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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

FISH AND WILDLIFE 
 
 
 

R.I. Hunting Regulations 
for the 2011-2012 2012-2013 Season  

 
 

RULE 1 PURPOSE 
The purpose of these Rules and Regulations is to establish hunting season; 
to set the possession and bag limits; and to regulate the manner of hunting 
in order to efficiently manage the wildlife resources of Rhode Island. 

 
RULE 2 AUTHORITY 

These Rules and Regulations are promulgated pursuant to RIGL Chapters 
42-17.1; 20-15 and 20-18, and Sections 20-1-2; 20-1-4; 20-1-8; 20-1-12; 
and 20-1-13 and in accordance with Chapter 42-35, Administrative 
Procedures Act of the Rhode Island General Laws of 1956, as amended. 

 
RULE 3 APPLICATION 

The terms and provisions of these Rules and Regulations shall be liberally 
constructed to permit the Department to effectuate the purposes of state 
law, goals, and policies. 

 
RULE 4 SEVERABILITY 

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations, or application thereof to 
any person or circumstances, is held invalid by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, the validity of the remainder of the Rules and Regulations 
shall not be affected thereby.   

 
RULE 5 SUPERSEDED RULES AND REGULATIONS 

On the effective date of these Rules and Regulations, all previous Rules 
and Regulations, and any policies regarding the administration and 
enforcement of Hunting Regulations shall be superseded.  However, any 
enforcement action taken by, or application submitted to, the Department 
prior to the effective date of these Rules and Regulations shall be 
governed by the Rules and Regulations in effect at the time the 
enforcement action was taken, or application filed.   
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RULE 6 DEFINITIONS 
For the purposes of these regulations, the following terms shall have the 
following meanings: 
 
Antlerless deer – deer having no antlers or antlers less than three (3) 
inches in length. 
 
Bearded turkey – a turkey that carries a visible beard, i.e., a tuft of stiff 
filament-like feathers projecting outward and downward from the center 
of the chest. 
 
Box trap – any trigger operated device intended to restrain an animal by 
confinement in box or cage. 
 
Conibear-type trap – “conibear” model traps and similar body-gripping 
traps and devices, whether or not enclosed in or comprising part of a box, 
tube or other enclosing device. 
 
Crossbow – a bow and string that launches an arrow, mounted upon a 
stock, with a trigger unit that holds the string and limbs under tension until 
released.  The trigger unit must have a working safety.  The minimum 
crossbow, arrow, and blade restrictions are further described in Part 4 of 
these regulations. 
 
Daylight fluorescent orange – the color orange having a dominant wave 
length between 595 and 606 nanometers, an excitation purity not less than 
85 percent, and a lamination factor not less than 40 percent. 
 
Deer – Virginia white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) and any other 
free ranging deer encountered in the natural environment. 
 
Deer decoy – Device the replicates the body and form of a deer and may 
be used for the purpose of attracting deer during hunting. 
 
Driving deer/cooperative drive – to purse, drive, chase, or otherwise 
frighten or cause a deer to move in a direction toward a person or persons 
known to be waiting for deer. 
 
Earn-A-Buck Provision – Requires harvest of one antlerless deer prior 
to the harvest of a buck in a permitted management zone or hunting 
method. 
 
Feeding/baiting – the act of using, placing, giving, exposing, depositing, 
distributing, or scattering any material, or any act to maintain the 
availability of such material, that attracts wildlife to feed on such material. 
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Foothold – the nomenclature for a foothold trap is equivalent to that of 
leg-hold trap, as described in RIGL 20-16-8, including those foothold 
traps with padded jaws. 
 
Jack-lighting – the use (by an individual or in conjunction with others) of 
an artificial light at any time to illuminate, jack light, locate, attempt to 
locate, or show up wild birds or mammals or any other vertebrates when 
that person or persons have in their actual possession, in the passenger 
compartment of their vehicle, or in the storage area of a trunk or van, 
unless locked in a case, a crossbow, long bow (straight limb, reflex, re-
curve, or compound bow) rifle, gun, or pistol, except in accordance with 
these rules and regulations. 
 
Jamestown (Conanicut Island)/Aquidneck Island – all of Aquidneck 
Island with the exception of the city of Newport. 
 
Junior Hunter – a person 12-14 years of age who has completed a basic 
hunter safety course shall hunt only in the immediate company of a 
qualified licensed adult, 21 years of age or older. 
 
Paraplegic – an individual afflicted with paralysis of the lower half of the 
body with involvement of both legs. 
 
Replacement tags – free replacement tags for deer are issued only by 
DEM’s Division of Licensing after a hunter harvesting required antlerless 
deer as specified by zone management harvest regulations and upon the 
hunter providing evidence (checked field tags) of having checked the 
required antlerless deer. 
 
Small game season – that period of time beginning the third Saturday in 
October and ending the last day in February annually (not withstanding 
the regulated shotgun season for deer). 
 
Species specific traps – characterized by all of the following: triggering 
and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within housing; triggering and 
restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a single opening when 
set; the access opening does not exceed 2 inches in diameter; the 
triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force; has a 
swivel mounted anchoring system. 
 
Translocation – means the transport and release of live wild animals from 
one location to another. 
 
Written permission – means annual written permission of the owner of 
the land for any current deer season. 
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RULE 7 – REGULATIONS 
PART I 

 
GENERAL DEER HUNTING REGULATIONS 

 
1.1 A permit must be obtained for each individual deer taken in accordance with the 

bag limits for each season type. 
 
1.2 Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour 

after sunset.  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter 
killing same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the deer permit for 
the specific season (i.e., shotgun, archery, muzzleloader and/or paraplegic/double 
amputee hunter).  This tag must be separated from the permit with the appropriate 
month, day, or other information completed as required, and signed by the hunter.  
The tag must remain attached to the deer until the animal is processed for 
consumption or prepared for taxidermy.  It will be considered prima-facie 
evidence of hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the deer 
permit/tag is altered in any manner.  All deer must be checked by the hunter 
killing same, within 24 hours of taking at a Department biological check station, 
if in operation, or to an environmental police officer or by submitting a written 
kill report card as prescribed by the Department. 
 
1.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation are 

subject to change. 
 
1.3 Prohibited Activities: 
 

1.3.1 Hunting, pursing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or while 
deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited. 

 
1.3.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails, 

spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited 
on state property or on private property without the permission of the 
landowner.  All portable tree stands must be removed on state lands by the 
end of deer season. 

 
1.3.3 The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times. 

 
1.3.4 The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited with the exception that such 

devices are permitted on Private lands and only during the early archery 
season (September 15 until September 30, 2011).  In archery only 
designated areas, deer decoys may be used September 15 – January 31.  
When transporting deer decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must 
wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from all sides as is 
currently required for shotgun deer hunting. 
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1.3.5 Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited. 

 
1.3.6 Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual 

hunter, while hunting deer. 
 
1.4 Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land 

(RIGL 20-15-1 [4].  Such written permission must be carried at all times while 
deer hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie evidence 
of not having written permission to hunt such land.  Written permission must be 
shown to any authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when 
checking the deer. 

 
1.5 The use of natural or artificial scents, mouth or hand powered deer calls to attract 

deer is permitted. 
 
1.6 Pop-up blinds are permitted; however, muzzleloader hunters must display a 

minimum of 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from all directions 
during the muzzleloading deer seasons.  During shotgun deer season, 500 square 
inches of fluorescent orange is required. 

 
1.7 The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population and 

disease management. 
 
1.8 Resident All Outdoors Package Permit: Deer hunters may purchase one (1) 

resident All Outdoors Package Permit for the mainland deer seasons to take up to 
12 deer during the established seasons.  This package permit will only be 
available at DEM, RI Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, 
RI 02908.  This may be purchased by mail with a SASE or in person. 

 
A limit of 250 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve basis.  
Permits may be purchased in person or through the mail.  Due to high volume, 
permits sold over the counter may be returned by mail. 

 
1.8.1 Mainland either sex permits-may be used as follows: 

Hunter must fill in appropriate mainland code for the established season 
on the front of the permit and on the tag immediately after kill.  Hunters 
with All Outdoors permits are subject to the season limit of (3) antlered 
bucks (see 1.10) 
 
Archery:  One (1) mainland either sex permit. 
 
Muzzleloader:  One (1) mainland either sex permit. 
 
Shotgun:  One (1) mainland sex permit. 
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Archery, Muzzleloader and Shotgun: Two (2) All Outdoors Permits may 
be used, in any combination, during the archery, muzzleloader or shotgun 
portions of the season to take two (2) additional Antleress deer.  Under no 
circumstance may a hunter take more than (3) antlered bucks during the 
season. 

 
1.8.2 Seven (7) Mainland Antlerless Permits. 

May be used statewide in any combination during the appropriate season. 
 
1.9 Deer Management Zones are defined to recognize and achieve harvest and 

management strategies for deer in Rhode Island as follows (Figure 1): 
Deer Management Zone 1 
Deer Management Zone 2 

 
1.10 Season Limit on antlered bucks is three (3) statewide, regardless of the zone 

hunted.  All Outdoors package permits are allowed to take up to three (3) antlered 
bucks in any combination and by any method during the appropriate season. 
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Figure 1. 
 

RI Deer Management Zones 
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PART II 
DEER – MUZZLELOADING DEER SEASON 

 
 

2.1 MAINLAND MUZZLELOADING SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

State Lands: 
November 5 to November 27, either sex deer 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012, antlerless deer only. 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and one (1) anterless deer. 
 
Zone 1 Private lands: 
October 1 to October 4, antlerless deer only 
November 5 to November 27, either sex deer 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012, antlerless deer only. 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and two (2) antlerless deer; hunters are eligible 
for one (1) free replacement either sex tag upon checking two (2) antlerless deer. 
 
Zone 2 Private lands: 
November 5 to November 27, either sex deer 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012 antlerless deer. 
 
Permits Required:  Mainland Muzzleloader Permits. 
 
Either sex and antlerless permits may be purchased at any time for use on state or 
private lands in accordance with the provisions of this section. 

 
2.2 Checking and Tagging: As denoted in section 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously 

tagged by the hunter killing same immediately after killing or taking as provided, 
and taken by that same hunter to a DEM (state-operated) checking station within 
24 hours during the first four (4) days of the season, November 5 thru 8, 2011.  
During the remainder of the season deer must be checked either by an EPO or by 
deer kill report card within 24 hours of taking as prescribed by DEM. 

 
2.3 During the muzzleloader deer season, all hunters must wear a minimum of 200 

square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange material (see Section 14.5). 
 
2.4 Firearms for muzzleloader deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger using 

percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using percussion caps, 
rifle, or shotshell primers.  Only single barrel or double barrel firearms that must 
be loaded from the muzzle are allowed.  (Also see Section 14.9) 
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2.5 Ammunition for muzzleloader deer season is limited to a single projectile, 
including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles.  Sabot rounds for muzzleloader 
firearms either lead or jacketed are limited to .43 caliber or larger.  Powder is 
limited to manufacturers’ specifications.  Telescopic sights are permitted.  
Possession of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited.  A 
muzzleloader is considered unloaded when the percussion cap, primer or pan 
powder is removed. 

 
2.6 Archery equipment is permitted as a substitute during the muzzleloader season 

provided the hunter has and is hunting with a valid muzzleloader or archery 
permit and the hunter is certified to hunt with Archery equipment. 

 
2.7 Season limit is one (1) antlered buck statewide regardless of zone hunted.  Unless 

otherwise provided in 1.10. 
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PART III 
DEER – SHOTGUN DEER SEASON 

 
3.1 MAINLAND SHOTGUN SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

State Lands: 
December 3 to December 11, either sex deer 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012, antlerless only 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and one (1) antlerless deer. 
 
Zone 1 – Private Lands: 
December 3 to December 18, either sex deer 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012, antlerless deer only. 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and two (2) antlerless deer; hunters are eligible 
for one (1) free replacement either sex tag upon checking two antlerless deer. 
 
Zone 2 – Private Lands: 
December 3 to December 18, 
December 26, 2011 to January 1, 2012, antlerless deer only. 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and one (1) antlerless deer. 
 
Permits Required: Mainland Shotgun Permit. 

 
3.2 No person shall take deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than five shells, 

unless it is plugged with one-piece filler, which is incapable of removal without 
disassembling the gun. 

 
3.3 Ammunition permitted shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or sabot round.  

Buckshot is limited to double 00 or larger.  Buckshot in 20-gauge is prohibited.  
Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed. 

 
3.4 Checking and Tagging: 

As denoted in section 1.2, all deer must be conspicuously tagged by the hunter 
killing same immediately after killing or taking as provided.  Deer must be 
checked by an EPO or by deer kill report card within 24 hours of taking as 
prescribed by DEM.   

 
3.5 During the shotgun season for deer, all hunters, must wear a minimum of 500 

square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange material (see Section 14.5). 
 
3.6 All other hunting, except otherwise provided, under 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 9.2, 9.3, and 

11.9 is prohibited during the periods of December 3 – 18, 2011 and December 26, 
2011 – January 1, 2012. 
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3.7 Muzzleloading firearms and crossbows will be permitted during the shotgun 

season provided hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit as in 3.5 and 
conform to muzzleloader restrictions in sections 2.5 and 2.6 and/or crossbow 
equipment restrictions (see 4.4.1).  Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer with 
the shotgun tag immediately after taking.  All shotgun deer season fluorescent 
orange requirements will be enforced. 

 
3.8 Season limit is one (1) antlered buck statewide, regardless of zone hunted, unless 

otherwise provided under 1.10.  
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PART IV 
DEER – ARCHERY DEER SEASON 

 
4.1 MAINLAND ARCHERY SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

State Lands:  September 15, 2011 to January 31, 2012, 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and one (1) antlerless deer. 
 
