Frequently Asked Questions

Where do | find vital records?

Which census records are available for research?

Where do | find naturalization records?

Where do | find land evidence and probate records?

Where do | find information on cemeteries?

Where do | find legislative records?

Who holds Rhode Island divorce records?

Where can | find adoption records?

Where would | find military records?

Does the Rhode Island State Archives have obituaries?

How did Rhode Island get its nhame?

| have discovered a spoon attributed to the Count de Rochambeau. What is
its value?

| have discovered what appears to be a 1780 bill from the State of Rhode
Island. What is this currency worth?

When did Rhode Island adopt an anchor as its seal?

Where do | find vital records?

The Rhode Island State Archives holds statewide filings of birth and marriage
records that are over 100 years old and death records over 50 years old. Birth
and marriage filings less than 100 years old and deaths less than 50 years old
are held by the Rhode Island Department of Health, Division of Vital records
(http://www.health.ri.gov/chic/vital/index.php) and the city or town where the
event was initially recorded (http://www.health.ri.gov/chic/vital/clerks.php).

Which census records are available for research?

The State Archives holds the 1774 colonial census, the 1777 military census, and
federal censuses from 1790 through 1860. State census records available
include 1865 through 1885 and 1905 through 1935.

Where do | find naturalization records and passenger lists?
Naturalization records may be found at the following repositories:
Supreme Court Judicial Records Center

Five Hill Street Pawtucket, R.l. 02860

(401) 721-2640
http://www.courts.ri.gov/JudicialRecordsCenter/default.aspx



http://www.health.ri.gov/chic/vital/clerks.php
http://www.courts.ri.gov/JudicialRecordsCenter/default.aspx

National Archives - New England Region

380 Trapelo Road, Waltham, Ma 02154

(781) 663 - 0130
www.archives.gov/northeast/waltham/waltham.html

Passenger Lists are held by the National Archives and those from the New
England Region are located at the Waltham branch. New York passenger lists
are at the National Archives branch in Pittsfield, Massachusetts
http://www.archives.gov/frc/pittsfield/ Passenger lists for the Port of Providence
are held by the Rhode Island Historical Society
http://www.rihs.org/Passenger.htm

Where do | find land evidence and probate records?

Land evidence records and probate records are maintained at the individual city
and town halls in Rhode Island.
http://sos.ri.gov/rihrab/direct.html

Where do | find information on cemeteries?

Rhode Island Historical Cemetery Commission
http://www.historicalcemeteries.ri.gov/

Rhode Island Cemetery Transcription Project Master Index
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~rigenweb/Cemetery2/cemindex.html

Rhode Island Veterans Cemetery
http://www.vets.ri.qov/

Catholic Cemeteries
http://www.diocesepvd.org/departments/catholic-cemeteries/

Where do | find legislative records?

PUBLIC LAWS, RESOLUTIONS AND LOCAL ACTS

Public Laws from 1638 to the present, resolutions from 1728 to the present and
local acts from 1790 to the present (except the two most recent legislative
sessions) are held by the Rhode Island State Archives. Public Laws passed
during the two most recent sessions are maintained at the Secretary of State’s
Public Information Division in the State House, Room 38.

FAILED LEGISLATION

Failed legislation from 1899-present is available at the Rhode Island State
Archives. Additionally, a copy of all legislation introduced during the years 1989
to the present is available at the State Library on the second floor of the State
House.


http://www.archives.gov/northeast/waltham/waltham.html
http://www.archives.gov/frc/pittsfield/
http://www.rihs.org/Passenger.htm
http://sos.ri.gov/rihrab/direct.html
http://www.historicalcemeteries.ri.gov/
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~rigenweb/Cemetery2/cemindex.html
http://www.vets.ri.gov/
http://www.diocesepvd.org/departments/catholic-cemeteries/

VETOED LEGISLATION

Vetoed legislation for the years 1950 to the present (except the two most recent
legislative sessions) is held by the Rhode Island State Archives. Legislation
vetoed during the two most recent sessions is maintained at the Secretary of
State’s Public Information Division in the State House, Room 38.

