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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

FISH AND WILDLIFE

R.l. Hunting Regulations
for the 2007 - 2008 Season

RULE 1 PURPOSE
The purpose of these rules and regulations is to establish hunting
seasons; to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the
manner of hunting in order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources
of Rhode Island.

RULE 2 AUTHORITY
These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42-
17.1, Department of Environmental Management, and Sections 20-1-2;
20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12; 20-1-13; 20-18-1, and in accordance with
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the Rhode Island General
Laws of 1956, as amended.

RULE 3 APPLICATION
The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be
liberally construed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes
of state law, goals, and policies.

RULE 4 SEVERABILITY
If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof
to any person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent
jurisdiction, the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations
shall not be affected thereby.

RULE 5 SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS
On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous
Rules and Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration
and enforcement of Hunting Regulations shall be superseded.
However, any enforcement action taken by, or application submitted to,
the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules and
Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at
the time the enforcement action was taken, or application filed.
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RULE 6 DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have the
following meanings:

antlerless deer - deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3)
inches in length.

bearded turkey - a turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff
filament-like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center of
the chest.

box trap - any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by
confinement in box or cage.

conibear-type trap - "conibear" model traps and similar body-gripping
traps and devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box,
tube, or other enclosing device.

crosshow - a bow and string (either compound or recurve) that launches
an arrow, mounted upon a stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string
and limbs under tension until released. The trigger unit must have a
working safety. The minimum crossbow, arrow, and blade restrictions are
further described in Part 4 of these regulations.

daylight fluorescent orange - the color orange having a dominant wave
length between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less
than 85 percent, and a lumination factor not less than 40 percent.

driving deer/cooperative drive - to pursue, drive, chase, or otherwise
frighten or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons
known to be waiting for a deer.

feeding/baiting - the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing,
distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the
availability of such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material.

foothold — the nomenclature for a foothold trap is equivalent to that of
leghold trap, as described in RIGL 20-16-8, including those foothold traps
with padded jaws.

jack-lighting - the use (by an individual or in conjunction with others) of
an artificial light at any time to illuminate, jack light, locate, attempt to
locate, or show up wild birds or mammals or any other vertebrates when
that person or persons have in their actual possession, in the passenger
compartment of their vehicle, or in the storage area of a trunk or van,
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unless locked in a case, a crossbow, long bow (straight limb, reflex, re-
curve, and compound bow) rifle, gun, or pistol, except in accordance with
these rules and regulations.

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island - all of Aquidneck
Island with the exception of the city of Newport.

Mainland - Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties; the towns of Tiverton
and Little Compton; and all of Washington County with the exception of
New Shoreham (Block Island).

paraplegic - an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the
body with involvement of both legs.

proficiency testing - the measurable demonstration of skills with bows
and arrows or firearms using a set of standards as determined by the
hunter education program.

small game season - that period of time beginning the third Saturday in
October and ending the last day in February annually (not withstanding
the regulated shotgun season for deer)

species specific traps - characterized by all of the following: triggering
and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing; triggering and
restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening
when set; the access opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter; the
triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a
swivel mounted anchoring system.

translocation — means the transport and release of live wild animals from
one location to another.

written permission —means annual written permission of the owner of the
land for any current deer season.
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RULE 7 - REGULATIONS

PART |
GENERAL DEER HUNTING REGULATIONS

1.1 A permit must be purchased for each individual deer taken, in accordance
with the bag limits for each season type.

1.2  Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half
hour after sunset. All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the
hunter killing

same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the deer permit for
the specific season (i.e., shotgun, archery, muzzleloader and/or
paraplegic/double amputee hunter). This tag must be separated from the
permit with the appropriate month, day, and time of kill or other information
completed as required, and signed by the hunter. The tag must remain
attached to the deer until the animal is processed for consumption or
prepared for taxidermy. It will be considered prima-facie evidence of
hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the deer permit/tag is
altered or separated in any manner. All deer must be checked by THE
hunter killing same, within 24 hours of taking at Department operated
check stations, environmental police officers or vendor check stations
(also see 3.5). Only specified vendors will be permitted to check deer and
sell additional permits. The list of approved vendors will be available prior
to_the season.

1.3 Prohibited Activities:

1.3.1 Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or while
deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited.

1.3.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails,
spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited on
state property or on private property without the permission of the
landowner. All portable tree stands must be removed on state lands by the
end of deer season.

1.3.3 The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times.

1.3.4 The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited.

1.3.5 Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited.

1.3.6 Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual
hunter, while hunting deer.
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1.4 Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land
(20- 15- 1 d). Such written permission must be carried at all times while
deer hunting, and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie
evidence of not having written permission to hunt such land. Written
permission must be shown to any authorized person upon demand, and
must be presented when checking the deer.

1.5 The use of natural or artificial scents and mouth or hand powered deer calls
to attract deer is permitted.

1.6 The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population and
disease management.

1.7 Resident All Outdoors Package Permit:

Prior to September 15, 2007 deer hunters may purchase one (1) resident all
outdoors package permit for the mainland deer seasons to take a maximum
of 11 deer during the established seasons below:

Mainland Archery: 1 either sex; 2 antlerless (refer to 4.1).
Mainland Muzzleloader: 1 either sex; 2 extended antlerless (refer to 2.1)
Mainland Shotgun: 1 either sex; 2 extended antlerless (refer to 3.1)

Two no cost hunters choice permits valid for either sex or antlerless deer valid
during any established mainland season (2.1, 3.1, 4.1) For “Any Sex”
permits, hunter must fill in appropriate mainland code for the established
season on front of permit and on tag immediately after kill in order to be valid.

This package permit will only be available at the Division of Licensing, 235
Promenade Street, Providence. No permits will be sold after September 15,
2007.

A limit of 500 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve basis.
Permits may be purchased in person or through the mail. Due to high
volume, permits sold over the counter may be returned by mail.
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PART Il
DEER — MUZZLELOADING DEER SEASON

2.1 MAINLAND MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:
Muzzleloader deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer;
one (1) either sex and two (2) antlerless as described below:

Permit Required

A. EITHER SEX PERMIT — STATE AND PRIVATE LAND
Either sex muzzleloader deer permit is usable for the taking of one
deer of either sex in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties;
Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a Block Island);
and the towns of Little Compton and Tiverton. This permit may be
purchased at any time.

November 3 — November 25, 2007 on state and private land.

B. EXTENDED ANTLERLESS PERMIT — STATE AND PRIVATE LAND
The two antlerless muzzleloader deer permits are usable for the
taking of two (2) deer in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties;
Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island);
and the Towns of Little Compton and Tiverton. These two permits
may be purchased at any time.

November 3 — November 25, 2007 on state and private land.
December 22-25, 2007 on private land only.

Some cities and towns have more restrictive ordinances; check
local ordinances prior to hunting. All other deer hunting regulations
apply (see Part I).

