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1.0 AUTHORITY 
 
 

Pursuant to the provisions of Title 31, Chapter 47, Section 3 of the Rhode Island 

General Laws entitled “Motor and Other Vehicles”, the Rhode Island Department of 

Transportation hereby adopts and establishes the following Rules and Regulations 

regarding financial responsibility when owning and operating motor vehicles in the State 

of Rhode Island. 

 

2.0 PURPOSE 

 

A. The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to provide effective administration 

and enforcement of the provisions of Chapter 47 of Title 31 regarding the 

compulsory nature of financial responsibility when owning or operating motor 

vehicles and holding driving privilege in this state. 

 

B. These Rules and Regulations are promulgated to protect the interests of the public 

when driving upon the roadways of the state of Rhode Island.  Any violation of 

these provisions may result in: 

1. Suspension of a driver’s license; 

2. Suspension of motor vehicle registration and license plates; 

 

 

 



3. A fine of $500 for the first and second offenses; 

4. A fine of $1,000 for the third and subsequent offenses; 

5. A possible year’s imprisonment (for violation occurring a third and 

subsequent time). 

 

3.0 DEFINITIONS 

 

A. “Assistant Director” and “Registrar” shall mean the person with the title of    

Administrator, Department of Motor Vehicles, or his designee. 

 

B. The words “revocation” and “suspension” used throughout Chapter 47 shall mean 

removal of privilege (s). 

 

C. The word “statement” when used relative to registration, renewal registration or 

driver’s license shall mean all of the information required under 3.1 of this 

chapter as well as all information required under 31-3-3 of the general laws 

entitled “Motor and Other Vehicles.” 

 

D. “Owner’s policy of liability” shall mean a policy as prescribed 
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 by the Department of Business Regulation in rules and regulations published in  

            accordance with this chapter. 

 

E. “Cause of action” means a lawsuit filed in any court have jurisdiction over the 

subject matter. 

 

4.0 ADMINISTRATIVE POLICIES 

 

A. Information concerning motor vehicle violations of applicants for insurance shall     

      be made available to insurers in accordance with Section 3 of this Chapter and 31- 

     2-10 of the General Laws of Rhode Island. 

 

B. Dealers who register motor vehicles for buyers must have the buyer sign a 

statement which complies with Section 3.1D of this Chapter. 

 

C. Leasing companies which register a motor vehicle leased to any person must 

certify to the Department of Motor Vehicles that the lessee of the vehicle has 

signed a statement which complies with Section 3.1D of this Chapter and have it 

available in their files for possible use by the State at some later date. 

 

 

 

-3-  



D. The following rules apply to persons wishing to deposit cash or acceptable 

securities as a way of meeting the financial responsibility requirement. 

 
1. The cash or other security must be physically placed in the hands of the 

State of Rhode Island and arrangement must be made so that the state may 

use the funds in case of liability assessed against the depositor. 

2. No interest will be paid by the state on deposited funds. 

3. Depositor will be given a receipt for the security and a certificate stating 

that he has complied with the law which can be used as evidence if asked 

for same by law enforcement. 

4. In the event a person wants to substitute one form of financial security for 

another in accordance with 31-47-6(2), the assistant director shall allow 

such substitution upon reasonable notice  (not less than 10 days) and 

approval of such substitution in accordance with statute. 

 

E. Evidence of financial responsibility may be demonstrated by the use of an  

Insurance Identification Card issued by the insurance company (or its 

representative) insuring the vehicle and/or driver. 

  

1. Cards shall meet the following specifications: 
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a. Size of the card may vary from 3 x 2-1/8 to 5-1/2 x 3/34. 

b. The card shall be a one-part form on at least 20 pound white 

paper stock. 

c. The following must be shown on the card: 

(1) “Rhode Island  Automobile Insurance Identification Card” 

(2) The name of the insurance company 

(3) The name of the policyholder 

(4) The policy number 

(5) The policy effective date and expiration date 

(6) If a vehicle is owner, a description including year, make 

and vehicle identification number; if the policy covers five 

or more vehicles, the word “Fleet” may be substituted for 

the vehicle description; if no vehicle is owned, the words 

“named operator” may be substituted for the vehicle 

description; if the card is for a motor vehicle dealer, the 

words “named operator” may be substituted for the vehicle 

description; if 
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the card is for a motor vehicle dealer, the words “dealer 

plates” may be substituted for the vehicle description.  

