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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

FISH AND WILDLIFE 
 
 

R.I. Hunting Regulations 
for the 2009-2010 Season 

 
 
 
RULE 1 PURPOSE 

The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to establish hunting seasons; 
to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the manner of hunting in 
order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources of Rhode Island. 

 
RULE 2 AUTHORITY  

These Rules and Regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42-17.1, 
Department of Environmental Management, and Sections 20-1-2; 20-1-4; 20-
1-8; 20-1-12; 20-1-13; 20-18-1, and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, 
Administrative Procedures Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as 
amended. 

 
RULE 3 APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these Rules and Regulations shall be liberally 
construed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, 
goals, and policies. 

 
RULE 4 SEVERABILITY 
  If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof to any 

person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, 
the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected 
thereby. 

 
RULE 5 SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS  

On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous Rules and 
Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of 
Hunting Regulations shall be superseded.  However, any enforcement action 
taken by, or application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date 
of these Rules and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and 
Regulations in effect at the time the enforcement action was taken, or 
application filed. 
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RULE 6 DEFINITIONS 
 

For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have the        
following meanings: 

 
Antlerless deer - deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3) inches in 
length. 

 
Bearded turkey - a turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff filament-
like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center of the chest. 

 
Box trap - any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by 
confinement in box or cage. 

 
Conibear-type trap - "conibear" model traps and similar body-gripping traps and 
devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box, tube, or other 
enclosing device. 

 
Crossbow - a bow and string (either compound or re-curve) that launches an 
arrow, mounted upon a stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string and limbs 
under tension until released.  The trigger unit must have a working safety.  The 
minimum crossbow, arrow, and blade restrictions are further described in Part 4 
of these regulations. 

 
Daylight fluorescent orange - the color orange having a dominant wave length 
between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less than 85 percent, 
and a lumination factor not less than 40 percent. 

 
Driving deer/cooperative drive - to pursue, drive, chase, or otherwise frighten 
or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons known to be 
waiting for a deer. 

 
Feeding/baiting - the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing, 
distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the availability of 
such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material. 
 
Foothold – the nomenclature for a foothold trap is equivalent to that of leg-hold 
trap, as described in RIGL 20-16-8, including those foothold traps with padded 
jaws. 
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Jack-lighting - the use (by an individual or in conjunction with others) of an 
artificial light at any time to illuminate, jack light, locate, attempt to locate, or show 
up wild birds or mammals or any other vertebrates when that person or persons 
have in their actual possession, in the passenger compartment of their vehicle, or 
in the storage area of a trunk or van, unless locked in a case, a crossbow, long 
bow (straight limb, reflex, re-curve, and compound bow) rifle, gun, or pistol, 
except in accordance with these rules and regulations. 
 
Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island - all of Aquidneck Island with 
the exception of the city of Newport. 

 
Junior Hunter – a person 12-14 years of age who has completed a basic hunter 
safety course and shall hunt only in the immediate company of a qualified 
licensed adult, 21 years of age or older. 

 
Mainland - Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties; the towns of Tiverton and 
Little Compton; and all of Washington County with the exception of New 
Shoreham (Block Island). 
 
Paraplegic - an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the body 
with involvement of both legs. 

 
Proficiency testing - the measurable demonstration of skills with bows and 
arrows or use of firearms using a set of standards as determined by the hunter 
education program. 

 
Small game season - that period of time beginning the third Saturday in October 
and ending the last day in February annually (not withstanding the regulated 
shotgun season for deer). 
 
Species specific traps - characterized by all of the following: triggering and 
restraining mechanisms are enclosed within housing; triggering and restraining 
mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening when set; the access 
opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter; the triggering mechanism can 
only be activated by a pulling force; has a swivel mounted anchoring system. 
 
Translocation-means the transport and release of live wild animals from one 
location to another. 
 
Written permission–means annual written permission of the owner of the land 
for any current deer season. 
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RULE 7 - REGULATIONS 
 PART I 

 
GENERAL DEER HUNTING REGULATIONS 

 
1.1    A permit must be purchased for each individual deer taken in accordance with    

the bag limits for each season type. 
 
1.2 Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour 

after sunset.  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter 
killing same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the deer permit for 
the specific season (i.e., shotgun, archery, muzzleloader and/or 
paraplegic/double amputee hunter).  This tag must be separated from the permit 
with the appropriate month, day, or other information completed as required, and 
signed by the hunter.  The tag must remain attached to the deer until the animal 
is processed for consumption or prepared for taxidermy.  It will be considered 
prima-facie evidence of hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the 
deer permit/tag is altered in any manner. All deer must be checked by the hunter 
killing same, within 24 hours of taking at a Department biological check station, if 
in operation, otherwise to environmental police officers or vendor check stations 
or telecheck/online checking system (also see 3.5).  Only specified vendors will 
be permitted to check deer and sell additional permits.  The list of approved 
vendors will be available prior to the season.  Instructions for telecheck/online 
checking system will be available prior to season. 
 

   1.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation are             
subject to change. 

 
1.3 Prohibited Activities:
 
         1.3.1  Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or     

while deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited. 
 
        1.3.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails, 

spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited on 
state property or on private property without the permission of the 
landowner.  All portable tree stands must be removed on state lands by the 
end of deer season. 

 
          1.3.3 The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times. 
 
          1.3.4 The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited. 

 
 1.3.5 Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited. 
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 1.3.6 Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual 
hunter, while hunting deer. 

 
1.4  Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land  
 (20-15-1(4).  Such written permission must be carried at all times while deer 

hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie evidence of not 
having written permission to hunt such land.  Written permission must be shown to 
any authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when checking the 
deer. 

     
1.5    The use of natural or artificial scents, mouth or hand powered deer calls     
         to attract deer, is permitted. 
 

1.6   Pop-up blinds are permitted; however, muzzleloader hunters must display 
       a minimum of 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from all 
       directions during the muzzleloading deer seasons.  During shotgun deer season,  
       500 square inches of fluorescent orange is required. 

 
1.7   The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population      
         and disease management.     
 
 1.8   Resident All Outdoors Package Permit: Deer hunters may purchase one (1)    

resident All Outdoors Package Permit for the mainland deer seasons to take up 
to  12 deer during the established seasons. This package permit will only be 
available at DEM, RI Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 
02908.  This may be purchased by mail with a SASE or in person.  

 
A limit of 250 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve basis.  Permits 
may be purchased in person or through the mail.  Due to high volume, permits sold over 
the counter may be returned by mail. 
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   1.8.1   Mainland either sex permits-may be used as follows: 

                Hunter must fill in appropriate mainland code for the established season on 
                the front of the permit and on the tag immediately after kill. 

     
    Archery: Six (6) mainland either sex permits may be used in any combination   

during the appropriate season.                 
                
               Muzzleloader: One (1) mainland either sex permit.                                    
                
               Shotgun: One (1) mainland either sex permit. 
 
      Muzzleloader and Shotgun: Two (2) All Outdoors Permits may be used, in any  
      combination, during the muzzleloader and shotgun portions of the season to  
                take two (2) additional either sex deer. 
  
 
     1.8.2  Six (6) Mainland Antlerless Permits.  

May be used in any combination during the appropriate season type.  Hunters 
must fill in the appropriate mainland code for the established season on front 
of permit and on tag immediately after kill to be valid. 
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PART II 

DEER – MUZZLELOADING DEER SEASON 
 
 
2.1 MAINLAND MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 

Muzzleloader deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) 
either sex and two (2) antlerless as described below:  

      
    Permit Required  
A. EITHER SEX MUZZLELOADER PERMIT –  

 Either sex muzzleloader deer permit is usable for the taking of one deer of                
either sex in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties; Washington County (except 
New Shoreham, a.k.a Block Island); and the towns of Little Compton and Tiverton.  

 
  Permits may be purchased at any time. November 4 – November 29, 2009 on 
state and private land.  Unused either sex permit may be used to harvest one (1) 
antlerless deer during the late season, December 26, 2009 – January 2, 2010. 

