
RULES AND REGULATIONS 
FOR 

SCHOOL BUS DRIVER CERTIFICATION 
 
 

1. Authority and Purpose  – The following regulations are 
adopted by the Department of Transportation (DOT) pursuant to the 
authority granted in the following sections of the general laws of 
the State of Rhode Island : §31-2-1, §31-2-3, §31-2-4, §31-10-3, 
§31-10-5, §31-10-25, and §31-22-10. The purposes of these rules and 
regulations shall be to prescribe conditions under which a person 
may be qualified to operate a school bus transporting school 
children in this state in order to fully protect the health, safety 
and welfare of all persons riding school buses. These regulations 
shall be used by DOT personnel in making the discretionary 
determination vested in DOT to issue such licenses. 

 
2. Applicability  – All persons who apply to obtain a 

chauffeur’s license and certificate to drive a school bus 
transporting school children shall be governed by these regulations 
in the application process. 

 
3. Severability – These regulations are hereby declared to be 

severable, and if any portion of these rules and regulations shall 
at any time be declared to be unenforceable or illegal, no other 
portion of such rules shall be affected thereby. 

 
4. Period of School Bus Certificate – Every certificate 

issued pursuant to these regulations shall expire on June 30 of each 
year. Prior to driving a school bus transporting school children 
subsequent to expiration, a new application shall be completed and a 
new certificate issued. 

 
5. Statutory Qualifications for School Bus Certificate – 

Prior to receiving a School Bus Certificate an applicant must 
demonstrate to the satisfaction of DOT that the following conditions 
have been met: 

 
(a) successful completion of a ten (10) hour  
school bus driver training course conducted by 
DOT or its designee (for a renewal application 
this qualification may be satisfied by 
satisfactory completion of a 3 hour retraining course); 
 
(b) a passing score on a written examination  
prepared and given by DOT or its designee; 
 
(c) successful completion of a school bus  
driving test given by DOT (this requirement may 
be waived for renewal applications); persons 70 
years of age and older shall be required to  
complete the road test successfully every six (6)  
months; 
 



(d) at least one year of driving experience; 
 
(e) satisfactory proof of age (21 Years) (this  
requirement may be waived for persons who prior  
to July 1, 1998 had not reached 21 years of age  
but had previously been issued a school bus  
certificate); 
 
(e) satisfactory completion of an application  
form including three (3) certificates of good 
character completed by persons to whom the  
applicant is well known; 
 
6. Competency and Fitness of Applicant (Mandatory 

Considerations) - DOT personnel making determinations as to issuance 
of School Bus Certificates shall not issue such a certificate to any 
person determined to fit into the following categories: 

 
a. Conviction of or adjudication of two (2)  
moving violations within a 12 month period during  
the past 24 months; 
 
b. Conviction of or adjudication of three (3)  
moving violations within a 36 month period; 
 
c. Conviction within the past five years of a  
motor vehicle offense which is a criminal offense  
in the State of Rhode Island or which, if  
committed outside the State of Rhode Island would  
be considered a criminal offense if committed in  
the State of Rhode Island or conviction within  
the past five years of an alcohol related driving  
offense (including refusal to submit to a breath  
or blood/alcohol test); 
 
d. Conviction of a felony (the term conviction  
shall not include any felony which has been 
expunged by court order or otherwise rescinded or  
pardoned); 
 
7. Competency and Fitness of Applicant (Discretionary 

Considerations) - DOT personnel making determinations as to issuance 
of a school bus operators certificates shall review applications for 
persons who fit into the following categories and, if any of the 
following considerations apply, a certificate shall not be issued 
until after a hearing at which it is determined that operation by 
such a person would not be inimical to the public safety or welfare: 

 
a. Involvement in three (3) motor vehicle  
accidents within a two (2) year period; 
 
b. Conviction of a misdemeanor within a 12 month  
period or more than one misdemeanor within the  
last five (5) years; 



 
c. Where the application contains inaccurate or  
incomplete information; 
 
d. Where other information obtained during the  
course of the application process brings into 
question the applicant’s fitness or competency to  
transport school children. 
 
e. Conviction of or adjudication of three (3)  
non-moving violations within a 12 month period  
during the last three years (non-moving  
violations shall not include parking tickets); 
 
 
8.  Competency and fitness of Applicant (physical 

examinations) – All applicants shall submit with their application a 
report of physical examination satisfactory to DOT, on a form 
furnished by DOT, provided this requirement may be waived for 
persons who have previously submitted a report of physical exam to 
the DOT and have not at the time of a new application reached 65 
years of age. Any individual 65 years of age or over must provide a 
report of physical examination, satisfactory to DOT, every six 
months. Any applicant whose report of physical examination is 
determined to be unsatisfactory shall have the right to have the 
physical condition reviewed by the DOT Medical Advisory Board. 

