HOLIDAY

The State of Rhode Island will be observing Martin Luther King Jr. Day on Monday, January 21, 2019. Our office will be closed. Regular business hours will resume on Tuesday, January 22 at 8:30 AM EST.

Act of Renunciation background image state house dusk background image library ceiling background image rotunda across background image state house ornimental ceiling background image

Become a Notary Public

Requirements:

  • Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment or practice in this state;
  • Be able to read and write English;
  • Not be disqualified to receive a commission under §42-30.1-16; and
  • Demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties pursuant to the requirements of this chapter.

Other Qualifications:

  • Be an attorney in good standing applying as a member of the RI Bar Association; or
  • Be a certified public accountant in good standing applying as a certified Rhode Island licensee

Powers and Duties

Notaries Public in Rhode Island are commissioned to four-year terms and are authorized to take acknowledgements, administer oaths and affirmations, execute jurats, witness signatures, certify copies, execute protests and issue subpoenas to witnesses.


How to Apply:

STEP
1

Get your application ready

  • Visit our website, review our educational resources and take the “Notary Knowledge Today” assessment to demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the powers and duties to the requirements of this chapter.
  • Complete and print the Notary Application Form
  • You must appear before a Rhode Island Notary Public to take the Oath of Office and complete the certificate.  Notaries are available at our office to perform this service.
STEP
2

Fee

  • Fee: $80 Non-refundable.
  • Make check payable to: RI Department of State
STEP
3

Submit your application

  • Mail or bring your application to:
    RI Department of State
    148 W. River St.
    Providence, RI 02904

Once your completed application is received by our office, it is processed within 3-5 business days and then your commission will be mailed to the address on the application.