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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

FISH AND WILDLIFE 
 
 

R.I. Hunting Regulations 
for the 2008-2009 Season 

 
 
 
RULE 1 PURPOSE 

The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to establish hunting 
seasons; to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the 
manner of hunting in order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources 
of Rhode Island. 

 
RULE 2 AUTHORITY  

These Rules and Regulations are promulgated pursuant to Chapter 42-
17.1, Department of Environmental Management, and Sections 20-1-2; 
20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12; 20-1-13; 20-18-1, and in accordance with 
Chapter 42-35, Administrative Procedures Act of the Rhode Island 
General Laws of 1956, as amended. 

 
RULE 3 APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these Rules and Regulations shall be 
liberally construed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes 
of state law, goals, and policies. 

 
RULE 4 SEVERABILITY 
  If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof 

to any person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations 
shall not be affected thereby. 

 
RULE 5 SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS  

On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous 
Rules and Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration 
and enforcement of Hunting Regulations shall be superseded.  
However, any enforcement action taken by, or application submitted to, 
the Department prior to the effective date of these Rules and 
Regulations shall be governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at 
the time the enforcement action was taken, or application filed. 
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RULE 6 DEFINITIONS 
 

For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have 
the following meanings: 

 
Antlerless deer - deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3) 
inches in length. 

 
Bearded turkey - a turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff 
filament-like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center of 
the chest. 

 
Box trap - any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by 
confinement in box or cage. 

 
Conibear-type trap - "conibear" model traps and similar body-gripping 
traps and devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box, 
tube, or other enclosing device. 

 
Crossbow - a bow and string (either compound or re-curve) that launches 
an arrow, mounted upon a stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string 
and limbs under tension until released.  The trigger unit must have a 
working safety.  The minimum crossbow, arrow, and blade restrictions are 
further described in Part 4 of these regulations. 

 
Daylight fluorescent orange - the color orange having a dominant wave 
length between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less 
than 85 percent, and a lumination factor not less than 40 percent. 

 
Driving deer/cooperative drive - to pursue, drive, chase, or otherwise 
frighten or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons 
known to be waiting for a deer. 

 
Feeding/baiting - the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing, 
distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the 
availability of such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material. 
 
Foothold – the nomenclature for a foothold trap is equivalent to that of 
leg-hold trap, as described in RIGL 20-16-8, including those foothold traps 
with padded jaws. 
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Jack-lighting - the use (by an individual or in conjunction with others) of 
an artificial light at any time to illuminate, jack light, locate, attempt to 
locate, or show up wild birds or mammals or any other vertebrates when 
that person or persons have in their actual possession, in the passenger 
compartment of their vehicle, or in the storage area of a trunk or van, 
unless locked in a case, a crossbow, long bow (straight limb, reflex, re-
curve, and compound bow) rifle, gun, or pistol, except in accordance with 
these rules and regulations. 
 
Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island - all of Aquidneck 
Island with the exception of the city of Newport. 

 
Junior Hunter – A person 12-14 years of age who has completed a basic 
hunter safety course and shall hunt only in the immediate company of a 
qualified licensed adult, 21 years of age or older. 

 
Mainland - Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties; the towns of Tiverton 
and Little Compton; and all of Washington County with the exception of 
New Shoreham (Block Island). 
 
Paraplegic - an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the 
body with involvement of both legs. 

 
Proficiency testing - the measurable demonstration of skills with bows 
and arrows or use of firearms using a set of standards as determined by 
the hunter education program. 

 
Small game season - that period of time beginning the third Saturday in 
October and ending the last day in February annually (not withstanding 
the regulated shotgun season for deer). 
 
Species specific traps - characterized by all of the following: triggering 
and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within housing; triggering and 
restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening 
when set; the access opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter; the 
triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a 
swivel mounted anchoring system. 
 
Translocation-means the transport and release of live wild animals from 
one location to another. 
 
Written permission–means annual written permission of the owner of the 
land for any current deer season. 
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RULE 7 - REGULATIONS 
PART I 

 
GENERAL DEER HUNTING REGULATIONS 

 
1.1    A permit must be purchased for each individual deer taken in accordance   

with the bag limits for each season type. 
 
1.2 Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half  

hour after sunset.  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by 
the hunter killing same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the 
deer permit for the specific season (i.e., shotgun, archery, muzzleloader 
and/or paraplegic/double amputee hunter).  This tag must be separated 
from the permit with the appropriate month, day, or other information 
completed as required, and signed by the hunter.  The tag must remain 
attached to the deer until the animal is processed for consumption or 
prepared for taxidermy.  It will be considered prima-facie evidence of 
hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the deer permit/tag is 
altered in any manner. All deer must be checked by the hunter killing 
same, within 24 hours of taking at a Department biological check station, if 
in operation, otherwise to environmental police officers or vendor check 
stations or telecheck/online checking system (also see 3.5).  Only 
specified vendors will be permitted to check deer and sell additional 
permits.  The list of approved vendors will be available prior to the season.  
Instructions for telecheck/online checking system will be available prior to 
season. 

 
1.2.1  In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of  

                  operation are subject to change. 
 
1.3 Prohibited Activities:
 
         1.3.1  Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or     

while deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited. 
 
        1.3.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of     

nails, spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is 
prohibited on state property or on private property without the 
permission of the landowner.  All portable tree stands must be 
removed on state lands by the end of deer season. 
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 1.3.3  The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times. 
 
 1.3.4  The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited. 
 
 1.3.5  Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited. 
 
 1.3.6  Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual        
                    hunter, while hunting deer. 

 
1.4  Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land   

(20- 15- 1 d).  Such written permission must be carried at all times while 
deer hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie 
evidence of not having written permission to hunt such land.  Written 
permission must be shown to any authorized person upon demand, and 
must be presented when checking the deer. 

     
1.5    The use of natural or artificial scents and mouth or hand powered deer calls     
         to attract deer is permitted. 
 

1.6   Pop-up blinds are permitted; however, muzzleloader hunters must display 
       a minimum of 200 sq. inches of fluorescent orange visible from all directions 
       during the muzzleloading deer seasons.  During shotgun deer season, 500 
       square inches of fluorescent orange is required. 

 
1.7   The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population      
         and disease management.     
 
1.8   Resident “All Outdoors Package” Permit:   

Deer hunters may purchase one (1) resident All -Outdoors Package Permit 
for the mainland deer seasons to take a maximum of 11 deer during the 
established seasons below: 
 

    1.8.1 Three (3) mainland Either Sex Permits.  Must be used as follows: 
 

    One (1) Mainland Archery Either Sex Permit  
                   

               One (1) Mainland Muzzleloader Either Sex Permit     
                                                  
               One (1) Mainland Shotgun Either Sex Permit  
 

    1.8.2  Six (6) Mainland Antlerless Permits.  
May be used in any combination during the appropriate season type.   
Hunters must fill in the appropriate mainland code for the established    
season on front of permit and on tag immediately after kill to be valid. 
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1.8.3  Two (2) “All Outdoors Package” Either Sex or Antlerless deer.    
May be used in any combination during the appropriate season type.  
Hunters must fill the appropriate code on front of permit and on tag 
immediately after kill to be valid. 

 
 
This package permit will only be available at DEM, RI Division of Licensing, 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908.  This may be purchased by 
mail with a SASE or in person.  
 
A limit of 250 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve basis.  
Permits may be purchased in person or through the mail.  Due to high 
volume, permits sold over the counter may be returned by mail. 
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PART II 
DEER – MUZZLELOADING DEER SEASON 

 
2.1 MAINLAND MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 

Muzzleloader deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; 
one (1) either sex and two (2) antlerless as described below:  

      
 Permit Required  
  
A. EITHER SEX PERMIT – STATE AND PRIVATE LAND 

 Either sex muzzleloader deer permit is usable for the taking of one deer of                
either sex in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties; Washington County 
(except New Shoreham, a.k.a Block Island); and the towns of Little 
Compton and Tiverton. This permit may be purchased at any time. 
November 8 – November 30, 2008 on state and private land.  

