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 STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 
FISH AND WILDLIFE   & 
LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 
RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
 
PURPOSE 

The purpose of these rules and regulations is to manage the marine resources of 
Rhode Island. 

 
AUTHORITY 

These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42.17.1, 42-17.6, 
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10 and in accordance with 
Chapter 42-35-18(b)(5), Administrative Procedures, of the General Laws of 1956, as 
amended. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS 

Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL 
20-3-2 through 20-3-6). 

 
APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed 
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3. 
 
SEVERABILITY 

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any 
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the 
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby. 

 
SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS (#4086) 
 On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and 

regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part 
VII (#4086) shall be superseded.  However, any enforcement action taken by, or 
application submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules 
and Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time 
the enforcement action was taken, or application filed. 
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations 
PART VII  -  MINIMUM SIZES OF FISH/SHELLFISH 

 
7.1 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shelled Clams, Mussels -- 
No person shall take or have in his custody or possession quahaugs of less than 
one inch (1") shell thickness (hinge width).  For purposes of this regulation, hinge 
width is defined as the distance between the convex apex of the right shell and 
convex apex of the left shell. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 
3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
(a) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1") shell 
thickness (hinge width). In addition, no person shall take and/or possess soft shell 
clams, taken from the free and common soft shell clam fisheries, of a diameter less than 
one and one half inches (1 1/2") taking the maximum shell diameter, or any oysters, 
taken from the free and common oyster fisheries, measuring less than three inches (3") 
measured parallel to the long axis of the oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are 
established by the director, in consultation with the marine fisheries council. Any person 
who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size, as delineated 
above, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than 
fifty dollars ($50.00) for each and every fifteen (15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any 
person who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size commingled 
and/or otherwise stored or contained with shellfish of not less than the minimum size, 
where the percentage of the less than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten 
percent (10%) of the total piece count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or 
contained package, shipment, or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture 
of the entire commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or 
container, in accordance with the provisions of §§ 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1. (RIGL 
20-6-11) 
       
7.2 Oysters -- Minimum Size:  Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis 
of the oyster. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.3 Sea Clams (Surf Clams) -- Minimum Size:  Five (5) inches measured parallel to the 
longest axis of the clam.  (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.4 Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops -- Every person taking any 
seed scallops, and failing to restore them as soon as possible to their natural beds in 
the water from which taken, shall be fined not less than twenty dollars ($20) nor more 
than one hundred dollars ($100) or be imprisoned exceeding thirty (30) days, or both, 
for each offense.  For the purpose of this Chapter, a "seed scallop" means a scallop 
with a bright, thin, slightly curved shell with no foreign adherent, the shell having no 
well-defined raised annual growth line, and the scallop being less than one (1) year old. 
(RIGL 20-6-17) 
 
7.5 Striped Bass -- Except as provided for in 12.3 and 12.5 no person, firm, or 
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corporation shall possess any striped bass measuring less than twenty-eight (28) 
inches total length, whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or other-
wise.  (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 12.2; (RIGL 20-4-11)] 
 
7.6   Minimum sizes, other species -- Except as specifically noted, no person shall 
possess or take any of the following species which are less than the following 
minimum size 
 
AMERICAN PLAICE (DAB):  Commercial and Recreational  14" 
ATLANTIC STURGEON:  Commercial and Recreational - no possession 
COD:  Commercial - 19";   Recreational - 20"  
EEL:  Commercial and Recreational - 6" 
HADDOCK:  Commercial and Recreational - 19" 
MONKFISH:  Commercial and Recreational - 17".  When possessed as tails either 
processed or mutilated the minimum length shall be 11" 
POLLOCK:  Commercial and Recreational - 19" 
SCUP:  Commercial - 9" and Recreational -10".  Floating trap fishermen may 
possess undersize scup provided they are not sold, bartered, traded, and 
exchanged, but following culling, are taken to sea and released back into the 
water. 
WEAKFISH (SQUETEAGUE):  Commercial and Recreational  16" 
WITCH FLOUNDER (GRAY SOLE):  Commercial and Recreational  14" 
YELLOWTAIL FLOUNDER:  Commercial and Recreational  13" 
All minimum sizes for the above listed fish shall be measured as total length 
(from tip of snout to tip of tail).  
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) -- No person commercially licensed under RIGL 20-
2-27 or RIMFC Part II shall possess or harvest any fluke which is less than four-
teen (14) inches total length.  A total annual statewide quota for fluke will be 
established.  It shall be the most recent allocation established for the State by the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S. 
Dept. of Commerce and published in the Federal Register.  The quota may be 
harvested by gear fishermen licensed in accordance with the provisions of Title 
20 of the General Laws and in accordance with all rules and regulations 
promulgated by the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council.  In order to provide for the 
orderly harvest of the quota the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council has established the 
following sub-period allocations: 
 

7.7.1 Summer flounder Sub-periods and Possession Limits
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  7.7.1-1 Winter Sub-Period: January 1 - April 30 annually. 
  Target allocation - 54% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7, 

unless modified pursuant to this part.  It shall be unlawful to possess or 
land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 700 pounds, or 
the poundage as provided in this part, of summer flounder during the 
period from January 1 through the Sunday of the first full week in 
February.  The DFW may adjust the possession limit during the sub-
period based on the current catch rate and advice from fishing industry 
representatives and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council. 

 
a. Any vessel which possesses a valid federal summer flounder 

moratorium permit if harvesting summer flounder from federal 
waters and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer 
flounder exemption certificate; or, if harvesting exclusively in State 
waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a valid license to 
harvest or land summer flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode 
Island and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer 
flounder exemption certificate, may opt to apply to obtain a permit 
from the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate landing 
program for summer flounder during the Winter I period beginning 
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through 
the Saturday of the first full week in April or until the program is 
terminated as provided in this part.  The name of any applicant 
vessel deemed to satisfy the requirements for enrollment in the 
program shall be maintained on  a list to be kept by DEM Division of 
Fish and Wildlife and DEM Division of Law Enforcement and is 
thereby authorized to land summer flounder in any amount between 
0 and 5,000 pounds in any two calendar week period so long as the 
total landed by that vessel does not exceed 5,000 pounds in any 
two calendar week period.  It shall be unlawful for the cumulative 
landings to exceed the biweekly trip limit.  The two calendar week 
period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the second 
following Saturday at 11:59 PM.  On the Sunday of the first full week 
in April or when 80% of the Winter I summer flounder quota has 
been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
(Division), whichever occurs first, the program will terminate and 
the possession limit per vessel shall be 500 pounds per calendar 
day. The DFW may adjust the aggregate program possession limit 
during the sub-period based on the current catch rate and advice 
from fishing industry representatives and the Rhode Island Marine 
Fisheries Council.  