Zone 1 – Private lands:  September 15, 2011 to January 31, 2012. 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and two (2) antlerless deer; hunters are also 
eligible for one (1) free replacement either sex tag upon checking two antlerless 
deer. 
 
Zone 2 – Private lands:  September 15, 2011 to January 31, 2012. 
 
Bag limit is one (1) either sex deer and two (2) antlerless deer. 
 
Permits Required:  Mainland Archery Permit 

 
4.2 Junior Archery Hunting Weekend:  September 10 and 11, 2011, for those junior 

hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting 
License.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least one qualified license 
adult who is at least 21 years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode Island 
hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more than two junior 
hunters at one time.  Adults are prohibited from carrying bows.  Junior hunters 
may use either sex or antlerless archery permits as provided for in Section 4.1. 

 
4.3 No bow used in hunting deer shall be equipped with any mechanical device for 

drawing or releasing the arrow unless in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4 and 
section 4.4.1 of these regulations for those persons meeting the disability 
requirement and those 65 years of age or older.  A bow string release device 
whereby the bow is hand held, hand drawn, and finger released is permitted.  
Hunters during the archery portion of the season may hunt deer with crossbow 
and use of adaptive aids only with a valid adaptive aid/crossbow permit as defined 
in Sections 4.4.1 may utilize adaptive aids. 

 
4.3.1 Special archery adaptive aid/or crossbow deer permits may only be 

obtained through DEM – Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, 
Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576.  An official application for permit 
issuance signed by a physician for first time applicants is required, 
accompanied by an official document on the physician’s printed 
letterhead, stating the certification of disability in accordance with RIGL 
20-15-4.  A copy of the permit will be sufficient in subsequent years for 
reapplication.  The permit card and associated record log must be carried 
at all times while deer hunting with a crossbow or adaptive aids and must 
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be shown to any authorized person upon demand.  Crossbow or Adaptive 
Aid evaluation card must be returned by the last day in February to Fish & 
Wildlife Field Headquarters, regardless of success, in order to be eligible 
in the future. 

 
4.3.2 Hunters, age 65 or older, are permitted to use adaptive aids without a 

special permit.  No crossbows permitted. 
 
4.4 Archers must use a long bow, re-curve or compound bow capable of not less than 

forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight for archers using fixed blade broadheads, 
and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a mechanical broadhead.  
Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two (2) metal cutting edges are 
allowed.  All broadheads must be 7/8 of an inch or greater at the widest point.  
Mechanical heads are measured in the “open” position and must be a minimum of 
7/8 of an inch. 

 
4.4.1 Only those crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are 

permitted: minimum draw of 150 pounds.  Expandable broadheads 
meeting the specifications in 4.5 are permitted.  However, as some 
crossbow manufacturers specifically recommend against mechanicals, 
nothing in this section should be construed as permitting such use.  One 
(1) field point arrow may be carried in the quiver for the safe discharge of 
the crossbow; the field point arrow must be made distinguishable from the 
crossbow arrow by a color difference.  All permittees must have taken and 
successfully completed both hunter education and bow hunter education 
classes to hunt with a crossbow or qualify for any special crossbow 
permit. 

 
4.5 A current archery deer permit is required for the archery season.  All deer must be 

immediately tagged by the hunter after killing or taking as provided.  Deer must 
be checked by an EPO or by deer kill report card within 24 hours of taking as 
prescribed by DEM. 

 
4.6 All archers including crossbow deer hunters, when traveling to and from a tree 

stand during the deer muzzleloading season must wear above the waist a 
minimum of 200 square inches of solid daylight fluorescent orange visible from 
all directions.  A fluorescent orange hat meets this requirement. 

 
4.7 Season limit is one (1) antlered buck statewide regardless of zone hunted, unless 

otherwise provided under Section 1.10. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Hunting Regulations for the 2011-2012 2012-2013 Season               15 of 74 



PART V 
SPECIAL DEER SEASONS 

 
 

5.1 PRUDENCE AND PATIENCE ISLANDS SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

State Lands:  October 22, 2011 to January 31, 2012, one (1) deer of either sex. 
 
Private lands:  October 22, 2011 to January 31, 2012, one (1) deer of either sex 
and one (1) antlerless deer. 
 
Junior Archery Weekend:  October 15 and 16, 2011, State or Private lands, one 
(1) deer of either sex. 
 
Paraplegic Hunters South End Management Area:  October 11-14, 2011, two (2) 
either sex deer. 
 
Permits Required: 
Prudence-Patience Island deer permits are required for the taking of deer on 
Prudence Island. 
 
The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands is by 
archery, including crossbows as specifically permitted in sections 4.3.1, 4.3.2 and 
4.5.  All other archery regulations apply.  Exemption: hunters complying with 
section 5.13 for paraplegic and double amputees may use shotguns as permitted in 
5.23. 

 
5.2 While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except for 

those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer season or as 
specified in Sections 4.4, 4.4.1 and 5.13. 

 
5.3 Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property, December 1-15, 

2011.  Archers will be limited to the taking of antlerless deer only.  Prudence 
Island permits are required in addition to the deer tags, as noted in section 5.3. 

 
5.4 A quota of 50 deer may be taken on state land to include 25 from the south end, or 

as provided in section 5.6. 
 
5.5 Checking and Tagging: All deer taken on Prudence Island must be immediately 

tagged by the hunter and checked by an EPO or by deer kill report card within 24 
hours of taking as prescribed by DEM. 

 
5.6 The Division of Fish and Wildlife retains the right to alter the number of hunters, 

number of days hunted, and total deer harvested within the above season, if 
conditions warrant. 
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5.7 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on Patience and 

Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands.  The proficiency card is 
valid for two years from the date of issue and must be carried while hunting. 

 
5.8 Written permission of private landowner is required and must be countersigned by 

the Chief of Police or his/her representative on Prudence Island. 
 
5.9 On Prudence Island, during the period September 15, 2011 through January 31, 

2012 inclusive, t he casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 
headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, 
whether public or private, or on any field, woodland, residential property, or 
forest, or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating, or 
attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited.   

 
5.10 On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife, except 

archery hunting for deer, as provided.  The possession of any firearm at any time 
on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as prescribed during the 
established archery season for deer, is prima-facie evidence of illegal hunting 
(except as provided in section 5.13). 

 
5.11 Waterfowl hunting on Prudence Island: The possession of firearms is permitted 

while en route to or during waterfowl hunting.  Waterfowl hunters must possess a 
minimum of six (6) decoys.  No ball ammunition may be possessed.  Possession 
of a loaded firearm more than (10) ten feet above mean high water is prohibited, 
except as provided in sections 9.2, 9.3.3, 9.5, & 11.2. 

 
5.12 Junior Archery Weekend: 

Archery deer hunting is permitted during Junior Hunter Archery Weekend; 
October 15 and 16, 2011 for those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a 
valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License.  Junior hunters must be accompanied 
by at least one (1) qualified license adult who is at least 21 years of age or older 
and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  And adult may 
accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time.  Adults are 
prohibited from carrying bows.  Junior hunters may use either sex or antlerless 
archery permit as provided for in 5.1. 

 
5.13 Special Season for Disabled Hunters: The taking of deer will be limited to 

paraplegic and double amputee hunters only. 
 

5.13.1 A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM Licensing 
Division, 235 Promenade St. Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576 by 
each applicant prior to the hunt.  None will be issued on the island.  An 
application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of 
a pervious paraplegic/double amputee hunting license, is required. 
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5.13.2 Shotguns permitted; however, none of the hunter’s assistants will be 
allowed to hunt or carry loaded firearms at any time.  No license is 
required of the assistants. 

 
5.13.3 All deer taken must be checked as provided in Section 5.5. 

 
5.13.4 All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported as soon as possible 

to the officer-in-charge. 
 

5.13.5 Ammunition is limited to slugs – 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only.  Buckshot 
is allowed by special permit only, 00 or larger.  Hunters may use 
muzzleloading firearms on Prudence Island as defined under 
Muzzleloading Deer Season, as defined in section 2.5 and 2.6. 
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PART VI 
BLOCK ISLAND DEER SEASON 

 
6.1 BLOCK ISLAND DEER SEASON AND BAG LIMITS: 
 

Archery: October 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 31;  
    November 1, 2, 3, 4. 
 
Archery and Muzzleloader: 

 November November 7,8,9,10,14,15,16,17,18,21,22 
 

Archery and Shotgun: November 28 and 29; December 
1,2,5,6,8,9,12,13,15,16,19,20,22,23. 
 
Shotgun: January 3,5,6,9,10,12,13,17,19,20,23,24,26,27,30,31; February 
1,2,3,6,7,8,9,10,13,14,15,16,17,20,21,22,23,24,27,28,29. 

 
6.2 All state owned land on block Island is closed to deer hunting for the 2011-2012 

season.  
 
6.3 Permit Required: A Block Island archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader deer permit is 

required to hunt deer on Block Island.  A hunter may purchase five (5) Block 
Island deer permits.  After checking as provided in section 6.7, a hunter may 
purchase additional Block Island shotgun, archery, or muzzleloader deer permits 
to take additional deer on Block Island.  Hunters may not possess more than five 
(5) permits of any type at one time. 

 
6.4 Landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is required for all 

hunting.  Landowners may give permission for archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader 
hunting on their property.  Permission will be tracked by the Police Department. 

 
6.5 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or sabot 

round.  Shotguns of 10, 12, 16 or 20 gauges are allowed.  Buckshot is limited to 
double 00 buck or larger in 12 gauge only. 

 
6.6 On Block Island, the casting of rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 

headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway or roadway, 
whether public or private, on any field, woodland, residential property, or forest, 
or on any building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating, or 
attempting to spot or locate any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited. 

 
6.7 All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner b y the hunter killing same 

immediately after taking and checked by and EPO or by deer kill report card 
within 24 hours as prescribed by DEM. 
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6.8 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer on 
Block Island.  The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the date of 
issue.  The proficiency card must be carried while hunting. 

 
6.9 All other deer regulations apply.  Equipment permitted for archery season include 

crossbows and adaptive aids as described in sections 4.3.1, 4.4.1, 4.5, and 4.5.1. 
 
6.10 All deer hunters must wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange, except 

archery hunters during the archery only portion of the season are exempt from this 
requirement. 

 
6.11 Designated town lands will be open to hunting during the last two (2) weeks of 

the season. 
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PART VII 
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS 

 
7.1 Northwest Cooperative – The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting permits 

serve as written permission for hunting this private land.  These permits must be 
carried in addition to your individual deer permits.  Turkey hunting is also 
permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid license and turkey permit.  No 
additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys. 

 
7.1.1 Deer hunters must have Special Permits to hunt the Northwest 

Cooperative.  A permit is required for each season: Archery, 
Muzzleloader, and Shotgun.  The Division reserves the right to alter the 
number of hunters, permits, or days of hunting as conditions warrant.  
Permits must be returned by February 15, 2012.  Hunters must return 
permit to be eligible for the next season’s permit.  (Reference 2.1) 

 
7.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by sending a 

(LEGAL SIZE) self-addressed stamped enveloped to: NORTHWEST 
COOP. , R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, RI 02892.  Indicate the permit type (e.g. archery, muzzleloader, 
and/or shotgun). 

 
7.2 Francis Carter Preserve Cooperative Hunting Area is restricted to archery hunting 

of deer from September 15, 2011 to January 31, 2012 and as provided in sections 
7.2.1 through 7.2.5 of these regulations.  No hunting of any other species of 
wildlife is permitted.  All regulations in General Deer Part I and Archery Deer 
Part IV of these regulations shall apply. 

 
7.2.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time.  No vehicles of any 

kind are allowed on the property. 
 
7.2.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  The use 

of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.  
Climbing tree stands are permitted.  Tree stands must be removed at the 
end of the season. 

 
7.2.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Carter 

Preserve.  The proficiency cards are valid for two years from the date of 
issuance and must be carried while hunting.  Either Prudence/Patience 
Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency cards are 
permitted. 

 
7.2.4 A Carter Preserve Hunting Permit is required and will serve as written 

permission to hunt this private land.  This permit must also be carried 
while hunting.  Permits are available by sending a self-addressed stamped 
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enveloped to RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, 
West Kingston, RI 02892.  All requests must contain your name, address, 
current hunting license number and current archery proficiency number.  
One request per envelope.  Hunters must return their permit and hunting 
log by February 15, 2012 regardless of activity or success, to be eligible 
for the next season’s hunt. 

 
7.3 Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area 

November 7, 2011 – January 31, 2012.  No hunting on weekends prior to 
December 31, 2011. 
 
7.3.1 No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.  All regulations in 

General Deer Part I and Archery Deer Part IV of these regulations shall 
apply. 

 
7.3.2 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. 

 
7.3.3 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited.  The use 

of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.  
Climbing tree stands are permitted and must be removed at the end of the 
season. 

 
7.3.4 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Beavertail 

Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area.  The proficiency cards are valid 
for two (2) years from the date of issuance and must be carried while 
hunting.  Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner 
Relations proficiency cards are permitted. 

 
7.3.5 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is required 

and will serve as written permission to hunt this property.  The permit can 
be obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station.  This permit must 
also be carried while hunting.  Hunters must return their card regardless of 
activity or success by February 15, 2012 in order to be eligible for next 
season. 