2.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND
MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island muzzleloader deer hunters
may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2)
antlerless as described below:

Permit Required
a) Either sex-
November 3 — November 25, 2007
b) Antlerless-
November 3 — November 25, 2007 and
December 22-25, 2007
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2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

A current muzzleloader deer permit is required for the muzzleloading
season. All deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter killing same
immediately after killing or taking as provided, and taken by that same
hunter to a state-operated checking station within 24 hours during the first
weekend of the season, November 3 and 4, 2007. Vendor check stations
and Environmental Police Officers may check deer during the remainder of
the season. The list of approved vendors will be available prior to the
season.

During the muzzle loading deer season, all hunters must wear a minimum
of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange material,
contained in an outer garment worn above the waist, and visible from all
directions. A fluorescent hat would meet the requirement. EXCEPTIONS:
those hunting raccoon at night or crows over decoys, archers in tree
stands, or waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or
field, when done in conjunction with decoys.

Firearms for muzzle loading deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger
using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using
percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers. Only single barrel or double
barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are allowed. All
conversion kits, which use a replacement barrel to convert a typical modern
shotgun into a muzzleloading rifle, are prohibited. (Also see section 14.10)

Ammunition for muzzle loading deer season is limited to a single lead
projectile, including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles. Sabot rounds
for muzzleloader firearms either lead or jacketed are limited to .43 caliber
or larger. Powder is limited to manufacturers’ specifications. Telescopic
sights are permitted. Possession of modern shotgun shotshells while
hunting is prohibited. A muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the
percussion cap or pan powder is removed.
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PART 1l
DEER - SHOTGUN DEER SEASON

3.1 MAINLAND SHOTGUN SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:
. Shotgun deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one
(1) either sex and two (2) antlerless as described below:

Permit Required

A. EITHER SEX SHOTGUN PERMIT — One (1) either sex deer may be
taken in Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of Washington
County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of
Tiverton and Little Compton.

December 1 — 9, 2007 on both private and state management areas.
December 10 — 16, 2007 on private land only.
This permit may be purchased at any time.

B. EXTENDED ANTLERLESS SHOTGUN PERMITS — Two (2) antlerless
deer may be taken in Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of
Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and
the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton.

December 1 — 9, 2007 on both private and state management areas
December 10 — 16, 2007 on private land only.
December 29 - 30, 2007 and January 5 - 6, 2008, on private land only

These permits may be purchased at any time.

Some cities and towns have more restrictive ordinances; check local
ordinances prior to hunting. All other deer regulations shall apply (see Part I).

3.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND SHOTGUN
SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/ Aquidneck Island Shotgun deer hunters
may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2)
antlerless as described below:

Permit Required
(a) Either sex
December 1 — 16, 2007
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3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

(b) Antlerless
December 1 — 16, 2007
December 29 and 30, 2007
January 5 and 6, 2008

No person shall take deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than five
shells, unless it is plugged with a one-piece filler which is incapable of
removal without disassembling the gun.

Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or
sabot round. Buckshot is limited to double 00 or larger. Buckshot in 20-
gauge is prohibited. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed.

All deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter killing same
immediately after killing or taking as provided, and taken by that same
hunter to a state-operated checking station for checking within 24 hours
during the first weekend of the shotgun season, December 1 and 2, 2007.
Vendor check stations may check deer during the remainder of the season,
December 3-16, 2007, December 29 and 30, 2007 and January 5 and 6,
2008.

Deer killed or taken on the last day may be checked through a vendor
check station no later than 6:00 PM on that date, or by an Environmental
Police Officer within 24 hours of taking.

During the shotgun season for deer, all hunters, except waterfowl hunters
hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction
with decoys, must wear a minimum of 500 square inches of solid daylight
fluorescent orange material, contained in an outer garment and worn above
the waist, a portion of which must include a head covering visible from all
directions.

All other hunting, except otherwise provided, under 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 9.2, 9.3,
and 11.9 is prohibited during the period of December 1-16, 2007,
December 29 and 30, 2007 and January 5 and 6, 2008.

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2007-2008 SEASON

PAGE 11 OF 45



4.1

4.2

PART IV
DEER - ARCHERY DEER SEASON

MAINLAND ARCHERY SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:
October 1, 2007 — January 31, 2008 inclusive.

Archery deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer: one (1)
either sex and two (2) antlerless on state or private land and may qualify for
purchasing a bonus buck permit as described below:

Permit Required

A. Either Sex Archery Permit — state or private land in Providence, Kent,
and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New
Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little
Compton. This permit may be purchased at any time.

B. Antlerless Archery Permit — state or private land in Providence, Kent,
and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New Shoreham,
a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton. This
permit may be purchased at any time.

C. Experimental Bonus Earn-a-Buck Permit - state or private land in
Providence, Kent and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County
(except New Shoreham a.k.a. Block Island) and the towns of Tiverton
and Little Compton. This permit for one (1) bonus either sex archery
deer permit may be issued after the hunter has taken and checked, as
provided in 4.6, two (2) deer with no visible antlers from the: a) either
sex archery permit, or b) antlerless archery permits, as described
above. Hunters must take completed and detached archery tags and
affidavits to the DEM’s Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street,
Providence.

4.1.1 In total, all mainland archery deer hunters, including those with
adaptive aid/crossbow permits as delineated in 4.4.1, may purchase
permits to take a total of four (4) deer.

JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND ARCHERY
SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery hunters may
purchase permits to take three (3) deer: one (1) either sex and two (2)
antlerless, except as provided under 4.3.
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Permit required:
(a) Either sex permit

October 1, 2007-January 31, 2008
(b) Antlerless permit

October 1, 2007-January 31, 2008

4.2.1 In total, Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery
deer hunters including those with adaptive aid/crossbow permits may
purchase permits to take a total of three (3) deer.

4.3 Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend:
September 22-23, 2007 for those junior hunters in possession of a valid
Rhode Island Junior Hunting License, age 12 through 14 years of age.
Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least one parent or legal
guardian who is at least 21 years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode
Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more than two
junior hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows. Junior
hunters may use either sex or antlerless archery permits as provided for in
4.1.

4.4 No bow used in hunting deer shall be equipped with any mechanical device
for drawing or releasing the arrow unless in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4
and section 4.4.1 and 4.4.2 of these regulations for those 100% disabled
and those 65 years of age or older. A bow string release device whereby
the bow is hand held, hand drawn, and finger released is permitted.
Hunters with a valid adaptive aid/crossbow permit as defined in section
4.4.1 and 4.4.2 may utilize adaptive aids.

4.4.1 A special archery adaptive aid/crossbow deer permit may only be
obtained through DEM Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade
Street, Providence, Rl 02908 (401) 222-3576. An official
application for permit issuance signed by a physician for a first

time applicant application is required, accompanied by an official
document on the physician's printed letterhead stating the
certification of disability in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4. A

copy of the permit will be sufficient in subsequent years for
reapplication. The permit card and associated record log must be
carried at all times while deer hunting with crossbow or adaptive
aids and must be shown to any authorized person upon demand.
Crossbow or Adaptive Aid evaluation card must be returned by
the last day in February to Fish & Wildlife Field Headquarters,
regardless of success, in order to be eligible in the future.

