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 STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
BUREAU OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 
FISH AND WILDLIFE   & 
LAW ENFORCEMENT 

 
RHODE ISLAND MARINE FISHERIES 

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 
 
PURPOSE 

The purpose of these rules and regulations is to manage the marine resources of 
Rhode Island. 

 
AUTHORITY 

These rules and regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42.17.1, 42-17.6, 
20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10 and in accordance with 
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures, of the General Laws of 1956, as 
amended. 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE FINDINGS 

Rules and regulations are based upon the need to modify existing regulations (RIGL 
20-3-2 through 20-3-6). 

 
APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these rules and regulations shall be liberally construed 
to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state law, goals, and policies. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

See Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, Part I, '1.3. 
 
SEVERABILITY 

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or the application thereof to any 
person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the 
validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations shall not be affected thereby. 

 
SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 On the effective date of these rules and regulations, all previous rules and 

regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and enforcement of Part 
VII shall be superseded.  However, any enforcement action taken by, or application 
submitted to, the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules and 
Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time the 
enforcement action was taken, or application filed. 
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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations 
PART VII  -  MINIMUM SIZES OF FISH/SHELLFISH 

 
7.1 Minimum Size of Quahaugs, Soft-Shelled Clams, Mussels -- 
No person shall take or have in his custody or possession quahaugs of less than 
one inch (1") shell thickness (hinge width).  For purposes of this regulation, hinge 
width is defined as the distance between the convex apex of the right shell and 
convex apex of the left shell. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 
3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
(a) No person shall take and/or possess any quahogs less than one inch (1") shell 
thickness (hinge width). In addition, no person shall take and/or possess soft shell 
clams, taken from the free and common soft shell clam fisheries, of a diameter less than 
one and one half inches (1 1/2") taking the maximum shell diameter, or any oysters, 
taken from the free and common oyster fisheries, measuring less than three inches (3") 
measured parallel to the long axis of the oyster, unless greater minimum sizes are 
established by the director, in consultation with the marine fisheries council. Any person 
who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size, as delineated 
above, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than 
fifty dollars ($50.00) for each and every fifteen (15) shellfish taken. Additionally, any 
person who takes and/or possesses shellfish of less than the minimum size commingled 
and/or otherwise stored or contained with shellfish of not less than the minimum size, 
where the percentage of the less than minimum size shellfish is not less than ten 
percent (10%) of the total piece count of the commingled and/or otherwise stored or 
contained package, shipment, or container, shall be subject to seizure and/or forfeiture 
of the entire commingled and/or otherwise stored or contained package, shipment, or 
container, in accordance with the provisions of §§ 20-1-8(e) and (f) and 20-1-8.1. (RIGL 
20-6-11) 
       
7.2 Oysters -- Minimum Size:  Three (3) inches measured parallel to the long axis 
of the oyster. (ref 20-6-11) (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.3 Sea Clams (Surf Clams) -- Minimum Size:  Five (5) inches measured parallel to the 
longest axis of the clam.  (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.4 Scallops -- Taking and Possession of Seed Scallops -- Every person taking any 
seed scallops, and failing to restore them as soon as possible to their natural beds in 
the water from which taken, shall be fined not less than twenty dollars ($20) nor more 
than one hundred dollars ($100) or be imprisoned exceeding thirty (30) days, or both, 
for each offense.  For the purpose of this Chapter, a "seed scallop" means a scallop 
with a bright, thin, slightly curved shell with no foreign adherent, the shell having no 
well-defined raised annual growth line, and the scallop being less than one (1) year old. 
(RIGL 20-6-17) 
 
7.5 Striped Bass -- Except as provided for in 12.3 and 12.5 no person, firm, or 
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corporation shall possess any striped bass measuring less than twenty-eight (28) 
inches total length, whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or other-
wise.  (RIMFC REGULATIONS) [Penalty - Part 12.2; (RIGL 20-4-11)] 
 
7.6   Minimum sizes, other species -- Except as specifically noted, no person shall 
possess or take any of the following species which are less than the following 
minimum size 
 
AMERICAN PLAICE (DAB):  Commercial and Recreational  14" 
ATLANTIC STURGEON:  Commercial and Recreational - no possession 
EEL:  Commercial and Recreational - 6" 
HADDOCK:  Commercial and Recreational - 19" 
POLLOCK:  Commercial and Recreational - 19" 
SCUP:  Commercial - 9" and Recreational -10 1/2".  Floating trap fishermen may 
possess undersize scup provided they are not sold, bartered, traded, and 
exchanged, but following culling, are taken to sea and released back into the 
water. 
WEAKFISH (SQUETEAGUE):  Commercial and Recreational  16" 
WITCH FLOUNDER (GRAY SOLE):  Commercial and Recreational  14" 
YELLOWTAIL FLOUNDER:  Commercial and Recreational  13" 
All minimum sizes for the above listed fish shall be measured as total length 
(from tip of snout to tip of tail).  
(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 
7.7 Summer Flounder (Fluke) -- No person commercially licensed under RIGL 
Chapters 20-2.1 or 20-4 shall possess or harvest any summer flounder which is 
less than fourteen (14) inches total length.  A total annual statewide quota for 
summer flounder will be established.  It shall be the most recent allocation 
established for the State by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 
(ASMFC) and/or the Secretary of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce and published in the 
Federal Register.  The quota may be harvested by gear fishermen licensed in 
accordance with the provisions of Title 20 of the General Laws and in accordance 
with all rules and regulations promulgated by the R.I. Marine Fisheries Council.  
In order to provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, and to allow for the 
implementation of a one-year research program involving sector allocation, the 
State’s summer flounder quota for 2009 will be managed as follows: 
 
 a. A portion of the quota will be set aside for research purposes -- namely, a 

one-year sector allocation pilot program for 2009, administered in 
accordance with the terms and conditions set forth in sub-section 7.7.11 
herein; and 
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 b. The remaining portion of the quota will be made available for harvest by 

all fishermen holding valid and applicable commercial fishing licenses 
and/or landing permits, and who are not participating in the sector 
allocation pilot program, in accordance with the sub-period schedules, 
allocations, and possession limits set forth below. 

 
7.7.1 Summer flounder Sub-periods and Possession Limits

 
  7.7.1-1 Winter Sub-Period: January 1 - April 30 annually. 
  Target allocation - 54% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7, 

unless modified pursuant to this part.  It shall be unlawful to possess or 
land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 100 pounds, or 
the poundage as provided in this part, of summer flounder during the 
period from January 1 through the Sunday of the first full week in 
February.  The DFW may adjust the possession limit during the sub-
period based on the current catch rate and advice from fishing industry 
representatives and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council. 

 
a. Any vessel which possesses a valid federal summer flounder 

moratorium permit if harvesting summer flounder from federal 
waters and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer 
flounder exemption certificate; or, if harvesting exclusively in State 
waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a valid license to 
harvest or land summer flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode 
Island and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer 
flounder exemption certificate, may opt to apply to obtain a permit 
from the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate landing 
program for summer flounder during the Winter I period beginning 
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through 
the Saturday of the first full week in April or until the program is 
terminated as provided in this part.  The name of any applicant 
vessel deemed to satisfy the requirements for enrollment in the 
program shall be maintained on a list to be kept by DEM Division of 
Fish and Wildlife and DEM Division of Law Enforcement and is 
thereby authorized to land summer flounder in any amount between 
0 and 1,000  pounds in any calendar week period so long as the 
total landed by that vessel does not exceed 1,000 pounds in any 
calendar week period.  It shall be unlawful for the cumulative 
landings to exceed the weekly trip limit.  The calendar week period 
shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the following 
Saturday at 11:59 PM.  On the Sunday of the first full week in April 
or when 80% of the Winter I summer flounder quota has been 
harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
(Division), whichever occurs first, the program will terminate and 
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the possession limit per vessel shall be 100 pounds per calendar 
day. The DFW may adjust the aggregate program possession limit 
during the sub-period based on the current catch rate and advice 
from fishing industry representatives and the Rhode Island Marine 
Fisheries Council.  

 
b. The commercial possession limit of summer flounder for vessels 

that are not permitted in the aggregate landing program shall be 100 
pounds per calendar day for vessels which possess a valid state of 
Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate. On the 
Sunday of the first full week in April or when 80% of the Winter I 
summer flounder quota has been harvested as determined by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division), whichever occurs first, the 
possession limit per vessel shall be 100 pounds per calendar day.  
It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that is not 
permitted to participate in the aggregate landing program to land 
more than the poundage of summer flounder, as specified above, in 
Rhode Island during any calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and 
ending at 11:59 PM of that same day. 

 
c. The possession limit for vessels which do not possess a RI 

Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate is 100 pounds per day.  
 

d. An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to 
participate in the aggregate landing program for summer flounder 
by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement that it satisfies each 
of the following criteria: 

 
(1) The vessel if harvesting summer flounder from federal waters 

possesses a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit and 
possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption 
certificate, or, if harvesting exclusively in State waters, the vessel’s 
operator possesses a valid license to harvest or land summer 
flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode Island and possesses a 
valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder exemption certificate;  

 
(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid 

multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the State 
of Rhode Island to land summer flounder for commercial purposes; 
and  
 

(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not been 
assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past three years 
for a violation of Part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et al. and/or Part 
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7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one marine fisheries 
violation 

 
e. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of 

the following requirements: 
 

(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the participant 
enters the program until the end of the Winter I sub period or until 
the participant terminates enrollment by providing written notice of 
the termination from the program, whichever first occurs. Said 
termination shall take effect no earlier than the Saturday following 
the receipt of the written notice by the Division.  
 

(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a 
permit to participate in the program by downloading the application 
from DEMs website, or may obtain one directly from the Division of 
Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and Tuesdays, from 
8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter I sub period. The 
application must be filled out in its entirety and returned to the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd Jamestown, RI 
02835). The application will be reviewed by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement and upon acceptance, 
a permit will be issued to the applicant vessel to take effect the first 
Sunday after the permit is received. 
 

(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one aggregate 
landing program permit. 

 
(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the aggregate landing 

program shall only sell summer flounder to a dealer who is certified 
on a list maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife as a 
Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A 
certified SAFIS dealer shall be defined as a dealer who is linked to 
the SAFIS reporting system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction 
of the Division of Fish and Wildlife its ability to make timely reports 
to the requisite governmental entities. A list of certified SAFIS 
dealers will be furnished to all permitted fishermen. A certificate 
attesting to the dealer’s designation shall be posted through the 
Winter I Period at the dealer’s facility.  

 
(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system referenced 

in section (4) of this part shall be documented by the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement for use in 
accounting for the amount of summer flounder landed by a specific 
vessel during a calendar week.  
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(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the reporting 

form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in 
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request, 
including the name and address of the dealer where the summer 
flounder were landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back 
to January 1st on board the vessel.  

 
f. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be 
suspended for the same calendar time period as described in the 
current Winter I period upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the 
Rules and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of 
Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, 
Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant 
to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
g. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted 
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific 
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or 
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with 
the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is 
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant 
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the 
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as 
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty 
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to 
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the 
Winter I period.  

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
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which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

determination to deny an applicant vessel a permit in the aggregate 
landing program for summer flounder must file said request in 
writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

 
h Any applicant who is permitted for the winter 1 aggregate program as 

set forth above will not be allowed to participate in the summer 
aggregate program within the same year. 

