Act of Renunciation background image state house dusk background image library ceiling background image rotunda across background image state house ornimental ceiling background image

Voters

Voting is your opportunity to help decide who represents you at all levels of government, but you can’t vote if you’re not registered.

Deadlines to Register

In Rhode Island you must be registered to vote at least 30 days prior to the election you will be voting in – primary, general, or referendum.

Deadlines to Change Party or Disaffiliate

The deadline to disaffiliate from a political party in order to vote in an different party's primary is 90 days before the primary election.

Publications

The 2018 How to Be a Voter Guide is forthcoming, but to get a sense of the process please check out the 2016 guide.

2016 Rhode Island voter guide