4.4.2 Hunters 65 or older are permitted to use adaptive aids without a
special permit. No crossbows permitted.
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4.5 Archers must use a long bow, re-curve or compound bow capable of not

4.6

4.7

less than forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight for archers using fixed
blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a
mechanical broadhead. Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2)
metal cutting edges are allowed. All broadheads must be 7/8 of an inch or
greater at the widest point. Mechanical heads are measured in the “open”
position and must be a minimum of 7/8 of an inch.

4.5.1 Only those crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are
permitted: minimum draw of 150 pounds, minimum width of 24
inches. Expandable broadheads meeting the specifications in 4.5 are
permitted. However, as some crossbow manufacturers specifically
recommend against mechanicals, nothing in this section should be
construed as permitting such use. One (1) field point arrow may be
carried in the quiver for the safe discharge of the crossbow; the field
point arrow must be made distinguishable from the crossbow arrow
by a color difference.

All deer must be immediately tagged by the hunter after killing or taking as
provided, and taken by that same hunter to an Environmental Police
Officer, or other Department designee for checking within 24 hours.

All archers including crossbow deer hunters, when traveling to and from a
tree stand during the deer muzzle-loading season must wear above the
waist a minimum of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange
visible from all directions. A fluorescent hat meets this requirement.
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PART V
SPECIAL DEER SEASONS

Prudence and Patience Islands

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

5.5

Prudence and Patience Island archery season dates are:
October 19, 2007- January 6, 2008

5.1.1 Junior Archery — Prudence and Patience Islands archery season
dates are October 13 — 14, 2007.

Permit Required:
A. Either sex — This permit may be purchased at any time.
B. Antlerless — This permit may be purchased at any time.

The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands
is by archery, including crossbows as specifically permitted in sections
4.41,4.4.2 and 4.5.1. All other archery regulations apply. Exemption:
hunters complying with section 5.19 and 5.20 for paraplegic and double
amputees may use shotguns as permitted in 5.25.

The limit on Prudence and Patience Islands is one (1) deer of either sex on
state land or private land and one (1) antlerless deer on private land for an
island total of two (2) deer.

A Prudence/Patience Island Archery Deer Permit (deer tag) is required to
hunt on Prudence and Patience Islands.

While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except
for those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer
season.

Reservations will be required on the south and north ends and the Barre
Unit of Prudence Island, and Patience Island for the first two weekends and
two weekday periods: Friday through Sunday (10/19-10/21); Monday
through Friday (10/22-26); and Saturday and Sunday (10/27-28) and
Monday through Friday (10/29-11/1). A lottery system will assign hunters in
these areas.

5.5.1 Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property
December 1-15, 2007. Archers will be limited to the taking of
antlerless deer only. Archers may utilize either sex or antlerless
permits provided that they take antlerless deer only.
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5.5.2 Reservations are required to hunt the Heritage Property.
Reservations will be valid for three (3) consecutive days:
December 1-3, 4-6, 7-9, 10-12, and 13-15, 2007.

5.5.3 A lottery system will assign hunters on the Heritage Property during
the reservation period (see 5.6). A total of 18 hunters may be
assigned per reservation period on the Heritage Property. Hunters
will be provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions.
Compliance with these and all other hunting regulations are
required for future hunting privileges on this parcel.

5.6 A lottery system will assign hunters on Prudence Island and Patience Island

5.7

5.8

5.9

during the reservation period. Lottery applications may be obtained at DEM
Division of Licensing, designated deer check stations, vendors, or by mailing a
request with a self-addressed stamped envelope (972" x 4") to:

DEER LOTTERY, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West
Kingston, RI 02892, or you may acquire an application online at
www.dem.ri.gov. Application dates will be July 15 through August 31, 2007.
Two individuals may apply on one application; however, an individual may only
apply once in the lottery system. Duplicate, illegible, incorrect, or incomplete
forms will be rejected. The lottery reservation is non-transferable and
non-negotiable. In order to be eligible for preferential status for next hunting
season’s lottery, all hunters, regardless of hunting activity or success, must
return their Hunter Survey Card by Jan. 31, 2008.

Twenty five hunters per day may be assigned on the south end of
Prudence Island and 40 hunters on the north end. On Patience Island and
the Barre Unit on Prudence Island, 10 hunters per day, respectively, may
be assigned.

A quota of 75 deer may be taken on state land to include 25 from the south
end, or as provided in section 5.11. Hunting on state portions of Prudence
and Patience Islands will end January 7, 2008 or when quota is reached.

All deer taken on Prudence Island must be immediately tagged by the
hunter and checked by that same hunter through the check station
designated by the Department of Environmental Management, and a leg
seal must be attached to the deer prior to leaving Prudence Island. The leg
seal must remain attached to the deer until processed for consumption.

5.10 All deer taken on Patience Island must be immediately tagged by the hunter

and checked by that same hunter through the deer check station on
Prudence Island or on the mainland by contacting an Environmental Police
Officer or other department designee within 24 hours after killing or taking.
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5.11 The Division of Fish and Wildlife retains the right to alter the number of

5.12

5.13

5.14

5.15

5.16

5.17

hunters, number of days hunted, and total deer harvested within the above
season, if conditions warrant.

Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on
Patience and Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The
proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of issue and must be
carried while hunting.

For private lands, written permission of the landowner must be obtained,
and as required by local ordinance, must be countersigned by the Chief of
Police or his/her representative on the Island.

On Prudence Island, during the period October 1, 2007 through January 7,
2008 inclusive, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights,
headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway,
whether public or private, or on any field, woodland, residential property, or
forest, or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting,
locating, or attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is
prohibited.

On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife,
except archery hunting for deer, as provided. The possession of any
firearm at any time on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as
prescribed during the established archery season for deer, is prima-facie
evidence of illegal hunting (except as provided in section 5.25).

Waterfowl hunting on Prudence Island: The possession of firearms is
permitted while en route to or during waterfowl hunting. Waterfowl hunters
must possess a minimum of six (6) decoys. No ball ammunition may be
possessed. Possession of a loaded firearm more than (10) ten feet above
mean high water is prohibited, except as provided in sections 9.2, 9.3.3,
9.5, & 11.2.

Junior Archery Season — Prudence Island:

Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend,;
October 13-14, 2007 for those junior hunters in possession of a valid
Rhode Island Junior Hunting License, age 12 through 14 years of age.
Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least one parent or legal
guardian who is at least 21 years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode
Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more than two
junior hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows. Junior
hunters may use either sex or antlerless archery permit as provided for in
5.2.
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Paraplegic and double amputee hunters on Prudence Island, Portsmouth;
and Fort Greene Army Reserve, Narragansett

5.18

5.19

5.20

5.21

5.22

5.23

5.24

5.25

The season for the South End Management Area hunt on Prudence Island
will be:
October 9-12, 2007 inclusive; and

The season for Fort Greene will be:
October 16-19, 2007 inclusive during legal shooting hours. Availability of
Ft. Greene facility may be subject to change.

