Registering to vote is easy. You can register to vote online with our Online Voter Registration Portal OR at the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles any time you make a transaction OR you can complete either registration form below and submit it to your local board of canvassers.
To register to vote in Rhode Island, you must be:
- A citizen of the United States
- A resident of the Rhode Island city or town where you wish to vote
- At least 16 years of age (you must be at least 18 years of age to vote)
- You must not be currently deemed non-compos mentis by a court of law
- You must not be currently incarcerated in a correctional facility under felony conviction
When you submit a voter registration form, an acknowledgment notice from your local board of canvassers will be sent to your address. If you do not receive the acknowledgment notice please contact your local board of canvassers.
Additionally, you can check your voter registration record by using the Department of State’s Voter Information Center.
- Updating your voter registration information (name, address, or party change)
- Political party affiliation
- Confidentiality of voter registration data
Updating your voter registration information (name, address, or party change)
You can also submit a voter registration form to:
- Update your name
- Update your address
- Update your party affiliation (it takes 90 days for a party change to take effect)
You must submit an updated voter registration form each time you change your address, change your name, or change your party affiliation.
Political party affiliation
When you register to vote or update your voter registration information you have the option to affiliate yourself with a political party. If you do not wish to belong to a party you may choose “Unaffiliated” in Box 9 of the voter registration form. If you leave Box 9 blank, you will be registered as an “Unaffiliated” voter.
Rhode Island currently has three recognized political parties:
- Democratic Party
- Moderate Party
- Republican Party
If you are a member of a political party you may only vote in the primary of the party you belong to. If you are “unaffiliated” you may vote in any primary you choose. Unaffiliated voters voting in party primaries become members of that party upon voting.
It takes 90 days for a party change to take effect.Back to Top
Confidentiality of voter registration data
All of the information on a voter registration form is public record except driver’s license and social security numbers. However, there is an exception for victims of domestic violence or voters living with victims of domestic violence.
If you have a court-ordered restraining order against another person to prevent domestic violence, you and your co-habitants may vote without making your residence address part of a public record by completing the form below and submitting it to your local board of canvassers.Back to Top