 
 

B. ANTLERLESS MUZZLELOADER PERMIT –  
The two antlerless muzzleloader deer permits are usable for the taking of two (2) 
deer in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties; Washington County (except New 
Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island); and the Towns of Little Compton and Tiverton.  
 
These two permits may be purchased at any time from November 4 – November 
29, 2009 and December 26, 2009 – January 2, 2010 on state and private land.   
 
Some cities and towns have more restrictive ordinances; check local ordinances 
prior to hunting.  All other deer hunting regulations apply.  
(see Part I). 

 
2.2  JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND  
 MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island muzzleloader deer hunters may 
purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2) antlerless 
as described below: 

 
    Permit Required 

 a) Either sex-  
                November 4 – November 29, 2009 
          b) Antlerless-  

            November 7 – November 29, 2009 and 
            December 26, 2009 – January 2, 2010 
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2.3 A current muzzleloader deer permit is required for the muzzleloading season.  As 

denoted in 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter killing same 
immediately after killing or taking as provided, and taken by that same hunter to a 
state-operated checking station within 24 hours during the first three (3) days of 
the season, November 4-6, 2009.   (See 1.2 for checking during the remainder of 
the season). 

 
2.4 During the muzzleloading deer season, all hunters must wear a minimum of 200 

square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange material, contained in an outer 
garment worn above the waist, and visible from all directions. A fluorescent 
orange hat would meet the requirement. EXCEPTIONS: those hunting raccoon at 
night or crows over decoys, archers in tree stands, or waterfowl hunters hunting 
from a boat or a blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction with decoys. 

 
2.5 Firearms for muzzleloading deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger using 

percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using percussion caps, 
rifle, or shotshell primers.  Only single barrel or double barrel firearms that must 
be loaded from the muzzle are allowed.  (Also see section 14.9) 

 
2.6 Ammunition for muzzleloading deer season is limited to a single lead projectile, 

including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles.  Sabot rounds for muzzleloader 
firearms either lead or jacketed are limited to .43 caliber or larger.  Powder is 
limited to manufacturers’ specifications.  Telescopic sights are permitted.  
Possession of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited.  A 
muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the percussion cap or pan powder is 
removed. 
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PART III 

DEER - SHOTGUN DEER SEASON 
  
3.1 MAINLAND SHOTGUN SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:   

Shotgun deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either 
sex and two (2) antlerless as described below: 
 

 Permit Required 
A. EITHER SEX SHOTGUN PERMIT – One (1) either sex deer may be taken in 

Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of Washington County (except 
New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little 
Compton. 

 
    December 5-13, 2009 on state and private lands. 
    December 14-20, 2009 on private land only. 
          Permits may be purchased at any time. 

 
B. ANTLERLESS SHOTGUN PERMITS – Two (2) antlerless deer may be taken in 

Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of Washington County (except 
New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little 
Compton.  Permits may be purchased at any time. 

        
               December 5-13, 2009 on state and private land.  

 
    December 14-20, 2009; private land only. 

 
    December 26, 2009 January 2, 2010; private land only. 

 
 
  Some cities and towns have more restrictive ordinances; check local ordinances 
prior to hunting.  All other deer regulations shall apply (see Part I). 

 
3.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND SHOTGUN 

SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/ Aquidneck Island Shotgun deer hunters may 
purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2) antlerless 
as described below: 
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Permit Required  
 (a)   Either sex     
                  December 5-20, 2009 

 (b)  Antlerless     
       December 5-20, 2009 

    December 26, 2009 -January 2, 2010 
 

 3.3     No person shall take deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than five   
shells, unless it is plugged with one-piece filler, which is incapable of removal 
without disassembling the gun. 

 
3.4 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or sabot 

round.  Buckshot is limited to double 00 or larger. Buckshot in 20-gauge is 
prohibited.  Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed. 

 
3.5 A current shotgun deer permit is required for the shotgun season. 
 As denoted in 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter killing 

same immediately after killing or taking as provided, and taken by that same 
hunter to a state-operated checking station for checking within 24 hours during the 
first three (3) days of the shotgun season, December 5-7, 2009.  (See 1.2 for 
checking during the remainder of the season). 

 
3.6 Deer killed or taken on the last day may be checked through a vendor check 

station no later than 6:00 PM on that date, or by an Environmental Police Officer 
within 24 hours of taking. 

 
   3.7    During the shotgun season for deer, all hunters, except waterfowl hunters hunting 

from a boat or a blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction with decoys, 
must wear a minimum of 500 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange 
material, contained in an outer garment and worn above the waist, a portion of 
which must include a head covering visible from all directions. 

 
3.8    All other hunting, except otherwise provided, under 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 9.2, 9.3, and 11.9 

is prohibited during the period of December 6-21, 2009, December 26, 2009 –
January 2, 2010. 

 
3.9  Muzzleloading firearms will be permitted during the shotgun season provided 

hunters have purchased a current shotgun deer permit as in 3.5 and conform to 
muzzleloader restrictions in 2.5 and 2.6.  Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer 
with the shotgun tag immediately after taking.  All shotgun deer season 
fluorescent orange requirements will be enforced. 
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PART IV 

DEER - ARCHERY DEER SEASON 
 
4.1 MAINLAND ARCHERY SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 

 
 October 1, 2009– January 31, 2010 inclusive.  

 
Archery deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer: one (1) either 
sex and two (2) antlerless on state or private land and may qualify for purchasing 
a bonus buck permit as described below: 
 
Permit Required 
A.   Either Sex Archery Permit – state or private land in Providence, Kent, and 

Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. 
Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton. This permit may 
be purchased at any time. 

 
B. Antlerless Archery Permit – state or private land in Providence, Kent, and 

Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. 
Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton.  This permit may 
be purchased at any time. 

 
C. Earn-a-Buck Permit - state or private land in Providence, Kent and Bristol 

Counties; all of Washington County (except New Shoreham a.k.a. Block 
Island) and the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton.  This permit for one (1) 
additional either sex archery deer permit may be issued after the hunter has 
taken and checked, as provided in 4.6, two (2) antlerless deer from the: a) 
either sex archery permit, or: b) antlerless archery permits, as described 
above.  Hunters must take completed and detached archery tags and 
affidavits, bring or mail to DEM - Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, RI 02908. 

 
4.1.1 In total, all mainland archery deer hunters, including those with 
adaptive aid/crossbow permits (as delineated in 4.4.1), may purchase 
permits to take a total of four (4) deer. 

 
 
4.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND ARCHERY 

SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery hunters may purchase 
permits to take three (3) deer: one (1) either sex and two (2) antlerless, except as 
provided under 4.3. 
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Permit required: 
(a) Either sex permit 

October 1, 2009 - January 31, 2010 
(b) Antlerless permit 

               October 1, 2009 - January 31, 2010 
 

4.2.1 In total, Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery deer 
hunters including those with adaptive aid/crossbow permits may purchase 
permits to take a total of three (3) deer. 

 
4.3 Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend:  

September 19-20, 2009 for those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a 
valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License. Junior hunters must be accompanied 
by at least one parent or legal guardian who is at least 21 years of age or older 
and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult may accompany 
no more than two junior hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying 
bows.  Junior hunters may use either sex or antlerless archery permits as 
provided for in 4.1. 

 
4.4 No bow used in hunting deer shall be equipped with any mechanical device for 

drawing or releasing the arrow unless in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4 and 
section 4.4.1 and 4.4.2 of these regulations for those persons meeting the 
disability requirement and those 65 years of age or older.  A bow string release 
device whereby the bow is hand held, hand drawn, and finger released is 
permitted. Hunters with a valid adaptive aid/crossbow permit as defined in section 
4.4.1 and 4.4.2 may utilize adaptive aids. 
 