 
9.  Application Procedures – All applications will be 

submitted to the DOT School Bus Coordinator on forms provided by the 
School Bus Coordinator. Renewal Applications must be submitted  
prior to June 1 of each year. Upon receipt of an application, the    
School Bus Coordinator will make such investigation as he deems 
appropriate to determine whether the applicant meets the criteria     
prescribed above. The School Bus Coordinator shall be authorized to  
obtain records maintained by the bureau of criminal identification  
of the Department of Attorney General in order to determine the 

  fitness of applicants. After review of the application, the School  
Bus Coordinator shall issue the application or give notice to the 
applicant of a date and time at which the applicant may be heard 
concerning the application. Prior to issuance of a school bus 
certificate to any person about whom there is any doubt as to the 
applicant’s fitness or competency to operate a school bus in 
accordance with the criteria prescribed above, the school bus 
coordinator shall meet with the applicant and give the applicant an 
opportunity to be heard concerning any derogatory information. The 
following procedures shall be followed where the School Bus 
Coordinator has determined that such a review of the application 
with the applicant must be held prior to issuance of a school bus 
certificate: 

a. The notice of review procedure shall contain  
the date and time of the review and a brief 

  recitation of the reason or reasons the school  
  bus coordinator is considering rejecting the 
  application and notification that failure to  



  attend will result in rejection of the  
  application. 

b. At the date and time of the review before the  
School Bus Coordinator the applicant shall again  
be informed of he reason the application is  
being considered for rejection. The applicant  
shall be given an opportunity to submit any  
information the applicant deems pertinent to the  
case. The review will be an informal procedure  
and no formal rules of evidence will apply. 
c. The School Bus Coordinator shall not be  
permitted to issue a certificate to a person who 

  does not meet the qualifications prescribed in  
  paragraph 5 (Statutory Qualifications for School  
  Bus Certificate). The School Bus Coordinator  
  shall not be permitted to issue a School Bus  
  Certificate to any person determined after review  
  and opportunity to be heard to fit into the  
  categories prescribed in paragraph 6 (Competency  
  and Fitness of Applicant(Mandatory  
  Considerations)). The School Bus Coordinator  
  shall be permitted to exercise discretion to  
  issue a certificate to persons whose competency  
  or fitness is brought into question because of  
  the considerations contained in paragraph 7  
  (Competency and fitness of Applicant  
  (Discretionary Considerations)); in such a case  
  the School Bus Coordinator may issue a  
  certificate if he considers that, given all the  
  facts at the review, issuance of a certificate  
  will not be inimical to the public health, safety  
  and welfare. 
  d. The School Bus Coordinator shall notify the  
  applicant of the results of the review within 7  
  days. If an applicant is rejected after the  
  review before the School Bus Coordinator, the 
  notice shall contain a statement to the effect  
  that the applicant is entitled to a de novo 
  appeal or hearing before a hearing officer in the  
  Operator Control Section. Such a hearing shall  
  be held if and only if the applicant notifies the  
  School Bus Coordinator in writing of the desire  
  of the applicant for a new hearing within 10 days  
  of the date of the notice of the decision of the  
  School Bus Coordinator. 

d. The hearing officer in the Operator Control  
Section shall hold a hearing on the appeal from  
the decision of the School Bus Coordinator within  
20 days of the receipt of the request of the  
applicant and the applicant shall be given notice  
of the hearing before the hearing officer at  
least seven days prior to the hearing. At such a  
hearing, the School Bus Coordinator shall present  
evidence in support of the denial of the  



certificate, and it shall be the burden of the  
School Bus Coordinator to demonstrate that there  
was good cause for denial of the certificate in  
accordance with these regulations. The hearing  
officer shall not be bound by the decision of the  
school bus coordinator and shall determine anew  
whether the applicant fits into the categories of 
paragraphs 5 and 6 and whether discretion should  
be exercised to grant a license even if the  
applicant fits into a category listed in  
paragraph 7. A record of the hearing will be  
made by the hearing officer. For any application  
rejected by the hearing officer, the hearing  
officer shall prepare for the signature of the  
Deputy Director of the Division of Motor  
Vehicles, or the designee of said deputy  
director, a written notice of the decision which  
notice shall contain a brief statement of the  
reason or reasons for rejection of the  
application. That written notice of decision,  
upon signature of the deputy director, or the  
designee of said deputy director, and mailing to  
the applicant, shall constitute a final decision  
of the DOT from which appeal may be made to the  
Rhode Island District Court (Sixth Division). 
 

10. Revocation of Certificate – Whenever the School Bus 
Coordinator learns of any information that brings into question the 
competence or fitness of any person authorized by these regulations 
and Title 31 of the General Laws to transport school children, the 
School Bus Coordinator shall notify that person of the date and time 
of a review procedure before the school bus coordinator. At such a 
procedure, the determination shall be made by the school bus 
coordinator as to whether or not the certificate issued pursuant to 
these regulations shall be revoked. Determination shall be made in 
accordance with the criteria and review procedure prescribed above 
and similarly, appeal shall be to a hearing officer in the Operator 
Control Section and to the District Court as prescribed above. 

 


