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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES

FISH AND WILDLIFE &
LAW ENFORCEMENT

RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to manage the marine resources of
Rhode Island.

AUTHORITY
These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42.17.1, 42-17.6,
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10 and in accordance with
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the General Laws of 1956, as
amended.

ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS
Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL
20-3-2 through 20-3-6).

APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies.

DEFINITIONS
See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3.

SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and
regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part
VII shall be superseded. However, any enforcement action taken by, or application
submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules and
Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time the
enforcement action was taken, or application filed.
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART VII - MINIMUM SIZES OF FISH/SHELLFISH

7.1 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shelled Clams, Mussels --

No person shall take or have in his custody or possession quahaugs of less than
oneinch (1") shell thickness (hinge width). For purposes of this regulation, hinge
width is defined as the distance between the convex apex of the right shell and
convex apex of the left shell. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part
3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

(a) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1") shell
thickness (hinge width). In addition, no person shall take and/or possess soft shell
clams, taken from the free and common soft shell clam fisheries, of a diameter less than
one and one half inches (1 1/2") taking the maximum shell diameter, or any oysters,
taken from the free and common oyster fisheries, measuring less than three inches (3")
measured parallel to the long axis of the oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are
established by the director, in consultation with the marine fisheries council. Any person
who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size, as delineated
above, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than
fifty dollars ($50.00) for each and every fifteen (15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any
person who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size commingled
and/or otherwise stored or contained with shellfish of not less than the minimum size,
where the percentage of the less than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten
percent (10%) of the total piece count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or
contained package, shipment, or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture
of the entire commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or
container, in accordance with the provisions of 88 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1. (RIGL
20-6-11)

7.2 Qysters -- Minimum Size: Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis
of the oyster. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.3 Sea Clams (Surf Clams) -- Minimum Size: Five (5) inches measured parallel to the
longest axis of the clam. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.4 Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops -- Every person taking any
seed scallops, and failing to restore them as soon as possible to their natural beds in
the water from which taken, shall be fined not less than twenty dollars ($20) nor more
than one hundred dollars ($100) or be imprisoned exceeding thirty (30) days, or both,
for each offense. For the purpose of this Chapter, a "seed scallop” means a scallop
with a bright, thin, slightly curved shell with no foreign adherent, the shell having no
well-defined raised annual growth line, and the scallop being less than one (1) year old.
(RIGL 20-6-17)

7.5 Striped Bass -- Except as provided for in 12.3 and 12.5 no person, firm, or
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corporation shall possess any striped bass measuring less than twenty-eight (28)
inches total length, whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or other-
wise. (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 12.2; (RIGL 20-4-11)]

7.6 Minimum sizes, other species -- Except as specifically noted, no person shall
possess or take any of the following species which are less than the following
minimum size

AMERICAN PLAICE (DAB): Commercial and Recreational 14"

ATLANTIC STURGEON: Commercial and Recreational - no possession

EEL: Commercial and Recreational - 6"

HADDOCK: Commercial and Recreational - 19"

POLLOCK: Commercial and Recreational - 19"

SCUP: Commercial - 9" and Recreational -10 1/2". Floating trap fishermen may
possess undersize scup provided they are not sold, bartered, traded, and
exchanged, but following culling, are taken to sea and released back into the
water.

WEAKFISH (SQUETEAGUE): Commercial and Recreational 16"

WITCH FLOUNDER (GRAY SOLE): Commercial and Recreational 14"

YELLOWTAIL FLOUNDER: Commercial and Recreational 13"

All minimum sizes for the above listed fish shall be measured as total length
(from tip of snout to tip of tail).

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.7 Summer Flounder (Fluke) -- No person commercially licensed under RIGL
Chapters 20-2.1 or 20-4 shall possess or harvest any summer flounder which is
less than fourteen (14) inches total length. A total annual statewide quota for
summer flounder will be established. It shall be the most recent allocation
established for the State by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
(ASMFC) and/or the Secretary of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce and published in the
Federal Register. The quota may be harvested by gear fishermen licensed in
accordance with the provisions of Title 20 of the General Laws and in accordance
with all rules and regulations promulgated by the R.l. Marine Fisheries Council.

In order to provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, and to allow for the
implementation of a one-year research program involving sector allocation, the
State’s summer flounder quota for 2009 will be managed as follows:

a. A portion of the quota will be set aside for research purposes -- namely, a
one-year sector allocation pilot program for 2009, administered in
accordance with the terms and conditions set forth in sub-section 7.7.11
herein; and
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b. The remaining portion of the quota will be made available for harvest by
all fishermen holding valid and applicable commercial fishing licenses
and/or landing permits, and who are not participating in the sector
allocation pilot program, in accordance with the sub-period schedules,
allocations, and possession limits set forth below.

7.7.1 Summer flounder Sub-periods and Possession Limits

7.7.1-1 Winter Sub-Period: January 1 - April 30 annually.

Target allocation - 54% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7,
unless modified pursuant to this part. It shall be unlawful to possess or
land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 100 pounds, or
the poundage as provided in this part, of summer flounder during the
period from January 1 through the Sunday of the first full week in
February. The DFW may adjust the possession limit during the sub-
period based on the current catch rate and advice from fishing industry
representatives and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.

a. Any vessel which possesses a valid federal summer flounder
moratorium permit if harvesting summer flounder from federal
waters and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer
flounder exemption certificate; or, if harvesting exclusively in State
waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a valid license to
harvest or land summer flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode
Island and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer
flounder exemption certificate, may opt to apply to obtain a permit
from the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate landing
program for summer flounder during the Winter | period beginning
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through
the Saturday of the first full week in April or until the program is
terminated as provided in this part. The name of any applicant
vessel deemed to satisfy the requirements for enroliment in the
program shall be maintained on a list to be kept by DEM Division of
Fish and Wildlife and DEM Division of Law Enforcement and is
thereby authorized to land summer flounder in any amount between
0 and 1,000 pounds in any calendar week period so long as the
total landed by that vessel does not exceed 1,000 pounds in any
calendar week period. It shall be unlawful for the cumulative
landings to exceed the weekly trip limit. The calendar week period
shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the following
Saturday at 11:59 PM. On the Sunday of the first full week in April
or when 80% of the Winter | summer flounder quota has been
harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife
(Division), whichever occurs first, the program will terminate and
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the possession limit per vessel shall be 100 pounds per calendar
day. The DFW may adjust the aggregate program possession limit
during the sub-period based on the current catch rate and advice
from fishing industry representatives and the Rhode Island Marine
Fisheries Council.

|CT

. The commercial possession limit of summer flounder for vessels
that are not permitted in the aggregate landing program shall be 100
pounds per calendar day for vessels which possess a valid state of
Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate. On the
Sunday of the first full week in April or when 80% of the Winter |
summer flounder quota has been harvested as determined by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division), whichever occurs first, the
possession limit per vessel shall be 100 pounds per calendar day.

It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that is not
permitted to participate in the aggregate landing program to land
more than the poundage of summer flounder, as specified above, in
Rhode Island during any calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and
ending at 11:59 PM of that same day.

I

The possession limit for vessels which do not possess a Rl
Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate is 100 pounds per day.

|Q_

. An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to
participate in the aggregate landing program for summer flounder
by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement that it satisfies each
of the following criteria:

(1) The vessel if harvesting summer flounder from federal waters
possesses a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit and
possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption
certificate, or, if harvesting exclusively in State waters, the vessel’s
operator possesses a valid license to harvest or land summer
flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode Island and possesses a
valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption certificate;

(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid
multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the State
of Rhode Island to land summer flounder for commercial purposes;
and

(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not been
assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past three years
for a violation of Part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et al. and/or Part
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7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one marine fisheries
violation

e. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of
the following requirements:

(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the participant
enters the program until the end of the Winter | sub period or until
the participant terminates enrollment by providing written notice of
the termination from the program, whichever first occurs. Said
termination shall take effect no earlier than the Saturday following
the receipt of the written notice by the Division.

(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a
permit to participate in the program by downloading the application
from DEMs website, or may obtain one directly from the Division of
Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and Tuesdays, from
8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter | sub period. The
application must be filled out in its entirety and returned to the
Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd Jamestown, RI
02835). The application will be reviewed by the Division of Fish and
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement and upon acceptance,
a permit will be issued to the applicant vessel to take effect the first
Sunday after the permit is received.

(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one aggregate
landing program permit.

(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the aggregate landing
program shall only sell summer flounder to a dealer who is certified
on a list maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife as a
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A
certified SAFIS dealer shall be defined as a dealer who is linked to
the SAFIS reporting system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction
of the Division of Fish and Wildlife its ability to make timely reports
to the requisite governmental entities. A list of certified SAFIS
dealers will be furnished to all permitted fishermen. A certificate
attesting to the dealer’s designation shall be posted through the
Winter | Period at the dealer’s facility.

(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system referenced
in section (4) of this part shall be documented by the Division of Fish
and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement for use in
accounting for the amount of summer flounder landed by a specific
vessel during a calendar week.
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(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request,
including the name and address of the dealer where the summer
flounder were landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back
to January 1° on board the vessel.-

f. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial
fisheries for the subsequent Winter | fishery. If for any reason a
Winter | fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the
owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be
suspended for the same calendar time period as described in the
current Winter | period upon adjudication.

Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the
Rules and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of
Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer,
Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant
to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”.

q. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with
the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the
Winter | period.