4.4.1  Special archery adaptive aid/or crossbow deer permits may only be 
 obtained through DEM-Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, 

Providence, RI  02908 (401) 222-3576.  An official application for permit 
issuance signed by a physician for first time applicants is required, 
accompanied by an official document on the physician's printed letterhead, 
stating the certification of disability in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4. A copy 
of the permit will be sufficient in subsequent years for reapplication.  The 
permit card and associated record log must be carried at all times while 
deer hunting with a crossbow or adaptive aids and must be shown to any 
authorized person upon demand.  Crossbow or Adaptive Aid evaluation 
card must be returned by the last day in February to Fish & Wildlife Field 
Headquarters, regardless of success, in order to be eligible in the future.  

 
         4.4.2 Hunters, age 65 or older, are permitted to use adaptive aids without 
                  a special permit. No crossbows permitted. 
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4.5 Archers must use a long bow, re-curve or compound bow capable of not less than 

forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight for archers using fixed blade broadheads, 
and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a mechanical broadhead. 
Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting edges are 
allowed.  All broadheads must be 7/8 of an inch or greater at the widest point. 
Mechanical heads are measured in the “open” position and must be a minimum of 
7/8 of an inch. 

 
 4. 5.1 Only those crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are permitted: 

minimum draw of 150 pounds, minimum width of 24 inches. Expandable 
broadheads meeting the specifications in 4.5 are permitted. However, as 
some crossbow manufacturers specifically recommend against 
mechanicals, nothing in this section should be construed as permitting such 
use.  One (1) field point arrow may be carried in the quiver for the safe 
discharge of the crossbow; the field point arrow must be made 
distinguishable from the crossbow arrow by a color difference.  

 
4.6 A current archery deer permit is required for the archery season. All deer must be 

immediately tagged by the hunter after killing or taking as provided in 1.2 and 
taken by that same hunter to an Environmental Police Officer, or other 
Department designee for checking within 24 hours as provided in 1.2.  

 
4.7 All archers including crossbow deer hunters, when traveling to and from a tree 

stand during the deer muzzleloading season must wear above the waist a 
minimum of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange visible from all 
directions.  A fluorescent orange hat meets this requirement. 
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PART V 

SPECIAL DEER SEASONS 
 
 
Prudence and Patience Islands 
 
5.1 Prudence and Patience Island archery season dates are: 

October 30, 2009 – January 16, 2010. 
 
 5.1.1  Junior Archery – Prudence and Patience Islands archery season dates are 

October 17-18, 2009. 
 

Permit Required: 
A. Either sex – This permit may be purchased at any time. 
B. Antlerless – This permit may be purchased at any time. 

 
         The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands is by 

archery, including crossbows as specifically permitted in sections 4.4.1, 4.4.2 and 
4.5.1. All other archery regulations apply.  Exemption: hunters complying with 
section 5.17 and 5.18 for paraplegic and double amputees may use shotguns as 
permitted in 5.23. 

 
5.2 The limit on Prudence and Patience Islands is one (1) deer of either sex 
          on state land or private land and one (1) antlerless deer on private land for  
          an island total of two (2) deer. 
 
5.3 A Prudence/Patience Island Archery Deer Permit (deer tag) is required to hunt on 

Prudence and Patience Islands. 
 
5.4 While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except for 

those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer season or 
as specified in 4.4 and 4.4.1. 

 
5.5    No reservations will be required on state lands. In addition to the deer tag, archery 

deer hunters on state lands are required to obtain a permit to hunt Prudence and 
Patience Islands. This permit card must be carried in addition to your individual 
deer permits.  Permits must be returned by January 31, 2010 in order to be 
eligible for the next season’s permit. 

 
 State land permits may be obtained by sending a 9 ½ x 4 (LEGAL SIZE) self-

addressed stamped envelope to: Prudence/Patience Islands, RI Division of Fish 
and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892. One request per 
envelope. 
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5.5.1   Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property, December 1-15,     

2009. Archers will be limited to the taking of antlerless deer only.  Archers may 
utilize either sex or antlerless permits provided that they take antlerless deer only. 

  
5.5.2   Reservations are required to hunt the Heritage Property.        

Reservations will be valid for three (3) consecutive days:  
           December 1-3, 4-6, 7-9, 10-12, and 13-15, 2009.   
  

             5.5.3   A lottery system will assign hunters on the Heritage Property during the 
reservation period (see 5.6).  A total of eighteen (18) hunters may be assigned 
per reservation period on the Heritage Property.  Hunters will be provided with a 
map, safety zone and parking restrictions.  Compliance with these and all other 
hunting regulations are required for future hunting privileges on this parcel. 

   
         Lottery applications may be obtained by mailing a request with a self-addressed 

stamped envelope (LEGAL SIZE) to: Heritage Lottery, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892 or you may acquire an application 
online at www.dem.ri.gov.  Application dates will be August 17 through October 16, 
2009. Two (2) individuals may apply on one application; however, an individual may 
only apply once in the lottery system.  Duplicate, illegible, incorrect or incomplete 
forms will be rejected.  The lottery reservation is non-transferable and 
non-negotiable.  In order to be eligible for preferential status for next hunting 
season’s lottery, all hunters, regardless of hunting activity or success must return 
their Hunter Survey Card by Jan. 31, 2010. 

 
          5.6 A quota of 50 deer may be taken on state land to include 25 from the south end, 

or as provided in section 5.9. Hunting on state portions of Prudence and Patience 
Islands will end January 16, 2010 or when quota is reached. 

 
5.7      All deer taken on Prudence Island must be immediately tagged by the hunter and 

checked by that same hunter through the check station designated by the 
Department of Environmental Management, and a leg seal must be attached to 
the deer prior to leaving Prudence Island.  The leg seal must remain attached to 
the deer until processed for consumption. 

  
 5.8    All deer taken on Patience Island must be immediately tagged by the hunter and 

checked by that same hunter through the deer check station on Prudence Island 
or on the mainland by contacting an Environmental Police Officer or other 
department designee within 24 hours after killing or taking.         

 
5.9    The Division of Fish and Wildlife retains the right to alter the number of hunters, 

number of days hunted, and total deer harvested within the above season, if 
conditions warrant. 
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5.10   Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on Patience and 

Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The proficiency card is 
valid for two years from the date of issue and must be carried while hunting. 

 
5.11   For private lands, written permission of the landowner must be obtained, and as 

required by local ordinance, must be countersigned by the Chief of Police or 
his/her representative on the Island. 

 
 5.12  On Prudence Island, during the period October 1, 2009 through January 16, 2010 

inclusive, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, headlights, or 
other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, whether public or 
private, or on any field, woodland, residential property, or forest, or on any building 
or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating, or attempting to spot or locate 
any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited. 

 
5.13  On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife, except 

archery hunting for deer, as provided.  The possession of any firearm at any time 
on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as prescribed during the 
established archery season for deer, is prima-facie evidence of illegal hunting 
(except as provided in section 5.23). 

 
5.14  Waterfowl hunting on Prudence Island: The possession of firearms is permitted 

while en route to or during waterfowl hunting. Waterfowl hunters must possess a 
minimum of six (6) decoys.  No ball ammunition may be possessed.  Possession 
of a loaded firearm more than (10) ten feet above mean high water is prohibited, 
except as provided in sections 9.2, 9.3.3, 9.5, & 11.2.   

 
5.15  Junior Archery Season – Prudence Island: 

Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend; 
October 17-18, 2009 for those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island Junior Hunting License.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at 
least one (1) parent or legal guardian who is at least 21 years of age or older and 
holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult may accompany no 
more than two (2) junior hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying 
bows.  Junior hunters may use either sex or antlerless archery permit as provided 
for in 5.2. 
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Paraplegic and double amputee hunters on Prudence Island, Portsmouth; and 
Fort Greene Army Reserve, Narragansett 
 
5.16   The season for the South End Management Area hunt on Prudence               
           Island will be: October 13-16, 2009 inclusive; and 
  The season for Fort Greene will be: 
  October 20-23, 2009, inclusive, during legal shooting hours.             
           Availability of the Ft. Greene facility may be subject to change. 
 