  
B. EXTENDED ANTLERLESS PERMIT – STATE AND PRIVATE LAND  

The two antlerless muzzleloader deer permits are usable for the taking of 
two (2) deer in Providence, Kent, and Bristol Counties; Washington County 
(except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island); and the Towns of Little 
Compton and Tiverton. These two permits may be purchased at any time.  
November 8 – November 30, 2008 on state and private land.  December 
22-25, 2008 on private land only.  Some cities and towns have more 
restrictive ordinances; check local ordinances prior to hunting.  All other 
deer hunting regulations apply (see Part I). 

 
2.2  JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND  
 MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island muzzleloader deer hunters 
may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2) 
antlerless as described below: 
 

 Permit Required 
a) Either sex-  

     November 8 – November 30, 2008 
        b) Antlerless-  

 November 8 – November 30, 2008 and 
 December 22-25, 2008 

 
 2.3 A current muzzleloader deer permit is required for the muzzleloading 

season.  As denoted in 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously tagged by the 
hunter killing same immediately after killing or taking as provided, and  

 taken by that same hunter to a state-operated checking station within 24 
hours during the first 3 days of the season, November 8 -10, 2008.   See 

         1.2 for checking during the remainder of the season. 

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2008-2009 SEASON 
PAGE 9 OF 47 



 
2.4 During the muzzle loading deer season, all hunters must wear a minimum 

of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange material, 
contained in an outer garment worn above the waist, and visible from all 
directions. A fluorescent hat would meet the requirement. EXCEPTIONS: 
those hunting raccoon at night or crows over decoys, archers in tree 
stands, or waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or 
field, when done in conjunction with decoys. 

 
2.5 Firearms for muzzle loading deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger 

using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using 
percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers.  Only single barrel or double 
barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are allowed.  All 
conversion kits, which use a replacement barrel to convert a typical modern 
shotgun into a muzzleloading rifle, are prohibited. (Also see section 14.10) 

 
2.6 Ammunition for muzzle loading deer season is limited to a single lead 

projectile, including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles.  Sabot rounds 
for muzzleloader firearms either lead or jacketed are limited to .43 caliber 
or larger.  Powder is limited to manufacturers’ specifications.  Telescopic 
sights are permitted.  Possession of modern shotgun shotshells while 
hunting is prohibited.  A muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the 
percussion cap or pan powder is removed. 
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PART III 

DEER - SHOTGUN DEER SEASON 
  
3.1 MAINLAND SHOTGUN SEASON AND BAG LIMITS:   

Shotgun deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) 
either sex and two (2) antlerless as described below: 
 

 Permit Required 
 

A. EITHER SEX SHOTGUN PERMIT – One (1) either sex deer may be 
taken in Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of Washington 
County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of 
Tiverton and Little Compton. 

 
December 6 – 14, 2008 on both private and state management areas. 
December 15 – 21, 2008 on private land only. 
This permit may be purchased at any time. 

 
B. EXTENDED ANTLERLESS SHOTGUN PERMITS – Two (2) antlerless 

deer may be taken in Providence, Kent, and Bristol counties, all of 
Washington County (except New Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and 
the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton. 

        
          December 6 – 14, 2008 on both private and state management areas 

 
 December 15 – 21, 2008 on private land only. 

 
  December 27 - 28, 2008 and January 3 - 4, 2009, on      
           private land only. 
 

 These permits may be purchased at any time. 
 

 Some cities and towns have more restrictive ordinances; check local   
ordinances prior to hunting.  All other deer regulations shall apply  

 (see Part I). 
 
3.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND SHOTGUN 

SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/ Aquidneck Island Shotgun deer hunters 
may purchase permits to take three (3) deer; one (1) either sex, and two (2) 
antlerless as described below: 
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                 Permit Required  
 (a)  Either sex     
                 December 6 – 21, 2008 

  (b)  Antlerless     
     December 6 – 21, 2008 

  December 27 and 28, 2008 
  January 3 and 4, 2009 
 
3.3     No person shall take deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than five 
shells, unless it is plugged with a one-piece filler which is 
 incapable of removal without disassembling the gun. 
 
3.4 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or 

sabot round.  Buckshot is limited to double 00 or larger. Buckshot in 20-
gauge is prohibited.  Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed. 

 
3.5 A current shotgun deer permit is required for the shotgun season. 
 As denoted in 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter 

killing same immediately after killing or taking as provided, and taken by 
that same hunter to a state-operated checking station for checking within 
24 hours during the first 3 days of the shotgun season, December 6-8, 
2008.   See 1.2 for checking during the remainder of the season. 

 
3.6 Deer killed or taken on the last day may be checked through a vendor 

check station no later than 6:00 PM on that date, or by an Environmental 
Police Officer within 24 hours of taking. 

 
   3.7    During the shotgun season for deer, all hunters, except waterfowl hunters 

hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or field, when done in conjunction 
with decoys, must wear a minimum of 500 square inches of solid daylight 
fluorescent orange material, contained in an outer garment and worn above 
the waist, a portion of which must include a head covering visible from all 
directions. 

 
3.8    All other hunting, except otherwise provided, under 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 9.2, 9.3,  

and 11.9 is prohibited during the period of December 6-21, 2008, 
December 27 and 28, 2008 and January 3 and 4, 2009 

 
3.9  On an experimental basis, muzzleloading firearms will be permitted during 

the shotgun season provided hunters have purchased a current shotgun 
deer permit as in 3.5 and conform to muzzleloader restrictions in 2.5 and 
2.6.  Hunters taking a deer must invalidate the shotgun tag immediately 
after taking.  All shotgun deer season fluorescent orange requirements will 
be enforced. 
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PART IV  

DEER - ARCHERY DEER SEASON 
 
4.1 MAINLAND ARCHERY SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 

 
 October 1, 2008 – January 31, 2009 inclusive.  

 
Archery deer hunters may purchase permits to take three (3) deer: one (1) 
either sex and two (2) antlerless on state or private land and may qualify for 
purchasing a bonus buck permit as described below: 
 
Permit Required 
A.   Either Sex Archery Permit – state or private land in Providence, Kent, 

and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New 
Shoreham, a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little 
Compton. This permit may be purchased at any time. 

 
B. Antlerless Archery Permit – state or private land in Providence, Kent, 

and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County (except New Shoreham, 
a.k.a. Block Island), and the towns of Tiverton and Little Compton.  This 
permit may be purchased at any time. 

 
C. Experimental Bonus Earn-a-Buck Permit - state or private land in 

Providence, Kent and Bristol Counties; all of Washington County 
(except New Shoreham a.k.a. Block Island) and the towns of Tiverton 
and Little Compton.  This permit for one (1) bonus either sex archery 
deer permit may be issued after the hunter has taken and checked, as 
provided in 4.6, two (2) deer with no visible antlers from the: a) either 
sex archery permit, or b) antlerless archery permits, as described 
above.  Hunters must take completed and detached archery tags and 
affidavits to the DEM’s Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence. 

 
4.1.1 In total, all mainland archery deer hunters, including those with adaptive 

aid/crossbow permits (as delineated in 4.4.1), may purchase permits to 
take a total of four (4) deer. 

 
 
4.2 JAMESTOWN (CONANICUT ISLAND)/AQUIDNECK ISLAND ARCHERY 

SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2008-2009 SEASON 
PAGE 13 OF 47 



Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery hunters may 
purchase permits to take three (3) deer: one (1) either sex and two (2) 
antlerless, except as provided under 4.3. 
 
Permit required: 
(a) Either sex permit 

October 1, 2008-January 31, 2009 
(b) Antlerless permit 

October 1, 2008-January 31, 2009 
 

4.2.1 In total, Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island archery 
deer hunters including those with adaptive aid/crossbow permits may 
purchase permits to take a total of three (3) deer. 

 
4.3 Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend:  

September 20-21, 2008 for those junior hunters in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island Junior Hunting License. Junior hunters must be accompanied 
by at least one parent or legal guardian who is at least 21 years of age or 
older and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult may 
accompany no more than two junior hunters at one time. Adults are 
prohibited from carrying bows.  Junior hunters may use either sex or 
antlerless archery permits as provided for in 4.1. 