Mechanics or other employees of any automobile repair 

shop, body shop, automobile dealer, service station, 

inspection station or parking facility driving a customer’s 

automobile must carry a card (or certificate of insurance) 

showing the employer has a policy covering employees 

while driving customers’ vehicles. 

(7) At the option of the insurer, other information may be  

included such as company logo, insured’s address,  

agent/broker’s office address, what to do in the event of an  

accident, etc. 

 

d. Temporary identification cards with the same specifications, 

except that the words “temporary” must be shown, may be 

utilized pending receipt of the permanent card by the policy 

holder. 

 

F. Insurance binders, policies, endorsements or certificates of insurance may be    

utilized as evidence of insurance.  When a binder is used to prove insurance at  

time of registration, or renewing a registration it must be presented to the Registry  

of Motor Vehicles.   
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G. Evidence of financial responsibility may be demonstrated by a certification  

from the Department of Motor Vehicles showing that proper bond, cash, or  

securities placed are on deposit with the Department of Motor Vehicles or by  

certificate of self-insurance. 

 

H. If suspension of either registration or driver’s license occurs after an individual   

has been involved in an accident and that individual becomes eligible for  

reinstatement in three months or six months following the accident; then the  

assistant director, at his discretion, may require the deposit of security in an  

amount sufficient to satisfy any judgments for injuries and/or damages resulting  

from such accident as a condition precedent to reinstatement. 

 

I. The fee for reinstatement of vehicle registration shall be $50.00.  If registration on 

more than one vehicle is suspended, the reinstatement fee shall be $50.00 per 

vehicle. 

 

J. The fee for reinstatement of driver’s license shall be $50.00. 
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K. Proof of financial responsibility following an accident must be demonstrated  

by using standard form SR-21.  Insurance companies must review SR-21 forms  

and, if insurance is not in force, notify the state within 15 days after receipt of said  

forms. 

 

L. Insurance companies shall submit information requested per Section 17 on a form   

acceptable to the assistant director. 

 

M. As provided in Section 8.1 of the law, the administrator must sample at random  

owners of registered vehicles as a means of determining compliance with the 

provisions of Title 31, Chapter 47. 

       

1. The Administrator shall send to the owners of the randomly selected 

motor vehicles or to randomly selected motor vehicle owners an insurance 

verification form which must be completed out and returned within twenty 

(20) days of mailing date. 

2. The insurance verification form shall indicate clearly the date by which 

the form must be returned. 

3. The insurance verification form shall contain the year, make, model and 

vehicle identification number of the owned vehicle.  It shall also show the 

license plate number assigned to the vehicle. 
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4. The vehicle owner shall supply the following insurance verification 

information. 

 

a. Whether or not the vehicle was insured on the verification date 

specified:  if not, the reason no insurance existed; 

b. The name of the insurance company that insures the motor 

vehicle; 

c. The policy number; 

d. The effective date of the policy and the expiration date of the 

policy; 

e. The signature of the owner. 

 

5. If the form is not returned, OR, if the form is returned without full  

information, OR if, after checking with the insurance company, it is 

determined that the owner has registered or maintained the registration 

without proper financial security in force; the owner will be notified by the 

Administrator that he/she has 20 days to furnish proper proof of coverage 

in force on the verification date.  After 20 days without proper proof, the 

owner is subject to all penalties set forth under this chapter. 
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5.0 HEARINGS 
 

 
A. All hearings under Rhode Island General laws, Title 31, Chapter 47 shall be 

conducted in accordance with Rhode Island General Laws, Title 42-35 

entitled “Administrative Procedures.” 

B. Notice of hearing shall be sent to requesting person 15 days prior to hearing  

      date by normal mailing to last known address as indicated on registration of    

      motor vehicle or driver’s license or to any other address as requested in  

      writing by the party  seeking review. 

C. Notice shall include a statement of cost, should suspension be upheld.  Cost  

shall include expenses of stenographers, subpoenas, mailings, photo copies, 

record research and witness fees. 

D. Notice shall also include a statement of reasons for suspension. 

E. APPEALS … Any party dissatisfied with an order of assistant director after 

hearing may appeal that order in accordance with provisions of the 

Administrative Procedures. 

 

6.0 SEVERABILITY

These Rules and Regulations are hereby declared to be severable; and, if any 

portion of these Rules and Regulations shall at any time be declared to be 

unenforceable or illegal, no other portion of such Rules shall be affected thereby. 

 
 

-10- 
 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State:  May 19, 1994 
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