The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee hunters
only. The season bag limit on Prudence is one either-sex. The season bag
limit at Fort Greene is one (1) either sex deer.

A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM Licensing
Division, 235 Promenade St. Providence, Rl 02908 (401) 222-3576 by
each applicant prior to the hunt. None will be issued on the Island. An
application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of
a previous paraplegic/double amputee hunting license is required.
Hunters for Fort Greene must also complete a registration card and mail it
to R.l. Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, W. Kingston, Rl 02892,

ATTN: Fort Greene and postmarked by September 30, 2007.

None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded
firearms at any time. No license is required of the assistants.

Hunters may participate in either hunt. Only five (5) hunters will be
permitted on Fort Greene. If needed, a lottery will be conducted to choose
the five eligible hunters. Hunters will be notified after the selection. All
hunters and assistants must register upon entering or leaving either
location with the officer-in-charge.

All deer taken must be checked by an Environmental Police Officer or
Department designee prior to leaving Prudence Island, or for Fort Greene
by a Department designee, or at a state certified vendor check station.
(Additionally see 1.10)

All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported as soon as possible
to the officer-in-charge.

Ammunition is limited to slugs —10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is
allowed by special permit only, 00 or larger. Hunters may use muzzle-
loading firearms on Prudence Island as defined under Muzzle Loading
Deer Season, as defined in section 2.5 and 2.6.
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5.26 Once a deer is taken, the successful hunter may no longer carry a firearm
in the field, but may assist other fellow hunter(s).

5.27 Additional restrictions may be required on Fort Greene.
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6.1

6.2

6.3

6.4

6.5

6.6

PART VI
Block Island Deer Season

Deer hunting season dates for the Town of New Shoreham (Block Island)
is as follows:

Archery Only:
October 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 31, 2007
November 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 2007

Shotgun:

November 26, 27, 29, 30, 2007

December 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21, 2007

January 3,4,7,8,9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25, 28, 29, 31,
2008

February 1, 4,5, 6,7, 8, 11,12, 13, 14, 15, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 2008

All state-owned land on Block Island is closed to all deer hunting for the
2007-2008 season.

A Block Island archery or shotgun deer permit is required to hunt on Block
Island. A hunter may purchase five (5) Block Island permits. After
checking as provided in section 6.7, a hunter may purchase additional
Block Island Shotgun or Archery Deer Permits to take additional deer on
Block Island, but hunters may not possess more than five (5) permits of
any type at one time.

Landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is required
for all hunting. Landowners may give permission for archery or shotgun
hunting on their property. Permission will be tracked by the Police
Department.

Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or
sabot round. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge are allowed.

On Block Island, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights,
headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway

or roadway, whether public or private, on any field, woodland, residential
property, or forest, or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of
spotting, locating, or attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild
bird is prohibited.
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6.7 All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter killing
same immediately after taking. All deer taken on Block Island must be
checked by that same hunter through the designated check stations and a
leg seal must be attached to the deer prior to leaving the island, and within
24 hours of taking. The leg seal must remain attached to the deer until
processed for consumption.

6.8 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer
on Block Island. The proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of
issue. The proficiency card must be carried while hunting.

6.9  All other deer regulations apply. Equipment permitted for archery season
includes crossbows and adaptive aids as described in sections 4.4.1, 4.4.2,
4.5, and 4.5.1.

6.10 All shotgun deer hunters must wear 500 sq. inches of orange.
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7.1

7.2

PART VII
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS

Northwest Cooperative — The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting
permits serve as written permission for hunting this private land. These
permits must be carried in addition to your individual deer permits. Turkey
hunting is also permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid license
and turkey permit. No additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys.

7.1.1 Archery and muzzleloader deer hunters must have state permits to
hunt the Northwest Cooperative. A permit is required for each season:
Archery, Muzzleloader, and Shotgun. The Division reserves the right to
alter the number of hunters, permits, or days of hunting as conditions
warrant. Permits must be returned by February 15, 2008. Hunters must
return permit to be eligible for the next season's permit. Reference 2.1

7.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by
sending a 92" x 4" self-addressed stamped envelope to: NORTHWEST
COOP, R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West
Kingston, RI 02892. Indicate the permit-type (e.g. archery, muzzleloader,
and/or shotgun).

Francis Carter Preserve Cooperative Hunting Area (formerly known as
United Nuclear) is restricted to archery hunting of deer from November 1 —
December 31, 2007 and as provided in sections 7.2.1 through 7.2.5 of
these regulations. No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.
All regulations in General Deer Part | and Archery Deer Part IV of these
regulations shall apply.

7.2.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. No vehicles
of any kind are allowed on the property.

7.2.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be
removed at the end of the season.

7.2.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Carter
Preserve. The proficiency cards are valid for two years from the date of
issuance and must be carried while hunting. Either Prudence/Patience
Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency cards are
permitted.
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7.3

7.2.4 A Carter Preserve Hunting Permit is required and will serve as
written permission to hunt this private land. This permit must also be
carried while hunting.

7.2.5 Permits will be issued for four two-week periods: November 1-14
and 15-30, December 1-14 and 15-31, 2007. A limited number of permits
will be issued for each period. Two individuals may apply on one
application; however, an individual may only apply once. Permits are non-
transferable. Applications are available by sending a self-addressed
stamped envelope to Rl Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck
Road, West Kingston, Rl 02892 or downloaded from the web at
www.dem.ri.gov. Duplicate, illegible or incomplete applications will be
rejected. Applications will be available beginning August 1 — September
15, 2007. Applications postmarked after September 15 will not be
accepted unless limited interest leaves slots available. Permits will be
chosen by lottery. Hunters must return their permit by January 15, 2008
regardless of activity or success, to be eligible for the next season’s hunt.

Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area

November 13, 2007 — January 31, 2008. No hunting on weekends prior to
December 31, 2007. The Jamestown (Conanicut Island) either sex and
antlerless archery deer permits are valid for this season.

7.3.1 No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted. All
regulations in General Deer Part | and Archery Deer Part IV of these
regulations shall apply.

7.3.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.

7.3.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.
The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is
prohibited. Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be
removed at the end of the season.

7.3.4 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the
Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area. The proficiency cards
are valid for two years from the date of issuance and must be carried while
hunting. Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner
Relations proficiency cards are permitted.

7.3.5 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is
required and will serve as written permission to hunt this property. The
permit can be obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station. This
permit must also be carried while hunting. Hunters must return their card
regardless of activity or success by February 15, 2008 in order to be
eligible for next season.
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7.4

7.5
7.51

7.5.2

7.5.3

7.3.6 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee
is required. Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the
police station. Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come
first served basis. Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no
more than 20 days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled.
Successful hunters must also cancel any reserved slots. Hunters will be
provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions. Compliance
with these and all other hunting regulations is required for future hunting
privileges on this parcel. The number of hunters and days of hunting are
subject to change.