 
4.4 No bow used in hunting deer shall be equipped with any mechanical device 

for drawing or releasing the arrow unless in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4 
and section 4.4.1 and 4.4.2 of these regulations for those persons meeting 
the disability requirement and those 65 years of age or older.  A bow string 
release device whereby the bow is hand held, hand drawn, and finger 
released is permitted. Hunters with a valid adaptive aid/crossbow permit as 
defined in section 4.4.1 and 4.4.2 may utilize adaptive aids. 
 

4.4.1  Special archery adaptive aid/or crossbow deer permits may only be 
 obtained through DEM-Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, 

Providence, RI  02908 (401) 222-3576.  An official application for 
permit issuance signed by a physician for a first time applicant 

  is required, accompanied by an official document on the physician's 
printed letterhead, stating the certification of disability in accordance                      
with RIGL 20-15-4. A copy of the permit will be sufficient in 
subsequent years for reapplication.  The permit card and associated 
record log must be carried at all times while deer hunting with a 

                      crossbow or adaptive aids and must be shown to any authorized 
person upon demand.  Crossbow or Adaptive Aid evaluation card 
must be returned by the last day in February to Fish & Wildlife Field 
Headquarters, regardless of success, in order to be eligible in the 
future.  
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         4.4.2 Hunters, 65 or older are, permitted to use adaptive aids without 
                  a special permit. No crossbows permitted. 
 
4.5 Archers must use a long bow, re-curve or compound bow capable of not 

less than forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight for archers using fixed 
blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a 
mechanical broadhead. Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) 
metal cutting edges are allowed.  All broadheads must be 7/8 of an inch or 
greater at the widest point. Mechanical heads are measured in the “open” 
position and must be a minimum of 7/8 of an inch. 

 
 4. 5.1 Only those crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are 

permitted: minimum draw of 150 pounds, minimum width of 24 
inches. Expandable broadheads meeting the specifications in 4.5 are 
permitted. However, as some crossbow manufacturers specifically 
recommend against mechanicals, nothing in this section should be 
construed as permitting such use.  One (1) field point arrow may be 
carried in the quiver for the safe discharge of the crossbow; the field 
point arrow must be made distinguishable from the crossbow arrow 
by a color difference.  

 
4.6 A current archery deer permit is required for the archery season. All deer 

must be immediately tagged by the hunter after killing or taking as provided 
in 1.2 and taken by that same hunter to an Environmental Police Officer, or 
other Department designee for checking within 24 hours as provided in 1.2.  

 
4.7 All archers including crossbow deer hunters, when traveling to and from a 

tree stand during the deer muzzle-loading season must wear above the 
waist a minimum of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange 
visible from all directions.  A fluorescent hat meets this requirement. 
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PART V 

SPECIAL DEER SEASONS 
 
 
Prudence and Patience Islands 
 
5.1 Prudence and Patience Island archery season dates are: 
 October 24, 2008- January 4, 2009  
 
 5.1.1  Junior Archery – Prudence and Patience Islands archery season 

dates are October 18 – 19, 2008. 
 

Permit Required: 
A. Either sex – This permit may be purchased at any time. 
B. Antlerless – This permit may be purchased at any time. 

 
         The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands is   

by archery, including crossbows as specifically permitted in sections  
4.4.1, 4.4.2 and 4.5.1. All other archery regulations apply.  Exemption:   
hunters complying with section 5.17 and 5.18 for paraplegic and double 
amputees may use shotguns as permitted in 5.23. 

 
5.2 The limit on Prudence and Patience Islands is one (1) deer of either sex 
          on state land or private land and one (1) antlerless deer on private land for  
          an island total of two (2) deer. 
 
5.3 A Prudence/Patience Island Archery Deer Permit (deer tag) is required to 

hunt on Prudence and Patience Islands. 
 
5.4 While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except 

for those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer 
season or as specified in 4.4 and 4.4.1. 

 
5.5    Reservations will be required on state government–owned lands on the 

south and north ends and the Barre Unit of Prudence Island and Patience 
Island for the first two (2) weekends and two (2) weekday periods; Friday 
through Sunday (10/19-10/21) Monday through Friday (10/22-10/26) and 
Monday through Friday (10/27-11/1).  A lottery system will assign hunters 
in these areas.  Archery deer hunters on state lands are required to obtain 
a permit to hunt Prudence and Patience Islands.  This permit must be 
carried in addition to your individual deer permits.  Permits must be 
returned by February 15, 2009 in order to be eligible for the next season’s 
permit.   
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 Permits may be obtained by sending a 9 ½ x 4 (LEGAL SIZE) self-
addressed stamped envelope to: Prudence/Patience Islands, RI Division of 
Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  One 
request per envelope. 

 
5.5.1  Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property December  
         1-15, 2008. Archers will be limited to the taking of antlerless deer only. 
         Archers may utilize either sex or antlerless permits provided that they take  
         antlerless deer only. 
  

5.5.2  Reservations are required to hunt the Heritage Property.    
 Reservations will be valid for three (3) consecutive days:  
          December 1-3, 4-6, 7-9, 10-12, and 13-15, 2008.   
  

             5.5.3   A lottery system will assign hunters on the Heritage Property during the 
reservation period (see 5.6).  A total of 18 hunters may be assigned per 
reservation period on the Heritage Property.  Hunters will be provided with 
a map, safety zone and parking restrictions.  Compliance with these and 
all other hunting regulations are required for future hunting privileges on 
this parcel. 

   
Lottery applications may be obtained at DEM Division of Licensing, 
designated deer check stations, vendors, or by mailing a request with a 
self-addressed stamped envelope (LEGAL SIZE) to: DEER 
LOTTERY, Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, RI 02892, or you may acquire an application online at 
www.dem.ri.gov.  Application dates will be July 15 through August 31, 
2008. Two individuals may apply on one application; however, an 
individual may only apply once in the lottery system.  Duplicate, illegible, 
incorrect or incomplete forms will be rejected.  The lottery 

         reservation is non-transferable and non-negotiable.  In order to be eligible for 
preferential status for next hunting season’s lottery, all hunters, regardless of 
hunting activity or success must return their Hunter Survey Card by Jan. 31, 
2009. 

 
5.6 A quota of 50 deer may be taken on state land to include 25 
           from the south end, or as provided in section 5.9. Hunting on state 

portions of Prudence and Patience Islands will end January 4, 2009 or 
when quota is reached. 

 
5.7      All deer taken on Prudence Island must be immediately tagged by the    

hunter and checked by that same hunter through the check station   
designated by the Department of Environmental Management, and a leg 
seal must be attached to the deer prior to leaving Prudence Island.  The 
leg  seal must remain attached to the deer until processed for 
consumption. 
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5.8   All deer taken on Patience Island must be immediately tagged by the    
        hunter and checked by that same hunter through the deer check station on 

Prudence Island or on the mainland by contacting an Environmental Police 
Officer or other department designee within 24 hours after killing or taking.         

 
5.9    The Division of Fish and Wildlife retains the right to alter the number of 

hunters, number of days hunted, and total deer harvested within the above 
season, if conditions warrant. 

 
5.10  Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on 

Patience and Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The 
proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of issue and must be 
carried while hunting. 

 
5.11   For private lands, written permission of the landowner must be obtained, 

and as required by local ordinance, must be countersigned by the Chief of 
Police or his/her representative on the Island. 

 
5.12  On Prudence Island, during the period October 1, 2008 through January 4, 

2009 inclusive, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 
headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, 
whether public or private, or on any field, woodland, residential property, or 
forest, or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, 
locating, or attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is 
prohibited. 

 
5.13  On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife, 

except archery hunting for deer, as provided.  The possession of any 
firearm at any time on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as 
prescribed during the established archery season for deer, is prima-facie 
evidence of illegal hunting (except as provided in section 5.23). 

 
5.14  Waterfowl hunting on Prudence Island: The possession of firearms is 

permitted while en route to or during waterfowl hunting. Waterfowl hunters 
must possess a minimum of six (6) decoys.  No ball ammunition may be 
possessed.  Possession of a loaded firearm more than (10) ten feet above 
mean high water is prohibited, except as provided in sections 9.2, 9.3.3, 
9.5, & 11.2.   