 
7.3.6 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee is 

required.  Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the 
police station.  Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come 
first serve basis.  Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no more 
than twenty (20) days in advance.  Unused slots must be cancelled.  
Successful hunters must also cancel any reserved slots.  Hunters will be 
provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions.  Compliance 
with these and all other hunting regulations is required for future hunting 
privileges on this parcel.  The number of hunters and days of hunting are 
subject to change. 
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7.4 Grills Preserve Cooperative Hunting Permit 
 

7.4.1 Hunting for deer and wild turkey is permitted at the Grills Preserve-
Westerly Land Trust Property located west of Bowling Lane and Route 91 
in Bradford, RI and the Grills Preserve II – Hopkinton Land Trust located 
east of Route 91 in Hopkinton.  Special permits to hunt either Grills 
Preserve or Grills Preserve II may be obtained from:  

 
RIDEM Fish and Wildlife.  Permits available after September 1st, and may 
be obtained by sending a self-addressed (LEGAL SIZE) stamped envelope 
to: Grills Preserve COOP., R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great 
Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892. 

 
7.4.2 Hunting is permitted only during the archery and state and private 

muzzleloader portions of the deer season in accordance with the Rules and 
Regulations set forth by RI DEM as specified in sections 2.1 and 4.1. 

 
7.4.3 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the established 

turkey seasons by RI DEM as specified in sections 10.1-10.3. 
 

7.4.4 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the 
conclusion of the spring turkey season. 

 
 
7.5 Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area – North Camp Portion 
 

7.5.1 Hunting for deer or turkey by permit only available from the RI DEM 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 
Great Neck Road, West Kingston, R.I. 02892 by mail with a self-
addressed stamped envelope.  All other deer hunting regulations apply. 

 
7.5.2 Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as 

marked on map enclosed with permit 
 
7.5.3 The following are PROHIBITED: 

 
A. Hunting birds on or within 100 yards of the shore of Watchaug 

Pond or Poquiant Brook as referenced in RIGL 20-14-8. 
B. Hunting birds in that portion of the park west of Watchaug Pond, 

west of Poquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road as 
referenced in RIGL 20-14-8.1. 

 
7.6 Providence Water Supply Cooperative:  allows deer hunting only by special 

permit within portions of the Scituate Reservoir Property (approximately 2900 
acres).  Permits will be available to 150 hunters selected by lottery to participate 
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in the hunt.  This hunt will follow season dates and bag limits for deer hunting 
during archery, muzzleloader and shotgun seasons established by the DEM. 

 
7.6.1 Hunters must abide by all State deer hunting seasons for Zone 1, 

regulations and the additional requirements of this permit.  The hunt may 
be suspended at any time due to conditions at the exclusive determination 
of the DEM and the Providence Water Supply Board. 

 
The PWS Coop will be open October 1 to October 4 for hunting antlerless deer 
only using muzzleloader. 
 
7.6.2 Hunters will be required to attend a pre-hunt meeting (to obtain maps and 

specific instructions) and must possess a hunting license and a minimum 
of two valid antlerless deer hunting tags at that meeting. 

 
7.6.3 Hunters are required to have the written permit and a photo ID in their 

possession at all times while hunting and are required to fill out a daily 
hunting record log for the entire season.  The hunting permit and daily 
hunting record must be returned to DEM at the conclusion of the season 
(by February 15, 2012). 

 
7.6.4 Construction of permanent tree stands is prohibited; however, the use of 

climbing, ladder or hand on stands that do not damage trees are allowed.  
Tree Stands must be removed immediately at the conclusion of the season. 

 
7.6.5 No hunting for any other species or any other activities is permitted. 

 
7.6.6 Applications to hunt the cooperative are available online 

(www.dem.ri.gov) or by sending a self addressed stamped envelope to the 
Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, 
RI 02892.  Application must be postmarked by August 15, 2011. 

 
7.6.7 Failure to comply with any and all provisions of this cooperative hunting 

season will result in the hunter being terminated from the program. 
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RULE 7 – REGULATIONS 
PART I 

DEER HUNTING  
 
1.1 A deer permit must be obtained prior to hunting for each individual deer taken in 

accordance with the bag limits for each season type, statewide. 
 
1.2 Open Season (all dates inclusive) 
 

1.2.1 Archery: September 15 to January 31 
 
1.2.2 Muzzleloader:   November 3 to November 25 
 

1.2.1.1 September 29 to October 4, Zone 1, Private Property, Antlerless Deer 
only. 

             
1.2.3 Shotgun:  December 1 to December 16 and  

     December 26 to January 2 
 

1.2.3.1 State Lands closed to deer hunting December 26 to  
January 2 

 
1.2.3.2 December 26 to January 2, Statewide-Private Property, Antlerless 

Deer only 
 
 1.2.4 Prudence Island: October 20 to January 31 

 
 1.2.4.1 Paraplegic hunter season October 9 - 12 
 
1.2.5 Block Island: 
 

1.2.5.1 Archery: October 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, 23, 24, 25, 
26, 29, 30, 31; November 1, 2 

 
1.2.5.2 Archery and Muzzleloader: November 5, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 

16, 19, 20 
 

1.2.5.3 Shotgun: November 26, 27, 29, 30;  
December 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21; 
January 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 22, 23, 24, 
25, 28, 29, 30, 31;  
February 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20, 
21, 22, 25, 26, 27, 28 
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1.3 Season Limit: 
 

1.3.1 Three (3) antlered deer (buck) statewide, except Zone 3 (see 1.3.2.3.1) 
 

1.3.2 Antlerless deer bag limit is by Deer Management Zone 
 

1.3.2.1 Zone 1 (Mainland Private and State Land): Four (4) Antlerless 
Deer 

  
1.3.2.1.1 Hunters are eligible for one (1) free Replacement Tag 

for an additional Antlerless deer upon presenting to 
DEM proof of harvesting two antlerless deer in Zone 1. 

 
1.3.2.2 Zone 2 (Mainland Private and State Land): Three (3) Antlerless 

Deer 
 
1.3.2.3 Zone 3 (Prudence – Patience Islands Private and State Land): Two 

(2) Antlerless Deer 
 

1.3.2.3.1 The bag limit of antlered deer (buck) in Zone 3 is one 
(1) per season, included in the statewide season limit of 
three (3) buck statewide. 

 
1.3.2.4 Zone 4 (Block Island Private Land Only): Five (5) Antlerless deer, 

except as provided in 1.17.2.  
 

1.4 Legal hours for hunting deer are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour 
after sunset.  All deer must be tagged in a conspicuous manner by the hunter 
killing same, immediately after taking, with the tag portion of the deer permit for 
the specific season (archery, muzzleloader, shotgun and/or paraplegic/double 
amputee hunter). This tag must be separated from the permit with the appropriate 
month, day, or other information completed as required, and signed by the hunter. 
The tag must remain attached to the deer until the animal is processed for 
consumption or prepared for taxidermy. It will be considered prima-facie 
evidence of hunting without a valid deer permit if any portion of the deer 
permit/tag is altered in any manner. 

 
1.5 Prohibited Activities: 
 

1.5.1 Hunting, pursuing, or molesting deer below mean high tidal water, or 
while deer are swimming in any waters of the state is prohibited. 

 
1.5.2 The construction and/or use of permanent tree stands, or the use of nails, 

spikes, bolts, or climbing devices which may damage trees, is prohibited 
on state property or on private property without the permission of the 
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landowner. All portable tree stands must be removed on state lands by the 
end of deer season. 

1.5.3 The use of electronic deer calls is prohibited at all times. 

1.5.4 The use of decoys to attract deer is prohibited with the exception that such 
devices are permitted on Private lands and only during the early archery 
season (September 15 until September 30). On private land in towns 
where hunting with a firearm is prohibited but use of archery equipment is 
allowed deer decoys maybe used September 15 – January 31. When 
transporting deer decoys for the purpose of hunting, persons must wear 
500 square inches of fluorescent orange visible from all sides as is 
currently required for shotgun deer hunting. 

1.5.5 Driving deer by parties of over five (5) people is prohibited. 

1.5.6 Only one firearm or bow may be possessed in the field per individual 
hunter, while hunting deer. 

1.5.7 During the period September 15 through the last day of February 
(statewide and islands), casting of rays of artificial lights, including 
spotlights, headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on any highway 
or roadway, whether public or private or on any field, woodland, 
residential property or forest, on any building or farm animal, for the 
purpose of spotting, locating or attempting to spot or locate any wild 
animal or wild bird is prohibited. 

1.5.7.1 The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night – 
vision equipment while hunting is prohibited. 

1.6 Annual written permission is required to hunt deer on privately owned land 
(RIGL 20-15-1 [4].  Such written permission must be carried at all times while 
deer hunting and failure to have such written permission is prima-facie evidence 
of not having written permission to hunt such land.  Written permission must be 
shown to any authorized person upon demand, and must be presented when 
checking the deer. 

1.7 The use of natural or artificial scents, mouth or hand powered deer calls to attract 
deer, is permitted. 

1.8 Pop-up blinds are permitted; however, during the gun season, hunters must 
display a minimum of 200 square inches of fluorescent orange visible on the 
outside of the blind from all directions.  Hunters must also wear orange in 
accordance with the rules for the specific seasons while in the blind. 

Hunting Regulations for the 2011-2012 2012-2013 Season               27 of 74 



 1.9 The Division retains the right to sample any and all tissues for population and 
disease management. 

1.10 Resident All Outdoors Package Permit: Deer hunters may purchase one (1) 
resident All Outdoors Package Permit for the mainland deer seasons to take up to 
8 deer during the established seasons. This package permit will only be available 
at DEM, RI Division of Licensing, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908. 
This may be purchased by mail with a SASE or in person. 

1.10.1 A limit of 300 permit packages will be sold on a first come first serve 
basis.  Permits may be purchased in person or through the mail.  Due to 
high volume, permits sold over the counter may be returned by mail. 

1.10.2 The All Outdoor Hunting Package consists of three (3) Antlered deer 
(buck) permits and five (5) Antlerless deer permits that may be used in 
any combination statewide during the Open Season. 

1.11 Deer Management Zones are defined to recognize and achieve harvest and 
management strategies for deer in Rhode Island as follows (Figure 1): 
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1.12 Checking and Tagging: All deer harvested must be conspicuously tagged by the 
hunter immediately after killing or taking as provided, and reported to DEM 
within 24 hours by mailing a Pre-Paid Deer Season Kill Report Card.  Except that, 
during the first four (4) days of the Muzzleloader deer season, November 3 thru 6, 
2012, all deer harvested statewide must be brought to a State Operated Checking 
Station to be physically weighed, measured and inspected.  During the remainder 
of the season, deer must be checked by mailing within 24 hours the Deer Season 
Kill Report Card or by an Environmental Police Officer (EPO). 

1.13 Archery Season: 

1.13.1 No bow used in hunting deer shall be equipped with any mechanical 
device for drawing or releasing the arrow unless in accordance with RIGL 
20-15-4 for those persons meeting the disability requirement and those 65 
years of age or older.  A bow string release device whereby the bow is 
hand held, hand drawn, and finger released is permitted.  Hunters during 
the archery portion of the season may hunt deer with crossbow and use of 
adaptive aids only with a valid adaptive aid/crossbow permit as defined. 

1.13.1.1 Special archery adaptive aid/or crossbow deer permits may only 
be obtained through DEM-Division of Licensing, 235 
Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576.  An 
official application for permit issuance signed by a physician for 
first time applicants is required, accompanied by an official 
document on the physician's printed letterhead, stating the 
certification of disability in accordance with RIGL 20-15-4.  A 
copy of the permit will be sufficient in subsequent years for 
reapplication.  The permit card and associated record log must be 
carried at all times while deer hunting with a crossbow or 
adaptive aids and must be shown to any authorized person upon 
demand. Crossbow or Adaptive Aid evaluation card must be 
returned by the last day in February to Fish & Wildlife Field 
Headquarters, regardless of success, in order to be eligible in the 
future. 

1.13.1.2  Hunters, age 65 or older, are permitted to use adaptive aids 
without a special permit; however, crossbows are not permitted. 
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1.13.2 Archers must use a long bow, re-curve or compound bow capable of not 
less than forty (40) pounds at peak draw weight for archers using fixed 
blade broadheads, and a minimum of fifty (50) pounds for archers using a 
mechanical broadhead.  Only broadhead tipped arrows with at least two 
(2) metal cutting edges are allowed.  All broadheads must be 7/8 of an 
inch or greater at the widest point.  Mechanical heads are measured in the 
“open” position and must be a minimum of 7/8 of an inch. 

1.13.3 Crossbows:  Only crossbows meeting the following minimum criteria are 
permitted minimum draw of 150 pounds. Expandable broadheads are 
permitted. However, as some crossbow manufacturers specifically 
recommend against mechanical broadheads, nothing in this section should 
be construed as permitting such use. One (1) field point arrow may be 
carried in the quiver for the safe discharge of the crossbow; the field point 
arrow must be made distinguishable from the crossbow arrow by a color 
difference.  All hunters must have taken and successfully completed both 
hunter education and bow hunter education classes to hunt with a 
crossbow or qualify for any special crossbow permit. 

1.13.3.1  Hunters that qualify for the special permit with certificate of     
disability may use the crossbow during the archery hunting 
season but are required to abide by a 500 foot safety zone. 

1.14 Muzzleloader Season: 

1.14.1 Firearms for muzzleloader deer season are limited to .45 caliber or larger 
using percussion caplock, flintlock, and in-line ignition systems using 
percussion caps, rifle, or shotshell primers. Only single barrel or double 
barrel firearms that must be loaded from the muzzle are allowed. 

1.14.2 Ammunition for muzzleloader deer season is limited to a single projectile, 
including round ball, or maxi ball type projectiles. Sabot rounds for 
muzzleloader firearms are permitted using lead, jacketed or solid copper 
bullets according to manufacturer’s specifications.  Powder is limited to 
manufacturers’ specifications. Telescopic sights are permitted.  Possession 
of modern shotgun shotshells while hunting is prohibited. A muzzleloader 
is considered unloaded when the percussion cap, primer or pan powder is 
removed. 