5.17   The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee hunters only. 

The season bag limit on Prudence is one either-sex.  The season bag limit at 
Fort Greene is one (1) either sex deer. 

 
5.18 A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM Licensing Division, 

235 Promenade St. Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576 by each applicant prior 
to the hunt.  None will be issued on the island.  An application signed by a 
physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of a previous paraplegic/double 
amputee hunting license, is required. Hunters for Fort Greene must also complete 
a registration card and mail it to R.I. Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, W. 
Kingston, RI 02892, ATTN: Fort Greene and postmarked by September 30, 2009. 

 
5.19 None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded firearms at 

any time.  No license is required of the assistants. 
 
5.20 Hunters may participate in either hunt.  Only five (5) hunters will be permitted on 

Fort Greene.  If needed, a lottery will be conducted to choose the five eligible 
hunters.   Hunters will be notified after the selection.  All hunters and assistants 
must register upon entering or leaving either location with the officer-in-charge. 

 
5.21 All deer taken must be checked by an Environmental Police Officer or Department 

designee prior to leaving Prudence Island, or for Fort Greene by a Department 
designee, or at a state certified vendor check station. (Additionally see 1.10) 

 
5.22 All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported as soon as possible to the 

officer-in-charge. 
 
5.23 Ammunition is limited to slugs –10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is allowed 

by special permit only, 00 or larger.  Hunters may use muzzleloading firearms on 
Prudence Island as defined under Muzzleloading Deer Season, as defined in 
section 2.5 and 2.6. 

 
5.24 Once a deer is taken, the successful hunter may no longer carry a firearm in the 

field, but may assist other fellow hunter(s). 
 
5.25 Additional restrictions may be required on Fort Greene. 
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PART VI  

Block Island Deer Season 
 
6.1  Deer hunting season dates for the Town of New Shoreham (Block Island) is as 

follows: 
   
  Archery:     

October 13,14,15,16,19,20,21,22,23,26,28,29,30, 2009. 
November 2,3,4,5,6,9,10,12,13,16,17,19,20, 2009   
       

  Shotgun: 
    November   23 and 24, 2009 
   December    1,2,3,4,7,8,10,11,14,15,17,18,21,22, 2009 
   January        4,5,7,8,11,12,13,14,15,19,21,22,25,26,29, 2010 
   February      1,2,3,4,5,8,9,10,11,12,22,23,24,25,26, 2010. 
 
       Muzzleloader:  (new this year) 
            November 16,17,19,20, 2009 
  
6.2  All state-owned land on Block Island is closed to all deer hunting for the 2009-

2010 season.   
 
6.3      A Block Island archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader deer permit is required to hunt 

on Block Island.  A hunter may purchase five (5) Block Island permits.  After 
checking as provided in section 6.7, a hunter may purchase additional Block 
Island Shotgun, Archery, or Muzzeloader Deer Permits to take additional deer on 
Block Island, but hunters may not possess more than five (5) permits of any type 
at one time.    

 
6.4  Landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is required for all 

hunting.  Landowners may give permission for archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader 
hunting on their property.  Permission will be tracked by the Police Department. 
   

6.5      Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or sabot 
round.  Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauges are allowed.  Buckshot is limited to 
double 00 buck or larger in 12 gauge only,    (new this year) 

 
 
6.6  On Block Island, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 

headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, 
whether public or private, on any field, woodland, residential property, or forest, 
or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating, or 
attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited.  
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6.7  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter killing same 

immediately after taking.  All deer taken on Block Island must be checked by that 
same hunter through the designated check stations and a leg seal must be 
attached to the deer prior to leaving the island, and within twenty-four (24) hours 
of taking.  The leg seal must remain attached to the deer until processed for 
consumption.  

 
6.8  Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer on 

Block Island.  The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the date of issue.  
The proficiency card must be carried while hunting. 

 
6.9     All other deer regulations apply.  Equipment permitted for archery season 
          include crossbows and adaptive aids as described in sections 4.4.1, 4.4.2,       
          4.5 and 4.5.1. 
 
6.10 All deer hunters must wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange. 
 
6.11    Designated town lands will be open to hunting during the last two (2) weeks of 

the season on: February 8,9,10,11,12,22,23,24,25,26, 2009. 
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PART VII  
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS 

 
7.1  Northwest Cooperative – The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting permits 

serve as written permission for hunting this private land.  These permits must be 
carried in addition to your individual deer permits. Turkey hunting is also 
permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid license and turkey permit.  No 
additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys. 

 
  7.1.1 Deer hunters must have Special Permits to hunt the Northwest 

Cooperative.  A permit is required for each season: Archery, Muzzleloader, and 
Shotgun. The Division reserves the right to alter the number of hunters, permits, 
or days of hunting as conditions warrant.  Permits must be returned by February 
15, 2010.  Hunters must return permit to be eligible for the next season's permit.  
(Reference 2.1) 

 
  7.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by sending 

a (LEGAL SIZE) self-addressed stamped envelope to: NORTHWEST COOP, R.I. 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  
Indicate the permit type (e.g. archery, muzzleloader, and/or shotgun).  

 
 
7.2  Francis Carter Preserve Cooperative Hunting Area is restricted to archery 

hunting of deer from November 1 – December 31, 2009 and as provided in 
sections 7.2.1 through 7.2.5 of these regulations.  No hunting of any other 
species of wildlife is permitted.  All regulations in General Deer Part I and 
Archery Deer Part IV of these regulations shall apply. 

 
  7.2.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. No vehicles of any 

kind are allowed on the property. 
 
  7.2.2    The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  The 

use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.  
Climbing tree stands are permitted.  Tree stands must be removed at the end of 
the season. 

 
  7.2.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Carter 

Preserve.  The proficiency cards are valid for two years from the date of issuance 
and must be carried while hunting.  Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter 
Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency cards are permitted. 

 
  7.2.4 A Carter Preserve Hunting Permit is required and will serve as written 

permission to hunt this private land.  This permit must also be carried while 
hunting. 

 
  7.2.5 No lottery will be conducted this season. However, all hunters must obtain 

a permit in addition to their archery deer permits. Permits are non-transferable.  
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Requests for permits are available by sending a self-addressed stamped 
envelope to RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, RI 02892.  All requests must contain your name, address, current 
hunting license number and current archery proficiency number. One request per 
envelope.  Hunters must return their permit by January 15, 2010 regardless of 
activity or success, to be eligible for the next season’s hunt. 

 
7.3  Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area 
  November 9, 2009 – January 31, 2010.  No hunting on weekends prior to 

December 31, 2009.  The Jamestown (Conanicut Island) either sex, and 
antlerless archery deer permits are valid for this season. 

 
  7.3.1  No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.  All regulations in 

General Deer Part I and Archery Deer Part IV of these regulations shall apply.   
 
  7.3.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.  
 
  7.3.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  The 

use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.  
Climbing tree stands are permitted and must be removed at the end of the 
season. 

 
  7.3.4 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Beavertail 

Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area.  The proficiency cards are valid for two 
(2) years from the date of issuance and must be carried while hunting.  Either 
Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency 
cards are permitted. 

 
 7.3.5 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is required 

and will serve as written permission to hunt this property.  The permit can be 
obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station.  This permit must also be 
carried while hunting.  Hunters must return their card regardless of activity or 
success by February 15, 2010 in order to be eligible for next season. 

 
 7.3.6 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee is 

required.  Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the police 
station.  Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come first served 
basis.  Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no more than twenty (20) 
days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled.  Successful hunters must also 
cancel any reserved slots. Hunters will be provided with a map, safety zone and 
parking restrictions.  Compliance with these and all other hunting regulations is 
required for future hunting privileges on this parcel.  The number of hunters and 
days of hunting are subject to change. 

