notice.

Area C is defined as the area east of a line between the flagpole at the Warwick
Country Club and buoy “G1” (Round Rock) and north of aline from buoy "G1"
(Round Rock) to the Warwick Lighthouse. Area Cis open to shellfishing daily
between sunrise and sunset year-round.

4.28 "High Banks" Shellfish Management Area

4.28.1 The waters of High Banks are established as a Shellfish Management Area.
This area is defined as the waters of the upper west passage south of aline
between the seaward end of Pojac Point to the Round Rock buoy "G1" and north
of aline from the seaward end of the fence between the former Davisville Navy
property and Pettee Street in the Mount View section of North Kingstown to "N6"
buoy located mid-bay west of Prudence Island. The area is bounded on the east
by a line projecting from the easternmost end of Pier 2 at Davisville to the Round
Rock buoy "G1" and is bounded to the west by the shore.

4.28.2 Shellfish harvesting will be allowed only when declared open by the D.E.M.
Office of Water Resources based upon water quality considerations. Regulations
by the Office of Water Resources shall supersede the regulations below.

4.28.3 RECREATIONAL SHORE DIGGING: is permitted between sunrise and
sunset daily.

4.28.4 COMMERCIAL HARVESTING:

(a) For December 2010, commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between
8:00 A.M. and 12:00 Noon on:
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Wednesday, December 15; Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20; Tuesday, December 21; Wednesday, December 22
Monday, December 27; Tuesday, December 28; Wednesday, December 29

(b) For the period of January 3, 2011 to April 30, 2011, commercial shellfishing
will be permitted only on the following days and time periods:

January 2011 — Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 8:00 A.M. to 12:00
Noon.

February — April 2011 — Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, and
Fridays from sunrise to 12:00 Noon.

(c) The area is closed to all commercial shellfishing from May through
November, annually, and will reopen every December in accordance with the
annually established December schedule.

(d) Default harvest schedule — If no action is taken to establish specific harvest
schedules for the December 2011 — April 2012 harvest season, or harvest
seasons subsequent thereto, the area shall revert to the following default harvest
schedule:

Commercial shellfishing will be permitted only between 8:00 A.M. and 12:00
Noon on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, beginning on the second
Wednesday of December and continuing through the end of April.

4.29 Jenny’s Creek Shellfish Management Area: The entire area is closed to all
shellfishing until further notice. (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.03
(RIGL 20-3-3)].

4.30 Handling of Shellfish

4.30.1 - Commercial shellfish harvesters and shellfish aquaculturists shall
conduct all activities and operations involving or relating to the possession
and handling of shell stock so as to prevent contamination, deterioration and
decomposition of such shell stock.

4.30.2 - Containers used for storing shell stock must be clean

4.30.3 - Boat decks and storage bins used in the harvest or transport of shell
stock shall be kept clean with potable water or water from the growing area in
approved classification or the open status of conditional areas.

4.30.4 - Shellfishermen or aguaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall assure that said vessel is properly constructed,
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operated and maintained to prevent contamination, deterioration and
decomposition of shell stock.

4.30.5 - Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall prevent bilge water from coming into contact with
shell stock.

4.30.6 - Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a boat to harvest and transport
shell stock shall provide such vessel with effective drainage to avoid contact
between bilge water and shell stock.

4.30.7 - Shellfishermen or aquaculturists using a vessel to harvest and
transport shell stock shall locate bilge pumps so that discharge shall not
contaminate shell stock.

4.30.8 - Shell stock shall be washed reasonably free of bottom sediments as
soon after harvesting as possible. The harvester shall be primarily
responsible for washing shell stock. If shell stock washing is not feasible at
the time of harvest, the dealer shall assume this responsibility. Water used for
washing shall be from a potable water source, or growing area in the approved
classification or open status of the conditionally approved classification.

4.30.9 - The discharge of human sewage from a vessel used in the harvesting
of shell stock, or from vessels that buy shell stock, within waters of the state
is prohibited. (ref. RIGL § 46-12-39).

(RIMF REGULATION)

4.31 -- Tagging of Shellfish

4.31.1 - Commercial shellfishermen must place any and all shellfish taken by
them (except those shellfish returned to the waters of the harvest area) into
containers, and must tag each and every container with a “harvester tag”
conforming to the requirements of section 4.31.2 below, prior to the following:

4.31.1-1 - the fisherman leaves the approved waters of the harvest area
(identified on the RI Shellfish Harvest Area tagging map, shellfish
management area or the aquaculture site identified by the CRMC Assent
number) in which the shellfish were taken;

4.31.1-2 the shellfish are removed from the boat; or

4.31.1-2 offered for sale.