 
 7.7.1-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in 
summer flounder may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife that it is qualified to purchase summer flounder from any vessel 
which is  permitted by the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the aggregate 
landing program for summer flounder during the Winter I period beginning 
on the Sunday of the first full week in February and running through the 
Saturday of the last full week in April or until the program is terminated as 
provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from purchasing or otherwise 
acquiring summer flounder from a permitted vessel during the above 
described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for and 
obtained certification as a dealer who is  certified on a list maintained by 
the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS). 

 
a. An applicant  dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a 

Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it 
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to 
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the 
preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following 
criteria: 
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(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire summer 
flounder from vessel permitted in the in the aggregate landing 
program for summer flounder described in Part 7.7.1-1;   

 
(2) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a 

valid, current license to barter or trade in summer flounder; 
 
(3) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 

Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite 
governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and 

 
b. The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the 

Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each 
of  the following requirements: 

 
(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of 

acquisitions of summer flounder to all required governmental 
entities employing the SAFIS reporting system.  

 
(2) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its 

designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.  
 
(3) Should the dealer be terminated as SAFIS certified dealer, the 

dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior 
to acquiring any summer flounder from such vessels.  

 
c. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same 
calendar time period as described in the current Winter I period 
upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a 
penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, 
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of 
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
d. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
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non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such 
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by 
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the 
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the 
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The 
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity 
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative 
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 
relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists 
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification 
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the 
remainder of the Winter I period.  

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek 

an adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative 
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode 
Island 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the 
contested agency enforcement action.   

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a SAFIS 
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of 
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of 
receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

 
  7.7.1-2 Summer Sub-Period: May 1 - October 31 annually. 
  Target allocation – 35% of the annual quota established in Section 7.7, 

unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel 
will be 100 pounds per calendar day. 

   
  Beginning June 1, in each calendar week it will be prohibited to 

commercially possess, sell, or land summer flounder during the two-day 
period beginning at 12:00 AM on Friday and ending at 11:59 PM on 
Saturday. 
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a. Beginning June 1 any vessel which possesses a valid federal 

summer flounder moratorium permit if harvesting summer flounder 
from federal waters and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island 
summer flounder exemption certificate; or, if harvesting exclusively 
in State waters, any vessel whose operator possesses a valid 
license to harvest or land summer flounder for commercial 
purposes in Rhode Island and possesses a valid state of Rhode 
Island summer flounder exemption certificate, may opt to apply to 
obtain a permit from the Division of Fish and Wildlife for the 
aggregate landing program for summer flounder during the Summer 
sub period until the program is terminated as provided in this part.  
The name of any applicant vessel deemed to satisfy the 
requirements for enrollment in the program shall be maintained on 
a list to be kept by DEM Division of Fish and Wildlife and DEM 
Division of Law Enforcement and is thereby authorized to land 
summer flounder in any amount between 0 and 350 pounds in any 
calendar week period so long as the total landed by that vessel 
does not exceed 350 pounds in any calendar week period.  It shall 
be unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip 
limit.  The calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM 
and ends on the following Thursday at 11:59 PM.  When 80% of the 
Summer sub period summer flounder quota has been harvested as 
determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division) the 
program will terminate and the possession limit per vessel shall be 
100 pounds per calendar day. The DFW may adjust the aggregate 
program possession limit during the sub-period based on the 
current catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives 
and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  

 
b. The commercial possession limit of summer flounder for vessels 

that are not permitted in the aggregate landing program shall be 100 
pounds per calendar day. It shall be unlawful for any person 
operating a vessel that is not permitted to participate in the summer 
aggregate landing program to land more than the poundage of 
summer flounder, as specified above, in Rhode Island during any 
calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and ending at 11:59 PM of 
that same day. 

 
c. The possession limit for vessels which do not possess a RI 

Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate is 100 pounds per day.  
 

d. An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to 
participate in the summer aggregate landing program for summer 
flounder by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division of Fish 
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and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement that it satisfies 
each of the following criteria: 

 
(1) The vessel if harvesting summer flounder from federal waters 

possesses a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit 
and possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder 
exemption certificate, or, if harvesting exclusively in State waters, 
the vessel’s operator possesses a valid license to harvest or land 
summer flounder for commercial purposes in Rhode Island and 
possesses a valid state of Rhode Island summer flounder 
exemption certificate;  

 
(2) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a 

valid multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by 
the State of Rhode Island to land summer flounder for commercial 
purposes; and  

 
(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not 

been assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past 
year for a violation of Part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et al. or 
more than one marine fisheries violation 

 
e. The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of 

the following requirements: 
 
(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the 

participant enters the program until the end of the Summer sub 
period or until the participant terminates enrollment by providing 
written notice of the termination from the program, whichever first 
occurs. Said termination shall take effect no earlier than the Sunday 
following the receipt of the written notice by the Division.  
 
(2) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining 

a permit to participate in the program by downloading the 
application from DEMs website, or may obtain one directly from 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and 
Tuesdays, from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Summer 
sub period. The application must be filled out in its entirety and 
returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd 
Jamestown, RI 02835). The application will be reviewed by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement 
and upon acceptance, a permit will be issued to the applicant 
vessel to take effect the first Sunday after the permit is received. 

 
(3) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one 
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aggregate landing program permit. 
 
 

(4) The operator of any vessel permitted for the aggregate landing 
program shall only sell summer flounder to a dealer who is 
certified on a list maintained by the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) 
dealer. A certified SAFIS dealer shall be defined as a dealer who 
is linked to the SAFIS reporting system and has demonstrated to 
the satisfaction of the Division of Fish and Wildlife its ability to 
make timely reports to the requisite governmental entities.  

 
 

(5) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system 
referenced in section (4) of this part shall be documented by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement 
for use in accounting for the amount of summer flounder landed 
by a specific vessel during a calendar week.  

 
(6) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the 

reporting form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall 
be kept in numerical order on board the vessel and furnished 
upon request, including the name and address of the dealer 
where the summer flounder were landed. The vessel must have all 
reports dating back to January 1st on board the vessel.  

 
f. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Summer sub period fishery.  If for any 
reason a Summer sub period fishery does not exist by regulation, 
the privilege of the owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially 
harvest fish shall be suspended for the same calendar time period 
as described in the current Summer sub  period upon adjudication. 

 
Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 
imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the 
Rules and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of 
Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, 
Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant 
to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

 
g. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the permit 
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(2)

de
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(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must 

Div 8 
wit

 
h.

agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted vessel shall 
be advised of such determination and the specific grounds 
therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or by 
personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with the 
requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior Court 
Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is 
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant 
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the 
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as 
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty 
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to 
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the 
Summer sub period.  

 Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek 
 adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
ich alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 

id request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
ision, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
hin twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
forcement action.   

 Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 
termination to deny an applicant vessel a permit in the aggregate 
ding program for summer flounder must file said request in 
iting with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
menade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 

lendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
ision, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 0290
h the time period indicated. 

 Any applicant who was permitted for the winter 1 aggregate 
in the 

    

program as set forth above will not be allowed to participate 
summer aggregate landing program within the same year. 

  7.7.1-4 Fall Sub-Period: November 1 - December 31 annually. 
tion 7.7,   Target allocation - 11% of the annual quota established in Sec

unless modified pursuant to this part. The possession limit per vessel 
will be 225 pounds per calendar day.  Any unused portion of the quota 
from a 'sub-period’ will be equally distributed to the allocations of the 
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gh 

t 

  

7.7.2 Summer flounder Trip Limits (possession limit)

remaining sub-periods.  The over-harvest of a sub-period allocation will 
be deducted from the allocations of the remaining sub-periods.  
Annually, the target allocations specified in sections 7.7.1-1 throu
7.7.1- 4 shall be adjusted by the DFW to charge over-harvest of a sub-
period allocation during a given year to the same sub-period of the nex
following year. 
 

 

7.7.2-1  Repealed 5/11/01 
 
7.7.2-2 The possession limit may vary from the amount specified in 

s 

, 

, 

ational 

ebruary 21 at 12:01 AM the recreational summer flounder 
 

7.7.3 Summer flounder Mesh Regulations

sections 7.7.1-1 through 7.7.1- 4.   Fish and Wildlife, after discussion
with fishing industry representatives, will determine, based upon the 
period of time remaining in the quota period and the current catch rate
whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the sub-period.  
Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in the sub-period
Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit should be 
decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the 
Secretary of State's Office if the possession limit is changed, and 
electronically notify the public utilizing the marine fisheries inform
Listserve. 
[Effective F
fishery will be closed until the 2009 recreational management plan for
summer flounder is promulgated.] 
 

 – Otter trawlers that land or 
 

r per 

 
7.7.4 Summer flounder Recreational Regulations

possess 100 pounds (45.4 kg) or more of summer flounder from May 1
through October 31; or 200 pounds (90.8 kg) or more of summer flounde
trip from November 1 through April 30, must fish with nets or combinations 
of nets that have a minimum mesh size of 5.5 inch (14.0 cm) diamond, or 6 
inch (15.2 cm) square mesh applied throughout the body, extension(s) and 
codend portion of the net. 

 

.7.4-1
 
7  Size and Possession –  No person fishing recreationally shall 

dar 

sion 
 

  
-2 Season –  The recreational season for summer flounder in Rhode 

possess a summer flounder less than twenty-one inches (21”) total 
length, and no person fishing recreationally shall possess, per calen
day, more than six (6) summer flounder whether caught within the 
jurisdiction of this state or otherwise.  Compliance with the posses
limit aboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on
a vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 
 

  7.7.4
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7.7.5

Island waters is open from June 17 through December 31. 

 
 Summer flounder Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting 

Regulations/Penalty -- 
 
7.7.5-1  Prohibition on the transfer of Summer flounder -- No Summer 
flounder (Paralichthys dentatus), may be purchased, bartered, or sold 
within the State of Rhode Island unless marked, processed, shipped, 
labeled, and handled in accordance with the following rules: 
a. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to transfer 

  b. ed person in charge of the vessel may land summer flounder 

  c. 
ust be weighed prior to the removal of the 

  e. t scales must be certified in accordance with Rhode Island 

  f.  only be shipped out of state in standard 60 

ffice 

  g.  set forth in 

 
.7.5-2

at sea summer flounder from one vessel to another vessel, and the 
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer summer 
flounder to dealers who possess a valid Rhode Island Dealer's 
License. 
No licens
after 8:00 PM or prior to 6:00 AM.  The legal hours for landing summer 
flounder are from 6:00 AM to 8:00 PM only. 
Repealed 01/01/09 

  d. All summer flounder m
summer flounder from the dealer's premises or from the point of 
transfer. 
The weigh
law RIGL, Chapter 47-1. 
All summer flounder may
or 100 pound cartons (containers) unless specific prior written 
authorization is requested and received from the Rhode Island O
of Law Enforcement, 83 Park St., Providence, RI 02903. 
Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as
section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations 

7   License Suspension: 
rescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of 

ein 

 of 

b. irector has determined that non-compliance with these 
 

re as 

  c. r possess within this state any summer 

a. In addition to the penalty p
any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required her
will be suspended by the Director.  The license of any person who 
knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any provision
these regulations may be suspended for a period not to exceed one 
year. 
The D
regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the
available stock of summer flounder and, thus, the general welfa
represented that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged 
violators pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising 
from the alleged violation. 
No person shall take, sell, o



RI Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations –   
Part VII - Minimum Sizes of Fish/Shellfish 

Page 19 of 58 

s 

artment 

 
IMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 

7.7.6

flounder which have not been taken in compliance with the provision
of this regulation.  Any summer flounder which the Director shall have 
reasonable cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with 
the provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in 
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the Dep
of Environmental Management. 

(R
 

  Moratorium on the Landing of Summer Flounder -- No person shall 
s of 

ode 

y 1, 

 
7.7.7

possess, land, sell, or offer for sale in excess of two hundred (200) pound
summer flounder Paralichthys dentatus, in any calendar day, in the State of 
Rhode Island or the jurisdictional waters of the state without a summer 
flounder exemption certificate issued by Fish and Wildlife and a valid Rh
Island commercial fishing license.  Application for a summer flounder 
exemption permit must be received by Fish and Wildlife prior to Januar
1997. 