 
b. The commercial possession limit of summer flounder for vessels 

that are not permitted in the aggregate landing program shall be 700 
pounds per calendar day for vessels which possess a valid state of 



RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations –   
Part VII - Minimum Sizes of Fish/Shellfish 

Page 7 of 38 

Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate. On the 
Sunday of the first full week in April or when 80% of the Winter I 
summer flounder quota has been harvested as determined by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division), whichever occurs first, the 
possession limit per vessel shall be 500 pounds per calendar day.  
It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that is not 
permitted to participate in the aggregate landing program to land 
more than the poundage of summer flounder, as specified above, in 
Rhode Island during any calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and 
ending at 11:59 PM of that same day. 

 
c. The possession limit for vessels which do not possess a RI 

Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate is 200 pounds per day.  
 

d. An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to 
participate in the aggregate landing program for summer flounder 
by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement that it satisfies each 
of the following criteria: 

 
(1) The vessel if harvesting summer flounder from federal waters 

possesses a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit and 
possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption 
certificate, or, if harvesting exclusively in State waters, the vessel’s 
operator possesses a valid license to harvest or land summer 
flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode Island and possesses a 
valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption certificate;  

 
(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid 

multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the State 
of Rhode Island to land summer flounder for commercial purposes; 
and  

 
 

(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not been 
assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past three years 
for a violation of Part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et al. and/or Part 
7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one marine fisheries 
violation 

 
e. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of 

the following requirements: 
 

(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the participant 
enters the program until the end of the Winter I sub period or until 
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the participant terminates enrollment by providing written notice of 
the termination from the program, whichever first occurs. Said 
termination shall take effect no earlier than the Saturday following 
the receipt of the written notice by the Division.  
 

(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a 
permit to participate in the program by downloading the application 
from DEMs website, or may obtain one directly from the Division of 
Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1943) on Mondays and Tuesdays, from 
8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter I sub period. The 
application must be filled out in its entirety and returned to the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd Jamestown, RI 
02835). The application will be reviewed by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement and upon acceptance, 
a permit will be issued to the applicant vessel to take effect the first 
Sunday after the permit is received. 
 

(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one aggregate 
landing program permit. 

 
 

(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the aggregate landing 
program shall only sell summer flounder to a dealer who is certified 
on a list maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife as a 
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A 
certified SAFIS dealer shall be defined as a dealer who is linked to 
the SAFIS reporting system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction 
of the Division of Fish and Wildlife its ability to make timely reports 
to the requisite governmental entities. A list of certified SAFIS 
dealers will be furnished to all permitted fishermen. A certificate 
attesting to the dealer’s designation shall be posted through the 
Winter I Period at the dealer’s facility.  

 
 

(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system referenced 
in section (4) of this part shall be documented by the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement for use in 
accounting for the amount of summer flounder landed by a specific 
vessel during a calendar week.  
 

(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting 
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in 
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request, 
including the name and address of the dealer where the summer 
flounder were landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back 
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to January 1st on board the vessel.  
 

f. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be 
suspended for the same calendar time period as described in the 
current Winter I period upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the 
Rules and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of 
Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, 
Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant 
to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
g. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted 
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific 
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or 
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with 
the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is 
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant 
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the 
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as 
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty 
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to 
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the 
Winter I period.  

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   
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(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 
determination to deny an applicant vessel a permit in the aggregate 
landing program for summer flounder must file said request in 
writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

 
 7.7.1-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in 
summer flounder may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife that it is qualified to purchase summer flounder from any vessel 
which is  permitted by the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate 
landing program for summer flounder during the Winter I period beginning 
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through the 
Saturday of the last full week in April or until the program is terminated as 
provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from purchasing or otherwise 
acquiring summer flounder from a permitted vessel during the above 
described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for and 
obtained certification as a dealer who is  certified on a list maintained by 
the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS). 

 
a. An applicant  dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a 

Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it 
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to 
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the 
preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following 
criteria: 

 
 

(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire summer 
flounder from vessel permitted in the in the aggregate landing 
program for summer flounder described in Part 7.7.1-1;   

 
(2) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a 

valid, current license to barter or trade in summer flounder; 
 
(3) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 

Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite 
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governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and 
 

b. The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the 
Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each 
of  the following requirements: 

 
(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of 

acquisitions of summer flounder to all required governmental 
entities employing the SAFIS reporting system.  

 
(2) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its 

designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.  
 

 
(3) Should the dealer be terminated as SAFIS certified dealer, the 

dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior 
to acquiring any summer flounder from such vessels.  

 
c. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same 
calendar time period as described in the current Winter I period 
upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a 
penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, 
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of 
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
d. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such 
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by 
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the 
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the 
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The 
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity 
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative 
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 
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relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists 
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification 
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the 
remainder of the Winter I period.  

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek 

an adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative 
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode 
Island 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the 
contested agency enforcement action.   

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a SAFIS 
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of 
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of 
receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

 
  7.7.1-2 Summer I Sub-Period: May 1 - July 31 annually. 
  Target allocation – 17.5% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7, 

unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel 
will be 100 pounds per calendar day. 
 
7.7.1-3  Summer II Sub-Period: August 1 - October 31 annually. 
Target allocation – 17.5% of the annual quota established in section 7.7, 
unless modified pursuant to this part.  The possession limit per vessel 
will be 150 pounds per calendar day. 

    
  7.7.1-4 Fall Sub-Period: November 1 - December 31 annually. 
  Target allocation - 11% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7, 

unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel 
will be 450 pounds per calendar day.  Any unused portion of the quota 
from a 'sub-period’ will be equally distributed to the allocations of the 
remaining sub-periods.  The over-harvest of a sub-period allocation will 
be deducted from the allocations of the remaining sub-periods.  
Annually, the target allocations specified in sections 7.7.1-1 through 
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7.7.1- 4 shall be adjusted by the DFW to charge over-harvest of a sub-
period allocation during a given year to the same sub-period of the next 
following year. 

   
 

7.7.2 Summer flounder Trip Limits (possession limit)
7.7.2-1  Repealed 5/11/01 
 
7.7.2-2 The possession limit may vary from the amount specified in 
sections 7.7.1-1 through 7.7.1- 4.   Fish and Wildlife, after discussions 
with fishing industry representatives, will determine, based upon the 
period of time remaining in the quota period and the current catch rate, 
whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the sub-period.  
Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in the sub-period, 
Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit should be 
decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the 
Secretary of State's Office if the rate is changed, and publish a news 
release announcing the change in a newspaper of daily circulation 
throughout the State. 