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action
RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a
determination to deny an applicant vessel a permit in the aggregate
landing program for summer flounder must file said request in
writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30)
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must
be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
with the time period indicated.

h Any applicant who is permitted for the winter 1 aggregate program as
set forth above will not be allowed to participate in the summer
aggregate program within the same year.

7.7.1-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in
summer flounder may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and
Wildlife that it is qualified to purchase summer flounder from any vessel
which is permitted by the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate
landing program for summer flounder during the Winter | period beginning
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through the
Saturday of the last full week in April or until the program is terminated as
provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from purchasing or otherwise
acquiring summer flounder from a permitted vessel during the above
described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for and
obtained certification as a dealer who is certified on a list maintained by
the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS).

a. An applicant dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the
preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following
criteria:
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(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and
Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire summer
flounder from vessel permitted in the in the aggregate landing
program for summer flounder described in Part 7.7.1-1;

(2) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a
valid, current license to barter or trade in summer flounder;

(3) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite
governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and

b. The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the
Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each
of the following requirements:

(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of
acquisitions of summer flounder to all required governmental
entities employing the SAFIS reporting system.

(2) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its
designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.

(3) Should the dealer be terminated as SAFIS certified dealer, the
dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior
to acquiring any summer flounder from such vessels.

c. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial
fisheries for the subsequent Winter | fishery. If for any reason a
Winter | fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same
calendar time period as described in the current Winter | period
upon adjudication.

Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a
penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer,
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”.

d. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been
RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.l. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7
relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the
remainder of the Winter | period.

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek
an adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode
Island 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the
contested agency enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a
determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a SAFIS
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street,
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of
receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must
be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
with the time period indicated.

7.7.1-2 Summer Sub-Period: May 1 - October 31 annually.

Target allocation — 35% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7,
unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel
will be 100 pounds per calendar day.

Beginning June 1, in each calendar week it will be prohibited to
commercially possess, sell, or land summer flounder during the two-day
period beginning at 12:00 AM on Friday and ending at 11:59 PM on
Saturday.
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a.Beginning June 1 any vessel which possesses a valid federal
summer flounder moratorium permit if harvesting summer flounder
from federal waters and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island
summer flounder exemption certificate; or, if harvesting exclusively
in State waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a valid
license to harvest or land summer flounder for commercial
purposes in Rhode Island and possesses a valid state of Rhode
Island summer flounder exemption certificate, may opt to apply to
obtain a permit from the Division of Fish and Wildlife for the
aggregate landing program for summer flounder during the Summer
sub period until the program is terminated as provided in this part.
The name of any applicant vessel deemed to satisfy the
requirements for enrollment in the program shall be maintained on
a list to be kept by DEM Division of Fish and Wildlife and DEM
Division of Law Enforcement and is thereby authorized to land
summer flounder in any amount between 0 and 350 pounds in any
calendar week period so long as the total landed by that vessel
does not exceed 350 pounds in any calendar week period. It shall
be unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip
limit. The calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM
and ends on the following Thursday at 11:59 PM. When 80% of the
Summer sub period summer flounder quota has been harvested as
determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division) the
program will terminate and the possession limit per vessel shall be
100 pounds per calendar day. The DFW may adjust the aggregate
program possession limit during the sub-period based on the
current catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives
and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.

b.The commercial possession limit of summer flounder for vessels
that are not permitted in the aggregate landing program shall be 100
pounds per calendar day. It shall be unlawful for any person
operating a vessel that is not permitted to participate in the summer
aggregate landing program to land more than the poundage of
summer flounder, as specified above, in Rhode Island during any
calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and ending at 11:59 PM of
that same day.

c. The possession limit for vessels which do not possess a Rl
Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate is 100 pounds per day.

d.An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to
participate in the summer aggregate landing program for summer
flounder by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish
RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations —
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and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement that it satisfies
each of the following criteria:

(1) The vessel if harvesting summer flounder from federal waters
possesses a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit
and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder
exemption certificate, or, if harvesting exclusively in State waters,
the vessel’s operator possesses a valid license to harvest or land
summer flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode Island and
possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder
exemption certificate;

(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a
valid multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by
the State of Rhode Island to land summer flounder for commercial
purposes; and

(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not
been assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past
year for a violation of Part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et al. or
more than one marine fisheries violation

e. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of
the following requirements:

(2) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the
participant enters the program until the end of the Summer sub
period or until the participant terminates enrollment by providing
written notice of the termination from the program, whichever first
occurs. Said termination shall take effect no earlier than the Sunday
following the receipt of the written notice by the Division.

(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining
a permit to participate in the program by downloading the
application from DEMs website, or may obtain one directly from
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and
Tuesdays, from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Summer
sub period. The application must be filled out in its entirety and
returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd
Jamestown, Rl 02835). The application will be reviewed by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement
and upon acceptance, a permit will be issued to the applicant
vessel to take effect the first Sunday after the permit is received.

(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one
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aggregate landing program permit.

(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the aggregate landing
program shall only sell summer flounder to a dealer who is
certified on a list maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife
as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS)
dealer. A certified SAFIS dealer shall be defined as a dealer who
is linked to the SAFIS reporting system and has demonstrated to
the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and Wildlife its ability to
make timely reports to the requisite governmental entities.

(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system
referenced in section (4) of this part shall be documented by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement
for use in accounting for the amount of summer flounder landed
by a specific vessel during a calendar week.

(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the
reporting form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall
be kept in numerical order on board the vessel and furnished
upon request, including the name and address of the dealer
where the summer flounder were landed. The vessel must have all
reports dating back to January 1°' on board the vessel.-

I—h

. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial
fisheries for the subsequent Summer sub period fishery. If for any
reason a Summer sub period fishery does not exist by regulation,
the privilege of the owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially
harvest fish shall be suspended for the same calendar time period
as described in the current Summer sub period upon adjudication.

Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the
Rules and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of
Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer,
Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant
to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”.

g.If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the permit
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agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted vessel shall
be advised of such determination and the specific grounds
therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or by
personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with the
requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior Court
Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the
Summer sub period.

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek
an adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode
Island 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the
contested agency enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a
determination to deny an applicant vessel a permit in the
aggregate landing program for summer flounder must file said
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must
be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
with the time period indicated.

h. Any applicant who was permitted for the winter 1 aggregate
program as set forth above will not be allowed to participate in the
summer aggregate landing program within the same year.

7.7.1-4 Fall Sub-Period: November 1 - December 31 annually.

Target allocation - 11% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7,
unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel
will be 225 pounds per calendar day. Any unused portion of the quota
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from a 'sub-period’ will be equally distributed to the allocations of the
remaining sub-periods. The over-harvest of a sub-period allocation will
be deducted from the allocations of the remaining sub-periods.
Annually, the target allocations specified in sections 7.7.1-1 through
7.7.1- 4 shall be adjusted by the DFW to charge over-harvest of a sub-
period allocation during a given year to the same sub-period of the next
following year.

7.7.2 Summer flounder Trip Limits (possession limit)
7.7.2-1 Repealed 5/11/01

7.7.2-2 The possession limit may vary from the amount specified in
sections 7.7.1-1 through 7.7.1- 4. Fish and Wildlife, after discussions
with fishing industry representatives, will determine, based upon the
period of time remaining in the quota period and the current catch rate,
whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the sub-period.
Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in the sub-period,
Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit should be
decreased or increased. Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the
Secretary of State's Office if the possession limit is changed, and
electronically notify the public utilizing the marine fisheries informational
Listserve.

[Effective February 21 at 12:01 AM the recreational summer flounder
fishery will be closed until the 2009 recreational management plan for
summer flounder is promulgated.]

7.7.3 Summer flounder Mesh Reqgulations — Otter trawlers that land or
possess 100 pounds (45.4 kg) or more of summer flounder from May 1
through October 31; or 200 pounds (90.8 kg) or more of summer flounder per
trip from November 1 through April 30, must fish with nets or combinations
of nets that have a minimum mesh size of 5.5 inch (14.0 cm) diamond, or 6
inch (15.2 cm) square mesh applied throughout the body, extension(s) and
codend portion of the net.

7.7.4 Summer flounder Recreational Requlations

7.7.4-1 Size and Possession — No person fishing recreationally shall
possess a summer flounder less than twenty-one inches (21") total
length, and no person fishing recreationally shall possess, per calendar
day, more than six (6) summer flounder whether caught within the
jurisdiction of this state or otherwise. Compliance with the possession
limit aboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on
a vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.
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7.7.4-2 Season — The recreational season for summer flounder in Rhode
Island waters is open from June 17 through December 31.

7.7.5 Summer flounder Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting
Regulations/Penalty --

7.7.5-1 Prohibition on the transfer of Summer flounder -- No Summer

flounder (Paralichthys dentatus), may be purchased, bartered, or sold

within the State of Rhode Island unless marked, processed, shipped,
labeled, and handled in accordance with the following rules:

a. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to transfer
at sea summer flounder from one vessel to another vessel, and the
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer summer
flounder to dealers who possess a valid Rhode Island Dealer's
License.

b. No licensed person in charge of the vessel may land summer flounder

after 8:00 PM or prior to 6:00 AM. The legal hours for landing summer

flounder are from 6:00 AM to 8:00 PM only.

