Act of Renunciation background image state house dusk background image library ceiling background image rotunda across background image state house ornimental ceiling background image

Become a Notary Public

Starting on September 16, 2016, non-residents who conduct business on a regular basis within the State of Rhode Island can apply to become a Notary Public. 

All applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • be at least 18 years of age; speak, read and write the English language
  • have sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties pertaining to the Office
  • be a United State Citizens or Permanent Legal Residents of the United States
  • be a Rhode Island Resident or a non-resident who conducts business on a regular basis in Rhode Island; or
  • be an Attorney, in good standing, applying as a member of the Rhode Island Bar Association; or
  • be a Certified Public Accountant, in good standing, applying as a certified Rhode Island licensee

Notaries in Rhode Island serve four year terms and are authorized to take acknowledgments; administer oaths and affirmations; execute jurats; witness signatures; certify copies; execute protests; and issue subpoenas to witnesses.

Although no training is required in Rhode Island, notaries are encouraged to take advantage of the education and training opportunities offered by most Notary Societies.  The Notary Standards of Conduct and our frequently asked questions provide the rules and standard operating procedures for all Rhode Island notaries.

The new interactive Notary Public forms are now available:

  • Download and complete the Notary Application Form or Reappointment Notary Form.
  • The fee is $80 for a four-year commission.
  • Mail or bring the application and check, made payable to the Department of State, to our office at 148 W. River St., Providence, RI 02904.

Any questions should be directed to the Business Services Division at 401-222-3040 or corporations@sos.ri.gov.

Justice of the Peace information