 
[Effective July 13, 2006 at 12:01 AM the commercial summer flounder 
fishery will close until the next sub-period begins on August 1, 2006 with 
a possession limit of 150 pounds per vessel per calendar day.] 

 
7.7.3 Summer flounder Mesh Regulations –  Otter trawlers that land or 
possess 100 pounds (45.4 kg) or more of summer flounder from May 1 
through October 31; or 200 pounds (90.8 kg) or more of summer flounder per 
trip from November 1 through April 30, must fish with nets or combinations 
of nets that have a minimum mesh size of 5.5 inch (14.0 cm) diamond, or 6 
inch (15.2 cm) square mesh applied throughout the body, extension(s) and 
codend portion of the net. 

 
7.7.4 Summer flounder Recreational Regulations 

 
7.7.4-1 Size and Possession –  No person fishing recreationally shall 
possess a summer flounder less than seventeen and one-half inches 
(17.5”) total length, and no person fishing recreationally shall possess, 
per calendar day, more than seven (7) summer flounder whether caught 
within the jurisdiction of this state or otherwise.  Compliance with the 
possession limit aboard vessels will be determined by dividing the 
number of fish on a vessel by the number of recreational fishermen 
onboard said vessel. 

   
  7.7.4-2 Season –  The recreational season for summer flounder in Rhode 

Island waters is open from April 1 through December 31.  The season is 
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closed from January 1 through March 31.  Possession of summer 
flounder taken from any waters of the state for recreational purposes 
during the closed season is prohibited. 

 
7.7.5 Summer flounder Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting 
Regulations/Penalty -- 

 
7.7.5-1  Prohibition on the transfer of Summer flounder -- No Summer 
flounder (Paralichthys dentatus), may be purchased, bartered, or sold 
within the State of Rhode Island unless marked, processed, shipped, 
labeled, and handled in accordance with the following rules: 
a. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to transfer 

at sea summer flounder from one vessel to another vessel, and the 
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer summer 
flounder to dealers who possess a valid Rhode Island Dealer's 
License. 

  b. No licensed person in charge of the vessel may land summer flounder 
after 8:00 PM or prior to 6:00 AM.  The legal hours for landing summer 
flounder are from 6:00 AM to 8:00 PM only. 

  c. The licensed person in charge of the vessel pursuant to RIGL Title 
20-2 must notify the Rhode Island Office of Law Enforcement (401) 
222-2284 or 222-3070 at least one hour prior, but not more than six 
hours prior, to offloading any commercial vessel which possesses 
more than 200 pounds of summer flounder or the maximum allowable 
possession limit or the lesser thereof.  Said notice shall be provided 
by the vessel who will be involved in the transfer and must include the 
name of the dealer, the name of the vessel, the landing time, and the 
precise landing location. 

  d. All summer flounder must be weighed prior to the removal of the 
summer flounder from the dealer's premises or from the point of 
transfer. 

  e. The weight scales must be certified in accordance with Rhode Island 
law RIGL, Chapter 47-1. 

  f. All summer flounder may only be shipped out of state in standard 60 
or 100 pound cartons (containers) unless specific prior written 
authorization is requested and received from the Rhode Island Office 
of Law Enforcement, 83 Park St., Providence, RI 02903. 

  g. Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth in 
section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations 

 
7.7.5-2  License Suspension: 
a. In addition to the penalty prescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of 

any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required herein 
will be suspended by the Director.  The license of any person who 
knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any provision of 
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these regulations may be suspended for a period not to exceed one 
year. 

b. The Director has determined that non-compliance with these 
regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the 
available stock of summer flounder and, thus, the general welfare as 
represented that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged 
violators pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising 
from the alleged violation. 

  c. No person shall take, sell, or possess within this state any summer 
flounder which have not been taken in compliance with the provisions 
of this regulation.  Any summer flounder which the Director shall have 
reasonable cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with 
the provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in 
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the Department 
of Environmental Management. 

 
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 

7.7.6  Moratorium on the Landing of Summer Flounder -- No person shall 
possess, land, sell, or offer for sale in excess of two hundred (200) pounds of 
summer flounder Paralichthys dentatus, in any calendar day, in the State of 
Rhode Island or the jurisdictional waters of the state without a summer 
flounder exemption certificate issued by Fish and Wildlife and a valid Rhode 
Island commercial fishing license.  Application for a summer flounder 
exemption permit must be received by Fish and Wildlife prior to January 1, 
1997. 

 
7.7.7  Exemption Certificates -- Fish and Wildlife will issue an exemption 
certificate for a vessel if the owner of the vessel or his/her representative 
applies to Fish and Wildlife prior to January 1, 1997, for the issuance of such 
a certificate and demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that: 

 
  7.7.7-1 the operator of the vessel possesses a valid Rhode Island 

commercial fishing license to land summer flounder up to the amount 
permitted by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council regulations; and 

 
  7.7.7-2 the subject vessel meets any of the following criteria: 
 
   a. the vessel was operated by a person who possessed a valid Rhode 

Island commercial fishing license and landed and sold in excess of 
one pound of summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer 
during the period from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992; 
or 

 
   b. the vessel fished exclusively in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) 
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and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to a 
licensed Rhode Island licensed dealer sometime during the period 
January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992.  The Department may 
require additional supporting documents including but not limited to 
the ship's logs, ice and fuel slips; or 

 
   c. the vessel replaces a vessel which was operated by a person who 

possessed a valid Rhode Island commercial fishing license, and the 
vessel being replaced landed and sold in excess of one pound of 
summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer during the period 
from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel 
being replaced was lost by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the 
replaced vessel is required to have been owned by the applicant at the 
time of the loss; or 

 
   d. the vessel replaces a vessel which fished exclusively in the EEZ 

and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to a 
Rhode Island licensed dealer, during the period January 1, 1987, 
through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel being replaced was lost 
by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the replaced vessel is required 
to have been owned by the applicant at the time of the loss. 

 
e. If the vessel is replacing a vessel that was lost by sinking or was 
otherwise destroyed, documentation must be presented from a 
licensed insurance company, U.S. Coast Guard report, or some other 
valid evidence of ownership to the satisfaction of the Director. 