  Exemption Certificates -- Fish and Wildlife will issue an exemption 
 

ch 

 
 7.7.7-1

certificate for a vessel if the owner of the vessel or his/her representative
applies to Fish and Wildlife prior to January 1, 1997, for the issuance of su
a certificate and demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Director that: 

  the operator of the vessel possesses a valid Rhode Island 
unt 

d 
 

 7.7.7-2

commercial fishing license to land summer flounder up to the amo
permitted by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council regulations; an

  the subject vessel meets any of the following criteria: 

  a. the vessel was operated by a person who possessed a valid Rhode 

2; 

 
  b. the vessel fished exclusively in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) 

 

 
  c. the vessel replaces a vessel which was operated by a person who 

 
 

Island commercial fishing license and landed and sold in excess of 
one pound of summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer 
during the period from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 199
or 

 
and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to a 
licensed Rhode Island licensed dealer sometime during the period 
January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992.  The Department may 
require additional supporting documents including but not limited to
the ship's logs, ice and fuel slips; or 

 
possessed a valid Rhode Island commercial fishing license, and the 
vessel being replaced landed and sold in excess of one pound of 
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od 

e 

 
  d. the vessel replaces a vessel which fished exclusively in the EEZ 

a 

lost 
 

 
e. If the vessel is replacing a vessel that was lost by sinking or was 

ther 

 
7.7.8

summer flounder to a Rhode Island licensed dealer during the peri
from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel 
being replaced was lost by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the 
replaced vessel is required to have been owned by the applicant at th
time of the loss; or 

 
and landed and sold in excess of one pound of summer flounder to 
Rhode Island licensed dealer, during the period January 1, 1987, 
through December 31, 1992, and if the vessel being replaced was 
by sinking or was otherwise destroyed, the replaced vessel is required
to have been owned by the applicant at the time of the loss. 

otherwise destroyed, documentation must be presented from a 
licensed insurance company, U.S. Coast Guard report, or some o
valid evidence of ownership to the satisfaction of the Director. 

  Application for Certificate of Exemption -- A vessel is eligible to receive 

te 

 
 7.7.8-1

a Rhode Island Summer Flounder Exemption Certificate if it meets the 
following conditions.  The applicant applying for an exemption certifica
shall: 

  provide Fish and Wildlife with a copy of the operator's valid current 

 
 7.7.8-2

Rhode Island commercial fishing license or non-resident landing license, 
and Federal Fluke Permit if the summer flounder is to be taken in the 
Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ); and 

  submit a completed notarized application for said certificate; and 

 7.7.8-3
 
  submit proof that the vessel meets the requirements set out in 

7.7.7 and 
 

 7.7.8-4  provide a completed notarized waiver authorizing the Department 
to access records verifying that this vessel and operator meet the criteria 
set forth in 7.7.7; and 

 
7.7.8-5 provide Fish and wildlife with a copy of the vessel's U.S. Coast 

 
7.7.9

Guard documentation papers or state issued boat registration 
certificate proving ownership of the vessel.  

 Submission of Application -- Application for an exemption certificate 

 
shall be mailed or submitted prior to January 1, 1997 to the office of 
Fish and Wildlife at: Oliver Stedman Government Center, 4808 Tower
Hill Rd., Wakefield, RI 02879, Attention: Fluke Exemption. 
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.7.107  Transfer of Rhode Island Summer Flounder Certificate of Exemption –  

 
Any Certificate of Exemption issued by the Division is only valid for the 

ent 

 
(a) Change in ownership: A Certificate of Exemption is presumed to 

el’s 

ion 

 
) Replacement Vessels: A vessel owner wishing to transfer a 

 the 
 

 
) The vessel owner must supply credible written evidence verifying 

er 

ssel 

 an 

) Vessel permits (state and federal), Certificates of Exemption, and 

) Certificates of Exemption may not be combined to create larger 
replacements vessels.  

vessel to which it is issued. A vessel may be sold with all certificates, 
permits (state and federal) and history transferred together or without 
the certificates, permits (state and federal) and history for purposes of 
replacing the vessel. In instances when a vessel owner retains all 
certificates, permits, and history they must be applied to a replacem
vessel owned by said individual within ninety (90) days.    

transfer with the vessel whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise 
transferred, unless there is a written agreement, signed by the 
transferor/seller and transferee/buyer, or other credible written 
evidence, verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vess
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the vessel.  
Individuals who purchase a vessel issued a Certificate of Exempt
must supply credible written evidence verifying that they are the full 
owner of said vessel.  Vessel ownership will be determined solely by 
an issued and valid (unexpired) US Coast Guard documentation or 
state registration. 

(b
Certificate of Exemption issued by the Division must apply to
Division for approval and provide to the satisfaction of the Division
of Fish and Wildlife proof that the applicant vessel is replacing a 
vessel which has been removed from the Summer Flounder 
Exemption Program (as described in 7.7.6)  

(1
that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel's Certificate of 
Exemption for purposes of replacing the vessel. If a vessel own
elects to sever the Certificate of Exemption from a vessel, the 
Certificate of Exemption may be transferred only to another ve
fully owned by said vessel owner.  Proof of full ownership of both 
vessels is required.  Vessel ownership will be determined solely by
issued and valid (unexpired) US Coast Guard documentation or state 
registration. 
 
(2
fishing history cannot be split.  
 
(3
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sel may not exceed a 10 percent increase in 
ngth overall (LOA), a 10 percent increase in gross registered 

le. 

ns 
 this section are the respective specifications (length, gross 

ugh refitting or 
placement, and be eligible to retain a Certificate of Exemption, only 

 
ch an increase may not 

ii.  
placement.  Any increase in any 

 
(c) Certifi permits may not be:  

(1) pledged, mortgaged, leased, or encumbered in any way; 
ession or 

  
 

7.7.11

 
(4) The replacement ves
le
tonnage (GRT) or net tonnage (NT), or a 20 percent increase in 
horsepower of the vessel’s baseline specifications, as applicab
 
(5) Vessel baseline specifications: The vessel baseline specificatio
in
registered tonnage, net tonnage, horsepower) of the vessel that was 
initially issued a Certificate of Exemption.  
 
(6) A vessel may be upgraded, whether thro
re
if the upgrade complies with the following: 

i. The vessel’s horsepower may be increased only once, whether
through refitting or replacement.  Su
exceed 20 percent of the horsepower of the vessel’s baseline 
specifications, as applicable. 
The vessel’s length, GRT, and NT may be increased only once,
whether through refitting or re
of these three specifications of vessel size may not exceed 10 
percent of the vessel’s baseline specifications, as applicable.  
If any of these three specifications is increased, any increase 
in the other two must be performed at the same time.  This 
type of upgrade may be done separately from an engine 
horsepower upgrade. 

cates of Exemption or 

(2) transferred with any retained right of reposs
foreclosure, or any condition requiring a subsequent transfer; or
(3) attached, distrained, or sold on execution of judgment.
 
(RIMF REGULATION) [Penalty – Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 
 

 Research Set Aside
 

o er flounder quota for 2009 will be allocated to a 
ne-year sector allocation pilot program.  The purpose of the program will be 

lly 
hort-

A porti n of the State’s summ
o
to assess the effectiveness and viability of a rights-based approach as an 
alternative to traditional quota management in the commercial summer 
flounder fishery.  The Department will undertake the assessment by carefu
monitoring the program throughout the course of 2009, evaluating the s
term and potential long-term impacts of the program, including the impacts 
to non-participating licensed fishermen and prospective future license 
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nd, 

rt 
, 2009; 

and 
nd summer flounder in Rhode Island in any amount, up to the amount of the 

, 

me or all 
7.11-

r 

 
elow. 

ed 
ector.  Each allocation will involve a “hard” total allowable catch (TAC), i.e., 

r 

may 
volve any number of qualified participants.  If no sector becomes qualified 

7.7.11-1

holders, and determining the extent to which the program meets the goals, 
principles and standards for marine fisheries management in Rhode Isla
as set forth in the RI General Laws.  The Department will provide weekly 
public updates of all landings made pursuant to the program; provide 
monthly updates on the program to the RI Marine Fisheries Council; repo
preliminary assessment findings to the Council no later than October 1
and issue a final report to the Council no later than November 1, 2009. 
 
Participants in the program will be authorized to commercially harvest 
la
research set aside and the sector allocation(s) established pursuant thereto
at any time of the year, until the research set aside and the sector 
allocation(s) established pursuant thereto are fully harvested; provided, 
however, that a total allowable catch limit will be established for so
of the summer sub-period (May 1 through October 31) (see subsection 7.
5(g)).  Participants will not be bound by daily or weekly possession limits, no
will participants be bound by sub-period closures.  Participants will be 
prohibited from discarding any summer flounder, or parts thereof, that are 
fourteen (14) inches or greater in total length, unless damaged and 
unsellable, while engaged in the program.  Participants will also be required
to meet all other terms and conditions of the program, as set forth b
 
The research set aside will involve an aggregate allocation for each approv
s
a specific and definitive amount of summer flounder, constituting the 
maximum aggregate amount of summer flounder that may be harvested by 
the participants in each sector.  Any discards of sub-legal-sized fish, o
damaged and unsellable legal-sized fish, will be deducted from the TAC. 
 
The program may involve one or more qualified sectors, and each sector 
in
for participation in the pilot program, there will no research set aside for 
2009. 
 
 

  Participants 
 

d eligible to participate in the pilot program, 
rovided they meet the following requirements: 

 of a vessel that is 
censed to harvest summer flounder in federal waters, and must remain 

 or 

Anyone may de deeme
p
 
a.  A participant must be the owner and operator
li
so licensed in 2009.  In addition, a participant must hold a RI license
landing permit allowing for the landing of summer flounder in RI, and 
must remain so licensed or permitted in 2009.  In addition, a participant 
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tive 
enalty in the past three years for a violation of any state or federal law or 

zed as a sector, and each sector 
ust meet all of the requirements set forth below. 

.7.11-2

must be the owner and operator of a vessel that holds a RI summer 
flounder exemption certificate, and must remain so permitted in 2009. 
 
b.  A participant must not have been assessed a criminal or administra
p
regulation relating to marine fisheries. 
 
c.  Participants must be formally organi
m
 
 
7   Sectors 

ified participants may form a sector and apply for 
articipation in the pilot program, provided the following requirements are 

ch prospective sector must submit a Proposal to the Division, 
escribing the group’s intent relative to participation in the pilot program. 

 the Division.  The Sector Contract must be signed by all participants, 

ly 

he 
ivision.  The Operations Plan must contain at least the following 

ter of all parties, vessels, license/permit holders, and vessel 
owners who will participate in the sector.  The roster shall include all 

e 

an detailing the rules the sector participants will 
gree to abide by in order to avoid exceeding the sector allocation 

s 
nd 

 
Any group of qual
p
met: 
 
a.  Ea
d
 
b.  Each prospective sector must submit a fully executed Sector Contract 
to
and must bind them to the terms and conditions of the Operations Plan.  
The Contract must hold the Sector and all participants in the sector joint
and severally liable for any violations of applicable State or Federal 
fishery laws and regulations for which any participant of that Sector has 
been found culpable by a duly authorized governmental entity. 
 
c.  Each prospective sector must submit an Operations Plan to t
D
elements: 
 

1.  A ros

relevant information relating to the license and/or permit history of th
participants, as well as verifiable data on the commercial landings of 
summer flounder in RI for each vessel, dating back for a period of five 
(5) calendar years. 
 
2.  An acceptable pl
a
(TAC), including detailed plans for enforcement of the Sector rules, a
well as detailed plans for the monitoring and reporting of landings a
discards.  If applicable, the plan must describe whether the sector 
allocation will be sub-allocated to individual participants and, if so, in 
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ormation for, the Sector Manager, who 
ill act as a designated agent for service of process and serve as 

 
7.7 tor

what amounts or percentages. 
 
