Act of Renunciation background image state house dusk background image library ceiling background image rotunda across background image state house ornimental ceiling background image

Existing Notaries

Renewing your commission

  • Your renewal application must be submitted prior to the expiration date in order to maintain the same expiration month and day.
  • A renewal application can still be submitted, however a new expiration date will be assigned based on the date it is received in our office.
  • Failure to return the renewal application prior to the expiration date may result in a lapse of the notary’s term of appointment. With most renewals, the notary retains their original notary ID number.

STEP
1

Renewing your commission

  • Find your Notary ID Number
  • Complete and print the Notary Renewal Form
  • You must appear before a Rhode Island Notary Public to take the Oath of Office and complete the certificate.  Notaries are available at our office to perform this service.

NOTE: If you are applying as a Rhode Island attorney or CPA, include a copy of your RI Bar Association or RI Board of Accountancy membership card.

STEP
2

Fee

  • Fee: $80 Non-refundable
  • Make check payable to: RI Department of State
STEP
3

Submit your application

  • Mail or bring your application to:
    RI Department of State
    148 W. River St.
    Providence, RI 02904

Once your completed application is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and then your commission will be mailed to the address on the application.

STEP
1

Name or Address changes

Notaries are required to report a change of address or name to our office within ten days.


STEP
2

Fee

  • There is no fee for updating your information
STEP
3

Submit your form

  • Mail or bring your form to:
    RI Department of State
    148 W. River St.
    Providence, RI 02904

Once your completed form is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and if filing a name change, a new commission will be issued and mailed to your address of record.

STEP
1

Ending your commission

A notary may resign their commission at any time.


  • Anytime a notary’s commission ends, they must, as soon as possible, destroy or deface all stamps/seals to render them useless.
  • All journals should be retained for seven years thereafter as a matter of good practice.

STEP
2

Fee

  • There is no fee for ending your commission
STEP
3

Submit a written notice

To resign your commission:


  • Mail or bring your written notice of resignation to:
    RI Department of State
    148 W. River St.
    Providence, RI 02904
  • Email your resignation to the Notary Division

+ Replacement commission certificate request

If your commission certificate is lost, damaged or destroyed, a replacement certificate may be requested. To request a duplicate certificate:

  • Mail or bring your written request to:
  • RI Department of State
    148 West River Street
    Providence, RI 02904

  • Call the Notary Division at 401-222-3040
  • Email the Notary Division

Once your request is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and a duplicate certificate will be issued and mailed to your address of record.

+ Reporting a lost or stolen Stamp/Seal

If you lose your notary stamp/seal, you must report it to our office as soon as possible. To report a lost stamp/seal:

  • Mail or bring your written notice of loss to:
  • RI Department of State
    148 West River Street
    Providence, RI 02904

  • Email the Notary Division

Please do not forget to notify our office once your stamp/seal is recovered or replaced.

+ Reporting a Notary Public’s death

If a notary dies during the term of their commission, their personal representative must notify our office as soon as possible. To report a notary’s death:

  • Mail or bring the written notice of death, including the date of death to:
  • RI Department of State
    148 West River Street
    Providence, RI 02904

  • Email the Notary Division

As soon as possible destroy or deface all seals/stamps to render them useless. If a journal was used, retain the journal for seven years thereafter.

+ Revocation

Your commission may be revoked for official misconduct, for cause by the Governor or if you are convicted of a felony and incarcerated.