 
 7.3.7 All Beavertail Coop hunting subject to federal approval. 
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7.4  Grills Preserve Cooperative Hunting Permit 
 
  7.4.1 Hunting for white-tailed deer and wild turkey is permitted at the Grills 

Preserve-Westerly Land Trust Property located west of Bowling Lane and Route 
91 in Bradford, RI.  Special permits to hunt Grills preserve may be obtained from 
RIDEM Fish and Wildlife. Permits available after September 1st, and may be 
obtained by sending a self-addressed (LEGAL SIZE) stamped envelope to: 
GRILLS PRESERVE COOP, R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck 
Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  

 
7.4.2 Hunting is permitted only during the archery and state and private 
muzzleloader portions of the deer season in accordance with the Rules and 
Regulations set forth by RI DEM as specified in sections 2.1 and 4.1.  
 
7.4.3 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the established 
turkey seasons by RI DEM as specified in sections 10.1-10.3.  
 
7.4.4 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the 
conclusion of the spring turkey season. 

 
 
7.5 Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area – North Camp Portion 
 

7.5.1 Hunting by permit only available from the RI DEM Division of Fish and 
Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, R.I. 02892 either in person or by mail with a self-addressed stamped 
envelope. 

 
7.5.2 Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as 
marked on map enclosed with permit. 

 
7.5.3 The following are PROHIBITED: 

 
A. Hunting birds on or within 100 yards of the shore of Watchaug Pond or 

Poiquiant Brook as referenced in RIGL 20-14-8. 
B. Hunting birds in that portion of the park west of Watchaug Pond, west 

of Poiquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road as referenced in 
RIGL 20-14-8.1.
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PART VIII  

*MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS 
 

*Subject to Federal Approval 
 
8.1 Mourning Doves -The open season for mourning doves is statewide: 
 
 September 19 – October 3, 2009, inclusive; 
 October 17 – November 15, 2009, and 
 December 24, 2009 - January 7, 2010, inclusive. 
 
 Shooting hours are: 
 First split: noon to sunset.  
 Second and third split: sunrise to sunset. 
 Daily bag/possession limits: 12/24 
 
8.2 Rails -The open season for rails is: 
 September 5, 2009 – November 13, 2009, inclusive. 
 Daily bag/possession limits: 
 King & Clapper Rail - 1/2, singly or in aggregate 
 Sora & Virginia Rail - 3/6, singly or in aggregate 
 
8.3 Common snipe:  The open season for common snipe is: 

 September 5 – November 13, 2009  
 Daily bag/possession limits: 5/10 

 
8.4 Woodcock:  The open season for woodcocks is: 
 November 1 – November 30, 2009  
 Daily bag/possession limits: 3/6 
 
8.5 Crows:  The open season for crows is: 

August 14 – October 4, 2009 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
October 17 – November 22, 2009, all-inclusive. 
December 18, 2009 – April 19, 2010 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
 
8.5.1   The hunting season for crows on state lands shall be from the beginning of 
dove hunting season in September to the last day of February. Hunting hours for 
crows are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.  Except on Northern 
Prudence Island Management Area, the season is January 4-31, 2010 inclusive.  
No daily bag or possession limit. 
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8.6  Non-toxic Shot Requirements:  No person shall take or attempt to take 
         waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including Narragansett 

Bay and its coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while possessing shells loaded 
with any shot other than non toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, 
tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-nickel-iron shot) and other shot 
as approved by USFWS.  All shot larger than BB is prohibited, including 
duplex loads containing shot larger than BB. 

 
8.7  Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds and 

waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A through N) of the 
U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, made under the 
provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and waterfowl.  A HIP 
permit is required for hunting all migratory birds. HIP permits will be available at 
local vendors.  Instructions and details will be available prior to the seasons.  In 
addition, hunters must purchase a federal and state duck stamp to hunt waterfowl. 

 
 8.8   Canada Goose:  The open season for Canada goose is:  
  September 1 - 30, 2009.   
 
  Daily bag limit is 15/30 in possession [subject to Federal approval]. 
 

A permit must be obtained from the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife prior to hunting 
during the special September Canada Goose Season by sending a LEGAL SIZE 
self-addressed stamped envelope to: RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great 
Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892 and must be returned per date designated 
on permit regardless of hunting success. One request per envelope.  Hunters must 
return the permit to be eligible for the 2009 Special Goose Season to above 
address.   

 
8.9 Sea Ducks: The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is:  
 October 10, 2009– January 24, 2010 
 Daily bag/possession limits 5/10, no more than four (4) of which may be any one 

species.  
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PART IX 
UPLAND GAME 

 
9.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals, except dove, turkey, 

migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon will be sunrise to sunset, except as 
otherwise provided.  On October 17, 2009 legal shooting hours will be 7:00 AM to 
sunset. (See 13.2.1.) 

 
 9.2 Open season for Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits, and 

Snowshoe Hare is as follows: 
 
 October 17, 2009 through the last day of February, EXCEPT, during the state land 

portion of the shotgun deer season (December 5-13, 2009).  State land will 
remain open during the private land portions of the shotgun deer season (see 
Section 3.1B).  Provided, however, that small game hunting is prohibited on 
private land during the shotgun deer hunting season as described in section 3.1B. 

 
 Prudence Island: 

      November 1, 2009 - November 30, 2009 EXCEPT on 
              Northern Prudence Island Management Area the season is: 
              January 4 - 31, 2010 inclusive.  South Prudence and  
              Patience Management Areas closed to shotgun small game hunting. 

   
      Daily Bag limits: 

      Cottontail rabbits – three (3) 
      Snowshoe hare – one (1) 
      Gray squirrels – five (5) 
      There is no bag limit for fox. 
 
9.3 Open season for Ruffed Grouse, Bobwhite Quail, & Pheasant is as follows: 
  
 Ruffed Grouse & Quail: October 17 – November 29, 2009. 

Ruffed grouse hunting is CLOSED in the Arcadia Management Area. 
Ring-neck Pheasant: October 17, 2009 – January 20, 2010.  
(See 9.3.1 and 9.3.2)  
 
Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: October 10 & 11, 2009  
(See 9.3.5) 

 
Closed during state land shotgun deer season, December 5-13, 2009, and during 
the private land shotgun deer season as described in section 3.1B. 
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9.3.1  Pheasant Permit: 

Hunters are required to purchase a pheasant permit ($15.50) of six (6) 
tags in order to hunt pheasants.  Upon harvesting a pheasant, hunter must 
detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag to the bird’s leg.  
Pheasant(s) in possession without an attached pheasant tag will be in 
violation of regulations.  Hunters may purchase multiple pheasant permits 
per season. 

 
9.3.2  Season and Bag Limits 

   Ring-neck Pheasant: two (2) birds daily.  
     Ruffed Grouse: one (1) bird daily 

   Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds daily 
    

9.3.3  Prudence Island: 
November 1 - 30, 2009 - EXCEPT that on northern Prudence Island 
Management Area the season is January 4 – 31, 2010, inclusive.  South 
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small 
game hunting. 

 
9.3.4     On New Shoreham (Block Island), the open season on male ring-necked 

pheasants, with a daily limit of two (2) male pheasants, is as follows: 
     November 18 and 25, 2009 
     December 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, 2009 

             January 6, 20, 27, 2010 
   

  Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants 
 

9.3.5    Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: 
 
            Pheasant hunting is permitted during the special Junior Pheasant Hunting 

Weekend, October 10 & 11, 2009 for those junior hunters in possession of 
a valid Rhode Island Hunting License and a 2009 pheasant permit.  Junior 
hunters must be accompanied by at least (1) one parent or legal guardian, 
age 21 years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license.  An 
adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time. 
The accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting 
pheasant.  Hunting will only be permitted at the Great Swamp 
Management Area in West Kingston and at Durfee Hill Management Area 
in Glocester.  Pheasant stamps are required (see 9.3.1)   Bag limit is (2) 
two pheasants per day.  Registration is required no later than September 
10, 2009.  Adults may call Fish & Wildlife Field Headquarters at 789-0281 
or Hunter Education at -782-4828 for information.  A limit of 50 parties per 
management will be permitted. In the event of fiscal constraints, the 
program may be altered.   
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 9.4    No person shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant without 
having a valid game propagation permit in his/her possession. 