3.  The name of, and contact inf
w
overseer of the day-to-day operations of the sector. 

.11-3  Approval of Pilot Program Sectors by the Direc  
 

ion will be 
viewed and assessed by the Director in accordance with the following 

 – Does the proposal include a full description of the 
group’s intent relative to participation in the pilot program?  Does the 

 

rovided in the proposal verifiable and accurate? 

inal or 
dministrative penalties assessed within the past three years on any 

 what amounts, have the 
roposed participants commercially landed summer flounder in Rhode 

y and strength – Is the Operations Plan well developed and 
kely to provide for strong and effective management and control of 

  Is the proposal likely to contribute 
ubstantively and meaningfully to reductions in bycatch mortality, 

he 
will 

eets the 
in 

posal likely to 

a.  Evaluation criteria --  All proposals submitted to the Divis
re
evaluation criteria: 
 

1.  Completeness

proposal include a fully executed Sector Contract that comports with 
sub-section 7.7.11-2(b)?  Does the proposal include an Operations Plan
that meets all of the requirements set forth in sub-section 7.7.11-2(c)? 
 
2.  Accuracy – Are the license/permit histories and the landings data 
p
 
3.  Enforcement history – Have there been any crim
a
participant associated with the proposal? 
 
4.  Landings History – For how long, and in
p
Island? 
 
5.  Clarit
li
the sector and its operations? 
 
6.  Fishery management goals –
s
improved economic efficiency, sustainability, and safety at sea?  Is t
proposal likely to furnish quality data, information, and insight that 
enable the Department to (i) assess the effectiveness and viability of a 
rights-based approach as an alternative to traditional quota 
management in the commercial summer flounder fishery, and (ii) 
determine the extent to which a sector-allocation program m
goals, principles and standards for marine fisheries management 
Rhode Island, as set forth in the RI General Laws? 
 
7.  Broad-based applicability and benefit – Is the pro
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rnish data, information, and insight that can be applied beneficially to 
e 

 
b.  Final decision – Based on the Director’s review of proposals 

ndertaken pursuant to subsection (a) above, the Director shall select one 
tion will 

, there 

.7.11-4

fu
other Rhode Island-based fishers, fisheries, and gear types in futur
years? 

u
or more sectors for participation in the pilot program.  The selec
be announced publicly as soon as it is made, and the announcement shall 
include the names of all participating vessels and/or license/permit 
holders, and the allocation (TAC) assigned to the sector(s).  If the Director 
finds that no sector is qualified for participation in the pilot program
will no pilot program for 2009. 
 
 
7   Determination of Sector Allocations and Research Set Aside 

ns 
s follows: 

proved sector, the Director will sum the total commercial 
ndings of summer flounder in Rhode Island for each and all participating 

otal 

nder 

ed sector allocations for pilot program:  For each approved 
ector, the final adjusted allocation for the pilot program will be 

ting from 
 by 

e research set aside as follows: 

djusted sector allocations for each approved sector will be added.  The 
09.  If 

r 

 
The Director will calculate the amount of the individual sector allocatio
a
 
For each ap
la
vessels during each and all of the five years, 2004-2008, and label it “t
sector catch.”  The Director will then determine the total commercial 
landings of summer flounder in Rhode Island by all commercial fishermen 
over the same 2004-2008 period and label it “total state catch.”  The 
Director will divide the total sector catch by the total state catch to derive 
a final fractional share, reflecting the portion of the state summer flou
catch harvested by the participating vessels over the five-year period, 
2004-2008. 
 
Final adjust
s
determined by applying the final fractional share for the sector to the 
State’s overall summer flounder quota for 2009, and then subtrac
that amount the total amount of summer flounder landed commercially
the sector participants from January 1, 2009 until the date of the Director’s 
final decision per sub-section 7.7.11-3(b). 
 
The Director will calculate the amount of th
 
If more than one sector is approved for the pilot program, the final 
a
sum total will constitute the amount of the research set aside for 20
only one sector is approved for the pilot program, the final adjusted secto
allocation for that sector will constitute the amount of the research set 
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.7.11-5

aside for 2009. 
 
 
7   Program Implementation – Terms and Conditions 

gle-vessel 
solution, in a format pre-approved by the Division, to account for all 

 of 
 

ety 

 

t allow the Department to publicly disclose all landings 
f summer flounder made by all participating vessels, on a single-vessel 

g vessels must agree to take any state or federally 
uthorized observers at any time.  Each sector, through the sector 

 
es 

ticipating vessels must notify the DEM’s Division of Law 
nforcement (401-222-2284 or 222-3070) at least one hour prior, but not 

nd, 

ing 
perations must be retained, landed, and counted against the sector 

ctor 

l participating in the program shall fish commercially with gear 
at is designed to catch summer flounder, between June 1, 2009 and 

m 

 
a.  All sectors must utilize detailed tracking sheets, with sin
re
landings and discards by all sector participants throughout the course
the program.  Each sector manager shall be responsible for maintaining
these records and providing them to the Division in a form and manner 
prescribed by the Division on a weekly basis throughout the year.  Each 
sector manager shall notify the Division no later than forty-eight (48) 
hours after seventy-five percent (75%) of the sector allocation has been 
harvested, and then again no later than forty-eight (48) hours after nin
percent (90%) of the sector allocation has been harvested.  All trip 
monitoring and reporting costs shall be borne by each sector, through the
sector manager. 
 
b. All sectors mus
o
resolution basis. 
 
c.  All participatin
a
manager(s), must fund the full costs of any and all observer coverage
requested or required by the Division or the National Marine Fisheri
Service. 
 
d.  All par
E
more than six hours prior, to all commercial landings in Rhode Isla
regardless of whether or not such landings include summer flounder. 
 
e.  All legal-sized fluke harvested during any and all sector-related fish
o
allocation.  All summer flounder discarded due to damage rendering the 
fish unsellable or sub-legal size must also be counted against each se
allocation. 
 
f.  No vesse
th
September 30, 2009 within one mile seaward of the southern Rhode Island 
coastline.  This baseline is further defined as the shoreline running fro
Watch Hill to Point Judith, the mouth of Narragansett Bay running from 
Point Judith to Brenton Point, the south shore of Aquidneck Island, the 
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total allowable catch (TAC) limit will be established for the summer 
ub-period, beginning May 1 and continuing through September 15; 

ted 

r 
 

llocation of 7,500 pounds is established.  For each sector, the summer 
essels 

n is met, sector operations will be terminated 
r the remainder of the year, and no vessel participating in the program, 

mer sub-period TAC is met, sector operations will 
e terminated for the remainder of the open portion of the summer sub-

er for 

must remain in the sector and abide by the terms 
nd conditions of the sector throughout 2009.  Any vessel that drops out 

ting in the sector 
llocation pilot program must adhere to all applicable rules and 

se set 
ictions, 

 

mouth of the Sakonnet River running from Sachuest Point to Sakonnet 
Point, and the south shore of Little Compton to the Massachusetts state
line. 
 
g.  A 
s
provided, however, that if the summer sub-period quota, established for 
the general fishery pursuant to sub-section 7.7.1-2, is not fully harves
by September 15, the sector will continue to operate under the summer 
sub-period TAC until October 31, or until the summer sub-period quota, 
established pursuant to sub-section 7.7.1-2, is fully harvested, whicheve
comes first.  The summer sub-period TAC shall be calculated as follows:
 
For each vessel participating in each sector, a summer sub-period 
a
sub-period TAC shall be 7,500 pounds multiplied by the number of v
participating in the sector. 
 
h.  Once a sector’s allocatio
fo
nor any licensed individual associated with such vessel, shall fish 
commercially with gear that is designed to catch summer flounder for the 
remainder of the year. 
 
i.  Once a sector’s sum
b
period, per subsection (g) above, and no vessel participating in the 
program, nor any licensed individual associated with such vessel, shall 
fish commercially with gear that is designed to catch summer flound
the remainder of the open portion of the summer sub-period, per 
subsection (g) above.   
 
j.  Participating vessels 
a
of, or is expelled from, a sector will be prohibited from harvesting and 
landing summer flounder for the duration of 2009.  The sector manager 
shall notify the Division no later than forty-eight (48) hours after any 
vessel drops out of, or is expelled from, a sector. 
 
k.  All license/permit holders and vessels participa
a
regulations governing commercial fishing operations, other than tho
forth in section 7.7.1, including but not limited to mesh size restr
offloading hours, at-sea transfers, and reporting and record-keeping 
requirements.  All license/permit holders and participating vessels will be
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ed 

 pilot program is non-transferable. 
nly vessels authorized by the Director may participate in the pilot 

nsibility of each sector manager to oversee the 
ay-to-day operations of the sector, ensure compliance with all of the 

d 
ns 

.7.11-6

subject to all State and Federal small mesh landing levels for summer
flounder when fishing with small mesh.  All license/permit holders and 
participating vessels will be allowed to fish south of the Southern New 
England DDAS counting area for summer flounder when properly enroll
in the Small Mesh Exemption Program. 
 
l.  The authorization to participate in the
O
program during 2009. 
 
m.  It shall be the respo
d
terms and conditions governing the sector, as set forth in these rules an
regulations, and as detailed in the Sector Contract and Sector Operatio
Plan, and to serve as the primary point of contact with the Division. 
 
 
7   Enforcement 

llocation, or if one or more participating vessels is 
und to be in violation of any of the terms and conditions set forth in 

 be 

n 

 

.7.11-7

 
If a sector exceeds its a
fo
these regulations, the sector will be declared null and void due to breach 
of contract and all participating vessels and license/permit holders will
subject to potential enforcement action, including but not limited to:  
confiscation of catch, prohibition on the harvest and landing of summer 
flounder for the remainder of the year, license and/or permit suspensio
or revocation, fines, and disqualification from participation in any future 
alternative management programs.  All penalty provisions applicable to 
violations of marine fisheries laws and regulations will also be applicable
to participants in the sector allocation pilot program. 
 
 
7  Control Date 

er 31, 2009 is established for the commercial 
ummer flounder fishery in Rhode Island. 

 
7.8

 
A control date of Decemb
s

  Winter Flounder (Blackback) -- No person shall take possess, sell, possess 
r sale, or offer for sale any winter flounder measuring less than twelve (12) 

 in 
 the 

fo
inches total length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or 
otherwise.  During a closure of the R.I. winter flounder fishery a vessel fishing
the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) may traverse Rhode Island waters for
purpose of landing winter flounder provided they are not fishing and nets are 
stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of these regulations. 
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7.8.1  Winter Flounder -  Four fish recreational possession limit  -- The taking 
and/or possession of winter flounder by recreational fishermen is prohibited 

 

 

  

with the exception that annually, beginning on the fourth Saturday in April 
and continuing for 30 days, and beginning on the last Saturday in September 
and continuing for 30 days, fishermen may take and possess not more than
four (4) winter flounder in Rhode Island waters.  Said fish shall not be offered 
for sale.  The four fish possession limit shall not apply to fishermen licensed
pursuant to RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, or 20-2-28.1, provided winter 
flounder possessed by those licensed in the above sections are harvested in 
compliance with R.I. Marine Fisheries Council Statutes and Regulations. 

7.8.2  Winter Flounder - Mesh Regulations/Commercial Fishing Gear -- The 
minimum mesh size for bottom trawl nets is six (6) inch diamond mesh or six 

 to the 

t 
n 

h overall, a diamond mesh 
codend is defined as the first 50 meshes counting from the terminus of 

verall, a diamond mesh codend is 
efined as the first 25 meshes counting from the terminus of the net, 

 
7.8.2-1 Net obstruction or constriction  

onsisting of 
ch 

f 
t 

and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughout the body and 
extension of the net, or any combination thereof, and six and one half (6.5) 
inch diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied
codend of the bottom trawl nets as defined in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 
section. The minimum mesh size for gill nets is six and one half (6.5) inch 
diamond mesh or six and one half (6.5) inch square mesh applied throughou
the net. Vessels may utilize commercial fishing gear with mesh smaller tha
the sizes referenced in this section provided they do not possess any winter 
flounder except as provided in Section 7.8.1.  
 

