
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
Department of Labor and Training 

Office of Legal Services 
  

LEGAL NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO  
BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL INSPECTIONS 

 
 The Department of Labor and Training, Division of Occupational Safety, under the authority granted by Title 28 

Chapter 25 of the General Laws of Rhode Island, 1956, as amended, granting the Department the power to adopt, 
amend, modify and reject general and special rules and regulations under Chapter 35 of Title 42 of the General 
Laws of Rhode Island as amended, proposes that item 14 in Part II of the rules regarding Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Inspections be amended as follows: 

 
 14. INSPECTION CERTIFICATE AND INSPECTION FEES 

(a) Certificate Inspection by Authorized Insurance Inspectors or State Inspectors 
  

If, after inspection by an authorized insurance inspector or state inspector, a boiler or 
pressure vessel is found to be safe and in conformance with these rules and regulations, 
the owner or user shall pay directly to the jurisdiction a biennial certificate fee of one 
hundred twenty dollars ($120.00) sixty ($60.00) dollars for each boiler which shall 
include hot water heaters. A triennial certificate fee of ninety dollars ($90.00) forty-five 
($45.00) shall be assessed for each unfired pressure vessel inspected under the 
provisions of R.I.G.L. 28-25. 

 
 Copies of the aforementioned proposed Rules are available for public inspection at the Rhode Island Department of 

Labor and Training, Division of Occupational Safety, Bldg. 70 – 2nd Floor, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 
02920, between the hours of 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.    

 
In the development of the proposed amendments consideration was given to:  (1) alternative approaches; (2) overlap 
or duplication with other statutory and regulatory provisions; and (3) significant economic impact on small 
businesses as defined in Chapter 42-35 of the General Laws, which may result from the proposed amendments.  
Based on available information, no significant economic impact was identified nor were there any alternative 
approaches, duplications or overlaps with other state regulations. 
 

Written comments regarding the proposed amendments are welcomed and will be accepted within thirty (30) days 
of the date of publication of this notice. Please address all comments or inquiries to Benjamin Copple, Legal 
Counsel, Department of Labor and Training, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. 
 

In accordance with the Rhode Island General Law, Section 42-35-3, an oral hearing on these proposed amendments 
will be granted if requested by twenty-five (25) persons or a governmental subdivision or agency, or by an 
association having not less than twenty-five (25) members.  A request for an oral hearing must be made within thirty 
(30) days of the date of publication of this notice.  If a hearing is properly requested, it shall be held on Wednesday, 
July 6, 2011 at 1:30 PM in Bldg. 70, 2nd Floor, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920.  
 

  
Signed this 2nd day of June, 2011 
 
 
___________________________________ 
Charles J. Fogarty 
Director, Department of Labor and Training  


