State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
Division of Commercial Licensing
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Commercial Licensing Regulation 3 —Automobile Body Shop Storage Rate
(Adopted on an Emergency Basis Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-3(b) on February 25, 2009 and
renewed for 90 days on June 24, 2009)
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Section 1 Maximum Vehicle Storage Charges

The maximum rate for vehicle storage charged by auto body shops shall be as follows:

A B
Inside Storage
Vehicles less than 20 ft. $18.00 per day $30.00 per day
Vehicles 20 ft. to 31 ft. $22.00 per day $40.00 per day
Vehicles 32 ft. or more $25.00 per day $50.00 per day
Outside Secured
Vehicles less than 20 ft. $15.00 per day $24.00 per day
Vehicles 20 ft. to 31 ft. $18.00 per day $30.00 per day
Vehicles 32 ft. or more $20.00 per day $36.00 per day
Outside Not Secured
Vehicles less than 20 ft. $12.00 per day $20.00 per day
Vehicles 20 ft. to 31 ft. $15.00 per day $24.00 per day
Vehicles 32 ft. or more $18.00 per day $30.00 per day

Rates (A) will be in effect for the first seven (7) business days and Rates (B) thereafter
(other than for stolen vehicles - see Section 4). If vehicle is repaired by shop, no storage
will be charged.



Section 2 Definitions

“Inside Storage” shall mean containment of the vehicle in a secure building,
which shall be locked when the premises are unoccupied.

“Qutside Secured Storage” shall mean storage on a licensed auto body shop's
property in an area secured by a (six) 6 foot high fence, wall or other man-made
barrier, lighted at night with an alarm system or a similar security system.

“Qutside Not Secured Storage” shall mean storage on a licensed auto body shop's
property other than in an outside secured or inside storage area.

The auto body shop shall use the least expensive suitable means of storage.

A “day” is defined as any calendar day in which the vehicle is on the auto body
property for more than twelve (12) hours.

Section 3 Insurance Representatives

Insurance representatives shall be allowed to inspect any vehicles at any time for
photographs and vehicle identification number checks.

Insurance representatives must be allowed, with or without appointment, to make an
appraisal inspection of any vehicle as soon as practically possible but, in any event, not
more than three (3) days following the insurance representative's written or oral request
to inspect. Storage fees may not be charged for more than three (3) days, if a vehicle is
not made available for inspection within three (3) days of a request to inspect. Storage
may not be charged for any calendar day occurring between the day the insurance
representative seeks access to the vehicle to make an appraisal inspection, and the day the
auto body shop permits the insurance representative to enter and conduct the appraisal
inspection. (viz: if the insurance representative seeks on Monday an appointment and is
not permitted on the premises to make an appraisal until Wednesday, the auto body shop
may not charge storage for Tuesday. If the insurance representative is unavailable before
the Wednesday, then Tuesday's storage may be charged.)

Section 4 Stolen Vehicles

Until the body shop actually notifies the owner or insurance carrier of its custody of a
vehicle, which may be proven by use of registered mail, and for the first seven (7)
business days thereafter, (A) rates will be charged. After the first seven (7) days of
storage after written notification to the owner or insurance carrier, (B) rates may be
charged.



Section 5 Application

Storage fees may be disallowed when the body shop has not made reasonable efforts to
promptly contact the owner or insurance carrier of a stored vehicle.

These Regulations are to be followed, enforced and interpreted with a view to maximize

the convenience and minimize the cost to the motorist whose car is under repair.

Emergency Regulation Effective: February 25, 2009
Extended for 90 days on June 24, 2009
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