(a) For vessels greater than 45 ft in lengt

the net, and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 100 bars 
counting from the terminus of the net 
 
(b) For vessels 45 ft or less in length o
d
and a square mesh codend is defined as the first 50 bars counting from 
the terminus of the net. 

A fishing vessel subject to minimum mesh size restrictions shall not use 
any device or material, including, but not limited to, nets, net 
strengtheners, ropes, lines, or chafing gear, on the top of a trawl net, 
except that one splitting strap and one bull rope (if present), c
line and rope no more than 3 in (7.6 cm) in diameter, may be used if su
splitting strap and/or bull rope does not constrict, in any manner, the top o
the trawl net. “The top of the trawl net” means the 50 percent of the net tha
(in a hypothetical situation) would not be in contact with the ocean bottom 
during a tow if the net were laid flat on the ocean floor. For the purpose of 
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IMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 

.9

this paragraph, head ropes are not considered part of the top of the trawl 
net. 

(R
 
7   Tautog (Blackfish) -- No person shall take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or 

7.9.1

offer for sale any tautog measuring less than sixteen (16) inches total length 
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 
     

  Recreational -- No person may possess more than three (3) tautog  from 

om 
ay 

mber of 

 
7.9.2

April 15 through May 31. The tautog fishery will be closed from June 1 
through June 30. No person may possess more than three (3) tautog  fr
July 1 through the Friday before the third Saturday in October. No person m
possess more than eight (8) tautog from the third Saturday in October 
through December 15, annually.  Compliance aboard vessels will be 
determined by dividing the number of fish onboard a vessel by the nu
recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 

  Commercial --The total allowable harvest of tautog will be established 
e 

ar 

a) April 15 – May 31

annually, and will be that amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by th
Regional Fishery Management Council and/or the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvested only by permitted ge
types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules and regulations 
promulgated by the DEM and the RIGL Title 20.   The quota shall only be 
available during the following seasons: 
 
( :  1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall be 

it per 

(b) July

available from April 15 through May 31, unless modified pursuant to this 
part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any 
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period.  The 
aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many 
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish lim
day.  

 
 15 – August 29:  1/3 of the annual quota established in this part shall 

 

it per 

(c) er 15 – December 31

be available from July 15 – August 29, unless modified pursuant to this 
part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any
one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this period.  The 
aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of how many 
licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish lim
day. 
Octob : 1/3 of the annual quota established in this part 

 from 
shall be available from October 15 – December 31, unless modified 
pursuant to this part.  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard or land
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w 

(d) riod the allocation may be harvested until it is exhausted.  

arvest 

in 

ther 

    

a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than ten (10) tautog during this 
period.  The aggregate number of tautog on any vessel, regardless of ho
many licensed fishermen are onboard, may not exceed the ten (10) fish 
limit per day. 
Within each pe
Any unused quota not harvested during a sub-period will be carried 
forward into the next period, unless an overage has occurred in a 
previous sub period during the same calendar year, and any over-h
will be deducted equally from all periods in the next calendar year.  No 
licensed commercial fishermen may possess more than ten (10) tautog 
any calendar day.  During a closure of the R.I. tautog fishery a federally 
permitted vessel fishing in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), may 
traverse Rhode Island waters for the purpose of landing tautog in ano
state, provided their nets are stowed in accordance with Section 10.10 of 
these regulations. 

 
 7.9.3  Possession Limits  for Charter and Party Boats -- Compliance aboard 

ll 

 
7.9.4

vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel 
by the number of recreational fishermen on board said vessel.  Said fish sha
not be offered for sale.  Party and charter boats may obtain a State permit by 
showing proof of a U.S. Coast Guard License to conduct their fishery within 
the territorial waters of Rhode Island. 

  Reporting requirements. -- Dealers must comply with the reporting 

 7.9.5

requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries 
Regulations 
 

 Closure of commercial fisheries managed under a federally mandated 
quota or allocation system. -- Any landing of a marine species managed und
a quota or allocation system, or the taking or possession of any marine 
species, may be prohibited by the Director for a specified portion of the 
calendar year upon the finding by the Director that ninety percent (90%) o
more of the annual quota is about to be harvested, and upon submission of
notice of closure to the Office of Secretary of State, and publication of the 
closure notice in a daily newspaper of statewide circulation.  Further, it is th
responsibility of the licensed person in charge of a vessel harvesting species 
regulated in this section to call the DEM hotline for current harvesting and 
possession regulations. 
FC REGULATION) [Pena

er 

r 
 a 

e 

(RIM lty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 

.10
 
7   Bluefish - Possession limit for recreational fishermen -- No person shall 

pliance 
possess more than ten bluefish unless he/she has a permit meeting the 
requirements of RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-26.1, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1.  Com
onboard vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish onboard a 
vessel by the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel.  
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7.10.1
 
   Bluefish - Commercial Quota  -- A total allowable harvest of bluefish 

of 

ed 

 

 
2

will be established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State 
Rhode Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvest
only by permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all 
rules and regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries 
Council.  To provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island
Marine Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period 
allocations. 
 
7.10.   Bluefish Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods    

 
 7.10.2-1 Spring sub-period - January 1 through June 30 annually.  Quota - 

 
7.10.2-2

50% of the annual allocation.     

 Summer-Fall Sub Period - July 1 through December 31 annually.  

hen 50% of any seasonal sub-period quota is reached, Fish and Wildlife 

 
ay 

Quota - 50% of the annual allocation.   
 
W
will determine if a possession limit of between 200 - 10,000 pounds should 
be established depending upon the time remaining in the quota period 
and the current catch rate.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice with the 
Secretary of State's office if a possession limit is established, and will
publish a news release announcing the change.  The possession limit m
be modified by Fish and Wildlife providing such notification is made. 
 
[Effective December 6, 2006 at 12:01 AM the commercial Bluefish fishery 

  
3

will be closed until the next sub-period begins on January 1, 2007.] 

7.10.   Bluefish - Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the 
ries 

 
IMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)] 

.11

reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fishe
Regulations 

(R
 
7  Scup Regulations - Minimum Size - 9" total length (TL) -- It is unlawful for any 

3-3) 

 7.11.1

person commercially licensed under RIGL 20-2-27 or RIMFC Part II, to  land or 
possess any scup, or parts thereof, that do not meet this size limit. [see Part 
10.12 for gear roller regs]  (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-
(RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 

 - Scup - Commercial Quota -- A total allowable harvest of scup will be 
e established annually, and shall be that amount allocated to the State of Rhod

Island by the Regional Fishery Management Councils and/or the Atlantic 
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y 
d 

.  
 

7.11.2

States Marine Fisheries Commission.  The quota may be harvested only b
permitted gear types and licensed fishermen in accordance with all rules an
regulations promulgated by the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  To 
provide for the orderly harvest of the quota, the Rhode Island Marine 
Fisheries Council has established the following sub-period allocations

   Scup Commercial Quota - Sub-Periods    

7.11.2-1 Winter Period I (January-April
 

) – 

a.
 
 Any vessel which possesses a valid federal scup moratorium 

es a 

 

in 

 

scup 

be 

00 

ed 

ar day.  
 

b.

permit if harvesting scup from federal waters; or, if harvesting 
exclusively in State waters, any vessel whose operator possess
valid license to harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in 
Rhode Island may opt to apply to obtain a permit from the Division
of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
during the Winter I period beginning on January 1 and running 
through April 30 or until the program is terminated as provided 
this part.  The name of any applicant vessel deemed to satisfy the 
requirements for enrollment in the program shall be maintained on
a list to be kept by DEM Division of Fish and Wildlife and DEM 
Division of Law Enforcement and is thereby authorized to land 
in any amount between 0 and 30,000 pounds in any two calendar 
week period so long as the total landed by that vessel does not 
exceed 30,000 pounds in any two calendar week period.  It shall 
unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the biweekly trip 
limit.  The two calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:
AM and ends on the second following Saturday at 11:59 PM.  On 
April 30 or when 80% of the Winter I scup quota has been harvest
as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), 
whichever first occurs, the program will terminate and the 
possession limit per vessel will be 1,000 pounds per calend

 The commercial possession limit of scup for vessels that are not 
 

 

c.

permitted for the biweekly trip limit program shall be 2,000 pounds
per trip.  It shall be unlawful for any person operating a vessel that 
is not permitted to participate in the biweekly trip limit program to 
land more than 2,000 pounds of scup in Rhode Island during any 
calendar day commencing at 12:00 AM and ending at 11:59 PM of 
that same day. 

 
 An applicant vessel shall be considered eligible for a permit to 

tisfies 
participate in the biweekly trip limit program for scup by 
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Division that it sa
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(1) The vessel if harvesting scup from federal waters possesses a 

 
) The vessel shall be operated by a person who possesses a valid 

 
(3) The vessel shall be operated by a licensed person who has not 

 
d.

each of the following criteria: 

valid federal scup moratorium permit, or, if harvesting exclusively 
in State waters, the vessel’s operator possesses a valid license to 
harvest or land scup for commercial purposes in Rhode Island;  

(2
multipurpose, principal effort, or landing license issued by the 
State of Rhode Island to land scup for commercial purposes; and 

been assessed a criminal or administrative penalty in the past 
three years for a violation of part 7.7 Fluke (Summer Flounder) et 
al. and/or Part 7.11 Scup Regulation et al. or more than one 
marine fisheries violation  

 The operator of the applicant vessel shall strictly adhere to each of 

 
(1) The subject vessel shall be permitted from the date the 

 
) A vessel may commence the application process for obtaining a 

 

) No vessel shall possess simultaneously more than one biweekly 

 
) The operator of any vessel permitted for the biweekly trip limit 

the following requirements: 

participant enters the program until the end of the Winter I sub 
period or until the participant terminates enrollment by providing 
written notice of the termination from the program, whichever first 
occurs. Said termination shall take effect no earlier than the 
Saturday ending the biweekly period following the receipt of the 
notice by the Division. 

(2
permit to participate in the program by downloading the 
application from DEMs website or may obtain one directly from 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (401-423-1927) on Mondays and 
Tuesdays, from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM during the entire Winter I 
sub period. The application must be filled out in its entirety and 
returned to the Division of Fish and Wildlife (3 Fort Wetherill Rd 
Jamestown, RI 02835). The application will be reviewed by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law Enforcement 
and upon acceptance, a permit will be issued to the applicant 
vessel to take effect the first Sunday after the permit is received. 

 
(3

trip limit permit. 

(4
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) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system 

 
) The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook or the 

 
e.

program shall only sell scup to a dealer who is a certified on a list 
maintained by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries 
Information System (SAFIS) dealer. A certified SAFIS dealer shall 
be defined as a dealer who is linked to the SAFIS reporting 
system and has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Division 
its ability to make timely reports to the requisite governmental 
entities. A list of certified SAFIS dealers will be furnished to all 
enrolled fishermen. A certificate attesting to the dealer’s 
designation shall be posted through the Winter I Period at the 
dealer’s facility.  

(5
referenced in section [d. (4)] of this part shall be documented by 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of Law 
Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup landed 
by a specific vessel during a two calendar week period.  

(6
reporting form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall 
be kept in numerical order on board the vessel and furnished 
upon request, including the name and address of the dealer 
where the scup were landed.  

 Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

 
Additionally, imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-

 

permit agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the owner(s) and 
operator(s) privilege to commercially fish will be suspended for the 
same calendar time period as described in the current Winter I 
period upon adjudication. 