 
7.7.8  Application for Certificate of Exemption -- A vessel is eligible to receive 
a Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate if it meets the 
following conditions.  The applicant applying for an exemption certificate 
shall: 

 
  7.7.8-1 provide Fish and Wildlife with a copy of the operator's valid current 

Rhode Island commercial fishing license or non-resident landing license, 
and Federal Fluke Permit if the summer flounder is to be taken in the 
Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ); and 

 
  7.7.8-2 submit a completed notarized application for said certificate; and 
 
  7.7.8-3 submit proof that the vessel meets the requirements set out in 

7.7.7 and 
 
  7.7.8-4 provide a completed notarized waiver authorizing the Department 

to access records verifying that this vessel and operator meet the criteria 
set forth in 7.7.7; and 
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7.7.8-5 provide Fish and wildlife with a copy of the vessel's U.S. Coast 
Guard documentation papers or state issued boat registration certificate 
proving ownership of the vessel.  If replacing a vessel, proof of ownership 
for both boats is required, and 

 
7.7.8-6  provide to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
proof that the applicant vessel is replacing a vessel which has been 
removed from the Summer Flounder Exemption Program (as described in 
7.7.6) 

(a) A vessel may be sold with all permits and history (state and 
federal) transferred together or without the vessel history and permits.  
A vessel owner may sever the permits and history in entirety from the 
vessel for the purposes of replacing the vessel.  The vessel owner 
must supply credible written evidence verifying that the 
transferor/seller is retaining the vessel's fishing and permit history for 
purposes of replacing the vessel.  If a vessel owner elects to sever 
permits and history from a vessel, the permits and history may be 
transferred only to another vessel owned by said vessel owner. 
(b) Vessel permits, Certificates of Exemption, and fishing history 
cannot be split.  
(c) Vessel permits or Certificates of Exemption may not be combined 
to create larger replacements vessels. 
(d) The replacement vessel may not exceed a 10% increase in length 
overall (LOA), a 10% increase in gross registered tonnage (GRT) or net 
tonnage, or a 20% increase in horsepower of the vessel being 
replaced. 
(e) Only one vessel upgrade based upon the original issuance of 
certificate is allowed for the Certificate of Exemption or permit. 

 
7.7.9 Submission of Application -- Application for an exemption certificate 

shall be mailed or submitted prior to January 1, 1997 to the office of 
Fish and Wildlife at: Oliver Stedman Government Center, 4808 Tower 
Hill Rd., Wakefield, RI 02879, Attention: Fluke Exemption. 

 
7.7.10  Transfer of permit or Certificate of Exemption – 

(a) A vessel owner wishing to transfer any permit or Certificate of 
Exemption issued by the Division must apply to the Division for 
approval.  If approved for a transfer, all vessel permits (state and 
federal) shall be transferred together only. 
(1) any vessel permit or Certificate of Exemption and fishing history 

cannot be split; 
(2) permits or certificates may not be combined to create larger 

replacement vessels; 
(3) a vessel with a Federal Moratorium Permit or Certificate of 
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Exemption can be replaced by another vessel and the permit 
transferred voluntarily 

(4) Only one vessel transfer based upon the original issuance of 
certificate is allowed for the Certificate of Exemption or permit. 

(b) Any permit or Certificate of Exemption issued by the Division 
pursuant to Title 20 RIGL is only valid for the person/vessel to which it 
is issued.  In instances of a permitted vessel, the owner of that vessel 
may either transfer the permit or Certificate of Exemption along with the 
vessel to a new owner, or retain the permit or Certificate of Exemption 
and apply it within ninety (90) days to another vessel that he owns. 
(c) Certificates of Exemption or permits may not be: 

(1) pledged, mortgaged, leased, or encumbered in any way; 
(2) transferred with any retained right of repossession or foreclosure, 

or any condition requiring a subsequent transfer; or  
(3) attached, distrained, or sold on execution of judgement. 
 
(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty – Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 

 
7.8  Winter Flounder (Blackback) -- No person shall take possess, sell, possess 
for sale, or offer for sale any winter flounder measuring less than twelve (12) 
inches total length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or 
otherwise.  During a closure of the R.I. winter flounder fishery a vessel fishing in 
the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) may traverse Rhode Island waters for the 
purpose of landing winter flounder provided they are not fishing and nets are 
stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of these regulations. 
 

7.8.1  Winter Flounder -  Four fish recreational possession limit  -- The taking 
and/or possession of winter flounder by recreational fishermen is prohibited 
with the exception that annually, beginning on the fourth Saturday in April 
and continuing for 30 days, and beginning on the last Saturday in September 
and continuing for 30 days, fishermen may take and possess not more than 
four (4) winter flounder in Rhode Island waters.  Said fish shall not be offered 
for sale.  The four fish possession limit shall not apply to fishermen licensed 
pursuant to RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, or 20-2-28.1, provided winter 
flounder possessed by those licensed in the above sections are harvested in 
compliance with R.I. Marine Fisheries Council Statutes and Regulations. 

  
7.8.2  Winter Flounder - Mesh Regulations/Commercial Fishing Gear -- The 
minimum mesh size for bottom trawl nets is six (6) inch diamond mesh or six 
and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughout the body and 
extension of the net, or any combination thereof, and six and one half (6.5) 
inch diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied to the 
codend of the bottom trawl nets as defined in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 
section. The minimum mesh size for gill nets is six and one half (6.5) inch 
diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughout 
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the net. Vessels may utilize commercial fishing gear with mesh smaller than 
the sizes referenced in this section provided they do not possess any winter 
flounder except as provided in Section 7.8.1.  
 

(a) For vessels greater than 45 ft in length overall, a diamond mesh 
codend is defined as the first 50 meshes counting from the terminus of 
the net, and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 100 bars 
counting from the terminus of the net 
 
(b) For vessels 45 ft or less in length overall, a diamond mesh codend is 
defined as the first 25 meshes counting from the terminus of the net, 
and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 50 bars counting from 
the terminus of the net. 

 
7.8.2-1 Net obstruction or constriction  

A fishing vessel subject to minimum mesh size restrictions shall not use 
any device or material, including, but not limited to, nets, net 
strengtheners, ropes, lines, or chafing gear, on the top of a trawl net, 
except that one splitting strap and one bull rope (if present), consisting of 
line and rope no more than 3 in (7.6 cm) in diameter, may be used if such 
splitting strap and/or bull rope does not constrict, in any manner, the top of 
the trawl net. “The top of the trawl net” means the 50 percent of the net that 
(in a hypothetical situation) would not be in contact with the ocean bottom 
during a tow if the net were laid flat on the ocean floor. For the purpose of 
this paragraph, head ropes are not considered part of the top of the trawl 
net. 

 
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.9  Tautog (Blackfish) -- No person shall take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or 
offer for sale any tautog measuring less than sixteen (16) inches total length 
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 
     

7.9.1  Recreational -- Except as provided in Part II, no person may possess 
more than three (3) tautog  from May 1 through May 31. The tautog fishery will 
be closed from June 1 through June 30. No person may possess more than 
three (3) tautog  from July 1 through October 21. No person may possess 
more than ten (10) tautog from October 22 through December 15, annually.  
Compliance aboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish 
onboard a vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said 
vessel. 