 
  9.4.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged upon harvest  
  for identification with a tag supplied by the Division, at cost to the   
  game propagation permittee. 
  
  9.4.2 Permits for propagated pheasant hunting are available from the 

Division of Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 
02908.  Such permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the applicant 
has met each of the following requirements: 

 
a. Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee. 
b. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club at 

the time of the application or application of renewal.  
c. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club 

owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five (25) or more 
acres at the time of the application or application of renewal. 
(hereinafter referred to as the ‘site’). 

 
  9.4.3 Each game propagation permittee must keep an accurate record of all 

pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how many released 
and when released; and how many taken on the site.  Permittee must 
provide this information to the Department within twenty-four (24) hours of 
the receipt of a request for such records from a Department staff member or 
no later than March 15th following the closure of the season. 

 
 9.4.4 Each game propagation permittee is authorized to release and harvest 

pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season provided above 
in Section 9.3 for the taking on the site by club members and their guests 
provided the following restrictions are observed: 

 
  a. Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode Island 

license. Hunters are not required to have a state pheasant permit; 
however, hunters must tag each harvested pheasant with the game 
propagation tag as required in 9.4.1 and 9.4.2. 
 

 b. Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant provided   
above in 9.3.2, i.e., no more than two (2) may be harvested on the site 
during any day per hunter. 
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 9.4.5 If a game propagation permittee is found to have provided false    

information    in conjunction with its application pursuant to Section 9.4.2, fails to 
comply with Section 9.4.3, or if it or a member or guest violates Section 9.4.3, 
the subject permit shall be revoked for the remainder of the season and the 
action of the permittee or its member shall be considered if and when the 
permittee applies for re-issuance of a permit.  Pursuant to RI Gen. Laws, 
Chapter 42-17.7, a permittee who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to 
revoke the subject’s permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek 
such hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within twenty (20) calendar 
days of receipt of notice of revocation. A permittee who feels aggrieved by a 
permit denial and seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by 
filing a written request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt 
of the contested agency action. 

 
9.5    The hunting seasons on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings, and 

rock doves is closed on Prudence Island at all times, EXCEPT during the period 
November 1 through November 30, annually, or as otherwise provided.  South 
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small game 
hunting.  See 11.9.1.1 on coyote hunting on Prudence Island. 

 
   9.6  The hunting of any species of wildlife EXCEPT white-tailed deer, coyote, and 

waterfowl as provided, or as otherwise provided, is prohibited in Providence, 
Kent, Washington, Newport, and Bristol Counties during the annual shotgun 
deer season. 
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PART X 
WILD TURKEY 

 
10.1 Season bag and possession limits: One (1) bearded turkey in the spring season 

and (1) either sex turkey in the fall season.  A separate permit must be 
purchased to hunt in each season.  Refer to 7.1, 7.4 and 7.5 for additional 
permits on cooperative hunting areas. 

 
10.2     Spring Turkey Seasons Dates:  
 

A. Special Season - Paraplegic hunters April 24 and 25, 2010  
B. Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend - April 24 and 25, 2010  
C. Statewide: April 29 – May 25, 2010 

 
10.3 Fall Archery Season:   
 
           October 1 – 28, 2009 

 
10.4 Special Paraplegic Season: 
 

 10.4.1   A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM-RI Division of 
Fish and Wildlife. Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic hunters 
only. 

 
 10.4.2   An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required.  

Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing. 
 
  10.4.3   None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms 

at any time. 
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 10.5     Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend:
 

10.5.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting 
Weekend for those junior hunters, (ages 12-14), in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island hunting license.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at 
least one parent or legal guardian at least 21 years of age or older who 
holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult may 
accompany no more than two junior hunters at one time.  The 
accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying firearms and bows. 

 
10.5.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year. 

 
             10.5.3 An adult accompanying a junior hunter may not carry a bow or firearm   
              while hunting, but is permitted to assist the junior in calling the bird. 

 
   10.6    The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the number of    

hunting days at any time. 
 
10.7     The hunting of wild turkey is allowed in the following areas: Providence County; 
             Kent County; Washington County; as well as Tiverton and Little Compton in          

Newport County. 
 
10.8     Hunting hours:  Spring hunting hours are one half hour before sunrise to 
            1:00 P.M.  Eastern Daylight Time, daily, provided that all hunters leave the 
            woods no later than 1:00 P.M.  Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before 
            sunrise until sunset. 
 
10.9    Authorized firearms and archery equipment:  The methods of taking are limited to 

shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 magnum 
loads only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long bow (straight limb, 
reflex, re-curve, and compound bow) of not less than forty (40) pounds pull, and 
broadhead arrows with at least two cutting edges seven eighths inches (7/8") or 
greater at the widest point.  A bowstring release device where the bow is hand 
held, hand drawn and finger released is allowed. Legal bows must meet the 
definition of a legal bow in sections 4.5 and 4.5.1.  Crossbows not permitted.  
Possession of a firearm while archery hunting for turkey is prohibited. 

 
10.10   Prohibited Activities: 
 

 10.10.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative drive(s)  
  electric calling devices or any other devices to capture or ensnare turkeys is 
prohibited. 
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  10.10.2 Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is prohibited. 
 
            10.10.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a turkey 
             calling device (non-electric).  Calling is the only legal method for hunting wild 

turkey.  An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting license may call turkeys 
for hunters with a valid turkey permit. 

 
            10.10.4 A person is prohibited from hunting, killing, taking or attempt to take, or 
             possessing any wild turkey unless they possess on their person a valid R.I. 
             hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit.   
 
10.11  Checking Requirements:  A person killing a wild turkey must immediately sign, 

complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey tag provided 
with the permit.  The tag must remain attached to the turkey and presented to 
an authorized check station within 24 hours. The Division retains the right to 
sample any and all tissues deemed necessary. The tag must remain attached 
until the carcass is prepared for consumption or taxidermy.      

 
10.12 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person purchasing a 

turkey permit.  This hunter survey must be returned to the Division within ten 
(10) days of the end of the season whether or not you hunt or were successful. 
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PART XI 
FURBEARERS 

 
11.1    Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1. 
 
11.2   Raccoon - 

Open Season - The open season for raccoon is from 6:00 PM October 1, 2009 
through the last day of February 2010, inclusive; excluding the period of 
Shotgun Deer Season: December 5 – December 20 and December 26 and 27, 
2009, January 2 and 3, 2010 statewide. Raccoon season will remain open 
December 14-20, 2009 on State Management Areas.  That portion of 
Providence County east of the Blackstone River will remain open to raccoon 
hunting during the shotgun deer season.  

 
   Bag Limits - There is no season limit on raccoon.  There are no limits to the 

taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under special permit on 
Prudence and Patience Islands.  There is no bag limit. 

 
11.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is limited to 

January 4, 2010 through the last day of February 2010, inclusive, with 
written permission of the landowner. Bow hunters with a valid deer archery 
permit may take raccoon on Prudence Island during legal deer hunting 
hours October 23, 2009 – January 3, 2010 or until the quota is filled.   

 
Bag Limits – There are no limits to the taking of raccoon by bow hunters 
as provided above, or under special permit on Prudence and Patience 
Islands. 

 
11.3 The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum, rabbit, 

raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1, 2009 – January 31, 2010 inclusive.  
Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day, 
November 1st, annually. 
 
11.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1, 2009– 

February 28, 2010, inclusive.  The trapping season for beaver on state 
management areas is December 1, 2009 – February 28, 2010 inclusive. 
Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day. 
Setting traps within ten (10) feet of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, 
unless specifically allowed under a nuisance permit. All trappers 
participating in beaver trapping must first obtain both a Special Permit (no 
fee) issued by the Division of Fish and Wildlife Field Headquarters as well 
as a current RI Trapping License. There is a bag limit of twenty (20) 
beaver. 
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11.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1- 21, 2009, 
inclusive.  All trappers participating in the fisher trapping season must obtain a 
special permit (no fee) from the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field 
Headquarters in addition to their current R.I. trapping license.  The season limit 
for fisher is four (4) per permit.  All fisher pelts must be presented for tagging, in 
accordance with fisher permit requirements but no later than December 30, 2009. 
In addition, all fisher carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the 
Division, must be turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp 
Field Headquarters.  No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the 
carcass or required parts to Fish and Wildlife.  A trapper survey card will be 
issued to each permittee and must be returned to the Division at the close of 
fisher season.  The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the right to alter the 
number of permits or the number of fisher harvested at any time.  All other 
general trapping regulations apply. All permittees may be subject to 
administrative penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation of any of these 
regulations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17-6. 