1.14.3 Muzzleloader firearms and Crossbows will be permitted during the 
shotgun season provided hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit 
and comply with muzzleloader restrictions and/or crossbow equipment 
restrictions.  Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer with the shotgun deer 
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tag immediately after taking. All shotgun deer season fluorescent orange 
requirements will be enforced.  All hunters must have taken and 
successfully completed both hunter education and bow hunter education 
classes to hunt with a crossbow or qualify for any special crossbow 
permit. 

1.15 Shotgun Season: 

1.15.1 No person shall take deer with a shotgun capable of holding more than 
five shells, unless it is plugged with one-piece filler, which is incapable of 
removal without disassembling the gun. 

1.15.2 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season is limited to a single lead 
or alloy projectile, including rifled slugs or sabot round.  Buckshot is 
prohibited at all times.   

1.15.3 Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20-gauge are allowed. 

1.15.4 All other hunting, except otherwise provided, is prohibited during the 
periods of December 1-16.  State lands are closed to shotgun deer hunting 
during the period December 26 to January 2. 

1.15.5 Muzzleloader firearms and Crossbows will be permitted during the 
shotgun season provided hunters possess a current shotgun deer permit 
and comply with muzzleloader restrictions and/or crossbow equipment 
restrictions.  Hunters taking a deer must tag the deer with the shotgun deer 
tag immediately after taking. All shotgun deer season fluorescent orange 
requirements will be enforced.  All hunters must have taken and 
successfully completed both hunter education and bow hunter education 
classes to hunt with a crossbow or qualify for any special crossbow 
permit. 

1.16 Prudence – Patience Island (Zone 3): 

1.16.1 The only legal method of deer hunting on Prudence and Patience Islands is 
by archery, including crossbows. All other archery regulations apply. 
Exemption: hunters complying with section for paraplegic and double 
amputees may use shotguns. 

1.16.2 While archery deer hunting, no possession of firearms is permitted, except 
for those licensed to participate during the special paraplegic hunter deer 
season. 
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1.16.3 Archery deer hunting will be permitted on the Heritage Property, 
December 1-15.  

1.16.4 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters hunting deer on 
Patience and Prudence Islands, either private or state-owned lands. The 
proficiency card is valid for two years from the date of issue and must be 
carried while hunting. 

1.16.5 Written permission of the private landowner is required and must be 
countersigned by the Chief of Police or his/her representative on Prudence 
Island. 

1.16.6 On Patience Island, there shall be no hunting of any species of wildlife, 
except archery hunting for deer, as provided. The possession of any 
firearm at any time on Patience Island, except for archery equipment as 
prescribed during the established archery season for deer, is prima-facie 
evidence of illegal hunting. 

1.17 Block Island (Zone 4) 

1.17.1 State Land (Black Rock / Rodman Hollow) Hunting by special permit 
only, selected by lottery. 

1.17.1.1 Hunters selected will be assigned to hunt one of four periods     
designated by DEM. 

1.17.1.2 Six (6) hunters will be permitted per hunting period. 

1.17.1.3 DEM will assign hunters selected by lottery at their sole   
discretion. 

1.17.1.4 Applications (available at www.dem.ri.gov) to hunt state lands  
must be postmarked by August 15. 

1.17.2 A Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permit is required 
to hunt deer on Block Island. A hunter may purchase five (5) Block Island 
deer permits.  After checking as required, a hunter may purchase 
additional Block Island archery, muzzleloader or shotgun deer permits to 
take additional deer on Block Island.  Hunters may not possess more than 
five (5) Deer Permits of any type at one time. 

1.17.3 Private landowner permission, counter-signed by the Chief of Police, is 
required for all hunting. Private landowners may give permission for 
archery, shotgun, or muzzleloader hunting on their property. Permission 
will be tracked by the Police Department. 
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1.17.4 Ammunition permitted for shotgun deer season includes rifled slugs or 
sabot round. Shotguns of 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauges are allowed.  Buckshot 
is prohibited. 

1.17.5 Proficiency testing is required of all archery hunters that are hunting deer 
on Block Island. The proficiency card is valid for two (2) years from the 
date of issue. The proficiency card must be carried while hunting. 

1.17.6 All other deer season regulations apply. Equipment permitted for archery 
season includes crossbows and adaptive aids as described. 

1.17.7 All deer hunters must wear 500 square inches of fluorescent orange, 
except archery hunters during the archery only portion of the season are 
exempt from this requirement. 

1.17.8 Designated town lands will be open to hunting during the last two (2) 
weeks of the season. 

1.17.9 Pop up blinds are prohibited on Block Island. 
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PART II 
SPECIAL DEER SEASONS 

 
2.1 Junior Archery Hunting Weekends (Zone 1 and 2): September 8 and 9, for 

those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a valid Rhode Island Junior 
Hunting License. Junior hunters must be accompanied by at least one qualified 
license adult who is at least 21 years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode 
Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no more than two junior 
hunters at one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows. Junior hunters may 
use Antlered Deer or Antlerless Archery Deer Permits as provided. 

2.1.1 Prudence-Patience Islands (Zone 3) Junior Hunter Archery Weekend 
October 13 and 14 for those junior hunters (ages 12-14) in possession of a 
valid Rhode Island Junior Hunting License.  Junior hunters must be 
accompanied by at least one (1) qualified license adult who is at least 21 
years of age or older and holds a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery 
license. An adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at 
one time. Adults are prohibited from carrying bows.  Junior hunters may 
use Antlered or Antlerless Archery Deer Permit as provided. 

2.2 Prudence-Patience Island (Zone 3) Special Deer Season for Disabled Hunters.  
The taking of deer will be limited to paraplegic and double amputee hunters only. 

2.2.1 A special hunting permit must be obtained through the DEM License 
Division, 235 Promenade St. Providence, RI 02908 (401) 222-3576 by 
each applicant prior to the hunt. None will be issued on the island.  An 
application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter, or a photocopy of 
a previous paraplegic/double amputee hunting license, is required. 

2.2.2 None of the hunter's assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry loaded 
firearms at any time. No license is required of the assistants. 

2.2.3 All deer taken must be checked as provided. 

2.2.4 All deer wounded, but not recovered, must be reported to DEM within 24 
hours. 

2.2.5 Ammunition is limited to a single lead or alloy projectile, rifled slug or 
sabot rounds in 10, 12, 16, or 20 gauge only.  Buckshot is prohibited.  
Hunters may use muzzleloader firearms on Prudence Island as defined 
under Muzzleloader Deer Season. 
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PART III 
COOPERATIVE HUNTING PROGRAMS 

 
3.1 North West Cooperative: The Northwest Cooperative Deer Hunting permits 

serve as written permission for hunting this private land during the open deer 
seasons.  These permits must be carried in addition to your individual deer 
permits. Turkey hunting is also permitted on Northwest Cooperative with a valid 
license and turkey permit. No additional Northwest permit is required for turkeys. 

 
3.1.1 Deer hunters must have Special Permits to hunt the Northwest 

Cooperative. A permit is required for each season: Archery, Muzzleloader, 
and Shotgun. The Division reserves the right to alter the number of 
hunters, permits, or days of hunting as conditions warrant. Permits must be 
returned by the end of February. Hunters must return permit to be eligible 
for the next season's permit.  

 
3.1.2 Permits are available after September 1, and may be obtained by sending a 

(LEGAL SIZE) self-addressed stamped envelope to: NORTHWEST 
COOP., R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, RI 02892. Indicate the permit type (e.g. archery, muzzleloader, 
and/or shotgun). 

 
3.2 Francis Carter Preserve Cooperative:  is restricted to archery hunting of deer.  

No hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted.  

3.2.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. No vehicles of any 
kind are allowed on the property. 

3.2.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited. The use 
of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited.  
Climbing tree stands are permitted. Tree stands must be removed at the 
end of the season. 

3.2.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Carter 
Preserve. The proficiency cards are valid for two years from the date of 
issuance and must be carried while hunting. Either Prudence/Patience 
Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner Relations proficiency cards are 
permitted. 

3.2.4 A Carter Preserve Hunting Permit is required and will serve as written 
permission to hunt this private land. This permit must also be carried 
while hunting. Permits are available by sending a self-addressed stamped 
envelope to RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West 
Kingston, RI 02892. All requests must contain your name, address, current 
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hunting license number and current archery proficiency number. One 
request per envelope.  Hunters must return their permit and hunting log by 
February 15, 2013 regardless of activity or success, to be eligible for the 
next season’s hunt. 

3.3 Beavertail Cooperative: No hunting on weekends prior to December 31.  No 
hunting of any other species of wildlife is permitted. 

 3.3.1 No firearms are allowed on the property at any time. 

3.3.2 The construction of or use of permanent tree stands is prohibited. The use 
of nails, spikes, bolts, or devices that may damage trees is prohibited. 
Climbing tree stands are permitted and must be removed at the end of the 
season. 

3.3.3 Proficiency testing is required for all archery hunters on the Beavertail 
Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area. The proficiency cards are valid 
for two (2) years from the date of issuance and must be carried while 
hunting. Either Prudence/Patience Island or Hunter Ethics/Landowner 
Relations proficiency cards are permitted. 

3.3.4 A Beavertail Cooperative Archery Deer Hunting Area Permit is required 
and will serve as written permission to hunt this property. The permit can 
be obtained in person at the Jamestown Police Station. This permit must 
also be carried while hunting. Hunters must return their card regardless of 
activity or success by February 15, 2013 in order to be eligible for next 
season. 

3.3.5 Countersigned permission of the chief of police or his/her designee is 
required. Archers must reserve to hunt on the official sign-in log at the 
police station. Ten (10) hunters will be permitted per day on a first come 
first served basis. Hunters may sign up for five (5) slots per week, no more 
than twenty (20) days in advance. Unused slots must be cancelled. 
Successful hunters must also cancel any reserved slots. Hunters will be 
provided with a map, safety zone and parking restrictions. Compliance 
with these and all other hunting regulations is required for future hunting 
privileges on this parcel. The number of hunters and days of hunting are 
subject to change. 

3.4 Grills Preserve Cooperative: Hunting during the open season for deer and wild 
turkey at the Grills Preserve-Westerly Land Trust Property located west of 
Bowling Lane and Route 91 in Bradford, RI and the Grills Preserve II – 
Hopkinton Land Trust located east of Route 91 in Hopkinton. Special permits to 
hunt either Grills I and Grills II may be obtained from: RIDEM Fish and Wildlife. 
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Permits available after September 1st, and may be obtained by sending a self-
addressed (LEGAL SIZE) stamped envelope to: GRILLS PRESERVE COOP., 
R.I. Division of Fish and Wildlife,277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 
02892. 
3.4.1 Hunting is permitted only during the archery and muzzleloader portion of 

the deer season. 

3.4.2 Turkey hunting is permitted in accordance with rules for the established 
turkey seasons. 

3.4.3 Hunting permits and hunting effort data are to be returned at the 
conclusion of the spring turkey season. 

3.5 Burlingame North Camp Hunting Area – North Camp Portion 

3.5.1 Hunting for deer or turkey by permit only available from the RI DEM 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 
Great Neck Road, West Kingston, R.I. 02892 by mail with a self-
addressed stamped envelope. All other deer hunting regulations apply. 

3.5.2 Hunting is allowed in designated areas only; obey all safety zones as 
marked on map enclosed with permit. 

3.5.3 The following are PROHIBITED:  Hunting birds on or within 100 yards 
of the shore of Watchaug Pond or Poquiant Brook as referenced in RIGL 
20-14-8; and, Hunting birds in that portion of the park west of Watchaug 
Pond, west of Poquiant Brook and south of Buckeye Brook Road as 
referenced in RIGL 20-14-8.1. 

3.6 Providence Water Supply Cooperative:  Open for deer hunting only by special 
permit within portions of the Scituate Reservoir Property (approximately 5000 
acres). Permits will be available to hunters selected by lottery to participate in the 
hunt. This hunt will follow season dates and bag limits for deer hunting during 
archery, muzzleloader and shotgun seasons established by the DEM. 

3.6.1 Hunters must abide by all State deer hunting seasons for Zone 1, 
regulations and the additional requirements of this permit. The hunt may 
be suspended at any time due to conditions at the exclusive determination 
of the DEM and the Providence Water Supply Board. 

3.6.2 Hunters selected by lottery will be allowed to designate one hunting 
partner. 

3.6.3 Seven parcels will be open for deer hunting.  Five parcels will participate 
in the regular lottery and two parcels will be designated archery only 
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group-hunt areas.  Applicants may only apply for one type on the 
application.  Details about the hunting program will be specified on the 
DEM hunt application forms. 

3.6.4 Hunters will be required to attend a pre-hunt meeting (to obtain maps and 
specific instructions) and must possess a hunting license and a minimum 
of two valid antlerless deer hunting tags at that meeting. 

3.6.5 Hunters are required to have the written permit and a photo ID in their 
possession at all times while hunting and are required to fill out a daily 
hunting record log for the entire season. The hunting permit and daily 
hunting record must be returned to DEM at the conclusion of the season 
(by February 15). 

3.6.6 Construction of permanent tree stands is prohibited; however, the use of 
climbing, ladder or hang on stands that do not damage trees are allowed. 
Tree stands must be removed immediately at the conclusion of the season. 

3.6.7 No hunting for any other species or any other activities is permitted. 

3.6.8 Applications to hunt the cooperative are available online 
(www.dem.ri.gov) or by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope to the 
Great Swamp Field Headquarters, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, 
RI 02892. Applications must be postmarked by August 15, 2012. 

3.6.9 Failure to comply with any and all provisions of this cooperative hunting 
season will result in the hunter being terminated from the program. 
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PART VIII 
*MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS 

 
*Subject to Federal Approval 

 
8.1 Mourning Doves – The open season for mourning doves is statewide: 
 

September 17 to October 1, 2011, inclusive; 
October 15 to November 12, 2011, and 
December 21, 2011 to January 5, 2012, inclusive. 
 