Repealed 01/01/09

All summer flounder must be weighed prior to the removal of the

summer flounder from the dealer's premises or from the point of

transfer.

e. The weight scales must be certified in accordance with Rhode Island
law RIGL, Chapter 47-1.

f. All summer flounder may only be shipped out of state in standard 60
or 100 pound cartons (containers) unless specific prior written
authorization is requested and received from the Rhode Island Office
of Law Enforcement, 83 Park St., Providence, Rl 02903.

g. Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth in
section 19.14 of the Rl Marine Fisheries Regulations

oo

7.7.5-2 License Suspension:

a. In addition to the penalty prescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of
any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required herein
will be suspended by the Director. The license of any person who
knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any provision of
these regulations may be suspended for a period not to exceed one
year.

b. The Director has determined that non-compliance with these
regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the
available stock of summer flounder and, thus, the general welfare as
represented that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged
violators pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising
from the alleged violation.
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c. No person shall take, sell, or possess within this state any summer
flounder which have not been taken in compliance with the provisions
of this regulation. Any summer flounder which the Director shall have
reasonable cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with
the provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the Department
of Environmental Management.

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.7.6 Moratorium on the Landing of Summer Flounder -- No person shall
possess, land, sell, or offer for sale in excess of two hundred (200) pounds of
summer flounder Paralichthys dentatus, in any calendar day, in the State of
Rhode Island or the jurisdictional waters of the state without a summer
flounder exemption certificate issued by Fish and Wildlife and a valid Rhode
Island commercial fishing license. Application for a summer flounder
exemption permit must be received by Fish and Wildlife prior to January 1,
1997.

7.7.7 Exemption Certificates -- Fish and Wildlife will issue an exemption
certificate for a vessel if the owner of the vessel or his/her representative
applies to Fish and Wildlife prior to January 1, 1997, for the issuance of such
a certificate and demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that:

7.7.7-1 the operator of the vessel possesses a valid Rhode Island
commercial fishing license to land summer flounder up to the amount
permitted by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council regulations; and

7.7.7-2 the subject vessel meets any of the following criteria:

a. the vessel was operated by a person who possessed a valid Rhode
Island commercial fishing license and landed and sold in excess of
one pound of summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer
during the period from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992,
or

b. the vessel fished exclusively in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ)
and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to a
licensed Rhode Island licensed dealer sometime during the period
January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992. The Department may
require additional supporting documents including but not limited to
the ship's logs, ice and fuel slips; or

c. the vessel replaces a vessel which was operated by a person who
possessed a valid Rhode Island commercial fishing license, and the
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vessel being replaced landed and sold in excess of one pound of
summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer during the period
from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel
being replaced was lost by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the
replaced vessel is required to have been owned by the applicant at the
time of the loss; or

d. the vessel replaces a vessel which fished exclusively in the EEZ
and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to a
Rhode Island licensed dealer, during the period January 1, 1987,
through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel being replaced was lost
by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the replaced vessel is required
to have been owned by the applicant at the time of the loss.

e. If the vessel is replacing a vessel that was lost by sinking or was
otherwise destroyed, documentation must be presented from a
licensed insurance company, U.S. Coast Guard report, or some other
valid evidence of ownership to the satisfaction of the Director.

7.7.8 Application for Certificate of Exemption -- A vessel is eligible to receive
a Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate if it meets the
following conditions. The applicant applying for an exemption certificate
shall:

7.7.8-1 provide Fish and Wildlife with a copy of the operator's valid current
Rhode Island commercial fishing license or non-resident landing license,
and Federal Fluke Permit if the summer flounder is to be taken in the
Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ); and

7.7.8-2 submit a completed notarized application for said certificate; and

7.7.8-3 submit proof that the vessel meets the requirements set out in
7.7.7 and

7.7.8-4 provide a completed notarized waiver authorizing the Department
to access records verifying that this vessel and operator meet the criteria
set forth in 7.7.7; and

7.7.8-5 provide Fish and wildlife with a copy of the vessel's U.S. Coast
Guard documentation papers or state issued boat registration
certificate proving ownership of the vessel.

7.7.9 Submission of Application -- Application for an exemption certificate
shall be mailed or submitted prior to January 1, 1997 to the office of
Fish and Wildlife at: Oliver Stedman Government Center, 4808 Tower
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Hill Rd., Wakefield, Rl 02879, Attention: Fluke Exemption.
7.7.10 Transfer of Rhode Island Summer Flounder Certificate of Exemption —

Any Certificate of Exemption issued by the Division is only valid for the
vessel to which it is issued. A vessel may be sold with all certificates,
permits (state and federal) and history transferred together or without
the certificates, permits (state and federal) and history for purposes of
replacing the vessel. In instances when a vessel owner retains all
certificates, permits, and history they must be applied to a replacement
vessel owned by said individual within ninety (90) days.

(&) Change in ownership: A Certificate of Exemption is presumed to
transfer with the vessel whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise
transferred, unless there is a written agreement, signed by the
transferor/seller and transferee/buyer, or other credible written
evidence, verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel’s
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the vessel.
Individuals who purchase a vessel issued a Certificate of Exemption
must supply credible written evidence verifying that they are the full
owner of said vessel. Vessel ownership will be determined solely by
an issued and valid (unexpired) US Coast Guard documentation or
state registration.

(b) Replacement Vessels: A vessel owner wishing to transfer a
Certificate of Exemption issued by the Division must apply to the
Division for approval and provide to the satisfaction of the Division
of Fish and Wildlife proof that the applicant vessel is replacing a
vessel which has been removed from the Summer Flounder
Exemption Program (as described in 7.7.6)

(1) The vessel owner must supply credible written evidence verifying
that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel's Certificate of
Exemption for purposes of replacing the vessel. If a vessel owner
elects to sever the Certificate of Exemption from a vessel, the
Certificate of Exemption may be transferred only to another vessel
fully owned by said vessel owner. Proof of full ownership of both
vessels is required. Vessel ownership will be determined solely by an
issued and valid (unexpired) US Coast Guard documentation or state
registration.

(2) Vessel permits (state and federal), Certificates of Exemption, and
fishing history cannot be split.
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(3) Certificates of Exemption may not be combined to create larger
replacements vessels.

(4) The replacement vessel may not exceed a 10 percent increase in
length overall (LOA), a 10 percent increase in gross registered
tonnage (GRT) or net tonnage (NT), or a 20 percent increase in
horsepower of the vessel’s baseline specifications, as applicable.

(5) Vessel baseline specifications: The vessel baseline specifications
in this section are the respective specifications (length, gross
registered tonnage, net tonnage, horsepower) of the vessel that was
initially issued a Certificate of Exemption.

(6) A vessel may be upgraded, whether through refitting or
replacement, and be eligible to retain a Certificate of Exemption, only
if the upgrade complies with the following:

i. The vessel's horsepower may be increased only once, whether
through refitting or replacement. Such an increase may not
exceed 20 percent of the horsepower of the vessel’s baseline
specifications, as applicable.

ii. The vessel’s length, GRT, and NT may be increased only once,
whether through refitting or replacement. Any increase in any
of these three specifications of vessel size may not exceed 10
percent of the vessel’s baseline specifications, as applicable.
If any of these three specifications is increased, any increase
in the other two must be performed at the same time. This
type of upgrade may be done separately from an engine
horsepower upgrade.

(c) Certificates of Exemption or permits may not be:

(2) pledged, mortgaged, leased, or encumbered in any way;
(2) transferred with any retained right of repossession or
foreclosure, or any condition requiring a subsequent transfer; or
3) attached, distrained, or sold on execution of judgment.

(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty — Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.7.11 Research Set Aside

A portion of the State’s summer flounder quota for 2009 will be allocated to a

one-year sector allocation pilot program. The purpose of the program will be

to assess the effectiveness and viability of a rights-based approach as an

alternative to traditional quota management in the commercial summer

flounder fishery. The Department will undertake the assessment by carefully

monitoring the program throughout the course of 2009, evaluating the short-
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term and potential long-term impacts of the program, including the impacts
to non-participating licensed fishermen and prospective future license
holders, and determining the extent to which the program meets the goals,
principles and standards for marine fisheries management in Rhode Island,
as set forth in the Rl General Laws. The Department will provide weekly
public updates of all landings made pursuant to the program; provide
monthly updates on the program to the RI Marine Fisheries Council; report
preliminary assessment findings to the Council no later than October 1, 2009;
and issue a final report to the Council no later than November 1, 2009.

Participants in the program will be authorized to commercially harvest and
land summer flounder in Rhode Island in any amount, up to the amount of the
research set aside and the sector allocation(s) established pursuant thereto,
at any time of the year, until the research set aside and the sector
allocation(s) established pursuant thereto are fully harvested; provided,
however, that a total allowable catch limit will be established for some or all
of the summer sub-period (May 1 through October 31) (see subsection 7.7.11-
5(g)). Participants will not be bound by daily or weekly possession limits, nor
will participants be bound by sub-period closures. Participants will be
prohibited from discarding any summer flounder, or parts thereof, that are
fourteen (14) inches or greater in total length, unless damaged and
unsellable, while engaged in the program. Participants will also be required
to meet all other terms and conditions of the program, as set forth below.

The research set aside will involve an aggregate allocation for each approved
sector. Each allocation will involve a “hard” total allowable catch (TAC), i.e.,
a specific and definitive amount of summer flounder, constituting the
maximum aggregate amount of summer flounder that may be harvested by
the participants in each sector. Any discards of sub-legal-sized fish, or
damaged and unsellable legal-sized fish, will be deducted from the TAC.

The program may involve one or more qualified sectors, and each sector may
involve any number of qualified participants. If no sector becomes qualified
for participation in the pilot program, there will no research set aside for
20009.

7.7.11-1 Participants

Anyone may de deemed eligible to participate in the pilot program,
provided they meet the following requirements:

a. A participant must be the owner and operator of a vessel that is

licensed to harvest summer flounder in federal waters, and must remain

so licensed in 2009. In addition, a participant must hold a Rl license or
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landing permit allowing for the landing of summer flounder in RI, and
must remain so licensed or permitted in 2009. In addition, a participant
must be the owner and operator of a vessel that holds a Rl summer
flounder exemption certificate, and must remain so permitted in 2009.

b. A participant must not have been assessed a criminal or administrative
penalty in the past three years for a violation of any state or federal law or
regulation relating to marine fisheries.

c. Participants must be formally organized as a sector, and each sector
must meet all of the requirements set forth below.

7.7.11-2 Sectors

Any group of qualified participants may form a sector and apply for
participation in the pilot program, provided the following requirements are
met:

a. Each prospective sector must submit a Proposal to the Division,
describing the group’s intent relative to participation in the pilot program.

b. Each prospective sector must submit a fully executed Sector Contract
to the Division. The Sector Contract must be signed by all participants,
and must bind them to the terms and conditions of the Operations Plan.
The Contract must hold the Sector and all participants in the sector jointly
and severally liable for any violations of applicable State or Federal
fishery laws and regulations for which any participant of that Sector has
been found culpable by a duly authorized governmental entity.

c. Each prospective sector must submit an Operations Plan to the
Division. The Operations Plan must contain at least the following
elements:

1. A roster of all parties, vessels, license/permit holders, and vessel
owners who will participate in the sector. The roster shall include all
relevant information relating to the license and/or permit history of the
participants, as well as verifiable data on the commercial landings of
summer flounder in Rl for each vessel, dating back for a period of five
(5) calendar years.

2. An acceptable plan detailing the rules the sector participants will

agree to abide by in order to avoid exceeding the sector allocation

(TAC), including detailed plans for enforcement of the Sector rules, as

well as detailed plans for the monitoring and reporting of landings and
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discards. If applicable, the plan must describe whether the sector
allocation will be sub-allocated to individual participants and, if so, in
what amounts or percentages.

3. The name of, and contact information for, the Sector Manager, who
will act as a designated agent for service of process and serve as
overseer of the day-to-day operations of the sector.

7.7.11-3 Approval of Pilot Program Sectors by the Director

a. Evaluation criteria -- All proposals submitted to the Division will be
reviewed and assessed by the Director in accordance with the following
evaluation criteria:

1. Completeness — Does the proposal include a full description of the
group’s intent relative to participation in the pilot program? Does the
proposal include a fully executed Sector Contract that comports with
sub-section 7.7.11-2(b)? Does the proposal include an Operations Plan
that meets all of the requirements set forth in sub-section 7.7.11-2(c)?

2. Accuracy — Are the license/permit histories and the landings data
provided in the proposal verifiable and accurate?

3. Enforcement history — Have there been any criminal or
administrative penalties assessed within the past three years on any
participant associated with the proposal?

4. Landings History — For how long, and in what amounts, have the
proposed participants commercially landed summer flounder in Rhode
Island?

5. Clarity and strength — Is the Operations Plan well developed and
likely to provide for strong and effective management and control of
the sector and its operations?

6. Fishery management goals — Is the proposal likely to contribute
substantively and meaningfully to reductions in bycatch mortality,
improved economic efficiency, sustainability, and safety at sea? Is the
proposal likely to furnish quality data, information, and insight that will
enable the Department to (i) assess the effectiveness and viability of a
rights-based approach as an alternative to traditional quota
management in the commercial summer flounder fishery, and (ii)
determine the extent to which a sector-allocation program meets the
goals, principles and standards for marine fisheries management in
Rhode Island, as set forth in the Rl General Laws?
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7. Broad-based applicability and benefit — Is the proposal likely to
furnish data, information, and insight that can be applied beneficially to
other Rhode Island-based fishers, fisheries, and gear types in future
years?

b. Final decision — Based on the Director’s review of proposals
undertaken pursuant to subsection (a) above, the Director shall select one
or more sectors for participation in the pilot program. The selection will
be announced publicly as soon as it is made, and the announcement shall
include the names of all participating vessels and/or license/permit
holders, and the allocation (TAC) assigned to the sector(s). If the Director
finds that no sector is qualified for participation in the pilot program, there
will no pilot program for 2009.

7.7.11-4 Determination of Sector Allocations and Research Set Aside

The Director will calculate the amount of the individual sector allocations
as follows:

For each approved sector, the Director will sum the total commercial
landings of summer flounder in Rhode Island for each and all participating
vessels during each and all of the five years, 2004-2008, and label it “total
sector catch.” The Director will then determine the total commercial
landings of summer flounder in Rhode Island by all commercial fishermen
over the same 2004-2008 period and label it “total state catch.” The
Director will divide the total sector catch by the total state catch to derive
a final fractional share, reflecting the portion of the state summer flounder
catch harvested by the participating vessels over the five-year period,
2004-2008.

Final adjusted sector allocations for pilot program: For each approved
sector, the final adjusted allocation for the pilot program will be
determined by applying the final fractional share for the sector to the
State’s overall summer flounder quota for 2009, and then subtracting from
that amount the total amount of summer flounder landed commercially by
the sector participants from January 1, 2009 until the date of the Director’s
final decision per sub-section 7.7.11-3(b).

The Director will calculate the amount of the research set aside as follows:

If more than one sector is approved for the pilot program, the final

adjusted sector allocations for each approved sector will be added. The

sum total will constitute the amount of the research set aside for 2009. If
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only one sector is approved for the pilot program, the final adjusted sector
allocation for that sector will constitute the amount of the research set
aside for 2009.

7.7.11-5 Program Implementation — Terms and Conditions

a. All sectors must utilize detailed tracking sheets, with single-vessel
resolution, in a format pre-approved by the Division, to account for all
landings and discards by all sector participants throughout the course of
the program. Each sector manager shall be responsible for maintaining
these records and providing them to the Division in a form and manner
prescribed by the Division on a weekly basis throughout the year. Each
sector manager shall notify the Division no later than forty-eight (48)
hours after seventy-five percent (75%) of the sector allocation has been
harvested, and then again no later than forty-eight (48) hours after ninety
percent (90%) of the sector allocation has been harvested. All trip
monitoring and reporting costs shall be borne by each sector, through the
sector manager.

b. All sectors must allow the Department to publicly disclose all landings
of summer flounder made by all participating vessels, on a single-vessel
resolution basis.

c. All participating vessels must agree to take any state or federally
authorized observers at any time. Each sector, through the sector
manager(s), must fund the full costs of any and all observer coverage
requested or required by the Division or the National Marine Fisheries
Service.

d. All participating vessels must notify the DEM’s Division of Law
Enforcement (401-222-2284 or 222-3070) at least one hour prior, but not
more than six hours prior, to all commercial landings in Rhode Island,
regardless of whether or not such landings include summer flounder.

e. All legal-sized fluke harvested during any and all sector-related fishing
operations must be retained, landed, and counted against the sector
allocation. All summer flounder discarded due to damage rendering the
fish unsellable or sub-legal size must also be counted against each sector
allocation.

f. No vessel participating in the program shall fish commercially with gear
that is designed to catch summer flounder, between June 1, 2009 and
September 30, 2009 within one mile seaward of the southern Rhode Island
coastline. This baseline is further defined as the shoreline running from
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Watch Hill to Point Judith, the mouth of Narragansett Bay running from

Point Judith to Brenton Point, the south shore of Aquidneck Island, the

mouth of the Sakonnet River running from Sachuest Point to Sakonnet

Point, and the south shore of Little Compton to the Massachusetts state
line.

g. A total allowable catch (TAC) limit will be established for the summer
sub-period, beginning May 1 and continuing through September 15;
provided, however, that if the summer sub-period quota, established for
the general fishery pursuant to sub-section 7.7.1-2, is not fully harvested
by September 15, the sector will continue to operate under the summer
sub-period TAC until October 31, or until the summer sub-period quota,
established pursuant to sub-section 7.7.1-2, is fully harvested, whichever
comes first. The summer sub-period TAC shall be calculated as follows:

For each vessel participating in each sector, a summer sub-period
allocation of 7,500 pounds is established. For each sector, the summer
sub-period TAC shall be 7,500 pounds multiplied by the number of vessels
participating in the sector.

h. Once a sector’s allocation is met, sector operations will be terminated
for the remainder of the year, and no vessel participating in the program,
nor any licensed individual associated with such vessel, shall fish
commercially with gear that is designed to catch summer flounder for the
remainder of the year.

i. Once a sector’'s summer sub-period TAC is met, sector operations will
be terminated for the remainder of the open portion of the summer sub-
period, per subsection (g) above, and no vessel participating in the
program, nor any licensed individual associated with such vessel, shall
fish commercially with gear that is designed to catch summer flounder for
the remainder of the open portion of the summer sub-period, per
subsection (g) above.

j. Participating vessels must remain in the sector and abide by the terms
and conditions of the sector throughout 2009. Any vessel that drops out
of, or is expelled from, a sector will be prohibited from harvesting and
landing summer flounder for the duration of 2009. The sector manager
shall notify the Division no later than forty-eight (48) hours after any
vessel drops out of, or is expelled from, a sector.

k. All license/permit holders and vessels participating in the sector
allocation pilot program must adhere to all applicable rules and
regulations governing commercial fishing operations, other than those set
forth in section 7.7.1, including but not limited to mesh size restrictions,
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offloading hours, at-sea transfers, and reporting and record-keeping
requirements. All license/permit holders and participating vessels will be
subject to all State and Federal small mesh landing levels for summer
flounder when fishing with small mesh. All license/permit holders and
participating vessels will be allowed to fish south of the Southern New
England DDAS counting area for summer flounder when properly enrolled
in the Small Mesh Exemption Program.

I. The authorization to participate in the pilot program is non-transferable.
Only vessels authorized by the Director may participate in the pilot
program during 2009.

m. It shall be the responsibility of each sector manager to oversee the
day-to-day operations of the sector, ensure compliance with all of the
terms and conditions governing the sector, as set forth in these rules and
regulations, and as detailed in the Sector Contract and Sector Operations
Plan, and to serve as the primary point of contact with the Division.

7.7.11-6 Enforcement

If a sector exceeds its allocation, or if one or more participating vessels is
found to be in violation of any of the terms and conditions set forth in
these regulations, the sector will be declared null and void due to breach
of contract and all participating vessels and license/permit holders will be
subject to potential enforcement action, including but not limited to:
confiscation of catch, prohibition on the harvest and landing of summer
flounder for the remainder of the year, license and/or permit suspension
or revocation, fines, and disqualification from participation in any future
alternative management programs. All penalty provisions applicable to
violations of marine fisheries laws and regulations will also be applicable
to participants in the sector allocation pilot program.

7.7.11-7 Control Date

A control date of December 31, 2009 is established for the commercial
summer flounder fishery in Rhode Island.

7.8 Winter Flounder (Blackback) -- No person shall take possess, sell, possess
for sale, or offer for sale any winter flounder measuring less than twelve (12)
inches total length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or
otherwise. During a closure of the R.l. winter flounder fishery a vessel fishing in
the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) may traverse Rhode Island waters for the
purpose of landing winter flounder provided they are not fishing and nets are
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stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of these regulations.

7.8.1 Winter Flounder - Two fish per person per calendar day recreational
possession limit -- The taking and/or possession of winter flounder by
recreational fishermen is prohibited with the exception that annually,
beginning on the fourth Saturday in April and continuing for 30 days, and
beginning on the last Saturday in September and continuing for 30 days,
fishermen may take and possess not more than two (2) winter flounder per
person per calendar day in Rhode Island waters. Said fish shall not be
offered for sale. The two (2) per person per calendar day fish possession limit
shall not apply to fishermen licensed pursuant to RIGL 20-2.1, provided winter
flounder possessed by those licensed in the above sections are harvested in
compliance with R.l. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations.

7.8.2 Winter Flounder - Mesh Reqgulations/Commercial Fishing Gear -- The
minimum mesh size for bottom trawl nets is six (6) inch diamond mesh or six
and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughout the body and
extension of the net, or any combination thereof, and six and one half (6.5)
inch diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied to the
codend of the bottom trawl nets as defined in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this
section. The minimum mesh size for gill nets is six and one half (6.5) inch
diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughout
the net. Vessels may utilize commercial fishing gear with mesh smaller than
the sizes referenced in this section provided they do not possess any winter
flounder except as provided in Section 7.8.1.

(a) For vessels greater than 45 ft in length overall, a diamond mesh
codend is defined as the first 50 meshes counting from the terminus of
the net, and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 100 bars
counting from the terminus of the net

(b) For vessels 45 ft or less in length overall, a diamond mesh codend is
defined as the first 25 meshes counting from the terminus of the net,
and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 50 bars counting from
the terminus of the net.

7.8.2-1 Net obstruction or constriction

A fishing vessel subject to minimum mesh size restrictions shall not use
any device or material, including, but not limited to, nets, net
strengtheners, ropes, lines, or chafing gear, on the top of a trawl net,
except that one splitting strap and one bull rope (if present), consisting of
line and rope no more than 3in (7.6 cm) in diameter, may be used if such
splitting strap and/or bull rope does not constrict, in any manner, the top of
the trawl net. “The top of the trawl net” means the 50 percent of the net that
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(in a hypothetical situation) would not be in contact with the ocean bottom
during atow if the net were laid flat on the ocean floor. For the purpose of
this paragraph, head ropes are not considered part of the top of the trawl
net.

7.8.3 Winter Flounder Commercial Reqgulations

7.8.3-1 Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing commercially shall take,
possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any winter flounder
measuring less than twelve (12) inches total length whether caught within
the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.8.3-2 Commercial Seasons and Possession Limits -- Winter flounder
shall be available during the following season:

(a) January 1 — December 31: It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or
land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 50 pounds of
winter flounder during this period.

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]
7.9 Tautog (Blackfish) -- No person shall take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or

offer for sale any tautog measuring less than sixteen (16) inches total length
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.9.1 Recreational -- No person may possess more than three (3) tautog from
April 15 through May 31. The tautog fishery will be closed from June 1
through June 30. No person may possess more than three (3) tautog from
July 1 through the Friday before the third Saturday in October. No person may
possess more than eight (8) tautog from the third Saturday in October
through December 15, annually. Compliance aboard vessels will be
determined by dividing the number of fish onboard a vessel by the number of
recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.

7.9.2 Commercial --The total allowable harvest of tautog will be established
annually, and will be that amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the
Regional Fishery Management Council and/or the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission. The quota may be harvested only by permitted gear
types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules and regulations
promulgated by the DEM and the RIGL Title 20. The quota shall only be
available during the following seasons:

(a) April 15 —May 31: 1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall be
available from April 15 through May 31, unless modified pursuant to this
part. It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period. The
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aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish limit per
day.

(b) July 15 — August 29: 1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall
be available from July 15 — August 29, unless modified pursuant to this
part. It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period. The
aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish limit per
day.

(c) October 15 — December 31: 1/3 of the annual quota established in this part
shall be available from October 15 — December 31, unless modified
pursuant to this part. It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from
a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this
period. The aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how
many licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish
limit per day.

(d) Within each period the allocation may be harvested until it is exhausted.
Any unused quota not harvested during a sub-period will be carried
forward into the next period, unless an overage has occurred in a
previous sub period during the same calendar year, and any over-harvest
will be deducted equally from all periods in the next calendar year. No
licensed commercial fishermen may possess more than ten (10) tautog in
any calendar day. During a closure of the R.I. tautog fishery a federally
permitted vessel fishing in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), may
traverse Rhode Island waters for the purpose of landing tautog in another
state, provided their nets are stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of
these regulations.

7.9.3 Possession Limits for Charter and Party Boats -- Compliance aboard
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel
by the number of recreational fishermen on board said vessel. Said fish shall
not be offered for sale. Party and charter boats may obtain a State permit by
showing proof of a U.S. Coast Guard License to conduct their fishery within
the territorial waters of Rhode Island.

7.9.4 Reporting requirements. -- Dealers must comply with the reporting
requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries
Regulations

7.9.5 Closure of commercial fisheries managed under a federally mandated
guota or allocation system. -- Any landing of a marine species managed under
a quota or allocation system, or the taking or possession of any marine
species, may be prohibited by the Director for a specified portion of the
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calendar year upon the finding by the Director that ninety percent (90%) or
more of the annual quota is about to be harvested, and upon submission of a
notice of closure to the Office of Secretary of State, and publication of the
closure notice in a daily newspaper of statewide circulation. Further, it is the
responsibility of the licensed person in charge of a vessel harvesting species
regulated in this section to call the DEM hotline for current harvesting and
possession regulations.
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.10 Bluefish - Possession limit for recreational fishermen -- No person shall
possess more than ten bluefish unless he/she has a permit meeting the
requirements of RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-26.1, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1. Compliance
onboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish onboard a
vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.

7.10.1 Bluefish - Commercial Quota -- A total allowable harvest of bluefish
will be established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State of
Rhode Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. The quota may be harvested
only by permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all
rules and regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries
Council. To provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island
Marine Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period
allocations.

7.10.2 Bluefish Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods

7.10.2-1 Spring sub-period - January 1 through June 30 annually. Quota -
50% of the annual allocation.

7.10.2-2 Summer-Fall Sub Period - July 1 through December 31 annually.
Quota - 50% of the annual allocation.

When 50% of any seasonal sub-period quota is reached, Fish and Wildlife
will determine if a possession limit of between 200 - 10,000 pounds should
be established depending upon the time remaining in the quota period
and the current catch rate. Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the
Secretary of State's office if a possession limit is established, and will
publish a news release announcing the change. The possession limit may
be modified by Fish and Wildlife providing such notification is made.

[Effective December 6, 2006 at 12:01 AM the commercial Bluefish fishery
will be closed until the next sub-period begins on January 1, 2007.]

7.10.3 Bluefish - Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the
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reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries
Regulations

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

7.11 Scup Regulations - Minimum Size - 9" total length (TL) -- It is unlawful for any
person commercially licensed under RIGL 20-2-27 or RIMFC Part Il, to land or
possess any scup, or parts thereof, that do not meet this size limit. [see Part
10.12 for gear roller regs] (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)
(RIGL 20-6-29)]

7.11.1 - Scup - Commercial Quota -- A total allowable harvest of scup will be
established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State of Rhode
Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the Atlantic
States Marine Fisheries Commission. The quota may be harvested only by
permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules and
regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council. To
provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island Marine
Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period allocations.