 
5.15  Junior Archery Season – Prudence Island: 

Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Archery Hunting Weekend; 
October 18-19, 2008 for those junior hunters in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island Junior Hunting License.  Junior hunters must be 
accompanied by at least one parent or legal guardian who is at least 21 
years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery 
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license.  An adult may accompany no more than two junior hunters at one 
time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows.  Junior hunters may use 
either sex or antlerless archery permit as provided for in 5.2. 

 
 
Paraplegic and double amputee hunters on Prudence Island, Portsmouth; 
and Fort Greene Army Reserve, Narragansett 
 
5.16   The season for the South End Management Area hunt on Prudence               
           Island will be: October 14-17, 2008 inclusive; and 
  
  The season for Fort Greene will be: 
  October 21-24, 2008 inclusive during legal shooting hours.             
           Availability of Ft. Greene facility may be subject to change. 
 
5.17   The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee         

hunters only. The season bag limit on Prudence is one either-sex.  The 
season bag limit at Fort Greene is one (1) either sex deer. 

 
5.18  A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM Licensing 

 Division, 235 Promenade St. Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576 by 
 each applicant prior to the hunt.  None will be issued on the Island.  An 
 application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of 
 a previous paraplegic/double amputee hunting license is required.  
 Hunters for Fort Greene must also complete a registration card and mail it 
 to R.I. Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, W. Kingston, RI 02892,                  

          ATTN: Fort Greene and postmarked by September 30, 2008 
 
5.19 None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded   

firearms at any time.  No license is required of the assistants. 
 
5.20 Hunters may participate in either hunt.  Only five (5) hunters will be 

permitted on Fort Greene.  If needed, a lottery will be conducted to choose 
the five eligible hunters.   Hunters will be notified after the selection.  All 
hunters and assistants must register upon entering or leaving either 
location with the officer-in-charge. 

 
5.21 All deer taken must be checked by an Environmental Police Officer or 

Department designee prior to leaving Prudence Island, or for Fort Greene 
by a Department designee, or at a state certified vendor check station. 
(Additionally see 1.10) 

 
5.22 All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported as soon as possible 

to the officer-in-charge. 
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5.23 Ammunition is limited to slugs –10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only. Buckshot is 
allowed by special permit only, 00 or larger.  Hunters may use muzzle-
loading firearms on Prudence Island as defined under Muzzle Loading 
Deer Season, as defined in section 2.5 and 2.6. 

 
5.24 Once a deer is taken, the successful hunter may no longer carry a firearm 

in the field, but may assist other fellow hunter(s). 
 
5.25 Additional restrictions may be required on Fort Greene. 
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PART VI  

Block Island Deer Season 
 
6.1  Deer hunting season dates for the Town of New Shoreham (Block Island) 

is as follows: 
   
  Archery Only:      

                     October     14,15,16,17,20,21,22,23,24,27,28,29,30,31, 2008  
  November 3,5,6,7,10,12,13,14,17,18,20,21, 2008  
        
  Shotgun: 
    November   24, 25, 2008 
   December    1,2,4,5,8,9,10,11,12,15,16,18,19,22,23, 2008 
   January        5,6,8,9,12,13,14,15,16,20,22,23,26,27,29,30, 2009 
   February      2,3,4,5,6,9,10,11,12,13,24,25,26,27, 2009 
 
   
6.2  All state-owned land on Block Island is closed to all deer hunting for the 

2008-2009 season.   
 
6.3      A Block Island archery or shotgun deer permit is required to hunt on Block 

Island.  A hunter may purchase five (5) Block Island permits.  After 
checking as provided in section 6.7, a hunter may purchase additional 
Block Island Shotgun or Archery Deer Permits to take additional deer on 
Block Island, but hunters may not possess more than five (5) permits of 
any type at one time.    

 
6.4  Landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is required 

for all hunting.  Landowners may give permission for archery or shotgun 
hunting on their property.  Permission will be tracked by the Police 
Department.    

 
6.5      Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or 

sabot round.  Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauges are allowed. 
 
6.6  On Block Island, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 

headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway  
  or roadway, whether public or private, on any field, woodland, residential 

property, or forest, or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of 
spotting, locating, or attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild 
bird is prohibited.  

 
 
 
 

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2008-2009 SEASON 
PAGE 21 OF 47 



 
 
6.7  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter killing 

same immediately after taking.  All deer taken on Block Island must be 
checked by that same hunter through the designated check stations and a 
leg seal must be attached to the deer prior to leaving the island, and within 
24 hours of taking.  The leg seal must remain attached to the deer until 
processed for consumption.  

 
6.8  Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer 

on Block Island.  The proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of 
issue.  The proficiency card must be carried while hunting. 

 
6.9     All other deer regulations apply.  Equipment permitted for archery season 
          include crossbows and adaptive aids as described in sections 4.4.1, 4.4.2,       
          4.5 and 4.5.1. 
 
6.10 All shotgun deer hunters must wear 500 square inches of orange. 
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PART VII  
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS 

 
7.1  Northwest Cooperative – The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting 

permits serve as written permission for hunting this private land.   These 
permits must be carried in addition to your individual deer permits. Turkey 
hunting is also permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid license 
and turkey permit.  No additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys. 

 
  7.1.1 Archery and muzzleloader deer hunters must have state permits to 

hunt the Northwest Cooperative.  A permit is required for each season: 
Archery, Muzzleloader, and Shotgun. The Division reserves the right to 
alter the number of hunters, permits, or days of hunting as conditions 
warrant.  Permits must be returned by February 15, 2009.  Hunters must 
return permit to be eligible for the next season's permit.  Reference 2.1 

 
  7.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by 

sending a (LEGAL SIZE) self-addressed stamped envelope to: 
NORTHWEST COOP, R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck 
Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  Indicate the permit type (e.g. archery, 
muzzleloader, and/or shotgun).  

 
 
7.2  Francis Carter Preserve Cooperative Hunting Area (formerly known as 

United Nuclear) is restricted to archery hunting of deer from November 1 – 
December 31, 2008 and as provided in sections 7.2.1 through 7.2.5 of 
these regulations.  No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.  
All regulations in General Deer Part I and Archery Deer Part IV of these 
regulations shall apply. 

 
  7.2.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.   No vehicles 

of any kind are allowed on the property. 
 
  7.2.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  

The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is 
prohibited.  Climbing tree stands are permitted.  Tree stands must be 
removed at the end of the season. 

 
  7.2.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Carter 

Preserve.  The proficiency cards are valid for two years from the date of 
issuance and must be carried while hunting.  Either Prudence/Patience 
Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency cards are 
permitted. 

 

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2008-2009 SEASON 
PAGE 23 OF 47 



  7.2.4 A Carter Preserve Hunting Permit is required and will serve as 
written permission to hunt this private land.  This permit must also be 
carried while hunting. 

 
  7.2.5 No lottery will be conducted this season.  However, all hunters 

must obtain a permit in addition to their archery deer permits. Permits are 
non-transferable.  Requests for permits are available by sending a self-
addressed stamped envelope to RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 
Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  All requests must contain 
your name, address, current hunting license number and current archery 
proficiency number.  One request per envelope.  Hunters must return their 
permit by January 15, 2009, regardless of activity or success, to be 
eligible for the next season’s hunt. 

 
7.3  Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area 
  November 10, 2008 – January 31, 2009.  No hunting on weekends prior to 

December 31, 2008.  The Jamestown (Conanicut Island) either sex, and 
antlerless archery deer permits are valid for this season. 

 
  7.3.1  No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.  All 

regulations in General Deer Part I and Archery Deer Part IV of these 
regulations shall apply.   

 
  7.3.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.  
 
  7.3.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  

The use of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is 
prohibited.  Climbing tree stands are permitted.  Tree stands must be 
removed at the end of the season. 

 
  7.3.4 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the 

Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area.  The proficiency cards 
are valid for two years from the date of issuance and must be carried while 
hunting.  Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner 
Relations proficiency cards are permitted. 

 
 7.3.5 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is 

required and will serve as written permission to hunt this property.  The 
permit can be obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station.  This  
permit must also be carried while hunting.  Hunters must return their card 
regardless of activity or success by February 15, 2009 in order to be 
eligible for next season. 

 
 7.3.6 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee 

is required.  Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the 
police station.  Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come 
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first served basis.  Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no 
more than 20 days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled.  
Successful hunters must also cancel any reserved slots. Hunters will be 
provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions.  Compliance 
with these and all other hunting regulations is required for future hunting 
privileges on this parcel.  The number of hunters and days of hunting are 
subject to change. 