Shooting hours are: 
First spilt: Noon to sunset. 
Second and third split: sunrise to sunset. 
Daily bag/possession limits: 12/24 

 
8.2 Rails – The open season for rails is: 

September 3, 2011 November 11, 2011, inclusive. 
Daily bag/possession limits: 
King & Clapper Rail – 1/2, singly or in aggregate 
Sora & Virginia Rail – 3/6, singly or in aggregate 

 
8.3 Common Snipe:  The open season for common snipe is: 

September 3 – November 11, 2011 
Daily bag/possession limits: 5/10 

 
8.4 Woodcock:  The open season for woodcocks is: 

November 1 – November 30, 2011 
 Daily bag/possession limits: 3/6 
 
8.5 Crows:  The open season for crows is: 

August 19 – October 9, 2011 – Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
October 15 – November 20, 2011, all-inclusive. 
December 16, 2010 – April 17, 2012 – Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
 
8.5.1 The hunting season for crows on state lands shall be from the beginning of 

dove season in September to the last day of February.  Hunting hours for 
crows are ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset.  Except on 
Northern Prudence Island Management Area, the season is January 4 – 31, 
2012 inclusive.  No daily bag or possession limit. 

 
8.6 Non-toxic shot reguirements; No person shall take or attempt to take waterfowl 

rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including Narragansett Bay and its 
coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while possessing shells loaded with any 
shot other than non toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-
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polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-nickel-iron-shot) and other shot as 
approved by USFWS.  All shot larger than BB is prohibited, including duplex 
loads containing shot large than BB. 

 
8.7 Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds and 

waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A through N) of the 
U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, made under the 
provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and waterfowl.  A 
HIP permit is required for hunting all migratory birds.  HIP permits will be 
available at local vendors.  Instructions and details will be available prior to the 
seasons.  In addition, hunters must purchase a federal and state duck stamp to hunt 
waterfowl. 

 
8.8 Canada Goose:  The open season for Canada goose is: 

September 1 – 30, 2011. 
 
Daily bag limit is 15/30 in possession (subject to Federal approval). 
 
Shooting hours are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour after sunset for 
September Canada goose hunting only. 
 
A permit must be obtained from the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife prior to 
hunting during the special September Canada Goose Season by sending a LEGAL 
SIZE self-addressed stamped envelope to: RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, 277 
Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892 and must be returned per date 
designated on permit regardless of hunting success.  One request per envelope.  
Hunters must return the permit to be eligible for the 2012 September Goose 
Season to above address. 

 
8.9 Sea Ducks:  The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is: 

October 8, 2011 – January 22, 2012 
Daily bag/possession limits 5/10, no more than four (4) of which may be eider, 
scoter, or long-tailed duck. 
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PART IV 
MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS 

 
4.1 Mourning Doves -The open season for mourning doves is statewide: 
 

4.1.1 Dates 
 

4.1.1.1 September 15 to October 15; 
 
4.1.1.2 October 20 to November 10; 

 
4.1.1.3 December 19 to January 5 

 
4.1.2 Shooting hours are: 
 

4.1.1.1 First split: noon to sunset. 
 
4.1.1.2 Second and third split: sunrise to sunset 

 
4.1.3 Daily bag / possession limits: 12 / 24 

 
4.2 Rails – The open season for rails is: 
 

4.2.1 September 1 to November 9. 
 
4.2.2 Daily bag / possession limits: 

 
4.2.1.1 King & Clapper Rail – 1 / 2, singly or in aggregate 
 
4.2.1.2 Sora & Virginia Rail – 3 / 6, singly or in aggregate 

 
4.2.3 Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise until sunset 

 
4.3 Common snipe: The open season for common snipe is: 
 

4.3.1 September 1 to November 9 
 
4.3.2 Daily / possession limits: 5 / 10 
 
4.3.3 Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise until sunset 

 
4.4 Woodcock: The open season for woodcocks is: 
 

4.4.1 October 20 to November 30. 
 
4.4.2 Daily bag / possession limits: 3 / 6 
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4.4.3 Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise until sunset 
 

 
4.5 Crows:  The open season for crows is: 
 

4.5.1 August 17 to October 7 – Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays only. 
 
4.5.2 October 13 to November 30, inclusive. 
 
4.5.3 December 14 to April 15 – Fridays, Saturday, and Sundays only. 

 
4.5.4 Hunting hours for crows are half hour before sunrise to half hour after 

sunset. 
 

4.5.5 The season on Prudence Island, except for North Prudence Island 
Management Area is January 4 to 31. 

 
4.5.6 No daily bag or possession limit. 

 
4.6 Non-toxic Shot Requirements:  No person shall take or attempt to take 

waterfowl, rails, or snipe within the State of Rhode Island, including Narragansett 
Bay and its coastal waters, to the three mile limit, while possessing shells loaded 
with any shot other than non-toxic shot (e.g., steel, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, 
tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, and tungsten-nickel-iron-shot) and other shot 
as approved by USFWS.  All shot larger than BB is prohibited, including duplex 
loads containing shot larger than BB. 

 
4.7 Allowed methods of taking and prohibited methods of taking migratory birds and 

waterfowl, are the same as set forth in 50 CFR 20 (sub parts A through N) of the 
U.S. Department of the Interior, Fish and Wildlife Service, made under the 
provisions of an Act of Congress relating to migratory birds and waterfowl. A 
Harvest Information Permit (HIP) permit is required for hunting all migratory 
birds. HIP permits will be available at local vendors. Instructions and details will 
be available prior to the seasons. In addition, hunters must purchase a federal and 
state duck stamp to hunt waterfowl. 

 
4.8 Canada Goose: The Special September season for Canada goose: 
 

4.8.1 September 1-30 
 
4.8.2 Daily bag limit is 15/30 in possession (subject to Federal approval). 

4.8.3 Shooting hours are one half hour before sunrise to one half hour after 
sunset for September Canada goose hunting only. 
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4.8.4 A permit must be obtained from the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife prior 
to hunting during the Special September Canada Goose Season by sending 
a LEGAL SIZE self-addressed stamped envelope to: RI Division of Fish 
and Wildlife, 277 Great Neck Road, West Kingston, RI 02892. 

4.8.5 The hunting permit must be returned to the Division per date designated 
on the permits regardless of hunting success.  Hunters must return the 
permit to be eligible for the 2013 September Goose Season to above 
address. 

4.9 Sea Ducks: The season for sea ducks (eider, long-tailed duck & scoter) is: 

 4.9.1 October 6 to January 20 

4.9.2 Daily bag / possession limits 5 / 10, no more than four (4) of which may 
be eider, scoter, or long-tailed duck. 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Hunting Regulations for the 2011-2012 2012-2013 Season               44 of 74 



PART IX 
UPLAND GAME 

 
9.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals, except dove, turkey, 

migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon will be sunrise to sunset, except as 
otherwise provided.  On October 15, 2011 legal shooting hours will be 7:00AM to 
sunset (see section 13.2.1.). 

 
9.2 Open season for Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits, and 

Snowshoe Hare is as follows: 
 

October 15, 2011 through the last day of February, EXCEPT, during the state land 
portion of the shotgun deer season (December 3 – 11, 2011). 
Prudence Island: 
 November 1, 2011 – November 30, 2011 EXCEPT on 
 Northern Prudence Island Management area the season is: 

January 4 – 31, 2012 inclusive.  South Prudence and Patience 
Management Areas closed to shotgun small game hunting. 

 
 9.2.1 Daily bag limits: 
  Cottontail rabbits – three (3) 
  Snowshoe hare – one (1) 
  Gray squirrels – five (5) 
  There is no bag limit for fox. 
 
9.3 Open season for Bobwhite Quail and Pheasant is as follows: 
 

Quail:  October 15 – November 27, 2011. 
Ring-neck Pheasant:  October 15 2011 – February 28, 2012.  (See 9.3.1 and 9.3.2) 
 
Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend:  October 8 and 9, 2011  
(See 9.3.5) 
 
9.3.1 Pheasant Permit: 

Hunters are required to purchase a pheasant permit ($15.50) of six (6) tags 
in order to hunt pheasants.  Upon harvesting a pheasant, hunter must 
detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag to the bird’s leg.  
Pheasant(s) in possession without an attached pheasant tag will be in 
violation of regulations.  Hunters may purchase multiple pheasant permits 
per season. 

 
9.3.2 Season and Bag Limits 

Ring-neck Pheasant: two (2) birds daily. 
Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds daily 
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9.3.3 Prudence Island: 
November 1 to 30 2011 – EXCEPT that on northern Prudence Island 
Management Area the season is January 4 to 31, 2012, inclusive.  South 
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small 
game hunting. 

 
9.3.4 On New Shoreham (Block Island), the open season on male ring-necked 

pheasants, with a daily limit of two (2) male pheasants, is as follows: 
November 23, 30 2011. 
December 7, 14, 21, 28 2011 
January 4, 11, 18, 25, 2012 
 
Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants 

 
9.3.5 Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: 

Pheasant hunting permitted during the special Junior Pheasant Hunting 
Weekend, October 8 and 9, 2011 for those junior hunters in possession of 
a valid Rhode Island Hunting License and a 2011 pheasant permit.  Junior 
hunters must be accompanied by at least (1) one qualified license adult, 
age 21 years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license.  An 
adult may accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time.  
The accompanying adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting 
pheasant.  Hunting will only be permitted at the Great Swamp 
Management Area in West Kingston and at Durfee Hill Management Area 
in Glocester.  Pheasant stamps are required (see 9.3.1)  Bag limit is (2) 
two pheasants per day.  Registration is required no later than September 9, 
2011.  Adults may call Fish & Wildlife Field Headquarters at 789-0281 or 
Hunter Education at 783-2304 for information.  A limit of 50 parties per 
management will be permitted.  In the event of fiscal constraints, the 
program may be altered. 

 
9.4 Closed season for Ruffed Grouse. 
 
9.5 No person shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant without having a 

valid game propagation permit in his/her possession. 
  

9.5.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged immediately upon 
harvest for identification with a tag supplied by the Division, at cost to the 
game propagation permittee. 

 
9.5.2 Permits for propagated pheasant hunting are available from the Division of 

Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908.  Such 
permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the applicant has met 
each of the following requirements: 

 
A. Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee. 
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B. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club 
at the time of the application or application of renewal. 

C. Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club 
owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five (25) or 
more acres at the time of the application or application of renewal. 
(hereinafter referred to as the ‘site’). 

 
9.5.3 Each game propagation permittee must keep an accurate record of all 

pheasants held by it; how, when and where acquired; how many released 
and when released; and how many taken on the site.  Permittee must 
provide this information to the Department within twenty-four (24) hours 
of the receipt of a request for such records from a Department staff 
member or no later than March 15th following the closure of the season. 

 
9.5.4 Each game propagation permittee is authorized to release and harvest 

pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season provided above 
in Section 9.3 for the taking on the site by club members and their guests 
provided the following restrictions are observed: 

 
A. Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode Island 

license.  Hunters are not required to have a state pheasant permit; 
however, hunters must tag each harvested pheasant with game 
propagation tags as required in 9.4.1 and 9.4.2. 

 
B. Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasants provided 

above in 9.3.2, i.e. no more than two (2) may be harvested on the 
site during any day per hunter. 

 
9.5.5 If a game propagation permittee is found to have provided false 

information in conjunction with its application pursuant to Section 
9.4.2, fails to comply with Section 9.4.3, or if or a member or guest 
violates Section 9.4.3, the subject permit shall be revoked for the 
remainder of the season and the action of the permittee or its 
member shall be considered if and when permittee applies for re-
issuance of a permit.  Pursuant to RI Gen. Laws, Chapter 42-17.7, 
a permittee who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to 
revoke the subject’s permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing 
must seek such hearing by filing a written request with the 
Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St., 
Providence, RI 02908 within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt 
of notice of revocation.  A permittee who feels aggrieved by a 
permit denial and seeks an Adjudicative hearing must seek such 
hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative 
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 
within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the contested agency 
action. 
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9.6 The hunting season on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings, and rock 
doves is closed on Prudence Island at all times, EXCEPT during the period 
November 1 through November 30, annually, or as otherwise provided.  South 
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small game 
hunting.  See 11.9.1.1 on coyote hunting on Prudence Island. 

 
9.7 The hunting of any species of wildlife EXCEPT deer, coyote, and waterfowl as 

provided, or as otherwise provided, is prohibited in Providence, Kent, 
Washington, Newport, and Bristol Counties during the annual shotgun deer 
season.  State lands will remain open to upland hunting during the private land 
only portions of the shotgun deer season. 
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PART V 
UPLAND GAME 

 
 
5.1 Legal shooting hours for all game birds and mammals, except dove, turkey, 

migratory birds, coyote, deer, and raccoon will be sunrise to sunset, except as 
otherwise provided. On Opening Day, legal shooting hours will be 7:00 AM to 
sunset. 

5.2 Red Fox, Gray Fox, Gray Squirrels, Cottontail Rabbits, and Snowshoe Hare open 
season: 

5.2.1 October 20 through the last day of February 2013, except, small game 
hunting is closed during the state land portion of the shotgun deer season. 

5.2.2 Daily Bag Limits: 

 5.2.2.1 Cottontail Rabbits – Three (3) 

 5.2.2.2 Snowshoe Hare – one (1) 

 5.2.2.3 Gray Squirrels – Five (5) 

 5.2.2.4 There is no bag limit for fox. 

5.2.3 Prudence Island: 

 5.2.3.1 November 1 to November 30 

5.2.3.2 The North Prudence Island Management Area season is January 4 - 31.  

5.2.3.3 South Prudence and Patience Management Areas closed to shotgun 
small game hunting. 

5.3 Bobwhite Quail, Ruffed Grouse and Ring-necked Pheasant open season: 

 5.3.1 Quail: October 20 – November 25. 

 5.3.2 Ring-necked Pheasant: October 20 – February 28 

 5.3.3 Junior Pheasant Season: October 13th and 14th 

 5.3.4 Ruffed Grouse: Season Closed  

5.3.5 Daily Bag Limits 

  5.3.5.1 Ring-neck Pheasant: two (2) birds. 
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  5.3.5.2 Bobwhite Quail: three (3) birds. 