7.3.7 All Beavertail Coop hunting subject to federal approval.
Grills Preserve Cooperative Hunting Permit

7.4.1 Hunting for white-tailed deer and wild turkey is permitted at the Grills
Preserve-Westerly Land Trust Property located west of Bowling Lane and
Route 91 in Bradford, RIl. Special permits to hunt Grills preserve may be
obtained from RIDEM Fish and Wildlife. Permits available after September
1, and may be obtained by sending a self-addressed 972" x 4" stamped
envelope to: GRILLS PRESERVE COOP, R.I. Division of Fish and
Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, Rl 02892.

7.4.2 Hunting is permitted only during the Archery and state and private
Muzzleloader portions of the deer season in accordance with the rules and
regulations set forth by RIDEM.

7.4.3 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the
established turkey seasons by RIDEM.

7.4.4 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the
conclusion of the spring turkey season.

Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area — North Camp Portion
Hunting by permit only available from the RI DEM Division of Fish and
Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West
Kingston, R.l. 02892 either in person or by mail with a self-addressed
stamped envelope.
Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as
marked on map enclosed with permit.
The following are PROHIBITED:
A. Hunting on or within 100 yards of the shore of Watchaug Pond
or Poiquiant Brook.
B. Hunting in that portion of the park west of Watchaug Pond, west
of Poiquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road.
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8.1

8.2

8.3

8.4

8.5

8.6

PART VIl
*MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

*Subject to Federal Approval
Mourning Doves -The open season for mourning doves is statewide:

September 22— October 7, 2007, inclusive;
October 20 — November 18, 2007, and
December 26 - January 10, 2008, inclusive.

Shooting hours are:

First split: noon to sunset.

Second and third split: sunrise to sunset.
Daily bag/possession limits: 12/24

Rails -The open season for rails is:

September 1, 2007 — November 9, 2007, inclusive.
Daily bag/possession limits:

King & Clapper Rail - 1/2, singly or in aggregate
Sora & Virginia Rail - 1/2, singly or in aggregate

Common snipe: The open season for common snipe is:
September 1 — November 9, 2007
Daily bag/possession limits: 5/10

Woodcock: The open season for woodcocks is:
November 1 — November 30, 2007
Daily bag/possession limits: 3/6

Crows: The open season for crows is:

August 17 — October 7, 2007 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only.
October 20 — November 25, 2007, all-inclusive.

December 21, 2007 — April 20, 2008 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays
only.

8.5.1 The hunting season for crows on state lands shall be from the
beginning of dove hunting season in September to the last day of February.
Hunting hours for crows are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.
Except on Northern Prudence Island Management Area, the season is
January 7-31, 2008 inclusive. No daily bag or possession limit.

Non-Toxic Shot Requirements: No person shall take or attempt to take
waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including
Narragansett Bay and its coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while
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8.7

possessing shells loaded with any shot other than non toxic shot (e.g., steel,
bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-
nickel-iron shot) and other shot as approved by USFWS. All non-toxic
shot larger than BB is prohibited, including duplex loads containing
shot larger than BB.

Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds
and waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A through
N) of the U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, made
under the provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and
waterfowl. An HIP permit is required for hunting all migratory birds.

8.8 Canada Goose: The open season for Canada goose is:

8.9

September 1 - 30, 2007
Daily bag limit is 15, 30 in possession [subject to Federal approval].

A permit must be obtained from the Division of Fish and Wildlife prior to
hunting during the special September Canada Goose Season.

The permit must be returned to: Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great
Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892, per date designated on permit
regardless of hunting success. Hunters must return the permit to be eligible
for the 2008 Special Goose Season.

Sea Ducks: The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is:
October 6, 2007 — January 20, 2008
Daily bag/possession limits 7/14, no more than four of which may be any

one species.
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PART IX
UPLAND GAME

9.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals, except dove, turkey,
migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon will be sunrise to sunset, except
as otherwise provided. On October 20, 2007 legal shooting hours will be
7:00 AM to sunset.

9.2 Open season for Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits,
and Snowshoe Hare is as follows:
October 20, 2007 through the last day of February EXCEPT during the
state land portion of the shotgun deer season (December 1-9, 2007). State
land will remain open during the private land portions of the shotgun deer
season (see Section 3.1B). Provided, however, that small game hunting is
prohibited on private land during the shotgun deer hunting season as
described in section 3.1B.
Prudence Island:
November 1, 2007 - November 30, 2007 EXCEPT on northern
Prudence Island Management Area the season is: January 8-31,
2008 inclusive. South Prudence and Patience Management Areas
closed to shotgun small game hunting.

Daily Bag limits:
Cottontail rabbits — three (3);
Snowshoe hare — one (1);
Gray squirrels — five (5).
There is no bag limit for fox.

9.3 Open season for Ruffed Grouse, Bobwhite Quail, & Pheasant is as follows:

Ruffed Grouse & Quail: October 20 — November 30, 2007.
Ruffed grouse hunting is CLOSED in the Arcadia Management Area.
Ringneck Pheasant: October 20, 2007 — January 20, 2008. (See 9.3.2)

Closed during state land shotgun deer season December 1 — December 9
and during the private land shotgun deer season as described in section
3.1B.

9.3.1  Pheasant Permit:
Hunters are required to purchase a pheasant permit ($15.50) of six
(6) tags in order to hunt pheasants. Upon harvesting a pheasant,
hunter must detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag
to the bird’s leg. Pheasant(s) in possession without an attached
pheasant tag will be in violation of regulations. Hunters may
purchase multiple pheasant permits per season.
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9.3.2 Season and Bag Limits

Ringneck Pheasant: two (2) birds daily.
Ruffed Grouse: one (1) bird daily
Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds daily

9.3.3 Prudence Island:
November 1 - 30, 2007 - EXCEPT that on northern Prudence Island
Management Area the season is January 7 — 31, 2008, inclusive.
South Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to
shotgun small game hunting.

9.3.4 On New Shoreham (Block Island), the open season on male
ring-necked pheasants, with a daily limit of two male pheasants, is
as follows:

November 14, 28, 2007
December 5, 19, 26, 28, 2007
January 2, 16, 30, 2008

Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants

9.4 Game Propagation Permit for pheasants:
No person shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant
without having a valid game propagation permit in his/her possession.

9.4.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged upon harvest
for identification with a tag supplied by the Division, at cost to the
game propagation permittee.

9.4.2 Permits are available from the Division of Licensing, Room 360, 235
Promenade Street, Providence, Rl 02908. Such permit shall be
issued upon a demonstration that the applicant has met each of the
following requirements:

a. Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee;

b. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide
hunting club at the time of the application or application of
renewal; and

c. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide
hunting club owning a single body of land consisting of
twenty-five (25) or more acres at the time of the application
or application of renewal (hereinafter referred to as the
‘site’).
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9.4.3 Each game propagation permitee must keep an accurate record of all
pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how many
released and when released; and how many taken on the site.
Permitee must provide this information to the Department within
twenty-four (24) hours of the receipt of a request for such records
from a Department staff member or no later than March 15th
following the closure of the season.