PROCLAMATIONS
The Rhode Island State Archives hold Governor’s proclamations from 1902 to
1994.

Who holds Rhode Island divorce records?

Divorce records commencing in 1749 are maintained by the Supreme Court
Judicial Records Center in Pawtucket, R.l. You may contact them at 401-721-
2640 or http://www.courts.ri.gov/JudicialRecordsCenter/default.aspx Other court
records are also held by this repository.

Where can | find adoption records?

Adoptions are governed by Rhode Island General Law §15-7
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE15/15-7/INDEX.HTM

The administration of adoptions were done by municipal probate courts from
1866 to 1944. After that, adoptions were handled by Family Court.

See 1944 Chapter 1484

Where would | find military records?
Personnel records of all federal military units may be found at:

Department of Veterans Affairs

National Personnel Records Center (NPRC)

9700 Page Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63132

(314) 538-4987/fax-(314) 538-4988
http://www.archives.gov/research/military/veterans/

Records of state militias and regiments raised for specific conflicts from the
French and Indian War up to World War | may be found at the Rhode Island
State Archives. Discharge records of individuals may be found, if filed, in the
individual city and town halls. The Rhode Island National Guard maintains the
personnel files of its members from 1917 to the present. For records of
discharged personnel call 401-275-4179.

Does the Rhode Island State Archives have obituaries?

No. Obituaries may be found in various newspapers that we do not have in our
holdings. The Providence Journal on microfilm is available at some public


http://www.courts.ri.gov/JudicialRecordsCenter/default.aspx
http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE15/15-7/INDEX.HTM
http://www.archives.gov/research/military/veterans/

libraries throughout the State of Rhode Island. The Providence Public Library
holds microfilm copies of the Providence Journal beginning in 1829.
http://www.provlib.org/node/108

Additionally, the RI Historical Society is a source for Rhode Island newspapers
http://www.rihs.org/refnews&per.htm.

How did Rhode Island get its name?

An explanation is found on the web page of the Rhode Island State Library at
http://sos.ri.gov/library/history/name/

| have discovered a spoon attributed to the Count de Rochambeau. What is
its value?

Information about this item may be found on the web site of the Rhode Island
Historical Society at http://www.rihs.org/museums_faqs objects.html

| have discovered what appears to be a 1780 bill from the State of Rhode
Island. What is this currency worth?

While the “bill” is quite interesting from a historical perspective, the General
Treasurer and Attorney General concluded in 1995, that such bills do “not
constitute a valid claim for payment by the State”. The only value the note would
have, therefore, is as a curiosity, or to a collector. You could check with a dealer
in coins and early paper currency for a value.

You may be interested to know that the Rhode Island government issued these
instruments as bills of public credit, which at the time were redeemable as legal
tender. Other colonies and states also produced similar emissions during the
period of the Revolution. In July 1780, the Rhode Island General Assembly also
passed legislation that any person convicted of counterfeiting, or knowingly
passing counterfeits of these bills, was to “be adjudged a felon, and suffer death,


http://www.provlib.org/node/108
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http://sos.ri.gov/library/history/name/
http://www.rihs.org/museums_faqs_objects.html

without benefit of clergy”. In addition, anyone who altered the bills to increase
the denomination or passed the altered bills, was to “be sentenced to the pillory,
and have both his or her ears cut off, and nailed to the pillory; and be publicly
whipped thirty-nine lashes on his or her naked back, well laid on”. Moreover,
anyone who altered the bills was to pay 500 pounds; half to be used by the State
and the other half for the use of the discoverer; and the offender to pay double
damages to the aggrieved party, plus all the costs of prosecution and conviction.
Finally, if the offender did not have the money to pay the penalties, then the
offender was to “be sold as a servant, for any term not exceeding seven years”.

When did Rhode Island adopt an anchor as its seal?

In 1647, the General Court of Election held at Portsmouth, May 19 — 21 declared

that “the Seale of the Province shall be an Anchor.”

(Rhode Island Colony Records, 1646 - 1669, Part Il, p. 213, mms. 163)

A sketch of a shield bearing an anchor appears at the end of the entry and is presumed
to have been drawn by William Dyer, General Recorder.
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