3-3) and the Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Suspension/Revocation of Commercial Marine Fisheries, Shellfish 
Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and Multi-purpose Dealer, 
licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

f. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 
the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
permit agreement, the owner and/or operator of the permitted 
vessel shall be advised of such determination and the specific 
grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified mail or 
by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance with 
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) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

 
) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

 
) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must 

 
 7.11.2-1.1 Any dealer which possesses a valid license to barter or trade in 

the 

 

 

 
a.

the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is 
available before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant 
to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the 
finding that sufficient evidence exists of non-compliance with the 
provisions of these regulations or the permit agreement as well as 
the termination of the permit and or the imposition of a penalty 
pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) as well as the ineligibility to 
reapply for a permit for the subject vessel for the remainder of the 
Winter I period.  

(1
adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

(2
determination to deny an applicant vessel permitted for the 
biweekly trip limit program for scup must file said request in writing 
with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

(3
be received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
with the time period indicated.   

scup may apply for a certification from the Division of Fish and Wildlife that 
it is qualified to purchase scup from any vessel which is enrolled by the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife in the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
during the Winter I period beginning January 1 through April 30 or until 
program is terminated as provided in this part. A dealer is prohibited from 
purchasing or otherwise acquiring scup from a permitted vessel during the
above described period unless the dealer has applied to the Division for 
and obtained certification as a dealer who is  certified on a list maintained
by the Division as a Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System 
(SAFIS). 

 An applicant  dealer shall be considered eligible to be certified as a 
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he 
 

 
(1) The applicant dealer shall apply to the Division of Fish and 

 
) The applicant dealer shall present evidence that it possesses a 

 
) The applicant dealer shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 

 
b.

Standard Atlantic Fisheries Information System (SAFIS) Dealer if it 
signs a letter of agreement with the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
and the Division of Law Enforcement. A dealer who wishes to 
participate has the opportunity to sign the letter furnished by t
Division of Fish and Wildlife during the month of December of the
preceding year. The dealer must also satisfy each of the following 
criteria: 

Wildlife for the issuance of such certification to acquire scup from 
vessels permitted for the biweekly trip limit program for scup 
described in Part 7.11.2-1;   

(2
valid, current license to barter or trade in scup; 

(3
Division its ability to make timely reports to the requisite 
governmental entities utilizing the SAFIS reporting system; and 

 The applicant dealer shall execute a written agreement with the 

 
(1) The dealer certified as a SAFIS dealer shall file timely reports of 

 
) The dealer shall display its certification attesting to its 

 
) Should the dealer be terminated as a SAFIS certified dealer, the 

 
c.

Division attesting to the fact that dealer shall strictly adhere to each 
of  the following requirements: 

acquisitions of scup to all required governmental entities 
employing the SAFIS reporting system.  

(2
designation as a SAFIS dealer at the dealer’s facility.  

(3
dealer shall so advise permitted vessels of such termination prior 
to acquiring any scup from such vessels.  

 Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 

 
Additionally, the dealer shall be subject to the imposition of a 

dealer agreement shall subject both the owner and the operator to 
revocation of enrollment and participation in the commercial 
fisheries for the subsequent Winter I fishery.  If for any reason a 
Winter I fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the 
dealer to commercially sell fish shall be suspended for the same 
calendar time period as described in the current Winter I period 
upon adjudication. 
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.

penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, 
and Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of 
RIGL “Fish and Wildlife”. 

d  If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of 

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

 
) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing relative to a 

AFIS 

s of 

 
)The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 9(a) or 9(b) must be 

 
inter Period II (November- December

the Division of Law Enforcement determine that  there has been 
non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement, the dealer shall be advised of such 
determination and the specific grounds therefore in writing by 
delivery of same by certified mail or by personal service upon the 
dealer in compliance with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the 
Rhode Island Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The 
determination shall specifically include notice that an opportunity 
for an impartial hearing is available before the Administrative 
Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws Chapter 42-17.7 
relative to either or both the finding that sufficient evidence exists 
of non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations or the 
certification agreement as well as the termination of certification 
and or the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 
as well as the ineligibility to reapply for certification for the 
remainder of the Winter I period.  

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action 
which alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file 
said request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

(2
determination to deny an applicant dealer certification as a S
certified dealer must file said request in writing with the clerk of 
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) calendar day
receipt of the contested agency action. 

(3
received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the 
time period indicated.   

W ) -- possession and landing limit is 
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7.11.2-2

3,500 pounds, decreasing to 500 pounds once 70% of the period quota is 
landed.   

  Summer-Fall Period  (May - October) A state quota for scup will 
 

 
total 

LOATING TRAPS licensed by the state of Rhode Island – Sixty percent 
p 

ta 

PRIL 15 – October 31: During those  years in which the Winter I federal 

 calendar 

 

AY 1 – OCTOBER 31:  During those years in which the Winter I federal 

lendar 

 

nnually, on June 7 the twelve percent (12%) set aside will become 
 per 

r 
d. If 

 
 

nnually, no later than August 1, the unharvested portion of the floating 

be established annually for the Summer-Fall period and shall be the most
recent amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic 
States Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Commerce and published in the Federal Register.  The 
scup quota for will be divided as follows: 
 
F
(60%) of the Summer-Fall period quota will be allocated to the floating tra
harvesting sector.  Twelve percent (12%) of the floating fish trap sector 
quota will be set aside at the beginning of the season annually.  The quo
allocated to the floating trap sector will be available during the following 
sub-periods: 
 
A
coastwide scup quota allocation is completely exhausted  prior to April 
15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on April 15.  The 
possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per
day.  Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected 
to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap 
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota
(minus the set aside) has been harvested 
 
M
coastwide scup quota allocation is not completely exhausted  prior to 
April 15, the floating fish trap quota will be available on May 1. The 
possession limit will be 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee* per ca
day.  Once ninety percent (90%) of the sub-period allocation is projected 
to be harvested, the possession limit will be 5,000 pounds per fish trap 
licensee per calendar day until one hundred percent (100%) of the quota
(minus the set aside) has been harvested.   
 
A
available at a possession limit of 5,000 pounds per fish trap licensee
calendar day. When 30,000 pounds of the set aside remains, the 
possession limit will drop to 300 pounds per fish trap licensee pe
calendar day until the entire set aside has been completely harveste
on June 7th the 90% quota trigger has not been hit, the possession limit 
will remain at 25,000 pounds per fish trap licensee per calendar day until
that level is reached and then will follow the schedule as set forth above. 
 
A
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 * “Fish trap licensee” – for purposes of this section, fish trap licensee 

 a 

 

ns 

omply with the reporting requirements as set forth in 

  
R TYPES OTHER THAN FLOATING FISH TRAPS – Forty percent (40%) 

AY - JUNE: One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be available 

a. Beginning May 1 any vessel authorized to land scup for commercial 

 

h 

e 

) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be 

fish trap quota shall be made available to all gear types upon consultation
with the floating fish trap industry representatives.  

 
shall refer to a resident person or resident corporation currently issued
license pursuant to RI General Laws §20-5-2.  The maximum possession 
limit per fish trap licensee shall be the amount set forth above regardless
of the number of authorized trap locations, the number of vessels or the 
number of licensed fishermen who may be working for or may enter into 
contract with the fish trap licensee.  While engaged in the operation of a 
fish trap, any licensed fisherman that may be working for or may enter 
into contract with the fish trap licensee waives any individual right to 
possess scup pursuant to a possession limit set out in RIMF Regulatio
Part 7.11.2-2. 
Dealers must c
section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations         
 

  GEA
of the Summer- Fall period quota will be allocated to all gear types except 
floating fish traps.  The quota allocated to the other gear type sector will 
be available during the following sub-periods. 
 
M
from May 1 through June 30.  The possession limit will be reduced at the 
discretion of the Division.  The fishery will close once the entire period 
allocation is projected to be harvested. 
 

purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup in any amount 
between 0 and 1,000 pounds in any calendar week period from May 1
through June 30 so long as the total landed by that vessel does not 
exceed  1,000 pounds in any calendar week period. The calendar week 
period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the following 
Saturday at 11:59 PM.  When the May 1 through June 30 sub period 
scup quota has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fis
and Wildlife (Division) the fishery will close. The fishery will restart at 
the beginning of the July 1 through September 15 sub period, and will 
be administered as set forth in this part. The Division may adjust the 
possession limit during the May through June sub-period based on th
current catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives and 
the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  
  
(1

documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of 
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup 
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(2) or the reporting 

 
b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject 

 
Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 

 
c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the 

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.  
The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook 
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in 
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request, 
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were 
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1st on 
board the vessel.  

both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the 
commercial fisheries for the subsequent May through June sub period 
fishery.  If for any reason a May through June sub period fishery does 
not exist by regulation, the privilege of the owner(s) and operator(s) to 
commercially harvest fish shall be suspended for the same calendar 
time period as described in the current May through June sub  period 
upon adjudication. 

imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules 
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and 
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish 
and Wildlife”. 

Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or 
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the 
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified 
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance 
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available 
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. 
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient 
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these 
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 
(RIGL 20-3-3).  

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which 
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said 
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
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(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be 

 
ULY - SEPT. 15:  One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will be 

a. Beginning July 1 any vessel authorized to land scup for commercial 

s 
l 

ber 15 

ning of 

the 
 

(1) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be 

(2) or the reporting 

 
b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject 

enforcement action.   
 

in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time 
period indicated. 

J
available from July 1 through September 15.   
 

purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup in any amount 
between 0 and 400 pounds in any calendar week period from July 1 
through September 15 so long as the total landed by that vessel doe
not exceed 400 pounds in any calendar week period. It shall be unlawfu
for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip limit.  The calendar 
week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends on the 
following Saturday at 11:59 PM.  When the July 1 through Septem
sub period scup quota has been harvested as determined by the 
Division the fishery will close. The fishery will restart at the begin
the September 16 through October 31 sub period, and will be 
administered as set forth in this part. The Division may adjust 
possession limit during the July through September 15 sub-period
based on the current catch rate and advice from fishing industry 
representatives and the Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  

 

documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of 
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup 
landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.  
The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook 
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in 
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request, 
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were 
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1st on 
board the vessel.  

both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the 
commercial fisheries for the subsequent July through September 15 sub 
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Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 

 
c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the 

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request 

 

(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be 

period fishery.  If for any reason a July through September 15 sub 
period fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege of the owner(s) 
and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be suspended for the 
same calendar time period as described in the current July through 
September 15 sub  period upon adjudication. 

imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules 
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and 
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish 
and Wildlife”. 

Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or 
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the 
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified 
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance 
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available 
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. 
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient 
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these 
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 
(RIGL 20-3-3).  

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which 
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said 
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

 

received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time 
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EPT. 16 – OCTOBER 31:  One-third (1/3) of the other gear type quota will 

limit if 

sed portion of a sub-period allocation will be divided between the 

a. Beginning September 16 any vessel authorized to land scup for 
 in any 

all 

 

 in 

t 

  
) The information recorded by the SAFIS reporting system shall be 

(2) or the reporting 

 
b. Non-compliance with the provisions of these regulations shall subject 

period indicated. 

S
be available from  September 16 through October 31.  Annually, on 
October 15, or thereafter, the Division may increase the possession 
they project the entire quota will not be harvested by the end of the sub-
period. 
Any unu
two remaining period(s).  The DFW will have the discretion of adjusting 
trip limits upwards or downwards as necessary.  
 

commercial purposes in Rhode Island is authorized to land scup
amount between 0 and 400 pounds in any calendar week period from 
September 16 through October 31 so long as the total landed by that 
vessel does not exceed 400 pounds in any calendar week period. It sh
be unlawful for the cumulative landings to exceed the weekly trip limit.  
The calendar week period shall begin on Sunday at 12:00 AM and ends 
on the following Saturday at 11:59 PM.  When the September 16 through
October 31 sub period scup quota has been harvested as determined by 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife (Division) the fishery will close. The 
fishery will restart at the beginning of the Winter 2 fishery as set forth
this part. The Division may adjust the possession limit during the 
September 16 through October 31 sub-periods based on the curren
catch rate and advice from fishing industry representatives and the 
Rhode Island Marine Fisheries Council.  