9.4.4 Each game propagation permitee is authorized to release and
harvest pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season
provided above in Section 9.3 for the taking on the site by club
members and their guests provided the following restrictions are
observed:

a. Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode
Island license. Hunters are not required to have a state
pheasant permit; however, hunters must tag each harvested
pheasant with the game propagation tag as required in 9.4.1
and 9.4.2.

b. Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant
provided above in 9.3.2, i.e., no more than two (2) may be
harvested on the site during any day per hunter.

9.4.5 If a game propagation permitee is found to have provided false
information in conjunction with its application pursuant to Section
9.4.2, fails to comply with Section 9.4.3, or if it or a member or guest
violates Section 9.4.3, the subject permit shall be revoked for the
remainder of the season and the action of the permitee or its member
shall be considered if and when the permitee applies for re-issuance
of a permit. Pursuant to Rl Gen. Laws, Chapter 42-17.7, a permitee
who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to revoke the subject’s
permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek such
hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative Adjudication
Division, 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within twenty
(20) calendar days of receipt of notice of revocation. A permitee who
feels aggrieved by a permit denial and seeks an adjudicative hearing
must seek such hearing by filing a written request with the
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St.,
Providence, Rl 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the
contested agency action.

9.5 The hunting seasons on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings,
and rock doves is closed on Prudence Island at all times, EXCEPT during
the period November 1 through November 30, annually, or as otherwise
provided. South Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to
shotgun small game hunting. See 11.9.1.1 on coyote hunting on Prudence
Island.
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9.6 The hunting of any species of wildlife EXCEPT white-tailed deer, coyote,
and waterfowl as provided, or as otherwise provided, is prohibited in
Providence, Kent, Washington, Newport, and Bristol Counties during the
annual shotgun deer season.

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2007-2008 SEASON
PAGE 30 OF 45



10.1

PART X
WILD TURKEY

Season bag and possession limits: One (1) bearded turkey in the spring

season and (1) either sex turkey in the fall season. A separate permit
must be purchased to hunt in each season. Referto 7.1, 7.4 and 7.5 for
additional permits on cooperative hunting areas.

10.2 Spring Turkey Seasons Dates:

10.3

10.4

10.4.1

10.4.2

10.4.3

10.5

A. Special Season - Paraplegic hunters April 26 and 27, 2008
B. Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend April 26 and 27, 2008
C. Statewide: April 30 — May 26, 2008

Fall Archery Season:

October 1 — 28, 2007

Special Paraplegic Season:

A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM Division of Fish
and Wildlife. Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic hunters
only.

An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required.
Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing.

None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms
at any time.

Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend:

10.5.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting
Weekend for those junior hunters age 12 through 14 years of age,
in possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting license. Junior
hunters must be accompanied by at least one parent or legal
guardian at least 21 years of age or older who holds a valid Rhode
Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more
than two junior hunters at one time. The accompanying adult is
prohibited from carrying firearms and bows.

10.5.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year.
10.5.3 An adult accompanying a junior hunter may not carry a bow or

firearm while hunting, but is permitted to assist the junior in calling
the bird.
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10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the
number of hunting days at any time.

The hunting of wild turkey is allowed in the following areas: Providence
County; Kent County; Washington County; as well as Tiverton and Little
Compton in Newport County.

Hunting hours: Spring hunting hours are from one half hour before
sunrise to 1:00 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, daily, provided that all
hunters leave the woods no later than 1:00 P.M. Fall hunting hours are
one-half hour before sunrise until sunset.

Authorized firearms and archery equipment: The methods of taking are
limited to shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5,
and 6 magnum loads only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long
bow (straight limb, reflex, recurve, and compound bow) of not less than
forty (40) pounds pull, and broadhead arrows with at least two cutting
edges seven eighths inches (7/8") or greater at the widest point. A
bowstring release device where the bow is hand held, hand drawn and
finger released is allowed. Legal bows must meet the definition of a legal
bow in sections 4.5 and 4.5.1. Crossbows not permitted. Possession of a
firearm while archery hunting for turkey is prohibited.

10.10 Prohibited Activities:

10.11

10.10.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative
drive(s)electric calling devices, or any other devices to capture or
ensnare turkeys is prohibited.

10.10.2 Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is
prohibited.

10.10.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a
turkey calling device (non-electric). Calling is the only legal method for
hunting wild turkey. An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting
license may call turkeys for hunters with a valid turkey permit.

10.10.4 A person is prohibited from hunting, killing, taking or attempt to
take, or possessing any wild turkey unless they possess on their person
a valid R.I. hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit.

Checking Requirements: A person killing a wild turkey must immediately
sign, complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey
tag provided with the permit. The tag must remain attached to the turkey
and presented to an authorized check station within 24 hours. The
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Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues deemed
necessary. The tag must remain attached until the carcass is prepared
for consumption or taxidermy.

10.12 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person
purchasing a turkey permit. This hunter survey must be returned to the
Division within 10 days of the end of the season whether or not you hunt
or were successful.
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PART Xl
*FURBEARERS

11.1 *Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1.

11.2 Raccoon -
Open Season - The open season for raccoon is from 6:00 PM October 1,
2007 through the last day of February 2008, inclusive; excluding the
period of Shotgun Deer Season: December 1 — December 16 and
December 29 and 30, 2007, January 5 and 6, 2008 statewide. Raccoon
season will remain open December 10 —16, 2007 on State Management
Areas. That portion of Providence County east of the Blackstone River
will remain open to raccoon hunting during the shotgun deer season.

Bag Limits - There is no season limit on raccoon. There are no limits to
the taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under
special permit on Prudence and Patience Islands. There is no bag limit.

11.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is
limited to January 7, 2008 through the last day of February 2008,
inclusive, with written permission of the landowner. Bow hunters
with a valid deer archery permit may take raccoon on Prudence
Island during legal deer hunting hours October 19, 2007 — January
6, 2008 or until the quota is filled.

Bag Limits — There are no limits to the taking of raccoon by bow
hunters as provided above, or under special permit on Prudence
and Patience Islands.

11.3 The trapping season for gray fox, red foxmink, muskrat, opossum, rabbit,
raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1, 2007 — January 31, 2008,
inclusive. Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on
opening day, November 1, annually.

11.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1,
2007- February 29, 2008 inclusive. The trapping season for
beaver on state management areas is December 1, 2007 —
February 29, 2008 inclusive. Traps may not be set, staked, or
placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day.

Setting traps within 10 feet of a beaver lodge/bank den is
prohibited, unless specifically allowed under a nuisance permit.

All trappers participating in beaver trapping must first obtain both a
Special Permit (no fee) issued by the Division of Fish and Wildlife
Field Headquarters as well as a current Rl Trapping License.
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There is a bag limit of twenty (20) beaver.

The number of beaver to be harvested within each watershed will
be determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife, and the Division
reserves the right to alter the number at any time.

