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1.0

11

1.2

1.3

PURPOSE, SCOPE AND AUTHORITY

Purpose: The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to prescribe the

conditions under which the Rhode Island Department of Transportation, Division of
Motor Vehicles will accept registration applications from petroleum products
delivery vehicles.

Scope: All owners of vehicles used to transport petroleum products for purposes
of resale are governed by these Rules and Regulations.

Authority: The following Rules and Regulations are promulgated to administer
Chapter 47-8 of the Rhode Island General Laws, and supercede all previous Rules
and Regulations adopted heretofore.



20 POLICY

2.1 In order to protect the safety and welfare of the general public, it is the official
policy of the Rhode Island Department of Transportation to regulate the registration
of all vehicles involved in the transportation of petroleum products for purposes of
resale, and to limit the acceptance of registration applications for such vehicles.



3.0

3.1

3.2

Definitions: except as otherwise indicated, the following definitions shall apply.

Applicant: any individual, firm, corporation or partnership or agency, public or
private, that has filed an application for registration of a petroleum delivery vehicle.

Certification: proof of liability insurance on Rhode Island Form GU 1338A or
Rhode Island Form DMV-1.



4.0

4.1

4.2

REGISTRATION OF PETROLEUM TRANSPORTATION VEHICLES

Every person making application for registration of a vehicle carrying petroleum
products must supply to the Division of Motor Vehicles certification, on Rhode
Island Form GU-1338A or Rhode Island Form DMV-1, of a liability insurance
policy in the amount of two million dollars ($2,000,000). Provided, however, that a
petroleum delivery vehicle owner may provide certification that he is self-insured in
the amount of two million dollars ($2,000,000) on said form.

Said insurance policy shall be comprehensive in nature and include coverage for
underground or above-ground environmental contamination due to leakage or
discharge of petroleum product.

Every person making application for a vehicle registration or renewal of all
vehicle registration of any vehicle used in the transportation of petroleum
products must comply with Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers Safety
Regulations for the transportation of hazardous materials (Code of Federal
Regulations, Title 49, Section 397.21) entitled “Markings of Vehicles Operated by
Private Carriers,” prior to registration of said vehicle.

Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers Safety Regulations provides as
follows:

(a) General. A motor vehicle being operated by a private carrier of
property must be marked as specified in paragraphs (b) and (c) of this
section if that vehicle—

(1) Is transporting hazardous materials of a kind or quantity that
require the vehicle to be marked or placarded in accordance with
Section 177.823 of this title; and

(2) Is operating under its own power, either alone or in
combination.

(b) Nature of marking. The marking must display the
following information:

(1) The name or trade name of the private carrier operating
the vehicle.

(2) The city or community and State abbreviation, in
which the carrier maintains its principal office or in
which the vehicle is customarily based.

(3) If the name of a person other than the operating carrier
appears on the vehicle, the words “operated by”
immediately preceding the information required by
paragraphs (b) (1) and (2) if this section.
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(4) Other identifying information may be displayed on the
vehicle if it is not inconsistent with the information
required by this paragraph.

(c) Size, shape, location, and color of marking. The
marking must—

(1) Appear on both sides of the vehicle.

(2) Be in letters that contrast sharply in color with the
background.

(3) Be readily legible during daylight hours from a
distance of 50 feet while the vehicle is stationary;
and

(4) Be kept and maintained in a manner that retains the
legibility required by paragraph © (3) of this section.
The marking may consist of a removable device if
that device meets the identification and legibility
requirements of this section.

Section 177.823, to which reference is made in Section 397.21, provides as follows:

(@) A carrier may not move a transport vehicle containing a hazardous
material unless the vehicle is marked and placarded in accordance with
Part 172 of this subchapter, or unless, in an emergency—

(1) The vehicle is escorted by a representative of a state or local
government;

(2) The carrier has permission from the Department; or—

(3) Movement of the transport vehicle is necessary to protect life or
property.

4.3  The Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles shall deny and refuse the application of
any person subject to these rules and regulations who has not supplied the Division
of Motor Vehicles with certification of liability insurance on the forms prescribed

herein, or who has not complied with Section 397.21 of the Federal Motor Carriers
Safety Regulations.



5.0

5.1

5.2

5.3

REVOCATION OF PETROLEUM TRANSPORTATION VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS

The Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles shall revoke the vehicle registration on any
vehicle subject to these rules and regulations if the liability insurance coverage
required by Rhode Island General Laws Section 47-8-7 and these rules and
regulations is cancelled, suspended or terminated.

Failure to comply with the identification markings required for petroleum
transportation vehicles shall be cause for immediate cancellation of such vehicle’s
registration and license plates by the Deputy Director for Motor Vehicles.

Any revocation of registration and/or license plates shall be carried out in
accordance with the procedures for revocation of registration and/or license plates
of other vehicles



6.0

6.1

REISSUANCE OF REGISTRATION REVOKED UNDER THESE RULES AND

REGULATIONS

The reissuance of any registrations and license plates following revocation for
failure to comply with these rules and regulations shall be subject to a fee of fifty

dollars ($50.00) per vehicle.



7.0

7.1

SEVERABILITY

If any provision of these rules and regulations or the application thereof to any
person or circumstances shall be held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect the
provisions or application of the rules and regulations which can be given effect, and
to this end the provisions of these rules and regulations are declared to be severable.



8.0 EFFECTIVE DATE

These rules and regulations shall become effective twenty (20) days after filing
with the Office of Secretary of State.



I hereby certify the above to be a true copy.

Joseph Pezza
Director

Date:

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State: April 1, 1985
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