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Section 1 Authority
 

This Regulation is promulgated in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-1 et 
seq., 27-3-38, 27-3.2-1 et seq., 27-10-1 et seq., 27-10.1-1 et seq., 27-20.7-1 et seq., 27-
52-1 et seq., 42-14-17 and 42-35-1 et seq.  
 
Section 2 Purpose
 

The purpose of this Regulation is to establish a fee schedule for the initial 
licensing and renewals of Insurance Producers, Insurance Claims Adjusters, Motor 
Vehicle Damage Appraisers, Surplus Line Brokers, Third Party Administrators and 
Reinsurance Intermediaries.  The Regulation also provides for the fees for associated 
services and documents that the Commissioner has determined are reasonable and the 
requirements and fees for the Contracted Producer Reports filed by insurance companies. 
 
Section 3 Definitions
 
As used in this Regulation: 
 
(A) "Amendment to a License" shall mean a claim adjuster or an insurance producer 

application submitted by a licensee to the Department of Business Regulation 
requesting that a line or lines of authority be added to or deleted from his, her or its 
license. 
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(B) “Annual Contracted Producer Report” shall mean the report that must be filed 
annually by each insurance company detailing licensed insurance producers to which 
the insurer paid in excess of $100 in the previous calendar year and for which the 
insurance company must pay $30 per producer pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-
4(b)(3). 

 
(C) “Continuing Education Tracking Fee” shall mean a fee that all insurance producers are 

required to pay pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-3.2-9. 
 
(D) “Department” shall mean the Department of Business Regulation, Division of 

Insurance. 
 
(E) “Duplicate License” shall mean a replacement of an insurance license requested 

by an insurance licensee and issued by the Department. 
 

(F) “Letter of Certification” shall mean an original document requested by an insurance 
licensee and issued by the Department which verifies that he, she or it holds a certain 
type of insurance license in the State of Rhode Island.   
 

(G) “Letter of Clearance” shall mean an original document requested by an insurance 
licensee and issued by the Department canceling his, her or its Rhode Island 
insurance license.    

 
(H) “License” shall mean an insurance license issued by the Rhode Island Department of 

Business Regulation. 
 
(I) “Licensee” shall mean the holder of an insurance license issued by the Rhode Island 

Department of Business Regulation. 
 

(J) “NAIC” shall mean the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 
 
(K) “Reinstatement” shall mean the process by which an insurance producer license, 

motor vehicle damage appraiser license, claim adjuster license or surplus line broker 
license is reinstated without prelincensing or examination within one (1) year from 
the date of expiration.  A Licensee who allows his or her License to expire will have 
until one (1) year from the date of expiration to file a new application for a License 
without having to take an examination or prelicensing course.  A Licensee must still 
complete and file a reinstatement application and pay all applicable fees. 

 
(L) "Resident" means a person who either resides in Rhode Island or maintains an 

office in Rhode Island where the business of producing insurance is transacted 
and designates Rhode Island as the residence for purposes of licensure. 

 
(M) “Returned Check” shall mean any check submitted by an applicant for a License or 

submitted by a Licensee to the Department that is returned to the Department due to 
insufficient funds. 
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Section 4  Fee Schedules 
 
(A) The Department issues two-year licenses.  The fees listed below apply to a person 

obtaining the license during the two-year period even if his or her license will expire 
in less than two years.  The fees for each license type are as follows.   

 
(B) The fee schedule for the initial and renewal license for the various types of licenses 

issued by the Department is as follows: 
 

(1) Insurance Producer License Fee (both initial application and renewal).  
 

These fees apply to all insurance producers licensed in the major lines of 
authority (life, accident and health and sickness, property, casualty, variable 
life and annuity, personal lines – property and casualty); title insurance 
producers and all limited lines of authority:   

 
(a) Residents - $120 
 

Fee is calculated by adding $55 per year fee of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-
2.4-4 and the $5 per year Continuing Education tracking fee of R.I. 
Gen. Laws § 27-3.2-9. 

 
(b) Nonresidents - $130 

 
Fee is calculated by adding $60 per year fee of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-
2.4-4, $5 per year retaliatory fee and a $5 per year Continuing 
Education tracking fee of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-3.2-9. 

 
(2) Insurance Claim Adjusters 

  
(a) Initial Application – Resident and Nonresident Claims Adjuster 

Biennial License Fee: $150 (comprised of $50 application fee and 
$50 annual fee pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-10-6) 

 
(b) Renewal Application - Residents and Nonresidents - $100 

(comprised of $50 annual fee pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-10-6) 
 

(3) Motor Vehicle Damage Appraisers 
 

(a) Initial Application – Resident and Nonresident Motor Vehicle 
Damage Appraisers Biennial License Fee: $150 (comprised of $50 
application fee and $50 annual fee pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 
27-10.1-1) 
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(b) Renewal Application - Residents and Nonresidents - $100 
(comprised of $50 annual fee pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-10.1-
1) 

 
(4) Surplus Line Brokers (both initial application and renewal) 

 
(a) Residents and nonresidents -   $100.00 
 

Fee is comprised of the $50 per year or part thereof pursuant to R.I. 
Gen. Laws § 27-3-42 

 
(b) An individual is only eligible for a Surplus Lines Brokers license if 

the individual has a valid Insurance Producers License with Property 
& Casualty lines of authority.  In order to obtain a Surplus Lines 
Brokers license the individual must apply and pay the above fees in 
addition to fees charged for the Insurance Producers license.   

 
(5) Third Party Health Insurance Administrators  
 

(a) Fee for Certificate of Authority or Waiver (Resident and 
Nonresident) - $250 

 
(b) Third Party Administrators must file an annual report pursuant to 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-20.7-14.  A fee of $150 must be submitted 
with that report pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-20.7-12. 

 
(6) Reinsurance Intermediaries  

 
Biennial License Fee (initial application and renewal) - $200 (comprised 
of $100 per year or part thereof per R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-52-4(d)(3).) 

 
Section 5 Miscellaneous Fees
 
(A) The Department will charge the following fees for services and documents for all 

license types: 
 

(1) Duplicate License Fee: $25.00. 
 

(2) Letter of Certification Fee: $15.00. 
 
(3) Letter of Clearance Fee: $15.00. 
 
(4) Returned Check Fee: $25.00.  

(5) Amendment to License Fee: $50 
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(6) Reinstatement Fee - $50  

Licenses will be reinstated if the licensee makes application within one year 
of expiration and pays the reinstatement fee in addition to all applicable 
licensing renewal fees. 
 

Section 6 Contracted Producers Report
 

(1) Each licensed insurance company doing business in Rhode Island must file 
with the Department a report listing each insurance producer that was paid 
more than $100 in commissions by the insurer for business written in 
Rhode Island. 

 
(2) The report shall be filed with the Department on or prior to March 1 of 

each year and shall provide a listing of all insurance producers falling 
within the criteria for the prior calendar year. 

 
(3) Each licensed insurer shall pay to the Department a fee of $30 for each 

producer listed in the report in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-2.4-
4(b)(3).  

 
(4) Effective January 1, 2008 all contracted producer reports shall be filed 

electronically in accordance with instructions given by the Department. 
 

(5) The Department may contract with outside vendors for the electronic 
processing of the report and may require that licensed insurers pay a 
reasonable fee to such vendors for processing of the report. 

 
Section 7 Collection of Licensing Fees and Data  
 

The Department may contract with non-governmental entities, including the 
NAIC or any affiliates or subsidiaries that the NAIC oversees, to perform any ministerial 
functions, including the collection of fees and data, related to licensing that the 
Department may deem appropriate. 
 
Section 8 Severability

 
If any provision of this Regulation or the application thereof to any person or 

circumstances is held invalid or unconstitutional, the invalidity or unconstitutionality 
shall not affect other provisions or applications of this Regulation which can be given 
effect without the invalid or unconstitutional provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this Regulation are severable. 
 
Section 9 Effective Date
 

This Regulation and the amendments thereto shall be effective as indicated below. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2004 
AMENDED:  March 27, 2006 
   January 1, 2007 
   September 1, 2008 
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