 
7.9.2  Commercial --The total allowable harvest of tautog will be established 
annually, and will be that amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the 
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Regional Fishery Management Council and/or the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvested only by permitted gear 
types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules and regulations 
promulgated by the DEM and the RIGL Title 20.   The quota shall only be 
available during the following seasons: 
(a) April 15 – May 31:  1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall be 

available from April 15 through May 31, unless modified pursuant to this 
part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any 
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period.  The 
aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many 
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish limit per 
day.  

 
[Effective May 10, 2006 at 12:01 AM the commercial tautog 
fishery will be closed until the next sub-period begins on 
July 15, 2006 with a ten (10) fish per vessel per calendar day 
bag limit.] 
 

(b) July 15 – August 29:  1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall 
be available from July 15 – August 29, unless modified pursuant to this 
part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any 
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period.  The 
aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many 
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish limit per 
day. 

(c) October 15 – December 15: 1/3 of the annual quota established in this part 
shall be available from October 15 – December 15, unless modified 
pursuant to this part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from 
a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this 
period.  The aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how 
many licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish 
limit per day. 

(d) Within each period the allocation may be harvested until it is exhausted.  
Any unused quota not harvested during a sub-period will be carried 
forward into the next period and any over-harvest will be deducted equally 
from all periods in the next calendar year.  No licensed commercial 
fishermen may possess more than ten (10) tautog in any calendar day.  
During a closure of the R.I. tautog fishery a federally permitted vessel 
fishing in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), may traverse Rhode Island 
waters for the purpose of landing tautog in another state, provided their 
nets are stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of these regulations. 

     
 7.9.3  Possession Limits  for Charter and Party Boats -- Compliance aboard 

vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel 
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by the number of recreational fishermen on board said vessel.  Said fish shall 
not be offered for sale.  Party and charter boats may obtain a State permit by 
showing proof of a U.S. Coast Guard License to conduct their fishery within 
the territorial waters of Rhode Island. 

 
7.9.4  Reporting requirements. -- Dealers must comply with the reporting 
requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries 
Regulations 
 

 7.9.5 Closure of commercial fisheries managed under a federally mandated 
quota or allocation system. -- Any landing of a marine species managed under 
a quota or allocation system, or the taking or possession of any marine 
species, may be prohibited by the Director for a specified portion of the 
calendar year upon the finding by the Director that ninety percent (90%) or 
more of the annual quota is about to be harvested, and upon submission of a 
notice of closure to the Office of Secretary of State, and publication of the 
closure notice in a daily newspaper of statewide circulation.  Further, it is the 
responsibility of the licensed person in charge of a vessel harvesting species 
regulated in this section to call the DEM hotline for current harvesting and 
possession regulations. 

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.10  Bluefish - Possession limit for recreational fishermen -- No person shall 
possess more than ten bluefish unless he/she has a permit meeting the 
requirements of RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-26.1, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1.  Compliance 
onboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish onboard a 
vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.  
 
 7.10.1  Bluefish - Commercial Quota  -- A total allowable harvest of bluefish 

will be established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State of 
Rhode Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvested 
only by permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all 
rules and regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries 
Council.  To provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island 
Marine Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period 
allocations. 

  
7.10.2  Bluefish Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods    

 
 7.10.2-1 Spring sub-period - January 1 through June 30 annually.  Quota - 

50% of the annual allocation.     
 

7.10.2-2 Summer-Fall Sub Period - July 1 through December 31 annually.  
Quota - 50% of the annual allocation.   
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When 50% of any seasonal sub-period quota is reached, Fish and Wildlife 
will determine if a possession limit of between 200 - 10,000 pounds should 
be established depending upon the time remaining in the quota period 
and the current catch rate.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the 
Secretary of State's office if a possession limit is established, and will 
publish a news release announcing the change.  The possession limit may 
be modified by Fish and Wildlife providing such notification is made. 

  
7.10.3  Bluefish - Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the 
reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries 
Regulations 

 
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.11 Scup Regulations - Minimum Size - 9" total length (TL) -- It is unlawful for any 
person commercially licensed under RIGL 20-2-27 or RIMFC Part II, to  land or 
possess any scup, or parts thereof, that do not meet this size limit. [see Part 
10.12 for gear roller regs]  (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 
(RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 

 7.11.1 - Scup - Commercial Quota -- A total allowable harvest of scup will be 
established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State of Rhode 
Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the Atlantic 
States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvested only by 
permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules and 
regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  To 
provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island Marine 
Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period allocations.  

 
 7.11.2  Scup Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods    

 
7.11.2-1 Winter Period I (January-April) – 

 
a. Any vessel which possesses a valid federal scup moratorium 

permit if harvesting scup from federal waters; or, if harvesting 
exclusively in State waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a 
valid license to harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in 
Rhode Island may opt to apply to obtain a permit from the Division 
of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
during the Winter I period beginning on January 1 and running 
through April 30 or until the program is terminated as provided in 
this part.  The name of any applicant vessel deemed to satisfy the 
requirements for enrollment in the program shall be maintained on 
a list to be kept by DEM Division of Fish and Wildlife and DEM 
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Division of Law Enforcement and is thereby authorized to land scup 
in any amount between 0 and 30,000 pounds in any two calendar 
week period so long as the total landed by that vessel does not 
exceed 30,000 pounds in any two calendar week period.  It shall be 
unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the biweekly trip 
limit.  The two calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 
AM and ends on the second following Saturday at 11:59 PM.  On 
April 30 or when 80% of the Winter I scup quota has been harvested 
as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), 
whichever first occurs, the program will terminate and the 
possession limit per vessel will be 1,000 pounds per calendar day.  

 
b. The commercial possession limit of scup for vessels that are not 

permitted for the biweekly trip limit program shall be 2,000 pounds 
per trip.  It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that 
is not permitted to participate in the biweekly trip limit program to 
land more than 2,000 pounds of scup in Rhode Island during any 
calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and ending at 11:59 PM of 
that same day. 

 
 

c. An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to 
participate in the biweekly trip limit program for scup by 
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division that it satisfies 
each of the following criteria: 

 
(1) The vessel if harvesting scup from federal waters possesses a 

valid federal scup moratorium permit, or, if harvesting exclusively 
in State waters, the vessel’s operator possesses a valid license to 
harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in Rhode Island;  

 
(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid 

multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the 
State of Rhode Island to land scup for commercial purposes; and 

 
(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not 

been assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past 
three years for a violation of part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et 
al. and/or Part 7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one 
marine fisheries violation  

 
d. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of 

the following requirements: 
 

(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the 
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participant enters the program until the end of the Winter I sub 
period or until the participant terminates enrollment by providing 
written notice of the termination from the program, whichever first 
occurs. Said termination shall take effect no earlier than the 
Saturday ending the biweekly period following the receipt of the 
notice by the Division. 

