Justice of the Peace
Starting on September 16, 2016, non-residents who conduct business on a regular basis within the State of Rhode Island can apply to become a Justice of the Peace.
All applicants must meet the following requirements:
- be at least 18 years of age; speak, read and write the English language
- have sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties pertaining to the Office
- be a United State Citizens or Permanent Legal Residents of the United States
- be a Rhode Island Resident or a non-resident who conducts business on a regular basis in Rhode Island; or
- be an Attorney, in good standing, applying as a member of the Rhode Island Bar Association; or
- be a Certified Public Accountant, in good standing, applying as a certified Rhode Island licensee
Justices of the Peace in Rhode Island serve four year terms and are authorized to take acknowledgments; administer oaths and affirmations; execute jurats; witness signatures; certify copies; execute protests; and issue subpoenas to witnesses. The power to perform a marriage ceremony is NOT granted to Justices of the Peace by Rhode Island Law.
The Notary Standards of Conduct and our frequently asked questions provide the rules and standard operating procedures to take acknowledgments; administer oaths and affirmations; execute jurats; witness signatures; certify copies; execute protests; and issue subpoenas to witnesses.
The new interactive Justice of the Peace forms are now available:
- Download and complete the Justice of the Peace Application Form or Reappointment Justice of the Peace Form.
- The fee is $80 for a four-year commission.
- Mail or bring the application and check, made payable to the RI Department of State, to our office at 148 W. River St., Providence, RI 02904.
Any questions should be directed to the Business Services Division at 401-222-3040 or firstname.lastname@example.org.