
RULES OF PROCEDURE 
 
 
Rule 1.01: Purpose 
 

The rules of procedure are designed to conduct the hearing under the Consumer 
Protection Act dealing with unfair and deceptive practice. 

 
Rule 2.01: Place of hearing 
 

At a place designated by the Attorney General. 
 
Rule 2.02 Time of hearing 
 

The time of hearings shall be designated by the Attorney General. 
 
Rule 3.01: Presiding Officer 
 

The Presiding Officer shall be the Attorney General of the State of Rhode Island 
and Providence Plantations or his designated representative who may be either an 
assistant attorney general or a special assistant attorney general. 

 
Rule 3.02 Duties of Presiding Officer 
 

The Presiding Officer has the responsibility of hearing the testimony of witnesses 
and for making determinations under these rules.  His opinion as to admissibility 
shall be final. 

 
Rule 3.03 Change of Presiding Officer 
 

The Presiding Officer may be changed by the Attorney General at any time or 
times. 

 
Rule:  3.04 Hearing Examiner 
 

The hearing examiner shall be appointed by the presiding officer.  He shall call 
witnesses, and examine them.  He shall also offer for introduction any tangible 
evidence that he desires. 

 
Rule 4.01 Witnesses 
 

All witnesses shall be sworn by the presiding officer.  The witnesses shall be 
examined only by the hearing examiner and the presiding officer.  They shall not 
be open to cross-examination by any third parties. 



RULES OF PROCEDURE, con’t. 
 
 
Rule 4.02: Witnesses may testify to the situation in Rhode Island only. 
 

In accordance with 42-35-10 evidence is admissible if it is of a type commonly 
relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of their affairs.  Hearsay 
evidence will be weighted as to its value by the presiding officer. 

 
Rule 4.03: Rebuttal witnesses may be offered by giving 24 hours notice to the presiding 

officer.  The 24 hours notice may be waived by the presiding officer.  Rebuttal 
witnesses may be examined by third-party counsel but are open to cross-
examination only by the hearing examiner and the presiding officer. 

 
Rule 4.04: Written statements be submitted by third-parties and shall be considered by the 

presiding officer providing they are received at least 24 hours after the close of 
the last hearing. 