 
 7.3.7 All Beavertail Coop hunting subject to federal approval. 
 
7.4  Grills Preserve Cooperative Hunting Permit 
 
  7.4.1 Hunting for white-tailed deer and wild turkey is permitted at the Grills 

Preserve-Westerly Land Trust Property located west of Bowling Lane and 
Route 91 in Bradford, RI.  Special permits to hunt Grills preserve may be 
obtained from RIDEM Fish and Wildlife. Permits available after September 
1, and may be obtained by sending a self-addressed (LEGAL SIZE) 
stamped envelope to: GRILLS PRESERVE COOP, R.I. Division of Fish 
and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892.  

 
7.4.2 Hunting is permitted only during the Archery and state and private 
Muzzleloader portions of the deer season in accordance with the Rules 
and Regulations set forth by RI DEM as specified in sections 2.1 and 4.1.  
 
7.4.3 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the 
established turkey seasons by RI DEM as specified in sections 10.1-10.3.  
 
7.4.4 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the 
conclusion of the spring turkey season. 

 
 
7.5 Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area – North Camp Portion 
 
7.5.1 Hunting by permit only available from the RI DEM Division of Fish and 

Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, R.I. 02892 either in person or by mail with a self-addressed 
stamped envelope. 

7.5.2 Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as 
marked on map enclosed with permit. 

7.5.3 The following are PROHIBITED: 
 

A. Hunting birds on or within 100 yards of the shore of Watchaug 
Pond or Poiquiant Brook as referenced in RIGL 20-14-8. 

B. Hunting birds in that portion of the park west of Watchaug Pond, 
west of Poiquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road as 
referenced in RIGL 20-14-8.1.
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PART VIII  
*MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS 

 
*Subject to Federal Approval 

 
8.1 Mourning Doves -The open season for mourning doves is statewide: 
 
 September 20– October 5, 2008, inclusive; 
 October 18 – November 16, 2008, and 
 December 24 - January 8, 2009, inclusive. 
 
 Shooting hours are: 
 First split: noon to sunset.  
 Second and third split: sunrise to sunset. 
 Daily bag/possession limits: 12/24 
 
8.2 Rails -The open season for rails is: 
 September 1, 2008 – November 7, 2008, inclusive. 
 Daily bag/possession limits: 
 King & Clapper Rail - 1/2, singly or in aggregate 
 Sora & Virginia Rail - 1/2, singly or in aggregate 
 
8.3 Common snipe:  The open season for common snipe is: 

 September 1 – November 7, 2008  
 Daily bag/possession limits: 5/10 

 
8.4 Woodcock:  The open season for woodcocks is: 
 November 1 – November 30, 2008  
 Daily bag/possession limits: 3/6 
 
8.5 Crows:  The open season for crows is: 

August 15 – October 5, 2008 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
October 18 – November 23, 2008, all-inclusive. 
December 19, 2008 – April 18, 2009 - Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays 
only. 
 
8.5.1   The hunting season for crows on state lands shall be from the 
beginning of dove hunting season in September to the last day of February. 
Hunting hours for crows are 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.  
Except on Northern Prudence Island Management Area, the season is 

        January 5-31, 2009 inclusive.  No daily bag or possession limit. 
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8.6 Non-Toxic Shot Requirements:  No person shall take or attempt to take 
         waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including 

Narragansett Bay and its coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while 
possessing shells loaded with any shot other than non toxic shot (e.g., 
steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and 
tungsten-nickel-iron shot) and other shot as approved by USFWS.  All 
shot larger than BB is prohibited, including duplex loads containing 
shot larger than BB. 

 
8.7  Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory 

birds   and waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A 
through N) of the U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, 
made under the provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds 
and waterfowl.  A HIP permit is required for hunting all migratory birds. HIP 
permits will be available by phone or online.  Instructions and details will be 
available prior to the seasons.  In addition, hunters must purchase a federal 
and state duck stamp to hunt waterfowl. 

 
 8.8   Canada Goose:  The open season for Canada goose is: 
         September 1 - 30, 2008 
 
 Daily bag limit is 15/30 in possession [subject to Federal approval]. 

 
A permit must be obtained from the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife prior to 
hunting during the special September Canada Goose Season by sending a 
LEGAL SIZE self-addressed stamped envelope 
to: RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, 
RI 02892 and must be returned per date designated on permit regardless of 
hunting success. One request per envelope.  Hunters must return the 
permit to be eligible for the 2009 Special Goose Season to above address.   

 
8.9 Sea Ducks: The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is:  
 October11, 2008 – January 25, 2009 
 Daily bag/possession limits 5/10, no more than four of which may be any 

one species.  
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PART IX 
UPLAND GAME 

 
9.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals, except dove, turkey, 

migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon will be sunrise to sunset, except 
as otherwise provided.  On October 18, 2008 legal shooting hours will be 
7:00 AM to sunset.  See 13.2.1. 

 
 9.2 Open season for Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits, 

and Snowshoe Hare is as follows: 
 
 October 18, 2008 through the last day of February EXCEPT during the 

state land portion of the shotgun deer season (December 6-14, 2008).  
State land will remain open during the private land portions of the shotgun 
deer season (see Section 3.1B).  Provided, however, that small game 
hunting is prohibited on private land during the shotgun deer hunting 
season as described in section 3.1B. 

 
 Prudence Island: 

      November 1, 2008 - November 30, 2008 EXCEPT on 
              Northern Prudence Island Management Area the season is: 
              January 5–31, 2009 inclusive.  South Prudence and  
              Patience Management Areas closed to shotgun small game hunting. 

   
      Daily Bag limits: 

      Cottontail rabbits – three (3) 
      Snowshoe hare – one (1) 
      Gray squirrels – five (5) 
      There is no bag limit for fox. 
 
9.3 Open season for Ruffed Grouse, Bobwhite Quail, & Pheasant is as follows: 
  
 Ruffed Grouse & Quail: October 18 – November 30, 2008. 

Ruffed grouse hunting is CLOSED in the Arcadia Management Area. 
Ringneck Pheasant: October 18, 2008 – January 20, 2009.     (See 9.3.1 
and 9.3.2)  
 
Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: October 11 & 12, 2008 (see 9.3.5) 

 
Closed during state land shotgun deer season December 6 –14 and during 
the private land shotgun deer season as described in section 3.1B. 
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9.3.1  Pheasant Permit: 

Hunters are required to purchase a pheasant permit ($15.50) of six 
(6) tags in order to hunt pheasants.  Upon harvesting a pheasant, 
hunter must detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag 
to the bird’s leg.  Pheasant(s) in possession without an attached 
pheasant tag will be in violation of regulations.  Hunters may 
purchase multiple pheasant permits per season. 

 
9.3.2  Season and Bag Limits 

    
   Ringneck Pheasant: two (2) birds daily.  

     Ruffed Grouse: one (1) bird daily 
   Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds daily 
    

9.3.3  Prudence Island: 
November 1 - 30, 2008 - EXCEPT that on northern Prudence Island 
Management Area the season is January 5 – 31, 2009, inclusive.  
South Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to 
shotgun small game hunting. 

 
9.3.4  On New Shoreham (Block Island), the open season on male 

ring-necked pheasants, with a daily limit of two male pheasants, is 
as follows: 

 
    November 19, 26, 2008 
    December 3, 17, 24, 31, 2008 

      January 7, 21, 28, 2009 
   

 Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants 
 

9.3.5   Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: 
 
            Pheasant hunting is permitted during the special Junior Pheasant 

Hunting Weekend, October 11 & 12, 2008 for those junior hunters 
in possession of a valid Rhode Island Hunting License and a 2008 
pheasant permit.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least 
(1) one parent or legal guardian, age 21 years or older, who holds a 
valid Rhode Island hunting license.  An adult may accompany no 
more than two (2) junior hunters at one time. The accompanying 
adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting pheasant.  
Hunting will only be permitted at the Great Swamp Management 
Area in West Kingston and at Durfee Hill Management Area in 
Glocester.  Pheasant stamps are required (see 9.3.1)   Bag limit is 
(2) two pheasants per day.  Registration is required no later than 
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            September 11, 2008.  Adults may call Fish & Wildlife Field 
Headquarters at 789-0281 or Hunter Education at 789-3094 for 
information.  A limit of 50 parties per management will be permitted. 
In the event of fiscal constraints, the program may be altered.   