 

(1
documented by the Division of Fish and Wildlife and the Division of 
Law Enforcement for use in accounting for the amount of scup 
landed by a specific vessel during a calendar week.  
The State’s copy of the Vessel Trip Report logbook 
form provided by the Division of Fish and Wildlife shall be kept in 
numerical order on board the vessel and furnished upon request, 
including the name and address of the dealer where the scup were 
landed. The vessel must have all reports dating back to May 1st on 
board the vessel.  

both the owner and the operator to revocation of participation in the 
commercial fisheries for the subsequent September 16 through October 
31 sub period fishery.  If for any reason a September 16 through 
October 31 sub period fishery does not exist by regulation, the privilege 
of the owner(s) and operator(s) to commercially harvest fish shall be 
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Additionally, the owner(s) and operator(s) shall be subject to the 

 
c. If the Chief of the Division of Fish and Wildlife and/or the Chief of the 

 
(1) Any person who feels aggrieved such a determination may seek an 

 
(2) Any person who seeks an adjudicatory hearing must file said request 

 
(3) The written request for hearing pursuant to Rule 8(a) or 8(b) must be 

 
.11.2-3

suspended for the same calendar time period as described in the 
current September 16 through October 31 sub  period upon 
adjudication. 

imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) and the Rules 
and Regulations Governing the Suspension/Revocation of Commercial 
Marine Fisheries, Shellfish Buyer, Lobster Dealer, Finfish Dealer, and 
Multi-purpose Dealer, licenses issued pursuant to Title 20 of RIGL “Fish 
and Wildlife”. 

Division of Law Enforcement determine that there has been non-
compliance with the provisions of these regulations the owner and/or 
operator of the vessel shall be advised of such determination and the 
specific grounds therefore in writing by delivery of same by certified 
mail or by personal service upon the owner or operator in compliance 
with the requirements set out in Rule 4 of the Rhode Island Superior 
Court Rules of Civil Procedure. The determination shall specifically 
include notice that an opportunity for an impartial hearing is available 
before the Administrative Adjudication Division pursuant to R.I. Gen. 
Laws Chapter 42-17.7 relative to either or both the finding that sufficient 
evidence exists of non-compliance with the provisions of these 
regulations as well as the imposition of a penalty pursuant to Part 3.3 
(RIGL 20-3-3).  

adjudicatory hearing in order to contest an enforcement action which 
alleges violation(s) of these rules and regulations must file said 
request in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication 
Division, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
enforcement action.   

in writing with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 within thirty (30) 
calendar days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

received by with the clerk of Administrative Adjudication Division, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908 with the time 
period indicated. 

7   Possession Limit Adjustments -- Fish and Wildlife, after 
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based 

 the 

ith 

d 

 
7.11.3

discussions with fishing industry representatives, will determine, 
upon the period of time remaining in the quota period and the current 
catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the end of the 
sub-period.  Having determined the catch rate and time remaining in
sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether the possession limit 
should be decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife will file a notice w
the Secretary of State's Office if the rate is changed and publish a news 
release announcing the change.  The rate may be modified by Fish and 
Wildlife upon providing such notification with the possession limit altere
between a range of 0 - 10,000 pounds in possession.   

  Scup - Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the 

 

.11.4

reporting requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine 
Fisheries Regulations 

 
7   Scup - Recreational   

7.11.4-1 -  No person fishing recreationally shall possess scup less than 

cup, 
s 

.11.4-2

ten and one half inches (10.5") total length, and no person fishing 
recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more than ten (10) s
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise except a
provided in section 7.11.4-3. Compliance with the possession limit aboard 
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on board a 
vessel by the number of fishermen on board said vessel. 
 
7  – The recreational season for scup in Rhode Island waters will be 

.11.4-3

open from May 24 through September 25 annually.  
 
7  – While fishing on a party or charter boat, no person shall 
possess scup less than eleven inches (11”) total length, and no per
fishing while on a party or charter boat shall possess, per calendar day, 
whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise, more 
than ten (10) scup from June 12 through August 31, and more than forty
five (45) scup from September 1 through October 15.  
Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels w

son 

-

ill be determined 

  

by dividing the number of fish on board a vessel by the number of 
fishermen on board said vessel. 
   

7.11.5 Scup - Scup Dealer/Shipping/Transfer/Reporting Regulations  

.11.5-1
 
7  Prohibition on the transfer of Scup -- No Scup, Stenotomus 

ode 

 
A. All persons are prohibited from transferring or attempting to 

chrysops, may be purchased, bartered, or sold within the State of Rh
Island unless in compliance with the following: 
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e 

ntal 

. All scup must be weighed prior to the removal of the scup from 

 
C. The weight scales must be certified in accordance with RIGL, 

 
D. Vessels are only allowed one trip limit in possession per 

e trip 

 in 

 
E.  All dealers are required to record and report all transfers of 

n record on forms 

hode 

l 

nt’s 

 
(2)   The record must include:  date of purchase, time of 

me and 

  
F.  Dealers must comply with the reporting requirements as set forth 

 
7.11.5-2

transfer scup from one vessel to another vessel while at sea.   Th
licensed person in charge of the vessel may only transfer scup to 
a dealer licensed by the State of Rhode Island.  Dealers are 
required to be licensed by the R.I. Department of Environme
Management (in compliance with RIGL 20-2-27 (d), or 20-2-28.1). 
 
B
the dealer’s premises or from the point of transfer. 

Chapter 47-1. 

calendar day.  In addition, no person may land more than on
limit in any calendar day.  No person shall transport into the State 
of Rhode Island any scup which is not landed at a port located 
within the state unless the transaction of the first point of sale is
another state. 

scup in accordance with the following: 
(1)    Dealers shall maintain a writte
provided by the DFW, or dealer forms, of each scup 
transaction at their permanent place of business in R
Island, or with an authorized agent located in Rhode Island 
for inspection 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM during the course of norma
daily business operations.  Records must be available by 
10:00 AM on the next business day following the date of 
landing.  Records must be available at the dealer’s or age
Rhode Island office for a period of three years. 

offloading, location of purchase, the vessel name, the na
license number of the Rhode Island license holder and the 
amount of scup transferred. 

in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries Regulations 

 License Suspension 
 

A.  In addition to the penalty prescribed in RIGL 20-1-16, the license of 

on 
any person who refuses or neglects to make the report required 
herein will be suspended by the Director.  The license of any pers
who knowingly or willfully makes a false report or violates any 
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ot to 

 
B.  The Director has determined that non-compliance with these 

nted 

e 

 
C. No person shall take, sell, or possess within this state any scup 

le 

(RIMFC REGU L 20-6-29)] 

.12

provision of these regulations may be suspended for a period n
exceed one year. 

regulations seriously threatens the proper management of the 
available stock of scup and thus the general welfare as represe
that it is appropriate to suspend the license of alleged violators 
pending formal suspension or revocation hearing arising from th
alleged violation. 

which have not been taken in compliance with the provisions of 
this regulation.  Any scup which the Director shall have reasonab
cause to believe have not been taken in compliance with the 
provisions of RIGL Title 20 and the regulations adopted in 
accordance therewith shall be confiscated and sold by the 
Department of Environmental Management. 
LATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIG

 
7  Size, Possession, and Daily Limit Violations On Board Vessels -- In any 

ard 

l, or 

.13

instance, when there is a violation of the size, possession, or daily limit on bo
a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the 
violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vesse
the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. (RIMFC REGULATION) 
[Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 
7  Atlantic Sturgeon - Moratorium on Harvest -- No harvest or possession of 

L 

.14

Atlantic Sturgeon will be permitted within the territorial waters of the State of 
Rhode Island until further notice. (RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3(RIG
20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 
 
7  Black Sea Bass  

.14.1
 
7   Commercial Harvest  

.14.1-1
 
7    Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing commercially shall 

s 
 

 
7.14.1-2

take, possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any black sea bas
measuring less than eleven (11) inches total length whether caught within
the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 

  Commercial Seasons and Possession Limits --  A state quota for 

ment 

black sea bass will be established annually and shall be the most recent 
amount allocated to the State of Rhode Island by the Atlantic States 
Marine Fisheries Commission and/or the Secretary of the U.S. Depart
of Commerce as published in the Federal Register.  The quota shall be 
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) January 1 – April 30: Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota 
ugh April 

o 

 
) May 1 – July 31:  Twenty-five percent (25%) of the quota established in 

 

 

) August 1 – October 31:  Twenty-five percent (39%) of the quota 
 
all be 

 
) November 1 – December 31:  Twenty-five percent (11%) of the quota 

ll 

 

 
) The possession limit shall not drop below 100 pounds per vessel per 

 
(f) Any unused portion of the quota from a ‘sub-period’ will be equally 

r-
s 

to 
 to 

 
.14.1-3

available during the following seasons: 
 
(a

established in this part shall be available from January 1 thro
30, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall be unlawful 
to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, 
more than 750 pounds of black sea bass during this period.  Refer t
section 7.14.1-3 for current possession limit.  

(b
this part shall be available from May 1 through July 31, unless modified
pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It shall be unlawful to possess aboard 
or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more than 100 pounds 
of black sea bass during this period.  Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the 
current possession limit. 

 
(c

established in this part shall be available from August 1 through
October 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It sh
unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar 
day, more than 100 pounds of black sea bass during this period.  Refer 
to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit. 

(d
established in this part shall be available from November 1 through 
December 31, unless modified pursuant to section 7.14.1-2(e).  It sha
be unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one 
calendar day, more than 250 pounds of black sea bass during this
period.  Refer to section 7.14.1-3 for the current possession limit. 

(e
calendar day in any sub period unless and until the fishery is closed. 

distributed to the allocations of the remaining sub-periods.  The ove
harvest of a sub-period allocation will be deducted from the allocation
of the remaining sub-periods.  Annually, the quota allocations 
specified in section 7.14.1-2(a-d) shall be adjusted by the DFW 
charge over-harvest of a sub-period allocation during a given year
the same sub-period of the following year. 

7  Current Commercial Possession Limit – 
 7.14.1-2 (a-e) for Unless otherwise specified in this section, refer to

current commercial possession limit. 
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.14.1-4
 
7   Possession Limit Adjustments – The possession limits specified 

 

he 
will 

n. 

.14.1- 5

according to section 7.14.1-2 may be modified by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife, who, after discussions with fishing industry representatives, will 
determine, based upon the period of time remaining in the quota period 
and the current catch rate, whether the quota will be reached prior to the
end of the sub-period.  Having determined the catch rate and time 
remaining in the sub-period, Fish and Wildlife will decide whether t
possession limit should be decreased or increased.  Fish and Wildlife 
file a notice with the Secretary of State’s Office if the possession limit is 
changed and publish a news release announcing the change.  Fish and 
Wildlife may modify the possession limit upon providing such notificatio
 
7  Reporting Requirement -- Dealers must comply with the reporting 

 
IMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) (RIGL 20-6-29)] 

7.14.2

requirements as set forth in section 19.14 of the RI Marine Fisheries 
Regulations  

(R
 

 Recreational Harvest  

.14.2-1
 
7  – Legal Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall 

 

on 

.14.2-2

possess a black sea bass less than twelve inches (12") total length, and
no person fishing recreationally shall possess, per calendar day, more 
than twenty-five (25) black sea bass whether caught within the jurisdicti
of this State or otherwise.  Compliance with the possession limit aboard 
vessels will be determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by 
the number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 
 
7  – Recreational Season -- The recreational season for black sea 

 
.15

bass in Rhode Island waters is open from January 1 through December 
31, annually. 