5.3.6 Game Bird Permit: Hunters are required to purchase a Game Bird Permit 
in order to hunt pheasants.  Immediately upon harvesting a pheasant, 
hunters must detach a tag from the permit and affix the pheasant tag to the 
bird’s leg.  Hunters may purchase multiple Game Bird Permits per season.  

5.3.7 Prudence Island: November 1 to 30 – except that on North Prudence 
Island Management Area the season is January 4 to 31. 

5.3.8 New Shoreham: 

5.3.8.1 Open season Ring-necked pheasants: November 21, 28                            
December 5, 12, 19, 26 and January 2, 16 

5.3.8.2 Daily bag limit (2) male pheasants 

5.4 Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend: Pheasant hunting is permitted during the 
special Junior Pheasant Hunting Weekend for those junior hunters in possession 
of a valid Rhode Island Hunting License and a 2012 Game Bird Permit. Junior 
hunters must be accompanied by at least (1) one qualified license adult, age 21 
years or older, who holds a valid Rhode Island hunting license. An adult may 
accompany no more than two (2) junior hunters at one time. The accompanying 
adult is prohibited from carrying a firearm and hunting pheasant. Hunting will 
only be permitted at the Great Swamp Management Area in West Kingston and at 
Durfee Hill Management Area in Glocester. Bag limit is (2) two pheasants per 
day. Registration is required. Adults may call Fish & Wildlife Field Headquarters 
at 789-0281 or Hunter Education at 783-2304 for information. A limit of 50 
parties per management area will be permitted. In the event of fiscal constraints, 
the program may be altered. 

5.5 No person or club shall possess a live, artificially propagated pheasant without 
having a valid game propagation permit in possession. 

5.5.1 Each artificially propagated pheasant must be tagged immediately upon 
harvest for identification with a game propagation tag supplied by the 
Division, at cost to the game propagation permittee. 

5.5.2 Permits for propagated pheasant hunting are available from the Division of 
Licensing, Room 360, 235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908. Such 
permit shall be issued upon a demonstration that the applicant has met 
each of the following: 

 5.5.2.1 Payment of five dollars ($5.00) permit fee 
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5.5.2.2 Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club 
at the time of the application or application of renewal. 

5.5.2.3 Presentation of proof that the applicant is a bonafide hunting club 
owning a single body of land consisting of twenty-five (25) or 
more acres at the time of the application or application of renewal. 
(hereinafter referred to as the ‘site’) 

5.5.2.4 Each game propagation permittee must keep an accurate record of 
all pheasants held by it; how, when, and where acquired; how 
many released and when released; and how many taken on the site. 
Permittee must provide this information to the Department within 
twenty-four (24) hours of the receipt of a request for such records 
from a Department staff member or no later than March 15th 
following the closure of the season. 

5.5.2.5 Each game propagation permittee is authorized to release and 
harvest pheasants upon its site during the pheasant hunting season 
provided above for the taking on the site by club members and 
their guests provided the following restrictions are observed.  
Pheasants may only be taken by hunters with a valid Rhode Island 
hunting license. Hunters are not required to have a state pheasant 
permit; however, hunters must tag each harvested pheasant with 
the game propagation tag. 

5.5.2.6 Hunters may not exceed the daily bag limit for pheasant provided 
herein: no more than two (2) birds may be harvested on the site 
during any day per hunter. 

5.5.2.7 If a game propagation permittee is found to have provided false 
information in conjunction with its application, fails to comply 
with any provision or if it or a member or guest violates any 
provision, the permit shall be revoked for the remainder of the 
season and the action of the permittee or its member shall be 
considered if and when the permittee applies for re-issuance of a 
permit. Pursuant to RI Gen. Laws, Chapter 42-17.7, a permittee 
who feels aggrieved by an enforcement action to revoke the 
subject’s permit and who seeks an adjudicative hearing must seek 
such hearing by filing a written request with the Administrative 
Adjudication Division, 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 
within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of notice of revocation. 
A permittee who feels aggrieved by a permit denial and seeks an 
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Adjudicative hearing must seek such hearing by filing a written 
request with the Administrative Adjudication Division, 235 
Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908 within thirty (30) calendar 
days of receipt of the contested agency action. 

5.6 The hunting seasons on woodchucks, crows, English sparrows, starlings, and rock 
doves is open on Prudence Island November 1 through November 30. South 
Prudence and Patience Management Areas are closed to shotgun small game 
hunting.  

5.7 The hunting of any species of wildlife EXCEPT deer, coyote, and waterfowl as 
provided, is prohibited Statewide during the annual shotgun deer season. State 
lands will remain open to upland hunting during the private land only portions of 
the shotgun deer season. 

5.8 Methods of Take for small game hunting include .22 rimfire, shotgun, bow and 
arrow, muzzleloader, crossbow and air rifle. 

5.8.1 Hunters may use shotgun with lead shot (not larger than No. 2) and .22 
caliber rimfire, shotgun, bow and arrow, muzzleloader, and air rifle. 

5.8.2 A muzzleloader, not to exceed .40 caliber, may be used to hunt small 
mammals during the established season for these species. 

5.8.3 Air gun rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals: gray 
squirrels, red squirrels, woodchucks, cottontail rabbits, and snowshoe hare 
provided that the air guns are a minimum of .177 caliber and not large 
than .22; a minimum of 750 FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger. 

5.8.4 Hunters may use archery equipment for small game hunting meeting the 
minimum requirements for deer hunting and with the use of arrows 
containing small game blunt, judo or other similar small game harvest 
points. 

5.8.5 Hunters may use crossbow to take small game mammals; however, no 
birds may be taken with a crossbow. 
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PART XI 
WILD TURKEY 

 
10.1 Season bag and possession limits:  One (1) bearded turkey in the spring season 

and (1) either sex turkey in the fall season.  A separate permit must be purchased 
to hunt in each season.  Refer to 7.1, 7.4 and 7.5 for additional permits on 
cooperative hunting areas. 

 
10.2 Spring Turkey Seasons Dates:   
 

A. Special Season – Paraplegic hunters April 21 and 22, 2012 
B. Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend – April 21 and 22, 2012 
C. Statewide:  April 26 – May 22, 2012 

 
10.3 Fall Archery Season: 
 

October 1 – 28, 2011 
 
10.4 Special Paraplegic Season: 
 

10.4.1 A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM-RI Division of 
Fish and Wildlife.  Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic 
hunters only. 

 
10.4.2 An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required.  

Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing. 
 

10.4.3 None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms at 
any time. 

 
10.5 Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend: 
 

10.5.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting 
Weekend for those junior hunters, (ages 12-14), in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island hunting license.  Junior hunters must be accompanied by at 
least one qualified license adult at least 21 years of age or older who holds 
a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license.  An adult may accompany 
no more than two junior hunters at one time.  The accompanying adult is 
prohibited from carrying firearms and bows. 

 
10.5.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year. 

 
10.5.3 An adult accompanying a junior hunter may not carry a bow or firearm 

while hunting, but is permitted to assist the junior in calling the bird. 
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10.6 The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the number of 
hunting days at any time. 

 
10.7 The hunting of wild turkey is allowed in the following areas: Providence County; 

Kent County; Washington County; as well as Tiverton and Little Compton in 
Newport County. 

 
10.8 Hunting hours:   Spring hunting hours are one half hour before sunrise to 1:00 PM 

Eastern Daylight Time, daily, provided that all hunters leave the woods no later 
than 1:00 PM.  Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before sunrise until sunset. 

 
10.9 Authorized firearms and archery equipment:  The methods of taking are limited to 

shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only with shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 magnum loads 
only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long bow (straight limb, reflex, re-
curve, and compound bow) of not less than forty (40) pounds pull, and broadhead 
arrows with at least two cutting edges seven eights inches (7/8”) or greater at the 
widest point.  A bowstring release device where the bow is hand held, hand drawn 
and finger released is allowed.  Legal bows must meet the definition of a legal 
bow in sections 4.4 and 4.4.1.  Crossbows not permitted.  Possession of a firearm 
while archery hunting for turkey is prohibited. 

 
10.10 Prohibited Activities: 
 

10.10.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative 
drive(s) electric calling devices or any other devices to capture or 
ensnare turkeys is prohibited. 

 
10.10.2  Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is 

prohibited. 
 
10.10.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a turkey 

calling device (non-electric).  Calling is the only legal method for 
hunting wild turkey.  An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting 
license may call turkeys for hunters with a valid turkey permit. 

 
10.10.4 A person is prohibited from hunting, killing, taking or attempt to take, 

or possessing any wild turkey unless they possess on their person a 
valid R.I. hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit. 

 
10.11 Checking Requirements:  A person killing a wild turkey must immediately sign, 

complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey tag provided 
with the permit.  The tag must remain attached to the turkey and presented to an 
authorized check station, if available, or by turkey kill report card or by tele-check 
(if available), within 24 hours of taking as prescribed by DEM.  The Division 
retains the right to sample any and all tissues deemed necessary.  The tag must 
remain attached until the carcass is prepared for consumption or taxidermy. 
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10.12 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person purchasing a turkey 
permit.  This hunter survey must be returned to the Division within ten (10) days 
of the end of the season whether or not you hunt or were successful. 
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PART VI 
WILD TURKEY 

 
6.1 Turkey Seasons Dates: 
 

6.1.1 Special Gobbler Season – Paraplegic hunters: April 20 and 21 
 
6.1.2 Junior hunter Turkey Hunting Weekend: April 20 and 21 

 
6.1.3 Statewide Spring gobbler season: April 25 – May 21 

 
6.1.4 Fall archery season:  October 1 – November 28 

 
6.2 Season bag and possession limits: 
 

6.2.1 One (1) bearded turkey in the spring season  
 
6.2.2 One (1) either sex turkey in the fall season. 

 
6.2.3 A separate permit must be purchased to hunt in each season. 

 
6.3 Special Paraplegic Season: 
 

6.3.1 A special turkey permit must be obtained from the DEM 
 
6.3.2 Hunting in this season will be limited to paraplegic hunters only. 

 
6.3.3 An application signed by a physician for a first-time hunter is required.  

Applications are obtained from DEM Division of Licensing. 
 

6.3.4 None of the hunter’s assistants will be allowed to hunt or carry firearms at 
any time. 

 
6.4 Junior Turkey Hunting Weekend: 
 

6.4.1 Wild turkey hunting is permitted during the Junior Turkey Hunting 
Weekend for those junior hunters, (ages 12-14), in possession of a valid 
Rhode Island hunting license. Junior hunters must be accompanied by at 
least one qualified license adult at least 21 years of age or older who holds 
a valid Rhode Island hunting/archery license. An adult may accompany no 
more than two junior hunters at one time. The accompanying adult is 
prohibited from carrying firearms and bows but is permitted to assist the 
junior in calling the bird. 

6.4.2 Bag limit is one (1) bearded turkey per license per year. 
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6.5 The Division reserves the right to alter the number of permits and the number of 
hunting days at any time. 

6.6 The hunting of wild turkey is allowed statewide. 

6.7 Hunting hours: Spring hunting hours are one half hour before sunrise to 1:00 PM 
Eastern Daylight Time.  All hunters must leave the woods no later than 1:00 PM. 
Fall hunting hours are one-half hour before sunrise until sunset. 

6.8 Authorized firearms and archery equipment: The methods of taking are limited to 
shotguns, gauges 10, 12, 16, and 20 only, with shot sizes 4, 5, and 6 magnum 
loads only; and by archery equipment consisting of a long bow (straight limb, 
reflex, re-curve, and compound bow) of not less than forty (40) pounds pull, and 
broadhead arrows with at least two cutting edges seven eighths inches (7/8") or 
greater at the widest point.  A bowstring release device where the bow is hand 
held, hand drawn and finger released is allowed.  Legal bows must meet the 
definition of a legal bow as defined in these regulations.  Crossbows are not 
permitted for turkey hunting.  Possession of a firearm while archery hunting for 
turkey is prohibited. 

6.9 Prohibited Activities: 

6.9.1 The use of any other firearm, live decoy(s), baiting, cooperative drive(s) 
electric calling devices or any other devices to capture or ensnare turkeys 
is prohibited. 

6.9.2 Stalking or attempting to sneak up on a turkey to get a shot is prohibited. 

6.9.3 Hunters are prohibited from hunting unless they are carrying a turkey 
calling device (non-electric). Calling is the only legal method for hunting 
wild turkey. An individual with a valid Rhode Island hunting license may 
call turkeys for hunters with a valid turkey permit. 

6.9.4 A person is prohibited from hunting, killing, taking or attempt to take, or 
possessing any wild turkey unless they possess on their person a valid R.I. 
hunting license and a valid turkey hunting permit. 

6.10 Checking Requirements: A person killing a wild turkey must immediately sign, 
complete and attach to the leg in a conspicuous manner the turkey tag provided 
with the permit. The tag must remain attached to the turkey and the kill reported 
to DEM within 24 hours of taking by the pre-paid Turkey Season Kill Report 
Card, as prescribed by DEM.  The Division retains the right to sample any and all 
tissues deemed necessary. The turkey tag must remain attached until the carcass is 
prepared for consumption or taxidermy. 
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6.11 A mandatory hunter survey card will be issued to each person purchasing a turkey 
permit. This hunter survey must be returned to the Division within ten (10) days 
of the end of the season whether or not you hunt or were successful. 
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PART XI  
FURBEARERS 

 
11. Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1. 
 