 
 9.4    No person shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant 

without having a valid game propagation permit in his/her possession. 
 
 9.4.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged upon harvest  
  for identification with a tag supplied by the Division, at cost to the  
  game propagation permittee. 
  
 9.4.2 Permits for propagated pheasant hunting are available from the 

Division of Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, 
RI 02908.  Such permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the 
applicant has met each of the following requirements: 

 
a. Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee. 
b. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting 

club at the time of the application or application of renewal.  
c. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting 

club owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five 
(25) or more acres at the time of the application or application 
of renewal (hereinafter referred to as the ‘site’). 

 
 9.4.3 Each game propagation permittee must keep an accurate record of 

all pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how many 
released and when released; and how many taken on the site.  
Permittee must provide this information to the Department within 
twenty-four (24) hours of the receipt of a request for such records 
from a Department staff member or no later than March 15th 
following the closure of the season. 

 
9.4.4 Each game propagation permittee is authorized to release and 

harvest pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season 
provided above in Section 9.3 for the taking on the site by club 
members and their guests provided the following restrictions are 
observed: 

 
  a. Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode   

Island     license. Hunters are not required to have a state 
pheasant permit; however, hunters must tag each harvested 
pheasant with the game propagation tag as required in 9.4.1 and 
9.4.2. 
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 b. Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant provided 
above in 9.3.2, i.e., no more than two (2) may be harvested on the 
site during any day per hunter. 

 
9.4.5 If a game propagation permittee is found to have provided false    

information    in conjunction with its application pursuant to Section 9.4.2, 
fails to comply with Section 9.4.3, or if it or a member or guest violates 
Section 9.4.3, the subject permit shall be revoked for the remainder of the 
season and the action of the permittee or its member shall be considered 
if and when the permittee applies for re-issuance of a permit.  Pursuant to 
RI Gen. Laws, Chapter 42-17.7, a permittee who feels aggrieved by an 
enforcement action to revoke the subject’s permit and who seeks an 
adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a written request 
with the Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St., 
Providence, RI 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of 
notice of revocation. A permittee who feels aggrieved by a permit denial 
and seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a 
written request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within thirty (30) calendar days of 
receipt of the contested agency action. 

 
9.5    The hunting seasons on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings, 

and rock doves is closed on Prudence Island at all times, EXCEPT during 
the period November 1 through November 30, annually, or as otherwise  

  provided.  South Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed    
to shotgun small game hunting.  See 11.9.1.1 on coyote hunting on 
Prudence Island. 

 
   9.6  The hunting of any species of wildlife EXCEPT white-tailed deer, coyote,  

and waterfowl as provided, or as otherwise provided, is prohibited in 
Providence, Kent, Washington, Newport, and Bristol Counties during the 
annual shotgun deer season. 
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PART X 

WILD TURKEY 
 
10.1 Season bag and possession limits: One (1) bearded turkey in the spring 

season and (1) either sex turkey in the fall season.  A separate permit 
must be purchased to hunt in each season.  Refer to 7.1, 7.4 and 7.5 for 
additional permits on cooperative hunting areas. 

 
10.2 Spring Turkey Seasons Dates:  
 

A. Special Season - Paraplegic hunters April 25 and 26, 2009  
B. Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend April 25 and 26, 2009  
C. Statewide: April 30 – May 26,2009 

 
10.3 Fall Archery Season:   
 
 October 1 – 28, 2008 

 
10.4 Special Paraplegic Season: 
 
10.4.1  A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM-RI Division of 

Fish and Wildlife. Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic 
hunters only. 

 
10.4.2  An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required. 
            Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing. 
 
 10.4.3  None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms 

at any time. 
 
 10.5    Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend: 
 

10.5.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting 
Weekend for those junior hunters in possession of a valid Rhode 
Island hunting license.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at 
least one parent or legal guardian at least 21 years of age or older 
who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult 
may accompany no more than two junior hunters at one time.  The 
accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying firearms and bows. 

 
10.5.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year. 
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10.5.3   An adult accompanying a junior hunter may not carry a bow or firearm   
              while hunting, but is permitted to assist the junior in calling the bird. 

 
10.6 The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the 

number of hunting days at any time. 
 
10.7 The hunting of wild turkey is allowed in the following areas: Providence 

County; Kent County; Washington County; as well as Tiverton and Little 
Compton in Newport County. 

 
10.8 Hunting hours:  Spring hunting hours are from one half hour before 

sunrise to 1:00 P.M.  Eastern Daylight Time, daily, provided that all 
hunters leave the woods no later than 1:00 P.M.  Fall hunting hours are 
one-half hour before sunrise until sunset. 

 
10.9    Authorized firearms and archery equipment:  The methods of taking are 

limited to shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5, 
and 6 magnum loads only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long 
bow (straight limb, reflex, re-curve, and compound bow) of not less than 
forty (40) pounds pull, and broadhead arrows with at least two cutting 
edges seven eighths inches (7/8") or greater at the widest point.  A 
bowstring release device where the bow is hand held, hand drawn and 
finger released is allowed. Legal bows must meet the definition of a legal 
bow in sections 4.5 and 4.5.1.  Crossbows not permitted.  Possession of a 
firearm while archery hunting for turkey is prohibited. 

 
10.10 Prohibited Activities: 
 

10.10.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative 
drive(s) electric calling devices, or any other devices to capture or 
ensnare turkeys is prohibited. 

 
 10.10.2 Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is 

prohibited. 
 
 10.10.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a 

turkey calling device (non-electric).  Calling is the only legal method for 
hunting wild turkey.  An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting 
license may call turkeys for hunters with a valid turkey permit. 

 
 10.10.4 A person is prohibited from hunting, killing, taking or attempt to 

take, or possessing any wild turkey unless they possess on their person 
a valid R.I. hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit.   
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10.11  Checking Requirements:  A person killing a wild turkey must immediately 

sign, complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey 
tag provided with the permit.  The tag must remain attached to the turkey 
and presented to an authorized check station within 24 hours. The 
Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues deemed 
necessary. The tag must remain attached until the carcass is prepared 
for consumption or taxidermy.      

 
10.12 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person 

purchasing a turkey permit.  This hunter survey must be returned to the 
Division within 10 days of the end of the season whether or not you hunt 
or were successful. 
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PART XI 
FURBEARERS 

 
11.1    Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1. 
 
11.2   Raccoon - 

Open Season - The open season for raccoon is from 6:00 PM October 1, 
2008 through the last day of February 2009, inclusive; excluding the 
period of Shotgun Deer Season: December 6 – December 21 and 
December 27 and 28, 2008, January 3 and 4, 2009 statewide. Raccoon 
season will remain open December15-21, 2008 on State Management 
Areas.  That portion of Providence County east of the Blackstone River 
will remain open to raccoon hunting during the shotgun deer season.  

 
   Bag Limits - There is no season limit on raccoon.  There are no limits to 

the taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under 
special permit on Prudence and Patience Islands.  There is no bag limit. 

 
11.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is 

limited to January 5, 2009 through the last day of February 2009, 
inclusive, with written permission of the landowner. Bow hunters 
with a valid deer archery permit may take raccoon on Prudence 
Island during legal deer hunting hours October 24, 2008 – January 
4, 2009 or until the quota is filled.   

 
Bag Limits – There are no limits to the taking of raccoon by bow 
hunters as provided above, or under special permit on Prudence 
and Patience Islands. 

 
11.3 The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum,     

rabbit, raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1, 2008 – January 31, 
2009 inclusive.  Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM 
on opening day, November 1st, annually. 
 