 
        11.3.3   There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands.  The trapping 

season for coyotes on state lands is November 1st to January 31st inclusive.  The 
use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or snares (RIGL 20-16-6) is prohibited.  All 
other general trapping regulations apply. 

 
11.4 Body gripping "Conibear" type traps in sizes 110, 120, or 160 (or equivalent) not 

to exceed 6½ inch jaw spread as measured from hinge to hinge), are permitted 
on land or in water; Size 220 (or its equivalent, not to exceed 8 inch jaw spread) 
is permitted only if such trap is completely submerged in water, or placed at least 
six (6) feet above the surface of water or ground (i.e., trees).  All other "Conibear" 
type traps are prohibited except as provided in 11.4.1 and 11.5. 

 
11.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of 220 and 330 "Conibear" type traps are 
 permitted, only, if such traps are completely submerged underwater and in     
           a vertical position.  Trap jaw spread not to exceed 10 inch opening when set. 
            

11.5  Permits to trap state land are required in addition to a current Rhode Island 
trapping license, and are obtainable from the Division of Fish and Wildlife Field 
Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, West Kingston, RI.  Only the use 
of body-gripping (i.e., conibear) type traps or “box” (i.e., live) traps are permitted 
on state lands as specified.  Body-gripping traps, sizes 110, 120, or 160 or 
equivalent, are permitted only if such traps are used in water sets (i.e., all or a 
portion of the trap is submerged in water) or placed no less than six (6) feet above 
the surface of the ground.  The use of body gripping traps, size 220 and 330 or 
their equivalent (jaw spread not to exceed ten (10) inches is only permitted if such 
traps are completely submerged in water (in a vertical position).  All traps placed 
on state lands must be affixed with the name, address and Rhode Island trapping   
license number of the owner. 
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11.6 All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or cut into 
the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, bears the 
trapper's license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7. 

 
11.7 There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra canadensis). 
 
11.8 Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat or beaver 

that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is prima-facie 
evidence of illegal taking. Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-16-
8 or otherwise, shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership and must be 
presented to the Division of Fish and Wildlife or the Division of Law Enforcement 
within 24 hours of taking.  Beaver and fishers must be tagged in accordance with 
11.3.1 and 11.3.2, respectively. 

 
11.9 There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private lands.  

During the firearms seasons for deer, all coyote hunters must possess a valid 
shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit for their respective seasons.  The legal 
hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset.  The use of electronic calls or decoys for hunting coyotes is 
permitted.  There is no bag limit on woodchuck or coyote.  Refer to RIGL 20-13-13 
for firearms restrictions. 

 
11.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the 
beginning of dove hunting season in September to the last day in February 
inclusive and during the open spring turkey hunting season. The hunting 
season for coyotes on Prudence Island shall be:  On state land during archery 
season with a valid archery permit, during the upland game season on private 
land, November 1 – November 30, 2009 and on N. Prudence Management 
Area during upland season, January 4 – January 31, 2010. 
 

  11.9.2   During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid 
turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands. 
 

 11.9.3  Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square                     
inches of fluorescent orange during the small game hunting season.   

  During the shotgun deer season, 500 square inches is required. 
 

     11.9.4   The placement or use of bait or carcasses for purposes of hunting 
               coyotes on state lands are prohibited. 
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11.10  It is unlawful to take or possess a road-killed furbearer unless with        

possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is taken 
during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the provisions 
of a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (RIGL 20-1-18). 
Exceptions may be granted at the discretion of the Division. 

 
 11.11  The translocation of protected furbearers (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited without 

prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife. 
 

 11.12 The use of “species specific” type traps as described in the definitions 
              section of these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private and 

state lands.  A legal species specific trap is characterized by all of the following:  
 
 11.12.1 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing. 
 
      11.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a     

single opening when set; 
 
  11.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter; 
 
      11.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force. 

 
     11.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system. 
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PART XII  
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 

 
 
 
12.1 The removal from the wild, for any purposes, of any reptile or amphibian (except 

bullfrogs, green frogs, and snapping turtles) to include their nests and eggs is 
prohibited except by special permit.  The taking of snapping turtles at any time is 
limited to the following methods:  turtle traps, snagging, snaring, grabbing, 
jugging, bow and arrow, or while legally fishing.  Turtle traps must have a metal 
tag attached, which, at a minimum, bears the trapper's name and address.  Jugs 
must be marked indelibly with name and address of trapper.  The taking of 
snapping turtles for commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit. 

 
12.2 The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and eggs 

are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times:  Timber 
rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus; northern diamondback terrapin, Malaclemys 
terrapin; wood turtle, Clemmys insculpta; eastern box turtle, Terrapene carolina; 
spotted turtle, Clemmys guttata; and bog turtle, Clemmys muhlenbergi. 

 
12.3 The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is prohibited. 
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PART XIII  

MANAGEMENT AREAS 
 
13.1 The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting and 

fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt State Management Areas, and Tidal 
Lands pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 18, §§ 20-18-2 and 20-18-3 of the RI 
General Laws. 

 
13.2  Permit is valid from the first day of dove season in September through the last 

day of February, except when check stations are in operation for upland game at 
the Great Swamp, Carolina, Durfee Hill, and Arcadia; for turkey hunting; when 
special permits are required for deer hunting; or for waterfowl hunting on state 
lands. (See current abstract for check station dates). Bow hunters and 
muzzleloading hunters hunting deer on state management areas do not need to 
check in or out. 

 
  13.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation are 

subject to change. Notification will be provided by signage and news release.  In 
addition, management areas may be closed for pheasant stocking at noon until 
sunset, Friday,10/9/09; Tuesdays and Fridays from 10/13/09 until 11/20/09; 
Wednesday, 11/25/09; and Fridays beginning12/4/09 until the close of season 
1/15/10.   

 
13.3  The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is 

prohibited except as provided in Management Area Regulations 11.1. On 
management areas and designated undeveloped parks, the carrying of firearms 
and bows and arrows at any time, except during the open season for game birds 
and mammals, and while on shooting ranges, is prohibited.  In addition to above, 
blank guns are permitted for the purpose of dog training in designated areas from 
January 1 to September 30. 

 
13.4  Individuals must check in, and out, of state management hunter check stations 

each day they are open for upland season.  Check station dates will be listed in 
the current Hunting Season Abstract.  See section 9.1 for upland game hours. 

 
13.5  Dog training and all hunting, except for bow hunting for deer, and waterfowl 

hunting, as provided, is prohibited on state land during the period of October 12-
16, 2009 unless otherwise provided. 

 
13.6  From the period April 1 through August 15, annually, the following are prohibited 

except by special permit: trespassing, disturbing, or molesting of any species of 
nesting birds on Hope Island in the West Passage, East Island and West Island 
off Sakonnet Point, or Gould Island in the East Passage.  All cats, dogs, and 
other domestic animals are prohibited at all times upon these Islands, except that 
hunting dogs may be used during that period set aside by the Department for 
hunting of game birds and mammals on Hope Island only. 
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13.7 All users of State Management Areas and undeveloped State Parks are required 

to wear solid daylight fluorescent orange during appropriate seasons; see Part 
14.5.6 for details. 

 
13.8  The possession and/or use of paint guns on state management areas are 

prohibited. See RIGL § 32-2-4. 
 
13.9  A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state  

management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field trials. 
 