7  Spiny dogfish   

.15.1
 
7   Commercial Season and Possession Limits – The commercial 

 

than 

 the 

season shall extend from May 1 until April 30 of the following year and
shall be divided into two semi annual periods.  It shall be unlawful to 
possess aboard or land from a vessel, in any one calendar day, more 
2,000 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period May 1 through October 31 
and 2,000 pounds of spiny dogfish during the period November 1 through 
April 30.  When notified that the quota in any given period has been 
harvested, as determined by the National Marine Fisheries Service or
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife shall file a notice with the Office of the Secretary of State 
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iny 

 

 
7.15.2

prohibiting the commercial landings, harvest and possession of sp
dogfish in state waters for the remainder of the designated period and 
publish a news release announcing the closure in a newspaper of daily
circulation throughout the State. 

  Current Commercial Possession Limit – Effective May 1, 2004 at 
h 

.15.3

12:01 AM the commercial landings and possession limits of spiny dogfis
will follow the regulations as set out in section 7.15.  
 
7   Prohibition of Finning – Finning is defined as the act of taking a 

ny 

 be 

RIMF R

.16

spiny dogfish, removing the fins, and returning the remainder of the spi
dogfish to the sea.  Finning spiny dogfish shall be prohibited in all state 
waters.  Vessels that land spiny dogfish must land fins in proportion to 
carcasses, with a maximum 5% fin to carcass ratio, by weight.  Fins may
removed at sea, but the corresponding carcass must be retained.  All fins 
and carcasses must be landed at the same time and in the same location. 
EGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 

 
7  American Eel – No person shall take, attempt to take, possess, sell, or offer 

 

.17

for sale any American Eel measuring less than six inches (6”).  No person shall 
possess more than fifty (50) American eel per day unless commercially licensed
pursuant to RIGL 20-2-26, 20-2-27, 20-2-28, 20-2-28.1.   RIMFC REGULATIONS 
[Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 
 
7  American Shad – The commercial harvesting, landing, or possession of 

 30-

.18 Weakfish 

American Shad (Alosa sapidissima) within the State of Rhode Island and its 
territorial waters is prohibited.  RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL
3-3) 
 
7  

7.18.1
 

 – Commercial    

7.18.1-1
 

 Minimum size --  No person fishing commercially shall take, 
 

 
.18.1-2

possess, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any weakfish
measuring less than sixteen inches (16”) total length whether 
caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 

7  Season and  Possession Limits – During the period June 1 
r 8, 

ess 
ish 

akfish 

through June 30 and the period August 7 through Novembe
the commercial possession limit for weakfish shall be 
unlimited.  At all other times it shall be unlawful to poss
aboard or land from a vessel more than 150 pounds of weakf
in any one calendar day and it shall also be unlawful to 
possess aboard or land from a vessel any amount of we
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7.18.2

where there is not at least an equal poundage of other species 
on board the vessel. 

  Recreational 
 

7.18.2-1 Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall possess 

 
7.18.2-2

a weakfish less than sixteen inches (16”) total length.  

 Season and Possession Limits – The recreational season for 

all 

 be 

 
IMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 30-3-3) 

.19 Atlantic Herring (Clupea harengus) 

weakfish in Rhode Island waters is open January 1 through 
December 31, annually.   No person fishing recreationally sh
possess, per calendar day, more than six (6) fish whether 
caught within the jurisdiction of this state or otherwise.  
Compliance with the possession limit aboard vessels will
determined by dividing the number of fish on a vessel by the 
number of recreational fishermen onboard said vessel. 

R
 
7  

.19.1
 
7   Commercial 

7.19.1-1
 

 Season and Possession Limits – The season for Atlantic herring 

nal 

 
.20 River Herring

begins annually on January 1. The possession limit is unlimited 
unless otherwise indicated in this section. When the Atlantic 
Herring quota has been harvested as determined by the Natio
Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS), the season will close. 

7  – No person shall land, catch, take, or attempt to catch or take 

g 

.21 Monkfish 

any alewives, Alosa pseudoharengus or blueback herring Alosa aestivalis, from 
any marine waters of the State of Rhode Island. Possession of any alewives or 
blueback herring at any time is prohibited and shall be evidence that said herrin
was taken in violation of this section. RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 
(RIGL 30-3-3) 
 
7  

7.21.1 – Commercial
 

    

7.21.1-1 Minimum size --  No person fishing commercially shall land or 
l 

 

possess any monkfish measuring less than seventeen inches (17”) tota
length or eleven inches (11”) tail length whether that fish was caught 
within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 
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.21.1-2  Possession Limits –  
tted RI licensed vessel, the possession 

) Repealed 

) The possession limit may be modified on the basis of a RI state water 

r 
n 

.21.1-3  Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the harvest of 

h 

f 
n the 

and 

 
7.21.2 - Recreational

7
(a) For any non-federally permi
limit will be 550 pounds tail weight or 1,826 pounds whole weight of 
monkfish per vessel per calendar day.  
 
(b
 
(c
monkfish quota as set by DEM, which shall be equal to 1% of the federal 
southern New England monkfish quota. When 90% of the state water 
quota has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife, the possession limit will decrease to 50 pounds tail weight o
166 pounds whole weight of monkfish per vessel per calendar day. Whe
the state water quota has been harvested as determined by the Division, 
the Director shall close the state water monkfish fishery. 
 
7
monkfish may harvest monkfish in state waters if and only if they are 
operating during a previously and properly declared day-at-sea; in suc
instances, such vessels may harvest monkfish in the amount authorized 
to be possessed pursuant to federal regulations, and thus not be bound 
by the possession limits set forth in section 7.21.1-2.  Vessels in 
possession of a federal permit allowing the commercial harvest o
monkfish may also transit state waters in possession of monkfish i
amount authorized to be possessed pursuant to applicable federal 
regulations and land the same if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Isl
State Law, so long as all of the fish harvesting gear on board the vessel 
is stowed while in state waters. 

 
 

7.21.2-1  Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally, shall land or 

 
7.21.2-2  Possession Limits – No person who is  fishing recreationally in 

 
IMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 

.22 Cod

possess any monkfish measuring less than seventeen inches (17”) total 
length or eleven inches (11”) tail length whether that fish was caught 
within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.  

RI waters, may possess more than 50 pounds tail weight or 166 pounds 
whole weight of monkfish per vessel per calendar day.  

R
 
7   

7.22.1 – Commercial
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7.22.1-1  Minimum size --  No person fishing commercially shall land or 

.22.1-2  Possession Limits –  
tted RI licensed vessel, the possession 

) The possession limit may be modified on the basis of a RI state water 

r cod 

.22.1-3  Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the harvest of 

es, 

ession of 

 same 

 
7.22.2 - Recreational

 

possess any cod measuring less than twenty-two inches (22”) total 
length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise. 
 
7
(a) For any non-federally permi
limit will be 1,000 pounds of cod per vessel per calendar day. 
 
(b
cod quota as set by DEM, which shall be equal to 1% of the federal New 
England (Georges Bank) cod quota. When 90% of the state water quota 
has been harvested as determined by the Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
the possession limit will decrease to 75 pounds of cod per vessel per 
calendar day. When the state water quota has been harvested as 
determined by the Division, the Director shall close the state wate
fishery. 
 
 
7
cod may harvest cod in state waters if and only if they are operating 
during a previously and properly declared day-at-sea; in such instanc
such vessels may harvest cod in the amount authorized to be possessed 
pursuant to federal regulations, and thus not be bound by the 
possession limits set forth in section 7.22.1-2.  Vessels in poss
a federal permit allowing the commercial harvest of cod may also transit 
state waters in possession of cod in the amount authorized to be 
possessed pursuant to applicable federal regulations and land the
if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Island State Law, so long as all of the 
fish harvesting gear on board the vessel is stowed while in state waters. 
 

 
 

7.22.2-1  Minimum Size -- No person fishing recreationally shall land or 

 
7.22.2-2  Possession Limits – No person who is  fishing recreationally in 

 
7.22.2-3  Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the 

n of  cod 

possess any cod measuring less than twenty-two inches (22”) total 
length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or otherwise.  

 
RI waters, may possess more than ten (10) cod per person per calendar 
day. 

 
recreational harvest of cod may transit state waters in possessio
in the amount authorized to be possessed pursuant to applicable federal 
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IMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 

.23 Sea Scallops 

regulations and land the same if so permitted pursuant to Rhode Island 
State Law, so long as all of the fish harvesting gear on board the vessel 
is stowed while in state waters. 

R
 
7  

7.23.1 – Commercial
 

    

7.23.1-1  Minimum size --  No person fishing commercially shall land or 
 

.23.1-2  Possession Limits – For any non-federally permitted RI licensed 

 
7.23.1-3  Vessels in possession of a federal permit allowing the 

sessed 

 fish 

 
7.23.1-4 Equipment – The maximum dredge size allowed for a vessel in 

l 

 
7.23.2 - Recreational

 

possess any sea scallops measuring less than three and one half inches
(3.5”) shell length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this State or 
otherwise. Shell length is a straight line measurement from the hinge to 
the part of the shell that is furthest away from the hinge. 
 
7
vessel, the possession limit will be four hundred (400) pounds of 
shucked or fifty (50) bushels of in-shell scallops.  

 
commercial harvest of sea scallops may transit state waters in 
possession of  sea scallops in the amount authorized to be pos
pursuant to applicable federal regulations and land the same if so 
permitted pursuant to Rhode Island State Law, so long as all of the
harvesting gear on board the vessel is stowed while in state waters. 

 
possession of sea scallops will be ten and one half feet (10.5’). The ring 
size used in a scallop dredge possessed or used by scallop vessels shal
not be smaller than 4 inches (4”). The mesh size of a net, net material or 
any other material on the top of a scallop dredge (twine top) possessed 
or used by vessels fishing with scallop dredge gear shall not be smaller 
than 10 inch (10”) square or diamond mesh. 

 
 

7.23.2-1  Minimum Size -- No person who is fishing recreationally, shall 
lf 

 

 
7.23.2-2  Possession Limits – No person who is  fishing recreationally in 

land or possess any sea scallops measuring less than three and one ha
inches (3.5”) shell length whether caught within the jurisdiction of this 
State or otherwise. Shell length is a straight line measurement from the
hinge to the part of the shell that is furthest away from the hinge.  

RI waters, will possess more than forty (40) pounds of shucked or five (5) 
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7.23.2-3 Equipment – The maximum dredge size allowed for a vessel in 

 
IMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3) 

.24 Coastal Sharks  
al  

e unlawful to harvest or possess any basking shark, 
 

7.24.2 - Recreational  
nlawful to harvest or possess any basking shark, 

 

RIMF REGULATIONS [Penalty – Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3)  

 

bushels of in-shell scallops.  

possession of sea scallops will be ten and one half feet (10.5’). 

R
 
7

7.24.1 –Commerci
7.24.1-1 It shall b
dusky shark, sand tiger shark, or white shark taken from Rhode Island
state waters.  
 

7.24.2-1 It shall be u
dusky shark, sand tiger shark, or white shark taken from Rhode Island
state waters.  
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Rule 8.  EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
 

The foregoing rules and regulations Rhode Island Marine Statutes and Regulations, 
after due notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State this 28th                    
day of May 2009 to become effective 20 days from filing, unless otherwise indicated 
below, in accordance with the provisions of Chapters 42-17.1, 42-17.6, 20-1-2, 20-1-
4, 20-3-2 through 20-3-6, 20-4 through 20-10,  and 42-35 the General Laws of 
Rhode Island of 1956, as amended. 

 
 
 
 
 

  _________________________________________                                                                        
 Michael Sullivan, PhD 
 Director, Department of Environmental Management  

  
 
 
 
   
 Notice Given:    03/20/2009 
 Public Hearing: 04/22/2009 
 
 Filing date: 05/28/2009 

Effective date:    06/17/2009 
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