11.1 Raccoon – 

Open Hunting Season – The open season for raccoon is from 6:00 PM October 2, 
2011 through the last day of February 2011, inclusive; excluding the period of 
Shotgun Deer Season: December 3 December 18 and December 26, 2011 – 
January 1, 2012 statewide.  That portion of Providence County east of the 
Blackstone River will remain open to raccoon hunting during the shotgun deer 
season. 
 
Bag Limits – There is no season limit on raccoon.  There are no limits to the 
taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under special permit on 
Prudence and Patience Islands.  There is no bag limit. 
 
11.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is limited to 

January 3, 2011 through the last day of February 2011, inclusive, with 
written permission of the landowner.  Bow hunters with a valid deer 
archery permit may take a raccoon on Prudence Island during legal deer 
hunting hours October 22, 2011 – January 31, 2012 or until the quota is 
filled. 

 
11.2 The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum, rabbit, 

raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1, 2011 – January 31, 2012 inclusive.  
Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day, 
November 1st, annually. 

 
11.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1, 2011 – 

March 13, 2012, inclusive.  The trapping season for beaver on state 
management areas is December 1, 2011 – February 29, 2012 inclusive.  
Traps may not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day.  
Setting traps within ten (10) feet of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, 
unless specifically allowed under a nuisance permit.  All trappers 
participating in beaver trapping must first obtain both a Special Permit (no 
fee) issued by the Division of Fish and Wildlife Field Headquarters as well 
as a current RI Trapping License.  There is a bag limit of twenty (20) 
beaver. 

 
11.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1-24, 2011 

inclusive.  All trappers participating in the fisher trapping season must 
obtain a special permit (no fee) from the Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
Great Swamp Field Headquarters in addition to their current R.I. trapping 
license.  The season limit for fisher is four (4) per permit.  All fisher pelts 
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must be presented for tagging, in accordance with fisher permit 
requirements but no later than December 31, 2011.  In addition, all fisher 
carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the Division, must be 
turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field 
Headquarters.  No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the 
carcass or required parts to Fish and Wildlife.  A trapper survey card will 
be issued to each permittee and must be returned to the Division at the 
close of fisher season.  The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the 
right to alter the number of permits or the number of fisher harvested at 
any time.  All other general trapping regulations apply.  All permittees 
may be subject to administrative penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation 
of any of these regulations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17.6.  

 
11.3.3 There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands.  The 

trapping season for coyotes on state lands is November 1st 2011 to January 
31st, 2012 inclusive.  The use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or snares 
(RIGL 20-16-6) is prohibited.  All other general trapping regulations 
apply. 

 
11.4 Body gripping (“Conibear”) type traps with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 

6–½ inches as measured from hinge to hinge, are permitted on land or in water.  
Body gripping traps with a jaw spread larger than 6–½ inches but not exceeding 8 
inches are permitted only if the trap is completely submerged in water in a vertical 
position, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of water or ground (i.e., 
pole or tree sets).  All other body-gripping type traps with a jaw spread exceeding 
8 inches are prohibited except as provided in 114.4.1 and 11.5. 

 
11.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of body-gripping (“Conibear”) type traps 

are with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 10 inches as measured from 
hinge to hinge is permitted.  Such traps must be set completely submerged 
underwater and in a vertical position. 

 
11.5 A permit to trap state management area lands is required in addition to a current 

Rhode Island trapping license, and may be obtained from the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife Field Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, 277 Great Neck 
Road, West Kingston, RI.  The use of body-gripping (“Conibear”) type traps or 
“box” (i.e., live) traps are permitted on state lands as specified.  Body-gripping 
traps, with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 6½ inches as measured from 
hinge to hinge are permitted only if such traps are used in sets where all or a 
portion of the trap is in contact with or submerged in water or placed no less than 
six (6) feet above the surface of the ground.  The use of body gripping traps with a 
jaw spread exceeding 6½ inches but not more than ten (10) inches are only 
permitted if such traps are set completely submerged in water in a vertical 
position. 
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11.6 All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or cut into 
the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, bears the 
trapper’s license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7. 

 
11.7 There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra anadensis). 
 
11.8 Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat, or beaver 

that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is prima-facie 
evidence of illegal taking.  Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-
16-8 or otherwise, shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership and must be 
presented to the Division of Fish and Wildlife or the Division of Law 
Enforcement within 24 hours of taking.  Beaver and fishers must be tagged in 
accordance with 11.3.1 and 11.3.2, respectively. 

 
11.9 There is not closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private lands.  

During the firearms seasons for deer, all coyote hunters must possess a valid 
shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit for their respective seasons.  The legal 
hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset.  The use of electronic calls or decoys for hunting coyotes is 
permitted.  There is no bag limit on woodchuck or coyote.  Refer to RIGL 20-13-
13 for firearms restrictions. 

 
11.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the beginning 

of dove hunting season in September to the last day in February inclusive 
and during the open spring turkey hunting season.  The hunting season for 
coyotes on Prudence Island shall be: On state land during archery season 
with a valid archery permit, during the upland game season on private 
land, November 1 – November 30, 2011 and on North Prudence 
Management Area during upland season, January 1 – January 31, 2012. 

 
11.9.2 During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid 

turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands. 
 
11.9.3 Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square inches 

of fluorescent orange during the small game hunting season.  During the 
shotgun deer season, 500 square inches is required. 

 
11.9.4 The placement or use of bait or carcasses for purposes of hunting coyotes 

on state lands is prohibited. 
 
11.10 It is unlawful to take or possess a road-kill furbearer (RIGL 20-16-1) unless with 

possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is taken 
during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the provisions of 
a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (RIGL 20-1-18).  Exceptions 
may be granted at the discretion of the Division. 
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11.11 The translocation of protected forbears (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited without prior 
written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife. 

 
11.12 The use of “species specific” type traps as described in the definitions section of 

these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private and state lands.  A 
legal species specific  trap is characterized by all of the following: 

 
11.12.1 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing. 
 
11.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a 

single opening when set; 
 
11.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter; 
 
11.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force. 

 
11.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system. 
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PART VII 
FURBEARERS 

 
7.1 Furbearers as listed by RIGL 20-16-1. 
 
7.2 Raccoon -  

Open season - The open season for raccoon hunting is from 6:00 PM October 1 
through the last day in February, inclusive; excluding the period of Shotgun Deer 
Season: December 1 - December 16 statewide.  That portion of Providence 
County east of the Blackstone River will remain open to raccoon hunting during 
the shotgun deer season. 
 
Bag Limits - There is no season limit on raccoon.  There are no limits to the 
taking of raccoon by bow hunters as provided above, or under special permit on 
Prudence and Patience Islands.  There is no bag limit. 
 
7.2.1 In the Town of Portsmouth on Prudence Island, the season is limited to 

January 3 through the last day of February, inclusive, with written 
permission of the landowner.  Bow hunters with a valid deer archery 
permit may take a raccoon on Prudence Island during legal deer hunting 
hours October 20– January 31. 

 
7.3 The trapping season for gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum, rabbit, 

raccoon, skunk, and weasels is November 1 – January 31 inclusive.  Traps may 
not be set, staked, or placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day, November 1st, 
annually. 

 
7.3.1 The trapping season for beaver on private land is November 1– March 14, 

inclusive.  The trapping season for beaver on state management areas is 
December 1 – February 28 inclusive.  Traps may not be set, staked, or 
placed prior to 8:00 AM on opening day.  Setting traps within ten (10) feet 
of a beaver lodge/bank den is prohibited, unless specifically allowed under 
a nuisance permit.  All trappers participating in beaver trapping must first 
obtain both a Special Permit (no fee) issued by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife Field Headquarters as well as a current RI Trapping License.  
There is a bag limit of twenty (20) beaver. 

 
7.3.2 The trapping season for fisher (Martes pennanti) is December 1-24, 

inclusive.  All trappers participating in the fisher trapping season must 
obtain a special permit (no fee) from the Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
Great Swamp Field Headquarters in addition to their current R.I. trapping 
license.  The season limit for fisher is four (4) per permit.  All fisher pelts 
must be presented for tagging, in accordance with fisher permit 
requirements but no later than December 31.  In addition, all fisher 
carcasses or any part thereof, as determined by the Division, must be 
turned in to the RI Division of Fish and Wildlife, Great Swamp Field 
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Headquarters.  No fisher pelts will be tagged without the submission of the 
carcass or required parts to Fish and Wildlife.  A trapper survey card will 
be issued to each permittee and must be returned to the Division at the 
close of fisher season.  The Division of Fish and Wildlife reserves the 
right to alter the number of permits or the number of fisher harvested at 
any time.  All other general trapping regulations apply.  All permittees 
may be subject to administrative penalties of up to $1,000.00 for violation 
of any of these regulations pursuant to RIGL Chapter 42-17.6.  

 
7.3.3 There is no closed season for trapping coyotes on private lands.  The 

trapping season for coyotes on state lands is November 1 to January 31 
inclusive.  The use of foothold traps (RIGL 20-16-8) or snares (RIGL 20-
16-6) is prohibited.  All other general trapping regulations apply. 

 
7.4 Body gripping (“Conibear”) type traps with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 

6–½ inches as measured from hinge to hinge, are permitted on land or in water.  
Body gripping traps with a jaw spread larger than 6–½ inches but not exceeding 8 
inches are permitted only if the trap is completely submerged in water in a vertical 
position, or placed at least six (6) feet above the surface of water or ground (i.e., 
pole or tree sets).  All other body-gripping type traps with a jaw spread exceeding 
8 inches are prohibited. 

 
7.4.1 For the taking of beaver, the use of body-gripping (“Conibear”) type traps 

are with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 10 inches as measured from 
hinge to hinge is permitted.  Such traps must be set completely submerged 
underwater and in a vertical position. 

 
7.5 A permit to trap state management area lands is required in addition to a current 

Rhode Island trapping license, and may be obtained from the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife Field Headquarters, Great Swamp Management Area, 277 Great Neck 
Road, West Kingston, RI.  The use of body-gripping (“Conibear”) type traps or 
“box” (i.e., live) traps are permitted on state lands as specified.  Body-gripping 
traps, with a jaw spread up to but not exceeding 6½ inches as measured from 
hinge to hinge are permitted only if such traps are used in sets where all or a 
portion of the trap is in contact with or submerged in water or placed no less than 
six (6) feet above the surface of the ground.  The use of body gripping traps with a 
jaw spread exceeding 6½ inches but not more than ten (10) inches are only 
permitted if such traps are set completely submerged in water in a vertical 
position. 

 
7.6 All traps must have the valid license number of the trapper embedded or cut into 

the trap, or a metal tag attached to the trap which, as a minimum, bears the 
trapper’s license number as designated in RIGL 20-16-7. 

 
7.7 There is no open season on bobcat (Lynx rufus) or otter (Lontra anadensis). 
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7.8 Possession, at any time, of a pelt or carcass of an otter, fisher, bobcat, or beaver 
that has not been tagged by an approved state or federal agency is prima-facie 
evidence of illegal taking.  Otter or bobcat taken under RIGL 20-16-2, RIGL 20-
16-8 or otherwise, shall not be tagged for personal use or ownership and must be 
presented to the Division of Fish and Wildlife or the Division of Law 
Enforcement within 24 hours of taking.  Beaver and fishers must be tagged. 

 
7.9 There is no closed season for woodchuck, red squirrel or coyote on private lands.  

During the firearms seasons for deer, all coyote hunters must possess a valid 
shotgun or muzzleloader deer permit for their respective seasons.  The legal 
hunting hours for woodchucks and coyotes is one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset.  The use of electronic calls or decoys for hunting coyotes is 
permitted.  There is no bag limit on woodchuck or coyote.  Refer to RIGL 20-13-
13 for firearms restrictions. 

 
7.9.1 The hunting season for coyotes on state lands shall be from the beginning 

of dove hunting season in September to the last day in February inclusive 
and during the open spring turkey hunting season.  The hunting season for 
coyotes on Prudence Island shall be: on state land during archery season 
with a valid archery permit, during the upland game season on private 
land, November 1 – November 30, 2012 and on North Prudence 
Management Area during upland season, January 1 – January 31, 2013. 

 
7.9.2 During the spring turkey season, coyote hunters must possess a valid 

turkey hunting permit while hunting on state lands. 
 
7.9.3 Coyote hunters on state lands must wear a minimum of 200 square inches 

of fluorescent orange during the small game hunting season.  During the 
shotgun deer season, 500 square inches is required. 

 
7.9.4 The placement or use of bait or carcasses for purposes of hunting coyotes 

on state lands is prohibited. 
 

7.9.5 Legal methods of take for coyote hunting include shotgun (no lead shot 
larger than No. 2) and rifle not larger than .22 caliber rimfire at any time, 
bow and arrow and crossbow; however, on private lands from April 1 to 
September 30, (both dates inclusive), centerfire rifles not larger than .229 
caliber may be used (RIGL 20-13-13), and by any means allowed during 
any concurrent hunting season. 

 
7.10 It is unlawful to take or possess a road-kill furbearer (RIGL 20-16-1) unless with 

possession of a current Rhode Island trapping license and the furbearer is taken 
during the open season for the species, or as provided for under the provisions of 
a current Rhode Island Scientific Collector’s Permit (RIGL 20-1-18).  Exceptions 
may be granted at the discretion of the Division. 
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7.11 The translocation of protected furbearers (RIGL 20-16-1) is prohibited without 
prior written approval of the Division of Fish and Wildlife. 

 
7.12 The use of “species specific” type traps as described in the definitions section of 

these regulations is permitted for trapping furbearers on private and state lands.  A 
legal species specific trap is characterized by all of the following: 

 
7.12.1 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are enclosed within a housing. 
 
