En Español | Search this site: Print 

Contact Us

State Archives
337 Westminster Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 222-2353
Fax: (401) 222-3199
TTY: 711


Open to the public
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.


Virtual Exhibits

Related Links

Records Relating to Constitutional Convention (... | State Archives Catalog

1824 Constitutional convention was authorized by act of legislature January 24, 1824 "An act to authorize the holding a Convention for the purpose of forming a written Constitution of Government for this State." Meeting at Newport June 21, 1824, convention consisted of delegates elected from each town with Elisha R. Potter of South Kingstown serving as president; Christopher E. Robbins secretary & Welcome A. Burgess  2nd Secretary.  Convention organized by five resolution proposals: "bill of rights"; the legislative & executive departments & suffrage qualifications; the judiciary; rights of towns & education.  Constitution adopted July 3, 1824 with 51 delegates voting in the affirmative & 9 in the negative.  Ratification brought before vote of freeman of Rhode Island on 2nd Monday in October, 1824 with 1,668 voting for ratification & 3,306 voting against C#00586

Dates:  June 24 to July 3, 1824 Other Names: Extent: 1 volume, 49 pp. 13 ½” x 1” x 8 ½” Types of Materials: hand written manuscript. Conditions Governing Access: Finding Aids: insert finding aid Related Sources: C#0210 Acts & Resolves of the General Assembly

Records filed under "Constitutional Convention (1824)"

Powered by Archon Version 3.21 rev-1
Copyright ©2012 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign