
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 
PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE-MAKING 

 
In accordance with Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) § 42-35-3, notice is hereby given that the 
RI Department of Corrections (RIDOC) proposes to amend the following RIDOC rule: 
 

28.25-3 DOC 
Offender Supervision and Interstate Transfer Application Processing Fees 

FEE SCHEDULE ONLY 
 
This amended rule includes revisions which reflect: 
 

• updated Probation and Parole Offender Fees document to include Electronic 
Monitoring Supervision Fee 

 
• modification to Probation and Parole Offender Supervision Fee – Non-

electronic monitoring Supervision Fee – change of name to whom the check is 
made out 

  
In the development of this rule, consideration was given to the following: (1) alternative 
approaches; and (2) overlap or duplication with other statutory and regulatory provisions.  No 
alternative approach or duplication or overlap was identified based upon available information. 
 
This proposed rule is accessible on the RI Secretary of State website 
(http:/www.sec.state.ri.us/ProposedRules/) and the RIDOC website 
(http://www.doc.ri.gov/index.php) or available in hard copy upon request (401) 462-3533.  
Interested persons should submit written comments by January 16, 2015, to Jayne Del Sesto, 
Chief, Program Development, RI Department of Corrections, 1375 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 
02920 (jayne.delsesto@doc.ri.gov). 
 
In accordance with RIGL 42-35-3, an oral hearing will be granted if requested by twenty-five 
(25) persons, by an agency or by an association having at least twenty-five (25) members. A 
request for an oral hearing must be made within thirty (30) days of this notice. 
 
RIDOC does not discriminate against individuals based on race, color, national origin, sex, 
gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, religious belief, political belief or handicap in 
acceptance for or provision of services or employment in its programs or activities. 
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RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 
ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE 

 
NOTICE:  PROBATION AND PAROLE OFFENDER FEES 

 
Supervision Fees – Probation and Parole Non-Electronic Monitoring 
 
As of March 17, 2008, all individuals who are under active probation or parole supervision in 
Rhode Island are required to pay an offender supervision fee.  The fee of $20.00 per month 
must be paid for each month of supervised probation or parole.   
 
All fees are collected by a private company under contract with the State of Rhode Island for 
this purpose.  A bill will be sent to each offender on a regular basis.  Payment must be by 
check or money order made payable to the collection agency and delivered by mail.   
 
Failure to pay all fees or falling behind on payments could result in civil legal action against 
you, even after your probation or parole has terminated.   
 
You will be held responsible for payment of the full $20.00 for every month of supervision 
unless and until you demonstrate to your Probation or Parole Officer that you are unable to 
pay these fees.  You must apply to your Probation or Parole Officer for any waiver of the fee, 
which will be reviewed on a regular basis.   
 
Individuals being supervised on probation or parole are legally obligated to pay these fees.  
These fees have been instituted under the authority of Rhode Island General Laws §42-56-10 
(22), Powers of the Director, and §42-56-38, Assessment of Costs.  The amount of the fee and 
the general collection process were established following a public hearing on February 14, 
2008.   

Supervision Fees – Probation and Parole Electronic Monitoring 
 
As of (date of hearing), all individuals who are under active probation or parole supervision 
with EMP/GPS monitoring equipment in Rhode Island are required to pay an offender 
supervision fee.  The fee of $6.00 per day must be paid for each day of electronically 
supervised probation or parole.   
 
All fees are collected by the assigned Probation or Parole Officer on a weekly or other agreed 
upon schedule.  Payment must be by bank check or money order made payable to the Rhode 
Island Department of Corrections.  No cash, personal checks or credit cards will be accepted. 
 
Failure to pay all fees or falling behind on payments could result in civil legal action against 
you, even after your probation or parole has terminated.   
 
You will be held responsible for payment of $6.00 per day for the length of supervision unless 
and until you demonstrate to your Probation or Parole Officer that you are unable to pay these 
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fees.  You must apply to your Probation or Parole Officer for any waiver of the fee, which will 
be reviewed on a regular basis.   

Individuals being supervised on probation or parole are legally obligated to pay these fees.  
These fees have been instituted under the authority of Rhode Island General Laws §42-56-10 
(22), Powers of the Director, and §42-56-38, Assessment of Costs.  The amount of the fee and 
the general collection process were established following a public hearing on _____________. 

Interstate Transfer Application Fee 
 
All individuals who wish to apply for transfer of their probation or parole supervision to 
another state are required to pay an application fee of $60.00.  Each application for interstate 
transfer must be accompanied by payment of the fee, which must be completed prior to 
approval for transfer to another jurisdiction. 
 
Offenders who reside in states other than Rhode Island and have been placed on probation or 
parole in Rhode Island may apply to return to their “home” states and have supervision 
transferred.  In addition, offenders on probation or parole who reside in Rhode Island and 
wish to move to another state may also request to have supervision transferred.  Decisions 
regarding transfer of supervision are made by the sending state and the receiving state based 
upon established criteria.  
 
If you wish to apply for transfer of supervision to another state, you will be required to pay an 
interstate transfer application processing fee of $60.00.  All fees are collected by a private 
company that is under contract with the State of Rhode Island for this purpose.  A bill will be 
sent to you, and payment must be by check or money order made payable to the collection 
agency and delivered by mail.   If you are unable to afford the $60.00 fee, you must be able to 
demonstrate to the Interstate Compact office or to your Probation or Parole Officer that you 
are unable to pay the fee.   
 