 
(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a 

permit to participate in the program by downloading the 
application from DEMs website or may obtain one directly from 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1943) on Mondays and 
Tuesdays, from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter I 
sub period. The application must be filled out in its entirety and 
returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd 
Jamestown, RI 02835). The application will be reviewed by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement 
and upon acceptance, a permit will be issued to the applicant 
vessel to take effect the first Sunday after the permit is received. 

 
(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one biweekly 

trip limit permit. 
 
(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the biweekly trip limit 

program shall only sell scup to a dealer who is a certified on a list 
maintained by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries 
Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A certified SAFIS dealer shall 
be defined as a dealer who is linked to the SAFIS reporting 
system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Division 
its ability to make timely reports to the requisite governmental 
entities. A list of certified SAFIS dealers will be furnished to all 
enrolled fishermen. A certificate attesting to the dealer’s 
designation shall be posted through the Winter I Period at the 
dealer’s facility.  

 
(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system 

referenced in section [d. (4)] of this part shall be documented by 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law 
Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup landed 
by a specific vessel during a two calendar week period.  

 
(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the 

reporting form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall 
be kept in numerical order on board the vessel and furnished 
upon request, including the name and address of the dealer 
where the scup were landed.  
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e. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the owner(s) and 
operator(s) privilege to commercially fish will be suspended for the 
same calendar time period as described in the current Winter I 
period upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-
3-3) and the Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Suspension/Revocation of Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish 
Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, 
licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
f. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted 
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific 
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or 
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with 
the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is 
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant 
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the 
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as 
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty 
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to 
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the 
Winter I period.  

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

determination to deny an applicant vessel permitted for the 
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biweekly trip limit program for scup must file said request in writing 
with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

 
 7.11.2-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in 
scup may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and Wildlife that 
it is qualified to purchase scup from any vessel which is enrolled by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
during the Winter I period beginning January 1 through April 30 or until the 
program is terminated as provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from 
purchasing or otherwise acquiring scup from a permitted vessel during the 
above described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for 
and obtained certification as a dealer who is  certified on a list maintained 
by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System 
(SAFIS). 

 
a. An applicant  dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a 

Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it 
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to 
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the 
preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following 
criteria: 

 
(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and 

Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire scup from 
vessels permitted for the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
described in Part 7.11.2-1;   

 
(2) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a 

valid, current license to barter or trade in scup; 
 
(3) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 

Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite 
governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and 

 
b. The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the 

Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each 
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of  the following requirements: 
 

(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of 
acquisitions of scup to all required governmental entities 
employing the SAFIS reporting system.  

 
(2) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its 

designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.  
 
(3) Should the dealer be terminated as a SAFIS certified dealer, the 

dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior 
to acquiring any scup from such vessels.  

 
c. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same 
calendar time period as described in the current Winter I period 
upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a 
penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, 
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of 
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
d. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such 
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by 
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the 
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the 
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The 
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity 
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative 
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 
relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists 
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification 
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the 
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remainder of the Winter I period.  
 

(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a SAFIS 
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of 
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of 
receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3)The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must be 

received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the 
time period indicated.   

 
Winter Period II (November- December) -- possession and landing limit is 
3,500 pounds, decreasing to 500 pounds once 70% of the period quota is 
landed.   

 
7.11.2-2  Summer-Fall Period  (May - October) A state quota for scup will 
be established annually for the Summer-Fall period and shall be the most 
recent amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic 
States Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Commerce and published in the Federal Register.  The total 
quota for will be divided as follows: 
 
FLOATING TRAPS licensed by the state of Rhode Island – Sixty percent 
(60%) of the Summer-Fall period quota will be allocated to the floating trap 
harvesting sector.  Ten percent (10%) of the floating fish trap sector quota 
will be set aside at the beginning of the season annually.  The quota 
allocated to the floating trap sector will be available during the following 
sub-periods: 
 
APRIL 15 – October 31: During those  years in which the Winter I federal 
coastwide scup quota allocation is completely exhausted  prior to April 
15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on April 15.  The 
possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per calendar 
day.  Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected 
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to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap 
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota 
(minus the set aside) has been harvested 
 
MAY 1 – OCTOBER 31:  During those  years in which the Winter I federal 
coastwide scup quota allocation is not completely exhausted  prior to 
April 15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on May 1. The 
possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per calendar 
day.  Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected 
to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap 
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota 
(minus the set aside) has been harvested.   
 
Annually, on June 7 the ten percent (10%) set aside will become available 
at a possession limit of 5,000 pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar 
day. When 30,000 pounds of the set aside remains, the possession limit 
will drop to 300 pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day until the 
entire set aside has been completely harvested. If on June 7th the 90% 
quota trigger has not been hit, the possession limit will remain at 25,000 
pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day until that level is reached 
and then will follow the schedule as set forth above.  
 
Annually, no later than August 1, the unharvested portion of the floating 
fish trap quota shall be made available to all gear types upon consultation 
with the floating fish trap industry representatives.  
 
[Effective 12:01 AM, June 4, 2005, the possession limit for floating fish 
traps will be 1,000 pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day.] 

 
  * “Fish trap licensee” – for purposes of this section, fish trap licensee 

shall refer to a resident person or resident corporation currently issued a 
license pursuant to RI General Laws §20-5-2.  The maximum possession 
limit per fish trap licensee shall be the amount set forth above regardless 
of the number of authorized trap locations, the number of vessels or the 
number of licensed fishermen who may be working for or may enter into 
contract with the fish trap licensee.  While engaged in the operation of a 
fish trap, any licensed fisherman that may be working for or may enter 
into contract with the fish trap licensee waives any individual right to 
possess scup pursuant to a possession limit set out in RIMF Regulations 
Part 7.11.2-2. 
Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth in 
section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations         

   
  GEAR TYPES OTHER THAN FLOATING FISH TRAPS – Forty percent (40%) 

of the Summer- Fall period quota will be allocated to all gear types except 
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floating fish traps.  The quota allocated to the other gear type sector will 
be available during the following sub-periods. 
 
MAY - JUNE:  One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be available 
from May 1 through June 30.  The possession limit per vessel on May 1 
will be 1,000 pounds per calendar day.  The possession limit will be 
reduced at the discretion of the Division.  The fishery will close once the 
entire period allocation is projected to be harvested.  
 