11.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1, 

2008– February 28, 2009 inclusive.  The trapping season for 
beaver on state management areas is December 1, 2008 – 
February 28, 2009 inclusive. Traps may not be set, staked, or 
placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day. Setting traps within 10 
feet of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, unless specifically 
allowed under a nuisance permit. All trappers participating in 
beaver trapping must first obtain both a Special Permit (no fee) 
issued by the Division of Fish and Wildlife Field Headquarters as 
well as a current RI Trapping License. There is a bag limit of 
twenty (20) beaver. 
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11.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1- 21, 2008, 

inclusive.  All trappers participating in the fisher trapping season must 
obtain a special permit (no fee) from the Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
Great Swamp Field Headquarters in addition to their current R.I. trapping 
license.  The season limit for fisher is four (4) per permit.  All fisher pelts 
must be presented for tagging, in accordance with fisher permit 
requirements but no later than December 26, 2008. In addition, all fisher 
carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the Division, must be 
turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field 
Headquarters.  No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the 
carcass or required parts to Fish and Wildlife.  A trapper survey card will 
be issued to each permittee and must be returned to the Division at the 
close of fisher season.  The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the right 
to alter the number of permits or the number of fisher harvested at any 
time.  All other general trapping regulations apply. All permittees may be 
subject to administrative penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation of any of 
these regulations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17-6. 

 
        11.3.3   There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands.  The 

trapping season for coyotes on state lands is November 1st to January 
                     31st inclusive.  The use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or snares (RIGL 
                     20-16-6) is prohibited.  All other general trapping regulations apply. 

 
 11.4 Body gripping "Conibear" type traps in sizes 110, 120, or 160 (or  

equivalent) not to exceed 6½ inch jaw spread as measured from hinge to 
hinge), are permitted on land or in water; Size 220 (or its equivalent, not to 
exceed 8 inch jaw spread) is permitted only if such trap is completely 
submerged in water, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of 
water or ground (i.e., trees).  All other "Conibear" type traps are prohibited 
except as provided in 11.4.1 and 11.5. 

 
11.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of 220 and 330 "Conibear" type traps is  
 permitted only if such traps are completely submerged underwater and in     
           a vertical position.  Trap jaw spread not to exceed 10 inch opening when    
           set. 
 
11.5 Permits to trap state land are required in addition to a current Rhode Island 

trapping license, and are obtainable from the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
Field Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, West Kingston, RI.  
Only the use of body-gripping (i.e., conibear) type traps or “box” (i.e., live) 
traps are permitted on state lands as specified.  Body-gripping traps, sizes 
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110, 120, or 160 or equivalent, are permitted only if such traps are used in 
water sets (i.e., all or a portion of the trap is submerged in water) or placed 
no less than six (6) feet above the surface of the ground.  The use of body 
gripping traps, size 220 and 330 or their equivalent (jaw spread not to 
exceed ten (10) inches is only permitted if such traps are completely 
submerged in water (in a vertical position).  All traps placed on state lands 
must be affixed with the name, address and Rhode Island trapping license 
number of the owner. 

 
11.6 All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or 

cut into the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, 
bears the trapper's license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7. 

 
11.7 There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra 

canadensis). 
 
11.8 Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat or 

beaver that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is 
prima-facie evidence of illegal taking. Otter and bobcat may only be taken 
or possessed under RIGL 20-1-1-21 or otherwise must be presented to the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife or Division of Enforcement within 24 hours of 
taking.  Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-16-8 or 
otherwise shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership.  Beaver and 
fishers must be tagged in accordance with 11.3.1 and 11.3.2, respectively. 

 
11.9 There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private 

lands.  During the firearms seasons for deer, all coyote hunters must 
possess a valid shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit for their respective 
seasons.  The legal hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half 
hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.  The use of electronic 
calls or decoys for hunting coyotes is permitted.  There is no bag limit on 
woodchuck or coyote.  Refer to RIGL 20-13-13 for firearms restrictions. 

 
11.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the 
beginning of dove hunting season in September to the last day in 
February inclusive and during the open spring turkey hunting season. 
The hunting season for coyotes on Prudence Island shall be:  On state 
land during archery season with a valid archery permit, during the 
upland game season on private land, November 1 – November 30, 2008 
and on N. Prudence Management Area during upland season, January 
5 – January 31, 2009. 
 

11.9.2   During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid 
turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands. 
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11.9.3  Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square              
inches of fluorescent orange during the small game hunting season.   
During the shotgun deer season, 500 square inches is required 

 
  11.9.4 The placement or use of bait or carcasses for purposes of hunting 
             coyotes on state lands is prohibited. 
 
11.10  It is unlawful to take or possess a road-killed furbearer unless with       

possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is 
taken during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the 
provisions of a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (RIGL 
20-1-18). Exceptions may be granted at the discretion of the Division. 

 
11.11  The translocation of protected furbearers (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited      

without prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife. 
 

11.12 The use of “species specific” type traps as described in the definitions 
              section of these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private 

and state lands.  A legal species specific trap is characterized by all of 
the following:  

 
11.12.1 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing. 
 
11.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a       

single opening when set; 
 
11.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter; 
 
11.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling  

        
              force. 

 
11.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system. 
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PART XII  
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 

 
 
 
12.1 The removal from the wild, for any purposes, of any reptile or amphibian 

(except bullfrogs, green frogs, and snapping turtles) to include their nests 
and eggs is prohibited except by special permit.  The taking of snapping 
turtles at any time is limited to the following methods:  turtle traps, 
snagging, snaring, grabbing, jugging, bow and arrow, or while legally 
fishing.  Turtle traps must have a metal tag attached, which, at a minimum, 
bears the trapper's name and address.  Jugs must be marked indelibly with 
name and address of trapper.  The taking of snapping turtles for 
commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit. 

 
12.2 The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and 

eggs are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times:  
Timber rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus; northern diamondback terrapin, 
Malaclemys terrapin; wood turtle, Clemmys insculpta; eastern box turtle, 
Terrapene carolina; spotted turtle, Clemmys guttata; and bog turtle, 
Clemmys muhlenbergi. 

 
12.3 The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is 

prohibited. 
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PART XIII  
MANAGEMENT AREAS 

 
13.1 The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting 

and fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt State Management 
Areas, and Tidal Lands pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 18, §§ 20-18-2 and 
20-18-3 of the General Laws. 

 
13.2  Permit is valid from the first day of dove season in September through the 

last day of February, except when check stations are in operation for 
upland game at the Great Swamp, Carolina, Durfee Hill, and Arcadia; for 
turkey hunting; when special permits are required for deer hunting; or for 
waterfowl hunting on state lands. (See current abstract for check station 
dates). Bow hunters and muzzleloading hunters hunting deer on state 
management areas do not need to check in or out. 

 
  13.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation 

are subject to change. Notification will be provided by signage and news 
release.  In addition, management areas may be closed for pheasant 
stocking at noon until sunset, Friday, 10/10/08; Tuesdays and Fridays 
from 10/17 until 11/21/08; Wednesday, 11/26/08; and Fridays beginning 
12/5/08 until the close of season 1/16/09.   

 
13.3  The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is 

prohibited except as provided in Management Area Regulations 11.1. On 
management areas and designated undeveloped parks, the carrying of 
firearms and bows and arrows at any time, except during the open season 
for game birds and mammals, and while on shooting ranges, is prohibited.  
In addition to above, blank guns are permitted for the purpose of dog 
training in designated areas from January 1 to September 30. 

 
13.4  Individuals must check in, and out, of state management hunter check 

stations each day they are open for upland season.  Check station dates 
will be listed in the current Hunting Season Abstract.  See section 9.1 for 
upland game hours. 

 
13.5  Dog training and all hunting, except for bow hunting for deer, and 

waterfowl hunting, as provided, is prohibited on state land during the 
period of October 13-17, 2008 unless otherwise provided. 

 
13.6  From the period April 1 through August 15, annually, the following are 

prohibited except by special permit: trespassing, disturbing, or molesting 
of any species of nesting birds on Hope Island in the West Passage, East 
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Island and West Island off Sakonnet Point, or Gould Island in the East 
Passage.  All cats, dogs, and other domestic animals are prohibited at all 
times upon these Islands, except that hunting dogs may be used during 
that period set aside by the Department for hunting of game birds and 
mammals on Hope Island only. 

 
13.7 All users of State Management Areas and undeveloped State Parks are 

required to wear solid daylight fluorescent orange during appropriate 
seasons; see Part 14.5.6 for details. 