Failure to pay the application fee in a timely manner (unless waived for financial inability to 
pay) could result in the transfer application not being processed, and transfer of supervision 
not being approved.  In addition, if you have been subject to paying a monthly supervision fee 
in Rhode Island, your payments must be current and up-to-date prior to your Interstate 
transfer application being processed.  Payment of the fees will enable the processing of your 
application to proceed, but does not guarantee that transfer of supervision will be approved. 
 
This fee has been instituted under the authority of Rhode Island General Laws section 42-56-10 
(22), Powers of the Director, and section 13-9.1-1.3, the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender 
Supervision.   
 
All fees are deposited to the State of Rhode Island General Treasury, in accordance with law. 
 
Public Notice:       Public Hearing:        
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RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 
ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE 

 
NOTICE: PROBATION AND PAROLE OFFENDER SUPERVISION FEE – 

 ELECTRONIC MONITORING 
 
As of __________________, all individuals who are under active probation or parole supervision in Rhode Island 
are required to pay an offender supervision fee.  The fee of $6.00 per day must be paid for each day of 
electronically supervised probation or parole.   
 
All fees will be collected by the assigned Probation or Parole Officer on a weekly or another agreed upon 
schedule.  Payment must be by bank check or money order made payable to the Rhode Island Department of 
Corrections.  No cash, personal checks or credit cards will be accepted. 
 
Failure to pay all fees or falling behind on payments could result in civil legal action against you, even after your 
probation or parole has terminated.   
 
You will be held responsible for payment of the full $6.00 for every day of supervision unless and until you 
demonstrate to your Probation or Parole Officer that payment of these fees would cause unreasonable financial 
hardship.  You must apply to your Probation or Parole Officer for any waiver of the fee, which will be reviewed 
on a regular basis.   
 
Individuals being electronically supervised on probation or parole are legally obligated to pay these fees, which 
have been instituted under the authority of Rhode Island General Laws section 42-56-10 (22), Powers of the 
Director, and section 42-56-38, Assessment of Costs.  The amount of the fee and the general collection process 
were established following a public hearing on ________________.   
 
All fees are deposited to the State of Rhode Island General Treasury, in accordance with law. 
 
Offender Supervision Fees are more fully explained in Policy #28.25-3 DOC (or a successive policy) + SOP. 
 
Notice reviewed with offender: 
 
Offender:  Date:  
 
 
P&P Staff:  Date:  
 
 
If you do not hear from Probation and Parole within 4 weeks, call: 
 

  

  

  
 
You must notify the office immediately of any change of address or telephone. 
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RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS  

ADULT PROBATION AND PAROLE  Date Entered _________  
          

Offender Fee and/or Interstate Application Fee 
Supervised Offender 

Hardship Waiver Assessment 
 

Client: ____________________________ PPTS #: _____________ DOB: ___________ 
 
HARDSHIP WAIVER REQUESTED FOR:  
⃞   OFFENDER FEE – Non-electronic monitoring: ($20.00 per month for all supervised offenders unless waived) 
 
⃞OFFENDER FEE – Electronic monitoring: ($6.00 per day for all supervised offenders unless waived) 
 
⃞    INTERSTATE TRANSFER APPLICATION FEE: ($60.00 unless waived)   
 
Information to Support Request as Available from Offender:   
a. # of Dependents, Including Offender:  _________________________________________ 
b. Family Income:    _________________________________________ 
c. Ability to Work/ Earn Income:  _________________________________________ 
d. Exceptional Expenses:   _________________________________________ 
e. Other Exceptional Circumstances:  _________________________________________ 
f. Unnecessary or Excessive Expenses:  _________________________________________ 
g. Supporting Documentation Reviewed:  _________________________________________ 
      [Paystub, tax return, disability award letter, _________________________________________ 
      evidence of expenses, etc.]   _________________________________________ 
Based upon review of policy criteria (refer to Policy 28.25-3 DOC and associated SOP) and evidence presented by offender, the 
Probation and Parole Officer determines that this individual:  
⃞  IS NOT qualified for a waiver of fees at this time. STOP HERE.  

 
⃞  IS qualified for a waiver of Interstate application fee.   
 FORWARD WAIVER INFORMATION TO INTERSTATE OFFICE. 

 
⃞  IS qualified for a waiver of offender supervision fees.  Effective day/month/year:________________** . 
    Offender supervision fee waiver is based on: 

⃞   Long-term hardship (specify disability, benefits recipient, serious illness/ accident, retired, other chronic inability to work or earn adequate 
income; chronic family illness with financial and/or care responsibility; homeless; etc.) and inadequate financial resources.  
___________________________________________________________________________________  
____________________________________________________________________________________. 

  
[Review at 12-Month Intervals.]  First Review Due Month/Year: __________________. 

 

⃞ Short-term hardship (specify unemployed or underemployed/ actively seeking work; short-term recovery from illness/ accident; 
participation in inpatient treatment program; full time student; exceptional client/family expenses; incarcerated – detained or sentenced – when not 
eligible for banking; etc.) and inadequate financial resources. 
_________________________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________. 

 
[Review at 4-Month Intervals.]  First Review Due Month/Year: ___________________. 
 

P+P Staff: ____________________________________   Date: ________________ 
 
Supervisor: ___________________________________  Date: ________________ 
 (**Any effective date that is longer than 3 months prior to the date of the form requires specific approval by the Supervisor.) 
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