JULY - SEPT. 15:  One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be 
available from July 1 through September 15.  The possession limit per 
vessel will be 100 pounds per calendar day until the end of the sub-period 
or until the entire sub-period allocation is projected to be harvested, at 
which time the fishery will close.  
 
SEPT. 16 – OCTOBER 31:  One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will 
be available from  September 16 through October 31.  The possession 
limit per vessel will be 100 pounds per calendar day until the end of the 
sub-period or until the entire sub-period allocation is projected to be 
harvested, at which time the fishery will close.  Annually, on October 15, 
or thereafter, the Division may increase the possession limit if they 
project the entire quota will not be harvested by the end of the sub-period. 
Any unused portion of a sub-period allocation will be divided between the 
two remaining period(s).  The DFW will have the discretion of adjusting 
trip limits upwards or downwards as necessary.  
 
7.11.2-3  Possession Limit Adjustments -- Fish and Wildlife, after 
discussions with fishing industry representatives, will determine, based 
upon the period of time remaining in the quota period and the current 
catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the 
sub-period.  Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in the 
sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit 
should be decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with 
the Secretary of State's Office if the rate is changed and publish a news 
release announcing the change.  The rate may be modified by Fish and 
Wildlife upon providing such notification with the possession limit altered 
between a range of 0 - 10,000 pounds in possession.   

 
[Effective July 8, 2006 at 12:01 AM the possession limit for gear 
types other than floating fish traps for the commercial scup 
fishery will be 500 pounds per vessel per calendar day until the 
next sub period begins on September 16, 2006 with a 
possession limit of 100 pounds per vessel per calendar day.] 
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7.11.3  Scup - Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the 
reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine 
Fisheries Regulations 

 
7.11.4  Scup - Recreational   

7.11.4-1 -  No person fishing recreationally shall possess scup less than 
ten and one half inches (10.5") total length, and no person fishing 
recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more than twenty-five (25) 
scup, whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise 
except as provided in section 7.11.4-3.  Compliance with the possession 
limit aboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on 
board a vessel by the number of fishermen on board said vessel. 
 
7.11.4-2 – The recreational season for scup in Rhode Island waters will be 
open from June 1 through October 31 annually.  
 
7.11.4-3 – While fishing on a party or charter boat, no person shall 
possess scup less than ten and one half inches (10.5") total length, and 
no person fishing while on a party or charter boat shall possess, per 
calendar day, whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or 
otherwise, more than twenty five (25) scup from June 1 through August 
31, and more than sixty (60) scup from September 1 through October 31.  
Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels will be determined 
by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel by the number of 
fishermen on board said vessel. 
 

     
7.11.5 Scup - Scup Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting Regulations  

 
7.11.5-1 Prohibition on the transfer of Scup -- No Scup, Stenotomus 
chrysops, may be purchased, bartered, or sold within the State of Rhode 
Island unless in compliance with the following: 

 
A. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to 
transfer scup from one vessel to another vessel while at sea.   The 
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer scup to 
a dealer licensed by the State of Rhode Island.  Dealers are 
required to be licensed by the R.I. Department of Environmental 
Management (in compliance with RIGL 20-2-27 (d), or 20-2-28.1). 
 
B. All scup must be weighed prior to the removal of the scup from 
the dealer’s premises or from the point of transfer. 

 
C. The weight scales must be certified in accordance with RIGL, 
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Chapter 47-1. 
 

D. Vessels are only allowed one trip limit in possession per 
calendar day.  In addition, no person may land more than one trip 
limit in any calendar day.  No person shall transport into the State 
of Rhode Island any scup which is not landed at a port located 
within the state unless the transaction of the first point of sale is in 
another state. 

 
E.  All dealers are required to record and report all transfers of 
scup in accordance with the following: 

(1)    Dealers shall maintain a written record on forms 
provided by the DFW, or dealer forms, of each scup 
transaction at their permanent place of business in Rhode 
Island, or with an authorized agent located in Rhode Island 
for inspection 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM during the course of normal 
daily business operations.  Records must be available by 
10:00 AM on the next business day following the date of 
landing.  Records must be available at the dealer’s or agent’s 
Rhode Island office for a period of three years. 

 
(2)   The record must include:  date of purchase, time of 
offloading, location of purchase, the vessel name, the name and 
license number of the Rhode Island license holder and the 
amount of scup transferred. 

  
F.  Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth 
in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations 

 
7.11.5-2 License Suspension 

 
A.  In addition to the penalty prescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of 
any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required 
herein will be suspended by the Director.  The license of any person 
who knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any 
provision of these regulations may be suspended for a period not to 
exceed one year. 

 
B.  The Director has determined that non-compliance with these 
regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the 
available stock of scup and thus the general welfare as represented 
that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged violators 
pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising from the 
alleged violation. 
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C. No person shall take, sell, or possess within this state any scup 
which have not been taken in compliance with the provisions of 
this regulation.  Any scup which the Director shall have reasonable 
cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with the 
provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in 
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the 
Department of Environmental Management. 

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 
7.12 Size, Possession, and Daily Limit Violations On Board Vessels -- In any 
instance, when there is a violation of the size, possession, or daily limit on board 
a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the 
violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or 
the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. (RIMFC REGULATION) 
[Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 
7.13 Atlantic Sturgeon - Moratorium on Harvest -- No harvest or possession of 
Atlantic Sturgeon will be permitted within the territorial waters of the State of 
Rhode Island until further notice. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3(RIGL 
20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 
7.14 Black Sea Bass  

 
7.14.1  Commercial Harvest  

 
7.14.1-1   Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing commercially shall 
take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any black sea bass 
measuring less than eleven (11) inches total length whether caught within 
the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 

 
7.14.1-2  Commercial Seasons and Possession Limits --  A state quota for 
black sea bass will be established annually and shall be the most recent 
amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic States 
Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S. Department 
of Commerce as published in the Federal Register.  The quota shall be 
available during the following seasons: 
 
(a) January 1 – April 30: Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota 

established in this part shall be available from January 1 through April 
30, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall be unlawful 
to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, 
more than 1,500 pounds of black sea bass during this period.  When 
60% of the sub-period allocation has been harvested, the possession 
limit will drop to 1,000 pounds.  Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for current 
possession limit. 
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(b) May 1 – July 31:  Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota established in 

this part shall be available from May 1 through July 31, unless modified 
pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard 
or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 100 pounds 
of black sea bass during this period.  Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the 
current possession limit. 

 
(c) August 1 – October 31:  Twenty-five percent (39%) of the quota 

established in this part shall be available from August 1 through 
October 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall be 
unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar 
day, more than 100 pounds of black sea bass during this period. Refer 
to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit. 