7.11.2 Scup Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods

7.11.2-1 Winter Period | (January-April) —

a. Any vessel which possesses a valid federal scup moratorium
permit if harvesting scup from federal waters; or, if harvesting
exclusively in State waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a
valid license to harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in
Rhode Island may opt to apply to obtain a permit from the Division
of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup
during the Winter | period beginning on January 1 and running
through April 30 or until the program is terminated as provided in
this part. The name of any applicant vessel deemed to satisfy the
requirements for enrollment in the program shall be maintained on
a list to be kept by DEM Division of Fish and Wildlife and DEM
Division of Law Enforcement and is thereby authorized to land scup
in any amount between 0 and 30,000 pounds in any two calendar
week period so long as the total landed by that vessel does not
exceed 30,000 pounds in any two calendar week period. It shall be
unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the biweekly trip
limit. The two calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00
AM and ends on the second following Saturday at 11:59 PM. On
April 30 or when 80% of the Winter | scup quota has been harvested
as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS),
whichever first occurs, the program will terminate and the
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possession limit per vessel will be 1,000 pounds per calendar day.

|=

The commercial possession limit of scup for vessels that are not
permitted for the biweekly trip limit program shall be 2,000 pounds
per trip. It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that
is not permitted to participate in the biweekly trip limit program to
land more than 2,000 pounds of scup in Rhode Island during any
calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and ending at 11:59 PM of
that same day.

An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to
participate in the biweekly trip limit program for scup by
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division that it satisfies
each of the following criteria:

|©

(1) The vessel if harvesting scup from federal waters possesses a
valid federal scup moratorium permit, or, if harvesting exclusively
in State waters, the vessel’s operator possesses a valid license to
harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in Rhode Island;

(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid
multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the
State of Rhode Island to land scup for commercial purposes; and

(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not
been assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past
three years for a violation of part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et
al. and/or Part 7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one
marine fisheries violation

d. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of
the following requirements:

(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the
participant enters the program until the end of the Winter | sub
period or until the participant terminates enroliment by providing
written notice of the termination from the program, whichever first
occurs. Said termination shall take effect no earlier than the
Saturday ending the biweekly period following the receipt of the
notice by the Division.

(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a
permit to participate in the program by downloading the
application from DEMs website or may obtain one directly from
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the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and
Tuesdays, from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter |
sub period. The application must be filled out in its entirety and
returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd
Jamestown, Rl 02835). The application will be reviewed by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement
and upon acceptance, a permit will be issued to the applicant
vessel to take effect the first Sunday after the permit is received.

(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one biweekly
trip limit permit.

(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the biweekly trip limit
program shall only sell scup to a dealer who is a certified on a list
maintained by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries
Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A certified SAFIS dealer shall
be defined as a dealer who is linked to the SAFIS reporting
system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Division
its ability to make timely reports to the requisite governmental
entities. A list of certified SAFIS dealers will be furnished to all
enrolled fishermen. A certificate attesting to the dealer’s
designation shall be posted through the Winter | Period at the
dealer’s facility.

(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system
referenced in section [d. (4)] of this part shall be documented by
the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law
Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup landed
by a specific vessel during a two calendar week period.

(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the
reporting form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall
be kept in numerical order on board the vessel and furnished
upon request, including the name and address of the dealer
where the scup were landed.

e. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial
fisheries for the subsequent Winter | fishery. If for any reason a
Winter | fishery does not exist by regulation, the owner(s) and
operator(s) privilege to commercially fish will be suspended for the
same calendar time period as described in the current Winter |
period upon adjudication.
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Additionally, imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-
3-3) and the Rules and Regulations Governing the
Suspension/Revocation of Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish
Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer,
licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”.

=

If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with
the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the
Winter | period.

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a
determination to deny an applicant vessel permitted for the
biweekly trip limit program for scup must file said request in writing
with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30)
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must
be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
with the time period indicated.
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7.11.2-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in
scup may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and Wildlife that
it is qualified to purchase scup from any vessel which is enrolled by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup
during the Winter | period beginning January 1 through April 30 or until the
program is terminated as provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from
purchasing or otherwise acquiring scup from a permitted vessel during the
above described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for
and obtained certification as a dealer who is certified on a list maintained
by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System
(SAFIS).

a. An applicant dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the

preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following
criteria:

(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and
Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire scup from
vessels permitted for the biweekly trip limit program for scup
described in Part 7.11.2-1;

(2) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a
valid, current license to barter or trade in scup;

(3) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the
Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite
governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and

b. The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the
Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each
of the following requirements:

(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of
acquisitions of scup to all required governmental entities
employing the SAFIS reporting system.

(2) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its
designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.
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(3) Should the dealer be terminated as a SAFIS certified dealer, the
dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior
to acquiring any scup from such vessels.

c. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial
fisheries for the subsequent Winter | fishery. If for any reason a
Winter | fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same
calendar time period as described in the current Winter | period
upon adjudication.

Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a
penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer,
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”.

If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.l. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7
relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the
remainder of the Winter | period.

|

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.
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(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a
determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a SAFIS
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street,
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of
receipt of the contested agency action.

(3)The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must be
received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division,
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the
time period indicated.

Winter Period Il (November- December) -- possession and landing limit is
3,500 pounds, decreasing to 500 pounds once 70% of the period quotais
landed.

7.11.2-2 Summer-Fall Period (May - October) A state quota for scup will
be established annually for the Summer-Fall period and shall be the most
recent amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic
States Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Commerce and published in the Federal Register. The total
scup quota for will be divided as follows:

FLOATING TRAPS licensed by the state of Rhode Island — Sixty percent
(60%) of the Summer-Fall period quota will be allocated to the floating trap
harvesting sector. Twelve percent (12%) of the floating fish trap sector
guota will be set aside at the beginning of the season annually. The quota
allocated to the floating trap sector will be available during the following
sub-periods:

APRIL 15 — October 31: During those years in which the Winter | federal
coastwide scup quota allocation is completely exhausted prior to April
15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on April 15. The
possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per calendar
day. Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected
to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota
(minus the set aside) has been harvested

MAY 1 — OCTOBER 31: During those years in which the Winter | federal

coastwide scup quota allocation is not completely exhausted prior to

April 15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on May 1. The

possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per calendar

day. Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected
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to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota
(minus the set aside) has been harvested.

Annually, on June 7 the twelve percent (12%) set aside will become
available at a possession limit of 5,000 pounds per fish trap licensee per
calendar day. When 30,000 pounds of the set aside remains, the
possession limit will drop to 300 pounds per fish trap licensee per
calendar day until the entire set aside has been completely harvested. If
on June 7™ the 90% quota trigger has not been hit, the possession limit
will remain at 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day until
that level is reached and then will follow the schedule as set forth above.

Annually, no later than August 1, the unharvested portion of the floating
fish trap quota shall be made available to all gear types upon consultation
with the floating fish trap industry representatives.

*“Fish trap licensee” —for purposes of this section, fish trap licensee
shall refer to aresident person or resident corporation currently issued a
license pursuant to RI General Laws §820-5-2. The maximum possession
limit per fish trap licensee shall be the amount set forth above regardless
of the number of authorized trap locations, the number of vessels or the
number of licensed fishermen who may be working for or may enter into
contract with the fish trap licensee. While engaged in the operation of a
fish trap, any licensed fisherman that may be working for or may enter
into contract with the fish trap licensee waives any individual right to
possess scup pursuant to a possession limit set out in RIMF Regulations
Part 7.11.2-2.

Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth in
section 19.14 of the Rl Marine Fisheries Regulations

GEAR TYPES OTHER THAN FLOATING FISH TRAPS — Forty percent (40%)
of the Summer- Fall period quota will be allocated to all gear types except
floating fish traps. The quota allocated to the other gear type sector will
be available during the following sub-periods.

MAY - JUNE: One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be available
from May 1 through June 30. The possession limit will be reduced at the
discretion of the Division. The fishery will close once the entire period
allocation is projected to be harvested.

a. Beginning May 1 any vessel authorized to land scup for commercial
purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup in any amount
between 0 and 1,000 pounds in any calendar week period from May 1
through June 30 so long as the total landed by that vessel does not
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exceed 1,000 pounds in any calendar week period. The calendar week
period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the following
Saturday at 11:59 PM. When the May 1 through June 30 sub period
scup quota has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish
and Wildlife (Division) the fishery will close. The fishery will restart at
the beginning of the July 1 through September 15 sub period, and will
be administered as set forth in this part. The Division may adjust the
possession limit during the May through June sub-period based on the
current catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives and
the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.

(1) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be
documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup
landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.

(2) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request,
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1°' on
board the vessel.

b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject
both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the
commercial fisheries for the subsequent May through June sub period
fishery. If for any reason a May through June sub period fishery does
not exist by regulation, the privilege of the owner(s) and operator(s) to
commercially harvest fish shall be suspended for the same calendar
time period as described in the current May through June sub period
upon adjudication.

Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish
and Wildlife”.

c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the
Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior
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Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.l. Gen.
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3
(RIGL 20-3-3).

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request
in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30)
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be
received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division,
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time
period indicated.

JULY - SEPT. 15: One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be
available from July 1 through September 15.

a. Beginning July 1 any vessel authorized to land scup for commercial
purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup in any amount
between 0 and 400 pounds in any calendar week period from July 1
through September 15 so long as the total landed by that vessel does
not exceed 400 pounds in any calendar week period. It shall be unlawful
for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip limit. The calendar
week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the
following Saturday at 11:59 PM. When the July 1 through September 15
sub period scup quota has been harvested as determined by the
Division the fishery will close. The fishery will restart at the beginning of
the September 16 through October 31 sub period, and will be
administered as set forth in this part. The Division may adjust the
possession limit during the July through September 15 sub-period
based on the current catch rate and advice from fishing industry
representatives and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.
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(1) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be
documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup
landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.