4.31.2 - The harvester tag shall be durable, waterproof, and sanctioned by the
R.l. Department of Health. The tag shall contain the following indelible, legible
information in the order specified below:
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4.31.2-1 harvester’s identification number as assighed by R.I.D.E.M,;

4.31.2-2 date of harvest;

4.31.2-3 the harvest location as identified on the R.I. Shellfish Harvest
Areatagging map, shellfish management area or aquaculture
site identified by the CRMC Assent number;

4.31.2-4 type (species) of shellfish; and

4.31.2-5 approximate quantity of shellfish

4.31.3 - Each tag shall also carry the following statement in bold capitalized
type “THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS
EMPTY OR IS RETAGGED AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS”

4.31.4 Commercial shellfishermen shall not place shell stock harvested
from more than one growing area into the same container. When the
harvester is also a dealer, the harvester has the option to tag the shell stock
with a harvester tag or a dealer’s tag meeting the requirements of the R.I.
Department of Health regulations.

4.31.5 Bulk tagging of shell stock will be permitted only with prior approval
of the R.I.D.E.M. Director under the following criteria:

4.31.5-1 when shell stock are harvested from one harvest areaon a
single day, multiple containers may be utilized on a wrapped
pallet, in a tote, in a net brailer, or other container and the unit
tagged with a single tag; and

4.31.5-2 a statement that all shell stock containers in this lot have the
same harvest data and area of harvest; and

4.31.5-3 number of containers in the unit.

(RIMF REGULATION)

4.32 -- Temperature control of shellfish

4.32.1 - Shellfish harvesters shall not allow shell stock to deteriorate or
decompose from exposure to excessive temperature and shall deliver shell
stock to a licensed dealer before such deterioration or decomposition
occurs.

4.32.2 - The maximum allowable time between the harvest of shell stock and
delivery to a dealer shall be twenty hours. Possession of shell stock in
excess of 20 hours is prohibited.

4.32.3 - Ocean quahaugs (Arctica islandica) and surf clams (Spisula
soliddisma) are exempt from the aforementioned temperature control
regquirements.

(RIMF REGULATION)
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4.33 Denial, Suspension, or Revocation of License

4.33.1 - In addition of other penalties provided by law or other rule or
regulation, any licensed shellfisherman who violates the provision of R.I.G.L.
8§ 20-6-24, or these rules, or an order issued by the Director shall be subject
to suspension, revocation or denial of his license in accordance with R.I.G.L.
8§ 20-2-13 and 42-17.1-2(s).

4.33.2 — Penalties
4.33.2-1 First violation, up to six (6) months suspension of license.
4.33.2-2 Second violation, revocation of license.

4.33.3 - The Department of Environmental Management may deny renewal of

shellfisherman license for violation of the provisions of R.1.G.L. § 20-6-24,

these rules or any order issued by the Director during a prior license period.
(RIMF REGULATION)

4.34 Severability -- If any section or provision of these rules and regulations is
held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining sections of
provisions of these rules and regulations shall not be affected thereby.

(RIMF REGULATION)

4.35 Conch

4.35.1 Commercial Harvest

4.35.1-1 Legal Minimum Size —

(a) No person fishing commercially shall take, possess, sell, possess for
sale, or offer for sale any conch measuring less than 2-1/2 inches in
diameter and/or a length not less than 4-1/2 inches. (RIMF REGULATION)
[Penalty - Part 3.3; RIGL§ 20-1-16]

4.35.2 Recreational Harvest

4.35.2-1 Legal Minimum Size — No person shall take or possess any conch
measuring less than 2-1/2 inches in diameter and/or either a length not less
than 4-1/2 inches. RIGL (RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3, RIGL §20-
1-16]
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations,
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 24th
day of November, 2010 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise
indicated, in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2
through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10, 42-35, 42-17.1, 42-17.6 of the General Laws of
Rhode Island of 1956, as amended.

W. Michael Sullivan, PhD
Director, Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: N/A
Public Hearing: N/A
Filing Date: 11/24/2010
Effective date: 12/14/2010
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