Special beaver permits/tags may be issued for selected
watersheds, or specific sites within watershed. Special
permits/tags are valid only for assigned trap sites.

11.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1-
23, 2007, inclusive. All trappers participating in the fisher trapping
season must obtain a special permit (no fee) from the Division of
Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters in addition to
their current R.I. trapping license. The season limit for fisher is four
(4) per permit. All fisher pelts must be presented for tagging, in
accordance with fisher permit requirements but no later than
December 31, 2007. In addition, all fisher carcasses must be turned
in to the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field
Headquarters. No fisher pelts will be tagged without the
submission of the carcass to Fish and Wildlife. A trapper survey
card will be issued to each permittee and must be returned to the
Division at the close of fisher season. The Division of Fish and
Wildlife reserves the right to alter the number of permits or the
number of fisher harvested at any time. All other general trapping
regulations apply. All permittees may be subject to administrative
penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation of any of these regulations
pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17-6.

11.3.3 There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands.
The trapping season for coyotes on state lands is November 1% to
January 31%inclusive. The use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or
snares (RIGL 20-16-6) is prohibited. All other general trapping
regulations apply.

11.4 Body gripping "conibear" type traps in Sizes 110, 120, or 160 (or
equivalent, not to exceed 6 % inch jaw spread as measured from hinge to
hinge) are permitted on land or in water; Size 220 (or its equivalent, not to
exceed 8 inch jaw spread) is permitted only if such trap is completely
submerged in water, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of
water or ground (i.e., trees). All other "conibear" type traps are prohibited
except as provided in 11.4.1 and 11.5.

11.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of 220 and 330 "Conibear" type

traps is permitted only if such traps are completely submerged
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11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

underwater and in a vertical position. Trap jaw spread not to
exceed 10 inch opening when set.

Permits to trap state land are required in addition to a current Rhode Island
trapping license, and are obtainable from the Division of Fish and Wildlife
Field Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, West Kingston, RI.
Only the use of body-gripping (i.e., conibear) type traps or “box” (i.e., live)
traps are permitted on state lands as specified. Body-gripping traps, sizes
110, 120, or 160 or equivalent, are permitted only if such traps are used in
water sets (i.e., all or a portion of the trap is submerged in water) or placed
no less than six (6) feet above the surface of the ground. The use of body
gripping traps, size 220 and 330 or their equivalent (jaw spread not to
exceed ten (10) inches is only permitted if such traps are completely
submerged in water (in a vertical position). All traps placed on state lands
must be affixed with the name, address and Rhode Island trapping license
number of the owner.

All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or
cut into the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum,
bears the trapper's license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7.

There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra
canadensis).

Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat or
beaver that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is
prima-facie evidence of illegal taking. Otter and bobcat may only be taken
or possessed under RIGL 20-1-1-21 or otherwise must be presented to the
Division of Fish and Wildlife or Division of Enforcement within 24 hours of
taking. Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-16-8 or
otherwise shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership. Beaver and
fishers must be tagged in accordance with 11.3.1 and 11.3.2, respectively.

There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private
lands. During the firearms seasons for deer, all coyote hunters must
possess a valid shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit for their respective
seasons. The legal hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half
hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. The use of electronic
calls or decoys for hunting coyotes is permitted. There is no bag limit on
woodchuck or coyote. Refer to RIGL 20-13-13 for firearms restrictions.

11.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the
beginning of dove hunting season in September to the last day in
February inclusive and during the open spring turkey hunting
season.
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11.9.1.1 The hunting season for coyotes on Prudence Island shall
be: On state land during archery season with a valid
archery permit, during the upland game season on
private land, November 1 — November 30, 2007 and on
N. Prudence Management Area during upland season,
January 7 — January 31, 2008.

11.9.2 During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a
valid turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands.

11.9.3 Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200
square inches of fluorescent orange during the small game
hunting season. During the shotgun deer season, 500 square
inches is required.

11.9.4 The placement or use of bait or carcasses for purposes of
hunting coyotes on state lands is prohibited.

11.10 It is unlawful to take or possess a road-killed furbearer unless with
possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is
taken during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the
provisions of a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’'s Permit (RIGL
20-1-18). Exceptions may be granted at the discretion of the Division.

11.11 The translocation of protected furbearers (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited
without prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

11.12 The use of “species specific’ type traps as described in the definitions
section of these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private
and state lands. A legal species specific trap is characterized by all of the
following:

11.12.1Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a
housing;

11.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible
through a single opening when set;

11.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter;

11.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling
force;

11.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system.
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PART XII
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS

12.1 The removal from the wild, for any purposes, of any reptile or amphibian
(except bullfrogs, green frogs, and snapping turtles) to include their nests
and eggs is prohibited except by special permit. The taking of snapping
turtles at any time is limited to the following methods: turtle traps,
snagging, snaring, grabbing, jugging, bow and arrow, or while legally
fishing. Turtle traps must have a metal tag attached, which, at a minimum,
bears the trapper's name and address. Jugs must be marked indelibly with
name and address of trapper. The taking of snapping turtles for
commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit.

12.2 The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and
eggs are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times:
Timber rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus; northern diamondback terrapin,
Malaclemys terrapin; wood turtle, Clemmys insculpta; eastern box turtle,
Terrapene carolina; spotted turtle, Clemmys guttata; and bog turtle,
Clemmys muhlenbergi.

12.3 The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is
prohibited.
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PART XiIll
MANAGEMENT AREAS

13.1 The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting
and fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt State Management
Areas, and Tidal Lands pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 18, §§ 20-18-2 and
20-18-3 of the General Laws.

13.2 Permit is valid from the first day of dove season in September through the
last day of February, except when check stations are in operation for
upland game at the Great Swamp, Carolina, Durfee Hill, and Arcadia; for
turkey hunting; when special permits are required for deer hunting; or for
waterfowl hunting on state lands. (See current abstract for check station
dates). Bow hunters and muzzleloading hunters hunting deer on state
management areas do not need to check in or out.

13.3 The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is
prohibited except as provided in Management Area Regulations 11.1. On
management areas and designated undeveloped parks, the carrying of
firearms and bows and arrows at any time, except during the open season
for game birds and mammals, and while on shooting ranges, is prohibited.
In addition to above, blank guns are permitted for the purpose of dog
training in designated areas from January 1 to September 30.

13.4 Individuals must check in, and out, of state management hunter check
stations each day they are open for upland season. Check station dates
will be listed in the current Hunting Season Abstract. See section 9.1 for
upland game hours.

13.5 Dog training and all hunting, except for bow hunting for deer, and
waterfowl hunting, as provided, is prohibited on state land during the
period of October 15-19, 2007 unless otherwise provided.

13.6 From the period April 1 through August 15, annually, the following are
prohibited except by special permit: trespassing, disturbing, or molesting
of any species of nesting birds on Hope Island in the West Passage, East
Island and West Island off Sakonnet Point, or Gould Island in the East
Passage. All cats, dogs, and other domestic animals are prohibited at all
times upon these Islands, except that hunting dogs may be used during
that period set aside by the Department for hunting of game birds and
mammals on Hope Island only.