13.10  Complete dressing of game birds and mammals on state property is prohibited.  

Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted.  Head, skin, feathers, 
wings, tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass. 

 
13.11 Dogs on State Management Areas allowed only under the following rules. 
 

 13.11.1 No dogs are allowed to be trained, run, exercised, or be permitted to 
run at large on state management areas from March 15 to August 15, 
inclusive, without written permission of the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
except as otherwise provided in these regulations (13.5 and 13.12). 

 
 13.11.2  Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than 25 feet in length is 

permitted on roads and trails only. 
 

 13.11.3  All dogs must be wearing a collar with the name and address of the 
owner or handler and license tag. 

 
     13.12 Dog Training Areas—Dog training is allowed on designated areas only,   

between January 1 and September 30.  During this period, dogs may run freely 
provided they are under the command of the trainer by voice, training collar, or 
check cord. 
 

 13.12.1   Areas designated for training dogs are: the Black Farm Management 
                Area; the Nicholas Farm Management Area north of the Trestle Trail; 

and the Arcadia Midway Trail Area confined to the developed field 
complex east of Brook Trail, south of Austin Farm Road and west of 
the established field edges comprising the Midway fields area.  Field 
trial areas are as depicted on maps drawn by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife. 

 
  13.12.2 Training hours are sunrise to sunset. 
 
  13.12.3 All persons using areas for training must possess a hunting license.  
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 13.12.4  All dogs using areas must be licensed and have proof of rabies 

vaccinations. 
 

 13.12.5  Training with live birds (pheasants/quail) is permitted provided the bird 
is released unharmed and all necessary permits are obtained. 

 
 13.12.6  Shooting of live birds for training purposes is prohibited. 

 
 13.12.7  Sanctioned field trial events may be held at the following locations by 

requesting a special permit from the Division of Fish and Wildlife: 
Arcadia, Carolina, Durfee Hill Marsh, and Burlingame (Durfee) Pond, 
and Nicholas Farm. 

 
13.13 JOHN L. CURRAN STATE PARK/MANAGEMENT AREA  
 

 13.13.1  All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the buffer zones 
marked as posted by the Department. 

 
 13.13.2  Only shotguns and bow & arrows may be possessed or used while 

hunting.  
 

 13.13.3  The hunting of and/or possession of Mourning Dove or Wild Pigeons 
(Rock Dove) is prohibited. 

 
13.14  SIMMONS MILL POND MANAGEMENT AREA – Only archery equipment, bow 

and arrows, may be possessed or used while hunting white-tailed deer within the 
Simmons Mill Pond Management Area in Little Compton.  Sunday hunting will be 
allowed. 

 
13.15 DUTCH ISLAND 

 The entry upon Dutch Island is prohibited.  No person is allowed to enter onto 
Dutch Island without the specific written permission of the Director. 

 
13.16 SEAPOWET and EIGHT ROD FARM MANAGEMENT AREA: 

Sunday hunting will be allowed within the Eight Rod Farm Management Area.  
No Sunday hunting will be allowed at Sapowet.  No shotgun and/or muzzleloader 
deer hunting on Sapowet. 

  
13.17 GEORGE WASHINGTON GROVE:  Designated as an undeveloped state  

park and is open to hunting. 
 

13.18  GALILEE BIRD SANCTUARY: Open to archery deer hunting only.  
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PART XIV 
GENERAL 

 
14.1   Taking of moose or bear by any method is prohibited except as provided under 

special permit issued by the Director of the Department of Environmental 
Management. 

 
14.2  The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale, offer 

for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is prohibited, 
except by special permit issued by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Management or his/her designee. 

 
14.3  The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale, barter, 

or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a wild turkey is 
prohibited.  The possession of any dead untagged wild turkey is prohibited. 

 
14.4 There is no closed season for monk parakeets or rock doves (wild pigeons). 
 
14.5 Fluorescent Orange Requirement:  Fluorescent orange safety clothing is required 

during the hunting season statewide for all hunters.  To meet this requirement, 
safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange.  Fluorescent 
camouflage does not meet this requirement.  The hunter orange must be worn 
above the waist and be visible in all directions.  Examples that meet the orange 
requirements are a hat that covers 200 square inches or combination of hat and 
vest covering 500 square inches.  The following orange requirements apply: 

 
  14.5.1  Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during   the 

small game season.  
 

   14.5.2  Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while 
                traveling. 
 

   14.5.3  Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloaders during 
               muzzleloading deer season. 
 
 14.5.4  Two hundred (200) square inches by archers when traveling 
              to/from stands during muzzleloading deer season. 
 

   14.5.5  Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users 
(including archers) during shotgun deer seasons. 
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14.5.6    Exempt from fluorescent orange requirements are:  

               - waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or 
  field, when done in conjunction with decoys.  
           - archery deer hunters (except during muzzleloader and shotgun 
  deer season). 
           - hunters crow hunting over decoys. 
           - spring turkey hunters and  
           - first segment dove hunters. 

    - not required in areas limited to Archery only by regulation. 
 

14.5.7 All other users of State Management areas and undeveloped State 
Parks, including but not limited to hikers, bikers, and horseback riders, 
are required to wear two hundred (200) square inches of solid daylight 
fluorescent orange from the third Saturday in October to the last day of 
February, and the last Thursday in April to the last day in May, annually.  

 
14.6  All dogs being utilized in hunting activities must wear a collar with a valid license 

tag, and the name and address of the owner or handler.  
 
14.7  Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high water on 

Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as established by 
federal regulation and during November 1 - 30.  

 
14.8  Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone line, 

pole, or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication device is 
prohibited. 

 
14.9 A muzzleloading rifle, not to exceed .40 caliber with round ball and patch    

 only, may be used to hunt small mammals during the established seasons for 
these species.  The use of solid ball in a muzzleloading shotgun is prohibited at 
all times, except when deer hunting as provided. 

 
14.10 Air gun rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals:  gray squirrels, 

red squirrels, woodchucks, cottontail rabbits, and snowshoe hare provided that 
the air guns are a minimum of .177 caliber and not larger than .22; a minimum of 
750 FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger. 
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14.11 The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night- vision 
equipment while hunting is prohibited. During the period October 1, 2009 through 
January 31, 2010, casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, headlights, or 
other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, whether public or private or 
on any field, woodland, residential property or forest, on any building or farm animal, for 
the purpose of spotting, locating or attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild 
bird is prohibited. 
 
14.12 It is prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of liberation or 
stocking of said game birds into the State of Rhode Island without first having received 
a permit to do so from the Division of Fish and Wildlife.  Persons holding a commercial 
game license or shooting preserve license may liberate game birds or mammals in 
connection with field trials and shooting preserves.  (See RIGL 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 
20-17-1). 

 
14.13  Feeding and baiting wildlife in Rhode Island: feeding wild waterfowl, wild turkey 
or wild cervids, black bear and coyote is not permitted any time in the state of Rhode 
Island except: 

 
14.14   Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to RI General 
Laws §20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research within an enclosed pen; 
 

 14.14.1 By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly associated with    
  bona fide agricultural practices, including planted wildlife food plots; 

 
 14.14.2 By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated with  
  bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food material for legally 
  possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a permit; 

 
  14.14.3 By cutting of trees or brush; or 

 
                    14.14.4 Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms or suet 
                     for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. 

 
14.14.5 Baiting coyotes on private land for purposes of hunting. 
 

14.14 Distribution of Certain Food Material – Feeding wild or captive cervids with 
any material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is prohibited. 
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RULE 8 EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

The foregoing Rules and Regulations - Hunting Regulations after due notice, are 
hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become effective 20 days 
after filing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 20-1-2 20-1-4, 20-1-8, 20-
1-12, 20-1-13, 20 -18, and 42-35 of the General Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, as 
amended. 
 

 
 
      _____________________________ 
   W. Michael Sullivan, Ph.D. Director 

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 
 
 
 
 
Notice Given: 06/05/2009 
Public Hearing: 07/08/2009 
 
Filing Date:  07/22/2009 
Effective Date: 08/11/2009 
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