 
13.8  The possession and/or use of paint guns on state management areas are 

prohibited. See RIGL § 32-2-4. 
 
13.9  A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state  

management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field 
trials. 

 
13.10  Complete dressing of game birds and mammals on state property is 

prohibited.  Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted.  Head, 
skin, feathers, wings, tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass. 

 
13.11 Dogs on State Management Areas allowed only under the following rules. 
 

 13.11.1 No dogs are allowed to be trained, run, exercised, or be 
permitted to run at large on state management areas from 
March 15 to August 15, inclusive, without written permission of 
the Division of Fish and Wildlife except as otherwise provided in 
these regulations (13.5 and 13.12). 

 
 13.11.2  Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than 25 feet in length is 

permitted on roads and trails only. 
 

 13.11.3  All dogs must be wearing a collar with the name and address of 
the owner or handler and license tag. 

 
13.12  Dog Training Areas—Dog training is allowed on designated areas only, 

between January 1 and September 30.  During this period, dogs may run 
freely provided they are under the command of the trainer by either voice, 
training collar, or check cord. 
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13.12.1     Areas designated for training dogs are: the Black Farm 

Management Area; the Nicholas Farm Management Area north 
of the Trestle Trail; and the Arcadia Midway Trail Area confined 
to the developed field complex east of Brook Trail, south of 
Austin Farm Road and west of the established field edges 
comprising the Midway fields area.  Field trial areas are as 
depicted on maps drawn by the Division of Fish and Wildlife. 

 
 13.12.2  Training hours are sunrise to sunset. 
 
 13.12.3  All persons using areas for training must possess a hunting    

license.  
 
 13.12.4  All dogs using areas must be licensed and have proof of rabies 

vaccinations. 
 

 13.12.5  Training with live birds (pheasants/quail) is permitted provided 
the bird is released unharmed and all necessary permits are 
obtained. 

 
 13.12.6  Shooting of live birds for training purposes is prohibited. 

 
 13.12.7  Sanctioned field trial events may be held at the following 

locations by requesting a special permit from the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife: Arcadia, Carolina, Durfee Hill Marsh, and 
Burlingame (Durfee) Pond, and Nicholas Farm. 

 
13.13 JOHN L. CURRAN STATE PARK/MANAGEMENT AREA  
 

 13.13.1  All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the buffer 
zones marked as posted by the Department. 

 
 13.13.2  Only shotguns and bow & arrows may be possessed or used 

while hunting.  
 

 13.13.3  The hunting of and/or possession of Mourning Dove or Wild 
Pigeons (Rock Dove) is prohibited. 

 
13.14  SIMMONS MILL POND MANAGEMENT AREA – Only archery equipment, 

bow and arrows, may be possessed or used while hunting white-tailed 
deer within the Simmons Mill Pond Management Area in Little Compton.  
Sunday hunting will be allowed. 
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13.15 DUTCH ISLAND 

 The entry upon Dutch Island is prohibited.  No person is allowed to enter 
onto Dutch Island without the specific written permission of the Director. 

 
13.16 SEAPOWET and EIGHT ROD FARM MANAGEMENT AREA: 

Sunday hunting will be allowed within the Eight Rod Farm Management 
Area.  No Sunday hunting will be allowed at Sapowet.  No shotgun and/or 
muzzleloader deer hunting on Sapowet. 

  
13.17 GEORGE WASHINGTON GROVE:  Designated as an undeveloped state  

park and is open to hunting. 
 

13.18 GALILEE BIRD SANCTUARY: Open to archery deer hunting only.  
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PART XIV 
GENERAL 

 
14.1   Taking of moose or bear by any method is prohibited except as provided 

under special permit issued by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Management. 

 
14.2  The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale, 

offer for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is 
prohibited, except by special permit issued by the Director of the 
Department of Environmental Management or his/her designee. 

 
14.3  The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale, 

barter, or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a 
wild turkey is prohibited.  The possession of any dead untagged wild 
turkey is prohibited. 

 
14.4 There is no closed season for monk parakeets or rock doves (wild 

pigeons). 
 
14.5 Fluorescent Orange Requirement: Fluorescent orange safety clothing is 

required during the hunting season statewide for all hunters.  To meet this 
requirement, safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange.  
Fluorescent camouflage does not meet this requirement.  The hunter 
orange must be worn above the waist and be visible in all directions.  
Examples that meet the orange requirements are a hat that covers 200 
square inches or combination of hat and vest covering 500 square inches.  
The following orange requirements apply: 

 
14.5.1 Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during 

the small game season.  
 

14.5.2     Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while 
               traveling. 
 
14.5.3    Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloaders during 

muzzleloading deer season. 
 
14.5.4    Two hundred (200) square inches by archers when traveling 

to/from stands during muzzleloading deer season. 
 
14.5.5     Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users 

(including archers) during shotgun deer seasons. 
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14.5.6 Exempt from orange requirements are:  

- waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or a blind, over water or 
    field, when done in conjunction with decoys.  
  - archery deer hunters (except during muzzle-loader and shotgun 
    deer season). 
  - hunters crow hunting over decoys. 
  - spring turkey hunters and  
  - first segment dove hunters. 

 
14.5.7 All other users of State Management areas and undeveloped 

State Parks, including but not limited to hikers, bikers, and 
horseback riders, are required to wear two hundred (200) square 
inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange from the third 
Saturday in October to the last day of February, and the last 
Thursday in April to the last day in May, annually.  

 
14.6  All dogs being utilized in hunting activities must wear a collar with a valid 

license tag, and the name and address of the owner or handler.  
 
14.7  Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high 

water on Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as 
established by federal regulation and during November 1 - 30.  

 
14.8  Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone 

line, pole, or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication 
device is prohibited. 

 
14.9 A muzzleloading rifle, not to exceed .40 caliber with round ball and patch    

 only, may be used to hunt small mammals during the established seasons 
for these species.  The use of solid ball in a muzzleloading shotgun is 
prohibited at all times, except when deer hunting as provided. 

 
14.10 Air gun rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals:  gray 
squirrels, red squirrels, woodchucks, cottontail rabbits, and snowshoe hare 
provided that the air guns are a minimum of .177 caliber and not larger than .22; 
a minimum of 750 FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

HUNTING REGULATIONS FOR THE 2008-2009 SEASON 
PAGE 45 OF 47 



 
14.11  The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or  
night- vision equipment while hunting is prohibited. During the period October 1, 
2008 through January 31, 2009, casting of rays of artificial lights, including 
spotlights, headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or 
roadway, whether public or private or on any field, woodland, residential property 
or forest, on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating or 
attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited. 
 
14.12  It is prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of 
liberation or stocking of said game birds into the State of Rhode Island without 
first having received a permit to do so from the Division of Fish and Wildlife.  
Persons holding a commercial game license or shooting preserve license may 
liberate game birds or mammals in connection with field trials and shooting 
preserves.  See RIGL 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 20-17-1. 

 
14.13  Feeding and baiting wildlife in Rhode Island: feeding wild waterfowl, wild 
turkey or wild cervids, black bear and coyote is not permitted any time in the 
state of Rhode Island except: 

 
14.14   Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to RI 
General Laws §20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research within an enclosed pen; 
 

 14.14.1 By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly associated with    
  bona fide agricultural practices, including planted wildlife food plots; 

 
 14.14.2 By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated with  
  bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food material for legally 
  possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a permit; 

 
  14.14.3 By cutting of trees or brush; or 

 
                    14.14.4 Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms or suet 
                     for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. 

 
14.14.5 Baiting coyotes on private land for purposes of hunting. 
 

14.14 Distribution of Certain Food Material – Feeding wild or captive cervids with 
any material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is 
prohibited. 
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RULE 8 EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

The foregoing Rules and Regulations - Hunting Regulations after due 
notice, are hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become 
effective 20 days after filing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 
20-1-2 20-1-4, 20-1-8, 20-1-12, 20-1-13, 20 -18, and 42-35 of the General 
Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, as amended. 

 
 
      _____________________________ 
   W. Michael Sullivan, Ph.D. Director 

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Notice Given:       05/09/2008 
 Public Hearing:    06/10/2008 
 
 Filing date:           08/07/2008 
 Effective date:     08/27/2008 
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