(2) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request,
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1°' on
board the vessel.

b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject
both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the
commercial fisheries for the subsequent July through September 15 sub
period fishery. |If for any reason a July through September 15 sub
period fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the owner(s)
and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be suspended for the
same calendar time period as described in the current July through
September 15 sub period upon adjudication.

Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish
and Wildlife”.

c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the
Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.l. Gen.
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3
(RIGL 20-3-3).

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said
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request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request
in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30)
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be
received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division,
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time
period indicated.

SEPT. 16 — OCTOBER 31: One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will
be available from September 16 through October 31. Annually, on
October 15, or thereafter, the Division may increase the possession limit if
they project the entire quota will not be harvested by the end of the sub-
period.

Any unused portion of a sub-period allocation will be divided between the
two remaining period(s). The DFW will have the discretion of adjusting
trip limits upwards or downwards as necessary.

a. Beginning September 16 any vessel authorized to land scup for
commercial purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup in any
amount between 0 and 400 pounds in any calendar week period from
September 16 through October 31 so long as the total landed by that
vessel does not exceed 400 pounds in any calendar week period. It shall
be unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip limit.
The calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends
on the following Saturday at 11:59 PM. When the September 16 through
October 31 sub period scup quota has been harvested as determined by
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division) the fishery will close. The
fishery will restart at the beginning of the Winter 2 fishery as set forth in
this part. The Division may adjust the possession limit during the
September 16 through October 31 sub-periods based on the current
catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives and the
Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.

(1) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be
documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup
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landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.

(2) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request,
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1°' on
board the vessel.

b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject
both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the
commercial fisheries for the subsequent September 16 through October
31 sub period fishery. If for any reason a September 16 through
October 31 sub period fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege
of the owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be
suspended for the same calendar time period as described in the
current September 16 through October 31 sub period upon
adjudication.

Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish
and Wildlife”.

c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the
Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.l. Gen.
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3
(RIGL 20-3-3).

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908
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within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency
enforcement action.

(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request
in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30)
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action.

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be
received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division,
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time
period indicated.

7.11.2-3 Possession Limit Adjustments -- Fish and Wildlife, after
discussions with fishing industry representatives, will determine, based
upon the period of time remaining in the quota period and the current
catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the
sub-period. Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in the
sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit
should be decreased or increased. Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with
the Secretary of State's Office if the rate is changed and publish a news
release announcing the change. The rate may be modified by Fish and
Wildlife upon providing such notification with the possession limit altered
between arange of 0 - 10,000 pounds in possession.

7.11.3 Scup - Reporting Reguirement -- Dealers must comply with the
reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine
Fisheries Regulations

7.11.4 Scup - Recreational
7.11.4-1 - No person fishing recreationally shall possess scup less than
ten and one half inches (10.5") total length, and no person fishing
recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more than ten (10) scup,
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise except as
provided in section 7.11.4-3. Compliance with the possession limit aboard
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on board a
vessel by the number of fishermen on board said vessel.

7.11.4-2 — The recreational season for scup in Rhode Island waters will be
open from May 24 through September 25 annually.

7.11.4-3 — While fishing on a party or charter boat, no person shall

possess scup less than eleven inches (11”) total length, and no person

fishing while on a party or charter boat shall possess, per calendar day,
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whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise, more
than ten (10) scup from June 12 through August 31, and more than forty-
five (45) scup from September 1 through October 15.

Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels will be determined
by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel by the number of
fishermen on board said vessel.

7.11.5 Scup - Scup Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting Requlations

7.11.5-1 Prohibition on the transfer of Scup -- No Scup, Stenotomus
chrysops, may be purchased, bartered, or sold within the State of Rhode
Island unless in compliance with the following:

A. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to
transfer scup from one vessel to another vessel while at sea. The
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer scup to
a dealer licensed by the State of Rhode Island. Dealers are
required to be licensed by the R.I. Department of Environmental
Management (in compliance with RIGL 20-2-27 (d), or 20-2-28.1).

B. All scup must be weighed prior to the removal of the scup from
the dealer’s premises or from the point of transfer.

C. The weight scales must be certified in accordance with RIGL,
Chapter 47-1.

D. Vessels are only allowed one trip limit in possession per
calendar day. In addition, no person may land more than one trip
limit in any calendar day. No person shall transport into the State
of Rhode Island any scup which is not landed at a port located
within the state unless the transaction of the first point of sale is in
another state.

E. All dealers are required to record and report all transfers of

scup in accordance with the following:
(1) Dealers shall maintain a written record on forms
provided by the DFW, or dealer forms, of each scup
transaction at their permanent place of business in Rhode
Island, or with an authorized agent located in Rhode Island
for inspection 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM during the course of normal
daily business operations. Records must be available by
10:00 AM on the next business day following the date of
landing. Records must be available at the dealer’s or agent’s
Rhode Island office for a period of three years.
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(2) Therecord mustinclude: date of purchase, time of
offloading, location of purchase, the vessel name, the name and
license number of the Rhode Island license holder and the
amount of scup transferred.

F. Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth
in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations

7.11.5-2 License Suspension

A. In addition to the penalty prescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of
any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required
herein will be suspended by the Director. The license of any person
who knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any
provision of these regulations may be suspended for a period not to
exceed one year.

B. The Director has determined that non-compliance with these
regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the
available stock of scup and thus the general welfare as represented
that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged violators
pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising from the
alleged violation.

C. No person shall take, sell, or possess within this state any scup
which have not been taken in compliance with the provisions of
this regulation. Any scup which the Director shall have reasonable
cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with the
provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the
Department of Environmental Management.

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)]

7.12 Size, Possession, and Daily Limit Violations On Board Vessels -- In any
instance, when there is a violation of the size, possession, or daily limit on board
a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the
violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or
the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. (RIMFC REGULATION)
[Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)]

7.13 Atlantic Sturgeon - Moratorium on Harvest -- No harvest or possession of
Atlantic Sturgeon will be permitted within the territorial waters of the State of
Rhode Island until further notice. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3(RIGL
20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)]
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7.14 Black Sea Bass

7.14.1 Commercial Harvest

7.14.1-1 Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing commercially shall
take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any black sea bass
measuring less than eleven (11) inches total length whether caught within
the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.14.1-2 Commercial Seasons and Possession Limits -- A state quota for
black sea bass will be established annually and shall be the most recent
amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S. Department
of Commerce as published in the Federal Register. The quota shall be
available during the following seasons:

(b) January 1 — April 30: Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota
established in this part shall be available from January 1 through April
30, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e). It shall be unlawful
to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day,
more than 750 pounds of black sea bass during this period. Refer to
section 7.14.1-3 for current possession limit.

(c) May 1 — July 31: Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota established in
this part shall be available from May 1 through July 31, unless modified
pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e). It shall be unlawful to possess aboard
or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 100 pounds
of black sea bass during this period. Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the
current possession limit.

(d) August 1 — October 31: Twenty-five percent (39%) of the quota
established in this part shall be available from August 1 through
October 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e). It shall be
unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar
day, more than 100 pounds of black sea bass during this period. Refer
to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit.

(e) November 1 — December 31: Twenty-five percent (11%) of the quota
established in this part shall be available from November 1 through
December 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e). It shall
be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one
calendar day, more than 250 pounds of black sea bass during this
period. Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit.
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(f) The possession limit shall not drop below 100 pounds per vessel per
calendar day in any sub period unless and until the fishery is closed.

(9) Any unused portion of the quota from a ‘sub-period’ will be equally
distributed to the allocations of the remaining sub-periods. The over-
harvest of a sub-period allocation will be deducted from the allocations
of the remaining sub-periods. Annually, the quota allocations
specified in section 7.14.1-2(a-d) shall be adjusted by the DFW to
charge over-harvest of a sub-period allocation during a given year to
the same sub-period of the following year.

7.14.1-3 Current Commercial Possession Limit —
Unless otherwise specified in this section, refer to 7.14.1-2 (a-e) for
current commercial possession limit.

7.14.1-4 Possession Limit Adjustments — The possession limits specified
according to section 7.14.1-2 may be modified by the Division of Fish and
Wildlife, who, after discussions with fishing industry representatives, will
determine, based upon the period of time remaining in the quota period
and the current catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the
end of the sub-period. Having determined the catch rate and time
remaining in the sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the
possession limit should be decreased or increased. Fish and Wildlife will
file a notice with the Secretary of State’s Office if the possession limit is
changed and publish a news release announcing the change. Fish and
Wildlife may modify the possession limit upon providing such notification.

7.14.1- 5 Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the reporting
requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries
Regulations

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)]

7.14.2 Recreational Harvest

7.14.2-1 — Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall
possess a black sea bass less than twelve inches (12") total length, and
no person fishing recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more
than twenty-five (25) black sea bass whether caught within the jurisdiction
of this State or otherwise. Compliance with the possession limit aboard
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by
the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.

7.14.2-2 — Recreational Season -- The recreational season for black sea
bass in Rhode Island waters is open from January 1 through December
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31, annually.