13.7 All users of state Management Areas are required to wear solid daylight
fluorescent orange during appropriate seasons; see Part 14.5.6 for details.
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13.8 The possession and/or use of paint guns on state management areas is
prohibited. See RIGL § 32-2-4.

13.9 A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state
management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field
trials.

13.10 Complete dressing of game birds and mammals on state property is
prohibited. Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted. Head,
skin, feathers, wings, tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass.

13.11 Dogs on State Management Areas allowed only under the following rules.

13.11.1  No dogs are allowed to be trained, run, exercised, or be
permitted to run at large on state management areas from
March 15 to August 15, inclusive, without written permission of
the Division of Fish and Wildlife except as otherwise provided in
these regulations (13.5 and 13.12).

13.11.2 Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than 25 feet in length is
permitted on roads and trails only.

13.11.3 All dogs must be wearing a collar with the name and address of
the owner or handler and license tag.

13.12 Dog Training Areas—Dog training is allowed on designated areas only,
between January 1 and September 30. During this period, dogs may run
freely provided they are under the command of the trainer by either voice,
training collar, or check cord.

13.12.1 Areas designated for training dogs are: the Black Farm
Management Area; the Nicholas Farm Management Area north
of the Trestle Trail; and the Arcadia Midway Trail Area confined
to the developed field complex east of Brook Trail, south of
Austin Farm Road and west of the established field edges
comprising the Midway fields area. Field trial areas are as
depicted on maps drawn by the Division of Fish and Wildlife.

13.12.2 Training hours are sunrise to sunset.

13.12.3 All persons using areas for training must possess a hunting
license.
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13.12.4 All dogs using areas must be licensed and have proof of rabies
vaccinations.

13.12.5 Training with live birds (pheasants/quail) is permitted provided
the bird is released unharmed and all necessary permits are
obtained.

13.12.6 Shooting of live birds for training purposes is prohibited.

13.12.7 Sanctioned field trial events may be held at the following
locations by requesting a special permit from the Division of Fish
and Wildlife: Arcadia, Carolina, Durfee Hill Marsh, and
Burlingame (Durfee) Pond, and Nicholas Farm.

13.13 JOHN L. CURRAN STATE PARK/MANAGEMENT AREA

13.13.1  All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the buffer
zones marked as posted by the Department.

13.13.2 Only shotguns and bow & arrows may be possessed or used
while hunting.

13.13.3 The hunting of and/or possession of Mourning Dove or Wild
Pigeons (Rock Dove) is prohibited.

13.14 SIMMONS MILL POND MANAGEMENT AREA - Only archery equipment,
bow and arrows, may be possessed or used while hunting white-tailed
deer within the Simmons Mill Pond Management Area in Little Compton.
Sunday hunting will be allowed.

13.15 DUTCH ISLAND
The entry upon Dutch Island is prohibited. No person is allowed to enter
onto Dutch Island without the specific written permission of the Director.

13.16 SEAPOWET and EIGHT ROD FARM MANAGEMENT AREA:
Sunday hunting will be allowed within the Eight Rod Farm Management
Area. No Sunday hunting will be allowed at Seapowet. No shotgun
and/or muzzleloader deer hunting on Seapowet.
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PART XIV
GENERAL

14.1 Taking of moose or bear by any method is prohibited except as provided
under special permit issued by the Director of the Department of
Environmental Management.

14.2 The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale,
offer for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is
prohibited, except by special permit issued by the Director of the
Department of Environmental Management or his/her designee.

14.3 The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale,
barter, or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a
wild turkey is prohibited. The possession of any dead untagged wild
turkey is prohibited.

14.4 There is no closed season for monk parakeets or rock doves (wild
pigeons).

14.5 Fluorescent Orange Requirement: Fluorescent orange safety clothing is
required during the hunting season statewide for all hunters. To meet this
requirement, safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange.
Fluorescent camouflage does not meet this requirement. The hunter
orange must be worn above the waist and be visible in all directions.
Examples that meet the orange requirements are a hat that covers 200
square inches or combination of hat and vest covering 500 square inches.
The following orange requirements apply:

14.5.1  Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during
the small game season.

14.5.2 Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while
traveling.

14.5.3 Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloaders during
muzzleloading deer season.

14.5.4 Two hundred (200) square inches by archers when traveling
to/from stands during muzzleloading deer season.

14.5.5 Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users
(including archers) during shotgun deer seasons.

14.5.6  Exempt from orange requirements are:
- waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or
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field, when done in conjunction with decoys;

- archery deer hunters (except during muzzle-loader and shotgun
deer season);

- hunters crow hunting over decoys;

- spring turkey hunters; and

- first segment dove hunters.

14.5.7  All other users of State Management areas, including but not
limited to hikers, bikers, and horseback riders, are required to
wear two hundred (200) square inches of solid daylight
fluorescent orange from the third Saturday in October to the last
day of February, and the last Thursday in April to the last day in
May, annually.

14.6 All dogs being utilized in hunting activities must wear a collar with a valid
license tag, and the name and address of the owner or handler.

14.7 Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high
water on Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as
established by federal regulation and during November 1 - 30.

14.8 Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone
line, pole, or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication
device is prohibited.

14.9 A muzzleloading rifle, not to exceed .40 caliber with round ball and patch
only, may be used to hunt small mammals during the established seasons
for these species. The use of solid ball in a muzzleloading shotgun is
prohibited at all times, except when deer hunting as provided.

14.10 The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night-vision
equipment while hunting is prohibited.

14.11 Itis prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of
liberation or stocking of said game birds into the State of Rhode Island
without first having received a permit to do so from the Division of Fish
and Wildlife. Persons holding a commercial game license or shooting
preserve license may liberate game birds or mammals in connection with
field trials and shooting preserves. See RIGL 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 20-
17-1.

14.12 Feeding and baiting wildlife in Rhode Island: feeding wild waterfowl, wild
turkey or wild cervids, black bear and coyote is not permitted any time in
the state of Rhode Island except:
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14.12.1 Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to
RI General Laws §20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research
within an enclosed pen;

14.12.2 By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly
associated with bona fide agricultural practices, including
planted wildlife food plots;

14.12.3 By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated
with bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food
material for legally possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a
permit;

14.12.4 By cutting of trees or brush; or
14.12.5 Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms,
or suet for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an
occupied dwelling.
14.12.6 Baiting coyotes on private land for purposes of hunting.
14.13 Distribution of Certain Food Material — Feeding wild or captive cervids with

any material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is
prohibited.

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2007-2008 SEASON
PAGE 44 OF 45



RULE 8 EFFECTIVE DATE

The foregoing Rules and Regulations - Hunting Regulations after due
notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become
effective 20 days after filing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter
20-1-2 20-1-4, 20-1-8, 20-1-12, 20-1-13, 20 -18, and 42-35 of the General
Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, as amended.

Michael Sullivan, Ph.D.
Director
Department of Environmental Management
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