7.12.2 Triggering and restraining mechanisms are only accessible through a 

single opening when set; 
 

7.12.3 The access opening does not exceed two inches in diameter; 
 

7.12.4 The triggering mechanism can only be activated by a pulling force. 
 
7.12.5 A swivel mounted anchoring system. 
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PART XII VIII 
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 

 
12.8.1 The removal from the wild, for any purpose, of any reptile or amphibian (except 

bullfrogs, green frogs, and snapping turtles) to include their nests and eggs is 
prohibited except by special permit.  The taking of snapping turtles at any time is 
limited to the following methods: Turtle traps, snagging, snaring, grabbing, 
jugging, bow and arrow, or while legally fishing.  Turtle traps must have a metal 
tag attached, which, at a minimum, bears the trapper’s name and address.  Jugs 
must be marked indelibly with name and address of trapper.  The taking of 
snapping turtles for commercial purposes is prohibited except by special permit. 

 
12.8.2 The following species of reptiles and amphibians to include their nests and eggs  

are protected and possession without permit is prohibited at all times: Timber 
rattlesnake, Crotalus horridus; northern diamondback terrapin, Malaclemys 
terrapin; wood turtle, Clemmys insculpta; eastern box turtle, Terrapene Carolina; 
spotted turtle, Clemmys guttata; and bog turtle, Clemmys muhlenbergi.   

 
12.8.3 The release into the wild of any non-native reptile or amphibian is prohibited. 
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 PART XIII IX 
MANAGEMENT AREAS 

 
13.9.1 The possession of a valid Rhode Island hunting, or combination hunting and 

fishing license, serves as the permit to hunt State Management Areas, and Tidal 
Lands pursuant to Title 20, Chapter 18, §§20-18-2 and 20-18-3 of the RI General 
Laws. 

 
13.9.2 Permit is valid from the first day of dove season in September through the last day 

of February, except when check stations are in operation for upland game at the 
Great Swamp, Carolina, Durfee Hill, and Arcadia; for turkey hunting; when 
special permits are required for deer hunting; or for waterfowl hunting on state 
lands.  (See current abstract for check station dates).  Bow hunters and 
muzzleloading hunters hunting deer on state management areas do not need to 
check in or out. 

 
13.9.2.1 In the event of fiscal constraints, check station hours of operation are  

subject to change.  Notification will be provided by signage and news 
release.  In addition, management areas may be closed for pheasant 
stocking at noon until sunset, Friday, October 14 19, 2011; Tuesdays 
and Fridays from October 18 26, 2011 until November 15, 2011; 
Wednesday, November 23 21, 2011; and Fridays in December.    

 
13.9.3 The carrying of firearms on state management areas at any other time is 

prohibited except as provided in Management Area Regulations 11.1.  On 
management areas and designated undeveloped parks, the carrying of firearms 
and bows and arrows at any time, except during the open season for game birds 
and mammals, and while on shooting ranges, is prohibited.  In addition to above, 
blank guns are permitted for the purpose of dog training in designated areas from 
January 1 to September 30.     

 
13.9.4 Individuals must check in, and out, of state management hunter check stations 

each day they are open for upland season.  Check station dates will be listed in the 
current Hunting Season Abstract.  See section 9.1 for upland game hours. 

 
13.5 Dog training and all hunting, except for bow hunting for deer, and waterfowl 

hunting, as provided, is prohibited on state land during the period of October 10 – 
14, 2011 unless otherwise provided. 

 
13.9.5 From the period April 1 through August 15, annually, the following are prohibited 

except by special permit:  trespassing, disturbing, or molesting of any species of 
nesting birds on Hope Island in West Passage, East Island and West Island off 
Sakonnet Point, or Gould Island in the East Passage.  All cats, dogs, and other 
domestic animals are prohibited at all times upon these Islands, except that 
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hunting dogs may be used during that period set aside by the Department of 
hunting game birds and mammals on Hope Island only. 

 
13.9.6 All users of State Management Areas and undeveloped State Parks are required to 

wear solid daylight fluorescent orange during appropriate seasons; sea Part 14.5.6 
for details. 

 
13.9.7 The possession and/or use of paint guns on state management areas are 

prohibited.  See RIGL § 32-2-4. 
 
13.9.8 A hunting license is required when training dogs on wild game on state 

management areas, except when participating in state-sanctioned field trials. 
 
13.9.9 Complete dressing of game birds on mammals on state property is prohibited.  

Field dressing (removal of entrails only) is permitted.  Head, skin, feathers, wings, 
tails, etc., must remain attached to the carcass. 

 
13.9.10Dogs on State Management Areas allowed only under the following rules. 
 

13.9.10.1No dogs are allowed to be trained, run, exercised, or be permitted to run 
at large on state management areas from March 15 to August 15, 
inclusive, without written permission of the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife except as otherwise provided in these regulations. (Sections 
13.5 and 13.12). 

 
13.9.10.2Walking of dogs on a leash of not more than 25 feet in length is 

permitted on roads and trails only. 
 
13.9.10.3All dogs must be wearing a collar with the name and address of the 

owner or handler and license tag. 
 
13.9.11Dog Training Areas – Dog training is allowed on designated areas only, between 

January 1 and September 30.  During this period, dogs may run freely provided 
they are under the command of the trainer by voice, training collar, or check cord.  

 
13.9.11.1Areas designated for training dogs are: the Black Farm Management 

Area, the Nicholas Farm Management north of the Trestle Trail; and the 
Arcadia Midway Trail Area confined to the developed field complex 
east of Brook Trail, south of Austin Farm Road and west of the 
established field edges comprising the Midway fields area.  Field trail 
areas are as depicted on maps drawn by the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife. 

 
13.9.11.2Training hours are sunrise to sunset. 
 
13.9.11.3All persons using areas for training must possess a hunting license. 
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13.9.11.4All dogs using areas must be licensed and have proof of rabies 

vaccinations. 
 

13.9.11.5Training with live birds (pheasants/quail) is permitted provided the bird 
is released unharmed and all necessary permits are obtained. 

 
13.9.11.6Shooting of live birds for training purposes is prohibited. 

 
13.9.11.7Sanctioned field trial events may be held at the following locations by 

requesting a special permit from the Division of Fish and Wildlife: 
Arcadia, Carolina, Durfee Hill Marsh, and Burlingame (Durfee) Pond, 
and Nicholas Farm. 

 
129.12 JOHN L. CURRAN STATE PARK/MANAGEMENT AREA: 
 

13.9.132.1All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the buffer zones 
marked as posted by the Department. 

 
13.9.132.2Only shotguns and bow & arrows may be possessed or used while 

hunting. 
 

13.9.132.3The hunting of and/or possession of Mourning Dove or Wild Pigeons 
(Rock Dove) is prohibited. 

 
13.9.13SIMMONS MILL POND MANAGEMENT AREA:  Only archery equipment, 

bow and arrows may be possessed or used while hunting deer within the Simmons 
Mill Pond Management Area in Little Compton.  Sunday hunting will be allowed. 

 
13.9.14DUTCH ISLAND: 
 The entry upon Dutch Island is prohibited.  No person is allowed to enter onto 

Dutch Island without the specific written permission of the Director. 
 
13.9.15SAPOWET and EIGHT ROD FARM MANAGEMENT AREA: 

Sunday hunting is allowed within the Sapowet Marsh and Eight Rod Farm 
Management Area.  No shotgun and/or muzzleloader deer hunting on Sapowet. 

 
13.9.16GEORGE WASHINGTON GROVE: Designated as an undeveloped state park 

and is open to hunting. 
 
13.9.17GALILEE BIRD SANCTUARY: Open to archery deer hunting only. 
 
13.9.18Snake Den State Park: Designated as an undeveloped State Park and is open for 

Archery Deer Hunting.  All hunting must be within the inner boundaries of the 
buffer zones marked as posted by the Department. 
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PART XIV  X 
GENERAL 

 
14.10.1Taking of moose or bear by any method is prohibited except as provided under 

special permit issued by the Director of the Department of Environmental 
Management. 

 
14.10.2The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, rehabilitation or sale, offer 

for sale, barter, or offer for barter of mute swans and their eggs is prohibited, 
except by special permit issued by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Management or his/her designee. 

 
14.10.3The importation, exportation, possession, liberation, or sale, offer for sale, barter, 

or offer for barter of any live or pen-reared wild turkey or eggs of a wild turkey 
is prohibited.  The possession of any dead untagged wild turkey is prohibited. 

 
14.10.4There is no closed season for monk parakeets or rock doves (wild pigeons). 
 
14.10.5Fluorescent Orange Requirement: Fluorescent orange safety clothing is required 

during the hunting season statewide for all hunters.  To meet this requirement, 
safety clothing must be solid daylight fluorescent orange.  Fluorescent 
camouflage does not meet this requirement.  The hunter orange must be worn 
above the waist and be visible in all directions.  Examples that meet the orange 
requirements are a hat that coves 200 square inches or combination of hat and vest 
covering 500 square inches.  The following orange requirements apply: 

 
140.5.1Two hundred (200) square inches by small game hunters during the small 

game season. 
 
140.5.2Two hundred (200) square inches by fall turkey hunters while traveling. 
 
140.5.3Two hundred (200) square inches by muzzleloaders during muzzleloading 

deer season. 
 

140.5.4Two hundred (200) square inches by archers when traveling to/from 
stands during muzzleloading deer season. 

 
140.5.5Five hundred (500) square inches by all hunters and other users (including 

archers) during shotgun deer seasons. 
 

140.5.6Exempt from fluorescent orange requirements are: 
- Waterfowl hunters hunting from a boat or blind, over water or field, 

when done in conjunction with decoys. 
- Archery deer hunters (except during muzzleloader and shotgun deer 

season). 
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- Hunters crow hunting over decoys. 
- Spring turkey hunters and 
- First segment dove hunters. 
- Not required in areas limited to Archery only by regulation. 

 
140.5.7All other users of State Management areas and underdeveloped State 

Parks, including but not limited to hikers, bikers, and horseback riders, are 
required to wear two hundred (200) square inches of solid daylight 
fluorescent orange from the third Saturday in October the second Saturday 
in September to the last day of February, and the last Thursday third 
Saturday in April to the last day in May, annually.  

 
104.6 All dogs being utilized in hunting or training activities must wear a collar bearing 

the name and address of the owner and handler and must possess a valid dog 
license and tag.  with a valid license tag, and the name and address of the owner 
or handler. 

 
104.7 Waterfowl hunting is permitted no more than 10 feet above mean high water on 

Prudence Island, except during the early waterfowl season, as established by 
federal regulation and during November 1 – 30. 

 
104.8 Shooting at any animal at any time, while such animal is on a telephone line, pole, 

or tower, or electric line, pole, or tower, or any communication device is 
prohibited. 

 
14.9 A muzzleloader, not to exceed .40 caliber with round ball and patch only, may be 

used to hunt small mammals during the established season for these species. 
 
14.10 Air gun rifles are permitted to hunt the following small mammals: gray squirrels, 

red squirrels, woodchucks, cottontail rabbits, and snowshoe hare provided that the 
air guns are a minimum of .177 caliber and not large than .22; a minimum of 750 
FPS velocity with pellets 7.5 grain or larger. 

 
14.11 The use or possession of laser sights that project a beam or night-vision 

equipment while hunting is prohibited.  During the period September 15, 2011 
through January 31, 2012, casting rays of artificial lights, including spotlights, 
headlights, or other artificial light, at any time, on a highway or roadway, whether 
public or private or on any field, woodland, residential property or forest, on any 
building or farm animal, for the purpose of spotting, locating or attempting to spot 
or locate any wild animal or wild bird is prohibited.   

 
104.129It is prohibited to import or possess game birds for the purpose of liberation or 

stocking of said game bird into the State of Rhode Island without first having 
received a permit to do so from the Division of Fish and Wildlife.  Persons 
holding a commercial game license or shooting preserve license may liberate 
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game birds or mammals in connection with field trials and shooting preserves (see 
RIGL 20-2-16.1, 20-2-29, and 20-17-1). 

 
104.130Feeding and baiting wildlife in Rhode Island: feeding wild waterfowl, wild 

turkey or wild cervids, black bear and coyote is not permitted any time in the state 
of Rhode Island except: 

 
104.130.1Under a license or permit issued by the Department pursuant to RI 

General Laws §20-1-18 for bona fide scientific research; 
 

104.130.2By planting, cultivating, or harvesting of crops directly associated with 
bona fide agricultural practices, including planted wildlife food plots; 

 
104.130.3By distribution of food material for livestock directly associated with 

bona fide agricultural practices; by distribution of food material for 
legally possessed captive wildlife, pursuant to a permit; 

 
104.130.4By cutting of trees or brush; or 
 
104.130.5Elevated bird/squirrel feeders providing seed, grain, fruit, worms or suet 

for birds or squirrels located within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. 
 
104.130.6Baiting coyotes on private land for purposes of hunting. 
 
104.130.7The leaving out of food of any kind where accessible to wildlife is 

prohibited. 
 
104.151Distribution of Certain Food Material – Feeding wild or captive cervids with any 

material that contains protein derived from any mammalian tissues is prohibited. 
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RULE 8 EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

The foregoing Rules and Regulations – Hunting Regulations after due notice, are 
hereby adopted and filed with the Secretary of State to become effective 20 days 
after filing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 20-1-2, 20-1-4, 20-1-8, 
20-1-12, 20-1-13, 20-18 and 42-35 of the General Laws of Rhode Island of 1956, 
as amended. 
 
 
 
 
_____________________________________________ 
Janet Coit, Director 
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 

 
 
 
 
Notice Given: 5/1/11 
Public Hearing: 6/1/11 
 
Filing Date: 7/27/11 
Effective Date: 8/17/11 