7.15 Spiny dogfish

7.15.1 Commercial Season and Possession Limits — The commercial
season shall extend from May 1 until April 30 of the following year and
shall be divided into two semi annual periods. It shall be unlawful to
possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than
2,000 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period May 1 through October 31
and 2,000 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period November 1 through
April 30. When notified that the quota in any given period has been
harvested, as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service or the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Division of Fish and
Wildlife shall file a notice with the Office of the Secretary of State
prohibiting the commercial landings, harvest and possession of spiny
dogfish in state waters for the remainder of the designated period and
publish a news release announcing the closure in a newspaper of daily
circulation throughout the State.

7.15.2 Current Commercial Possession Limit — Effective May 1, 2004 at
12:01 AM the commercial landings and possession limits of spiny dogfish
will follow the regulations as set out in section 7.15.

7.15.3 Prohibition of Finning — Finning is defined as the act of taking a
spiny dogfish, removing the fins, and returning the remainder of the spiny
dogfish to the sea. Finning spiny dogfish shall be prohibited in all state
waters. Vessels that land spiny dogfish must land fins in proportion to
carcasses, with a maximum 5% fin to carcass ratio, by weight. Fins may be
removed at sea, but the corresponding carcass must be retained. All fins
and carcasses must be landed at the same time and in the same location.
RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3)

7.16 American Eel — No person shall take, attempt to take, possess, sell, or offer
for sale any American Eel measuring less than six inches (6”). No person shall
possess more than fifty (50) American eel per day unless commercially licensed
pursuant to RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1. RIMFC REGULATIONS
[Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3)

7.17 American Shad — The commercial harvesting, landing, or possession of
American Shad (Alosa sapidissima) within the State of Rhode Island and its
territorial waters is prohibited. RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-
3-3)

7.18 Weakfish
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7.18.1 — Commercial

7.18.1-1 Minimum size -- No person fishing commercially shall take,
possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any weakfish
measuring less than sixteen inches (16”) total length whether
caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.18.1-2 Season and Possession Limits — During the period June 1
through June 30 and the period August 7 through November 8,
the commercial possession limit for weakfish shall be
unlimited. At all other times it shall be unlawful to possess
aboard or land from a vessel more than 150 pounds of weakfish
in any one calendar day and it shall also be unlawful to
possess aboard or land from a vessel any amount of weakfish
where there is not at least an equal poundage of other species
on board the vessel.

7.18.2 Recreational

7.18.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall possess
a weakfish less than sixteen inches (16”) total length.

7.18.2-2 Season and Possession Limits — The recreational season for
weakfish in Rhode Island waters is open January 1 through
December 31, annually. No person fishing recreationally shall
possess, per calendar day, more than six (6) fish whether
caught within the jurisdiction of this state or otherwise.
Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels will be
determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by the
number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3)

7.19 Atlantic Herring (Clupea harenqus)

7.19.1 Commercial

7.19.1-1 Season and Possession Limits — The season for Atlantic herring
begins annually on January 1. The possession limit is unlimited
unless otherwise indicated in this section. When the Atlantic
Herring quota has been harvested as determined by the National
Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), the season will close.

7.20 River Herring — No person shall land, catch, take, or attempt to catch or take
any alewives, Alosa pseudoharengus or blueback herring Alosa aestivalis, from
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any marine waters of the State of Rhode Island. Possession of any alewives or
blueback herring at any time is prohibited and shall be evidence that said herring
was taken in violation of this section. RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3
(RIGL 30-3-3)

7.21 Monkfish

7.21.1 — Commercial

7.21.1-1 Minimum size -- No person fishing commercially shall land or
possess any monkfish measuring less than seventeen inches (17”) total
length or eleven inches (11”) tail length whether that fish was caught
within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.21.1-2 Possession Limits —

(a) For any non-federally permitted RI licensed vessel, the possession
limit will be 550 pounds tail weight or 1,826 pounds whole weight of
monkfish per vessel per calendar day.

(b) Repealed

(c) The possession limit may be modified on the basis of a RI state water
monkfish quota as set by DEM, which shall be equal to 1% of the federal
southern New England monkfish quota. When 90% of the state water
guota has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and
Wildlife, the possession limit will decrease to 50 pounds tail weight or
166 pounds whole weight of monkfish per vessel per calendar day. When
the state water quota has been harvested as determined by the Division,
the Director shall close the state water monkfish fishery.

7.21.1-3 Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the harvest of
monkfish may harvest monkfish in state waters if and only if they are
operating during a previously and properly declared day-at-sea; in such
instances, such vessels may harvest monkfish in the amount authorized
to be possessed pursuant to federal regulations, and thus not be bound
by the possession limits set forth in section 7.21.1-2. Vessels in
possession of a federal permit allowing the commercial harvest of
monkfish may also transit state waters in possession of monkfish in the
amount authorized to be possessed pursuant to applicable federal
regulations and land the same if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Island
State Law, so long as all of the fish harvesting gear on board the vessel
is stowed while in state waters.

7.21.2 - Recreational
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7.21.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally, shall land or
possess any monkfish measuring less than seventeen inches (17”) total
length or eleven inches (11”) tail length whether that fish was caught
within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.21.2-2 Possession Limits — No person who is fishing recreationally in
Rl waters, may possess more than 50 pounds tail weight or 166 pounds
whole weight of monkfish per vessel per calendar day.

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)

7.22 Cod

7.22.1 — Commercial

7.22.1-1 Minimum size -- No person fishing commercially shall land or
possess any cod measuring less than twenty-two inches (22”) total
length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.22.1-2 Possession Limits —
(a) For any non-federally permitted RI licensed vessel, the possession
limit will be 1,000 pounds of cod per vessel per calendar day.

(b) The possession limit may be modified on the basis of a Rl state water
cod quota as set by DEM, which shall be equal to 1% of the federal New
England (Georges Bank) cod quota. When 90% of the state water quota
has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife,
the possession limit will decrease to 75 pounds of cod per vessel per
calendar day. When the state water quota has been harvested as
determined by the Division, the Director shall close the state water cod
fishery.

7.22.1-3 Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the harvest of
cod may harvest cod in state waters if and only if they are operating
during a previously and properly declared day-at-sea; in such instances,
such vessels may harvest cod in the amount authorized to be possessed
pursuant to federal regulations, and thus not be bound by the
possession limits set forth in section 7.22.1-2. Vessels in possession of
a federal permit allowing the commercial harvest of cod may also transit
state waters in possession of cod in the amount authorized to be
possessed pursuant to applicable federal regulations and land the same
if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Island State Law, so long as all of the
fish harvesting gear on board the vessel is stowed while in state waters.
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7.22.2 - Recreational

7.22.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall land or
possess any cod measuring less than twenty-two inches (22”) total
length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.

7.22.2-2 Possession Limits — No person who is fishing recreationally in
Rl waters, may possess more than ten (10) cod per person per calendar
day.

7.22.2-3 Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the
recreational harvest of cod may transit state waters in possession of cod
in the amount authorized to be possessed pursuant to applicable federal
regulations and land the same if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Island
State Law, so long as all of the fish harvesting gear on board the vessel
is stowed while in state waters.

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)

7.23 Sea Scallops

7.23.1 — Commercial

7.23.1-1 Minimum size -- No person fishing commercially shall land or
possess any sea scallops measuring less than three and one half inches
(3.57) shell length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or
otherwise. Shell length is a straight line measurement from the hinge to
the part of the shell that is furthest away from the hinge.

7.23.1-2 Possession Limits — For any non-federally permitted Rl licensed
vessel, the possession limit will be four hundred (400) pounds of
shucked or fifty (50) bushels of in-shell scallops.

7.23.1-3 Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the
commercial harvest of sea scallops may transit state waters in
possession of sea scallops in the amount authorized to be possessed
pursuant to applicable federal regulations and land the same if so
permitted pursuant to Rhode Island State Law, so long as all of the fish
harvesting gear on board the vessel is stowed while in state waters.

7.23.1-4 Equipment — The maximum dredge size allowed for a vessel in
possession of sea scallops will be ten and one half feet (10.5’). The ring
size used in a scallop dredge possessed or used by scallop vessels shall
not be smaller than 4 inches (4”). The mesh size of a net, net material or
any other material on the top of a scallop dredge (twine top) possessed
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or used by vessels fishing with scallop dredge gear shall not be smaller
than 10 inch (10”) square or diamond mesh.

7.23.2 - Recreational

7.23.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person who is fishing recreationally, shall
land or possess any sea scallops measuring less than three and one half
inches (3.5”) shell length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this
State or otherwise. Shell length is a straight line measurement from the
hinge to the part of the shell that is furthest away from the hinge.

7.23.2-2 Possession Limits — No person who is fishing recreationally in
Rl waters, will possess more than forty (40) pounds of shucked or five (5)
bushels of in-shell scallops.

7.23.2-3 Equipment — The maximum dredge size allowed for a vessel in
possession of sea scallops will be ten and one half feet (10.5").

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)

7.24 Coastal Sharks
7.24.1 —Commercial
7.24.1-1 It shall be unlawful to harvest or possess any basking shark,
dusky shark, sand tiger shark, or white shark taken from Rhode Island
state waters.

7.24.2 - Recreational
7.24.2-1 It shall be unlawful to harvest or possess any basking shark,
dusky shark, sand tiger shark, or white shark taken from Rhode Island
state waters.

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty — Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)
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Rule 8. EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations,
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 8"
day of December 2009 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise
indicated below, in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, 20-
1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10, and 42-35 the General
Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, as amended.

Michael Sullivan, PhD
Director, Department of Environmental Management

Notice Given: 09/21/2009
Public Hearing:  10/21/2009

Filing date: 12/08/2009
Effective date: 12/28/2009
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