 
(d) November 1 – December 31:  Twenty-five percent (11%) of the quota 

established in this part shall be available from November 1 through 
December 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall 
be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one 
calendar day, more than 500 pounds of black sea bass during this 
period.  Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit. 

 
(e) Any unused portion of the quota from a ‘sub-period’ will be equally 

distributed to the allocations of the remaining sub-periods.  The over-
harvest of a sub-period allocation will be deducted from the allocations 
of the remaining sub-periods.  Annually, the quota allocations 
specified in section 7.14.1-2(a-d) shall be adjusted by the DFW to 
charge over-harvest of a sub-period allocation during a given year to 
the same sub-period of the following year. 

 
7.14.1-3 Current Commercial Possession Limit – 
Unless otherwise specified in this section, refer to 7.14.1-2 (a-e) for 
current commercial possession limit. 
 
[Effective July 13, 2006 at 12:01 AM the possession limit for the 
commercial black sea bass fishery will be 500 pounds per 
vessel per calendar day until the sub-period begins on 
September 16, 2006 with a possession limit of 100 pounds per 
vessel per calendar day.] 

 
7.14.1-4  Possession Limit Adjustments – The possession limits specified 
according to section 7.14.1-2 may be modified by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife, who, after discussions with fishing industry representatives, will 
determine, based upon the period of time remaining in the quota period 
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and the current catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the 
end of the sub-period.  Having determined the catch rate and time 
remaining in the sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the 
possession limit should be decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife will 
file a notice with the Secretary of State’s Office if the possession limit is 
changed and publish a news release announcing the change.  Fish and 
Wildlife may modify the possession limit upon providing such notification. 
 
7.14.1- 5 Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the reporting 
requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries 
Regulations  

 
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 

7.14.2 Recreational Harvest  
 
7.14.2-1 – Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall 
possess a black sea bass less than twelve inches (12") total length, and 
no person fishing recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more 
than twenty-five (25) black sea bass whether caught within the jurisdiction 
of this State or otherwise.  Compliance with the possession limit aboard 
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by 
the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 
 
7.14.2-2 – Recreational Season -- The recreational season for black sea 
bass in Rhode Island waters is open from January 1 through December 
31, annually. 

 
7.15 Spiny dogfish   

 
7.15.1  Commercial Season and Possession Limits – The commercial 
season shall extend from May 1 until April 30 of the following year and 
shall be divided into two semi annual periods.  It shall be unlawful to 
possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 
600 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period May 1 through October 31 
and 300 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period November 1 through 
April 30.  When notified that the quota in any given period has been 
harvested, as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service or the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife shall file a notice with the Office of the Secretary of State 
prohibiting the commercial landings, harvest and possession of spiny 
dogfish in state waters for the remainder of the designated period and 
publish a news release announcing the closure in a newspaper of daily 
circulation throughout the State. 
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7.15.2  Current Commercial Possession Limit – Effective May 1, 2004 at 
12:01 AM the commercial landings and possession limits of spiny dogfish 
will follow the regulations as set out in section 7.15.  

 
7.15.3  Prohibition of Finning – Finning is defined as the act of taking a 
spiny dogfish, removing the fins, and returning the remainder of the spiny 
dogfish to the sea.  Finning spiny dogfish shall be prohibited in all state 
waters.  Vessels that land spiny dogfish must land fins in proportion to 
carcasses, with a maximum 5% fin to carcass ratio, by weight.  Fins may be 
removed at sea, but the corresponding carcass must be retained.  All fins 
and carcasses must be landed at the same time and in the same location. 

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 
 
7.16 American Eel – No person shall take, attempt to take, possess, sell, or offer 
for sale any American Eel measuring less than six inches (6”).  No person shall 
possess more than fifty (50) American eel per day unless commercially licensed 
pursuant to RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1.   RIMFC REGULATIONS 
[Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 
 
7.17 American Shad – The commercial harvesting, landing, or possession of 
American Shad (Alosa sapidissima) within the State of Rhode Island and its 
territorial waters is prohibited.  RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-
3-3) 
 
7.18 Weakfish  
 

7.18.1 – Commercial    
 

7.18.1-1 Minimum size --  No person fishing commercially shall take, 
possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any weakfish 
measuring less than sixteen inches (16”) total length whether 
caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 

 
7.18.1-2 Season and  Possession Limits – During the period June 1 

through June 30 and the period August 7 through November 8, 
the commercial possession limit for weakfish shall be 
unlimited.  At all other times it shall be unlawful to possess 
aboard or land from a vessel more than 300 pounds of weakfish 
in any one calendar day and it shall also be unlawful to 
possess aboard or land from a vessel any amount of weakfish 
where there is not at least an equal poundage of other species 
on board the vessel. 

 
7.18.2  Recreational 

 
7.18.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall possess 
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a weakfish less than sixteen inches (16”) total length.  
 

7.18.2-2 Season and Possession Limits – The recreational season for 
weakfish in Rhode Island waters is open January 1 through 
December 31, annually.   No person fishing recreationally shall 
possess, per calendar day, more than ten (10) fish whether 
caught within the jurisdiction of this state or otherwise.  
Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels will be 
determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by the 
number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 

 
RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 
 
7.19 Atlantic Herring (Clupea harengus)  

 
7.19.1  Commercial 
 

7.19.1-1 Season and Possession Limits – The season for Atlantic herring 
begins annually on January 1. The possession limit is unlimited 
unless otherwise indicated in this section. When the Atlantic 
Herring quota has been harvested as determined by the National 
Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), the season will close. 

 
[Effective December 24, 2005 at 12:01 AM the commercial Atlantic 
herring fishery will close for area 1B until the next season beings 
on January 1, 2006 with an unlimited possession limit.] 
 
7.20 River Herring – No person shall land, catch, take, or attempt to catch or take 
any alewives, Alosa pseudoharengus or blueback herring Alosa aestivalis, from 
any marine waters of the State of Rhode Island. Possession of any alewives or 
blueback herring at any time is prohibited and shall be evidence that said herring 
was taken in violation of this section. RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 
(RIGL 30-3-3) 
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Rule 8.  EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
 

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, 
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 12th             
day of July 2006 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise 
indicated below, in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, 
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10,  and 42-35-18(b)(5) the 
General Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, as amended. 

 
 
 
 
 

  _________________________________________                                                                        
 Michael Lapisky 
 Acting Chief, Division of Fish and Wildlife 

  
 
 
 
   
 Notice Given:    04/03/2006 
 Public Hearing: 05/04/2006 
 
 Filing date: 07/12/2006 

Effective date:    07/12/2006 
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